(2005) Brides of year 2005

ssmilezz - maybe i start too old, hence I am not tat flexible, can you imagine how funny i looked when when i have to go through some difficult postures.

I am working in Eunos...so it still alrite to travel to town....

Hey gals

My FBIL inviting his friends to my wedding too but his friends have known the family for about 15years hence, i am still alrite with it...as long as they give me enough ang pows..hahaha...my eyes can only see $$$...jialet

dinah

yaya looking for more ppl who want to drink kopi eat cake??? anyone??? but seem no one free le... all hv bs appts, etc etc...

claire,
Some ppl choose to have like white heads or black heads removed etc.. I have heard some beauticians use needles to poke at pimples etc to get it out.. *eeks*

leeds,cutiebear
WAH!! Very exp leh... Most facials are ard that price is it? Maybe I will try the Bioskin one that leeds was saying for $48.. Hopefully they still have that when I get back.. :-\ BUT well for the sake of beauty.. sigh.. I am getting OLD.. can see lines where they never used to be...

Out of curiosity.. How old are u girls?

jitpong ~ well i guess if it was that case, then not too bad right .. i mean my brother's friends are like NS boys leh ....

hi dinah,
sama sama..my mum was just asking me over the wkend to chk w my younger bro if he wants to invite his friends..well, as for me, it's quite ok cos' i know most of his friends..cos' my bro is really close to me.. but even so never thot of inviting his friends.. anyway, my bro said dun hv to save the trouble.. good for me!

hi icy,
our parents hv not met up yet but i thk hv to some time nearer the date..i suppose. actually when shld tis be done? i oso dunno leh. any advise?

Bingo Dinah! ssmilezz! It's the cheesecake cafe I referrin to! But I don't think it's possible now since anna, cookiesgal and Karen are not stayin in the East.

I reckon our gathering will still be on the 16th.................

Thanks Icy! I'd received it! Will take a look now.

duffy ~ phew .. thankfully my brother also thought it was quite wierd to invite his friends ... so he is not ... but he will invite his gf i guess ...

Hi dinah,
Oh, we also have one recently during chinese new year.. just more on getting to know each other.. not really talking abt marriage then.

My Mum more traditional and want face type.. she wanted my fh side to come to our house and formally ti qing as well as talking abt their tables and etc.

Hi jitpong,
If I have table shortage then I also dun mind them inviting people I dunno.. perhaps even have more bargaining power..

hi anna,
hahah, to thk tat we are all trying to slim down & there u r tempting us with cheesecakes...hahah
i'm really tempted cos' i can die for cheesecake! but luckily i hv appt with gown designer tis sat so at least stop me from committing this SIN. hahah

icy ~ wow ... your mum is quite traditional indeed .... hmmm that one i can't really offer any thoughts or advice lah ... cos most of the discussions are done by me and FH as go-between ... so like pin jin, i told my mum to give us a range of her expectations to work with ... hehehe ... terrible right? but that way it would be easier for us to budget cos end-day we are the ones who are footing the entire bill, including all these pin jin, ang-pows etc

Hi anna,

I need ur email address to sent u the quotes. :D

Hi duffybuff,
some people just 2 families come to restaurant and talk like that.. but mum dun like she says no privacy..

so the guy side will come to the bride house to talk, sometimes will have a ti qing person who is not the fpil but some aunt of what.

then talk abt the pin jing, the tables needed.. teh custom which need to be done.

THE 2005 BRIDES FIRST GATHERING!

Venue: TBA
Date: 16th April '05
Time: 7pm

Confirmed:
1. Icy,
2. jitpong,
3. duffybuff,
4. Dinah,
5. fates
6. touraco (not sure)
7. ssmilezz
8. anna

Clare~are you joinin us?

ladies

suggestion for a dinner place .... what do you think of spizza? the pizza place .. nice informal atmosphere .. decent food decent price ... two locations - either at club street or at holland v ....

Hi Icy,
My FH and me paying for the wed ourselves so no need for any formal meeting...I have final say... Anyway our parents met during our grad ceremony few years back so no intros needed anymore.

Unless I need people to make up to the min # of tables, I don't think I want to have siblings friends...I think it's a burden to them too and they can't share our joy...so what for ask them to come and give AngPow.

Appreciate my parents so much now man...now leaving FH to settle things with his parents... I very stubborn and cannot stand doing things I dowan just for 'face' and tradition. They sussing out when we buying flat (wait long long more man)... wait till they find out that it's over my dead body that I will stay will them...

very sian, feel sh**ty...going to find FH for pampering session.

fates ~ sure or not .... sun still up leh today .... sometimes dunno whether to trust the singapore met service or not

Hi dinah,
My mum just cant tell me her requirements straight to me.. ask her she just keep pushing to father saying have not calculated the number of tables.. sianz.. so might as well lah..

she even require the bridal car to send her to the hotel at night.
hi Karen,

ya u are lucky... i find my mum giving more problems compared to help.. if all teh face issues.. cos I have 9 other aunts.. so gossip is fast.. and comparing with cousins wedding is common.

Fates ~ yah must be central lar...nebermind, we arrange somewhere nearer for everyone first. I heard that it's very good. hehee

Jitpong ~ haha....no lar, i'm sure all these bending here and there would make you more and more flexible in time to come yah?
U have to tahan the initial discomfort lar..hehee

Anna ~ i hear you calling for kaki this Sat but i can't make it usually for weekends. Sorry abt that yah?

Icy ~ ah ha...i knew u cannot tahan to leave this thread for too long. hahaha.....So u guys been drinking fruit smoothies everyday??
I like smoothies very much. Did u all buy/share the blender machine? is it the machine that looks like a cup kind? And the blades are just on top? (sorry for the BAD description!!)

Dinah/Karen/Buffy !~...imagine so many strangers (friends of siblings) turning up hor...i mean if my friend's sis/brother gets married, i wouldn't really want to gana invited to the wedding cos that means that i need to spend money for nothing. :P not very close somemore..unless i know their sibling personally. then it's diff lar...

Yeah, i'm also curious...when is the right time for both family to meet up? We did mention to both our families that we want to marry next year but haven't informed them for the AD yet..hahaa...:P

keekkekek....I tot they predicting floods on the 21st, 22nd? spizza? Never been there b4 eh.....

Yo karen...what happen? Monday blues? cheerup cheerup!

Hi, I am new here, hope to join in the gang.
Currently planning for 4th quad of 2005. Thinking of of booking for the hotel first as I am afraid that the day I want might not be available. Sourcing for a date this wkend, guess will be going to one of the geomacy masters for help..
Planning to ROM end of this year. Another option is to ROM on the same day as my AD. Invite the JP over to the hotel. Which is better? Any comments??

icy ~ hmmm quite true .. maybe that way she will come to a decision on most things ...

hehehe ... i told my mum to think about number of tables and gave her 1 week to give me estimate ... so when she did , i told her i am only giving her a buffer of extra 2 more tables ... and she will have to work with those numbers ....

FH did the same with his mum too

the face issue is common with all parents,i think ... like how many tables this person got or that person got ... sigh .. i've been through all that .. we got quite upset with my mother at one point and even told her that if she kept listening to everyone and not to us, and what we want, we would rather not do the dinner and everything at all ... hehehe ... that got her listening .. and also the 'are you paying for the wedding' attitude (which is quite bad i admit) also helped

smilez ~ oh our parents met up a two months back ... about two months after FH proposed ... my parents knew he proposed cos he did go ask them for permission and he also did tell his mum of his intentions ...

so after that over casaul dinners, it was our parents who told us to go organise a meet-the-in-laws lunch session ... so we did an informal one lor ... and then fmil left it to my parents to choose date cos she said she was quite blur about these sorts of things ....

fates ~ it's a pizza joint .. nice pizza ... very thin thin crust with 26 different types ... hehehe ... anyway .. that's just 1 suggestion lah

Hi ssmilezz,
Yap, I drunk the smoothies for 2 weeks, for lunch only. My colleague bring the blender from home. Ya.. those big cup kind, with blades at teh bottom of the cup.

karen ~ you sound very frust...take it easy ok? Like u say lor..let FH settle his side, u settle yours...so it's easier for both of you hor....go go..get some pampering & sayang-ing from your FH...u will surely feel much better!

Icy ~ Yah, i think your mom probably is pressured into getting all these special treatment cos u have so many other aunts. U know lar..older folks won't want to look bad among their peers too...*sighz* headache boy..

Can see that your mom is very traditional kind...hmmm...

Dinah ~ me never been to Spizza too..but i am find with Club Street. Easier to get that there Holland V ba.....

Fates ~ The skies are super dark....but i think it won't pour so soon lar...better pack up and go too..

Buffy ~ no lar, it's not a SIN to eat too much...just think of it as a stress relief method yah? Plus there's so many of us here to share the cheescake..hahaha....

oke dokie..i also gotta run...going gym today!
See ya later alligators....

alright ladies ... i am heading off now too .... going to rush home cos sky starting to get a little gloomy ....

talk either later tonight or tomorrow!

Dinah ~ sounds good

What do the rest think?

Need a meet-the-parents session?? Lucky me, my hb parents already know my mum so there's no problem for me ... *phew* Btw who's suppose to buy me the SI DIAN JIN ar? Is it polite to ask for white gold instead of GOLD?

Hi dinah,
ya, so u see I have 9 aunts 2 uncles (just one side) already add up to a lot of tables.. but mum not ready to pay for her own tables.. so must squeeze her abit.. if she taking more tables, then better dun ask for too much pin jing.

she also dun listen to me one, all listen to my aunties... *sigh*

Ur fh soo good.. still ask permission first..

Catura,

Yeeks! Use needles? That is so scary!!

Yah I agree facials are so expensive hor... And I feel so heartpain the other time after Adonis, expensive yet not effective. I think regular cleansing, and mask at home is cheaper option lor.
So are facials and spas cheaper in Aussie?

Btw, I'm 25 this year. You are abt 27 now right?! Thats not old at all! But sigh... I'm beginning to see fine lines too. I think cos we are getting married, we are sooo conscious abt everything! Hehe... I'm even going to the gym regularly now!

Hi gals.... I'm back... happen to pop by on Sun to see some of u are in the thread.... *waves*

Also trying hard to read all yours post since Friday.... looks like u all hv been talking everything and anything under the sun....

Hi Icy... ops i thought its an animation... well its ok just PM me loh... also interested to know... so hv finialise with Pan Pac huh... so how much is your banquet package then...

Wow u gals are great so slim... and often working out and exercise... me bery lazy and also no motivation leh... cos my FH also bery lazy dun like to exercise and me no kaki leh....

Cutiebear,

Yah thats what I don't like abt Adonis leh... Now I remembered enquiring abt the normal $80 facial and I was told not suitable for my skin cos it's drying blah blah blah, and told me to take up the more expensive Floral facial. Dunno how true what she said is.

Hi fates... care to share with me ur experience with me abt Holiday Inn... cos I hv consider there as my choice leh... so which coordinator did u talk to...

Also tell me your meeting with Merchant Court tomorrow then...

Hi jellytots,

u can prefer to mywedding.com.sg for teh sample website. I am going to do that for my own wedding, getting friend's help.

Pan Pac pacific package is $860 after +++, ocean cheaper at $668. menu of course different.

Hi fates... sob sob.... u miss my earlier post on Sunday, 22.... I would like to meet u guys... so dun forget about me... sob sob sob

Hi Claire, Smilezz... * high 5* me also in finance....

Oh to all the sickly / injured ppl out there... what a bad monday huh.... do take care of ur health huh....

Hi gals... finally finish reading all ur post... wow so many things to say....

k update u gals for my MIA for the past few days... hee hee... go to Orchard Hotel on Friday afternoon to hv high tea also pop into their ballroom... quite big and hv high ceiling... but their banquet is quite ex... also pop by to Holiday Inn to @@ the ballroom... quite nice... but sad to hear fates hv bad experience with them...

Well Sat is my anniversary.... oh I do some cooking for my FH... and burnt my finger... hee hee... cos duno how to cook 1 mah.... so save $$ nbr go out.... rot at home till Sunday...

Today... go to dentist cos my flling comes off... over the weekend... quite a big hole thats why need to see dentist ASAP....

Talk about wedding I'm so stress... cos suppose to @@ the geomnacer just Sunday... went ther 7 early 8 early then told me cannot give me the dates for next year cos tong su not out yet... wow... actually thought maybe just anyhow pick a date will do man.... so troublesome...

leeds,
I totally agree with us being too conscious about everything cos afterall the bride gets MOST of the attention on that day!! ahahah! I too just started going to the gym every weekday.. heeheh!

Facials are ard the AUD60-80 range.. and they arent as pushy as wat I've read abt SG...

I suddenly have this weird idea... U think I am asking for too much if I actually have another celebration just for close friends 1 week after my actual wedding? Was thinking, a wedding is once in a life time and for that I only get to be in the center of attraction ONE DAY.. that's not enough for me... ahahah :P

fates ~ the si dian jin is supposed to be bought by the fmil for the fdil ... so depends on your fmil lah ... i supposed can gently nudge her to buy white gold .. hehehe ... i know i am going to do that

icy ~ mothers tend to be like that ... FH and i are paying for all the tables anyway but we told our families that our first priority is to break even so ask them to give us back all the ang pows from the tables to try and break even or minimise loss ... if we happen to make a bit of profit, then profit will give to my mum lor .... that was how i negotiated with her ...

i also told FH that my parents expect to be asked for permission ... so FH come over to my place one morning after i left for work to speak with my parents first ... before he proposed ... so quite good, score points .. hahahahah

jelly ~ how come you cannot get dates? i got my dates shortly after CNY this year... in fact he gave me three dates for next year to choose from ....

oh icy... its my dad's friend neighbour at ... cannot remember cos still in sleeping mode when my dad sent us there... anyway give him an ang bao of $8 cos nbr thought he cannot give me date so nbr prepare a small ang bao....

oh dinah... i know some geomancer hv to wait for the tong su to come out.... think their skill not tat good lah... hee hee...

so where us ur geomancer? and how much did u pay?

yap btw i thought the si dian jin is only for teochew family huh,,, pardon 4 my ignorant

jelly ~ my mother didn't want to tell me how much ... she said she bought this geomancer lunch cos they are old friends .. and she gave an ang pao ....but i don't think it was very much .. but she said better for you to call him to ask him about his costings ... he is located in the hougang area

i think si dian jin is for teochew families but a lot of other people i know, seem to have 'borrowed' this custom too