(2006) Brides of year 2006

small_one

ling

my hb's bike skidded along the ECP, while we were on our way to church. The orad was wet and the vehicle in front suddenly slowed down a lot. My hb could not control his bike, so we skidded lor.

But praise God that both of us escaped with scrapped skin and cuts. I was slightly more serious though, as I have one very deep wound and it required stitching.

linglun

If i'm not wrong they're on location for an overseas shoot, should be returning liao ba..

have u chk'ed out the website b4?

nami

Hi Ivy,
Take care of yourself.

vvn

wow... 2k top up. steve ur photos must be really nice!

Just popping by to see this thread. wah, xiaobai first time leaving post in the afternoon leh! was very addicted to reading the posts in the home and reno topic. coz got my new house over the weekend darn so excited lah!

one qn: even if hotel provides 60% of wedding cards, i can still buy more from supplier, right?

since i am having lunch, some of my friends suggest to put "8 - course lunch to be served after ceremony" to avoid ppl confusing it with buffet. but isn't it like very 'obvious', like i need more ang bow $?

stevy

Yap. 2K for extra photos. My BS is Mr & Mrs. Same as xiaobai. We took up "prof" Tan to be our PG.

Charly, will you be doing the "Ru Huo" for your new house??? Thats is, to perform simple "rituals" to bless the house. Like rolling oranges, pineapples before the couple step into the house etc.

For wedding cards, my hotel gave me more than 70%. I think it all depend on your coordinator. I feel you should put 8 course lunch. $$$ is impt to the newly weds.

vvn

wah, must share ur photos with us!

erm, not sure. is that ritual supposed to be done right after i get my keys or after reno but before moving in? it's not that complicated anyway so prob dun mind doing that!

printer lady told me dun buy extra first, since we are printing inserts so we can just buy the ready made cards. ok abt the 8 course lunch...hmm... still deciding.

btw, does anyone know if it costs much to take out existing sink+ vanity top of bathroom and reintall a new set?

ffbear

hi, Ivy,
do take good care.. AD coming.. need to look radiant..

hi, blurblur,
fret not.. me oso hvnt decided HM.. depends on budget.. hahaha

roidana

Hi Blurblur, T dragon is not that expensive as thought. get their quotes. I enjoyed talking to their sales people and seeing their samples. I confirm orfer on sat PM and they sent me the mock up by monday. really efficient.

smurfying

Vvn, for me i put wedding luncheon will starts from 12pm. Solemnization at 1.15pm.

I din put it's a 8 course luncheon. But most of the frens knew it's course luncheon. Relatives side, my parents' side has increased to 4 tables...aiii...prepared to lose that 4 tables, so can't b bothered lor.

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-siong lor. so keeping a lookout also. hehe. gt to disclaim. im not a job hopper. its was not made clear to me on this during interview. so i duno lah. see how. gt to go simalu more often liao. da wife complain on the nite shift lor. cant see me at all. i reach home she go to work, i go to work she nt yet reach home. rem to use the window cloth. normal cloth i scare will have streaking effects and also "mao" coming out of the cloth. u still go donate blood? cannot lah. wait u lost weight again. maybe we route to japan for a while, i go with u...i donate my fats to u. hahhaa. u pay for the operation. hahaha i m crazy in the middle of the night. u selected ur songs liao?

yuki-happy wise of cos not. i m leaving the comfort zone of my excompany of 2yrs. i leaving for pay and not other matters. so im quite alright with pple there. a work hard and play hard bunch. so def happy over there. here i gt to start making friends and get use to the job. every beginning is difficult. bo bian. as long as wkends gt spent with da wife can liao lor. hehe. sun gt to work for sure. so she abit unhappy. hehe.

stefy-wah i din noe less than 4k can go 15d europe. ok then i shld have done so n not spend that much on BS. hehe. is it really good grabs at their fair? seems like a lot of rubbish generated s reported by the news.

apple68-relax. i tink u are reading too much into things. relax and lower ur expectations of ur "close friends" maybe they are bz as well. or ur email gt filtered to spam folder accidentally. such thigns could happen. just a suggestion. tke it ez. i b doing the same thing as u also. nt yet do. hehe.

elven-wah ur proofs so fast can get back? tats gd. 6locations, oh my. becareful of the after effects..aka photo selection. sequence here so ned this and tat. then all piled up.

vanessa-really cottagy. hehe. if theres such a word. hw many colors did u paint ur hse? wahpiang the samsung tv fitted right in. No horse run. i like the water can on top. put some sunflower lagi nice. ehhe. is urs resale 5rm corner unit? quite big leh. kitchen lagi no horse run. kitchen design i give u 10/10 for country style. perfect. u created a backing for ur sofa also rite? or is that original balcony wall? u are the offical country girl/bride here.

diamond-great to hear tat they refunding u. do tke it ez. tke care.

ladies, gt to seek opinions. for those who hve shifted hse, do you all keep sec, poly, uni books and notes or all throw away? im in a fix. duno next time need anot. sigh. if all throw away then like xin tong as all hard work there. hehe.

another thing to ask, since im teochew, my mum said she want to rent from our BS. if not da wife gt to buy her a evening gown/dress since she be giving her SDJ. I m not sure if she meant it tat way but she said DIL gt to buy evening gown/dress for mil. is there such a rule? nvr heard b4 leh.

progress for my preps is still stuck at the song selection.

vaax

DaMan you're funny! Wat's horse run? Sorry, I eat potato grow up
Thanks for the compliments on the house, yeah I wanted a country house. I think I used almost all the 7 colours of the rainbow! Heehee... Living room is yellow, kitchen is blue, dining is red, my room is green and mom's room is purple. My sofa is cheeep cheeep from ikea. Yeah we initially wanted to break down the wall to extend the living room but it cost abt $1k to call in the PE or something so too ex lah. My unit is old HUDC so it is quite spacious.

I give up on traditions already, coz my parents and ILs also dunno and they just anyhow pick those they like, haha..

Hey, I had my food tasting for my church catering yesterday. Anyone doing it too? I'm going with Lavish Dine and the food was really quite impressive
Am going with them!

yuki31

Diamond, if the hotel willing to refund the deposit , tat good ...take care and don't think too much ...hope everything goes well for u.

angel, wow u go so far to donate blood ...hahaha dun donate too much leh ....keke :p later u become under under weight liao ....

Da Man, oic so u planning to job hop again? but this is not a good time huh? coz ur AD is juz a few mth later ...i am oso looking ard for job, hope can get a job tat let me start work after my AD ...keke :p Do take care at ur new job ...hope things will be better for u

at least weekend can spend will da wife tat good
my FH nowaday oso work till very late every day

haha i am oso thinking weather to throw away all those sec , poly n uni books n notes ...think most likely i will throw the notes but keep the books ...so far din seem to use them ...all stacked aside for many years ....if u have the space n may need it in future then keep ...keke :p my Fh oso teachew but nvr heard his mum mentioned abt buying EG yet ...i got to check...

ublur

Ivy, glad to hear that u r fine.. do take good k ok??

ffbear, so which HM destination you considering?? i damm sian.. then some more my hb say he might not be able to get leaves as he's in the middle of the project.. got to tok to his boss thou..

roidana, thanks for the info...

angeldust

g dmrg all,

daman - aiyo i pity da wife.. cos u no day no nite.. very siong.. go Japan? i dun mind man.. SUSHI anytime. BRING IT ON the LARD!! ha ha ha ha ha

Teochew custom - ok give u my 2 cents worth but i dunno correct or not. What i know is last time, future brides will give pieces of CLOTH to the groom's mother and groom's sisters for them to make clothes. But now it is just using towels to replace the cloth. Tis is what i know. hope this helps.

vvn

hmm,u sually what do people do with the pork leg and belly afterward?

tansy, dun worry lah, afterall relatives also want to witness ur wedding and be merry mah!

desginfreak, yup, it's resale flat. the vanity thing cum closet attached to the sink is disgusting and quite hideous. (the doors were rusty and inside is yucky) i don't want to spend much to redo and buy some expensive vanity top. just want to take the existing one out, and replace with those normal cheapo sink.

xiaobai1

Hi Summer

Wow your mum makes your wedding so grand. Good lor. If my mil knows my mum want so many things that needs money, think she will blow up ! ha ha ha. She already so fussy about the no. of tables given to my mum and the no. of pork leg cans to be given to my mum on gdl day.

If I ask her for fresh pork leg on gdl day and pork belly on actual day. Think her impression of me will be even lousier. That is what I guess.

For now she is quiet about our honeymoon thingy, she never ask us why we are going to korea for 8 days so long. Now my hubby is the one explaining to her, I hate to explain to her about everything we do. Now I keep quiet, my hubby do all the explaination.

Hee Hee :p Take Care and happy honeymooning :p

Xiaobai1

flipfreak

hi vvn. hacking away the old vanity maybe costly. after hacking away, u will have to touch up the area before installing the new sink. exact cost i have no idea but its gonna cost a few hundred to get it done.

twinkle2610

Hi Diamond...
gald to hear that u get full refund.. *thumbs up for the hotel!* Do take care of urself in the midst of settling down with the new arrangement of taking care of ur FMIL..

Da MAN..
so u work crazy hours too?? my bf oso works shifts..haiz.. but he is applying to get out of it... earn lesser..but betta for us!! hehe... so u pple talk abt job hop here one ar. he oso looking for job leh... got gd lobang can offer?? hehehe....

with regards to the teochew customs.. my bf is teochew..but they dunno such things..so my FMIL din ask for this from me.. I got SDJ from them though... i guess it depends on what has been 'passed down' to ur folks..den they'll just follow... anyway.. just a gown... let the 2 of them Da wife and Da mum go shop... can foster betta relationship in the process?? I pei my FMIL go shop for her dress b4 too.. just 2 of us.. gd as in...can talk and know one another betta in the process...well... as for $$ u n Da wife can always split... Da mum dun have to know rite?? hehehe....btw..since u teochew..do u have to fetch ur wife in the wee hours?? Coz my mum was saying since my bf is teochew, the picking of the bride gotta be done like b4 7am! i told my mum tt's craziness.. haha... anyway.. my bf comes from a christian family..so..we aint gonna observe all the traditions...THANKFULLY!! hehe...

oh 1 more thing.... do u think u'd EVER refer to ur notes and books again??? ESP sec level ones?? hehe... i've long dunked alll my notes.. every semester after i got my results.. hehe... but i only keep my Uni reference books. coz very ex... i keep to sell 2nd hand online... ;)

twinkle2610

oh btw... need advise from all of u here...

my AD is 12 Dec.. thinking of gg for HM b/w the period of 15 - 28/ 30th Dec.... budget for 2 pax is abt 3-4k in total... where do ur suggest ar??

initially wanted to go europe.. but den..to travel in dec is quite ex (from what we found out at the travel fair last wkend) was near to $7k for the package, for a 12D Europe trip.

pls advise... thx...

nami

Hi Ivy,
Do you mind if I ask you something about dogs? Hmm, my hubby and me jus bought a puppy. A shih tzu actually and now trying to toilet train her. Hmm, she will do her biz in the playpen leh where we lay 1 portion with newspaper. The rest is her sleeping, eating area coz no one at home while we are working. But when we let her out, she wont rem to go back to newspaper to do leh....sometimes she does and more often, she doesnt. Scold her and beat her liao when she got it wrong leh. And it is almost like catch her red handed. Any advice on this?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">vanessa, i am doing catering for church.. zooming into angeli and purple sage.. havent arranged for food tasting yet leh.. lavish is good arh? can share the menu and price list with me pls? [email protected] thanks!

da man, i threw all my notes long time ago leh.. now only left with materials i required for my job.. then for teochew customs, i agree with kai.. as long as it makes the mother happy, just give in lar.. =)</font>

jklim4642

thanks everyone.

kai, if u wan to go europe, u must set aside 10k for 2 pax. incl package cost, buying gifts, meals which are not included, etc. it does not matter when u travel.. that is the price to pay to europe.

twinkle2610

hi diamond.. yea.. after calculations tot so too... coz a forum fren just came back from a package europe trip... $2.8k per pax (including tax) for 12D..tot was not a bad deal..but i guess she din do much shopping.. i wont wanna come back empty handed.. haha..so.. most prob gg europe only if i have spare cash to burn there!! now reserving all spare cash for the flat tt is coming soon... =S

thx for ur advise... =)

vvn

designfreak,
oh wow... then it's prob out of my budget. =p oh well guess i'll live with it for a while, then hack it away and do the rest of mini-reno when i am rich!

thanks for the info!

yuki31

Kai - teochew got to fetch brides so early? my FH teochew but our time was 11am-1pm ....my MIL say if teochew bride then need to be early coz cannot c the sun i think ....but i not teochew so think ok ......

yuki31

Kai - teochew got to fetch brides so early? my FH teochew but our time was 11am-1pm ....my MIL say if teochew bride then need to be early coz cannot c the sun i think ....but i not teochew so think ok ......

vvn

designfreak, yup yup.

anyway, just heard from someone i know (who's my future neighbour) that the cold storage right opposite my future home has closed down! arrgg...

anyway, shldn't hijack this thread abt housing stuff, heh.

and Comex is here this week. anyone buying IT stuff for new home?

summerbel

hi vvn...
for the pig leg n pork belly.. olders say are to be cook n share with everyone...

xiao bai....
ur mil paying for ur wedding table?
my mil got nag la but i jus told her "i also dunno n my mum jus want it lo" then she nag nag n finish.. she likes to mag but she will still do it lo.. she is a nice mil... she even go n buy those xi sticker n plate fot orange n plate for the pig leg without telling us...
hahaha
all oct bride n groom out date is drawing near have any feeling??
i need info on redwine anyone can share??

marnie

Hi Girls, sorry been MIA for a while. Been very ill. I have Otitis Media and I've gone deaf in my right ear (hopefully temporarily). Due to the extended flu, plus the flight whilst having flu. So I've been a tad bit disoriented and lethargic.

I've uploaded a couple of pictures which were taken using Meraj's digital camera. The photos from the trusty manual SLR camera and the lomo ones are still not ready --> aka I've not yet sent the rolls to be developed!

So anyways, here is the sneak peak to our honeymoon pictures. Stay tuned!

xiaobai1

Hi Summer

No she is not paying for it, but she is heartpin for my hubby I guess. Cause to her, her son does not earn much. And my parents only insist on the 10 tables, 40 boxes of cakes, the basic gdl items (Hokkien) and the actual day 1 fresh pork leg only. As I am their only daughter, so I think 10 tables is reasonable.

My mil right from the day I rom to her son, she nag until now. She said why we rom so early, but in fact we already park tow for 2 years. Now 2 years later then we married. That means I fellow my hubby for 4 years already. Hee Hee :p Time flies.

My mum never asked my mil to buy jewellery for me, and the dowry also up to them to give us whatever amount they like.

But my mil paid for my house washing machine and the altar table. She is good to us, but whenever she starts to nag about her buddhism knowledge for 2 long hours. Our ears and head will go mad. Ha Ha Ha :p And she always like to do things her own method, and everyone must fellow her way of doing thing I also don't know why.

Nowadays she keep quiet, never said much about our honeymoon and wedding matters. At first, got ask my hubby to consider properly, before booking the honeymoon package. Cause it costs $3000 plus for 8 days Korea tour for 2 persons.

Then we went to book with ASA tour agency and informed her. Then my hubby explained to her why we booked with that agency and she shut up now.

Think she is also lazy to nag at us liao, been nagging at us for 2 years already. Ha Ha :p

Maybe her impression of me is also not good, cause my hubby's younger brother gf is a vegetarian same as mil. And she is a very gentle woman and I can see my mil likes her very much.

But I am not a vegetarian, and when I talk I am not gentle. Just normal voice tone. And maybe my mil is treating me this way, when she is first married into the Chia's family. Her mil also treated her this way too. I am still trying my best to figure her out, and try to explain to her whenever I don't agree and don't quarrel with her.Another thing to take note I have been on and off job for the past 2 years, so maybe her impression of me is even worse. This point I am not really sure, I just guess only. Hee Hee :p

But sometimes her nagging is too powerful, we will give up and no choice but to fellow her instructions to do certain thing lor.

And another funny thing my hubby told me is - since my mum is asking 10 non vegetarian table, and she is a real buddhist fellower. She is going to the temple to pray for 1 whole month to reduce our sin.

I almost fainted when I hear that, my family and relatives are the one eating the food. They don't care about the sin, why must she worry about the sin??? certain thing about her buddhist religion, I also don't understand at all. Just let her do whatever she likes lor.

I just try my best to control my temper and don't quarrel with her, must think of my hubby.

I don't wish him to be stuck in between his mum and me.

Nowadays, we view things in a more postive manner, Not like last time, we always quarrel because of his mum. And I am also angry with my mil. Nowadays, I just find my mil is very funny and cute that's all. And she is doing things good for us, not bad things to us. So now we also don't bother and make ourselves so unhappy.

Now we both are very happy and excited and can't wait for the actual day to come soon. What about U?

By the way, my tea dress is not chosen yet. Have U choose your teadress yet?

Hi Steve

Wow! you top up 2k, me top up about $2300 plus I think. All the best to u. By the way, has your wife choose her tea dress yet? I checked with yuan yuan. She kept telling me don't need to choose so early. Is it true? I am going for the tea dress fitting on 10th Sept 2006. Just wondering will it be too late?

Take Care

P/S: Sorry for the long winded post again. Hee Hee :p

Xiaobai1

xiaobai1

Hi Vvn

I think if you are going to hack the sink and buy a new one. It will need a few hundred like what designfreak says.

Some contractors will even quote u for a higher price, since they know u defintely want to remove the sink. So it is better to compare the prices between 3 suppliers. That is what we always do.

Although a resale flat is close to parents or working place, but a resale flat also needs to change a lot of things too.

For my case, I don't need to change my floor tiles. But my hubby got changed all the water pipes and wiring. He is scared of water dripping and fire breakout in future.

So we also spend a lot on house renovation on our resale flat. $12k in all , now he is doing a lot of OT to earn back the money. Hope we will win 4d soon. Then we can take back some money. Hee Hee :p

If you got any house renovation problem, u can email to me. I will listen to u and give u my truthful advice. Hee Hee:p

Take Care

Xiaobai1

september

summer, wat kind of info u wan on redwine? for me, i am taking wat wendy recommended. Somerton Shiraz.Cab.Merlot from her supplier on consignment basis. Also, i hv purchase a bottle at discounted rate for my food tasting 2molo.

stevy

Hi xiaobai,

I have already chosen the tea dress one month ago when we are tyring out our gown. We insist on chosing because we are lazy to go down another time... Again, limited choices...

Sometimes really regret using MR and MRs. their choice are really limited

tingz

wah.... thread moving too fast, cannot catch up ah :p

Need help!!! anyone got emcee script that got include montage or animation? the scipt privided by hotel dun have....

Diana, the other time u were saying u got contact for projector hor? can give me the contact? cannot get free one liow....:p

hmmmmm....saw some of ur mum and mil request for stuff and such...hais my mum till now no action, ask her everything she also say dunno...lagi headache ah... yesterday give her the invites, she say "huh! so early ah"? *faint*

vvn

tingz,

i think ur mom is like my mom. she says invites only give days before wedding to confirmed guests.

xiaobai,
thanks for u advice! will msg u if i need help

as for redwine, my hotel coordinator recommended this aussie wine called Lahore Crossing. it's cheap lah, less than $15. not sure abt taste though, will get to try it together with food tasting this fri.