(2006) Brides of year 2006

Hi Kyrie,

Tin Tin, are u around?
Need to ask u regarding church issues.. i've been hearing the 9 Dec 06 falls on period of advent and that many churches and priests wouldn't want to conduct the wedding mass that day.
Just want to know how you went about it?

Yes I am around. This you just have to check with the parish priest of the church you are getting married in and the Rev Fr who is celebrating the mass for you if he is ok with it. If both are ok then no problem
Fr Mike is very "chin cai" so it was not a problem for me. Advent is a season for celebrating anways... I think its more an issue during Lent isnt it?

Yah i really like Fr Mike too.
But no choice.. will be having my church wedding at St Francis of Assisi.

Yah i think it'll be more of an issue if it's during Lent. Any idea when is it anyway? heh

hey thanks TinTin.
Will ask the parish priest tomm. Have you attended your MPC yet?

Hi kkwr,

I agreed with snowangel, you can go to a geomancer to choose a auspicious date for your wedding. Bascially you also need to know your parents & your inlaws chinese horoscopes so that the geomancer can choose that best date for you & your FH.

Hi denise,

nope my ROM is nov 05..AD is nov 06..hee

yes i've fax d form to him n he has signed n faxed it bac. I believe u'll hav to register with ROM centre 3mths b4 ur ROM

so id ur rom n AD same day then?

Lipstar,
U been to The Furniture Warehouse, rt? Did U went to see the show room? The 4 rm, 99sqm is so big….almost all the areas are bigger than my current hse by 1/3~1/2 times..also went to see the mattress…..I dunno if its cheap or not…Dunl…& Slumberland brand..seems not bad..but I want to see more.
But I cant stand this sales person had been walking with us from the entrance till the end,,,fr the end of 1st flr to the 2nd flr…& fr 2nd flr to 1st flr……

EL,
So envy U....still can have ppl to cover up for yr interview...

hi jac,
denise say David Loh is already taken by another couple and denise ROM is on the 26th too...so meaning someone already book David Loh for that date. However, you might still have chance if ur timing for that day is not being book. So quickly call him to enquire before it's too late!

Hee, i also booked David Loh for my ROM. My ROM & AD is the same day - 11 nov. I booked him at 8pm. So for those who wana book him at this time this date, errmmm...paiseh..I book le...

hiyo all,

hahaa.. you all so fortunate, daytime can come in to check... my computer.. my Team Manager can see my screen from her direction (although not that near )
i can only come in at nite to read ( hee my HTB say i addicted loh)

anyone saw Blush blush BS? lilic... quite nice, he is known to do ball gown type... can go see see.
for lace lace wan can look at Margaret.
but i kinda like Bridal Veil's S Crystal and long train..

Hi Purplenic,

i just sort of make up my mind on the BS :P Venue.. i tentatively booked RTP TBC by end of next week...( make my HTB kancheong by saying that lots of ppl in forum have already confirmed their venue for nect yr lo)

ha not yet cfn on AD PG etc, actually have not even start looking .. you all so fast, so impressed!

Hi Jac,
Sorry to cause a misunderstanding.

My FH had called David sometime back(last mth) and David said he's available for 26thNov2006. Then David told FH to fax the consent form, which we forgot till recently. After faxing, we called to check if he receive it. This is where he told us that another couple also invite him. Luckily, we are the first to fax the consent form over to him. So i managed to book him in the end. Really Paiseh for the confusion caused.

Yan06,
so how do you confirm Mr David Loh? As in he had not faxed the form back to us yet..What do i need to do next ah??

Hazel: I remember the time I went into a furniture shop and the sales person also did the same thing and followed us around - for a moment there Meraj and I thought we were playing catch with the sales person! We just walked out...cannot shop like that...

Lipstar: No need to worry. I have a friend who can't cook to save her life but a few months before she got married, she learn at her future mom-in-law's place and slowly learned. It's really a process cos' she's really the kind who will not lift a finger to cook or clean the house. Now, she's just given birth some more!

I suppose we all have our ways to adapt and to learn to cook is one of them. Go with the flow...

So, I am just back from "interviewing" WedWedWed this evening, girls. They have a different perspective cos' WedWedWed take actual day photography in a pair - both Watson and James cover the event. So you get two different perspective. Interesting. And am tempted although budget wise, it's S$400/- more than what Meraj and I budgetted for...*sigh*

EL: Meraj is coming back probably first week of July and I am going to try to fix an appointment with Eulee. It's another option for me. Let me know if you want to tag along. Most likely around Raffles City area if can.

Hi Kyrie,

I went for EE already but coz of our work commitments we could not make it for all the sessions of MPC for any of the runs this year. We will go for our MPC next year before his calendar gets filled up by kiasu brides... kekekeke...

Have you gone for MPC already? If not you should for got either MPC or EE... its a really good program. EE really helped us out alot coz we were on the verge of calling the whole wedding off... made us realised and reminded us why we wanted to get married in the first place. I think that it is critical to constantly remind ourselves to have GOD as the centre of the whole r/ship then whatever matters or thunderstorm that come our way, HE will journey the storm with us holding our hands. It is through the grace that HE gives that provides us with the strenght to forgive our partners whenever the annoy the shit out of us... likewise the other way round.

For us EE was a healing breakthru for us coz both of us went filled with hurts and pains of all the months of fighting and qurrelling coz of the wedding preps when we arrived on Friday. (FYI: We were suppose to get married this year but coz of all the fighting we were not so sure so we postponed it by a year.) But throughout the weekend over the sessions and the sharing of the host couples we learnt alot from them thru the sharing of their own marriage life experiences and we prayed together with Father Vaz for GOD to come and heal our brokeness and our hurts inside... healing miraculously took place so yes we are still getting married, just one year later!

i also had my solemnisation by david Loh..
It was last year Aug. so many of us huh! he's real professional & will even help to coordinate the photo taking part.. he's nice! Rest assured if u have him to solemnise.

Denise,

do give him a call to get him to fax the consent letter back to you then. For my case, i booked him through phone then few days later i faxed the letter. My fren booked him during my solemnisation (last aug) for this year june.. i think she only faxed the letter this year... so i suppose when u tell him the date & gave him ur phone no u have already booked him.

Do give him a call 2 days before ur solemnisation juz to remind him...

Petrina,

true enough the moment the geomancer told me 11 Nov i was like oh no.. definitely a popular date gotta plan fast for everything.. managed to book my banquet. It's Holiday Inn Park View. So now left with bridal & PS.

Hi TinTin,

Nice to hear how u and ur FH managed to overcome ur problems. What's the EE course by the way? How do u sign up for it? I'm in a Methodist church and wonder whether they offer such courses. =)

hi Lilic,

hope u'll find ur dream gown!!!

Prinzess, i took BV's package during their promo this year. I loved the classic cuts and looks of their gowns. I love the back of the gowns with the long row of crystal buttons. I like elegant looks..

Hi kyrie & Tintin, tho' I'm not a Christian, after reading Tin Tin's message, I bless all the brides with happy marriages and hope all can iron out their teeny weeny squabbles..

Hi Tin Tin..

Wah i'm really glad to hear such positive comments bout MPC and EE.
I'll be going for MPC this Oct and i know it's really impt to go there with an open mind. I'm so glad for you and your FH!

Count, EE stands for Engagement Encounter. It's more of like a crash course as it's a 3D2N session whereas MPC (Marriage Prep Course) lasts thru 6 Sundays. I'm not sure whether Methodist churches offer this but perhaps you would like to check. If you're interested, you can also join EE or MPC whether you are Catholic or not.

Thanks Angeldust.

Hi Count,

From what I know... All Christian chuches will have some sort of Marriage Preparation Program for their members. So you can check with your church. If not, like what Kyrie said you can always join EE or MPC.

There is no "preaching" involved so dont have to worry about them trying to covert you or "brainwash" you. Coz many non-believers attend it with their other half who may be believers. The program focuses on preparing them for marriage and the issues that the couple may face before/during the marriage and the importance of a loving r/ship which we constantly need to remind ourselves of. So they tell you that many times things happened which you think is impossible for you to "tahan"... there is always "Daddy dearest up in heaven" whom you can call for help from. Coz surviving a marriage I personally think is a miracle itself!

No Jesus vs Mary kinda thing at all... Ngiap Heng is not a Christian but he really appreciated the program and now he understands my beliefs and why I dont certain things the way I do much better than before we went for the program.

Yah i agree with you TinTin.
Been hearing lots of positive feedback even from other Catholic BTBs who have gone for their courses with their other halves who are not Catholics.

Yup, most of us are on MSN throughout the day.
Heh you should join us there too.

hello ladies, it's a sat and I AM AT WORK! Bummer! Whoa, i noticed our thread in this month is moving reeeeally fast!

No prob lipstar: my ears are always peeled if you ever need someone to listen.

Marnie:u mean $400 for each perspective or for both? If its the latter, it sounds like a great deal lei. I will let you know if i wana tag along, hey means Meraj not going for the tues 'interview'?

did i tell u girls that i am delirously happy with my unit?

Bummer EL! But I commiserate. I am not at work but have been "working" at home, cleaning and scrubbing the kitchen. Feel like Cinderalla, seriously.
But eh...I'm "looking after" my interest in the flat...*evil grin*

Nah. WedWedWed cost S$1.3K for two guys for 11 hours. It's not bad deal if you really think about it. But my budget is actually for S$800/S$900.

Meraj will be coming to Tuesday's "interview" with Jayce - Meraj will only fly off on Wednesday. Is your FH coming along too? It'll be fun but I better remind Meraj not to "stray" from the interview - he tends to do that...

Eh...take pictures of your flat leh and post them here...Wanna see it. I notice Bt. Batok flats have good layouts...hmmm....

Hi denise,
as what cp said, after u fax him the form, he will signed and need to return you the form. That form he return will also have a license number which i think is required when u do filing for ur ROM. We fax him the form the next day after i call him. Then in the noon, he fax back the form to us. So keep that form in a safe place till 3mths before ur ROM to do ur registeration with the ROM.

Hi cp,
ur banquet is oso at Holiday Inn! That'll be the same with my_gal. Haha, think both of u will see each other on that special day!

BTW, 11 nov was not actually given by the geomancer. It's I wanted that date and check with Huang Shifu. Then he say this date does not chong with us and our parents. So we go ahead. So is it really a good date, I also not sure in the first place. I dun really need a good date. As long as 11 nov is OK for us, I'm satisfied liao..heee..so guess 11 nov is really a not bad date huh!?

Hi Pearly,

GPPR has 3 packages, $719 nett, $798 nett and $838 nett. Amara is abt $768 nett i think....

Went to Hol Inn on thurs. they are having a promo till end of this mth. Its $709 nett on wkend $30 off the usual price. FH likes the chandeliers... So now its a fight btw GPPR and Hol Inn Parkview.

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick </TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>Wedding Date</TD><TD>Banquet Venue/ Theme</TD><TD>Bridal Boutique</TD><TD>Studio/Outdoor Photo</TD><TD>AD Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cindee Koh</TD><TD>3/6/2006</TD><TD>LCOR</TD><TD>3/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Friends</TD><TD>Friends</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Snow</TD><TD>6/6/2003</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cacphin</TD><TD>18/9/2005</TD><TD>Kuali</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>BM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BingBing</TD><TD>6/3/2005</TD><TD>Raffles Cclub</TD><TD>8/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>Mr &amp; Miss Wedding Club</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebubbles</TD><TD>23/3/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>The Fullerton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Andrew Choi</TD><TD>Beetles (Chor Hui)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>keh huier</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Precious Moments</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazel</TD><TD>2/4/2005</TD><TD>Plaza Park Ryl</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>JC</TD><TD>18/9/2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jes</TD><TD>18/9/2005</TD><TD>Zoological Gardens</TD><TD>18/6/2006</TD><TD>Conrad Centennial</TD><TD>Thomson Wedding</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>BB </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ooshie</TD><TD>6/6/2006</TD><TD>Changi Musuem</TD><TD>22/6/2006</TD><TD>Pan Pacific</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Lighted Pixels</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>EC </TD></TR><TR><TD>gini09</TD><TD>28/6/2005</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD>23/6/2006</TD><TD>Intercontinental</TD><TD>Dang</TD><TD>Studio Emboss</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>Fabian Lim</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Asura79</TD><TD>3/12/2005</TD><TD>Christ The King</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>Y*ppies Production</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Timminbuzz</TD><TD></TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>GingerCat</TD><TD>24/9/2005</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Emotionpics</TD><TD>Emotionpics</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsSoh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>eli</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>The Wedding Present</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Beetles (Chor Hui)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>chobits</TD><TD>30/6/2004</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront </TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>JW </TD></TR><TR><TD>phy_o</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>OLPS</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Marriot</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>Foto-*.com</TD><TD>Foto-*.com</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>notti</TD><TD>24/6/2006</TD><TD>Au JarDin</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>Park lane Hotel (HK)</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Beetles (Bernard)</TD><TD>Bugs Media</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chaiyo</TD><TD>25/12/2005</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>25/6/2006</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>WhiteLink</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Chjimes!

Welcome
let me know your details then can add in the list!
wah ... very exciting leh... got more and more kakis here

janf,
are you also a june bTb? welcomE!

kyrie,

Uh oh... my wedding date's set on the 9th of Dec 2006 leh... Advent cannot celebrate wedding mass? Then how? But when I booked with St Francis Xavier, they didn't say anything leh... I don't want to end up like my friend whose wedding falls during lent (mar-april 06) and the church expects her to tone down her wedding, cerain songs cannot be sung, deco cannot too elaborate etc etc...

ryes

i only took his AD fotography. wld luv to take his VG as well but me &amp; FH no budget so decided to do away wif VG.

his website quotes $880 for VG but hes negotiable. a BTB in other thread oso used him. yes, if u take his pkg, will get express highlights.

do look ard for others but can kiv him on ur list ya. give him a buzz &amp; ask more. =)

ooshie

im a jan06 BTB. was browsing thru other mths BTB threads &amp; left some recommendations here. sorie for gatecrash.. =P

wow ladies, u all very well plan and fast. I'm like Pebs, only choose design for WG n EG but hv to wait til Sept for 1st fitting coz dey r MTM gowns.

AD's PG n VG all not selected yet. Think still early lor.

BTW pebs and nya, hv u buy ur wedding rings liao?

i've not even start my search!!

:P

btw, i finally download my gowns pix on the web, though the ones i like not dun hv to show
i thick skin abit, any1 interest to view? just send me ur email add.

Thanks for sharing the package. You've got a good deal.

Pearly and Snowangel,
Thanks for the advice, will be visiting a geomancer to choose the auspicious date

Hi Jasann, we have the same AD.

I have spoken to the secretariat of St Francis of Assisi and she says that it's no prob.
Really glad to hear that cos i was really worried initially. So you also dun have to worry either.

Tin Tin, add me too. My email add is [email protected]

yup, fh is coming..he is looking forward to meet his fellow liverpool friend.

wah so hardworking ah you? i am so not looking forward to housework.

cannot leh, the family is still in the house! actually...can..but no nice. but when i can get the pics i'll show ya.

hi gers, back from my BS hunt liao...

TWP was kinda disappointing - tried 4 gowns.. i cannot fit their cut leh... seems like their brides got long bodies... so the gowns make my body look damn short... very sad... coz their designs nice...

shortlist divine and amanda lee... i like both their classic designs... more like me... =) and the gowns fit me better... but for divine, helan ask me to go back end of the year... or early next year... during the appt, she like rushing to send me off... so dunno abt the service loh...

also considering kai and silverlining - like kai's creativity... and jit's friendliness...

must see how now...

i think thats it for my hunt... will seriously go thro the 4 BS then decide... hahah, i very troublesome hor??? hee...

by the way - divine can do nice classic gowns also.. with nice trains and details... i was surprised.. at first i thot all their gowns very ger... hee...

hey gers

just came back from a short trip to KL...din buy lotsa stuff...gfs did a lot of shopping though...

yup...will be looking at the gowns again in august...before they start designing...guess would most likely take the long train...like many of u all said...once in a lifetime mah...hehehe...

hey ooshie,

u stayed in simei?? think the places ard the place quite cheap loh...so even after reno, also wun be so ex...think mansionette too big lei...saw one and figured i would be 2 lazy to clean...we looking at either 4 or 5 rms...if new flats then will be 5 rm loh cos the new ones all very small...if old ones then see how...

well...looks like a lot of Pan Pac brides coming up...hehehe...

hi everyone!
wah tried to look around for cheap cheap AD PG..but so far the cheapest i heard of is 500-600...sigh...n my AD over 2 days...argh..! pay n pay...

btw i went down to try out some gowns from my BS,..n was a good idea too..found out that actually the design iwanted all along (halter) actually don't suit me..so now must reverse all my convictions..sigh..

El: I was also at work today- from 9 to 1.
Today hb went to Robinsons to look at mattresses as the GSS is now on.

Girls: Another <font color="ff0000">poll</font>

What brand mattress are you buying? I am deciding between Simmons and King Koil, but our budget will be more comfortable with King Koil.