(2006) Brides of year 2006

Marnie,
Like ur bouquet, clothes for next day, ang bao box etc....Like my fren, she forgot to bring her glasses and her FH actually forgot to bring the bouquet and have to rush back and take...

dunno y jus now i kaypo went to see 2 websites for good wedding dates..turns out that the date the master chose for me is not good for wedding

what should i do huh?
maybe i should consult another master to double confirm?

Jean: Wah.......going through a wedding must be rather stressful until can forget flowers? Hmm...I actually thought about that scenario for me - I think I'll go ahead without the flowers cos' I'm naturally a wild and run free kinda gal anyway. For us Malays, not so bad.....but you guys, wah....very stressful if forget.....

so so so jellybean

i believe you took the big ballroom right?

actually i am pending after you. if you did not confirm i'll be the one taking on....hee

purplenic - which sites you go?

actually why you so concerned abt the dates huh?

i know nuts abt such stuff lah.. but maybe the dates chosen by the master is based on you and your FH and parents' birthdates... and the website ones are merely generic dates suitable for wedding?

Hi Yan06,

Bonnie is my co-ordinator and i'm taking the ocean ballroom. Had just signed the contract last sat. Hope everything goes well

ya lor marnie, one of my fren forgot to pack her clothes to the hotel. So, she would have to sleep in her gown if her sister didn't rush back to fetch her clothes. So, must have another list for these things. Oh but you would be going back home after the wedding or u booked a hotel?

aiyah, i no like conrad wedding card lei. i prefer to me own. Initially wanted to use one of the outdoor photos as the wedding card design, but if the shoot would be in Jan, photos would only be ready in march. by than too rush to print, send and rsvp. bad bad idea...next pls.

so did u go to ikea???

<font color="ff6000">Marnie</font>: Sure can share share contacts!
I am not that particular about photography. Cheaper the better. But HB said we can use his friend’s friend. He had shot for aforementioned friend and his sister. Will ask for more details and let you know.
Thanks for posting the videography and photography rates and links.

Ya, will be naming tables numerically. Haven’t done anything regarding the hotel, sitting, guest list, etc. Big headache man, the last one.

<font color="0000ff">Jean</font>: Wah! So efficient!
*passes <font color="ff6000">Marnie</font> a pair of handcuffs*
*whispers to Marnie: You do it lah! I’m new here. Paisei. Must maintain image)
290317.gif
<font color="0000ff">Jean</font>, Thanks for the tip about the checklist for AD.

<font color="119911">EL</font>: I had gone through what you are going through now- having trouble finding a flat.
In the end we had to make do.
My flat has quite a lot of bad points.
1) Need to take bus to MRT station
2) 2) 4th floor. Chinese don’t like the number 4.
3) Face carpark
4) Our unit number is #04-17. IN Mandarin sounds like “die together”. But HB had joked that it is good to die together. I definitely wouldn’t want him to leave earlier. Oops… sorry, talk about such an inauspicious topic in a bridal forum. *smacks own mouth (very gently :p)
5) Oh! We had also intended to buy 4 room, cos 2 of us only mah. But no more 4 room, so buy 5 room. Everything more expensive-flat, conservancy fees, utilities... etc, and in future, when there is more ERS from govt, 5 rm flat dwellers get less. Woooo….

We were worried about not being able to sell 5 years later. (HB’s plan is that we move out for 5 years, live our “2 people's world”. 5 years later, buy a flat in the East (his dream is to move back to the East), or if his parents can help out, maybe buy a condo. He is the only son (other than his sister), so he has to take care of his parents. Sigh. )

But that time we were new and inexperienced. We didn’t know there is Build-to-order (BTO) every few months, and that BTO don’t need to take that long. (Cos that time there was a Sengkang Fernvale (I think) BTO but the estimated completion date was 2009 or something. We thought so late, so we didn’t bid. Later my friend told me HDB usually estimate generously. So if they say take 5 years, maybe 3-4 years can build finish oredi. Or that there is also En-bloc selection once in a few months too. That time we got worried 2006 can’t get flat, so we bought that Buangkok flat, though we didn’t like it that much.

The main problem is because of the Chinese quota. When I was looking through the walk-in list, there are still many flats in Sengkang and Punggol, but Chinese quota full liao. Same with my current block. It was completed in May 04. Til today, there are still about 8 units unsold (2nd to 4th floor) Same thing. In fact, HB and I took up the last Chinese allotment. After we bought, Chinese quota for my blk full.

Worst come to worst, you can bunk with me……..
in my bomb shelter. Heehee…

Oh btw, did you subscribe to the newsalert from HDB website? It will send you email once they are new En-bloc or BTO flats.

Paisei for double post. Yesterday's thread archived already.
290324.gif

Marnie: Yup! I am a britpop girl
290325.gif
! But recently seldom listen to music oredi.

M&amp;M: Thank you for the welcome!
290326.gif

Storyline for montage? Last night, I had asked HB (after reading your question) about our montage. He had done a very cute powerpoint thing for his sister's wedding. She stole his idea. He was telling her that for our wedding, he intends to do this. Then she liked it so much she asked him to do it for her. So now, he said leave it to the videographer. He doesn't want to do the same thing. People might say we copycat, although he was the one with the creative idea. It was also about how they met each other, but done in a very unconventional, witty, oh-so-cute
290327.gif
and awwwww-inspiring way. A bit disappointed.
290328.gif

Oh! I have a rather personal question to ask for advice.

Any one of you facing the possibility of your AD clashing with your period? My AD is 22nd. My period is around 22nd-23rd. Very risky
290336.gif

You know or not? I had specifically chosen my AD based on my cycle, to avoid it. For many, many years, mine always comes on the 10th. So I chose 22nd. Then alamak, a few months ago, after I had booked the church and hotel, my menses came late.
290337.gif
Now it has been 22nd-23rd for the past few months.
290338.gif

I have heard of a prescription medicine that stops the period for a month. But will there be side effects, like breakout or ???

Lipstar: There are pills that a doc can prescribe which will delay your menses. Have to be taken a month prior to your intended menses, I believe.

The only side-effect I know of is that you will put on a bit of weight.

I think you better clarify with your doc. Or gynae.

Lipstar: Convenient to share sister-in-law PPT with us??? No obligation Ok... Anyway, we have 10 months to go, and our period may still 'change'. Just like what Marnie says, there are pills around to delay your period. One of my friend uses it quite often, especially when she goes travelling. I have not tried it, cos worried that my hormones will go hay-wire.

Marnie &amp; Jean: Glad that you FINALLY solve your bowl problem liao.

EL: I may need to get contact for your MUA for my AD day later on, cos I'm using a JB BS. How her rate? Any picture to see? I think I will only decide after my PS. If the JB BS MUA is very good, may ask him to come over to SG, if not, may have to get one from SG.

Can I ask you gals how you add in those smilies icons when you post your message???

yo christine,

i liked noble house...the food is gd n if im not wrong the ballroom dun hv pillar rite? not bad...can consider...

So the big room is called Grand Ballroom....Mine also there but is end of Mar2006.

Who is the person you contact? Mine is Malcom

morning christine!
le meridien sounds good...i've seen their ballroom before, no columns and it's spacious! good for the march in...heehee...all the best in ur hotel hunt yar! =)

was actually thinking abt those handmade candies too...but heard that it's quite ex...scared will exceed my budget. probably i will opt for the honey jars or the matchboxes. my choice will be determined by the price. heh..must be practical in this aspect coz a lot of money will be spent on other areas...

HMMM....

Jellybean what you encounter is tough. what is the post of your coordinator? Malcom if i am not wrong he is the asst manager for sales. Maybe you can look for him.

Hi All, good morning!
welcome to those new in this forum ... mi oso *^^*

Halow Shelyn,
mi got new HDB 5room standard during the JW WIS. I got Blk 633 #15 ... I got my keys within a month and the unit isn't that bad

me heard quite a few successful cases in deferring the Marriage Cert. You can try sending them your request. I've input reason like "parents picked the date for us". Errmm, not sure of your religion, but I heard people using Religion (Buddhist, Taoist) as reason that they need to keep to the auspicious date.
If HDB still reject, go to MP (thats what my next step if they reject me).
So, don't worry about the deferment ... anyway the $ they oledy deduct leow mah~

M &amp; M : Scroll down the screen page until you see a footer at the bottom which says "Emoticons". Click there and you can just copy and paste the command /clipart(an action). Subsitute (an action) with something there on display. Give it a go!

Lipstar: I too agree with M &amp; M. Afraid that my hormones will go screwy. Already my brain is screwy enough....

Also, can I ask you for your sis-in-law PPT too?? I want to look see look see.....Please? Can email me :- [email protected] Thanks!

EL: No leh. Never go Ikea. But going today after work. Die die also go. Need to check up on the orange napkins. Also look at a rattan box I can possibly use as an angpow box.

Eh your idea about your invites very tight timeline. Better go with another plan leh. But are you thinking yours to be a folded card or a panel one? Perhaps you can use an image of an orchid as a prelude to tie to your event?

Marnie: Huh! Put on weight ah? Then I don't want to take oredi.
But I may go and consult a doc for more info.

m&amp;m: Tonight I ask HB for the ppt, see if it's still around.

As for the smilies icon, there are some smilies on this website. At the bottom of this page, click on "emoticons". Then select the one that you want from the list.
For other smilies, I had them saved in my pc. So, I will click "upload attachment", below the box where you type the message. Then click "browse", then go to the directory where you saved your smilies, for example "My Documents", then select the smilie you want.
Then it will appear at the bottom of your message. You can cut and paste in the middle of your sentence or paragraph.

Hope I was clear enough. If not, feel free to ask. :D

Hello gals =)
i'm holding my wedding in Oct 06. Can i join in?
I have not settled on a date yet. Is it too early to start sourcing for banquet venues? I see that you all are fast in your preparation work.
Seems like 7 Oct is a popular date. Mine might be on 7 Oct also. ;p

wah...i only never read for 2 days so many posts liao!!! hahaa!

still got quite some time left till wedding..i also totally haben prepare for the big day.

new sunday will be house warming..till now haben even decide on the caterer nor source for it yet!

omg omg.

hmm today here very quiet ah...

lilic, i let you know if i can meet you today can? my colleagues say i look like shit today
very pale.. *sigh* if i still look like human by 5, i'll see you at TW okie
paiseh paiseh

Jes, how's your preparation for the exams?

*faint* kekeke
u haven't settle on the hotel, so fast looking at cards? usually hotels provide invites rite? then y you sourcing ard huh? u wanna get your own ah?

Oh, Bonnie, I have talk to her before too. Dun worry, all will be fine and turn out well

We can discuss more abt PP when the time is near..share ideas together..hehe..

morning gals,

cp,
kelvin from chris ling is GOOD!! theresore.. u should have no worries about engaging the BS with him in it..

if i'm not wrong.. intercontinental's pricing is around $900 - $950 if u add all the +++ up..

purplenic,
no la, T-dragon provides wedding invites to GCW and i think Shang also... so the wedding coordinator told us that we can choose the designs lo then top up if more ex than the normal ones...

ladies,

can i ask whether anyone of u have started sourcing for your AD photographers and videographers yet??

anyone would like to share their experiences so far??

haha, i better pray that i can pass this time round... aiyo instead of concentrating to study and work. I am looking ard at cards, wedding planners and so on...

hie hie..

wow thread movesss super fast..

ohhh.. summmer and kyrie.. thanks for your compliments.. hehe .. yah 10 years seeem an awfully long time.. but we will be 10years next year.. sigh.... me wan to tear le.. 10 years of youth... hahah...

hey jes.. i didnt recevive your email on GCW. can you resend to me... its [email protected] thanks...so have you decided on where to go already?? wahh so fast looking at wedding cards already?? hehe... so fast....so nice.. can choose froma variety... the hotels that i am looking at have their own cards.. only a few to choose from..

purplenic.. dun worry lah. think that the dates on the website are generic.. the one that my master gave also not in the list.. hehe..so i think the master based ours on our birthdates.. like wt the master say.. wat a good day for other people may not be a good day for us..

Jes, lucky it's your last yr.. else you'll b more distracted next yr kekeke

chomecc, thanks
i think we'll stick to the date.. actually we quite like tat date.. asked ard the company this morning.. my colleagues also say best to stick to the date given by geomancer

u were saying you have 2 dates in mind? which one is your preferred date?

wow so u all going TW today.... all trying on the gowns at the same time... haha wonder how the boss will feel... or maybe he is used to seeing a bunch of girls flocking in together and tryin all his gowns.. hahaha... me still haben sec tot whether to forgo my 400 bucks deposit at everbliss or not... haha.. so still lookin ard for some cheap but good reputation BS.. but tink very hard to find