(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

annabelle,
as i suspected,i din hav the few columns on the top.duno y aso.shall open it on my fh;s computer.tks!

cacphin,

the gathering's venue not fixed yet.queenie suggested high tea so shd b late afternoon.any1 got any suggestions?

I confirm cant go for gathering, cos fh moving hse on tat day....ARghh!!! I got info today! *sob*

Tweety> I ald did 3 pillows lei....Hee! Dimension I forgot ald, must double check cos I ard 1 mth nvr touch.

Anna> thanks for reno quotation. tink might go down 1 day to chk out their package. ur seems so competitive lei..
How's ur visit to "7" huh? manage to get urself a pair of mtm shoe?

Eh, the ring pillow u all recommend all seems so nice & unique too.. But hv one given by GoldH liao..

Wah, read the link by bear.. Couldnt believe got such ppl still living in this world.. Reali pity the wifey.

tweety> you can view at http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/91431/293302.html?1119336028

if cannot, look under archive jun 21 thread.
Strongly recommended DIY especially if u can pull in ur FH to do it with u so that is more special.

cherz> me and FH gtg... ehhehe. managed to convince him that there are guys there for them to
"complain" too..

Morning all!

bearie> we may be looking at something more casual cause 11 am will be extremely hot sia. Haven't chosen the flowers yet because we have yet to find a gown that we like....was visiting bridal studios over the weekend for more options.

I went to the zoo last Friday as there was a wedding on and i wanted to see how it will be like. The japanese couple had a march in on an elephant and when it was approaching the garden, it did its big / small business in front of all the crowds :-) Also meet up with the florist for a quick chat... will be meeting her next week.

the thread you shared really funny sia... $20 month i think is way too thrify liao.

tinkle> Thanks you meant that they have not come to rectify yet after more than 1 mth eh?

weixiong> You MTM shoes for your wifey eh?? At leaping lizard? Where is the shop? glad that you sorted the harddisk thingie

cherz> Congrats!! =) We're close neighbours loh......staying at BB. Looks like quite a numbe of ppl staying west eh?

tweety> 5 rom for 168k is quite cheap wor... ours is also 5 rm for 218k. If don't mind the distance, can save up and buy a car loh..

my fh saw the ring pillows thread and he is getting one for us hee.

DH> i am thinking of having my AD in the zoo too :p i think it will be quite fun

anna> how's ur trip to 7?

Hi everyone!Miss all of u!!!

I jz moved to my new place & cherz is right,we yet to install the pc & my place is still waiting for me to unpack,lucky got fpil helping us alot.It's not easy & it's so tiring plus they r staying with me.It's alwayz new place & work,no time for social life at all.But managed to catch a midnite movie Seven Swords.Pretty cool.
When i'm more settled,we invite all of u to come see k.
Been gg to Ikea alot & spending alot.It's difficult to fix & stay within budget wen it's ur 1st home.

I gotten my wedding cards & actually brought them to Seoul with me now to write as time is so tight,gotta send out by 5th Aug(7th mth).

cherz,
CONGRATZ!!on getting ur place.
thx for monitoring the 7th Aug gathering list for me,so glad to see tt there r more names now.Wat abt?
a)Merchant Court Htl
b)Meritus Mandarin Htl
c)others but not near Padang area.

anna,
u got 987D right?My fren is int in tt area too!May i knw how many rm u got & the price?Any idea wen they gonna do WIS there agn?

hi annabelle,
hows the trip to 7?

queenie,
cant wait to see yr new hse.i been goin round to see all the hdb showflats to get ideas for my luvnest.if can go yr new hse can see yr id's workmanship at the same time.

hee u muz hav lots of clothes n shoes 2 move to yr new place.slowly pack lah.yeah i can understand wat u goin thru.now i aso feel like shopping for my new hse stuff when i dun even noe wats my hse concept gonna be like.

queenie> congrats for finally shifting into your lovenest!! must be really exciting yeah... when will u be throwing your hse warming? before or after your AD? how's your wedding invites gng along?
i just collected mine yesterday & busy writing them, will send out frens portion these few days! for relatives, will wait till after 7th mth cos no time to order the cakes cos i dunno when i can collect the cards till last sat. was quite disappointed with t-dragon for the print job. how abt yourselves?

oh yah, i've finally got my gown fitting just now
left final touch in end aug. very happy with the outcome.

Hi gals, sorri so now than log in... keekee have been busy on the weekend... saturday did went to 'seven' have custom made a pair of shoes liaoz open toes type... so happy...
actually my shoes i changed one of the designs there to become my design lor... keekee the uncle very nice as i wanted to make quite abit of changes to the ankle straps and such... mine cost me $180... think its quite worth it as those pairs which i found nice in the boutiques cause alot more than these... so its a bargain...

oh and sharon msg me yesterday say my ring pillow ready for collection liaoz... keekee at last... have been waiting for it since may...

tinkle, yup my reno package very comprehensive tats y i like it alot...
can give him a call he can meet at any place u want not necessary go to his office...

Da jie, congrats u've shifter into ur love nestliaoz... so 'envy'... yup i got 987D... mine is 4-rms 14th floor so its 163,500... not sure when's the next WIS leh... as jus ended in may leh... have to see when hdb will put up a white tent again opp jurong pt...

Hi! wah kaoz, i wrote a super long post but kena cleared off!!

I went to see 11 flats over the wkend. saw 2 to our liking. one valued at 325K and the other at 392K. The 325K one wants 10-20K cash while the 392K can be bought at valuation. The more ex one is closer to gd sch, expressways and mrt but not the cheaper one. However both flats are the same age (19yrs), corner top most floor EM, unblock view. We like the 392K one but the price is a bit high for us. any advise? is it worth it to pay another 60K for all the convience?

Queenie, wah moved in liao... gdgd.... hee so exciting! how many flats did u see before u settle on this one? cos we have seen only 13 and my FH thinks its too early to decide. But our criteria is very strict, EM, 6th floor and abv, corner unit.

DH, so how was the wedding in the zoo? must be really hilarious to see the elephant doing the big and small business! heehee.. me also haven't choose my flowers. In fact i haven't efiled yet.. so busy.. have been putting it off for ages.

Coco, glad ur fitting went well.. ur must be excited.. AD coming soon...

Cherz, ha at least u got the excuse to start looking for things to buy! i haven't got my flat and already dreaming of bed linen and towels!

Anna, $180 well spent? heehee...

morning ladies,

congratz queenie on moving in! aiyoh, i am getting my Bukit Batok flat in Oct and i have not plan anything yet. so typical of me :p My fh and I are both very last minute people keke

bear> if the 392k is within your budget then perhaps you shld consider that. I find convenience very impt leh

anna> does your shoes has any crystals?

I am going for my 1st appt on 16 Aug. Can I know if there are any misc charges i need to pay other than the admin of $80 and valuation of $177? Sigh, am going to broke... need to pay the agent's com some more

Tea, the 325K is at Bedok Reservoir which is so damn far from MRT... very very far... but the 392K one is at bedok south which is abt 3 bus stops away from mrt....325K's reno is ok, but still need to do it up. the reno isn't wat we like but its very new and so its a waste to hack it off. The 392K totally must hack, but its gs cos we can do everything the way we like.

Supagal, my budget is only 350K... 392K still can.. but tight liao.. mthly instalments will be a killer...

Morning guys..

Wow, so many post liao wor.. i'm not free on weekend, so didn log in to c.. haha...

Sue, u got 3 ring pillows?? wow, cna i c them?? how much is yr total cost ha?? OMG, i haven got mine yet...

Nihpcac, I saw yr ring pillow liao.. so cute.. u spent less than $10?? that's really cheap den.. hehe...

Anna, another thing settled.. hehe.. Got yr ring pillow done to.. yeah...

supagal: agree with you that convenient is impt, for now and future. Future is when you need to sell the flat, easier to sell.

supagal, yup my shoes have crystals and pearls... and its made of real leather so more ex... plus i requested for a layer of satin over the leather for the front straps...

bear, for me i think the 392k one is better more convinent (if really can afford)... but if u drive still ok not much of a problem lor... btw think if get resale sure have to hack some stuff... but have to remember ur budget lor if not next time will suffer paying higher loans and over a longer period...

tweety, yup another thing off my mind lor... now more concerned on my gown leh... headache... and tmr got tp driving test leh... scared i fail again...
hopefully tmr can get my license... dun wan to waste more $$ on it...

Anna, u still haven choose yr gown yet?? don worry la, u sure will find one.. u gg for driving test ya, i thinking of getting one too.. but now abit tight, so delay till after ROM maybe lor... Don panic anna, else u cant concentrate leh.. I wish u good luck Y.. :-)

annabelle,
all the best in yr driving test tmr!!
i still havent any lessons yet...been delaying to take my license partly coz of the high fees n partly coz i not very interested in driving.i tink i am goin to b those "scared die" driver who drive very slow n take ages 2 change lane.haha

u took sch or private?

congrats on getting yr shoes.so wats the price range like in 7.wah 180 is very ex leh.my budget is like only $50.

Bear,
actually it all boils down to yr budget n which flat u like.

i am in a similiar situation as u when i am selecting my flat.there is a 5rm flat(repurchased) which is very convenient n a 4rm flat which is aso damn far in fr the main road but has a condo like environment.in the end we struggle n bought the one dat is more convenient.its costs abt $75K more.but we tot if next time sell got more value (alt we noe we will live quite long there) n i can have more beauty sleep,y not?

juz dun regret after u buy the flat.follow yr heart if budget allows.but the cheaper flat u need to top up quite a bit of cash leh.dat can b used to renovate the more ex flat.

wld u b very bothered by the inconvenience bought by the cheaper flat?
can the time n $$ saved on travelling in the long term b worth the 60K more u paid?
wld u like to stay in the cheaper flat when the reno is not wat u want?

Cherz, same same leh.. i don really dare to drive leh.. especially need to change lane or there is no trffic light, then i think i'll stuck there for few hours.. hehe

bear, If the convenience one is within yr budget, u shld get that one, but if not then i think better don buy that one lor, coz the installment will be v high...

thanks gals will do my best in tmr's test... i'm taking private... manual car...

cherz, price range not really sure leh... cause i jus saw something i like than ask them to change e design to my design lor...
but hoh $50 abit less budget leh cause most bridal shoes i saw is abt $100+ leh...

hee, tweety, u r indonesian so your driving should be very good. My fh is indo so he always tell me that's why he is so gungho on the roads. Have to cut lanes like nobody's business.

bear> have you factor in the $30-$40k rebate that you can get for 1st time applicant. The rebate helped me alot as my FH was a financial advisor for abt 1.5 yrs and he has got no CPF contribution during that period.

anna> $180 is quite ok for all the crystals and pearls. must show us the pix when its done.

bear: are you planning to buy a flat direct from HDB in the future (as in new or repurchased)? if you are, then be very careful when you take the grant cos there will be a levy. But if you are going to go for resale in your next flat, then no worries.

example: you sell the flat for $350k in future and buy a new flat from HDB.

Levy payable: $350k x 25% (might change in future)= 87k.

So imagine, you take a 30k grant from HDB but have to pay them a levy of 87k when you sell the flat and buy a new one in future.....

Anna: good luck for your test tom.
wow, the shoe quite ex hor... i am thinking of getting something cheaper... cos don think i will be wearing it again....

Supagal, haha, i don drive in Indo haha.. i came here when i was ard 16, so no chance to drive there.. that's y don know how to chiong... hehe...

Tea, u mean the 1st flat that we buy is resale ha?? Ya, have u book the date?? i saw ROm website, the office setting better liao..

Hi gals, thanks for ur advices. My FH is down sick so can't think abt which flat he wants. Actually we can afford the more ex one but then its gonna be tight for us. what if one of us stops working? then the mthly repayment is gonna hurt man... yes convience is impt to both of us as we both drive... and i can't tahan being caught in the jam....

Tea, i won't be buying another flat direct from HDB liao. its gonna be resale for me for the rest of my life...

Anna, gd luck for ur driving test tmr...

Cherz, ya u have a point.. but 392K is really stretching it.... haizzzz

hey everyone,

GATHERING: 7th aug is tis wkend.shd we firm down the venue??

as suggested by queenie:
a)Merchant Court Htl
b)Meritus Mandarin Htl
c)others but not near Padang area.

i only tried merchant court high tea.not bad but tink we muz make reservations rite,heard the place is always fully booked.if not mayb cafe cartel.....any ideas??

here's the latest list:

1.queenie30
2.joy
3.cherz
4.tea (tentatively ok)
5.Ah Bear (tentative)
6.weixiong and wife (hee hee hee)
7.annabelle
8.coco (tentatively ok, maybe FH will join)
9. DH (maybe wife will join)

pls add on yr name.all try 2 come okie =)

Hi gals, Guess wat. Me still in office. Leaving soon.

Was busy over the weekend cos of my Fh.

Tweety> U leave your email, I show u. I spend abt $20 for the materials.

Gd morning.. me panda eyes liao... cos i haven't been able to slp thinking abt my house... haizzzz

Wah Sue, so late? can claim overtime or not?? how's work? ver busy ah?

hi bear, good morning!!

so tired..me also thinking about my house..how to renovate at a value for money! haha..

why worry?? just try to work out the expenses involved..i admit sometimes it really is scary just to think of the expenses alone.

Hahah ya u are right Joy! i keep on thinking how can i save more money... These thoughts keep me up at night. And keep thinking of the reno.. i need to do up the recess area and build up the balcony with a roof.. dunno how much that will cost. plus wanna do laminate and wanna hack the kitchen walls. Also wanna do the 3 toilets!

Arrgghhh!!!! Funniest thing is that we haven't have the confirmation from the seller and yet we are planning like the house is ours liao... might not be ours in the end...

bear: hee, that happened to us as well the last time, we started talking on what we want to do with the flat, how we will go to work from there... etc. like we have already bought the place. :P but i enjoyed that process.

anna: i have not confirm my ROM date yet. Cos we are in the midst of a decision making.... 'whether we want to do a special ROM, ... skating ROM since we know each other through skating...'

Sue: wow, so late...

tea,
wow imagine u hold yr rom in the skating ring.dats cool.hee its even more special if the JP noes how 2 skate n u can hav the solemnisation table in the centre of the ring.hav u enquire the costs abt doin tis???

Tea! wow! u know how to skate! soooo cool! heehee its gonna be very very unique ceremony if u do it there!

Ask U ah, what do u look for when u go and buy resale flats? We are planning to go for a 2nd viewing at the flats we like.

Cherz / Bear: Yeah, we been skating for 4 years. You ladies have any idea where or how we can find a JP who can skate?

Bear: these are the things i looked for in order.
must be convenient place
Cannot be near main road (cos i light sleeper)

Condition of Flat:
If possible, minimum reno. (cos i don have much cash)

Feeling:
Both of us have to like the flat and foresee ourselves staying there.

hey the thread seems quite quiet...everyone muz b busy wif rom preparations,work etc.

hey wat is the seating arrangements like for yr rom?i am trying to do up mine now.
r both of u goin 2 sit wif parents or frenz?

Bear,
i really got no idea wat 2 look for in a resale flat except the pricing,location n feel of the flat.mayb yr potential neighbours???

bear> my parents are selling their plc and when potential buyers come for viewing, other than the usual checking of the house condition, they usually ask if we are the 1st owners or how many owners were there before us. They ask about the race of neighbours. Most would also make it a point to visit in the day to assess the brightness of the house.

anyone planning to see fengshui for their house? i duno whether i shld spend the money

bear> I can only claim transport n its peg at $12 per hr...n max is 3 hrs, 1st hr FOC, cant claim! No need to become panda la, kekkee. Wats urs is urs...dun be too vexed ok. Take ur time to view, u all dun need the flat yet rite? So buy time, when the seller cant sell at their asking, they gotta let go at valuation or below.

joy> u can actually save $ by getting contractors, carpenters n painters urself. No need to pay for designer fees. But needs lots of coordination n time to source for reliable ones. u must also have rough idea on wat u want, source for Id books n show them.i plan to do dat next time. Hee! can save at least $5k to $10k according to my fren. If wanna save more, can paint urself.

tweety> will mail u the pix. I bought the cloth (satin)fr spotlight, the rest of the materials,i bought elsewhere...that i mentioned in the earlier posts.

tea> very special hor, to skate on rom, but jp who skate quite hard to find....

supagal,
i intend 2 c fengshui for my hse.i dun hav tis idea in the past.but after visiting many flats,i find dat its very common to see fengshui now.i intend to get a shifu who charges r not dat high.like queenie her shifu charges her only $300plus.quite reasonable.

bear> i'm into abit of feng shui so there's alot of area we consider when selecting a flat.
some of it are: we look for high floor, unblocked view, bright & airy, no odd shape, the main door must not open to see stairs gng down etc...hehehe... and to minimise reno cost, the hse must not have too many fixtures or high hacking cost will incurred. at least the flooring design must be acceptable so i dun have to hack. and like wat tea said, the feeling must be comfortable when we are in the hse. of cos, must be accessible by bus or mrt & near markets, hawkers preferably. we have seen a few hses tat falls into our criterias then of cos, the owner will demand above valuation based on the 'good' points lor..

same here, when we saw an idea hse, my FH & I will dream of how to do up the hse hehe... in end, din get it too ;p quite exciting though the $$ part is very taxing.

bear> i'm into abit of feng shui so there's alot of area we consider when selecting a flat.
some of it are: we look for high floor, unblocked view, bright & airy, no odd shape, the main door must not open to see stairs gng down etc...hehehe... and to minimise reno cost, the hse must not have too many fixtures or high hacking cost will incurred. at least the flooring design must be acceptable so i dun have to hack. and like wat tea said, the feeling must be comfortable when we are in the hse. of cos, must be accessible by bus or mrt & near markets, hawkers preferably. we have seen a few hses tat falls into our criterias then of cos, the owner will demand above valuation based on the 'good' points lor..

same here, when we saw an idea hse, my FH & I will dream of how to do up the hse hehe... in end, din get it too ;p quite exciting though the $$ part is very taxing.

bear> oh cos the money will 'roll' down.. kitchen stove cannot be 'exposed' too. ie, when guest enter the hse, the stove cannot be seen at one glance. hence open concept kitchen is no-no in feng shui. your room cannot face a carpark (multi-storey) with the 'drive-in' direction, again, it means your money will go out. there's alot of theories, really up to individual whether to believe it or not hehe..

another example, its said tat if there's a bedroom behind where the goddess table/statue (shen zhuo) is placed, the person should be an elderly, ard 60yrs of age.

Hee Coco, Cherz asked u lah not me! heehee... but hor i dunno got so many reasons lei... heehee... i only believe a lil' bit of it lah... but whether to engage a fengshui master is another thing, Supagal!

Gals I got my flat! at valuation also.. One hell of a roller coaster ride! The agent helped us pushed to get the price at value cos the owner wanted to sell abv. but honestly i dun have a single cent of spare cash for any top up. Yay! It has unblocked view and u can see the sea from my place. Top floor, corner unit! So happy!!! heee.. but we won't be doing any reno till at least aft CNY next yr!

Poor u Sue. Well at least u like ur job.. rem that time when u were fretting over ur job search? seems so long ago. So happy that u got something u like!

Bear is very happy today... heehee... >grin<

morning gals, i'm back...

keekee passed my driving test yesterday... so happy tester said i drive quite well... after test yesterday after test went to my bs and chose my gown already... but cannot find something nice and simple without train leh so settled one with train lor... think have to find something to change out of when going for reception...

tea, whao ice-skating isit??? tats great i used to go skating too... but tats a long time ago...

bearbear, so happy for u finally gotten ur flat liaoz... isit the 392k flat???