(2005) Brides of year 2005

cute_miffy, if no rain, it will be beautiful, but if it rains....nightmare! That is why I gave up my dream of having my wedding at Beaufort too.

I'm holding mine at the Shangri-La hotel, it's really beautiful after the renovations, you should go and have a look. If you are going to have your ceremony at the hotel too, Shang is really ideal as they have some small private venues like waterfall terrace, garden terrace and the pavilion. Can have a look at the pics on their website. And you get to see real Vera Wang gowns at their new bridal store too!

I think I will look into healthy eating next year. For the moment Im stuffing myself with those absolutely yummy salty and fried dishes while I can. Eat until I cannot eat already. hehe

really miss all of u!

hi celtricia,
congrats! hope i'm not too late to congrats u..! cos' didn't log in for quite a while.

so when r we hvg another gathering??

May I know where can i get nice tuxedos shirt for my hubby? The cheapest i find in the market is $100. May i know if tuxedos are with the standard collars?

heya duffybuff! How have you been?

I think we can do another gathering. But let's do a completely different theme. Let's do it the first week of May! what do you think girls?

Hi Sharlene,
I have just decided on T dragon as my printer. Expecting my 1st draft of artwork tomorrow

By the way, how long did it take for your printer to print your cards? I was told the cards can only be collected three weeks later..abit long hor..

By the way, do any of u gals here give pastries to your relatives with the invitation cards?

hi gals!
i'm new to this thread n will be a june '05 bride. now start to kan cheong cos realised that me n FH havent prepared much.. so wat r the impt stuff that i have to look out for ?

Halo Gals!

Me will ask Ho Bee Renovation Works for a quote as I have read from the forum abt the thousands of good comments abt this contractor, Patrick who has his own designer,Malcom. Heard he's very friendly n goes the extra mile for everyone n cheapest in the mkt besides Impress21 n the workmanship is fabulous n he's gd with colours n designs pretty good. Tonight my FH's uncle's friend who did his uncle's hse whose workmanship not bad will see our hse to give a quote. Think will settle for either one of them.
Hope this helps! Do go n check out Ho Bee thread in the forum n u know wat i mean.

Tx, will check my emails. Very busy with work. Will check later. Tx ah!

Hi Alexis,
Glad tat I have been of help to u n Heath is really nice. Hope u have a wonderful gown designing experience with him.

Will go n have a look at [O] studio. tx. :P

Hi Yen,
Tx, I hope Jordan got time for me n I believe he will.

Renee,
Tx for the tip! Now I know where PMs will go. heehee finally know! Ha Ha.

Dey,
I used Jasvy. Confirmed my template on Wed and collected my cards on Sat. Very fast.

The pastries to relative are gvn on the GDL. Its part of the GDL.

Jurong Gal,
Welcome, when's ur AD?

chocolate, you are 'scaring' our cute miffy.

Cute miffy if you are holding btw June to Sept then I would say go ahead with beach weddings.

Hi Choc, yeah Shang is nice. Good that you are holding your wedding there then. When is your AD?

Hi Dear,
welcome here. Think gotta get the date real soon. Maybe you should start looking at the hotels u like and check the available dates for Nov 05. Have you sourced for ur bridal shop?

Hi All Nov Bride,

Another poor nov bride joining u gals, I think me having pre-marriage blue. Not sure u gals have such feeling (upset, fustrated, etc....) Mayb everything is not settle for instance, still cannot find house, photographer and just sign a MTM package with one of the BS. Not sure can they rush it out. The worst thing is partner like not worried at all.

271750.gif
Jurong Gal..

Tot from yr profile it says november?

What have u done so far?

Hi Dey

Dun think will be buying pastries lah... not having GDL also leh... wanna do the easy way out lor...

hi esther,

I only hv built-in cabinet for kitchen only, and overhaul kitchen and 2 bathrooms.
I hv not decided on my ID yet. Currently only Interior Place is following up wif us. I am also trying to keep my budget to $20k.

hi ning,

U r welcome!!!

hu nena, don't worry, most guys are bochup and think that planning the wedding should be entirely up to the girl - since he bochup then you have free reign and he cannot complain!
Remember why the two of you decided to get hitched...planning weddings and getting your new home is stressful, just remember that it is a celebration of your new life together and you have a contribution in making it a
thing rather than a
- it takes 2 hands to clap right? If you are
, he will also be
Maybe you can try talking to him.

hey blursotong, no lah, not intentionally scaring anyone - cute_miffy's wedding is 24nov, around the same time as mine, the rain thing is a stronger possibility mah. My AD is 26 & 27 nov.

Hi Ning

Yup, have read about the good reviews on Ho Bee.. have contacted them last yr when i m looking for a renovator... but after our first meeting, they never got back to us on the quotations and drawings.. so we dropped them from our list
probably too busy bah

Hi dey,
we also printed our cards with T-dragon. yep, it took 3 weeks for us too but we were quite happy with the final output.

we will be giving the teochew "poh lian" cakes. there are 5 different kinds of traditional cakes in a box. the presentation is quite nice. the price is also quite reasonable (about $20 per box). if u are interested, i can pass you the contacts.

halo gals!!

lets not get too worried over e rainy season... work out wif e staff at rasa for a contingency plan way b4 hand n view e venue they suggest to u.. my SIL held heres at rasa n her reception was suppose to b at e beach.. however, as it was raining tat day, they held it at e foyer instead n its still beautiful!! CUTE MIFFY, don worry n go for it!!

yo blur sotong!

u also lazy to get so many pair of shoes ah? hehehehe... we r such lazy brides!

anyway, if u r wearing ur rom shoes for ur AD, wat bout ur ps?

Kit,
my shoe still ok. the strap no slip out cos the size quite fit me. dudnt wan to get a bigger pair cos i afraid the strap will get looser as i wear it more often...n somemore its 4 inches...quite high...i need the support....

Gin,
what is shoe sole comfortable???...can wer with open toe shoe ah....me sua gu leh....no know how it works....just afraid tat the strap will cut in to my feet n cause blisters.....

Tan,
hmm....ya prob will try to look out for nice chokers ard...if worse come to worse.....i get fr BS........but really wanna a nice one.....

intend to wear diff sets of accessories for day n night...no wan the same feel for the whole day....

jelly,

think nobody wanna buy tan pui liao lah...nowaday room got toilet liao mah...what for we need tan pui....hehe...just tell her tat loh....i also prefer to go for simple one...those no need to buy better dun buy if not keep at home also no use...haben discuss GDL yet....when u gers going to arrange a date for this??...

zoe,
an chuang can be as simple as just getting a couple (normally parents) who has a blissful marriage to arrange the bed sheets...shift the bed slightly to the position etc. no need to get kids if no wan...let say pee....no logic at all....i dun see kids peeing on bed will bless a couple with kids......just get some children to jump on the bed can liao lah......

i m teochew...in law giving SDJ also...but not sure if its pearl/diamond/gold.......

anyway gers....dun get too stress up over the GDL thing .... its suppose to be happy preparation for our big day so anythign that not happy just give them a miss.....
Cheers!!!

Helo Gals!!

Wow it getting hot in here

How's everyone???

Welcome Deardear!!!
kao_welcome.gif

I be shopping for my shoes this weekends, hope I be able to find my 4"

hello maiden & blursotong...~ fitting is this wkend lar... do u realised as the date gets nearer we get lazier to do things? sigh.. didnt managed to go take a look at paradox, hopefully will try to do so this wkend.

cute miffy...~ is it just a seaside wedding or that u like outdoor themes? hv u considered the bird park/zoo?

hey barley...~ wow! really 4"???

kao_welcome.gif
welcome DearDear...~ if u r not particular abt a good date and on a weekday, it's ok. still plenty of time.
.. fill us in on wat u've done so far.

hey yuki
long time no see... so happy to hear from you... how are you?
my GDL over in march... so early ..cos if you remember, it was for the sake of my late grandma... lotsa things to settle i remember..so can't imagine for actual wedding..haha..

Hi wendy,
My EG is long wan..but there is a opening at the leg part from the side..so the calfs will be showing. My EG not short one. Should be wearing it for PS. I onli wear the tie tie one with my EG...so only nite time then wear. Wearing that may need some skills...hehee..need to balance ribbon ma!

Hi J Tan,
Actually I would prefer lower as its much more comfortable to walk..anyway no choice..hiao ma..dunwan to be too short too. Wear 4" can give me more confident and also not too short from my hubby. :P

Hi Janice,
Isetan, Metro and robinson shld have those padding. I tink alot of brands also have..like Scroll...mine is Foot Petals...the long kind..to place at the base of the shoes (juz below our feet) to prevent our feet from slipping into the shoes (open toes shoes especially) and also more comfortable. I think the strap they also have different design wan..go get leh..else new shoes on AD got blister, sure very irritated. I once tot of wearing my AD shoes until 'season' then wear for AD sia..cos i scare pain! :S

Juz received 2nd report for valuation of my resale flat...going to top up $5k difference...i will be super broke after tis...tot of postponing my wedding..sigh..

wow coyote.. hwz the kimchi there? nice? i love kimchi.. hehe.. yum! yum!

eloz duffybuff.. no lah.. its nvr too late.. heh.. thanks lots..

winnie, mi fren had star cellar provide the wine. i tasted it and i found it not bad, drinkable and suitable oso for those who are not wine drinkers. she had the woodstock and another one which i forgot the brand, it was a cabernet sauvignon i thk.
$16 per bottle like u said, so i tot it was reasonable.
act i want to juz serve wine and not hard liquor but wine is a much higher cost as most ppl tend to drink wine. mi concern is that ppl will waste the wine so still deciding if im gonna provide it, or juz beer or tog wif hard liquor.

yo wendy... dun be stress ovr tat... grumble can lah... dun worry so much... juz like me grumble grumble will do lor..

yo jnj... i also know but hor... if mum insist then how... still hv to follow rite...

Hi cu2nite and Tan
I confirm Jeannie liao. I like her makeup.. and hairdo.. Like it when she analyse and try out which colour is nice on me.. Cu2nite.. her makeup is not thick at all.. If u compare, the 1st one i went for.. is super thick... Tan, u saw it hor.. its really cakey... Jeannie did a good job... NICE.. i like it..Anyway, she coming my place around 7.30-8am...still in time..not so early liao..hee hee

Hi jelly
its like that one la.. the old folks insist.. sometimes really nothing we can do lor.. i have not reach that stage to talk about the GDL things yet.. maybe a headache too... but afterall its a impt n happy events.. dun " SHANG HE QI"

Hi janice
ya lor. i also dun know why got peeing one..hahah
dun like.. actually also no need small children to jump on the bed right? I wanna keep things simple.. but think the old folks may object..

Ya.. its ok.. afterall happy events

Sharlene,
I have decided not to have the causual wear shoot since i have no time to plan what i shall be wearing.
Having my photoshoot on wed.

Now searching for cakes for GDL and caterers for AD.Any recommendation gals?

Hi Angela,

Its okay. Thanks for updating my details. Will update again once i get my BS confirmed this week....**crossing my fingers**

My other confirmed details are:

Dinner Venue/Solemnisation: Four Seasons Hotel

Sorry, wont be able to join for the gathering as i will be away for a biz trip. Have a great time!!

Hi Esther,

Yeah....precisely why i called Heath up and asked him to 'squeeze' me in for an appointment this week... hehe. Otherwise, i know that i will be worrying about how much time i am losing while i am away.

Hi Wendy,

I was actually considering between Utopia or O Studio but O Studio 'won' me over first. I am also having my dinner at Four Seasons...

Hi Ning,

Yep...Heath is such a darling. Anyway, hope that i will get that major load off my mind before i leave for my trip.

Do make an appt with O Studio. Hope your spoken Mandarin is ok...because Vivian and Jaki are Taiwanese and they converse mainly in Chinese. Both my FH and my spoken mandarin okay only lah...Chinese mix with english....hehe..Do have a look at their albums (their latest technology according to them). Dont know how to translate what they told me in Chinese (about the album) into English. But, their albums was what 'attracted' me in the first place. That and of course was really comfortable with both Vivian and Jaki when both my FH and I met them.

Do update us after you see them...!!

Hi Little_ger & choc cowgirl

I really hope I can give ppl all this advice too. Sometimes I just wish I can postpone like wat I had did last year. Anyway how is the preparation, I believe you two must had well prepared and looking forward to your big day rite?

Hi Nena,
yeah i agree with choc cowgirl. my FH quips in, but i kinda do all the sourcing of BS, photog etc. oso coz i excited..and will bother to do all the extra research. then update him on it.
and you can get a girlfriend aka coordinator to join u in helping u to plan for the wedding. ;)

thanks jenny & little_ger too abt friends & fitting. tink my frens r excited & wanna join me at my fitting, but will see how it goes, hope it'll b fun!

Hi Zoe,

The shop at Chinatown is called K.K Antique Centre. The address is Blk 335 #01-229 Chinatown Complex, Smith St. There are other shops at Beauty world and Jurong west as well.

Actually, I saw a few more other similar shops around the other corners as well but this KK shop sells quite an extensive range of really antique wedding stuff, including all the tan pui, candles, wooden comb etc.

Actually for an chuang, it very easy for me. haha.. in fact, we din even ask any elders to help us. My hubby n i juz got an auspicious hour and place the bed to the right position and that's all. We also not sure if it's right procedure but as long as we think it's simplified enuff to feel good. In fact, i think getting the kids to jump jump seemed to be on the AD leh...isn't it? Err...but I'm also confused by these customs cos we have break down into so many dates. Well, I guess I will juz get a few kids to roll and jump on the bed during the AD can liao. SOmetimes knowing soo many procedures is worse than ignorant abt it.

Anyway, I have attached the customary procedures which i hv d/l fr other threads for everyone's ref.
<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
Customs Procedure
Customary Procedures.xls (24.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

hi pierced, my hubby and friends like woodstock from star cellar too, they say first taste may not be so good, but as you drink it will get better.

Woodstock is $15.

but later we went winebos, we found Amesbury better than woodstock.

Hi Averyl

Mi okie lor... still busie wif work &amp; wedding @ the same time...

Yes.. yes... I remember... for mi, most likely not having GDL lah... since both side family not very particular, I juz do away wif it lor... hopefully, that will cut down lotsa work... hehehe... lazy hor...

Anything else that u have done that u haven't do?

Hi Icy

I saw yr pics... very nice...

Hi Pisduck,
I am ok with three weeks actually. Anyway will only be giving out the cards end of next mth..so no rush..by the way, did you lose any of your cards to poor printing?

Can u PM me the pastries contact? Thanks.

Hi Yorkie,
I am also searching for AD caterer. Shortlisted a few but not sure about their food quality