(2006) Brides of year 2006

hi ladies,....
well, I didnt went to Ximula on Fri..instead went on Sat..
most likely, I would use Ximula for wardrobe....
And yes, went Park Mall....nothing much..went to Celini..their set with dining table, chairs, bedframe, sofa, coffee table + TV console or mattress or day bed cost abt $4K after rounding up.
And we went to the 1st flr to try the late Princess Diana's mattresss...(used the same brand & model) And U all want to make a guess on the cost?

<font color="aa00aa">Oct 06 brides details updated on 03 July 2005</font>

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM/Church/
Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Email</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font>
</TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Diana</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">1st</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 May 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">White Link</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]
[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Pearly</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">7th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">16 Feb 05</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Yvonne</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">7th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">29 Nov 03</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Focus Bridal</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Jurong West</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Snowangel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">15th</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">11 Mar 03</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Queenstown</font></td></tr></table>

<font color="ff6000">**new in the chart: Diana, Pearly, Yvonne, Snowangel</font>

marnie,
U so fast buy jewellery?
What &amp; where did U buy?

although its 9mths b4 Lipstar's "baby" (EG) is born, she has only abt 3mths to do her research...
by Oct she must confirm her design if its MTM, at least give her BS 1mth to make thegown...+ some alteration if needed...
by then, its abt Nov/Dec..time to take her PS, select photos, develop into album or collage something like tat....and it will be her BIG day!

It is now 3am. Just now by 10, I was dead beat, and "tahan" til after the show ended then went to bed at 10.50, but dunno why suddenly woke up.

Jean: Poor you.. it must have been so disappointing.

idyll:
Sound warning there. I forgot about our less-than-common habits.

My EG is MTM. All the more I should have a rough idea of my EG. I will try to get OTR first, if possible, to prevent unpleasant "surprises".

But we didn't go today. We went shopping and to church in the evening. Tomorrow we'll ask his parents to give us a lift to the inaccessible Changi South.

hazel: Guess of mattress: 5K?
I think idyll bought wedding ring.

idyll: Tell me about it. It is the same for LOTR (Lord of the Rings) and I am eternally grateful
295700.gif
to Peter Jackson for making the awesome and moving movies that acquainted me with the book and author.
No doubt many purists keep complaining
295701.gif
of the deviation from the book, I find that movies and books are two totally different mediums, and what works in books may not work in movies.

Not intending to watch "War of the Worlds" because
1) movie tickets are so expensive now. Talk about wanting to curb piracy.
HB and I had already watched less than ten movies a year before the price increase, although I do really like to watch movies.

2) not happy about Tom Cruise's condescending denigration of depression and taking pills to combat a medically proven illness.

He thinks like many people who have never encountered this(depression) that mental illness is "all-in-the-mind" and that all the sufferers have to do is to "snap out of it
295702.gif
".

Some people may be genuinely concerned but "snap out of it" can be one of the worst and most harmful and hurting platitudinal consolation one can give.

Depression has been medically proven to be a real illness due to chemical imbalance.

I know boycotting his movie is rather puerile and useless (saw the article that the movie did very well) but nonetheless, not keen to watch his movies anymore.

Sigh... really regretted eating 30 over biscuits at this hour... Oh no...
295710.gif

I have a weird eating habit. I don't like to eat proper and filling meals like rice, noodles or steak. I love to eat junk food like chocolates
295711.gif
and biscuits instead.

Many times, when my colleague see me holed up on my desk (was about to type "cubicle" then realized that my office has no dividers. No privacy at all.
295712.gif
Dictator boss wants to see what everyone is doing.
) eating biscuits during lunch hour, they will invariably ask me "You diet ah?" or "So pitiful ah? Eat biscuits."

Biscuits are more fattening than rice/noodles because
1) high GI (glycemic index)
2) calorie-dense
3) not filling, so people who lack self-restraint like moi
295713.gif
will eat 30 pieces at one go, and that can amount to thousands of calories.
295714.gif

Any one want to share your weird eating habit?

Other than EL and I don't eat dairy products, I also don't eat food with onions and garlic. I don't like the taste.

hi cacphin, bingbing and ooshie

was at pan pac yesterday for my fren's wedding...at the ocean ballroom...simple and plain deco...but nice..food also ok...

Hi gers...wah...you ges..have so much to say man...kek kek kek..yah..next year 2006,

Hi Wendy, CONGRATS ON your big day! my AD is 7 October 2006 and iceglacier is 6 October. 2006.both us us went..both us us have not decided on BS yet as it's still early...

Hi Pearly, Dang is a good consideration compared to TY or ted wu lor...and they are very personalised service...I am actually quite keen to work with them but gain depends on my FH.Let me know which other BS have you checked out...K..

Hi snowangel, I will b staying for in-law for the first 1 year..after which I am looking for any left over hdb houses from en-block cases..best to be near outram campus area.(eg. queenway or t.bahru) I know they are expensive..but er..by than we would have save enuth lor. Less mango sales, travelling and movies loh...;)

hi geberra,

u can book the JP now alreadi. some popular JP like david loh is alreadi booked for dec2006 or even 2007.

tsukushi,
thanx for updating the table!

Wendy

Gd for you. Looks like you got everything under control liao. Agreed with what you say abt reno, lots of work to be done huh! Anyway, my reno plans will start after Sept as we are still in the midst of finalising everything and moreover 7th lunar mth is round the corner so thought will only start after that so that works need not be rush through to avoid that mth... hmm so much of considerations hor.

Hey, really appreciate your help with the table. It is great!!! Cheers

Cat..

Haha..TY or Ted Wu is too high end for me liao..cos cannot spend that much after taking other plans into considerations. Yup will also update you once I start my BS researching ..hehee.. FH is pressurrizing me on reno matters first..hahaa boh pian..cos he's the boss, I am the employee

mtm &amp; lipstar, Thanks for the warm welcome!! Me got ROM this yr - 20052005. B temporarily stay wif inlaws @ Bt Panjang after AD. So far, settled BS &amp; Banquet Venue. Now sourcing for VG &amp; PG for AD. Most likely will settle everything end this yr.

So, where u gals having ur banquet??

Lipstar : I eat EVERYTHING - that's why my "cute" size lor...

Actually, I am like you - I was considering whether or not to watch Tom Cruise - I have NEVER been a fan and for his "holier than thou" attitude he emanates. Pisses me off, really. But I read HG Wells' "War Of the Worlds" when I was 12 and re-read it in my teens and I thought then how cool if someone made a film out of the book so that thought won me over. Not the fact that Cruide was in there. Actually, I was rather engaged with Dakota Fanning's performance.

I got the "Movie Money" tickets for S$7.00 each before the prices went up so after seeing 2 movies, I am left with like 13 movies to watch between now and August next year assuming only Meraj and I use the tickets.

Hazel : I got a necklace cos' dear Meraj does not want to wear a wedding band every single day - he thinks too troublesome...So, since it's a not a must anyway for muslims, okay lor..

Hi yo,
lilic

yest went to see Utopia, Montage and Andrew Choi (they are in BV's Package
for PS .ha all the same - good standard
cant really tell the diff la.. not so sensitive to details .. ha.
Kyrie
ya lo... then photoshooting in Sept one week break the best
can rest well and mei mei too

Hi yo,
lilic

yest went to see Utopia, Montage and Andrew Choi (they are in BV's Package
for PS .ha all the same - good standard
cant really tell the diff la.. not so sensitive to details .. ha.
Kyrie
ya lo... then photoshooting in Sept one week break the best
can rest well and mei mei too

Hi Gingercat!

Lots of new June brides since your last entry. Thanx for the photos. I like your AD gown. Think it flatters you better with your hair tied up.

By the way, what's the back design of your evening gown like? Is your evening gown white in colour too? Or was I colour blind? Or maybe the bright lighting? I never knew that evening gown can be white in colour. I always thought it had to be some other colours!

Hi Asura/Chaiyo/Chijmes,

If we are selecting our gowns in Oct, must we call to make appt with them first? How long before do we have to make the appt?

My PS would most prob be in Feb I think. That's what they told me. Have not thought of where to shoot yet. No dates confirmed too. Do you think March is too late to take PS? Just asking.

Just got my keys on Thursday. Went to see the house. Soooooooooo SMALLLLLLLLL!!!!!! 5-rm yet nothing compared to what I'm staying now. Sigh... and paid so much for it too!

The Sat before we collected our keys, we sat down to design the place. When I went in and looked at the place. It was so tiny. Sigh ... Now I'll have to redesign the master bedroom. Wanted a partition between the dining and living room, now we've got to drop the idea. Still thinking about putting somthing there to differentiate the place. Headache!

Also looking at dofferent contractors. Not that I'm really actively searching yet. But soon. If anyone has a good recommendation, could you please email me the quotations and photos? My address is [email protected]

Thanx!

I'm also designing my gown in Oct, PS in feb, have fixed on 15 feb already...

Anyway have told my BS the design that I wanted.

you're welcome girls!

geberra, you can try to start making an appt with your preferred JP already esp when you are getting married on a hot date.

Welcome Gintonic! Feel free to join us here, the girls in this thread rocks man!!!

Lipstar:
I also signed up w/o looking at the gowns...I heard that my BS OTR also very limited..Their gowns for O/D shoots also a few pieces,which ended up most brides getting the same gown for O/D shoots...
Maybe u can drop by one of those shops that sells EG to get some ideas on the design...

I also eat everything...Whenever i commented that some particular food was delicious, FH would said:"eh...u got what food not nice to eat??? As long as it is food, it will be nice to u.." Sometimes its so frustrating to hear him said that, makes me sound so greedy...
kao_frustrated.gif

Me gonna postpone my solemnization in Dec to the AD itself...Now feeling less excited about it...Sounds like very far away...

Gintonic:below is the table of our info for our wedding...Compliments from our 'bride idol', jean..
295740.jpg

Prinzess,

heh yup i agree too. It'll be good to do things during the hols. However, the thing is we only get one week off in Sept and it's not really a break cos we have to go back for meetings and courses.

Lipstar, MArnie,

YA la, me super ultra disappointed now...Been looking forward to a break but now cannot go liao..*sob sob* But anyway, i will be on leave tomorrow in order for me to recuperate my "disappointment" hahha

hey gers,

just went to see gabriel mendes today.. not bad lah.. but wan to ask for you gers comments on yew kuang and chor hui from beetles@work...

hey purplenic,

hw much is your package with john from chris ling? have been hearing non stop about chris ling from their counterparts in the industry.. seems that they are the leader for AD photography.. hee

hwey hwey..

i should be confirming my VG soon, so is your package able to change to only PG??

lilic,

hey.. do you have a picture of your bands? show show show.. hehe..

kyrie,

do take care and rest well wor.. dun work too hard..

hey summer.. long time no see you post here le.. how have you been?

hey prinzess,

so hows your search for PG and VG?

gin: So where are you eyeing to move to after temporarily staying with in-laws?
Wow, had read in the papers that 20052005 was a very popular date to register!

idyll: Me neither, have never been a fan of Tom Cruise. I like Johnny Depp.
Wow! Smart man! Buy the "Movie money" tickets. Now whenever I think of wanting to watch a movie, the price deters me.

Today, went to "Funktion by Air". The furniture are like Air's furniture, very contemporary, very minimalistic. But the prices are way above our budget, so didn't end up buying anything. Sofas drop from 3K+ to 2K+.

Ade: Hey! I have those same worries
295760.gif
too! Had read in my BS thread that OTR EGs are very selected. In fact, many brides from my BS actually go to Ted Collection and elsewhere to make cheongsams and EGs.
295761.gif

That comment from your FH reminds me of a remark my HB made a few days ago. I was a little frustrated by his impracticality when buying furniture. I suggested buying a tall shoe cabinet cos I have many pairs of shoes, but he said not nice. He said buy a small shoe cabinet suspend in the air. Then I said no use, cos can't put many pairs of shoes.
So I said "Why are you so impractical? Choose furniture always choose aesthetic ones, but totally no use."
Mr Lipstar :"I'm like that one. That's why I chose you mah- pretty, but no use one."
295762.gif

But I don't deny it lah *sheepish grin*. My salary is way below what he had expected in a future wife. He had lowered his expectation. Then I don't want children. I am bad-tempered... etc. He had always dreamed of having a beautiful home with gorgeous furniture. His "yan guang" (loosely translated as "eyesight") very high. All the furniture he eyed are very expensive. So by being with me, he did sacrifice quite a bit.

jean: Hehe. Yeah, stay at home tomorrow to recuperate.

hi geberra
i concur with zen and tsukushi..
it's better to book the JP early, esp the hot ones or if your rom is a hot date..i tried to book Mr David Loh 6 mths before my rom and he was already taken. :P

hiya chomecc,
Chris Ling has revised their AD package to 1.5k for 300 pics with slot in album. dun think he's the leader for AD photographer la hahaha there are alot of good ones ard
u might wanna look ard too

may i know who you're engaging for VG? i've stopped my search for the time being.. wanna give my pocket a rest :P

prinzess ah.. hehe i think you see too many till u blur la haha tat's y can't tell the diff is it :P
from wat i know, Utopia is known for their strong colors.. very nice
i heard alot of ppl saying their building shots nice..
for us, Montage is more of natural sort.. many good comments on them too

paiseh, din visit Andrew Choi.. no input for u :P
since all seems sama sama to you, then go for the photographer whom both you and your hubby can click with
u dun wanna have a communication breakdown on your PS rite

hiya summerala~ long time din see u ard
busy with work? u confirm your PG &amp; VG already?

Ade &amp; Lipstar : I think both your FHs and Meraj can band together and form a coalition..
I have a very sweet tooth and I do eat chocs. Ironic thing though is that whenever I make chocs for people when they order them, Meraj will be munching them like there'll be no tomorrow! And he said I was eating way too much chocs!
kao_frustrated.gif

Gintonic : Wah seh.....20052005 eh.....Very popular date to get married. Did you do "The Deed" at ROM itself - must be a very long queue, huh?

Please feel free to ask us anything about us - the girls here very "open" one....
Right girls right?

Jean : YEAY!!! "Recuperate" at home - not bad a way to spend your day as a tai-tai. I wish I can have a day to myself too......lots I can do..namely sleep, sleep, sleep and did I mention, sleep?

Hazel : My guess for the matress is about S$8K. Are you revealing the "mystery" soon?

Hmm.....not a bad deal the Celini stuff. All that for S$4K - not too bad. I'll go with Meraj to Park Mall sometime next week to check out.

Lipstar : A suspended shoe cabinet? Very modern concept but I agree - impractical for your case. That concept is not going to work for me too since I have like at least 10 pairs (and growing!). So did he agree to "lower" the shoe cabinet and not suspend it?

Wah..the sofas so darn expensive?? Like the whole set or just a sofa? No armchair included in there?

*wonders where M&amp;M is*

Yoo hooo M&amp;M, don't be too engrossed/stressed re-doing the "paperwork" for the wedding hor..Must stop and join us here.....

Ha purplenic,
you so smart thats what i think...
must be able to click with the photographer

:P photolanguage no tie up with my BS . ha lucky if not more to choose from

idyll: Speaking of chocs, when I was composing my earlier post, I was munching on chocs. Die liao. This morning 3am after I regreted eating that 30 over pcs of biscuits, I told myself today must eat less. Then I ended up eating 9 Ferrero Rocher and 2 boxes of Meiji choc with almonds.

My HB doesn't mind. It's just that I always cry and end up getting depressed when I put on weight. So sometimes he will scold me for overeating.
295786.gif

The sofa price is for a wide 2-seater/ 3-seater. No armchair.

Shoe cabinet ah? He said the small one in the living room beside the main door put a few pair of shoes we wear regularly. As for my other pairs of shoes, put in the walk-in wardrobe, cos my shoes are not smelly, unlike his.
295787.gif

Yeah gintonic, the girls here are very open
295788.gif
. We talk about anything under the sun.

Yalar jean &amp; idyll, One of my favourite hobbies is sleeping, besides eating.

Yalar m&amp;m join us and let us entertain you
295789.gif
, good for destressing.

It's been a long time since we heard from janna. Wonder how is she.

prinzess55, can't help you on PS... hee.. din do any search so dun really know... go for the one whom you can click lah.. like wat purplenic said... if you dun mind any of the three...

kyrie, no time no see... eh, you confirm your VG liao? wat is kss charges huh? email me can?

summerala, long time no see... we still active on msn but dun see you leh...

chomecc, no pic on the bands lah.. sorry.. erm, i am eyeing the half eternity band in the tiff celebration series.. with matching plain one for my FH... =)

hi!
hehee..actually time really flies by...so fast 8 years plus already...=D

geberra,
hey! carlton was on my list too! almost booked them... coz very happy with the co-ordinator's service...but in the end decided on FRF..

Hi Phy_o,

I called up WL and they say they will call me when the date is nearer...Not too sure also leh...WL told me for my wedding in June, Gown selection will be in Oct/Nov, PS in Feb/Mar. I think 3 mths before AD should be fine.

Your flat in AMK ? Is is those at AMK central ? I nearly got my flat there too. Ya nowsday the 5 rm is sooo small...=)

kao_welcome.gif
llana!

Feel free to tell us more about yourself! When is your AD (actual day), your BS (bridal studio), banquet venue... etc.

You can read all about us in the table above, complied by our bride idol - Jean.
295796.gif

Meanwhile, I go and do some household chores, fold clothes, throw the bedsheet into the washing machine
295797.gif
... etc. Be back soon!

hi yo,

Lilic, ya lo ... heard in some threads ... must be able to click well with PS photographer if not cant smile... even smile also not v nature. ha

i come across some jewellery shops that can do v nice c wedding bands for customers..
eg... piaget wedding band... Possession series for lady ...with a row of diamond that you can twist around(its on another wider band) .. cost $6k .
the wan that custom made. ha only S$1500 ,.. of course cant turn but diamond and workmanship is superior...
some ppl look through magazine to find the design they like and go to them.

Mystery revealed!!!
Its $19K after disc for a queen size bed..
I had guessed abt $20K..so, its quite close...
cos the lady said its the same model as late Princess diana...

btw, I finally got 1 list down..by reno..
I decided to use ID instead of contractor..cos I had spent abt 1mth sourcing for design..
copy fr every ID's website on the design I want...
no doubt my contractor has gd workmanship but design
*sigh...
I had tot abt it for quite some time....to be practical on my design..just do everything std &amp; simple...or get an ID..
but my contractor really cant design &amp; really can leave the wires hanging ard..when I said I wanted LCD on the wall..N asked how abt the cables???? Would it be seen..? He ans ya...it would be seen...
* faint...I mean correct..but at least suggest how abt add a feature wall? N I really had poor color coordination...my contractor is asking me to the shop to choose the tiles he want &amp; he quote accordingly...In the end, I had to think abt what color to match my floor...or what floorings to match the furniture that I want..scared I dun mix &amp; match well...
Went to so many exhibitions &amp; furniture shops...see the furniture until I so fed up..cos I really cant match color

Lipstar,
I had been to that thread...
so far, I think its ok lor...&amp; the price almost the same as my normal wardrobe price.

btw, I also like to eat junk food. like wat ur colleagues said...U on diet ah? but they never tot of the calories I taking in....N I really likes to eat alot at night &amp; weekends...esp choc &amp; chips...If I buy a box of Ferraro Roche..thats it...can finish within an hr...chips also like this

Thanks Ade for the welcome!!

ldyll..my ROM solemnisation was held outdoor. We engaged a grassroot leader. The venue was in a function room @ one of the relative's condo. We din want to go to ROM centre as we knew 20052005 is a popular date n sure v v crowded. Too bad, i wasnt shown on TV!! haha!!

lipstar, my hubby staying @ Bt Panjang. Theirs is a 5rm flat so will stay temporarily.

magical...wow, ur AI QING marathon oredi 8yrs+.. Realli PEI FU PEI FU!! Guess communication is v impt in any relationship. Me n my hubby finally tied the knot after 5yrs+..sometimes oso cant believe it!! heehee!!

Hazel: Me too! Me too!

My Dad has a friend who is a contractor. So we arranged and he drove us to my new flat. He is Chinese educated, while HB is "potato", Chinese but Mandarin extremely poor.
So on that day, I had to act as a translator. HB tells me his questions and I ask Dad's friend in Chinese. Basically he only does what we ask of him. He doesn't give suggestions. On the spot, he gave us a quotation.

Then, a few hours later, we met HB's old neighbour's hb who is an ID. We told him our ideas and he gave us suggestions which would work out better than our ideas. Moreover, there was no language barrier. He gave us his quotation a week later. His is about 2-3K more expensive than Dad's friend (contractor), but HB decided to go ahead and use the ID who can give constructive suggestions and accompany us to buy accessories like tiles, toilet mirrors, kitchen sink &amp; hood... etc.

Warn you about tile buying first. Even with the aid of ID, tile-buying can faint man!
295806.gif
295807.gif

ON the day we went to select the floor tiles, there were 6 of us- HB, me, HB's sis, HB's bro-in-law, ID and ID's apprentice. So, after walking up and down, to and fro, and all around the shop countless times, we narrowed down to 2 tiles for the bedroom, I think. HB's sis and I prefer tile A. HB can't decide, cos he can't see the difference
295808.gif
. ID and apprentice prefer tile B. So the vote was 2 vs 2. In the end, the shop gave us small samples to take home and decide.

Maybe you want to bring odd number of people to help you decide.

And me too! If I have a box of Ferrero Rocher, I sure finish it in more than an hour, maybe 1 hr 1 minute.

I go and paint the base coat of my toenails now. Be back later!

Oh! That reminds me of another 2 beauty tips.

1) Must apply base coat before nail polish to prevent nails from turning yellow.

2) Wash hair with cold water, cos hot water is drying for the hair.

wow..envy u gals can tok abt reno..me dunno gotto to wait till when then can have own lovenest. HDB never ke lian ke lian me. haha!!

really lipstar? I never know apply a coat first would prevent nails turning yellow...*sigh...think I would have to buy the coating..

Gintonic...its ok...it will be ur turn soon...take this chance to see see look look....&amp; save $$$$$........my little 4rm would take abt $30K reno...Unbelievable, rt? cos due to my tiny floor size, I have to custom made alot of carpentry..

Oh yes, lipstar, my contractor very "qing cai", he didnt even calculate my chimney area where alot of ID had added in...N U last min want to add this &amp; tat..he ok one with no extra cost...so, in actual fact, I can save more than $3K if its by him