(2006) Brides of year 2006

ublur

hi gals, I am back from my shopping trip from BKK!!! had a wonderful trip and really shop till drop!!

Now I must set myself to full force for the wedding prep!!

ffbear, wah, u mean u top up a lot for your
PS?? I will be seeing my PS photos next week.. Hopefully I do not need to top up so much..

jklim4642

OL, am taking next month. yes, the mood will be different. i agree.. but then the mood next time wld be blissful marriage.. and this can be seen in the pictures u take next time!!

pardon me for saying something.. a wedding is a day.. BUT a marriage is a lifetime.. personally, i do not wan to spend too much efforts & time for a 1 day event.. i rather put more efforts & live comfortably & happily (with money) for the entire marriage life.. ;P

nami

Hi ffbear,
actually you can consider paying by installment if the agency allows. Then you can have more free cash.
Hmm, you are with sophia right? then maybe you might want to pay the photos top up by installment instead? Coz anyway its the smae as paying lump sum jus that it might help with your cash flow.

yuki31

OL - happy to hear tat u like ur photo

60 photos ....for 1 album it ok ...how many pages are you having for the album?

Jo - i topped up same amt as u ...think back a bit regret but better dun think back ...keke :p anyway it is once in a lifetime ...so spend a bit more n have a nice album to keep ...next time can look back :p

nfllkh

Hi Tansy,

Ok, check one more time coz here is too open many people can see...

last question....
Bus 99..... brought you togather..

ffbear

hi, Jen T, Nami, blur blur,
no lah.. I hv not selected my pics yet.. so dont know how much I ll top up.. but we juz scared tat we ll land up topping alot.. tats wat most brides ll do mah.. vainpot like me somemore.. hhahaha... & we re-work our budget again.. seems tough... see how lah.. even if we not gg Europe for HM tis time, we ll sure go sometime in the next couple of yrs.. so, juz choose another place loh.. no too bad.. ahhahahaha.. hmm.. instalments, dont reali like the idea leh.. can lah, but not too much / often.. hahahaa.. using future $$ leh.. kekeke.. hmm.. alot of costs involved in wedding mah.. little bit here & there adds up to alot.. spa treatments, printing, GDL, angpaos, last few pcs of furniture etc.. blah, blah.. the list juz goes on, rite? kekeke...

stevy

Hi tansy and diana,
Haven done my box and corsages...You are not alone...

There will be NATAS fair in sept. You might want to wait for the fair to get better rates.

angeldust

hi OL,

glad u are happy with ur pictures!! the PS must have been fun. So glad after all the recent unhappiness u had now something happy to remember by ya? the pictures are the memories *winks*. HAPPY YA?? hee hee hee..

think its up to the indiv couple to decide what is worthwhile to spend on so as long as its within their comfortable range of expenditure. Of cos there are people like Daman who will spend on the album to keep pictures of his beloved wife. There are others who think that diamonds are a girl's best friend and are willing to spend on the blings for keeps. So no harm done so as long the couple communicates and agrees to spend upon what they think its worth.. by all means go ahead!!

xfiles_wolvie

prinzess-huh?wat 30 pges bk?sori not following.can explain?

318bi-cant teach u lah..gt to laern since young. but since u sign with them already then u gt no choice but to start counterbargaining with them. watever they offer u, hantum them back by counterbargaining.like if they say
"u top up 2k for 30photos lah"

then u can say
"ok then u throw in small album for me and a few more corsages or hand bouquet or smething else"

smething like tat til u like it. then u accept if not then 1 more trick
"aiya we all are out here to do business, u happy i happy then every1 happy mah...ok? can lah...".

smething like tat. hehe. dun say i teach 1. mua hahaha.

diamond-no lah..where got so much money. da family can go europe but for a few days only. hahahaha not those a few weeks kind. and not ust photos. the whole BS package lor.

angeldust-no prob..next mon onwards if u all dun see me here, most likely i m banned or smething. will update you gals thru email. cos hp can access yahoo. hehe.

yuki-top up 688 and get all negatives back and 8R mini album, wat else? can u layout the b4 topup and after top up. abit blur. but if money is of a BIG concern and u dun tink the service is great then better dun topup. 688 can buy a washing machine and still gt leftover.

OL-wah tats gd...1st rd and left 60 pics....actually 1 page ard 3 pics is enuff for magazine if not super crowded. then 1 pic becme damn small but u paid the same price as the big pics. wat for? i would only want max 3 pics. but then they always say sequence so must add. sigh.

apple-heres my progress and i added something else. hehe.

1. WG/ EG 50% done (evening gown not confirm. da wife lor..hehe)
2. Groom's Suit - 100% done cos from BS
3. PS - 100% done
4. Wedding Card 0% done
5. Wedding favor 100% done cos hotel give but not yet chosen
6. Guest List/ Seating Arrangement 0% done
7. Hotel Wedding Banquet - 0% done (not really sure wat u mean here, is it like rehearsals and everything?)
8. MIL's dress - 0% done
9. Mum's dress - 0% done
10. Wedding shoes - 100% done

Additional added
11. House - 100% done
12. An chuang - 0% done
13. house warmings - 10% done
14. honeymoon - 0% done

jo-wah ur pic 40 nd 2k only. mine 30 and 2k. cham. tink ur coordinator not consistent leh. i shld have bargain more. crap. dun worry i wun quote u. hehe.

xfiles_wolvie

angeldust-i see my name smewhere. hehehehehe yeah my beloved da wife. hehee.

diamond-instalments for the 2k...so set us back a hundred plus per month. so tke lor. ehheh. thanks for ur opinion though.

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hellos all.. finally got a breather.. wats the topic now??

angel, i agree with you.. every couple is different.. while i look forward to and value married life, my wedding is very impt.. coz thats when i will take my vow!!!

OL, happy that you enjoy your PS and like the pics.. hope my PS will be good too.. =) i agree with you that money can be earned back..

jo, dun heartache.. i am sure you will like your album at the end of the day.. tho its hard earned money, it can be earned back.. take it that you are enjoying the fruit of your labour.. =)</font>

shorty_gal

Jus wanna check out any oct brides planning to go Swiss for honeymoon? I thought of going there but not sure which agency is good!
Please advise...

yuki31

angel - me agree with u too
as long as it is within the couple limit and they are happy about it then go ahead

Da Man - okok i list out for u ...keke :p
my inital package got 24 photos n 24 pages with a mini 5R album (normal kind).

for 2k topup i got.
- extra 30 photos n extra 16 pages. (total 54 photos n 40 pages)

for another 688 topup to 2688, beside the above 30 photos n 16 pages extra.
i got
- all negatives back
- 2 albums (1 for outdoor n 1 for indoor with 24 pages each)
- 8R mini album in design style
- an upgrade of portriat to design kind n size to 24 by 30 (initial size was 24 by 20)

but i dun think will topup again ...later broke liao ...i am satified with wat i chosen already
so save the money for HM ...haha

panda - busy at work ...seldom c u in nowaday :p

wallflower

panda ~ ur PS will be good, no worries lah... its all in the mind. if u feel great, nothing can spoil it. it rained during my PS, but we still enjoyed it!

angel ~ yup, unhappiness shld be over very soon... after appointed HDB dates, and collect keys ;) will be super duper busy with reno &amp; wedding at the same time... haiz, and there's JLPT2. must try again tis year, dun care!! haha...

yuki ~ geez... dunno how many pages/ spread leh... we go by series, or like wat da man said, sequence... how abt u?

da man ~ yup, agree with u tat a spread abt 3 pics then worth it. but tin mine some spreads have 4-5 pics. during layout discussion will discuss with BS again

ceraine

tansy, diana,
hotgun machine is a hotglue machine actualli. it hve better effect than superglue.

tansy, worried about work? what happen?

designfreak,
i've finished my angbao box.
if u r considering to buy yours, there are nice nice ones in far east plaza. quite costly though. similarly one , u can get $9 from bangkok. but far east selling like $30.

oh btw, any nice recomendatin for beach resort.
been having some back problem recently, so hubby suggested for beach resort...at least wont be so tired out from the shopping spree.

flipfreak

hi ceraine. we are planning on making our own instead of buying. hehe.

have u been to bali? nice place. stay away from the tourist traps though.

smurfying

Ng Kar, haha it's a small world. I met TS (Ting Shen) in SB forum. U're in nusws as well? I think there's another couple getting married in nov or dec too leh.

Ceraine, i think mayb dun need hotgun ar...cos i'm using paper n so far, double side tapes are ok. And i poke holes to hold my soft toys (w fish line thread).

apuppy

Hi All Nov brides,
long time i never come in here liao... Can anyone advise me where shd I start now? Seems a bit lost on what should be done now..

By the way, is it a necessary to have wine cause me and my hubby know nothing about wine, and my hubby is a very bad drinker so tot provide less alchohol to avoid kena sabo... besides that some of my frens says wine is not necessary. Anyone here doesnt serve wine??? Still kind of worried not serving...

Anyone can advise me??? kind of lost....

apple68

Gd morning All!!!

Haa.. Da man... Wedding Banquet... as in selection of menu, food tasting, settle on the ballroom theme...
etc etc...

Seems like I am the last one here to do PS.... all of you so excited over your albums... when will be my turn...

Has anyone of you thought of your march-in song? song for Fanfare? For the gals, have you decided on your hand bouqet?

lilic

<font color="0077aa">morning to all

yuki, have been really busy at work coz gotta prepare for my next trip.. hee, will be going HK and taiwan following week..

OL, actually i dun mind having drizzle on my PS.. i love rain.. =)

apple, you are beri fast leh.. settled so much stuff liao.. when is your PS? a few of us havent done PS too.. =)

for songs, my fiance will decide.. keke, but i using the traditional wedding march for my church walk-in.. kekeke

for hand bouquet, not decided yet.. still looking around.. =)</font>

nami

Hi Apuppy,
When is your AD? And what have you done? hee....
Hmm nowadays, dinners usually have wines. However, if your frens and relatives dun mind, then i think its ok. But if you are worried, you might want to cater for some? maybe 1 per table? so that at least those who want, can drink. You know, some guests arent very considerate and might 'complain' if they cant have wine.

Hi ffbear,
Yah alot of $ involve in wedding. The nearer it is, the more scared i am that $$$ not enuff hahaha....

kitty_li

Morning Ladies,

How have you all been? I'm still quite tied up with work to do anything...haiz...

Hey, anyone going London? (I'm not), but it might be a bit of a hassle, now that so many things are banned on board....

Hi Apuppy,
Wine ah...I think wine is not necessasry, but it might be "weird" not to have. Then again, I've attended weddings where nobody drinks wine! So, I think it's ok...also depends on ur friends and whether ur wedding is weekend of weekday. Weekday, easier to "smoke" why no wine...hehs...

jennifer_teoh

hi ffbear..
o.. so u r prepared to top up quite a fair bit for ur ps photos i supposed? ..
hmm.. i tink it depends on indiv.. cz for me, i did nt top up photos for my ps.. dun wan to spend so much on somethin that i wil jz put in the cupboard.. use the $ to go on a holiday is better for myself.. hehe.. so depends lar hor..

hi apuppy..
wher v u stopped since the last time? ;p hmm.. dependin on the guests that u r inviting.. whether most of them drink beer or wine or hardliquor.. but i find that nwadays, ppl seldom drink hardliquor.. alot of them drink wine ..
jz some tots..

jennifer_teoh

hi csi..

yar.. it is much more troublesome to enter into London now.. at first tot of goin to london frm paris .. but nw, mayb not..
.. wher else r u goin besides london?

yuki31

Good Morning Gals &amp; Guy

Today on course so can login to chat since havent start yet ..keke :p

OL - me having pages but PG will be doing the design n sequence ...got to have a look at the final product 1 mth later to c if we need to increase or decrease the page ....he told me some page may have 3 poses some 1 across 2 page so i waiting.

panda - icic wow u flyng again ....ur job a lot travelling ...keke :p me juz saw Hokkaido package out for Jan ...planning to chk out details soon ...

apple - march in songs i may be using common 1 which me n my FH like ...i am looking ard for songs on montage n march in too ..dunno wat to use ...hand bouqet havent decide yet ...looking ard

ublur

CSI, ya, i heard from news too, so many things ban.. so troublesome leh..

ffbear, me too, i hope not to top up too much. I only budget myself to top up additional 1k and tt's it.. if not, i will not have money for my HM!!

angeldust

gd mrg all,

apple - my PS also not so soon.. cos my gowns NOT even ready yet lor. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA...

OL - gambate ne!! me skipping JLPT2 this year.. may go for the preparatory course cum apply for the Jap Business course next year see if can take JETRO also.. damn ambitious.. but i know.. if i pass JLPT2 is liek strike toto 1 miliion. HA HA HA HA HA

daman - hee hee hee hee.. give u one "FU" so u wun kanna ban..

U all dun stree me leh.. me many things not done.. ha ha hahaha..

panda - me may be flyin to cambo again.. end of this mth.. instruction from boss today.. hmm...

prettibride

I have this HUGE problem and would like to ask if any of you guys faced this same problem and how do you deal with it. You see, my wedding day is approaching 24th Dec 2006 and the preps is already exhausting me out...but I have this big issue with my mum which is the PinJin and customary traditionals. She insists that the bride's mum gets to keep the AngPow from the tables given to her (in this case, its 5 tables) and she insists on having PinJin at least 2K. The problem is, me and fiance is paying for the wedding dinner ourselves from our own pocket..and we do need whatever we can recover from the dinner to pay for it. Her taking away the big bulk of the angpows frm my relatives would mean a shortfall of at least $7K! I tried explaining this to her but she only see it as a means of me trying to say $$ for my fiance and commented he and his family is stingy n stuff. I really do not wish her to see them this way as my FIL has contributed a lot for our house and wedding and I know he can't contribute anymore...whereas my mum did not do anything except for $500 for my new washing machine. And now she demands to earn $7K + $2K from my wedding! I really do not know how to get the message to her, she just won't listen and even threatens to not show up on my wedding day. I know her character, she'll really do it if I piss her off. Feeling very sad why I have such a parent and why she behaves this way when this is suppose to be the happiest phase of my life. Doesn't matter if she doesn't help me wif my preps..but why add on to my burden?

Sad Bride-to-Be
~

wallflower

ting ~ do you have a close relative who can help to speak to ur mum? my mum was like urs initially, until my aunt spoke to her. My aunt set a gd example bcoz she didn't ask for much for my cousin's wedding. my mum wouldn't listen to me too, she thought i was siding my HB too much, so my aunt came in...

soudezne

Hi Steve
NATAS fair is on 29sep to 1oct... it might be a bit too late to make bookings for HM in oct due to the festives periods...

stefylim

hi all beautiful btb....

just found out that SA &amp; CB are having their inhouse travel fairs next week...

SA 20th Aug @ Suntec
Chan Brothers 19/20 Aug @ Suntec/their office...

any1 of you planning to go on a trip/honeymoon....its a good time to book....hee hee hee....heard from lots of frens tt usually the freebies/specials are alot better than NATAs...

vvn

i am having my 'honeymoon' with my whole family in hong kong and shanghai. also want to go to other places, but not enough leave... =(

think the natas fair will be just in time to book for next yr!

angeldust

hi ting,

oh dear.. sensitive issue. ok.. basically.. traditionally the PJ &amp; Tables go hand in hand and ur mum is right to request for the APs back according to tradition. To focus on the solution to resolve this issue...

Here are my suggestions (but u can dun implement if u do not agree):

1) speak to ur mum calmly abt this issue. maybe ask her to give u back the APs but negotiate for a fair amt of PJ say 5k (in between the 7k &amp; 2k for ur hubby)
2) Inform her that if you do make money from the dinner, u will give her some from the earnings if any?
3) try not to use phrases like "u think u sell daughter etc.." this will anger her more.
4) like what OL suggested, u try to find an aunt who had done it before and its reasonable in the demands for PJ &amp; GDL items and get her to speak to ur mum.
5) If ur mum wants to take the APs, by right she can.. by informing the relos she taking XX tables, but after the dinner u can do a side arrangement like (1) above to take the APs back from her. cos the relos will give her the APs direct during the dinner if they know how many tables she taking from the groom side. So not to make ur mum lose face.. she can do (5) above and return u later. then also.. she wants to take the APs cos she needs to record down who gave how much. this is some un written law.

To think of it, our mummies have spent many years taking care of us, spend on us for education etc.. so by tradition she is also not in the wrong. so do not get upset. we owe our mums more than just this wedding.

angeldust

oh ya forget.. if the 3gus 6pos have MORE to say or u know they will add fuel to fire.. try not to ask those relos for HELP. they make things worse..

lilic

<font color="0077aa">hi ting, i agreed with wat angel said above.. based on traditions, its kinda her entitlement to get the money..

to add on angel's suggestion:

1. if you are still going to give her allowances after your wedding, maybe you want to let her know as well.. i heard that some parents tot that once the daughter is married, she no longer provides for them and hence will want to keep some money from the wedding as a token of what they spend on her..

2. in case she wanted to get you dowry, maybe you can tell her to keep those money or buy something less pricy instead.. so that at the same time, she can reduce her PJ demand..

dun be sad.. sometimes its merely communication.. i am sure your mum would want you to be happy as well.. smile</font>

september

i hv booked my club med maldive trip liao...coz the natas fair is too late for us to book liao....even then, i couldnt get the date immediately after my AD so we gng the following wk after our AD lor....

ffbear

hi, Jen T,
me oso dont intend to top-up too much on somethg tat ll collect dust after the wedding.. haha.. so juz strike a balance, I guess..
hi, blur blur,
u selecting ur pics soon? wish both of us luck in keeping to our budget.. yeah..

ffbear

budget &amp; self-control is the word.. hahaha... nobody getting bridal car rental? btw, anyone getting ur MUA to help ur mum make up? how much is the std charge like?

ceraine

design freak,
yupz, been to bali. wow...love the sea, shopping.
Mauritius is too expensive. any lower range to recomend? budget less than 1k per head??? for scuba diving, snorkellig, relaxing..

those i fancy, are way too expensive liao.

diana,
how much is ure maldive trip? duration? bet its costly...
our wedding is mid oct, but considering to HM in 3rd week of Dec...

apple68

Mine PS scheduled in Oct. Anyone doing PS that time too?

My prep is just starting to move. Haa...

For march-in, have thought of using chinese rock.. haa.. but HB thought it doesnt go well with the venue. But I thought it would be fun to see the guests jaws dropping... haa

Just me and my wacko idea

For hand bouquet, going to flip through the mag again. But not sure what kind of flowers I should use. hmm....

nfllkh

Hi Tansy,

Nope, wrong not from NUSWS. i didn't get to know you from other SB forum.. i know you by accidental clue. that is your shanghai job.

Hi vvn,

I'm thinking of having honeymoon, with my friends togather at least we can get someone to take photos for us... haha AND same not enough leave to take so can only go 2 places 1 is Taiwan another one i'm still considering maybe the NATAs exhibition can help.... i'm planning next year off peak period then go ( much cheaper.. :p )

Hi designfreak,

i guess so HM is meant to be with hubby, but i find it boring only 2 person. so i'm asking my friends to come along... the more the merrier.
I'm the type who like to have more people to share the fun.

nami

Hi ffbear &amp; blur blur,
Update us on your photos haha.
Hmm, i think the std charges outside is around 100 bucks for hair and makeup. Getting MUA to help might be abit rush esp if she has 2 places. Last year, for my sis's wedding, i ask my ROM MUA for help. She charge us 100 each but she will go down to the hotel.