(2005) Brides of year 2005

H jellytots

Congrats on your anniversary...planning how to celebrate..or also on plan to scrimp and save...wedding suppose to be happy occasion..but before we reach that day...we have to live on budget like siow...sigh...

Yap i will be making my kua...paid deposit liao...cos their clothes for the kua come in batches..like the current batches and dunno how the next batches will look like..and they cum in limited quantity so better pay deposit first...

The thread too fast here...cannot catch up already

Hi Catura,

Tell me more about your ROM leh!! By the beach sounds soooo romantic!

Claire,

Just wondering why you getting ROM so soon since wedding is in Jan05? And hey, buying gowns and buying rings are all the fun stuff!!

Hi anna and cookies_gal,
My fh is the only son and the father always not in singapore.. only left the mother and a small 11 yrs old sister at home. They will always say must at least have a man in the house. One old and one young child in the household, I also feel bad moving out.

Of course fmil wants us to stay with them, Moremore, fh's parent had not been staying together with my fh, think from 5 yrs old to 23 years old becos they are always very busy with their business in M'sia. So i know my fh would love to stay with his mum and sister.

Of course if there is a chance, i would love to move out. *sigh* The mil still ok lah, can get along..not very troublesome.. just nag nag a bit.. i also not very fussy.

On the brighter side, we dun have any financial worries.

Hi touraco,
You can get from information counter at IMM, Junction8, Plaza Singapura, Scotts and TM, just get teh form and pay with cash.. Or there is a form at style wedding.

Hi Claire,
Thanks for the information on fish.. i got petty confuse with the menu. Had been wondering actually which one is the best.
*sigh* so envy u, 2 person world.. I just use the money we saved for more tours etc.

Hi cookies_gal,
I love Divine gowns.. only after I booked my BS then I realised.. But anyway it is okie.. all my gowns are MTM, can get my BS to do a similar one.

Hi ssmilezz,
No choice, must give and take.. if not future living together will no be easy.

My dad cantonese, so my mum also knows how to boil nice soups.. for every meal.. think I will miss that a lot after i got married.

Hi cookies_gal, Karen and ssmilezz,
Heehee, now on physio-theraphy.. better now.. but very ugly sitting on the float in office. *sigh* Doctor says it will take months to recover.

anna

maids is a luxury for now lah ... i mean fmil is retired already ... so i guess between her, fsil, fh and myself, we will be ok with cleaning ... hehehe ... maybe next time when the babies come along or something ...

currently staying in a hudc apt with parents in hougang

leeds,
ahaahah! I got ROM 5 yrs ago and at that time it wasnt popular to have like grand receptions.. or perhaps I was ignorant? I was only 22.. :P Anyway we wanted something casual and fun to reflect our personalities so we decided to have it at Changi Yacht club or something it was called.. I forgot the name of that plc.. it's in Changi near the safra club?

It was nice.. buffet, with close friends and family
They put those nice bon fire things to light up the beach and tealights on every table? Was really special... Had the whole beach to ourselves too!
AHHH.. those were the days.. :D

jitpong
ted collection? where which part of bugis?
how much? very ex?

dinah
house teh cleaning really... can die.. once when we were in between maids cos our maid got preg, i help my mum i nearly die... and if your house got garden... worse... can vomit blood.

*pengz* One refresh and I see so many new posts!!! Today have 2 new achieve somemore.. so happening!!

Hi jellytots,
Happy first anniversary!

anna ...

hehehe ... yes i know ... and yes we have small garden in front... but we recently re-did our garden ...

what happened with the garden was that there was a bit of weed, and FH went to use some weed-killer of sorts .. but it turned the patch of grass brown .. and after a long while it didn't recover .. very ugly ... so fh quite upset .. he liked his garden .. so we re-did the entire garden on our own two months back ... pulled out all the grass ... dig a small area for 3 little ponds .. and filled the rest with stones and planks .. so look like a pseduo zen garden with a bit of trees

Hi CAtura and Leeds,
In 2 words can describe my situation. POOR PLANNING.

My bf proposed last Dec, then we decided to get married in 04(AD). But we cant get good dates... only managed to get Jan 05. We were still deciding whetehr to buy resale flats near my house when there was this walk-in-selection at JW. So we got our house. Then we need to ROM soon lor since we are going to get our house key.. so everything reversed.

dinah - ooh nice... garden maintenance is headache... haha. my dad oso love fish. we hv koi pond at home. and each koi hv a name...me rarely visit tho... always head straight for main door.
everytime cny walk ard...always amazed at the things we hv... haha..
think i will miss staying in a house after marriage... envy envy ;)

Hi jellytots,

Congrats on your anniversary! Do enjoy yourself!
btw, have attached the URL for the calendar in an earlier posting liao.

Hi Anna,
I was thinking of going to jitpong's tailor to do my kua. A kua from HOE is definitely out of my budget.

Hi icy,
*high-five* I have the same idea, will be getting my BS to make similar gowns for me as well!

Why don't you try to pick-up some recipes from your mum? Soups are one of the easiest things to learn to cook... Also, you can use the slow-cooker so the soup will be ready when you come home from work!

Hi Catura,

Wow wow!! So romantic! And you were soooo young then! Your parents must be really supportive to let you get married so young. Me and FH actually been thinking of having a beach party too, something more relaxed for close friends and relatives. Think ROM by the beach would be quite cool!! So did you get the magistrate to come down? Was the preparation tedious? Is there a package at the club, or we gotta get own caterer and florist etc? Wahh.... The more I think abt this the more I like the idea!

Hi Dinah....same same here. We footing the dinner bills ourselves so saving hard. It's okay la.....bound to get some back from the ang paos??

Jellytots ~ You very cute !!! What you need regarding Traders? My comments not so good, so it's better if you visit and see for yourself......

The '8 Treasures Soup' is something like Buddha Jump Over the Wall I reckon?!! Got lots of herbs like abalone, fungus, fish lip, etc etc etc *Shrug*

anna ... very small pond leh .. those type 30 by 30 inches sort ... so 3 of them ..

we don't have koi ... have small top-view goldfish with FH says are ranchus ....

hehehe ... maybe because we are going to 'swap' places .. i keep complaining to FH that room on 3rd floor very mah-fan ... want to take things from kitchen or something got to climb all the way down then all the way up .. tiring ... heheheeh

Hi Claire,

What is walk-in-selection at JW?

When will you be getting your house key? So exciting! So have you started buying furnitures and planning for the house?

Hi claire,
okok.. poor planning can be saved! :D still got abit of time.. Think u should now start planning for your ROM.. Although I say got time but.. actually only 2 mths left!

Hi leeds,
Yah! They were :D Actually it was cos we were leaving for Sydney a mth after our ROM? So they thought it'd be better that way.. IN case accidents happen.. LOL!

I didnt get the JP to come down.. cos I think it wasnt popular to have solemnization out of ROM at that time? I think it'd be a good idea for yours to have the JP present at the beach? It's be so nice!!

I'm not sure how the package is now.. u might want to take a look? At that time I dont think they ever did a beach wedding of sorts.. :D If not then probably u'll have to look for your own florists etc.. WAH! girl! I think yours will be superbly romantic too!

Hi Leeds,

Oh in Feb, last mth, at Jurong West, HDB organise this Walk in selection stuff. You go there and get an appointment with HDB, then when you go back (after doing research) you get to choose the flats that you want. Its fast and pretty easy. Compared to those who need to wait for a few years. These houses are pretty new, like 1 -3 years after completion. (HDB has many of such surplus flats, to young couples advantage).

I should be getting my keys in soon , another 1-2 mths. I have started to plan for the house... but havent buy any furniture yet. waiting to see the plan first..

It is exciting... but My FH and I are very broke.
WAHhhhhhh!!!!

fates ... FH and i are just hoping to break even on the dinner ... the rest we'll just assume a loss liao ....

hmm ... maybe i should go ask hyatt for buddha jump over the wall ... heheheh ...

catura.. yeah .. since not much time left for planning for my ROM.. I focus more on my AD

So sad cannot have a memorable ROM for me. More towards a simple one. .... till I think of something ... (he he he )

dinah
ya... i think i am going to miss the stairs at home very very much... going to feel funny staying in a high rise... nvr did before... told fh i must go home frequently like almost every other wkday and wkends... haha..

ah what is top view goldfish???

fates - dunno abt the ang pows thingey...seems to me after looking at most hotel pricing... easy to make loss oso.

seems to me like we all become very poor liao before wedding... ;(

cookies
saw someone fm femalebrides forum got her kua fm hoe...very nice... think if rent it will not be so ex rite?? but cannot keep i guess if yr motive is to keep...

for me no kua... dad say you not going to wear tt kind of ugly thing rite?
me will co go for cs...

claire,
Perhaps u can just get simple stuff 1st and then slowly accumulate? That way it's easier on the pocket.. :D Somemore got ROM and AD to spend on.. very siong ar.. :D

Yeah Dinah! You should try that!

Thanks cookiesgal! Good that you found a beautiful hotel for your AD which is near to your church
After settling on a venue, you'll have more time to look into other things right? Gown design, EG design, KUA.....wow so many!!

Dinah ~ sama sama..my FH's family also staying in a house so hopefully, not so squeezy for everyone lor..My own home is 3 stories but we don't have maid too. My mom cleans one floor, i take the ground floor and my sis will do another floor. Everyone got to share the workload. No choice.

FH has ONE pathetic looking louhan.

Cookies Gal ~ eh! I also like divine....this is one of the BS i intend to visit. :P

Jellytots ~ happy 1st year ROM!!

Icy ~ Your FSIL so young!!! Not even Primary 6??
hee..u can give her free tuition. oh dear, need to sit on a float, is it because sitting for a long time will hurt the bone? Erm...ppl might think u just went for a piles op. LOL!! Joking hor..

Yah, i enjoy FMIL's food. She's really a good cook lor..think when she retires will be able to cook even more ho liao. haha....:P

nebermind lar, u can find excuse to go back niang jia to makan next time.

Anna ~ what's wrong with your ILs?

Everyone ~ can't recall who said we have to scrimp and save every cent..but i think for my case, i don't go to movies for a super long time liao..the last movie was like erm...Finding Nemo? :P and we try not to eat out and have been eating at my place or his. We seldom go out and spend most of the time at home...(sounds like hermits right?) but we are both homebodies....don't like crowd lor...

Hi cookies, I heard from my colleagues that if you make your own kua, you can keep and pass on. Unlike WG, the more people wear the kua, the better. Hehheheh .. dunno how true it is...

Kua is nice. Me think of renting Kua too. I dont have much preference on this.

Oh yeah the new Style has many Kua designs all around #200+ to $300+ budget, pretty nice as well. You might want to grab a copy and take a look

anna,
hehehe so unlike me .. i don't like stairs .. but like you i think i will miss home and family very much ... so fh and i have decided that sundays we will go back to my parents place for lunch, one evening every fortnight we will take them out for dinner ... and i will still go home for dinner with my parents twice a week during weekday .. up to him if he wants to go or not lor

oh top view gold fish ... you are supposed to admire them from the top ... a bit like koi, so their bodies are like longish rectangular shape or something like that ... normal gold fish are like side view i think, where they have big head, big droopy tummys and protruding eyes .. hehehehe

ssmilezz

yeah it is like that lah when it comes to cleaning .. so between FH and i, we will split cleaning 3rd floor, and he'll help his mum with ground floor ... hehehe i quite evil hor

catura, Yeah lor. Very siong. Thats why FH nags more frequent nowadays...kekkeke

We intend to get the basic. Got 1st round check on the estimated reno cost, put aside the money, whatever remains furniture lor. Prob only able to buy a bed and a sofa .. hehehheh

smilez
fmil too naggy. ffil and fh oso can't stand her sometimes... can't imagine living with them so i insist we must get a place...

icy...you travel where??

Hi Anna

I thk they have a thread on Ted Collection' under 'bridal boutique and service' Not sure which floor it is..i thk its 3rd floor...near to the toilet entrace, and opp it is the shop that you can take the stick on photos with your friends..i describe till so messy dunnoe if you understand..kekeke.

I guess your dad must be of other dialect...different pple has different taste...for cantonese...but me a hokkien lah raised up by cantonese mum...thought that it looked nice and has a special meaning for us....no choice lah family tradition...all my married cousin worn a kua as tea dress so influence by them liao

jitpong

kua is nice oso... and once in a lifetime chance to wear,,, since yr family like it, shld take the oppotunity to wear... my family is hokkien but paternal side is indonesian.

Hi Claire

I heard about that before too to have many pple wearing the same kua..but of cos must be someone you noe...actually want to wear my aunt..cos she has a daughter and a son..and so so loving with my uncle...my 4 cousins worn hers...old pple say wear her kua will enjoy something like her too...but her kua too big for me..

Wah I noticed many gals here all hokkiens ... me too!
But me marrying a Hakka. Luckily Hakka not too demanding like teochew... I cant wake up before 6am...I will look like panda!

Hi dinah... yap yap once u get house everything talk is $$$$... so me strive hard to save as much as possible.... me looking at fri or sun wedding banquet leh.... but hvn confirm

Hi guys... thanks I will enjoy myself with the minimum spending of $$$.... hee hee

Hi jitpong... yap living on budget thats why I'm going to do some cooking for my FH.... eat already hv to go toilet ... hee hee

Hi fates... oh me always so cute and moutain one mah... too much post so write until blur... btw how much is trader hotel banquet package

Hi claire.... wow u staying so near to JP... me further in ard blk 673 there... so thats ur new home or parents home

haha claire

Me too cant wake up early..everyday wake up for work is already a hard work for me...I hope I wont have to wake up so early for me AD cos timing is decided by my geomancer...he will set the time my FH leave his house, reach me house and leave my house...so on that day must assign a friend to be timer...haha my poor friend

Hi cookies_gal,
I am trying to learn from her, but then like after work not time, weekends always out.. heheee ok lah.. excuses.. but think i have to learn some days.. fh loves her soup too.

Hi ssmilezz,
Ya, his sister very young, and very "princess" - read as spolit and pamper. I dun want anything to do with her. Think mil easier to tahan then princess.

I have to sit float no choice, if not sit too long in office very pain leh, last time cant even sit in car without "ouch and ouch" all the way.

Hi Claire,
Have to comfort myself like that mah, live with inlaws more $$ saved then just tour out once a while to get 2 pax world.

I am cantonese marrying to a Hokkien.

Hi anna,
not exactly know where, just saying living with in law then will have more money for other stuff like tours.

jellytots me born in 1977.. u too? My current home is just next to JP.hehehe ...even nearer than my new house
kekekek...

Me also on a very tight budget too!!!! I foresee needs to buy many things soon. Tightening my belt...

But once in awhile I still want to go out and eat...

Jitpong... yayayay .. when my FH select the dates, he told my MIL that the timing cannot be too early cos I cant wake up... I was so embarress!!! ..

Icy ... good good... so many hokkiens marrying others ... u must come in mah
heheheheh ... ( my pack of nonsense)

trust me icy... I prefer to travel out like you and stay with MY in laws. Just that my FH's bro is also staying there .. always bring friends back.. I feel like no privacy .. so I wanted to move out. Thats why in future will bring my MIL to stay with us. For now I just enjoy my FH's companion
... Good to travel.

Hi Claire,

So fast!! You bought last month, can get keys in 1-2mths already... Must be very busy period for you now eh... Very exp too! Are you guys planning to move in immediately after ROM? If you guys going to wait till after the customary wedding, then no need to rush with the house. Can slowly save up and buy bit by bit lor.

Yah lor just have a simple ROM since you got not much time anyway. Then you can have a real big AD!

Hi Catura,

Haha.... I think my parents would be the same too!! I really like the idea of beach ROM. But still gotta put it to FH lor, see what he thinks... Better start being super-nice to him... hehe...

looks like a lot of us here problems gettin gup early ... hehehe ... but luckily my geomancer told me the time to leave the house isn't all that early cos i'm teochew ... and i am sure you all know stories about teochew girls having to leave house super early

Hi Claire,
that princess still young, i not sure will how.. but i think my fh did a good job by making sure I mixed into his relatives.. most of them I know them already.. imagine almost every weekend hide in his house.. and see those relatives. So ok lah.. if just those relatives.

leeds... yeah now getting a flat is no longer an obstacle for people wanting to get married( besides cost) ...very fast and exp ..
.. So I am broke now lor... cannot buy so much clothings and cosmetics etc... I always told my FH I sacrificed alot ... ( heheheh crap lar ) to get what I want... hehehe

I intend to move in after my AD. My AD in 2 Jan 05. Less than 1 year to go ... luckily got savings to back up .. .. or else how to slowly save up and buy bit by bit. kekekek ....

But like I say ... just 2 pc of furniture. Sofa and a bed .. heheheh thats all.

claire,
I agree with leeds, if move in after customary still got time to bit by bit save up..
Bed and sofa enuff liao! Think abt it.. u'll have big space to "play" ard! ahaha! OK I'm being naughty.. :P

leeds,
Being super nice to FH is good idea..! :D Think I better be super nice to hb for my new RING! lol