(2005) Brides of year 2005

rokko

morning ladies!

tou, my beautician advised me to do monthly for now, but towards the AD she says to maybe do it once every three weeks
my face's rather resilient so i dun get breakouts v much, but usu. after a facial the next few days my face just looks like a war zone after all that extracting and squeezing (so yep, it's extracting via manual squeezing) - that's when i whip out my concealer so i can still face the world! haha... but after the two days or so, my face looks its most radiant (i do acid and collagen treatment, so it really brightens up the face!)

oh! and i started on sk2 as well for my daily regime... thought v long before investing in it cos it's so pricey but WAH LAU damn good!!!! im so pleased with it! hehee

i_bless_u

mei : Thanks alot!
That time u faxed to David Loh, within a week u get back right?

ying41 : I faxed the form to him on the 7th Jan, also not yet get back.

Jolene : Ok..noted

highness

haha.. yah yah.. i think nowadays ppl have jie mies rather than bridesmaid lah.. hope my jie mies and xiong di won't be too many lah, gotta think of my mummy's pocket, cos it's a tradition to give these helpers ang pow.. keke.. mummmy's pocket big big hole if i have too many helpers, haha..

my mum had 5 ah yis and 1 bridesmaid during her time.. but think few of my gf quite pang tang abt being more than 3 times of jie mie/bridesmaid.. on the other hand, some are so eager to "help" me..

one of my gf oredi chop her place to be my jie mie BUT she oso list out the duties she DUN WAN to do which end up i got nothing for her to do.. she want to be my recept for banquet but DUN WAN to look after ang pow box.. all she want to do is be mei mei and sit there, juz smile.. haha.. then i tell her, she can dun come in the morning session since nothing for her to do and she easily get tired and she'll show a black black face when she's tired.. haha..

xiaozhu

Hi Helen,
My 1st fitting shld be after CNY ... after my ROM ... then i'll check with my BS.
My WG and EG are MTM ... so shld need more time to prepare.

Hi Gentlegiant,
i cannot post his website on the board ...
can u email me at [email protected]

bluey

hi yin,
where u goin for ur PS this weekend? which bs are u with?

My ps is next weekend. My restaurant got give me a set of deadlines to do certain things like 1 month be4 food tasting etc... Guess i would give them a call when time comes.. now i trying to come out with a tentative guest list and seeking for wedding songs too...

zoeanne27

Hi Kit
yes, we talking about electical applicance. About jelly's client shop can get a better deal. So far I also dun know when i shd start looking for things and also dun know what brand to buy so far.. :p

Hi jelly,
I am sorry. This month really busy on all friday and weekends. PIL shifting house soon.. got to help. Can you take over the responsibility of organiser again this time? Thanks and sorry.

Yesterday nite, hubby n I saw online that the hotel rate at tioman actually is much higher for rooms starting from March. We decide the upgrade the hotel that the BS offer us and opt for a better and nicer hotel to stay. Therefore got to catch a better rate.. Meaning, PS will start at end Feb liao.. Now i did nothing ,have not buy shoes and select my PS gowns..

Hi Cindy
I also do not wan to overspend. So decide to get a cheaper videographer.
Oh everbliss, my ROM MUA is from there. My friends took everbliss package b4 and intro to me. Her name is Stephanie. Ok la.. MU not bad but not wonderful. Cos I not pretty..no matter MU i put also like that

jessyy

Hi poky,
My flat is a resale one and it has already finished renovation. So, does your flat new or resale? How's renovation going on? you engage a contractor or ID??

icy

touget,
my problem is mostly black heads, so my beautian use will squeeze lor.. like rokko for the 1st 1-2 days, my face will have marks here and there, but after that definately looks better.

rokko,
SK2 good ah, what difference does it made on ur face?

icy

d woof,
I could recommend mirage pictures, they are quite good, but i am nit sure what ur budget, anyway they are having a promotion until feb. $950 for videos whole day, add $100 for express highlight.. u can see that on the website the original price was $1200+

lynn_

coyote, how much she charging for whole flowers?

i also wan to get whole flowers leh if cheap lah... if not then i'll get 80-100 rose petals.

sierra

Janice, zoeanne: Leapin lizards is at International Plaza (Tanjong Pagar). For custom-made shoes, the prices range abt $50 onwards, depending on the material u use. beadings, crystals are additional charges. u can choose the existing designs, or bring in your own fabric for the shoes. Give an allowance of at least 3 weeks to make the shoes, if u wan express service, there will be additional charges as well....i got my ROM shoes there for $80 (silk satin, and the person was saying that i can dye it in another colour after the wedding)

i have problems looking for shoes in the dept stores, so such shops work for me (i can even choose the type of heel and the heel height), but if u can find something in the dept stores, i think it's cheaper.

hope this helps

minky

Morning ladies!!

Snap: hee.. i know the rest of the gals hv alr said it.. but I think u're definitely not too late

Snippy snappy: hmm.. how come u din get to choose the material for ur WG ah? That¡¦s strange hor.. tot ur designer shld at least check with u on ur preference. Anyway, maybe can add a layer of organza or maybe some other detailings to enhance the overall look?
oh we jus went down to the hotel last fri after my first fitting. My coordinator is shamini. Din get to bargain much cos contract alr signed. Jus free corkage for the first bottle of wine for every table and the usual charges for the subsequent. Also throw in the standard seat cover and also managed to get her to give us a free overnight stay helpers¡¦ room. Btw, we oso requested to see the wedding favours.. think most probably we'll be gg for the teddy bear n chocolates. Yah boy.. totally agree! So many things so little blissstars!

Tou: aiyo tou.. u alr v fair leh! and I really think u'll look v radiant in gold.. esp after seeing u in that orange gown at allure.. think u'll definitely be able to carry gold jus as well
hmm.. sorry to hear abt the delay.. but I guess there's nothing u can do abt it.. meanwhile maybe jus enjoy ur trip to KL first
ļ

Rokko: hee.. the part abt ur designer saying blending in like wallpaper v funny leh ;) so wats ur next choice of colour for EG? Oh btw, we still cant decide whether to engage kuang or not leh!! V jiat lat hor.. so late liao.. bet he probably taken up by others! haiz.. but really cant decide whether to spend that addn 2k plus jus for actual day photography.

Oh sk2 really that good ah?? I oso quite tempted to try but read contradicting comments abt it on the forum.. v extreme lor.. some find it damn gd while others claimed it causes breakouts. Hmm.. wats ur skin type like har? And how long it takes for u to see the¡§damn good!¡¨results huh?? Hee..

Icy: wow.. hee.. u planned everything liao ah?? Me til now still a bit bochup leh.. cos I keep thinking it's still a long way to go.. but actually it's jus a matter of few mths only!

All: btw jus to update u gals abt my discussion w my BS last evening. Ends up im still sticking to my WG material.. cos last evening my designer told me they forgot to add a layer of satin underneath tats y the whole gown looks so¡§limp & lifeless¡¨. Gotta admit it does look a bit better though I still prefer the initial material I saw at their bridal show. Wanted to go for organza but she kept saying organza is so v common n she strongly advised against it. As for duchess satin.. hubby not exactly keen. Haiz.. guess will hv to wait n see the effect after adding the extra layer of satin underneath. Good thing is she's v nice abt it yesterday n she's pushing for my WG to be ready earlier than the initial 19 feb appt so that I can hv peace of mind. Guess we'll see after my 28 jan appt *crossing my fingers*

Btw, here's a pic of a necklace that I bought fr this shop call Crystal (or something) at delfi:

240288.jpg

As for my bridal fitting pics.. maybe can I email u gals instead of posting here? Hee.. shy mah ;)

apostles

Yoz maiden,

Congrats on getting a banquet. How big isyour party going to be? My wedding will be at Concorde and my new abode is at Yew Tee. Will be shifting in after the customary wedding.

I think we have about 4 other couples marrying on our date. Did you choose the date by yourself or going to a fortune teller. As for me, I went to a fortune teller to decide on the special date.

I feel that one should not sign up a package for both rom and wedding together coz sometimes after the ROM, you may feel that the BS may not be that suitable for you. Use the ROM first as a testing ground before the big decision to invest money into the BS. This is my personal opinion. How much does your facial course costs?

Hi Faithe,
Wow you are really into the wedding mood. facial, exercising, losing wt etc. I have not started any of those mentioned. Abit tight on money for facial. it costs quite a bomb for me.

I think you should start estimating how many guests you are going to invite and then look into the restaurants/hotels that can accomodate your requests. Try to book as early as possible thou yours is a Monday. Work in tandem with your ROM prep. BS you can start looking in Apr/May or even now.

mei79

hi i_bless_u, ying41
i got it back the very next day!

ying41,
hmm... if ur hotel provides wedding favor, it's also the same thing for everyone ah.. no diff ah.. i will send the email to you later..

lynn_

okie, i wan to take 80 roses of petals... and like 50 whole roses...

i have emailed her liao, cos i wanna check her prices for the flower stands too... if not tat ex i might wan to get her to do it lor... i waiting for her reply...

did u tell her the petals are for 2 diferent persons collecting on different days?

tou2

Hi Rokko, where do you do your facials hur? The acid and collegen treatments sounds expensive leh.

Hi Icy, I have whiteheads problems. But I saw from one of the threads that the DRX comedone formula is good for black/white heads. So I went and bought a bottle and the effects are really not bad
I mean that although they are still there, they are not so visible anymore. But I feel that my nose area seems oiler. Dunno why

Hi Minky, haha, I where got very fair. Not that dark, but definitely darker than you and Rokko. Dunno why but my designer really discourages me from getting orange for my EG. So I decided on gold instead lor.

Glad to hear that your WG is settled liao
So careless of them to have forgotten abt the lining
Don't they know that first impression counts (for your WG lar)? Actually I am not using duchess satin either but honey satin instead. It is shinier than duchess satin but the draping and weight is the same.

Oohh... I like the necklace. Very glam!! will definitely stand out with your bustier. How much did it set you back? Does your BS provide accessories? Too bad my WG is bustier and I'm thinking of getting a toga for my EG, so I got not chance to wear nice nice necklaces

Are your photos ready? Please send to [email protected] since catcha always screw up one

dazed

girls, your petals sould so ex? for my friend's wedding we bought a dozen for the flower basket end up use 6 rose oni leh... full already... cost oni about 9 dollars including some other flowers for the hair...

coyote

Lynn, yup
So u liaise wif her direct ah.

dazed, how big is the basket? I need to the whole amara pavillon to be full of petals

dazed

her basket is like 15 - 18 cm diameter leh, 1 rose see small small but petals is alot liao...

have you seen the size of the packets? maybe you won't need so much leh?

snipsnap

arhkg I feel so cheated that I didn't get to choose my WG material! hrrmp. Tougei..the honey satin sounds really pretty leh! is it a different shade of white? gold also nice lah ..very IN this season hehe.

rokko..what is your skin type? wanna try SK2 ..but must research properly first coz its so blardy ex.

minky ..can send me the pics too
[email protected]. you are getting the teddy bears? does that include the chocolates also? the favors are ex though in terms of bliss stars lol ..10 stars rite? I'm thinking of getting signature cake erhmm but then that means I can't get the favors *sigh* decisions decisions. yah my coord also shamini, we got the same deal as u ..extra overnight room and also the free wine etc. let me know if you are thinking of bargaining more hehe we got to tag team them lol

poky

jessyy,
mine flat is new, but alrdy 4-5 yrs old when we buy.. so not that new after all.
renovation mostly completed. juz get a contractor to do kitchen, toliets n plumbing.. paintin diy, so stil left some touchin up.. keep dragging with it...
opps..

lynn_

i email her liao but no reply yet lor. if hubby know he sure nag one cos he wan to settle with prettier fake flowers liao...

so i see see her price how, cos fake flowers not say very cheap also... if not i'll just get the petals and flowers from her lor...

anyone knows how much far east flora selling for whole flowers?

virgo_jenn

oh...if that's the case lesser load.

That means we give to drivers, MUA, Photographer, Videographer, flower girls & those younger ones during tea ceremony right ?

sharlene

Minky,
Can email me ur fitting pics? [email protected]

Glad that u sorted our ur WG, my turn soon...heheh. The shop u mention is call Chrysler. There is another branch at Caltex hse level 2 with the rental cost cheaper for the accessories. My BS a few brides rented from there. Cheaper than Muchas. I also looking into something like that glam loud like the necklance above for WG, not sure if its suitable to wear in day? Have to wait till trial for the MUA to suggest. How much u bought that necklace?

Rokko/Icy/Tou
My colleagues use SK2, one of them not situable coz she suffered alot of outbreaks after using. Was told that not everyone suitable to use SK" products. I tried there whitening treatment mask during my ROM before but very ex.

wtan

hi helen, nice to hear from you, which part of bedok do u stay as i m also staying in bedok now..

WELCOME, Little Oxygen!

hi gentlegiant..heehee, i fell in love with swissotel the stamford & is really looking forward to the beautiful place..heehee..thks for sharing with me abt the backdrop since i hvnt had a chance for the site-visit at Grand Copthone Waterfront..

hi cheery, i m also gg for my 1st fitting in mar, need to trim at least 15 kg off me before i can get to fit in any gown..hope i lose enough weight then..esp my gown are OTR..heehee...

hi angela, nice to hear from you, glad that u r getting better now, thanks for ur advice, i will look into getting the photographer soon, meanwhile can you share more abt Yew Kwang? will love to hear from u...cheers~

ccteott

Wow... highness...

Sounds like you have a difficult lady on hand... good luck...
I have gfs like that too... I just ask them to turn up at the wedding and dont allocate any work for them lor...

kelvinrina

hey gals can check with all,

how u all think of giving stress ball as wedding favour, anyone of u have lobang?

mei, the wedding favour that u get do they have the stress ball?

chercat

Hi Joey, welcome! You are the 10th bride we have that is holding AD in the month of Feb. Care to include your bridal boutique n venue details?

Suzxie - 12/13 Feb - Nil - Raffles Hotel

Jitpong - 19 Feb - Everbliss Bridal/Ted Collection - Meritus Mandarin

Joyce Teo - 19 Feb - WhiteLink - Pan Pacific

Joey Low - 21 Feb -

Damsel - 26 Feb - J&C Bridal - Carlton Hotel

Cherrios - 26 Feb - WhiteLink - Raffles the Plaza

Snoop - 27 Feb - Divine Couture - ShangriLa Spore

Elaine77 - 27 Feb - WhiteLink - Carlton Hotel

Caratsoup - 27 Feb - Blush Blush - Fullerton

Chercat - 27 Feb - WhiteLink - Intercon Spore

ash_

hi elle,

mine's on 10 dec 05.. pretty close to yours! u settled most stuff yet?

hi tricia,

my wedding's on same day as yours! ive booked my banquet venue + photographer alr.. havent shopped for BS yet but going for first apptmt this sat.. how's prep for you?

hi highness,

nice to see you here too!

icy

minky,
that is a very nice necklace, how much did u pay for it?

sharlene,
SK2 also have different effects for different person ah? then I think better dun take the risk, my wedding at early June.. just left abt 4mths+ only....

stephie81

hi Jitpong!
Which ballroom in Meritus Mandarin are you having your banquet at? My bf's sister just had hers last Sunday at the Belvadere Room.

chercat

Hi suzxie,

I did not enjoy my food-tasting process as I had the impression that the hotel just wanted to shove food into our mouths n make us shut-up; they just wanted to fulfil one of their 'obligation perks' and that's it. We were placed in their chinese restaurant with the rest of the public and had food served course by course to us. In between, no chef, manager or coordinator came to talk or discuss the dishes with us. At the end of it all, nobody came to take our feedback, the service staff merely cleared everything away and i had the feeling that they were waiting for us to leave.

We ourselves had to summon the captain n asked him where we could give our feedback (btw, the fish dish was undercooked and could still see blood!). He then called the chef to come out and when we gave our comments, the chef merely nodded his head all the way in a patronizing manner. The coordinator also did not follow up with me, and it has been more than a week since the food-tasting.

Dunno if I am too demanding or that is the way food tasting is usually done.

claire_liu

Try Ng Kim Lee along Chun Tin Road. I know they do teochew cakes for wedding, but not sure of price.

nana,
was going to sing for my hubby, but then i think we'll make it a duet and sing during our 2nd marchin. Either I Finally Found Someone or You Light Up My Life.

minky

hey ladies... jus a quick note to let ya know that i've alr emailed tou, snippy snappy & sharlene the pics
for the rest i'll check the forum again later and try to email to u all k

same thing.. will post a proper msg when im home tonight. oh but jus a quick reply.. bought the necklace for $320.. wanted to rent initially but it wld cost $420 (although w tiara n earrings) so hubby said might as well buy. anyway will probably still be renting/buying fr them the tiara (which can be turned into a bracelet after wedding) and earrings oso

btw, me flying off to hong kong for holiday tomr morning and only back on sunday so wont be able to yak here for the next few days

smalpilo

Hi Tarepnajo,
where do you stay in kim tian? do you stay near the tiong bahru market? i'm across the road from the old market.

Hi little oxygen,angela, js, helen,
we have the same AD! are you doing your solemnisation on the same day?
we're still trying to decide. i heard that doing everything on the same day can be very tiring.

xiaozhu

Hi Wendy,
U can email me at the above email addy?

Hi jt,
Ya ... we have the same AD.
Btw, my solemnisation will be on 29th Jan 2005 in ROM Building.
My FH and i do not want to do everything on the same day ... cos it will be very tiring ...
moreover, my health is not that good ... does not allow me to tire myself too much.

rokko

hi ladies!! hmmm since so many of u asked abt sk2, just share with everyone my experience. i read a few posts here abt some BTBs who experienced outbreaks after using sk2, so i realised it may not be suitable for everyone... but for others, they were raving that it's such a gd product! so it's a risk to take lor... i have combination skin (oily t-zone) but after hearing about how sk2 makes skin clear translucent and radiant, i decided to just try out and see - it's been a month now and the results are fantastic! my skin feels smooth and radiant, some brown spots look fainter and my makeup glides on easily! it's really a miracle!

but like i said, some skins may not take well to the pdt (based on comments by others). one way to find out is to talk to the sale ppl at sk2, or if u just want to try out, can get the trial set at $55 (i think) so u can test the products out

but im using only two pdts now (cos so expensive!): facial treatment essence (also called the miracle water - it's really good), and clear source (i think, it's for whitening dark spots)