(2006) Brides of year 2006

hiya Jesmine, i think i printed the list more than 5 time during my search :P forced my hubby to tick those he wanna shortlist hahaha

summerala, no la.. i'm not doing montage..definately dun wanna expose my childhood photos hahaha

hey angeldust, glad to hear that your hubby is doing something!! dun b too upset, guys are always guys.. sigh..
can't find too many duplicates of lilic's FH ard :P

lilic, although you skipping alot of traditional stuff, but yours still sounds interesting leh.. mine got nothing to show leh.. my frens none so talented leh
maybe they better at catching some crows :P

purplenic - no lah.. my FH not uncommon lah... just that they need to be brainwashed lah... see angeldust FH also open now.. wait wait.. theres a time and season for everything...

haha, my frens also not talented.. thats why they wanna give a speech on hearing that the kids (9 and 12) are performing for me... well, they grew up with me lah... australian chinese family and they came here abt 5 years ago... then i used to babysit them when their parents went on dates... so when they know i getting married, they v excited.. =)

jesmine - i went once.. i find everything soso only...

soso only meh? my fren told me GCW quite nice leh.. but i din go there to see la..cause can't even meet minimum required tables

hmm..my frens okie with my wedding only leh.. only say wanna help me deco.. when the hotel already done up mostly?? what's there to deco.. sigh.. i think they eng siew me only la :P

Hi huiling,

He quite friendly loh.
A bit big size & passionate in his work.

He is not late for appt and me been changing my wedding date, he very kind to block date for me.

My colleague oso using him as her photographer, and she recomm me to him.

I would saw he not bad loh...there are other photographer oso gd it all depend wat type of style u like and whether u work well with him a not?

The feeling is very positive for me & hubby loh.

Yah Shelyn oso using him on her 18th/Mar,but if yrs on 19th/mar u better check if he can do the shoot a not.

Cos he oso need to rest one mah.

hee, cousin held her wedding there main ballroom (50tables) - food was lousy (sharkfin like crab meat soup and fish not fresh)... the service staff quite impolite and slow in response... maybe they are better now... her wedding was jan 04...

i also find the BR deco then was a bit too overwhelming... like in jungle... they use ferns... hee

Hi Huiling,

I've not met up with him yet... will arrange when he more free cos he seems quite busy now..
Mi and summer using him for AD... haha.. actually mi and summer a lot of things in common for our wedding hor... rite summer?? =P
If she din change her wedding date then I would have looked for others liao...

my AD is 18 March, one day b4 u... so like wat summer say u better chk with him first. Not sure whether photographers will take back-to-back assignments. Cos he also taking my dinner on 18th, usu end ard 11... and the next day got to wake up early for your wedding..

hi Jesmine,

I saw that before but the prices are not very updated leh.. haiz..

hmm.. abt GCW, i heard many stories about pple not knowing that it is a 5 star and one of my friend went there thinking it is not a very class hotel and gave $60.. so maybe may lose a lot ah.. i oni looking at breakeven or even lose a bit..

Deremi,
u're welcome! =)

Pebs,
yupz, my hotel provides wedding favours, but it's only the usual chocs loh...i fancy sth special for my guests to rem our wedding by, so intending to get another item for the dinner guests. not giving anything to church guests though...too many! hahaha...probably will give some soap bubble bottles where the kids can amuse themselves with! heheee...
still sourcing for caterer for our church tea buffet. thought Elsie's Kitchen was good coz there were some good reviews abt it, and it's affordable too!

actually on the ang bao thingie, i have a fren who gave me a i consider weird remark..
"having dinner on weekday, ppl might think it's much cheaper (will give lesser ang bao).. so might as well have it at restaurants (ang bao will be same as normal weekend rate)" is this true? for me, i always think that restaurant is much cheaper than hotels..

i dunno where she got that idea

hi purplenic,

tt's something new to me.. i thought that since people know that weekdays hotel rates are cheaper so they will give less.. and that if you are holding weekdays at restaurants - pple will give same as hotel weekday right???

hmm... strange..

hi akoyo
i'm gg to HM b4 wedding cos hubby work is on project basis & they only get long break during CNY. so planning to go Bangkok for 1 week. go spa, shopping, & of cos, tom yum! gg to tailor some outfits there too. cheap thai silk & tailoring. can get in few days. i got lobang from colleague.

hahha I am 25 this year also. Nei, think it's the ripe age to step into another phase of life. =)My FH wants to be a father by 30, well, which means i have 3 more years to enjoy myself. But it will be better to have kids while still young as well, it is in fact quite an energy strain to take care of kids.
Just called david loh yesterday, managed to book a timeslot with him. Phew..

He shelyn,

*Hi5*..yah we got a lot of things in common.
During this period (bet Jun-Sep) hot timing for couple to get married so these mths photographers tend to be busy.

Hi Shelyn and Summer,

Ya, I will check with him. At the moment, he mentioned that he is stll available. So, both of u are quite common yah..keke..
So, how abt both of ur BS and Dinner prepration?

Hey Precious,

My AD is 22nd Sept 06. I have only been to Gdwood. Will be going to Grand Plaza Park Royal and Amara for the next 2 wkends.

I m looking abt 25 tables.

Hi Huiling,

I hv choose my bridal shop which is at Tanjong Pagar and as for wedding dinner(GrandRoyalParkPLaza) preparation guess jus place my booking with the hotel already.

So now busy with my rom on sep'05.

Hv choosen my ROM gown and will be gg for my actual gown fitting on 1St wk Aug.Hopefully photoshooting by Oct/Nov.

me stil seeking for some good souls to share florist with me
=

Seem very difficult to find one whom its cheap & good hoh..

Me oso got hard time

Brgds/Summer

So huiling,

Jus curious ...

which hotel/restaurant u intend to hold yr wedding dinner at?

Cos yrs is wkend mah ... need to book advance loh...

Brgds/Summer

hi tissuebox!

i'm 25 this year too!
wah so many 1980 babies here!

hmm yup some of my friends also find that it's too young to get married.. hehe for my bunch of friends.. i'm the earliest to get married nxt year! :P

hi akoyo!
congrats on getting david loh!

i think most ppl judge accordin to whether it's high/low class restaurant/hotel ri....

Lilic... seems like u will have an interesting wedding

lilic,
last time gave $80 la..now that i know hotel rates, i think ang bao also increase loh.. but the thing is, not many ppl know they have to increase the ang bao rate unless they are like us, doing homework now and know the current rate.. lots of ppl still stuck at $80

some i've heard got toliet paper, newpapers.. and some only received $20 for whole family.. dun understand y ppl can do such thing.. even hawker center also dun have $20 for whole family rite? sigh...

Hi gals.. wah i have a hard time reading through the posts and trying to rem who said what. :D

Jesmine, the package i was offered is pretty standard. Mel hasn't drawn up the contract yet so i haven't pushed. What about you?

Summerala, yah i'm in the same situation as you. My family and my FH's side are all happy for us. Except for a one or two friends who says i'm too young.

Ivy, i kinda like GHA gown but wondering about their package. Is it ex? Can share your photos?

I think i'm pretty heng. My FH is very involved in the process of getting married. He emails hotels and all to check out prices. but guess guys are still less urgent than us. Sometimes he needs to be pushed too. heh

Wow,
so many of you are 25, hehe, I am 1 year older. I guess age is not an issue where marriage is concerned. As long as both you and your FH are financially stable n mentally prepared, you are ready for marriage.

How many of you have already contacted your BS? I still have not done anything yet leh.

initially my FH also thinks got a long way more since it's in Dec 06..but after i 'frightened' him with hotels already booked for 9 Dec, he start to 'kan chiong' too. hahah

Hey petrina,
I know of another bride in this forum, by the nick mehmeh.. think sh'es also having a church wedding.. i got her plannin schedule from her.. looks pretty good.. u might want to chat her up? She is in the thread, Christain brides.

hi everyone! erm...i might be the youngest here? 24 this year...1981 baby..=)

Aiko,
I;m plannin to go down to my BS this week if possible..if not, then 3rd week of june..
want to go n try out different designs to see which will work n which won't..
also want to decide on which MUA n PG to use...scared if i go too late, all taken up n even if i can get the MUA i want, must have to get her to come either very early or very late...

kyrie... ur HB very initiative leh... he email all the htel to get price... my BF ah... i gotta urge him to do so....

me planning to have kids as late as possible.... even tot of not havin kids.. know it's not healthy to think so la... anyway im still young and not ready for it....how abt the rest of u???

u know what? me too.. i love dogs.

There was once i even made a joke saying that no kids never mind. Keep pets.

He was mad at me! heh but come to think of it.. kids complete the family. So maybe later lor. When my house comes in 2009. Yours? Where will u be staying after you get married?

think i'm one of the oldest here. this yr 27. 1978 baby. i've confirmed with my BS on my MUA today. taking TG Goh. i won't be doing any photoshoot so my 1st meeting with the designer will be in Nov. today went bs to try a few gowns. can't fit into any of them. feel so sad. dunno why all the previous brides on so petite in size. make me look so huge & fat. so demoralised. now must start dieting liao.

You anyone of you like to maintain the table for Dec 2006 brides? I think any one of you would do a much better job than me

hi zen!
hey..perk up! don't be demoralized..!
i love side gathers, but when i tried one on i look as if i've 4 mths pregnant..! grr... so have to give up on that..

anyway diet is not coz we feel we're fat...if we keep to a healthy diet, our skin will glow n more radiant, n plus exercise, we'll be more toned n will look better! so its a more overall thingy... my friend, a dietician, said we shouldn't stop eating or eat too little...in the end we'll only harm ourselves n will be worse off..

so don't GO on a diet! must CHANGE our diet instead!

GO MAY 06 BRIDES!! =D

yo aiko!

u r not the only one that has not chosen a BS!

me too! wow at least u gals plan to do it in June.. hehe i will do my rounds in July!!
nw pretty bz w my home reno..

hi zen
hmmmmmmm dun be demoralised.. saw frm the thread ur wt and ht.. u seem to b in the right weight.. tink maybe u would like to tone up.. dun really hav to diet tat much.. juz maybe spend some time exercising..

kyrie

ya chilren makes a family more completed..Now to me is more like a burden la... but of coz as time goes by...there will be emotional,mental and financial changes.. so who knows...
ur hse coming in 2009??? so stayin with PIL now ah?? where u buy??? me plannin to look for hse end of the year.. most likely buyin resale flat since it's bigger and more choices...

TinTin
maybe u should teach us here.. so whoever free can update it...

Hi TinTin,
why do u say "Sam is good value for money if you are not VERY VERY particular to the extend of almost anal about photography"?

You sounds like he is not good leh..I still tot of getting him as my AD PG.

Any comments about him from other girls??

Hi Gingercat,

They are going to postpone your appointment? I booked my appointment at 6 pm on 17 Jun 05 last month. Signed up with Yvonne herself but not sure if she is going to meet us that day. Dont think we are changing our appt time liao. My bf not sure whether he can take half day leave or not.

Have not decided on PS location yet. Going to reccee a few places after my exams. Dont need to decide now actually, just need to choose the photographer first. I want my PS to be in Mid Jan. Have not spoken to YC about it yet. Shall inform them. Reason is if take in Mar, would only get softcopy in end Apr, that would be too late for photo montage cos we would be very busy doing other things.

Where is Bukit Tinggi?

Hi Timminbuzz,

How did you book your dates with the church? When we booked ours, the secretary checked with the priest and then we paid deposits to book the venues when the priest agree to the date chosen.

If not confirmed and it has been weeks, you better call them to check in case the secretary forgot about your date!