(2006) Brides of year 2006

ooshie> oh u oso dilemma last time ah? actually partly y we like the RTP is cos it is so near the shopping we tot its more convenient for guests & "alive" (eg vs grand copthorne with nothing next to it). like if they hungry or last min their skirt split, or want to do manicure etc etc can ezly find there la; then its covered from mrt, no rain delay! (if they wear nice nice then they most prob wil take cab then wil appear at hotel side not shopping side?)

but u know hor, the panpac ballroom has no direct lift access, so that day i saw the bride have to take lift to level 1 and walk across the main lobby n lounge (pass all of us strangers) to reach pacific ballroom! a bit weird leh! of course can take lift to level 2, walk corridor then take escalator down to level 1 one, but escalator dunno wil jam the dress or not...

asura> ya i os heard the food at panpac is not bad, i personally went to rtp many many times for functions n weddings liao, i tot the food was not too gd, altho the very last wedding i went in dec it's "ok" lor...

ya i agree the marina sq will b very happening! u know the 2 times i went there, the reno's still not done, it's so inconvenient to walk, everywhere blocked n gotta walk in circles n detours, but the place was flooded with ppl leh! they r expanding the place by soooo much! got a lot of interesting outlets! i think next yr by june it will be the new "in" place n my guests will enjoy walking there n mayb hang out there after the wedding... hmm, scalli they so happily shopping they come even later n i will hv to start at 9pm

gals hv u considered buying ur own beer? any gd recommendations for wine? (as in cheap but good) ;p i wan to see if i buy outside my cost will drop...

EL, actually alot of ppl are selling at Bedok esp the en-block...those 3rm flat...but they are selling at ard $300~400K...cos 3 yrs later they will be moved to the central area..thats y they are all asking for such a high price..N their flats are super old with no reno at all..
another pl, that's selling hot is the one near JC, selling fr $390K~$400 over K...
but in the end, I got the new flat at the stadium thr ballot. *heng..we gt it..but not the level I want...better than nothing...

Jean,
how many pgs is the album? got 320slots? cos I intend to buy one for my AD too...think its too early hor.

Marine,
I didnt get the pillarless ballrom... I took the smaller ballroom with 2 pillars...the grand ballroom needs min. 45tables...& after taxes would be $900+...the smaller ballroom cost abt $800. actually I liked the smaller ballroom's FOYER! So, even te pillarless ballrom is grand & the backstage is unique...I still prefer the smaller ballroom.

HAzel,
Never too early to buy cos this design sells like hotcakes! I waited for abt 2 months before it came back. The sales person says the stock dun come often. I dun think got 320 slots. That's why i just bought another smaller one also from precious moments...ahhahah...

I also bought my ang bao box at kalms liao....cost me 28 bucks inclusive of ribbon but I am satisfied with the look of it...hehehe...

So u see what i mean by "its never too early" to get these things done. Cos i always believe, once u set ur eyes on something, better grab it first...else by the time u wanna buy, maybe too late liao...
These things can keep one ma...

Hi BingBing,

Hope you're feeling better now. I've 90% recovered from my flu and cough. Feeling a lot better now.

I personally think Panpac would be a better choice in this case. Like Ooshie said, RTP has fourballrooms (if I'm not wrong). Quite confusing for the guests if they are all going to RTP. Also, I think for about $800 to have a 9C sounds quite reasonable. Don't worry so much about your guests cos I think people usually know how to entertain themselves la.

As for beer, usually we take house beer. Not sure if the hotel allows beers from outside. You've got to check with them.

As for wine, I had a bad experience recently at my friends wedding earlier. I think he bought one of the cheapest wine in town and after drinking that wine, my throat felt funny. Soon after I fell sick. From what I know, bad wines can cos throat inflamation. So suay I kana cos of the bad wine. Just a warning la.

think before I buy all these things, I better tidy my bedroom first...its so messy already...but I had bought the bed sheet covers last year..hahahha...

Hi Bear,

.. I am one day later than you..kekkee!
So you booked your BS already, which BS did you go to? hmm.. better look into your banquet soon cos some good places and dates will be snap up pretty fast. Good luck!

hi bing bing,
yeah lor ... but pan pac still my choice coz my mum commented that RTP so noisy from the shopping crowd downstairs no exclusivity and yeah i think phy is right that are 4 if not more ballrooms and they are most likely next to each other. depending on how many tables you can only take the big and nice ballroom which i think is min 60 tables ... i feel the rest not very nice
as for food , my family's a fan of hai thien lo at pan pac

hihihi... you all are very active leh...

hee, i just visited carat club on sat... tintin is right... they are very affordable, compared to tiffany... i am shocked too... but purplenic, the lady attended to us is much more friendlier and not pushy compared to the others...

FH like their service and design so think will get my wedding band from there....initially wanted to get from chaumet (but only got boutique in taipei)

in fact, i find their prices better than the mass market jewellers leh... you can get a plain platinium ring at ard 600nett in the carat club...

just one question, do you all have the same design as your FH or husbands? carat club lady recommended me to get the half-eternity band and a plain one for my FH... he likes the idea but i not sure leh... half eternity band got 8 small diamonds across the ring.. very sparkling but yet ok for daily wear... also it goes well with my engagement ring if i were to wear two together... so now a bit confused...

kyrie - so are you fixed on GHA? i dun mind checking them out leh... where is it huh? can arrange to go this thu evening? i got 3 frens who wanna accompany me too... part of my bridal entourage... hee

hi lilic,
u went to the carat club ah? if i've known carat club is this affordable, i would hv gotten my engagement ring there liao. well, perhaps can get my wedding bands there instead.
how much is the eternity ring u mention?

yup zen... i passed by and decided to go see.. luckily they got no appt then so they entertain me... you may want to call them for appt first...

the half-eternity ring is 1.8k... hee, 3 times of tt for my FH... but nice leh... tiffany's half eternity is 4.5k... hee, actually FH tot tiff one is nicer.. but for the price, cannot lah... coz he already spent a bomb on my engagement ring there..

i c.... think i better jus buy a plain platinum wedding band or custom make instead. need to control budget.

today almost quarrel with FH. i forgot to inform FH tat i intend to upgrade my photgraphy package with b&w pics during our wedding discussion & he make a lot of noise today when i told him. sigh.... say my venue not suitable to take b&w pictures & he doesn't like b&w pics. i say i like b&w pics wat. then he say everything also must agree with me & tat it's not like a discussion at all. make me so sad & angry. now i understand why ppl will say during the wedding preparation couples will tend to fight.

after cooling down, i realised that maybe i shd jus give in to him since like wat he says, almost everything he also gives in to me. told him that i give in lor just now. then guess wat he says? he says if i really wan jus go ahead with it. sigh... dunno whether to be angry opr happy.

wah jean, i said this before and i'll say it again- you very fast leh!!!! i have not even thought about the ang bao box; i feel like leaving it till the last few weeks muhahahaha.

Marnie, did u manage to drop by Ikea? I was there tonight and it was crowded man. I didn't see any nice looking bowls leei.

Ay, the bukit batok house is a HDB flat but has a typical condo layout which i like. I like the rooms to be hidden and not visible when one enters the house.

you gers are really fast man; i have not done anything since i booked my AD photography. hee hee

zen,
i think your hubby's jus angry with you for not letting him know
things would b different if he was aware before you "decided"?
he sure will give in to you if he knows the reason for you choosing b/w
who wont wan to make their wife happy rite

yuan liang ta ba kekeke

duuno lah.. now i also dunno whether shd upgrade to the b&w photos or not. actually i getting a 2nd photgrapher frm pentaserve. cos if i get a 2nd photog frm them, my b&w (film) will be free. comparing the price, it's cheaper lor. the 2nd photgrapher is for taking posed pictures cos kuang doesn't do posed pics. FH says we dun need a 2nd photog at all. why waste the money? another reason is he doesn't like b&w pics in the 1st place. i agree wif wat he says abt the part where we don't need 2nd photog to take posed pics cos we prefer a photojournalistic style. but then again, i was thinking since ours is a buffet dinner, guests will be minglingard so there're bound to be frens or relatives who wan to take pics with us mah. & after solemnization, usually ppl will posed & take pics rite? sigh... now make me so confused..

purplenic - pm you liao.

zen - dun be sad.. its part and parcel lah... but guess both of you should sit down and detail your priority based on the budget.. we all have limited resources for unlimited ones...

understand his concerns and wants as well.. sometimes, we the BTB can really get on their nerves... coz we think that it is our BIG day so everything we also want... but dun forget, it is also their BIG day...

personally, FH had told me before, he will prefer to spend on the tangibles like wedding bands and wedding favours for guests rather than photoshoot... coz he thinks we'll pack it in the storeroom after AD...

me initially sad.. but no choice lah... give and take lah...

maybe i shd really jus listen to him. if ppl wan to take pics with us, then jus use our own digital camera lor. anyway all these pics won't be going into the album. & if we develop ourselves to give to relatives & frens, it'll be cheaper hor? no point spending the money since it's not really necessary. perhaps he's right....

i havent told him that i wan a real wedding cake(another few hundred dollars) & the champagne fountain. if he knows, think he'll faint or make noise again. haha! guess i'll either buy the cake myself or says it's a gift frm my parents. maybe i shd tell my parents that i dun wan anything frm them. jus buy me a wedding cake can liao.(they also save $ this way!) kill 2 birds wif 1 stone. haha! guess i hv to forgo the champagne pouring. need to pay caterer extra $100 or a few hundred for the stack glasses. stupid right? anyway we not having the yum seng thing so this one better dun take. if not FH going to jump on me again.

aiyoh, so sorry for making u gals listen to my rubbish. hv to say out if not i feel so terrible.

EL: No lah. Didn't go to Ikea. I dread having to fight with the crowd. It sounds weird but I like to do my wedding related shopping in a calm environment so I can have a "vision" when I shop for the stuff...

I will go one of these days after work. Take a bus direct from the office.

Eh...you booked your AD photographer?? Who did you book in the end..Wah..you faster than me man....

Jean: I agree with EL, you are THE bride Idol..
Very well prepared.

I have not done anything except get the album for my PS album (since I am DIY). I have vaguely thought about the angpow box but most likely will get a rattan basket from Ikea.

EL: Better not leave the angpow box till last minute so that you will not scramble then. Then it'll be stressful.

lilic's FH is rite
all the $$ we spent on photos will later b placed into the storeroom
sad to say, but that's wat everyone's doing...

i think color or b&w is very extreme loh.. either you like or you dun..
maybe you can ask another fren to take color for you? and pro for b&w? then you'll have both? posed pics can jus get a fren to do it? maybe that's y Kuang dun do pose?

cheer up~ still have months for you to decide!

no lah zen, we are glad to be here... some point of time, we need to pour our "unhappiness" out...

you very cute... hee... i also want a real cake.. but somehow dun think i can have it... coz to ex liao...

for champagne pouring, bargain with the caterer? if not ask them to give you the glasses then get your helpers to stack them??

hehe all those you wan r all those i wanna skip :P no cake no champange

jus discussed with hubby too
he's okie with skipping of cake.. but champange is a must leh.. sigh.. think he wanna go thru the yam seng thing.. so "ah beng" hahahaha

zen, i think you better let your FH digest bit by bit, if not i think he'll really faint kekeke maybe jus pop out as a qns? see wat he says first?
for my case, usually hubby will ask me pay myself if i wan :P but later when he clear the bill, jus squeeze it in hahaha

come to think of it... the whole wedding thing is more like how i want it to be. i wanted it to be the perfect wedding. (it's after all once in a lifetime mah) think he must be stressed by all the things i want. i told him that we'll share the cost of the wedding b4. but guess he's still worried abt the money part. i'm that kind who thinks tat money can always be earn back but it's a once a life thing so if can afford jus go ahead lor. whereas he's the kind who feels that alays hv to plan for the worse cos things may not go as planned. so watever it's not necessary cut them out.

hmm... i think i shd really put myself in his shoes. at the end of the day, both parties shd be happy abt the event rite?

zen~ we're the same pattern :P hubby always says if after the wedding is end of the world, then we can afford to have the best wedding ever
i think for guys, they usually plan for rainy days & for the future loh... they sure feel upset for not making it the best ever for us

girls tend to have a dream wedding in mind
when i asked my hubby, he says he dun even have any dream wedding, jus work within budget! so sianz rite!! *sigh* jus give and take loh.. if not, i think i already qi si le...

El,

Yeap! Agreed with Marnie...Dun leave the ang bao box till last minute cos it's not easy to get one u like also...Besides, these boxes from kalms came in batches...and the batches comes in irregularly...In my case, actually i wanted a red one but this time round, red is not available, so in the end, i chose gold colour..All these tiny mini things, do it while u have the time cos as the date draws near, u will not have time for these nitty gritty details already...:p (Hope I did not scare u...hahah)

Zen.. don't worry too much. Budget constraint and fear of over spending is a very common prob we all have. heh. Not forgetting the guys are more practical (when it comes to certain things) so they tend to think this one not necessary or that one..no need. Whereas on the other hand, we girls are thinking "Special day.. want the best." So conflicts arises.. heh give and take lor.

Lilic, i have settled with GHA already.
Like the designers there (Tampines Branch) and since i went with my aunt, we had quite a good deal. I'm sure can arrange appt on Thurs evening. They close at 9pm and Tuesday is their off-day.

i wanted the cutting cake thing is becos it's supposed to symbolise a sweet like happy ever after kind of thing rite? for champagne pouring, i dunno wat it symbolises. but i think it's a good idea to hv tat cos i won't hv any march-in in my evening gown. so can take this oppourtunity to pour the champagne, thank the guests for coming & toast. jus cheers no yum seng.

my only march-in will be with my dad jus b4 the solemnization. he'll hand me to FH at the solemn table. straight after the solem, we'll cut the cake. if we dun hv the champagne pouring later in the evening, it'll be quite chaotic. cos mine is a buffet & ppl will be walking here & there all the time. very hard for them to gather.

if without the champagne pouring, think i'll jus change into EG then jus continue eating & talking to frens. then also can do without the toast & the thank-you speech liao. jus going ard thankin frens for coming can liao. hai... jus keep everything short & sweet.

hhee, i think we all like that... but wat is perfect for us may not be too pleasing for the man...

for "my sacrifice of the photoshoot", i got a lot more in return... hahha, which i tot may end up more costly than if we went ahead with photoshoot...

zen, i think you should be glad that your hubby is a well-thought out person... *smile*

also now no real cake, i skipping cake cutting and champagne pouring too.. hahhaa

kyrie, you signed with them already? GHA @ Tampines is good! my colleague had hers there
i went there when i shortlist too, but sway sway went on Tuesday
din get to see.. and too far from home, so gave up~

kyrie, CL is too ex la.. i aiming at his other photographer, John.. you have the pricing for him?? kekeke can send to me?

zen, maybe you let ur FH know your plans and concern? i'm sure he'll happy to work that out with you

Yup! Like the designers alot. Friendly people and they know their stuff. It's pretty far for me too since i stay in Serangoon North and FH stays in Jurong West. But after going down, i think it's worth it.

Today i went to a BS in Bugis. heh not very impressed with them even though their package seemed more attractive than GHA. The person who talked to us didn't know his stuff well.. like we ask simple question like 'what cutting suits me?' and he gives very general ans like 'oh.. anything will suit you.. tube lah.. halter lah..' His answers shows alot man.

hahaha which BS is that? i sure hope the one i gave up? kekeke then i can b more sure of the forgoing of deposit :P

wah..very far to Tampines leh..but most impt is you can click with them
do go to the forum to check out on them before you sign..

kyrie, that was fast... then nevermind lah... will go scouting on my own... hahah, tampines a bit too far for me...

zen arh, i think i not having EG also... will spend more on WG... more time to mingle with frens...

for the wedding cake most prob i want it. (heehee.. it's still a wan not a need) for the champagne pouring, i can do without it. think nearer to the date when we meet up with the caterer then ask them how much again. frm there see FH's reaction then act frm there. i so cunning & naughty hor?

haha purplenic, maybe you can email me the name of the boutique so that we can confirm it in private. hahah at least we wun tarnish the reputation of the shop here.

thanks! wow! John so fast grabbed on 9 Dec!! guess he's getting hot nowadays huh? but he's quite a nice guy la.. met him at CL before

so you not getting CL?

Hahah zen, so you deserved to be scolded? hehehe

lilic, if GHA is one of your shortlisted BS, shd go Tampines one. The deal they gave the two of us (my aunt and I) was pretty good plus their service was a plus point so i signed on w/o going further to look for anymore BS. Heh but even now, i'm still interested in going to BS elsewhere to look at their packages..

Purplenic.. i still dunno leh. I saw Eugene's work but not as impressive as Chris and Kel's. Even John's was better but he's taken.. so most prob not going for them..

zen, not cunning... its called smart... hee

purplenic, will check out divine then Sl.. heard they are similar but better prices...

kyrie, tampines too far... i dun want to dread going to BS coz of distance.. knowing me, i think i will... it quite out of th way leh..

email me your package?