(2005) Brides of year 2005

this thread is getting warmed up with new pretty ladies.

Hi choc, just joking with you! Which hotel and BS are u with? if i have asked you before pardon me. Memory very short.

Hi maiden, yeah boy lazy to look for shoes. depends on my gown. tmrw night i will be doing my final selection of the materials for my gowns so by then i think the designer will say you got to wear how many inch heels to look good. see how lah. The prob with buying them is that we do not wear them much or not at all after the wedding. Abit waste of money leh, i think.

Hi YSL, try on as many gowns as you like. You will feel like a princess and you will think, oh man i can look good in this and that.....Will be so much fun.

Hi Barley, long time no see. So besides shoes, have u done prep for anything else?

I just finalise my outdoor and indoor shoot photographer with Monica from vividshots. Taking my shoot in August. 4 mths for me to lose wt. hehehe...

Hmm, kimchi r self-made there so diff restarants serve slight diff taste. Some r better. But the kimchi making session tat we went thru is gd, their paste is very nice so turned up our kimchi is nice. U can purchase kimchi frm Cold Storage, they have a fridge esp. to display all kimchi.

By the way, do u girls know where to find those traditional bedside lamps and those teapot sets used for tea ceremony?

heh...my designer is heath from Silhouette as well, supposed to have my first fitting soon..;)

Europe...vern and i are thinking of taking a cruise around the Mediterranean, then it will have stops in spain, italy, greece and france, then subsequently we will stay in barcelona for a couple extra days..;) depending on budget..;)..

any of u gals noe abt the purple gold collection at lee hwa? i really like it but the price super steep.. is it actually worth it? i am an idiot when it comes to make up and jewellery.. hee

Hi Renee,

I think u would probably be able to squeeze into that budget, without all the carpentry works.. Reno for re-sale flat is such a killer.. sigh..

Hi Alexis,

have fun with your BS, and have a good trip!

Hi Cheery,

I like the work from [O] studio. I paid for the in-house photoprapher (digital) for $699, but that's during the promotional period, so u may want to check with them again. If u want Jaki, the owner of the shop, then it will cost a lot more.

Another one that i know of is Sam. he was my friend's photographer and i like his work. but he had been taken up on my AD. He charges around $680, i think..

hi blursotong, it's ok lah. I'm with Silverlining Bridal Couture and my wedding is at the Shangri-La Hotel. What about yours? Just noticed that your PS is in august...isn't that the chinese '7th month'? I'm also thinking of doing my overseas shoot during 'that time'..dunno whether to be superstitious or not. What do you think?

heehee.. "attend" a wine lesson here in this thread..

me too.. am a wine idiot leh..
caitlyn, remember to tell our coordinator to pour half glass will do hor, then i just follow u.. haha.. :P
Hmm.. purple gold.. nice..

my mum oso like it..
u thinking of buying it for wedding? depends if u'll be wearing it again after wedding loh.. or wait till sales? GSS coming in late May mah.. :P but think the mother's day, they'll have promotion too.. me getting something from LH for my gf's bday too..

hey WW,
can share with us what's that website of some crafts stuff you were talking about? i'm interested in trying to make my own accessories as well. have also kinda decided on pearls but that can be back up plan for now. thanks!

Hi Nena, I'm pretty well-prepared, but that is because my FH is flying off to work in HK for the next 5 months, leaving me alone here! But there is still 7 and a half months to go, I think my preps are exceptionally fast, so don't use me as a milestone. There is still sufficient time to settle all! My friend's brother only had 2 months to plan for his wedding!! So Nena, you have enough time, just prioritize what you need to get done first....perhaps like the venue? House perhaps you can settle after the wedding even, if you can stay with your in laws or your parents - that is what I'm doing cos my new place is not ready yet. Hope this helps girl, cheer up. Weddings are supposed to be

Janey,
talk to my hb abt the pills but he against it. :p so I guess I just let nature take it cost.

Yah.. my photo just kanna post yesterday.. :p

dwoof & yuki,
icy hgiao hgiao go and submit pictures. Thanks, actually wanted it feature in June. :p dunno why so fast kanna on april already..heehee :p

sharlene,
I email my pix to Chinleng with details like names, bridal studio, photo studio and prefer month to get featured.

yorkie & dey,
u can go to chinatown complex level 1 to get those stuff,(behind lucky chinatown, left entrance, go uo the 2-3 steps and u will see the store) I already bought mine. Caterer wise, I recommend neogarden. :D

hi hi gin..
i suggest u do a trial & time how long u need to tie the ribbons including balancing it, then at least at the dinner, u will know how long u will need, easier for ur time co-ordination to change EG too...

hi hi jellytots77..
sigh, long story...if i hv a choice, i wont want to get marry..i guess it's the best..just tong-ju can already...

hi hi kero..
thks for shairng with us abt the custom procedures..appreciate that..thks!

Hi Sharlene,

Initially, i wanted to throw at Fullerton! I was told it was being booked....and its u
So coincident rite? I will be holding my dinner at GCW then.

BTW, you signed up with Divine Coulture rite? How much is your package? Whats in your package? Is the service good?

highness - hee.. okies.. when ur wedding day again? i tell coord pour half glass for both days!! hahah.. someone on forum selling the purple gold set so very tempted.. but i think way too exp for me! =)

sk2 - all the best for ur fitting today! hope u find something u like or at least manage to neg for a better deal.. hee..

Hi Icy

Have sent to Chin Leng before also leh... but no reply from him... I indicated to be featured in June too... maybe not as pretty as u.. so nvr feture lor...hhhehehee... nvr mind, hv sent him again and see if there's any response lor...

Wow seh... u remembered so clearly? the lamp is probably the only one I will consider buying lor... at least it's cute looking but I heard from my friend got different kind also... got battery, electricity and oil... which one did u buy?

Think mi getting teapot too... do we have to get those wif dragon and phoenix kind? saw some that's really GOLD in colour... so many diff kind also dunno wat to get...

Hi icy,
Can PM me the store name?
By the way, your cover pic looks good!

Hi Sharlene,
I only need the lamps and the teapot for tea ceremony. Dun think we need the rest of GDL stuff..too complicated.. heehee..

Hi Yorkie,

Ya lor.. I am buying the lamp cos i find it cute looking too, moreover parents keep nagging that the lamp is a must for wedding...

As for the teapot, hubby house no teapot for tea ceremony and i heard that the bride needs to buy teapot for the groom? not sure how true it is??

hi hi aleixis..
haha, such a small conincidence..haha, u r also having ur dinner at four seasons like my FH's sis..that's great for u! cheers!

hi hi bubbles..
nice to hear from u...how have u been?how's the wedding gifts getting along? wow, i really envy you, gg to tour ard so many places..guess it will be the best moments in ur life..cheers!

Lynda,
My first choice wedding date suppose to be 7th July, but when I enquire in Mar, was told already taken, thus changed to 2nd June instead. Still thot no one else will want this date. When U enquire from Fullerton? Which BS u with?

DC service are great! The 3 designers are very professional and friendly. Package with photography includes as follows, they also hv without photography package:
1 MTM WG (rent)
1 MTM EG (Keep)
1 Men suit (Keep)
4 makeup (Trial, PS and AD-day n nite)
2 Fluv bouquets (PS and AD)
8 corsages
wedding car deco

They are tie up with few photographers like Robin photography, Daylight Photography, The Edge by Andrew, Beetles@work, Kelvin from Chris Ling, Kim from Studio D'fia and picture box.

hi i_bless_u

wow, u r progressing real fast! my mom decided to do a simple GDL. so no need of all the stuff. just get ready ang pow to represent various items. at most a few boxes of cakes.

btw, where did u buy tv console?

highness - she selling 3.2k for necklace, earrings and bracelet.. she says it's 40% off the retail price and i believe her.. coz i've seen the scary prices at lee hwa.. hee.. but 3.2k also way beyond my bdget..

yuki,
i also din get any reply from him, only know that I am featured from forum friends, me emailed abt 2 weeks ago.. perhaps urs already booked for june. :p

I buy battery ones for the lamps cos I heard that have to on it for 1 whole day.. then no one to take care of it when we go for the banquet so safer to use battery one.

For teapots, at first I get yuan yang but in the end have to exchange for the long feng becos my mum insisted. my hb says the long feng looks like cartoon dinosaurs lor.

dey,
thanks. I dun have the store name becos it is those market place one.. i dun even know the unit number, but it is pretty obvious if u walk in on the left entrance.

Yah, my teapot is for the groom side one.

Hi dey,
Because I used inserts, I did not lose any cards. Are you printing directly on the cards? If that is the case, think u might have to "stand-by" a few cards just in case.

for the traditional cakes, the shop is at Balestier. You can reach the lady boss (Julina) at 91448142.

for the teapot, you can try Yuhua in Chinatown. think they have some sets there. (And yes, i did hear that providing the teapot is the "duty" of the bride's side)

hi icy,
wow! the one on the cover is you. so exciting!! remember to save the website for memory sake.

hi ladies, long time no chat.
how's your preparation?
272049.gif

icy, thanks for your pics...v nice..i especially like the night one...i didn't take any night photos *a pity* need to pay extra for that :P
and hey, saw that your photo is being featured this month!

Hi Icy,

No problem. I will drop by chinatown this weekend to take a look. Any significannce if the print of the teapot is a yuan yang or long feng? Is the teapot part of the things that the bride needs to pass to the groom during GDL?

Hi Pisduck,
If i remember correctly, u r also from FS right? which card did u choose?

mei,

got it! Thanks. I love your outdoor shoots. The NUS location is indeed unique. U have more than 100pixs. Must have spend alot?

Juz like to clarify again on the SDJ. How come a pair of earrings is considered 2 items? Tot SDJ refers to a pair of earrings, one necklace, one bangle/bracelet and one ring/ one pendant?

yo zoe... thanks... well my friend suggest tat everything convert them to ang bao... mean if my mum 1 2 buy this buy tat... then we place the $$ in the ang bao and write the name on the ang bao itself... will suggest tat to my parents... so easy man...

well glad u settle ur MUA liao... so how much are u paying...

yo wendy... hahahaha... me too... feel like running away man... so stress with the elders...

wow gals... boring again... now talking abt the ang bao for the AD... guess wat... parents said seperate the angbao for both side... then my parents will bring back the ang bao home and count after the dinner... wow bian... i so excited whether manage to get breakeven bo... then they 1 2 bring home and count... faint man... i told them put all the ang bao together during the receiption and bring it back to the room to count after tat... they keep on insisting to hv 2 diff ang bao boxes... really bui tahan man

so gals... ask u all hor... will u feel save to bring the ang bao boxes with the $$ back into the suite and keep it while u are busy away in the banquet... or how to do u all intend to keep the $$ hur...

hi yin,
i total got ard 300, minus off those i dun like, left ard 250 (i think)
i top up abit so that i can select 40 photos for my album and get back all photos in CD rom, original was 20 only...

Jolene: I bought tv console fr Vhive at great world city. Put in our room, not living room. Hmm....$159 nett.incl delivery.
You can go there see got various types and less than $250 or $200.

Tomorrow i going my ex-office and distribute my invitation cards.

Have a great day u ladies!

hi dey,
yep, i will be holding my wedding at Four Seasons as well. there were a couple of choices but after discussion with parents and hubby, we decided on the double happiness card.
272111.gif

which ballroom are u using? my wedding is on 11 June. when is yours?

dun know if this ques sounds weird... normally, do we need to set aside seats for the photographer/ videographer? if yes, should they be seated near the red table?

hi highness,
so u got ur gown all made alr? PS in june right? now april abt time!!

hi daphne,
i'll just be serving red wine. think it's pretty acceptable to just serve red wine for wedding dinners now. as for beer, it'll depend on whether u have a lot of relatives/colleagues who drink beer. if not, then i think can forego tt too. if ure serving hard liquor, be prepared tt some might get high/drunk cos easy to get drunk on hard liquor

Ask you girls ah,

Coz I wld be moving into my in-law's, and wld be taking my MIL's rm. What really is "An Chuang"? Is my FH allowed to sleep on it prior to AD??

keron,
typically earrings considered "liang dian" already, plus bracelet and pendant. i think maybe you already have engagement and wedding ring so that's not included as one item. aiya but nowadays everything also can change one lah, just have the approximate meaning can already lah.

hey jelly,
think nowadays the suite sure have a safe right? can lock it up in the safe first then not scared already mah. oh yah, but i just remember this horror story about someone robbing this couple's ang pao box at the banquet leh. so i just wanted to remind everyone not to put the ang pao box on top of the reception table openly.