(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Morning ladies.
wow, another 1 week more to september.

Jannie: you may want to get those with straps that are further apart. It really help in covering up the fats.

tea, thanks for the tip...will try it out when i go source for the gown...

hey u guys complaining to ROM count me in...i tink its system realli sucks...

MY GOD! I went to ROM website...they have now stated clearly that before 1st Nov, ceremony will still be held in the rooms.

Wasted my monies!!! Busted my budget!!!

Heee we are on fire aren't we??

Kyra, so how? are u gg to cancel all the reservation and do it still at the ROM?

Jannie, why dun u choose something other than white? Mine is ivory cos i wanna keep white for my AD....

Sob sob...can i now complain that they should compensate me for all the extra efforts and expenses incurred to change the ROM venue at the very last minute ah? sob sob!!!!

I just confirmed the details early this morning....faxed consent form to JP, informed my guests of change of venue...went into ROM website late last night to make changes....

Never feel so sway befpre...this agency is really terrible...make changes without prior notice then suka suka change again...

joy, i still gotta the e-mail from rom leh u wanna see? if want than i send to u lor...
the rest of the complaints thru phone they also quite rude leh...

kyra, they didnt say is the joy or cherish those rooms leh... think they still meant the level 1 office as room also as wat they wrote in the e-mail to me leh... unless they decorate tat room also lor...

kyra, tink u can complain n ask for compensation... :p juz try ur luck lah...who noes they might do something?

bear, dats a gd suggestion...me will keep sourcing...like annabelle said, me still got 3 wks...seems a long time but yet so short...

hi jannie,
hope your toes heal fast! must take care wor

hi kyra,
issit true that we'll get to use the rooms?? think many people complain ar..yeah should ask them to state leh..otherwise dunno wat rooms..coz all the nice rooms are on 2nd floor!

hi anna,
yes yes i wanna see the email from ROM..email me! hehe

jannie, dun worry u'll find a gown u love... before u find it keep searching or else anyhow buy liao hoh than see nicer ones will regret wan leh...

joy, have e-mailed u liaoz... see how they written e mail... hai... take it or leave it attitude...

hi joy, thanks...

tink the ROM rooms at level 1 seems quite small...got limit the number of guests dat u can bring in also rite? mmm...their service is realli horrible...how com they dun rectify so many problems dat they hav? sigh...

I sent a "feedback" over liao...asking them why are they making so many un-announced changes and work without standard operating procedures.

I dont think they will compensate lah..I work in a government agency too..it wont happen so easily. I am not demanding for any monetary compensation but a proper explanation.

After so much hoo-ha, I would of course choose to continue with the arrangement to solemnise outside. No point getting more upset over their blunders!

joy > I think it will be a room but not sure if it will be like what anna said. I hope that they at least properly reno/decor that office if they are indeed using that still.

annabelle: dats wat me worried abt lor...afraid to get a gown at the last min den saw another one dat is better...so far i set my eyes on one of YEN's white gown...simple n nice...except dat its a tube...haha...showin the stupid armpit fats but tink it happens to most gals so cant b bothered oredi...hehe...

kyra: tink alot of ppl complained b4 liao n if they no take action den they cant b bothered oredi lor...can i c the email too? :p

kyra, i also wrote alot leh but cannot posts lor... so shorten it become summary liaoz...

jannie, can leave ur e-mail add so i can forward u? i dun have ur e-mail address leh... hmmm if really can't find nicer ones than get tat one lor...

anna > Has anyone called you? I just received a call from the ROM. The staff by the name of Ivy was sweet and patient. It is confirmed that the room still means the office at Level 1 but they decided to take down the photo as it doesnt look good. She assured me that the actual office looks much better.

I told her that I have already made the necc changes but gathering from the feedback from the ground, they really should be more clear in their wordings and do something to that office. She accepted my feedback graciously and apologised for all the confusion caused.

So I guess there is still nice and professional staff working in ROM huh? =P

I hope that it is liked what Ivy said, the actual place is actually much better than shown in the photo. Do enjoy your ROM and blissful marriage ahead!

Hi peeps! my fren is marrying on 18 sept. they received a call asking them to caome early for verification, apparently to avoid the long queue on verification day.
Seems that a record number of people marrying 18 sept..

kyra, u mean after i complained anyone called me??? or call me to bring forward the verification of documents? but e person who replied me e last time was quite rude leh... hai nevermind lar its onli a 5 minutes thing...

jannie, have sent u e e-mail liaoz...

annabelle, got ur email...thanks...read thru it...their attitude realli is like take it or leave it...wah seh...how can they like dat?

hi kendra, i didnt recv any calls from them leh...any1 else recv the call?

hi anna,
received your email liao..woooo take it or leave it attitude ar.

hi kyra,
so it will still be in level 1 la...of course she will say the room looks better than the photo..how can it squeeze 20 pple??? sigh

hi jannie,
hope u can find your nice nice gown tonite!!

jannie, happy searching for ur gown tonite... hope u find a nice nice one upload pic for us to see huh...

keekee ROM ppl attitude very bad huh... ya dunno how to squeeze so many ppl. inside leh... hai... anyway juz squeeze lar...

anna > I mean after your complaint. She called me to reply on my 'feedback'. Urmm....I think it depends on the way you write? I hate to complain but once I do so, I make sure I get my points across and I usually get very prompt replies, same case as in HDB. My sister said my language can kill...ooppss....=X

I also told Ivy that my friend has spoken to ROM staff who are rude. She apologised and said there may be some misunderstandings and they would look into the feedback.

joy > The room def cannot squeeze 20 pax. I told her many people are very upset by this and she said point taken. But guess staff have no say...unless we complain all the way UP....She said the lighting wasnt good and the photo showed this dull-looking room, in actual fact, not that bad....Not sure if she is speaking the truth but at least she was polite and sounded sincere.

DH,

slowly tink of wat to engrave.coz u can engrave quite a lot of words on firy inc's rings n fairy inc engraving is beautiful.

joy n sue,

i aso din noe of the HK promotion until i read the ST on mon.if not we three can go Q together.

kyra,

so its still the office room n yr efforts r not wasted rite.wah u wrote such a long 2000 words complain letter.gosh we r juz suay dat our rom is in their period of transition from the "joy/cherish/love" rooms to the office rooms.cool down ya.

My dress is also bustier tube lei, trying to tone my arms....but still cant wo....so sad! I din realise abt the 2 tone part lei, tink will get mua to powder glitter powder to even the tone.

I read these few days msg... Notice there's a lot of complaints against the agency. May I knw wat type of poor service they provided??Some of u guys' msg stated they like to do last mins time,can I hve some examples?? Worst thing is I dun even knw when u all said abt the ROM's room,seems like I realli very blur blur...
I onli knw tat i need to verify documents to the agency on 13/14 Sept....

hi folks,
i've been reading some of the posts abt the complaints on rom. abit lost track but seems like they are making a blunder of changing before prior notices. i dunno there is this office room @ level 1.. and they are changing $128? is tis for booking of the room? sure is ex manz... i hope it will help if you guys write or call them to provide your feedback, afterall you paid so much for it.
dun be too worked up.. cool down yeah...

and welcome to all the sept brides-to-be, happy preparing

i saw somewhere abt dress from Lavender, i just pass by last weekend, seems to carry nice dress.. anyone bought from there? is it ex? where is the dress from?

I juz browse thru LoveThatBlind website & find tat they have beautiful Private Room like Cherish , Love , Romantic & etc.Does anyone how whether am I able to change the solemisation venue
?
Recently I've been hardworking very hard to look for my ROM gown during the weekend.Although my BS does provide me the ROM package,but I dun realli like the white gown....it looks very formal. (Should I take it or buy )
Doesn't anyone here hve any feedback for taking a black colour car for ROM?? My FH's frenz willing to fetch us there but his car is "Black" ..Eeerrrr ,still wondering should I take the offer!
I had juz settle the lunch after ROM @ Intercontinental Hotel "Man Fu Yuan" any feedback on their food too????
Hand Bouquet for ROM had oso settled by the BS,so wat else do I miss out?????Quite nervous & worry as it left with 27 Days .......

Morning gals...

yeah have booked my facial and mani-padi appts yesterday...
me trying to slim down also leh but like not much effect... how abt u gals? any success???

kyra, yes after one of my complaints they called me back but was quite rude lor... than another complaint they jus sent me back a e-mail...

cherz, we will still be using the basic office for rom leh hai... our complaints have fallen on deaf ears again...

coco, the level 1 room is normal charge of $26 but if wanna use the rooms hoh have to top up another $128 leh so no point mah jus for ard 15mins...

Morning gals..

Wowo, so many post ya.. Read till blur.. I was on leave yest to verify doc n collect Marriage cert at ROM. then help my fh pack his bag.. He gg Thailand today.. I'm so sad n feel so lonely..

I saw a room at level 1 leh.. but cant c the inner deco.. Now all couples have to wait outside, only 1 couple on standby outside the room.. I think the ceremony takes abt 10 min..

I order my hand bouquet yest liao.. Calla lilies for abt $41 leh.. quite resonable rite..

Jannie & kendra.. I received their call liao.. just collected yest..

Anna.. u received my email liao??

Morning Gals!

In addition to the phone call from Ivy yesterday afternoon, I received another call at 8pm last night. This time round, it was a Ms Loke and she identified herself as the registrar.

Again, she apologised for making me go through so much trouble, explained the various enquiries and rationale behind doing so.

The "office" at Level 1 is still a room - previously termed as the Happiness Room. The objective now is to encourage more solemnization in the community as the registry has lesser manpower and experienced difficulties in coping with 2 levels. The mistake they made is really making everything seems too frills-free -- in terms of their choice of wordings and that photo was taken from a camera phone by a staff! Other pics in option 1 and 2 were taken by professional photographer. I told her that as a civil servant myself, I can certainly understand where they are coming from. But they have to bear in mind that this is one aspect of life whereby everyone would look into DETAILS.

In any case, she offered to compensate me the $15 and they would arrange to serve me separately on the day of document verifications.

I certainly have not expected this but she said that they are trying to make amends for spoiling my day. Thumbs Up for their service! Considering that most people would only use their service once, it is really impt that they perform service recovery in time.

anna/joy > You can rest assured that solemnization is still in a room and I was told that the decor is very much similar to the cherish/joy/hope rooms. There is even a chandelier lamp that the pic fails to show.

I forgot to clarify that though my draft was 2000+ characters, I did summarise into less than 512 characters in the end....

My ROM dress is also a bustier tube. From time of measurement till 1st fitting last weekend, designer said I have slimmed down abit from waist and hip. But I think I still look FAT. Bf even asked if I want to get a shawl! Such a subtle hint right? Hrmph!!!

The dress is off white with lilac trimming at bustline.

- Any suggestion on where to get nice shawls?
- Also which kind of shoes should i get? I am totally lost. Saw some silver-coloured shoes with diamantes but dont think they match very well.......
- How abt accessories? Would pearl necklace & earrings look nice?

Appreciate all suggestions =)

Gd morning!

Boss is here, means have to hear her nagging liao. Sian...

Rachel, i feel that you should save the money and just take whatever dress ur BS provides u with. Cos newly weds always got not enuff $$$ to spend one hor? what's this abt black car? cannot drive black car meh? my car is black leh and i am gonna fetch myself to my ROM!

Jannie, hope u got ur gown!!

Kyra, u gotta get white shoes, not the silvers ones. white shoes are rather difficult to find. I got mine at JWest in June at 50% off... look around lor...

hi kyra,
that i can understand..but feel unfair that during the efiling, they did not mention about such changes at all..when i recall attending my frens' ROM..it is all so nice..then my turn become like tat..seems like so awkward..how to invite my friends to come?? they should only implement this after a cutoff period maybe for those who efile for dates after November or wat so that people will know exactly wat to expect on that day..and they din bother to inform the rest of us who have efiled..this is a public service to the whole of Singapore..and to think the Govt is encouraging us to get married and have kids?? and the ceremony only 5 minutes and out you go..how to hv memorable moments?? personally i think ROM is more meaningful than the customary as it is the date which the couple chooses.

anyway, i've written a long letter and send via post..coz their feedback form only allow 512words.

hi gals n gd morning...luckily today's msgs r less than yesterday morning...having abit of migraine oredi wif the pressure for the next few wks

went to paragon wif my sis last nite...tried a few at the boutiques there...some too casual...some too formal...my sis suggested gettin one dat I can still wear after the ROM instead of juz wearin it once n chuckin it in the wardrobe after dat day. but i managed to set my eyes on a pale pink dress...simple n nice...haven buy it though...will still scout ard for some more other designs...

anna, is dat u in the pic? so nice...i tried to find a halter neck gown but to no avail...will keep lookin ard...thanks...

tink those ROM at level 1 shld b more at ease after hearing wat kyra said...

hey juz wanna noe when is the best time to get the gown har? me dun wannna get so early den wat if i go slim or fat? den i cant fit in the gown how?

Kyra >> they compensate for u ha?? I think the office setting not so bad as in the website la..
so gals rom at rom, don upset k..else later not nice le... tell u this to make u happy k.. Yr name will appear in the big tv outside the room.. so cool rite.. u can take pic there too, the tv not hang v high, can take pics one..

I think yr gown match white shoes leh.. agree with Bear, white shoes quite hard to find leh..
Crystal accessories look nicer, isnt it?? i think so la.. u must try to match yr gown.. v hard to say one..

Rachel, if yr bs got provide, just use theirs.. don waste $$ to buy a new one.. save that $$ for other thing.. choose something simple lor, i'm sure there is one that can suit u... as for black car.. i think ok also leh..

Joy.. wah.. u write in officialy arh.. power leh.. hope they will call n explain to u..

Jannie.. I think u shld start looking ard now.. later last min, u cant find then u'll anyhow take one that isnt what u like lor.. i don think we can slim till v slim or v fat lor.. just tone up only.. don worry abt that la..

wah so many posts...

am glad that the rom office looks better than the pix. been rather worried! wah kyra, i wouldnt wan to mess with u hahahaha, u are fierce ;p

anyone engaging photographer for the rom day? i was jus thinking if it is necessary.

so anyone gg for the bridal show this sunday? I will be there so hope to see some of u there

hi bear, boss is like tat..no choice one..haha..bear with it!

hi jannie and gals,
went to URS..and found that this season they hv a lot of shoes with shiny diamante..wow..looks nice..can check it out..

hi tweety,
yeah written a long one..sent out liao! haha

Supagal >> I ask my friend as my photographer.. He's new,but help his friend b4 lor.. haven c his portfolio, but i think ROM shld be ok ba.. wanna save $$ lor.. and he don charge me manhour, i'll give him ang pao as token..
If u have friends with good camera then shd be ok ba... else u have to engage one..

tink will ask my bro to b the photographer...he likes to take pics though...can save $ also...hahaha...

joy, my toe still under bandage so dun tink can go source for shoes yet...dat will hav to wait...sigh...

tweety, me oredi sourcin the gowns now...tink this wkend will check out the lavender. any1 got the exact address?

Jannie.. what happen to yr toe?? must take care ya.. Big day coming..

Gals n guys.. Our big day coming soon.. all must take good care ya.. don fall sick ya..
I think all must be excited now ya.. let's count down to our first bride.. That's Anise 5th sept.. Left 12 more days to go...

thanks joy...will note it down...

me so afraid me left out anything dat i need to prepare...can some1 tell me if i left out anything? below is the list i hav done...

- wedding bands (haven engrave)
- informed guests on time n venue
- wedding gown (still sourcing)
- shoes (cant buy yet)
- booked hi-tea at Mandarin hotel

anything i left out? me still ponderin if i shld go set my hair on dat day...any1 noes of any "budget" makeup artist?

tweety, i had a minor op 2wks ago for my ingrown nail...got infection so no choice gotta op b4 my big day...hope it heals in time...later gg to remove the stitches liaoz...

Jannie, i think u should try to get ur gown as soon as u can. very unlikely that u will lose or again weight in 3 wks be make the gown unfitting. But u should always give urself sometime cos the gown u choose might need alterations and u need time for that too... I am sure u dun wanna be fretting a few days b4 ur ROM wondering if alterations can be done on time. Glad u saw something at least. But hor, this is only an ROM gown leh, save all ur energy for ur AD gown ba! heeee.... take care of ur lil' toe.... may be u can look around first for the shoes so at least when it is healed u can zoom to the shop immediately.

Who was asking abt photog? I think Suelyn and I have someone to do the job. mine is yew kwang. I also got a VG too.

Joy, hahaha u are telling Bear to BEAR with it ah.. lucky she go back to my HQ liao... phew... got a headache coming cos she just dump something so last min for me to do by today... as if i m not busy enuff liao...

bear, thanks for the advice...juz hope my gown dun need further alterations when i get it...hehehe...den wont hav to fret over it...will check out URS when i got time for the shoes...or mayb i can try on my other foot 1st...hahaha...seems funny...

wat does AD means har? Actual Day?
hav u all got your date fixed for the customary?

Jannie.. I think U left gown, shoes, photographer/vg n MUA.. My MUA also quite new.. think she just finished her course not long ago.. she's my fh's colleague.. I think i save alot on my ROm things.. coz mine not so grand, just make it simple.. haven go for my MU trial yet, think after my fh return from overseas ba..

AD means actual day.. I haven fix mine yet.. wanna settled one by one.. haha...

wow gals soo many posts ar... blur already... tweety u're back ar...
yup have received ur mail liao... very nice how much u paid for tat gown???

kyra, wah u very lucky leh they still compensate u... hai if onli e person i spoke to was more understanding...

joy, keekee have received ur mail liaoz...

jannie, yes its me in the pic... took in a makeover at JB bs... there are other pics in the album too...

supagal, yup have engaged a photographer... he's benjamin from photo-u...

tweety, anise not on the 5th sept leh she same as me on the 9th leh...