(2006) Brides of year 2006

Talking about losing weight, I think I need to lose some inches off my tummy leh. Any good and fast ways to recommend?

We consulted a shifu who mentioned that we clashed with my bro, so he cannot be one of the brothers for my FH. Have to abide in case the parents are unhappy and also better believe now in case something happen (Choy!!) in future they blame us for not believing in the first place.

Hi Asura,
The reno includes one partition at dining area and 2 feature walls, one for the bomb shelter and the other one in the living room. Carpentry includes kitchen cabinet, WIW, cupboards and bedframes for other 2 rooms (for my FPIL and FSIL). Sorry I don't have the measurement of the kitchen cabinet now, need to check with my FH as the quotation is with him.

hiya ladies,
paiseh, haven't been posting the table recently :P i'll try to do it tonite

prinzess55, since you going to Kai, Dang, do also make a trip to Silverlining
it's nearby..

HweyHwey, your PG & VG must take together? or can split it? whom you getting for PG & VG now har?

Hi tsukushi,
I remember I go there at 8am in the morning. I know that they also have 1 in the afternoon but the entry is lesser. Maybe you can go check it out when you reach there on your 1st day. Then go see on next day.

Can you pls help me to update my lovenest is in Pasir Ris. Thanks

Today I got several bad news at work. Xian! More and more workload!

Anyway, I finally remembered to bring the picture of the IKEA mag. But alamak! File too big. I finish my work, then I go and resize, then I upload here okie!

marnie: Yay! NOw I also have a lawyer friend!

Gotta run back to work. Talk more later!

293553.gif

hi geberra
not to stress u but u are encouraged to start sourcing now esp for banquet venue coz 2006 is a prime year to get married..as for BS, can scout around slowly..but try to do it before sep coz my BS told me to meet them in sep to discuss my MTM gowns..so if u are getting MTMs too, you have to take the 2-3 mths gown making into consideration..

dun feel stressed..we are all here to help u..

Just want to ask you gals if you booked the more expensive BS such as silhouette or silverlining, are you hiring a separate photographer to do the job? I looked at the BS albums on display - they are not very professionally done. I guess they are better at their gowns than the photos.

Kyrie,
my coordinator is Wendy and I am looking at other dates at Shang as well. Will be meeting her soon.

Hwey,
I am also looking at other dec dates for Raffles, my fiance likes it there because he's a Raffles boy all his life and likes the idea of holding his wedding at a national monument but I personally find the ballroom a bit old.

hi gals, will do the updates when I get home and pls nag at me if I didn't update anyone of yours :P

greekgal, you can collect those bridal magazines for ideas or attend bridal shows. How do you know that 2006 is a prime year for getting married?

Lipstar : Does that mean you can me leading actress already?? Yesterday you were supporting only mah...Chin up okie? ((((HUG))))

Can always come into this thread and share with us your woes.

thanks gals,

jac.. i'm confused becoz i'm not sure on the order of what to do first.. that's why..

cp ah.. i've been to the catholic thread coz i'm catholic.. but they are a bit too er.. dunno how to put it into words.. too 'into' the religion?.. i feel a bit uncomfortable there.. so seldom drop messages there..

flowerpod,
designer BS only focus on gowns, hence, you see nicer gowns from them.. but they are usually tied up with a list of very good studios.. so you can actually choose from a list and not restricted by the inhse photographers

alternatively, you can only choose to only get gowns from the BS & source for your preferred studio seperately.

hope this helps

marnie: No lah... still supporting actress. I don't like to be in the limelight either. I like to fade into the background.

Eh? Why am I still here? Oops.. tell my boss you did not see me.
293584.gif

Irrepressible Lipstar is back!

EL: THanks for answering my query about the gowns. Cannot hop down to Margaret's Bride oredi bcos I got BS oredi.

Wah! Just ate a HUGE piece of chocolate cake! Shiok ah!
293596.gif
Cos tomorrow is my colleague's last day. We bought the cake for farewell.

tsukushi
that's what i heard from some ladies in the forum la..hehe..coz soem said this year is not a good year for marriage so some couples waited till 2006 lo..even my hotel coordinator told me the same thing..up to u to believe or not..hehe

purplenic,
What is the cost range to engage a separate photographer for the PS, AD photoshoot? What are your recommendations?

If that is the case, how much can we negotiate off the BS if we are not keen to take up the in-house photographer?

Jean : Thanks Jean for the tip, though it is a tad bit out of budget for me at S$1.00 each. Hmm...maybe I will ask Meraj to get his usual printer in KL to do it for us.

Actually I have always wanted to use M&M or MNM (after Meraj and Marnie, know?) but our M & M has already copyrighted it.
So I use this nick lor. I use this nick on ICQ. I was feeling a bit too exposed after my expose.

Hazel : I echo your sentiments. 55 minutes more to go.. tick tock tick tock.

Lipstar : Hmmm......I LURVE choc cakes. That's why my body so cute, ah....
Lucky you can eat all the yummy sinful foods...

Donna, for my case, i opt for non-photography package, only took gowns from my BS.. wat i did was, i visited the list of studios that r tied up with my BS.. if happens that there are any from the list you like, can top up for PS package.. if not, you can sign with the studio you like seperately.

different BS gives different discount for non PS package.. you'll have to check them out

wah.. i can b consultant liao leh keke
other gers might b able to give u more ideas

i also heard rooster year not good for marriage, but also dunno why...that's why we decided to hold our wedding in 2006..n both my hubby n i are roosters..if marry this year will have 3 roosters, sound very 'noisy'..haha...

Just now was clandestinely surfing internet at work, so I read your posts very briefly and quickly. Here are some additional points.

EL: Ya, was intending to get OTR gowns if possible, cos heard from a married friend that MTM gowns may turn out differently from how we had envisioned. Once made, cannot return

marnie: Poor you... hope you are able to get your 2nd choice PG soon.

You lost me there.
Why did you say you feel exposed after your expose? When did you expose yourself?
293639.gif
293640.gif

You said it yourself one ah! Ask me to share my woes here. Alamak, this thread will become archived every single day!
I have so many problems/complaints/grouses at work.

293641.gif

hi tissuebox,
yapzz. Have not decided on the venue.. Was busy looking at BS recently. After visiting 7 BS, I will most probably be signing up with Jawn Happy Ever After. I like the designs of their gown and the price is very reasonable, considering the fact that they tie up with good photographers and MUA. Hopefully i will be able to settle the banquet stuff soon, still looking around.. Hhahaa A bit slow..
O but i have signed up with a AD photographer, Derrick Ong. Can feel his sincerity and his passion for photography. Price wise, he is currently having an offer for AD. Quite good.

hi donna - welcome

i think you are mistaken... the albums you saw in BS like silhouette, silverling, kai, dang, divine, etc are not done in-house. they are done by professional studios (like utopia, CL, etc) which the BS tied up with... so if you dun like some of those albums, not the BS fault.. haha

these BS do not have in-house photographers.. so the BS package is pretty standard... discount comes mainly from the photo studio you selected... e.g. if i sign up with divine and i want to use CL - i can go to CL and get better rates as a divine bride... i.e. better than if you just walk in like that (unless CL itself has promotion on its own)...

the same concept applies for MUA and prob florists..

for those BS which provide one-stop shop services with in-house photographers, you gotta check with other gers if you can negotiate for better price without the in-house photographer.. maybe kyrie can help...

have fun...

Hi Jes,

From what you tell me, if your kitchen cabinet is about the same length as mine with solid surface top, your quote is quite alright. A bit on the higher than average side but worth the money if your ID is very good in designing.

akoyo

wow...duxton not cheap lei. i got 2 friends also getting there..there have to pay cash for the 10%...

mm..seldom ppl start with BS 1st. i guess you are one of the few.

hi tissuebox..i guess it's everything u have mentioned! maybe cos im perfectionist..but i guess can't find a place that suits all criteria rite..also, the co-ordinators r taking quite some time to come back to me on some of the stuff...

thanks greekgal!

hi akoyo, my fren also got Pinnacles..

Lipstar: i had the same exact thoughts as you. That's why i opted for OTR gown. Also because i know nuts about the designs, materials etc, so i chose the easy way out. Also because i lazy to do homework muahahahaa.

Oh Andrew Choi has confirmed my outdoor shoot date, it would be early jan next year! Yipppeee! Am pondering over what hairstyles to do? I have stick out ears and ugly side burns so i can't do the tie up hair thing...and i look old when i bun up my hair. I want to let my hair down which is how i always wear it, but my girl friends and FH are nagging me to do smething different. HOOOOOW???

Sel,

You're welcome. Yah, you can bet all these designer pkgs are really a killer..hahaa..

Agreed that original songs are of better quality, hotel also advise the same cos they will not take responsible of the effect of the songs if we give them mp3s. So if possible, dun compromise with the quality of the songs as some mp3 songs can sound quite soft in vol. compared to the original ones.

Wendy,

Hi!! Congrats, your big day is just drawing near.. excited? Guess you are all ready to the big day.

Have u spoken to yr church leader?? n also think catholics have to go for pre-marital classes?

BTW, are any of u gals going for pre-marital classes???

Lipstar : Just not used to exposing myself that way....Feeling quite paiseh actually.
Dunno why.

Eh....never mind lah. Must care and share lah....sometimes talking about something can show different perspective of a problem. Don't you think? (Wah...suddenly me so philosophical..

About the AD photographer, don't know leh. We'll see what comes along. I've made appointment to see eulee in two weeks so hope to be able to do more "survey" before then.

Wish me luck girls!

EL : Um...best compromise, can do half bun up/half down. That look can be both formal and chic with the right hair accessory.

Sooo exciting! If in January, still got chance to have your wedding cards printed with your picture right???

Girls : Me going to Spa Botanica Friday afternoon. Ahhh.....R & R at last.....and mud pool....Shiok!

Hi purplenic ") i will check it !

actually, how long do you think a BS can do a MTM gown??? my gffriend coming back in mid July having wedding in 3rd of Oct, so its like 3mths only... can do MTM??? got to help me check it out.

hi angel :P never been to conrad wedding dinner so dont really know. But got a friend's friend having his wedding 1st july fridat ar Conrad. will check with her

flowerpod.. sometime the photo ablums the BS has are like 2 years ago, so you might find them not so nice( from those popular tied up photographers, ha think cant be giving soo soo many BS one ablum each la) can go their websites see see and read the forum on these photographers
cheers dont worry

akoyo, that's fast of you!!! Now one lesser choice for me. *sigh*

gals, have updated the table!
<table border=1><tr><td>AD</TD><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Photographer</TD><TD>Videographer</TD><TD>HM</TD><TD>Lovenest </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Krissie</TD><TD>Hilton</TD><TD>Sophia's Wedding Collection</TD><TD>Sophia's Wedding Collection</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>bibi</TD><TD>Fullerton</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>akoyo</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hokkaido</TD><TD>Duxton </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>geberra</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>RASA Sentosa</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>maggie</TD><TD>Qianxi</TD><TD>JB (Printemps)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tissuebox</TD><TD>Sheraton Towers</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Serangoon </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>tsukushi</TD><TD>GH</TD><TD>SB</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>ayane</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>racherlle</TD><TD>Sentosa Resort and Spa</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Canada/USA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Selina</TD><TD>Ocean City @ Apollo Centre</TD><TD>Sanmike</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serene Lee</TD><TD>Furama City Centre</TD><TD>JB (New York Classic)</TD><TD>Sam Wong</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>zen</TD><TD>Little Bali</TD><TD>Kai</TD><TD>Pentaserve</TD><TD>Christopher</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Gintonic</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Fame Bridal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>greekgal</TD><TD>RTP</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>pinkyu</TD><TD>Chevrons</TD><TD>WL</TD><TD>Jacky from In Jack Studio</TD><TD>Jacky from In Jack Studio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Cloudz</TD><TD>Meritus Mandarin</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>ah gal</TD><TD>CC</TD><TD>YC</TD><TD>Wai Peng</TD><TD>Mr Loh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Aiko</TD><TD>RTC</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>cocoberry</TD><TD>Amara/St. Micheal</TD><TD>GHA</TD><TD>Yew Kwang/Hilarion Goh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>magical</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>BZ</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

cindee> hehhee... i'm putting my fingers crossed... dun think he can carry for long time to be sabo by my friends..

Jes &amp; Asura> hmm.. can share reno ID and quotations?
dunno a lot of the terms..

hi prinzess,

thanks do let me know... ;)

purplenic &amp; lilic - so interested in setting up a wedding consultancy svcs company.. ke ke ke ke ke.. ;p

akoyo..

WAs still talking to FH and whether to take Derrick or not... now no need liao coz he is taken =) heh heh... me also looking for photographer liao after realizing so many brides taking 7th May.... *jia you*

tsukushi,

my love nest is in Punggol...pai seh trouble you to update the table..

haha angie, i think lilic can do better la.. her explaination clearer leh kekeke

prinzess55, i'm not sure if 3 mths is tight.. but i assume so :P cause there are designs to b discussed, fitting, PS (if any?) do check with the BS she is interested in for confirmation

My pc doesn't have a photo editing tool. So here is one half of a very dark-looking walk-in wardrobe from IKEA. IKEA wardrobe

EL: I concur with marnie. Half up, half down.

marnie: Enjoy your well-deserved break!

Hi Jac,

there's online courses.. read somewhere in the papers some time ago.. cant recall the website.. gotta chk.. i personally find tat it's good to attend such courses... But it's not cheap... think it costs $300-500 not sure is per couple or per pax...

Petrina,

think it's best u check with ur church frens i guess.. my fren's a catholic.. but not her HB.. they din ve any church wedding.. her wedding's like any of us.. probably cos one party is not catholic .. &amp; her parents are ok w it i guess..

Lipstar : Don't be like that leh..I know me very kaypo one...but sure feel paiseh one (after a while lah....

I have seen the colour version of the walk-in wardrobe. I want a walk-in wardrobe too......especially since both Meraj and i have like tonnes of clothes! (and add my bags and shoes collection..

EL : I bought Modern Brides mag for August/September. Have this really good hairdo which may suit you. I'll try to scan in later at night and post it here.

WAHHH...sorry gals..just came back form MC..sore throat and flu..haiz...

Okay Pearly, will check out the price at BV and advise you k.

Hi SEL, heh heh...ok I will update you gals when I check BV out..k..

Wendy wendy!!! congrats to your big day!!!

hi tsukushi,

My lovenest is also in Duxton Pinnacles...thanks for the update

Hi Akoyo,

We are going to be neighbours...im at blk b, how abt u?

hi krissie,
We will be same block neighbours. i also took blk B. hehhehee..... Thought that that blk will have unblocked view, and get city view. Hopefully the view is as good as i have thought to be like, considering the price that we are paying =p Where do you intend to stay after wedding ?

hi ling,
hahaha.. me confirmed with him an hour after our meeting, and he is the second AD photographer that i met. And he was saying we should take our time to meet other AD photographers, but we decided to settle things fast.. Losa of other things to settle.

hi tissuebox,
guessed i am doing losa things concurrently. hhaha Now my weekends are packed with having meetings with banquet coordinators and BS people. Hopefully, can settle all things at one go, then can concentrate on researching on the gown.. Have to do homework nei...
Yupz, duxton is not cheap, but luckily it will only be ready in few years time, have few years to save up..

Hi Jac,

i have yet to speak to my church with regards to it.. will go in Nov this year i guess.. a bit too early to speak to them now..

yes we catholics have to go for either Marriage Preparation Course(MPC) or Engage Encounter(EE) before we can get married in church.. we will need to provide the cert when we book the church.. i'll be going for EE end of this year with my FH.. its a 3 day stay-in thingy at punggol.. hehehe.. according to those who have attended it, they say that it brings the couple much closer after the course..

cp,

i'm determine to have a church wedding as i've always wanted it as a child.. and furthermore.. my parents made it a must to have a church wedding.. and FH is fine with it so i guess its really up to the individual..

thanks for the info though..

Hi again akoyo,

I will be staying with the in laws til our flat is ready by the end of 2009...got 3 more yrs afer the wedding to save like mad for the renovation..How abt u? Urs facing the city view? Im not as lucky as u, mine is facing more of keppel habour...My flat is on the 37th storey, what abt urs?