(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Her hb is paying all lor.. but they are scrimping and saving for their wedding. I had to lend her my wedding shoes cos she can't afford the ones she wants. Also managed to help her get a bridal pkg from my BS at $500 off, even making corsages for her. everything i can help her i help. Not trying to brag but she is my best fren. Initially she wanted a cheap banquet of not more than $600 per table, but in the end she chose to hold a wedding lunch at Marina Mandarin for $700++ per table.

I know she is tight with money hence asked her to work for my co. now this mess..

What would u do? those ppl working with her actually told me she was unprofessional becos she didn't inform them the reason for her delay.

oh bear,
my 1st reaction wld be very mad too!Dont think u really wanna sacrifice the frienship right?
Sounds like she wanna hv her cake not only eat it but with a cherry & a bow.
She bites more than she can chew.I really admire those in tight financial situation to even hv a wedding crossed their mind.Wat r they thinking?That it wld work itself out?
Her timing abit off lah in my opinion.So many things not settled yet wanna tie the knot.

To me,i think u hv helped her enough.I knw u r mad but it's time she sort things out herself.If she wanna reject the offer then it's really her call & u cant do much abt it.
Tt's why i can be less helpful & appear to be cold & hard but my personal interests come 1st.

I've heard other stories like this fr another fren of mine.She recommended her frens to work same co as they were jobless & was trying to help but aft they went thru afew interviews & getting accepted,they backed out caz they got better offers or jz chgd their minds.Makes my fren look like an idiot.

Bear: but she does seem unprofessional by not informing the people she will be working with. even if she does come on board, the impression they have of her would already be bad. She will need to learn to manage things better. You cant help her with all these.

on MC today, sleeping whole afternoon cos I cant sleep at nite, kept coughing and sneezing. Had to do some work for my fren's wedding this sunday and some work.

bear, y cant ur fren jus tell the professor she got a job waitin for her, she got no choice but to butter him/her abit else she forever stuck....U cant be there for her all the time rite, there is this much u can do. Gosh, wat is she tinkin of? No $ to buy wedding shoes n she had to borrow? Y cant she settle for some other cheaper alternatives. Guess its abt "face" again.....can imagine paying the butts off after the event. U cant do anything more if she don't help herself.

No Dajie, I would really give the frenship up. I can't be someone else's fren if i have probs with her. I will just finish making her corsages and pass it to her since i promised her before this happened.

This is not just the story lor. She moving in with her FH to her FH's bro's house and spending 38K reno-ing somebody's else place!!! I told her to get a new flat but she didn't want cos she said that flat is empty and she has no money now since she hasn't started work. so I told her just stay there simply, don't do reno, buy only those things she needs like bed and wardrobe. Cos she is blowing 38K and has nothing to show for it! It isn't even her house, but despite all my reasoning, her FH wants to reno the place so they are taking a loan from her FMIL for it and paying her back every mth. My fren wants to buy her own flat 5 yrs later and i told her that she is just wasting her money re-doing another flat.

Tea, u are right, ppl already start judging her. But the gd thing is that she does have the calibre they want and she isn't stupid, just naive. HR called her 3x last wk to try and make her confirm the date to start and also asking if she has obtained her MSc. My fren tot they were just routine qns! When i told her that they are asking her abt her MSc becos honestly we have tonnes of BScs wanting that job. As long as she hasn't got her MSc, HR will just treat her as BSc grad and have to justify why the co is waiting for a BSc grad to join, when there are tonnes knocking on the door. When i told her HR ask these qns for a reason, she told me not to speculate cos i dunno for sure! All i wanted to do was to warn her to watch wat she says! I didn't know whether i shd laugh or slap her in the face!

Sue, she has this unhealthy fear of her Prof! I mean at the very worst, she can't grad (that's like 99.99% unlikely to happen). The next worse thing is that the Prof delays her grad to June next yr but at least she is earning some money. I bet she will make a big loss at her wedding cos its a lunch and she inviting a lot of family members. I told her if her Prof screams at her or verbally abuse her, just let her do it cos wat can the Prof do? Just take the bitter scolding and get out!

I am still very annoyed. Best frens for 10 yrs and I am so disappted that the only reason why she wants to reject the offer is becos she is afraid of her Prof.

bear, sorry to say but ur fren is pretty brainless, both she n her FH! Taking a loan from fmil to reno a plc that they can get busted anytime? No money but why can reno ppl's plc? Getting a HDB flat from hdb directly if they have CPF still cheaper than reno cos its reno needs cash outlay at 1 go. If not jus paint n get some simple furniture that they can move later to their new plc. Yah man, the wat can the professor do, jus scold her, whether she is honest or nt abt the job offer, she is going to be scolded anyway.

bear... u must be real disppointed in her.. Guess i will sure be very furious since i try means helping someone into my co, putting in sweet words and in the end.... decided not to join juz become of a professor.. my gosh!! cant she juz tell her professor.. like dat sure drag damn long..
38k is alot.. to renov a place that dun belong to her.. abit insane wor.. her hubby oso another kind.. GOSH! really no point since its not their own lovenest.. haiz.. juz hope she can wake up from all these... thinks abit further..
know u sure feel real sad.. cheer up k =)

Hey,
just got back fr Nanjya Monjya at waterfront plaza for our anni dinner with hb.
A fren told me abt this plc awhile back & i decided to check this plc out.
My choices were shima,keyaki & Nanjya Monjya.
The 1st two places r pricier & maybe over hyped.
I read tt Nanjya Monjya main customers r japanese,true enough.
The food was very gd & price reasonable.Tues nite & it's full house.

dajie: wow, seems like you had a great time.

Happy anniversary to all.

Oh yah happy anniversary to all those who had celebrated and going to celebrate.

Dajie, hws the price like. If Jap also frequent the plc I tink it wld be very autentic n good! hee! Agree Shima is overhyped

tea & sue,
yeah food was gd,ambience abit noisy,u knw wen japanese men talk over food & beer or sake so no romantic dinner lah,it was all abt the food & company.
Food is authentic,if u dont wanna cook or dont knw how to cook like in our case,then they will cook for u as each table has a hot plate/teppanyaki style.
We ordered abt 7-8 dishes & drinks the total was ard $145.We din try the pizza/pan cake caz too full liao.
Crowd last nite were older biz ppl.I think some of the staff r japanese or japanese wannabes.Alot of bowing gg on.

Dajie: me and hubby like to go to this jap rest at riverside pl. hubby know the chef, so usually we will sit at the counter and the chef will just cook the food. don have to order. quite intesting cos you don know what food they will be giving u.
but cant go there often. each time, set us back by about a $100. so only on special days.

Ya, if a pl is frequent by jap, it is usually good or rather authentic.

tea, wats the name of the plc? No more eating for me le la, I had been piling on after my wedding......Nw like no need to watch wat I eat liddat....hahhah! My hb said I am eating as tho I am preggy, when I really am, tink I mite look like a hippo.....

Today me back from MC so quite busy. I still cant decide if I shld go do my hair for my fren's wedding. Its at a restuarant, so dun wanna be too drama but I wld be on stage.....Also dun wanna spend too much.....

tea,
ah bear not ard mah then the others like wx,aeris & DH all busy...
Only left the few of us hard core ones,hahaha!!!

sue,
jz do simple hair setting if u want lah.I gonna do recep for my frens' wedding at one rochester end of the mth & the theme is flower fantasy,also dont knw wat to wear,another fren suggested putting a real flower in my hair(did tt for my wedding).
Many ppl been saying tt i lost weight,i think quite true caz the "side effects" of not taking the pill so far r no bloating,no water retention,small pimples bfe period & not much appetite.Gd thing is no tummy.

I was tinkin jus use my own curling thongs can le. Anyway I am nt the star....hee! Oh maybe tats y I cant shed my weight.....plus nw nt stress n quite free at work, got time to snack!

happy anniversary to all...had a superb jap buffet last nite at bt timah...splendid...realised my appetite lately gettin "better"...hope wont hav much probs slimmin after birth... :p

bear, u r indeed in a rather sticky situation wif ur best fren...how can she put u in such a difficult position if she treats u as her best fren? tink u hav done alot for her oredi...

Dajie: ya. think its the usual ones chatting. hehehe. I been skiving... so fedup at work. trying to convince an 'aunty admin' to do some stuff and she refuses to. say will only do if her boss ask her to. kns, force me to go thru the top-down approach. tell her properly, refuse to listen.. must have boss forcing it down her throat then she do.

Sue: if you are comfortable with the thongs, think should be fine. I am not so sure how to operate it, so usually just pop by the neighbourhood salon to wash and blow. not too ex, about $16.

Cant remember the name of the rest. have to ask hubby. I always remember pl and faces but never the name...

Tired... just back from my course. cant wait for it to be over.

Happy Anniversary to all!

missed a lot of posts.

i am down with red n swollen eyes! so din come online so frequent...try to relax my eyes!gonna wear specs for a while till it recover.

reading all the jap food made me hnugry. havent celebrated my anniversary yet. will be going to Lawry tmr for set lunch promotion. one for one deal for citibank cardholders. =)

Wah so many of us gone for japanese & also so many not well leh.
Feel like when is it my turn?Popping my vits liao!

jannie,
did u go hanabi?Is it gd?Wah go all the way to bukit timah quite far for u right?

cherz,
u shd try mortons,i heard better than lawry's but more ex for sure.

tea,
office politics huh?She's been ard the block so not gonna gv into ur sweet talking i guess.

cherz, u are like my fren, she kept getting infection of her eyes, then cant wear contacts. She gave up, went for lasik. My colleague infection till her eyes become discoloured, forever cant wear contacts, her eyes nt white, yellowish one. Better be careful gal! I havnt been to Lawry too, is the promo jus for weekdays only? Not really a Ribs person, my hb is tho. hee!

tea, old bird mah, they always liddat one....

dajie, yes me went to Hanabi. the portion was juz nice lor...small servin for each so dat u can try other food on the menu...the salmon sashimi was our fav...haha...not far lah coz we go after work mah...my office at bt batok... :p

cherz, do let ur eyes rest whenever possible...last time i had an infection too n i wore specs for abt a yr b4 i can use contact lens again...

tea, tink the aunty admin feels she is ur "senior" so dun wanna take orders from u...

dajie / sue: ya lor. those old birds always refuse to change. damn resistant. i think they need to read 'who moved my cheese'

but then, everywhere we go, we meet these pple. guess just have to deal with them accordingly. heng i am on good term with her boss's boss. so things can get moving...

jannie,
so it's on the way home lah.
Hanabi is ala carte buffet righ?

Nowadays feel very bored,feel like trying coloured lens leh.My eyes got less than 100 degress on each eye,only wear glasses at nite or when it's raining for driving,i can try coloured lens or define lens?I jz itchy bum bum lah.

where is Hanabi exactly ah?

dajie, i tot of trying those fancy contacts b4, like to make pupil bigger or coloured ones, but kanna scolded cos I dun need glasses or contacts. My fren who had discoloured eyes tell me i better nt cos I got sensitive nose, eyes.

dajie, can wear la, but my fren was saying ppl wear cos bo bian, but I dun need I still want to try. My fren's eyes became discoloured cos of infection and abrasion from wear contacts. Turned yellowish le. So she is asking me not to try becos it mite injure my eyes or eyesight go bad.

dajie, the doctor say its not, its her eye problem,her eyes is not whole eye yellow, its like some area. Forever no contacts for her!

sue, hanabi is along bt timah rd...if me not wrong shld b king arcade s.c...i noe the way there BUT dunno the addy...hehehe...if u wanna go me can find out for u...tink next to crown ctr?

dajie, ya hanabi is ala carte buffet...my hb juz luv the salmon there...he can go for several servings...
u wanna wear colored lens ah? didnt noe u r short-sighted leh...tot u had perfect eye sight...tink it shld b alrite to wear them as long as u dun wear them for too long lor like over 12 hrs...me used to wear them to sleep after partyin n regret it now coz my eyes will feel tired n dry very easily...

I'm back! Touch down early this morn!

Phuket was ok.. kinda boring cos hb and I are diff types of travelers. he needs to move abt but i m those type that likes to nuah... got a slight tan only.. shops are the same everywhere. even selling the same damn stuff..

Anyway thanks for ur inputs on my fren's situation. Tmr will be the day she decides. I dun care liao.. watever she chose, its her prob.. I have to spend time thinking how to salvage my reputation at work.

Cherz, don't wear contacts liao.. u seem to keep getting sore eyes. u might have higher chances of developing scar tissues and this will affect ur sight. Do LASIK ba.. i did it and nv regretted it.
Morton's is very gd! but the serving damn big...

Spent my anniversary playing arcade with hb in Phuket. Haven't had so much fun for the longest time. I normally dun play such games cos i m a sore loser. Hb got me a LV Pochette Beverly for my anniversary but i m gonna change it.

bear... yaya seems like no one posting.. recently getting busy trying to settle stuffs.. still got alot undone.. tmolo going down for my album layout.. most likely will be able to share some of my photos with u all.. =p
hmm hope ur fren will tink abit further.. haiz.. if she really decided not to join, more or less i guess pple will say somethin behind ur back since u intro wan.. got to be prepared wor.. haiz.. so sweet ur hubby got u somethin... u noe lately, my hubby surf singaporebrides and came into our threads.. he felt bad after reading the posts i posted.. saying dat he is a bad hubby coz i waiting for somethin for him but in the end, nothin from him at all... haiz.. anyway i dun expect, as long as i spent the whole day out with him, durng somethin not usual, i m happie already =p..

cherz... ur eyes betta already?? betta see a specialist if still bad.. i visited a eye specialist lately as well.. my right eye also get red at the end of the day.. so bad till every morning when i wear, my eyes will turn real red but after awhile subsize.. so abit weird.. doc say due to my oil gland, and lens irriate my eyes thus turn red.. so now i try not to wear lens everyday.. must make sure it's betta.. dun wanna be a red eye bride.. hehe

my eyes are better already. sticking to specs for a while first. Anise, u be careful too since yr AD coming!

Bear, I have no intention to go for lasik now.worried abt the risks involved.

Verdict on Lawry:

The food wasnt up to expectation. In fact, I feel Hooha is better. (tks to Dajie's recommendation previously) But it was an experience to dine there. Prefer to spend the same amt of $$ on crabs. The bill came up to be abt $70 for 2. and yes Sue, its a one for one promotion for lunch from Mon-Thur only.

Bear,

another branded bag to yr collection...cant wait for my AD to be over...haha

used to play arcade with hb when we were younger. i ALWAYS lose to hb. haha in order to make hb buy a steam iron, i bet on Man U last nite with hb coz i know my chances of winning are high and YES I WON!!!! YEAH!

cherz,
gd tt u won!Hahaha!I jz got back fr Manchester!No i din watch the match,some cols went paid 125pounds for it.They said the atmostphere is superb.
I also had the former liverpool player Steve McMahon & john dykes(espn) on my flt back.

bear,
why din hb get the honfleur tt u want?The beverly is more ex isnt it?
Gd tt u had fun!

oh ya cherz,
i think lawry's overated as well.Hooha still very gd hor.

jannie,
i got very slight short sightedness tt i actually dont need to wear glasses but it does make some difference to me & many ppl say i look gd wearing my ray bans so why not.Hahahaha!!!!!

anise,
wat made ur hb surf into our thread?

Eh, when i go offline, u guys then post!

Anise, why ur hb decided to pop into our thread? he guilty ah? wahahaha.. I think each guy is different lah.. tell him not to spend so much on zhng-ing his car and more on u! kekeke...

Cherz, u had the steak or the ribs at Lawry? I can't rem who told me the ribs are gd.. everything u do has risks. u really gotta sit down and weigh ur pros and cons. Continuing to wear contacts and developing infections gives me higher risk of losing my eyesight compared to doing LASIK. After all 99% of all LASIK surgery here went well. may be u shd talk to ur eye specialist and ask them abt the risk.

Hahaha, u won ur bet ah? I like betting with my hb, cos i almost always win.. :P not on football though, more like things in life. all the same i m very happy that Man U won.. heehee...

Dajie, my hb went into LV and asked them for all the clutches they had. He didn't know or rather didn't rem which one i wanted!! He almost got me a purple coloured clutch (i almost fainted when i heard it) but they have no stock. Gonna change for the Honfleur but i think its $200 cheaper than the Beverly...

Abt my fren, she promised me that she would talk to her Prof yesterday and tell her that she already got a job. In the end guess wat, she didn't tell the Prof at all!! she just say a fren recommended her a job and her Prof immed thought that she wanted her Prof's recommendation. Her Prof said things like with her poor working attitude, she cannot take those managerial position, can only do those technician position. Say that she is a poor worker that cannot think for herself. I found that so insulting! But my stupid fren still didn't tell her so her Prof's impression is that she is gg to apply for the job only.

This meant that she has been lying and lying to her Prof. Sad to say, her Prof knows my fren's new immediate bosses in my co. All the Prof needs to do is to call those bosses up, to find out that my fren has been lying all along. This would only prove that my fren has a lousy character.

I was so mad when i spoke to her cos i feel that the more she hides, the harder it is for her to tell her Prof. Its been almost 4 mths and she hasn't even told her Prof abt the job. I mentioned this to my col who wrote her a recommendation letter and I had to grovel to that person for getting him into deep shit.

ARRGHH!!!

happy mooncake festival!

kinda busy at work today.....Will share abt my fren's wedding on sunday when I have the time okie. hee!

Bear… hmmm ur dat fren abit gone case to me.. I guess she din really tink much.. basically she is scared of her prof and dun wanna tok much.. she will sure regret in future.. regret for missing out this good opportunity since so many pple outside wanted so much to join this co.. haiz… and worse still, the prof noe the immediate boss.. so lagi worse..

Hmm why my hubby suddenly pop into our this thread is coz he is doing some research on house-painting.. Thus I guess he surf ard, then happen to see my nick and started reading.. aiyo.. I oso quite serious.. I asked him if he wanna spot check on mi.. lol.. juz jokin.. hopefully he will not spend anymore money on the car since already done so much to it.. rim, mirror all new one.. cost him a bomb already =p

bear,
obviously there aint much u can do with someone who dont even wanna help herself.

sue,
so many kids were at the park infront of my blk playing lanterns.

My sis went to ms clarity & she said the food no gd but din try the dessert.

anise,
so ur hb car crazy like mine huh?So tt's his car right?U dont have to chip in,do u?

Tmw hope can donate blood...

cherz... i went to national eye care.. refer from my company doc.. at least now my eyes betta

queenie.. yup agree dat my hubby is a car crazy... really crazy... lol.. actually i did help to chip in for the monthly as well as the insurances.. other den dat he pay.. so consider our car but i seldom use.. onli on weekend when i need to travel ard to teach at time..

btw.. i juz went to view my PS album layout.. dun like some.. got afew page i feel they clamp to many pieces together till look so complicate.. i oso paiseh to ask him to change all.. in the end onli request him to redo 4 slides for mi =<

morning all!!!!
hows everyone's mooncake festival......anyone gain a few pounds from eating mooncakes??? i sure did LOL haizzz really need to shed the extras( say only lah)

yest nite have a walk around the neighbourhood with wifey and LANTERNS in our hands!!!!! LOL not alot of lantern carriers around but definitely only two adults who carry lanterns haa haa haa....
yest nite went to celebrate anniversary.....coa according to chinese calendar its yest lol... actually wifey reminded me one if not i would not have realise it hee hee hee
went to this jap restaurant at robinson city basement called kuriya and spent a bomb there LOL what the captain recommended we ordered LOL coz we were like flipping the menu here and there cant deciding on wat to eat but the sashimi is good esp the seasonal fish ^^

browse thru the posts from you guys and eye seems to be the topic now hehehehe
actually if you take really good care of lens and know when to wear and when to stop wearing it should not cause too much problem bah.

ah bear, your friend is really something leh....the prof is not her in-laws or the devil why is she even afraid of him in the first place....she is juz being bullied by a freaking old "kid"

ooops got to do something first post this bah LOL

sorry ladies. i been rather bo eng at work. didnt post much.

I think i am pretty on track for wedding prep....
1) mum's dress done
2) wedding invite 60% done
3) the parents have met
4) seating arrangment is 80% confirm. prob need to move a few pple around
5) church booklet n invite is WIP
6) have prebooked my massage, facial... for next month
7).... not sure what else is pending. but am sure it will come up. lol.

side track....

life been pretty exciting for me on the side. converted 2 of my skating friends to cycling. they are in the midst of getting their roadies.

one of them is like me, cant cycle. hubby is coaching her. will be fun.

was chatting with these 2 friengs.. realised the amount we spend on our hobbies is quite scary. no wonder we are always broke.

bear, the more impt thing will be your reputation in the company leh coz like most company if you recommend a good staff you are the one but if your recommendation turns out bad then there will be much talk and damage done to your reputation liao. and your fren obviously did not realize this point and i wonder have she ever really worked before....or its juz studying all the way.......
good that you enjoyed your phuket trip hehehehe you did not try the message there???

anise, you are the one paying the money and calling the shots leh......but ultimately its your final decision.

da jie, what did your sis ordered...prob can avoid that when i go and try the food there hee hee hee^^

wow judy you are pretty much done with your list i suppose hehehehe. your sister gang and the tasks they have to do? i think its the same for all hobbies lah coz at first when you start you do not put in much but as you get more and more into it you will want the best and thu the amt of money spent on it.