(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

wah seh...seems like some of u ppl got some probs wif FMIL...actualli we gotta tink like them at times in order to "please" them...try not to hav any "heated discussions" of coz...talk nicely to them n tell them how u tink...it might help in improvin ur relationship wif them...

ya lucky my pils not so fussy abt stuff.hb apologised to mil say we neglected them during the rom n din take photos wif them n my mil say she understands we busy.but still feel super guilty coz next time the album only like 1 or 2 photos wif them.goshhhhhh

cherz> your frens really pro sia. i almost did the same thing too but my frens reminded me so in the end got take photo with all the guests^^

bear> take it easy ok. keep your cool. younger and older generation sure got diff in views one. seems like your FMIL wants a say in everything then you juz let her say her piece lor. it is your wedding so you and your hb have the say mah. let your hb take care of her bah.

joy> gal, try to take it in your stride. like what bear say, tok to your hb in private try to compromise then it is his job to tok to his side.

gals, there will be times then the ILs are abit annoying or even demanding and sometimes totally ridiculous. though i did not experience that coz my parents leave it all to me and my ILs are easy going too. but reading all your posts i can understand what you all are going through.
cannot expect to be all smooth sailing one, sure will bump into storms and bad weather. but as long as you perservere, you will tide it through. don forget you still have the support of your hb and frens^^ (1cent worth^^)

Hi all Sep Brides,
Congrats on your ROM.

Cherz,
Understand that you have your ROM at Amara Hotel. Can you share with me some photos too as i am keen to see see the place? my email address is [email protected]

What is your comments about service and food from Amara? My sister is planning for one there, so would love to hear some comments from you.

Thanks in advance =)

hi hidy,
u got mail!

care too intro?when is yr rom or AD?

Overall comments abt Amara is great!service & sound system is gd (David loh said dat Amara's sound system is one of the top 10 among all the hotels)they even provided the rose petals for the march-in.initially i wanted to buy the petals until i told the coordinator i wanted to throw the petals during march in n she said no problem they will provide.

my reception is lunch.cant comment much on the food as i din take much.but the guests din hav any complains abt the food.they luv the chocolate cake.

my stay is at a suite so its diff from the normal rom package which is in Amara tropical room.the suite is very cozy,even had a kitchen in it.all the stuff u need is in the suite.they even decorated wif roses n change the pillow casing to red for the wedding theme!

mine is at the poolside.for me i am considered very lucky coz it rained prior to my rom timing so during my rom the weather is cool,not sunny at all!thank god for dat!

as on the 18th sep,Amara had like 4 couples doin poolside solemnistion so hav to stick to the timing strictly,3pm muz vacate the premises for the next couple.

hi bear, jannie and wxyang,
yeah thanks! it is not that i dun like them to interfere..but should at least discuss and not impose their likings on us..We wanna a centralised location for all..not only his side..FMIL told my FH that the wedding dinner to b held either at jurong or bukit batok..waaa i really dunno who is the bride..it is not i dun like the locations..i just want to convenient everyone. FMIL says to think of others as in their msia relatives who are coming. saying jurong or bukit batok more convenient for them to go home after dinner. well same here i also want my parents and relatives, friends to go home conveniently too..why can't she consider my side as well? just feel it is not fair at all. let's say if the guests flew in from changi airport..does that mean we have to hold our wedding in Le Meridien Changi to convenient them?? ridiculous rite?? i talk to my FH but he is also stressed and dunno wat to do..i ask him to tell my FMIL about this already..dunno wat will happen..sigh let's see how my FH handles this..

Joy: Before you get your FH to talk to his parents, you may want to make sure that he agree with your suggestion of the centralise location. In this way, when he talk to his mum, he will be not be out talked by his mum. Get your FH on your side first. mothers will always test and see how far they can go with their son (especially). Usually if the son already decided on something, they will not say too much.

Bear:
your FH very good leh. Think better let him handle his mum. you just act blur. i have this pact with my bf, if we agree on something and his mum object, i will say it is his decision. vice versa. so far, it work out quite well cos we will know how to handle our own parents. :D plus both parents don meet to verify, so they wont know. hee.

Hey cherz, wow, you so pretty and tall. I like your hairdo. very nice. I like your flowers, where did you get it from? the wacky shot is so cute. you do look like your mum.
your photographer is not bad, she manages to capture the mood quite well. hee.

i got to go home and check my emails... cant wait to see all your pixs.

joy & bear > i think ur pils are just too zealous over the wedding, they want to interfere coz they care but yet they do not know when to stop. Tea is right lor, usually try to get ur fh to talk to them. no point antagonising them now esp its so close to the date.

Joy> can u settle for somewhere near a MRT station. it will be convenient for everyone wor... not like s'pore is v big :p

my fmil told me to fly down to jakarta to take my wedding package hahaha... i pretend i never hear :p

wow da jie: your pics got so many sexy poses.
hee. you look so sexy and confident. like your plus one pose, you look nice. i think your rom photo is the most sexy one I have seen so far. hee.

My pics r very diff fr everyone's caz it's a mega mess,cant blame my fren either!No pic with hb,gotta wait til Jayce my photographer.

joy & ah bear,
u only gonna get married once.Do wat u bloody like,it's not her bloody wedding.It's ur's!Sorry but i cant tolerate these kindda ridiculous excuses!I knw it's not easy but i tell ppl tt I'm a 32 yr old woman,i waited damn long to get married so i'll do wat bloody hell i want!Hb supports me!

For those of u who hv seen some of my pics.Initially my pil said my sheer top very nice,i pre empt them tt i wearing bikini top only plus the sheer outer top.They didnt absorb til the night bfe,fil said too translucent.I said i knw,tt's the whole idea.Mil asked if i gonna set my hair,i said no & why?She said set nicer & make culry,i replied i permed already,not curly enuf ah?Then silence.Well,i didnt say i was a gd dil.But my pil r generally nice folks.

My hb is alittle better.He went to work already while i'm still on leave til fri then work agn,argh!

wah tea,
u so fast check ur email ay?Thank you very much!I hope sexy means gd & not sluttish.Heehee!!
I had alot of fun tt night but my poor hb...It was nice hvg ppl fuss ard u.I was jz high on the whole night,not high on alcohol.

Hi, all thx for the compliments! actually spent more time on the 1st email, but cant open the link dun knw why... tats why cut down to only 12 pics...

Jannie:> all the pics were taken using normal digital cam cos i didnt get any professional fotographer for my ROM...

Anise:> heehee... i think its bcos of his coat, tats y look very formal and matured... lucky not me too matured...kekeke! btw both me and my HB 26 yrs old, but i'm older in than him by abt 2-3weeks.. kekeke

Weixiong:> hehe, ya me also abit pinky person (tink your wif also rite?) I demanded my HB to buy the pink shirt and i tink he will wear it once only cos he dun really fancy tat colour...hahahaha

Bear:> sorry abt that will forward to you shortly...heehee! actually i also had problem with my MIL abt the hand bouquet on my ROM day, he told my HB that the flower was not nice, not up to her standard! But my smart HB told me abt her remark only the 3rd day after the ROM, if not I sure also very blacky face liao...

Tweety:> thx for the compliments abt the pics, but me no slim lah! still trying very desprately looking for fast ways to slim down... kekeke (lazy mi)

Tea:> I will forward the pics to you shortly... check it out!

Thanks minne and cherz for sharing your pics! Lovely! Both of you seem tall and slim...
I love cherz's gown, so bare-back *wink wink* Nicey!

queenie > share share yours can?

I must really see more pretty, sexy and SLIM brides to grill myself into dieting/exercising man....lunch time buffet...tonight eat-all-you-can steamboat...How to lose weight?

joy > Dont despair. It's really your wedding and not an event to suit everyone's convenience. It's such a hassle when we have to please everyone else yet make ourselves all stressed and frustrated. I would be jumping mad should my in-laws only consider about their own relatives and friends and heck care mine too. Luckily my PILs are generally nice folks, I only BTH the SIL.

I'm now so looking forward to AD leh...MIL just asked HB this morning if I need 10-15 tables. Urmm..if I need more hor, does that mean I have to top up myself ah? In any case, HB conveyed my wish of doing AD only in late 2006 or early 2007. We wish to start reno/do furnishing to lovenest first, hopefully after CNY 2006. And that means :"MIL, show me the money please! I want to source for quotations only after securing your sponsorship" *evil grin*

But seriously speaking, can share share on how much one needs for:
1) house reno
2) furnishing - furniture and appliances
3) customary wedding

on the average? We two have not much savings and whatever few K we have already used on purchase of resale flat (those misc that need to be paid in cash) and ROM. PIL have given verbal commitment that they are sponsoring reno and banquet. But I guess we must also prepare extra for misc like deposits, topping up etc....*BROKE*

Hidy,
tks n i reply u thru mail.

Tea,
i got my flowers fr tis florist at Bedok blk 216 market.yeah hairdo was selected by my hb.he likes it on one side coz it looks more sexy.haha but i feel a bit too much flowers when i saw the photos!

minne,
i aso a pink person so my hb's shirt aso pink!!!

aiyo yr mil aso wan to fuss abt a bouquet.omg some of u really hav a hard time dealing wif fmils!!!muz b like dajie,stand on yr feet but i noe sometimes u dun wan spoilt the realtionship wif fmils aso.our poor fh/hbs will b the one snadwiched btw us n fmils!

joy,
mayb u wan decide on the restaurant/hotel 1st then present the idea to yr fmil.mayb tis way its easier to convince her of the location....hope tis helps!

Alamak...minne, if you arent slim, then I am obese leh...

Like I posted earlier, my FOC photographers busy with food and entertaining and cameras ended up with the SIL's kids
kao_angry.gif
kao_frustrated.gif

Our cameras captured pathetic photos only. Luckily my gfs brought along cameras and they have sent me some via email. You may wish to view them at http://michon.multiply.com

Very few pictures, some abit blur, but oh well..I have to make do with them as they add on to our pathetic few.
Let you all see what is called F-A-T
kao_cry.gif

Cherz :> WOW! you look sooo mei mei lay! your gown so nice and your makeup and hairdo also very nice really suits you... very perfect!!! the pics were also very well taken! nothing can describe, only 1 word : PERFECT!

wow... dajie! *thumbs up*.. very sexy..
i think the whole thing suits u a lot.. really
envy u to have such good body to show off...
Cherz> you looked pretty!!!
jannie, wxyang, cherz> my hubby do support me if i want to further studies but the thing is i dunno how to juggle time.. hehehe
anyway, he can't say no, rite? he have to respect me and care for me... (hehehe... in the vows)

sorry pple,.. still trying to get all photos back from friends..only got a video here... but too big to upload... no time to "cut" out the pictures too.. have to wait till next week.. maybe...

btw, hubby told me that the reason why is always the guys who made mistakes.. coz they are the 1st to say vows or take ring..by the time our gals' turn, we know where the mistakes are and we won't make it... hehhee..

minne> saw yours too.. very sweet...

btw, can we have all links together so that is easier to view too instead of emailing.. ?

kyra,

aiyo the food muz b very yummy dats y yr foc photographers din do thier wk.dun worry u still got the AD to go ya!!!

tks minne,

hee all the photos u see r the best of the lot!!!i am very happy wif the outcome too.

anyone dryclean their gowns?roughly how much?mine was real dirty after the event!

Joy> I sms u lei, u din reply. Dun worry yet, ask ur fh to talk to them. Its not fixed yet so still have room to negotitate. Ask ur hubby who's paying for it lo. Seriously, msia relatives doesnt really make sense for u to have dinner at Jurong lo. U nt having it for their sake rite....

wow...dats a lot of msgs to go thru for juz awhile...how com some of u hav seen da jie's pics? me wanna c also leh... :p wanna c how sexy she is...hehehe...

nihpcac, since ur hubby supports u den go ahead lor...but if ur workload is alot...den u muz b prepared for alot of hard work n less sleep hrs...my "dark eye rings" are bcomin more n more visible

minne, mine also taken using digicam...still waitin for my hubby to get the other pics from his bro den can edit n show u all...

cacphin,

i bought the gown fr the BS so hav 2 send to dryclean myself.duno wat 2 do with the gown now.sell or keep it??

cherz, u online in yahoo messenger har? me also...tried to add u but no response :p
any1 hav msn or icq or yahoo messenger? we can compile a list den can talk in real time...

thanks Jannie.. indeed my workload is a lot...scared no time to accompany him.. but my family and his family sure object one.. still got the mentality that females dun study so much.. wait no time for family etc.. sigh..

nihpcac, u muz b prepared lor...the onli time my hubby sees me is when he fetch me to work n to class...den when i reach hm my family oredi sleep liaoz...morning wake up they go work oredi..so hardly c each other after i started on my course...

so my advice is dun do too many things at the same time :p since ur AD in next June, concentrate on it 1st den after ur AD den u start ur coz...at least its not dat stressful on urself both physically n mentally...

Queenie: you definitely look sexy in a good sense. ;)

Kyra: hey, you very photogenic hor. you look very natural in the photo. Nice nice.
I budgeted for about 8k for my furnishing and applicances. fridge, washer, mattress, sofa, dinning table, painting... all accessories depending on how much i have left.

Minne: so cute your photo. I like the one with the bicycle.
hee.

kyra> dun think i received urs too..
jannie> i think mine will be worse.. dun think wan him to fetch me to work or from studies.. so maybe only in lala land... ehhehe..
cherz> i think should be less than $10? dunno.. never wash b4.. However, since you have bought it, might as well keep it as a memento..

cherz > Yah lor...the lunch was good. My mistake for not engaging photographer or have someone who can commit to taking picture throughout.

Tea / Suelynn / Jannie > Thanks for the compliments. The photos are indeed blur, dunno why...do I need to resize or what? IT idiot here. Frens sent to me via email and I just cut and pasted. I dont even know how to upload my own....*hide*

Jannie - comparing to the few others who have invited us to view pics here, I am indeed OBESE leh. In fact, Jessica from JHC told me jokingly to diet while taking measurement. I did lost 4kg for the ROM but still fat lor =(

Tea > 8K sounds reasonable for furnishing. I have heard people spending another 20K on top of reno for furnishing...can kill me man...

nihpcac > view from http://michon.multiply.com
michon is the name of the youngest girl at home =)

Kyra: you using JHC? I went to see jess the last time but didnt use her eventually. cos bf no time to go down to her shop and is comfortable with TC. guys don really like to shop around like us girls.... As for the furnishing, i think 20k is not something unusual. but rule of thumb is always spend within your means.

da-jie and minnie> can send me ur pixs at [email protected]

cherz> is that ur AD as well? looks like u had a lot of fun... cant wait for my turn tis fri even though its a small affair hehe. who else is left other than me :p

kyra> 20k is quite high but come to think of it. a plasma tv is easily $5-$6k liao. luckily my parents r sponsoring some of it :p. everything is v ex, i jus spent a bomb on beddings...

Finally goes through my ROM!!! The whole process was fun but tired. Yesterday morning was raining too... & couldn't take any outdoor photo

My hubby & I were very very nervous throughout whole morning. The moment we reached ROM,my hubby face turns pale & hardly talk to me but looking ard everywhere. Luckily we juz need to say " I will" & "I do" ,if not stutter again.Because of our nervousness,we hardly take photo.I realli regretted for not taking more photos & somemore I get my frenz as photographer..haiz!! How I wish returning back to yesterday & get things done well......

Eventually after yesterday i feel stress! Suddenly become someone's wife & someone's daughter-in-law,till nw still can't accept it.This morning back to office w/o any smile! Somemore my hubby not in town ,feel more stress....

supagal,
depends wat brand of plasma tv u r looking for?They r not lasting & they r much cheaper then say 5yrs ago.I got my LG ard $3k plus only.Of the gd ones like Hitachi,pioneer r still very costly.Though it saves space,it can be too big for the living rm.

Honestly,the bigger items wont burn a hole in ur pocket caz they r muz haves like fridge,washer,hood/hob,dining table,sofa,bed etc.The smaller stuff like eg bedsheets,pillows,towels,hangers,plates,kettle etc too many to name will tear a hole in ur pocket & bfe u knw it,u no longer hv pockets.If u can live with old stuff in ur new plc,by all means,lug ur old stuff into ur new place caz it wld save u loads.Lucky for me,i didnt hv to buy pots & pans as mil hv loads of them.
If u hv never lived on ur own & wld only do so aft marriage then u'll hv alot to adjust.Same goes if u hv nvr lived with ur fh/hb bfe getting ROM/AD.U'll hv even more things to get used to.All this can be very stressful & trying.With $ running away,reno probs,phew!Jz focus on the gd things & try to keep calm.I'm done with all tt.PHEW!

Kyra> pls dun say u are obese la. I oso not thin lei, will share with u my fotos n u noe what I mean. I am oso with Jess lei, she jus ask me if I am gonna lose a lot of weight n I told her I hope so kekeke

Gathering
Date:8 Oct (any objections?Speak now or forever hold ur peace(pees!).
Time:4pm(ok?)
Venue:Jurong West st 64

1.queenie30-drinks + plastic cups (both dates ok)
2.suelynn-honey chicken wings (vote 8th oct)
3.joy-curry puffs (prefer 15th oct, 8th my sis bday)
4.Tea - food to be advised. :P either day is fine.
5.Bear - Salad!!! either dates are find for now!
6.Jannie - cheese hotdogs. either dates r fine
7.cherz - agar agar (both dates ok for now)
8.Anna - Chocolate Brownies/Fudge (prefer 8th Oct.)
9. Tweety - Fruit Jelly (Kuo tong) with fresh fruits.. (grapes & mango if available) both dates tentatively ok
10. nihpcac - fishball? (prefer 8th)
11. Minne - disposable plates & cutlery (both dates fine)
12. supagal - food tbc (8 oct)
13. coco - otah (either dates are ok)
14. DH - Muscle Power? (prefer 8th)
15. anise - tbc (tentively okie for both)
16. kyra - tbc (tentatively ok for both dates)
17. Rachel - any food u gals like???

Everyone,do not lose tis list k.

nihpcac, if u only c him in lala land den better make sure he wont "bite" u for not spendin time wif him when u take up the coz :p

kyra, u lost 4kg b4 ROM ah? wah seh...how u lose one? teach me leh...me hav been puttin on so much weight for the past few mths...
tink ur pics r blur bcoz the actual size of the pics are not wat we see...its much smaller...if u click on 1 of the pic den u will c a smaller pic which is the actual size. got it?

rachel, ur ROM is at fort canning ah? dunno if we got c each other or not on dat day...me also there leh :p

I wrote something really long then PC hang have to retype. Shucks!

Kyra, we are saving 10K for dinner only, 40K for reno and 10K for furnishing.. Saw ur photos! so pretty u...

Dajie, u sexy thing!!! so hot! i want ur tummy!!! so flat!!!

Went for my finally fitting just now. need to alter 3 times before it fits.. then at my mum's insistence we went to get fake flowers for the flower basket. to please u know who!

Received some bad news. My fren who helped me with my ROM music suffered a personal tragedy. Her bf met a bike accident in Johore and died. The saddest part was that the 2 of them were crazy over each other for 3 yrs but can't be together as they had partners then. They only got together 3 mths ago. She was so happy when they got together and kept asking me how much is needed to settle down. she even started saving. now everything is gone... she cried to me.. and i cried with her.. i couldn't do anything else. the scariest part is that my FH drives a bike too. It has affected me...

omg...bear...so sorry to hear wat happened to ur fren...they finally got together n such a thing happened...do send my regards to ur fren...time will heal her wound...
my hubby used to ride bike also due to his job in courier line but after we got together he went to take class 3 n now he drives a van instead.
mayb u can advise ur FH to drive car instead of bike. he mayb a very careful rider but there are other careless drivers around...esp cab drivers whose accident rates r the highest...

Gathering

3.joy-curry puffs (prefer 15th oct, 8th my sis bday)
9. Tweety - Fruit Jelly (Kuo tong) with fresh fruits.. (grapes & mango if available) both dates tentatively ok
18. Weixiong - sotong balls? (ok with both dates)

bear> so sorry to hear about your fren. by being with her in this hour of needs, you are actually doing alot already. by crying with her, you are sharing her sorrow and that means alot at a time like this. prob you can share your thoughts with you fh. he can be the safest rider in the world but he cannot protect himself from dangerous motorist on the road esp here.

Gathering

3.joy-curry puffs (prefer 15th oct, CAN'T join u all liao..coz FH bked a short trip to msia)
18. Weixiong - sotong balls? (ok with both dates)

oh bear, so sad to hear of that. your friend must b devastated to lose someone she loves..hope she can get over it soon..so try to spend time with her if possible esp with ur group of friends..

Dear all.. so many post arh.. i really too busy to read all in details ya..

cherz.. saw yr pix liao.. u really v pretty leh.. the make-up n hair do are nice.. suit u leh.. wow.. so envy.. u look v tall leh.. I v short leh.. haiz.. I sent mine for drycleaning too.. i think abt $20 or $25 like that leh..

Joy.. talk to yr fh till he fully agree with u n stay on yr side b4 tlk to yr MIL.. still got time.. don stress or angry k..

Bear.. u also hving pros with IL arh... ai yo.. seems like IL always hv pro ya...
so sad to hear yr friend's story.. try to spend more time with her.. i think she needs ppl to be there with her at this moment. just tell yr fh to be more careful, don drive to fast. if raining it's better not to ride.. don think too much k..

Kyra.. saw yr pix liao.. u look v natural n sweet.. yr gown is simple but nice.. i like simple gown..

dajie.. wanna c yr sexy pix also leh..