(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hi Diana, I understd liao... for me i just set the tables in want then find the ppl to attend. Hahaha.. no going to think if i can't find enough ppl... =P

Most prob will settle on M Hotel. Like the banquet room... plus now they got promo...

hi gintonic

hmm.. u muz have like gin alot.. =P

yup, think its betta to book PG+VG earlier. coz from wat i know, my cousin whos getting married next apr oredi cant find PG tat she shortlisted (all taken up). well, for my case, i booked my PG 1yr ahead liao (im a jan06 BTB). dun wana get stressed at the last min of not able to find one.. i easily kancheong.. keke. think it this way, at least one thing off the mind ya..

Hi Gerberra (that's my fav flower by the way :D), how was your BS shopping? im starting this week too... where have you been to?

Hi girls, my AD is on 21 May

Morning gals.

Ade: Welcome back.
kao_welcome.gif
Where have you been? Agree with Marnie that EL must be very glad now. HeeHee.

lipstar: no durian. FH says must control weight liao, if not, cannot be mei mei. But I think I will still reward myself once in a while, of course, behind his back.

Morning m&m!

When are you going for your first appointment to choose your gown? I had made an appointment to go for my 1st appt on 18th Jul. Cos I see other brides whose AD are later than ours, yet have already gone for their 1st fitting, so I gan cheong.

How about the rest of you?

za bor zen,
u confirm getting bands from CC? saw already? i also wanna go see leh.. bo jio me

TinTin got discount ah??

Congrats Jes!! finally confirm your dream hotel
how's ur BS shopping? better confirm soon hor :P

Hi AXL & Jesmine,

Welcome to the thread.
So how's your preparation?

AXL,
me taking my BS's PG & my friend is doing my VG.

<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Dinner venue</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Church/Solemnisation</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BS</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">PS Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Photo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AD Video</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Lovenest</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Email</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Jes</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">07 Jan</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-la</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Strathmore Ave</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Zen</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">14 May</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Little Bali</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kai</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pentaserve</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Christopher</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">prinzess55</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">01 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles The Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles The Plaza</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">HweyHwey</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Raffles Hotel</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Kai</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Image Garden</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Bedok</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Ivy</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Club Chinois</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA @ Tampines</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA &amp; Daylight</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">BoonLay</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Kyrie</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Shangri-La</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Francis of Assisi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">GHA @ Tampines</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Pinnacle@Duxton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">TinTin</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">09 Dec (Wedding) 10 Dec (Party)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Marriott (09 Dec) Holland Park (10 Dec)</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">St Vincent De Paul</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silhouette</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">The Pond</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fabian Lim</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Holland</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Summerala</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">10 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Rasa Sentosa</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Everbliss</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Purplenic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">21 Dec</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sheraton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Altivo</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Silverlining</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Montage</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">John from ChrisLing</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Sembawang</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">BlurBlur</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Gazebo Lawn in Raffles</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Divine Couture</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Andrew Choi</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">AMK</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBA</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD><font size="-2">Lilic</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Fullerton</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Nil</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Tucky's</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">TBC</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">East Coast</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">[email protected]</font></td></tr></table>

Latest Update on : <font color="0000ff"> Jes &amp; prinzess </font>

wow...seems the list is getting longer n longer..=)
time really flies..now its already end of june...i think our AD'll be round the corner in no time!!

lipstar: I will be going in Aug (hungry ghost month). the BS will call to confirm the date. That month will be quiet and can get all the attention. haha.

Good morning girls.

Lazy start today. Monday blues.....Hmmm.....

M &amp; M : Speaking of durians, yesterday my brother got some durians and stank up the whole house (I am not a fan of durian) so I hid myself in the study room and did my work...

Sure must reward yourself once in a while lah...If not, very stress hor..

Lipstar : I have actually gone to my BS a couple of weeks back to discuss about the dresses. I have got the fabric and the design for one of the dresses. Still got to get the materials for the other 2 dresses. I've communicated with them the designs already. Going next week for measurements - die liao. Sure kena scold by the designer.
kao_scared.gif

Where are the rest of my skivers kaki?

hi Girls..

My take on getting PG and VG first is because can try to lock the rates for this year. That's me lah.. However than I realized that most of them ald have their dates 'filled' out ald... And I saw the number of brides for 7th May alone *faint* that is tauting enough.. heheh.. so just do my shopping now and get it over and done with. That will leave me more time to do whatever there is...

Hi SEL, heh heh..I no $$ man..as I said I am a poor woman..kek kek kek..I will stay with in law for a year first before I move...

Hi Bear, they got good promo, I heard from ym friend that their package is not bad...red wine cockage waived..and also can asked for alot more freebies...bridal suite "very very nice"...Good Luck!

hi ling

which are those tat are on ur shopping list?! =P

yes yes, its true.. next yr's prices will be increase slightly.. same like wedding banquets.. so muz chop fast.. have chop mine 1yr ahead liao.. kiasu..

hazel: So did you manage to get anything?

marnie: Good to get things sorted earlier, don't need to panic at the last minute.

My sis-in-law is the calmest woman I have ever known. After knowing her for 5.5 years, I have never once seen her get angry, impatient or raise her voice at anyone.

But for her wedding in Jan this year, she left a lot of things to the night before, like brief my HB on the seating arrangement, the sequence of the tables to bring the photgrapher to, the itinerary on that day . And she shouted at my HB and also cried. Her and her hb's "thank you" speech was done in the hotel room at 5pm on the day itself!

On normal days, I am oredi a gan cheong spider
294189.gif
, always fret over the little stuff, thus I must get things done and planned a.s.a.p.

I try lah.

Jean: You got to crack the whip at us.

m&amp;m: Good to have the whole shop to yourself. A few days afer I signed my package, I went down to settle some doubts on Friday night.

I saw 2 brides cramming in the little shop trying on their gowns, and throwing furtive glances at the other bride to see who is prettier. Aiyoh, I don't like.

lipstar: I don't like it too. Especially if the other bride is slim and beautiful. Stress lah...

Anybody know how to tone up flabby arms? Do you think it's better to do wrap or exercise to tone it up? My sister is a beautican, so she can do wrap for me. However, I heard that if I exercise, then my arms will get 'harder' and it will not be effective to do wrap. Have not check with my sister yet.

Actually hor, I will feel weird when another bride look at me and have that "who is prettier" look. Thankfully, I have not had that "experience".

Meraj and I are quite organised in a way so we are trying to sort out the minute details way before the actual day. But of course, with all weddings, bound to have some minor hiccups so I always tell Meraj that these hiccups are what will make our wedding memorable.

M&amp;M: Actually I'm going to the gym to do the rowing exercises. It'll tone up my flabby arms. Not too sure about the wrapping though. But can do both for extra effect?

Hi Tsukushi,
the first one i went to is Kai from kalydoscope. The team is quite good as well, but just felt that we can click better with Derrick and preferred his style.
I have signed up with Jawn Happy Ever After yesterday. Finally, another thing settled. phew.. =) Got to do my homework and go back to them early sept. Photoshoot wise, will probably get Linn Kong. Will be meeting her tomorrow.

hi denise,
higher end are usually those full time PG and they usually have a studio. They usually advertise their shop name in magazines. Lower end are those freelancers where ppl engage them thru word-of-mouth from friends and relatives..but hor, some freelance also can take very nice pictures.

I just view the photos from Emot*onp*x(refer * with i). Coz went meet them to see their video, at the same time, see photos too. Videograpghy still ok, but their photography skills not that good.

Coming soon will be meeting another PG and VG. Havent really decide if i should spent more and get a pro PG anot.

If my BS can provide me a good PG and not so exp, I might consider.

Idyll: So Rowing exercise is effective for arms? Ok, I will do that. I thought of doing both for extra effect too, but worried that after exercise, wrapping will not be effective. Because the arms will become harder. Heard from one of my friend.

oh...that kind of experience..I had many times...
when choosing my BS, I tried the gowns at the BS...&amp; also when choosing my dress for ROM...

the current BS that I am having now, I even stand there and comment which gown is prettier for the bride-to-be....
hahah.....but we are not sharing the same changing rm...
just that the gowns are in the rm.....I m just choosing the gowns to try...&amp; she was showing out to her FH..so, i just see lor..then I took the gowns outside to try...
ok lah...

when choosing my ROm dress, even better, many couples waiting for the same changing rm.

think exercise is the best way to tone up..but I m just lazy...

Lipstar,
I didnt buy anything...just market research on the price..
I had already aim the Mitsubishi fridge &amp; toshiba air con...

hi magical
agreed with u..our AD will be here in a breeze...hehe..

was just wondering - doesnt ur BS come with AD photography? i will be using the photographer from my BS for AD pics. Not yet decided on VG coz think still long le..anyway, any recommendation? pricing?

marnie: Good that meraj is willing to help you. Unfortunately for me, my HB is a very lackadaisical and lazy guy. He wants to leave all the wedding arrangements to me, if possible. If need arises, I will whip out my "wu di" (invincible in Mandarin) rolling pin!
294209.gif

Hey! Show you guys this very cute emoticon. Please don't misunderstand. Me not
into S&amp;M. But find it very cute.
294210.gif

m&amp;m: Going by my sceptical view, I doubt wrap will work. Of course, I don't really know. But going by health reasons, I think exercising would be better.

Though, there is no spot reduction. If you want to slim down the arms, have to go cardio exercises (like jogging, aerobics... etc) for at least 30 mins 4-5 times a week, to lose the fat, then do dumbbells to tone up the area. If, you only do toning exercises, the subcataneous fat is still there, so the spot won't slim down.

What did your beautician sister say? Were her clients able to tone up?

Hi cacphin,
The id and quotation are all with my FH so I need to get it from him. I am rather busy during month end so I hope you dun mind waiting for a few more days. By the way, what's your email so that I can send to you.
Agree with Asura that you should go down to the exhibition to know more about the reno things. The IDs are usually very friendly and you can ask them anything and they will provide the professional information you need.

hazel: Me too. Good at dishing out advice on exercising, but never do it myself. Lazy.

We bought Daikin air-con because we wanted System 4, and Daikin was cheaper than Sanyo which I wanted initially. Hb's Mitsubishi air-con keeps on leaking, so won't get MItsubishi. Fridge, I also heard Mitsubishi is good, saves electricity.

Actually, m&amp;m: I am very, very curious and a little sceptical. Are slimming studios like Marie France, Expressions ..etc really able to help their clients lose up to 10kg?
294215.gif

I was reading Sunday Plus, where celebs like Evelyn Tan, Irene Ang and Olinda lost so much weight!
294216.gif

Yes. After wrap, there will be some effect, but you have to do it for a number of times. I prefer to exercise too. ALright gals... I will continue with my exercise routine. thanks for all feedback.

Actually, I am a bit skeptical about the weight loss hype as my firm has acted against these companies so a bit apprehensive.

I am trying to go gym (trying is the operative word here...
) to lose weight and tone up my arms. So far working ok lah but of course, with exercise, it takes time lor.

Hazel : I so want to shop for fridges too..!!!
As long as the fridge is steel, can liao. (SOO obsessed with stainless steel kitchen and appliances....)

M&amp;M : Can try loh. Can even do at home with heavy books lor.....

Janf,

Currently I shortlist Eulee and Amos from reflection... I like their photos from their online site. FH told me dont go look for so many and have a hard to decide.. heh heh..

Wasnt willing to splurge a lot on the photographs but I realize really got difference from a good and a bad one.. I think will scrimp for the VG... because I doubt I will play the disc more than once =P.. Wasnt even planning to appoint an VG but peer pressure lah......For me I think photos easier to take out and reminisce and if you get a good one pictures really capture the moment...

greekgal, My package with BS not inclusive of AD pics leh.. got to top up. I reckon I might as well look for 1 myself..

Hi Bear, the M hotel is giving away quite good promo right? Think something like weekday rate during weekend or something. My cousin is signing up with them. Mind sharing wat is the package like?

Hi Cat, same here, we staying with in laws first until we get a flat. You thinkin of new flat or resale?

greekgal/ling

im using InJackStudio for PG. am considering if i wana take up VG anot coz like wat ling said, doubt i will watch the cd again, rather have hardcopy fotos for rememberance sake..

btw, greekgal, if u interested in VG, perhaps can give jacky kok a buzz at 9669 4588. hes negotiable in price &amp; doesnt compromise on svc. i like his VG but no money now..! let me save up abit then maybe i mite take his svc..

hi yan06

i hv seen the pricy ones &amp; not-so pricy ones. think most of them no diff in skills. but i think for pricy ones, u can hv an appointed PG whereas not-so pricy ones are usually 1-man show.

for my case, i took the not-so pricy InJackStudio coz i find his quality of work is not anyway less off than the rest. now considering if i wana take his VG as well.. let me save up more then decide.. keke.

higher end PGs are like chris ling, image garden etc..

however.. i think that they are really expensive and if u've got a budget.. better to source for other PGs or get a BS whose photos u like..

i'm now looking for AD video and photographer and am planning to meet Mr Low to view his portfolio end july.. i'll let u gals know how he is.. hes very affordable.. $688 for full day video and express highlights..
but must book before august coz he's going to revise his prices..

another photographer that i want to get is Kayledoscope dual team.. they got 2 photographers to follow both bride and groom around.. its $1288 for full day.. but FH is saying that its too ex..

Hi Sel, the package is on this forum. U can go to the dining area for the latest package. I think got 8 course dinner, free flow beer, wine and hard liqour corkage is waived, deco, the usual lor. Most prob taking the banquet suite. I like the room very much. Plus the price range is in my budget so ok lor.

hi petrina

haha. i also eyeing on kaylesdoscope team when i 1st started sourcing ard.. yup, they quoted me nearly $1300 for PG &amp; my FH oso said too exp.. tats why took InJackStudio.. for $1300 at Kay can take PG+VG at InJack liao..! &amp; i trust quality is as good coz i hv seen works. well, its up to individual. if i hv the budget, maybe will gangan take up Kay then. keke.

Marnie,
I am not so obessed with stainless...so ex....but if it matches my kitchen cabinet..no choice lor...
I would be talking to my contractor this Sun....
hopefully can start work next mth

hi janf,

does In Jack have any website or portfolio to view?

are u a Nov 06 bride too? care to share your details so that i can update it onto the table?

hi petrina

haha. im a jan06 BTB.. 6mths more to my big day.. getting abit kancheong now &amp; then so pop by other later mths threads to look see hows the rests of u gals are preparing.. sorie for gatecrash.. =P

www.injackstudio.com

give him a buzz at 9669 4588 to view his works at his place. i went wif my FH to view his works &amp; went 'hmm.. hes good compared to the rest we saw..' plus hes a funny man so we felt comfortable working wif him. quoted me quite a good price &amp; we didnt think long before we sign up wif him. hes sincere in doing the biz &amp; willing to negotiate the prices (his prices on webby kinda pricey).

if u interested, let me know ya.. =)

Marnie,
mine not resale..ballot flat...
think reno will take abt 1~4mths...
anyway HDB only allows max 4mths for reno

Hi jan, onli managed 2 go 2 a few BS..realised that once u sit down, u have to listen to at least more than 1 hour! Tiring man.. so far been to Santiago, Sattinee and Sophia only…urself?