(2005) Brides of year 2005

vela

Hi decimal, wow, u still hasn't had time for it..me also started nua liao...

Hi touraco, long time no talk, had an enjoyable HM
. weather so so cool, still bright day light even after 9pm
. Ya, I bot a few, 3 latest design LV bag
, Aigner, Ferragamo & Fendi, didn't like the summer Gucci range. I bought leather belt and gloves in Florence, quality not so gd leh..belt corners a bit wear out.

mei79

so when's our gathering ah? shall we fix a date soon so everyone can make that day free... i can bring along my AD photos and video... HM photo must bring?

vela

touraco,

btw, which places u covered for your 1 mth trip? wondering which r the nice places not in my itinerary.

p2me1a

i_bless_u,

hahahhaa u guys can eat whatever there is in my flat (which isn't much hahaha) ... was thinking why dun have have a potluck???
everyone bring some kind of dessert or cake? then we'd have a great feast!!! hehehe...

pst

zoeanne27

Hi interrace
Fially saw u here at Sept thread,

Hi Jelly
Teochew cakes if not wrong are those rectangular pieces, piece by piece, creamy one...

iggy17

Jolene,
Sure, let me cfm wif my fren when meet up first, can? he only be back in town on tues..

poky,
Nothing is happening, dat's why slow lor heehee...

ai yah...my videoguy is freelance one, got dayjob + he beri busy with his biz(wedding videography)so must queue until jul lor. As for photos, heard from frens that it might take up to 10 weeks; i msg him this morning till now no reply...so must wait and see...not too worried lah, just anxious, cos' both of them are quite popular and I trust their quality and service...i guess "man gong chu xi huo"

iggy17

Hey pst,
Potluck is a great idea! if got 5 or 6 pax, i will get some yummy swiss rolls...

i think Saturdays is the best...but i am ok with weekdays and Sun though...just choose the date that everyone can be available...maybe we can start by eliminating the dates where we are not free??

Tentatively, for me all weekends till July are ok except 23rd Jul (co event). Weekdays are ok as well except for 1 evening next week...

iggy17

i_bless_u,
I almost used the same videographer as yrs. but we dropped them cos' the one i chose is slightly cheaper and emotionpic failed me on the first meet-up. their DVD player bo batt, so not able to show me...in the end, we tired of meeting up so nvr meet them again :p

starmoon

hi jtan

thanks, maybe i will call and ask to see how much it is cos dun think i wanna sign package leh....me hardly do mani/pedi so prob will just pay for each time i go. never really been to west coast so prob will cross that out from list then. guess we'll prob listen to pg's suggestions first b4 we decide....me very fickle minded so prob leave to fh to decide.
:

hi jelly
i oso dunno wad is teochew cakes...haven "yan jiu" the different types of "xi bing"...oh i know leaping lizard...used to work around there. went there a few months back but didnt find anything i like.

mik

hi jelly,
nope, totally dun mind.
bought XI candles from HK. big ones and smaller ones. slightly different from mehmeh's. the candles are XI characters.
kekeke. then i also bought ice-cubes trays which can make the ice in the shape of XI. brought over to new hse and used it. can get cute ice-cubes, i must say... =)

hi jelly & zoeanne,
FYI in 1 box of teochew cakes contain 6 types of items a.k.a. what is called "liu she tang" (han yu pin yin) inside one box, there will be are various types of biscuits and sweets.
info i copied down from the article. heehee. just copied for info's sake but for me, we're not getting teochew cakes. my mum ok wif cake vouchers. *phew*

sierra

zoeanne: i'm onz for that!!! but the thing is, each of us might have different orders, in terms of the weight for the piggy...would bulk orders make a lot of difference???

jelly: oh, remember we were toking abt the contact for beer? can you send that to me??

ladies, i went shopping the other weekend, find that tangs studio have quite a number of shoes on sale....might wanna check them out....they even have shoes costing $29.90 which are quite nice for wedding...

zoeanne27

Hi Sierra
From what i know from a Tiong Bahru shop, there are 2 types of piggy.. one small and one big one.. around $198 and $298.. something like this.. If this are the 2 range, quite ok to order to bulk. Need to ask from them and see how lor....

decimal

vela, 'cos I still sorting the pictures every weekend so no time to meet pple... haha...

hey, do you all have a lot of leftover wedding invitation cards? Wondering what can I do with them....

i_bless_u

iggy: I use them cos i find them quite accomodating. They throw in 2 sets of dvd and a poster for me. I hope the video turn out good as i havent receive them yet.

I also prefer our gathering to be a saturday.
Mayb i can get some fishball and curry puff.

touraco

vela
wow...must have a hard time carrying the bags back then. i bought 3 and already difficult to carry them back...worry kenna crush. so far i have not received any refund from them yet...don't know must wait till when.
u must buy from the store peruzzi...think the tour agency shld bring u there,right? i bought some coin pouches and dustbins...heehee...leather dustbins.think have to depend on the kind of leather used also.

i only went london,paris,italy and switzerland....

hamster_gal

daphne
really? winter in singapore?? sounds good

my photographer said there are kelongs there and a rocky beach... but i dun think there are toilets... maybe got to change in the van/car

amylim,
according to teochew tradition, it is a must... in fact during GDL, the groom has to bring it over to the bride's house and kind of "show off" to her family
then during AD, bride has to wear it during tea ceremony

panggou

ohh another PS site? i intend to wear one WG for outdoor shoots leh, nothing more than that, cos i very scared of the hassle of changing hehehe.

dolphin48

winnie me too but then i also tot of going to the temple to take shoots and with WG like not very suitable leh... maybe kua? hahaha....

p2me1a

okay gals!

saturday afternoon 3pm it shall be then!

July 2nd
July 9th
July 16th
July 30th

Please respond to these dates to oppose to any of them, then will strike them out...

FOOD

i_bless_u - fishballs & curry puff
iggy - yummy swiss rolls
pst - japanese cheese cake

mei and jolene? what fooood u wanna bring??? anyone else wanna join us???

pst

iggy17

Me getting my AD pics early Jul and AD video most prob mid Jul so I am opting for the later date 16th & 30th Jul. wanna share share mah heehee...will try to pressurise them

hahaha...pst, mine is yummy swiss rolls made in japan ;)

i_bless_u,
True, they are quite accomodating, even give me the DVD of their sample to go back and watch.

dun worry, seen their works, quite good standard...i guess the reason for rejecting them abit lame lor heehee cos somehow I think my mind was quite set on another videographer then so din go with them...

panggou

daphne, i think kua will look nice in temple leh.

ask you hor, do you tink we can ask friend to go along to help us take some photo? :p

ayoh today is another quiet day in the thread.... where is everyone???

jellytots77

yo zoe... think u mistake liao wor... teochew cake is not those normal cream cake bah base on milk explaination leh... but i know wat u 1 2 buy fm JB lah... kekeke

yo starmoon... haizzz... nvr mind dun be confuse by the cakes... kekekeke.... anyway i will be getting the small cakes bah... no voucher...

yo milk wow ice cube xi hur... so cute... so u bought alot of wedding stuff fm HK isit... share ur xi candle with us can bo...

yo sierra... oh ya hor... k i go find and email u lor... paiseh... so forgetful... :p

$29.90 shoes fm tangs studio... isit at centrepoint there... maybe this weekend i pop ovr and see lor...

yo josl... whahahahaha.... S/M/L hur... like buy clothes like tat....

sierra

jelly: ya, i saw at centrepoint one, oso can go to the main dept store at orchard.....k u send to me when u get it
thanks...

wtan

hi hi josl..
thks for sharing abt the cake vouchers from bengawan solo..indeed it's very convenient for everyone to pick up the cakes..just picked up a brochure from bengawan solo..will check out more from them & discuss out with both parents..heehee..

hi hi mehmeh..
hope ur FH is ok liao..as for the jia-zhuang..depends if ur parents are traditonal in the thinking (esp if they are easily influence by the relatives), if u dun want it to be, can indirectly tell them abt it, or hint to them nicely..

hi hi zoe..
actually it's gd that u r thinking of getting the biscults from JB, bcoz i think it's more cost-effective..indeed the teochew biscults seems to be more expensive than the cake..i think it's hard for us to decide esp when older folks prefer the traditional biscults instead of the cakes nowadays..

jnj

sorry gals....been busy recently....

so toking abt GDL now ah....

Sierra....i can feel the mood now leh...cos from designing n choosing gowns to preparing for PS and having PS....selecting pics...n now GDL......n preparing for banquet....wowo!!!,.....our AD is approaching man!!!

zoe,
i also have the contact for teochew cakes at Gin Thye.....so far only oe...but hear my mom mention a shop at Balestier also making n selling the traditional cakes.....think she got fr there one.....tink for my "xi bing",....my mom will only give to the elders like my grandparents...the others like relative will give them cakes....thats what she did for my bro wedding......

Jtan,
i also make a set of accessories for my EG...a choker, bracelet n ring....gonna make earring too...n if can...i will try to make the headpiece.....go to my multiply site n see!!!.....i saw ur pearl set with ur WG.....u look great in ur WG with ur pearl choker!!

btw....have u gals started ur beauty maintining regime??.....hehehe...my colleagues have been bugging me if i go for 2-3 months facial treatment....got try any special beauty tricks to make myself mei mei......the only prob i have now is my pimples seems to be popping out AS N WHEN they like leh....so irritating....!!!....i starting my pilate course coming july....so excited!!!hopefully can help me tone up some flabby area!

seetoh

Hi Sherylannlee,

Rueben charges range from 650 to abt slightly over 1k depending on how complicated you wan the photos to be. I saw his works as my cousin also employed him as AD photographer, I can say his works are really fantastic. But for the 650 range, it'll be simply photographs, higher range includes montage etc.

seval

I hope to make GDL as simple as possible... hehe... anyway, I'm letting my mum settle everything wif in-laws. I just do whatever they ask me to do.

Now that AD is approaching, getting stressed up already. Fretting over MCs, you gals got yours already?

Janice - Think shd start going facial but I'm not discpline, always too lazy, now my nose is invested with blackheads.

zoeanne27

Hi jelly
I got mistaken ah.. hee hee.. nvm.. kind of blur lately. My mum do not like me to go JB to order cakes. Dun know why.. Face value again... Xian lor...I trying to save cost but....... dun talk about it liao...

Hi Janice
Pilate ah.. seem nice hor. I did not go b4..
My pimples getting more lately.. worst than my PS.. during PS still perfectly clear.. but now..sobsob.. Dun dare to go facial bcos my pimples pop out more...everytime like this..
Thinking i just buy facial mask, need to clear those dead cells, so the MU can stay on skin.. this is what my MUA told me..
Got pics of your necklaces etc?

Hi milk
The Xi icecube very cute hor.. hee hee...

zoeanne27

Hi jelly
I got mistaken ah.. hee hee.. nvm.. kind of blur lately. My mum do not like me to go JB to order cakes. Dun know why.. Face value again... Xian lor...I trying to save cost but....... dun talk about it liao...

Hi Janice
Pilate ah.. seem nice hor. I did not go b4..
My pimples getting more lately.. worst than my PS.. during PS still perfectly clear.. but now..sobsob.. Dun dare to go facial bcos my pimples pop out more...everytime like this..
Thinking i just buy facial mask, need to clear those dead cells, so the MU can stay on skin.. this is what my MUA told me..
Got pics of your necklaces etc?

Hi milk
The Xi icecube very cute hor.. hee hee...

fifidoog

ok girls,

talk about facials and treatments i gotta share. i had old pimple scars on my back which i have been desperately trying to get rid off. saw a dermatologist but still no help for the old scars. finally went to this facial and they also do AHA back treatment. i started two and can visually see improvement.

the facial also quite good. and she doesnt hardsell. my fren just went for the first time last week. she scold me for not telling her abt this place earlier. ... ;)

hey janice,

yah, i'm so excited. finally finished the first one. now gonna try and make a 2nd necklace and maybe earrings. =) so fun!

watashi

hi gals, haven been logging in for few days....busy shaking leg at home ..hehehe

I'm also deciding where to go for PS. Most prob will take Changi beach (the changi boardwalk) and SAM. My hairstylists highly recommend tat i go to SAM for PS, she took hers there & the pics turns out to be very good and also its in the shade so won't be so hot, dun have to pose under the big big sun. I be going to recee these 2 places on saturday.

Winnie, i tot the one next Victoria concert hall one is the Asian Civilisation building? the SAM is bwteen choby ghuat & city hall, near to chjmes ? i abit confused liao..

Hamster_gal, u also from whitelink rite? which photographer & MUA u using for PS?

All these talk abt GDL is really confusing me boy, esp since we all fr various dialect grps! Alamak, let my sister who went thru 'baptism by fire' let me in on the details... Shall spare myself fr the agony of plannig sthg which is a formality.. MIL can't advise much, quite a simple person & FH is the only child & son, so she also has no experience

Hi MikMik

Sounds like the candles r cute! Post here to share pix leh..
Ice cubes in xi characters also.. Wah!!!

Hi Janice, Seval & Zoeanne

No harm going for facial, beautician shd do facial massage to help improve blood circulation & for brighter complexion. Can request not to squeeze the comedones to prevent inflammation which may lead to pimples. Sometimes in their eagerness to clear the face of comedones, they may overdo it..

I started my beauty regime since last Dec, and have def seen results. My complexion needs quite abit of help esp since my work is quite stressful, think it's becoz of my 1 mth sch holiday my skin condition improved! Phew...

mei79

ladies,

July 2nd - shd be ok
July 9th - shd be ok
July 16th - shd be ok
July 30th - cannot confirm

as for the food, wat else will u ladies need?? i can make some jelly

sandychoo

Maybe I can share my beauty tips here.. I have a fren who is a certified aromatherapist and he shared with me this simple recipe for DIYing Toning Facial Mask, the effect equivalent to applying SK__. I'm doing the facial mask at least 2 times per week, the whitening effect is obvious, and no side effect at all!

Here it goes,
Yogurt full cream free from fruits. A teaspoon or more to the face. Leave for 5 to 10 mins.

dazednconfused

HI ladies...

It's been a while since I've posted here... How's everyone doing? My fiance and I went for our PS 2 days ago. A little early since our wedding is only in Nov, but we'll be busy from now till the end of the year, so decided to have it done sooner. It was a fun experience! Exhausting, but cool! Will be selecting our pics in about 10-14 days.