(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Bear: how is the condition of the flats you have seen so far? Is the reno close to what you have in mind? you planning to do major overhual or can live with it?

As for the cash portion, we borrowed from FH brother.

so many posts! read until blur...

i think my FH is the fattest. he is over 80kg and only 1.7m tall...

seems like most of you have gotten your shoes. Leapin Lizard is expensive leh. My gf custom made her wedding shoes in a factory shop in Geylang area. It looked very well done and she commented that they are very comfortable even thought its 3". She even made 1 pair in the exact duplicate of a Kate Spade design. I think she paid less than $200 for the pair with crystal and less than $100 for the one without.

I may be going down to take a look. Anyone interested? let me know ya :p

coco, here's e address dunno wether open on saturday muz call to check if open think going down this satuday also... "Seven" mtm shoes are Located at Blk 1014 #06-212 Geylang East. Tel: 67434438

tweety, yup dates can back date to choose from 18 august to 30 Oct but those are all taken up so she'll have to look out for tonite's e-file or the 31st cause rom dun do solemnisation on saturdays.

supagal, think we're talking abt the same shop...

Tea, so far the conditions of the flats i have seen are rather gd! in fact one of them just reno less than a yr.. they are asking abt 410K... its so new that even if the reno is not my taste i will still keep it.. otherwise i would hack almost all other flats i have seen... sorry to say but build in wardrobes are a no-no to us... cos u dunno what they stored in the cupboards before!

And my FH is really particular over the floor tiles.. he wants homo tiles but must be the lightest shade possible but not white.. so he die die wants the floor to be as close to his dream as possible.. there goes the floor.

Bear: icic. 410k is the asking. what is the valuation price?

cos if you can get a flat with reno that is close to what you want, then you will already save on reno cost and time. I calculated this into my purchased price then.

wahhh so geylang got one. we did not go and do a search. happen so chance upon the shop so we juz go ahead hehehehe but i think leaping lizard got a factory in tampines, stated on the receipt hehehehe. prob can go there in future to make wife's working shoes^^

i still have the fear of getting resale flat coz wont know the history of the flat.....too "dark" to buy it. *scared*

bear> got my flat long ago ald lei, more than 1 yr, jus dat its still building only kekkeke.

I noe where is the seven mtm shoes, its near where I sent my pet for the vet to cremate for my baby.....can walk fr paya lebar mrt.

No pt paying so much cash for resale flat rite nw, those seller tink after sometime still cant sell rite, will lower the price one.....So jus wait...

anna,
i also feel my leg bigger than my fh leg.. sianz.. got to hide my legs.... btw y u wanna change another gown?!? u dun like the one previously???

wxyang,
wah u damn good... even tho of making workin shoes.. damn power...

Phew.. So no need to send invite.. Tink me just sent sms will do. Cos sms just a button away nia.. Relatives just verbal inform.

So guys not neccessary to wear suit/jacket.. ya, tink my bf more comfy to wear just tie/shirt..

Cherz> selection of flat don't tink consider 1st appointment.. just considered booking. & muz put deposit one..1st appt is when u sign all lease when flat r ready/key r hand over.

DH> Oh abt defect list, u could submit earlier.. cos HDB alway take own sweet time to recify defects lor..Mine already >1mth lor.. Cos too much defects liao..

anna> whre ur new flat at? read from other thread.. u considering Aran*s? How's feedback? Got quote to share?

weixiong> wah.. so nice lei.. mtm working shoe as well.. Yah, agree resale flat have to do more homework like history of past owner..

Morning!

Tea, the valuation is 380K but asking for another 30K bcos of their reno.. said they spent abt 70K on reno hence they wanna charge an additional 30K.

Hey gals, gd tip on the shoe thingy.. except i bought mine liao... sad.. wish i knew of it earlier....

Sue, orrhh i understand liao.. where is ur flat? how come nowadays seldom see u online? everything ok?

Anise, hahaha... my FH's arms, legs and torso all smaller than mine... i feel like an elephant next to him...

suelynn, walk in which direction huh from paya lebar mrt??? cause thinking of going this saturday leh but muz check if they open or not...
btw when will u be getting ur flat???

anise, keekee same i also have to hide my legs... thinking of changing to another gown leh... the gown i choose like abit old design like tat... so see if they have others lor... if not wear my own gowns...

tinkle my new flat is at jurong west st93 near the under construction stadium there... i already took aranus as my ID liaoz... they're very good recommended to me by my fren... now coming up with designs for my nest... their service very good and heard from my fren tat their after sales service also very good...
and price very reasonable lor not like e other ids i asked take me like carrothead...
yup i got quote u can leave ur e-mail...

good morning all!!!

haizzz yest made a big blunder at work. lost a hard disk, think taken by cust. now need to pay for a new one...haizzz so careless of me. got me wife angry with me over that....

bear: wow, 30k is quite a lot yeah... what is the amount that you guys are prepared to pay?

gals: if you are wearing long dress on your rom, don get shoes with the 4 claws holding the 'diamonds' or crystals. You know like our diamond ring type, it will scratch your dress. this is what the guys at ted collection told me.

hmm.. maybe i will go over to the shop at paya lebar to make shoe as well. thinking of taking monday off. hee. long weekend.

Weixiong, what happened? oh no... is a hard disk very expensive? ur wife angry ah... u know she is just being concern lor...

Anna, when i get my flat, then i will get the ID quotes from u! heeheee...

Tea, no, 410K is beyond my budget! i rather buy a new EC with that amt man! heehee.. our max budget is 350K lor... Thanks for the shoes tip.. mine got crystal chains lei... haizzz...

hey all,

yuppi i got my flat.was so kan cheong tis morning...got butterflies in my stomach...like goin for an exam like dat.

i bought a repurchased flat,5rm juz next to bt panjang plaza.hee i check wif the neighbour yesterday n realised dat nobody had moved in be4 so i guess the ex owner gave up during signing or wat.but although me n fh r happy abt the the purchase, still a bit reserved abt the condition of the flat.we will arrange an appt wif hdb to view the condition of the flat.hee dun tink the neighbour will lie to us rite.

bear> if no hard cash then cannot buy those selling at above value lor.. unless owner willing to nego. haiz... alot of frens advised not to pay cash cos its buyer's market now but seems like we dun hve such luck.
for reno already done, i felt tat no matter how good it is, if its not to my taste, most likely i have to hack some & re-do. hence i dun mind a simple hse so tat i have freedom to deco it. and like your FH, we are particular on the flooring too, at least something simple & easy to match with furnitures, can save alot we do not have to re-do them too.

tea> u paid $10.5k ah... for which area may i asked? how do u justify how much u wanna pay? do u have to reno much?

supagal> thanks for your info. is this place the same as wat annabelle has recommended?

annabelle> thanks! will check out the place

btw for 7th aug gathering, is it on? may i know if its lunch or dinner?

tea, jus called 'seven' leh... yeah they open on saturday also... heehee will be going down this saturday...

bear, no problem anytime...

weixiong, think ur wifey concerned only lar after a while should be okay already... dun worry...

cherz, congrats leh... muz be very happy... anyway when u open ur flat u'll get to see if anyone has stayed before lor... dun think ur neighbour will bluff u thou... see if there are any traces of reno lor...

coco, u're welcome... i'll be going down this saturday to see see... hopefully can settle my shoes there... too tired to look already...

Gals, i've a question to ask huh... for those rom in rom itself hoh like me and anise, after rom than we'll be going for reception rite at a different place do we change out of our gowns into something casual or jus wear our gowns to watever restaurant or hotels for food??? my fh ask me to change into something casual leh is it necessary???

hi annabella n supagal,
wow seems nice to custom made the shoes at geylang..how to go?? me also thinking to go this saturday ar..should i?? coz i still dunno wat shoes to wear with my goldish CS..hehe

wah cherz,
congrats!! me also hv the same experience as you..coz that time we hope no one takes our desired unit!! haha really heart beating very fast!..finally we managed to get our unit! what a relief!

oh sue and tinkle,
ya my FH will wear at most a shirt/tie..coz he doesn't want to wear a suit..so hot!

hey bear, take ur time to find a nice unit!!

Cherz: CONGRATSSSSS!!!!!!!! :D my parents got a 5rm near the plaza as well. hee. which block did you take?

Coco: i know, everyone tell me that it is buyer's market and i don have to pay any cash. but it just doesnt seem to be the case for me... those flats in clementi are all asking for cash top up even if the flat is just normal or need a major overhual... sigh...

I bought bukit merah view, it is about 7 min walk to tiong bahru mrt. I justify the 10.5k based on a few things.
Firstly, I don have to do major reno. just need to repaint, change the stove and remove the ceiling fan in the bedroom (cos pple tell me ceiling fan bad for fengshui esp in bedroom. Previous owner have 4 in the flat, i am only removing the one in the bedroom cos I like ceiling fans leh.
Secondly, the previous owner have hacked down 1 bedroom and build a walk in wardrode. Shelves have also been built in the service room. These are what I wanted to do.
Thirdly, Time saved. I think I should be able to shift in rather quickly. After the painting and buying of furniture.
Lastly, chance for SERS (I am hoping for it to happen in the next 8 years) as this is an old estate.

Weixiong: are you looking for any particular brand of harddisk?

Hey gals!

Cherz! congras! u must be on leave right? Yay! so happy for u! next u will be busy with reno liao.

Coco, hrmm we also dun intend to pay cash if we can but if we see a unit that we really really like and the owners want a small amt of cash (ie <10K) we might be willingly to pay it. cos my FH has only shortlisted abt 10 blks of flats where he wanna stay in so we have limited choice lor.. He still dun want the lower levels!!!

Anna, how long is ur gown gonna be? may be get those without a train so that u can just wear it to ur dining place... u are the star mah so i dun see the point changing out of it.. some more u already make up till nice nice liao, changing in and out might ruin it.

I WANNA GO TO "SEVEN" WITH U ALL!!!! but.... i got tuition till 1pm and viewing of houses starts at 3pm...

Hi weixiong, don worry la, yr wife is concern abt u and wish that u don make the same mistake again next time, so don worry, she cares abt u..

CONGRAtsssss Chers.. u must be v excited now rite.. hehe.. May I know how much u bought that flat?? near Bukit Pj, is that with full glass window? I like 1 with full glass window.. hehe
Ya I think they won lie to u la, no pt mah.. so don worry..

Anna, No need to change la.. I saw many of my friends n relatives all nv changed before gg restaurant leh.. Bring so many things, v troublesome leh.. must show ard yr mei mei gown mah.. haha..

Oh girls.. My fh will be wearing blazer with t-shirt in side.. we bought the shirt liao, but scared later too hot, so with t-shirt will be better lor... is it too casual?? But i found it nice leh. more comfortable n quite smart too..

Tea, yr flat near to town leh.. v convenience lor.. But i think must be xx rite?? how much u bought it??

I got my shoes liao.. also with crystal chain leh..

Anna> thks. can email me quote at [email protected]
Btw ,Who's ur ID? Abt aft ROM, ua ll can take photo at ROM premise.. then proceed for lunch reception wif gown.. i tink is fine.. My frds oso did tat.. Guess when at the reception, mayb u all can take photo in ur nic nic gown mah..

weixiong> guess nowsaday,so hard to prevent "sticky hand".. So be more careful next time..

Tea> thk for advise.. luckily not wearing long dress.. cos too short, long gown make me look lik "dwarf"..
U gotten bukit merah view.. quite prime area, must be expen$. tink urs minor reno shld do since most tinks up oredi ..

Cherz> Congrats 4 getting ur dream location..
So guess u shld be bz raki sourcing reno id lor..

Anna: don change out lah. For once, we can overdress and no one can laugh at us. :p

bear / tweenty: yours is the one with the claws type? or is it those with stick on crystal?

Tweenty / tinkle: we paid more than 200k for the corner 3rm. very ex. now still heartpain. try not to think about it already...

Tinkle, mine also long one leh.. now i start to worry i'll look v short leh..

Tea, I think 200k for prime area shld be ok la.. those old flat v big one.. then u can save yr transport alot leh.. it's worth it la..
My shoes arh.. i don know how to describe leh.. those half cover, then a crystal chain go across. I think the crystal stick to on the strap one..

tks all.

hey i dun mind goin seven on sat.

tea,

my blk is 183.

ya if little renovation needs 2 be done then its okie to top up cash for a resale.dats wat my frenz who work as a property agent always tell me.hee he keep asking me 2 get resale coz if need parents can take grant n if the flat nicely done up then actully dun need spend much on reno.

annabelle,

juz wear yr gown to the meal venue n ltr go somewhere like esplanade or marina south 2 take picture wif yr gown n make up all nicely done up.once in a lifetime juz get all the attention...heehee

bear,

yup i am on leave.aiyo u realli work very hard leh work n still give tution.

tweety,

yup its the one with the full length window.coz of its location dats y i am willing to take the risk to get a repurchased flat.if not my alterative is a 4rm flat located further away from the plaza which is has condo like design.

my flat abt 230Kplus.

Cherz, that is near my parents' place. i think their is 179 if i remember correctly. :P can see plaza from the living room window. hee.

Tinkle: actually i'm not tall as well, 1.58m. i think can still look ok with long dress but need to be careful with the style.

joy, i also not sure how to go leh... keekee jus ask ppl lor...

tea, can go together also... but see wat time lor... should be going in the morning bah cause close at 1pm...

bear, my gown is floor length lor with abit of tail thought of changing e gown so will be going to choose again on 14th august lor than see how...

tinkle, sent liaoz... my id is dominic from aranus...

anise, did u see much simple gowns at WL??? cause i find most of the tea dresses too fanciful for rom leh... looking for a simple wan leh hopefully can have a plain white bustier gown... ur brother also has his reception at yum cha rite? did his wife change out of her gown???

gals, fh thought tat if i wore my rom gown to yum cha restaurant everyone will see me like wierd wierd like tat mah... hmmm will go WL again to look for not so long gowns... if not than i'll wear my own gowns... actually short doesnt mean cannot wear long gowns jus tat u need to wear some heels to proportionalize the whole effect lor...

Hi Bear, I think so too.. But I don know how to describe leh.. I forget the dwsign liao.. hehe.. I only remb the brand...

Cherz, 230k+ for 5 rm is quite cheap leh.. i saw woodlands are 250k+ for 4 rms leh.. I think that one nice leh.. got full length window.. the room also full lenght ha??

Anna, it's yr big day mah.. shld wear nice nice de.. ppl look they will know one la.. don worry.. if u changed, later take photos not so nice lor..

Hee Anna, ya choose another more sedate gown.. dun need to wear those drama drama pieces... makes u look very odd in public places! now i understand why u would wanna change liao.. my gown also no train and not much frills.... heehee.. tell us how it went ok?

Tweety, ur shoes is which brand? mine is from JWest! Not Jurong west ah! heehee...

Cherz, how much did u pay for ur flat? have to work hard or else how to buy house?

Wxiong, your wife so lucky lay...even her working shoes also you think for her... my fh will always nag at me for buying so many shoes.. kekeke! anyway, she angry cos she concern for you mah... your carelessness results in lost of $$ (cos need to buy new 1 to replace)...

Bear, me also same as you always felt that I'm so big when standing beside my fh... but i think you okie mah, cos saw your pics that time when you tried on the growns... at least you very tall, me only 1.68m... have been saying that I should loss some weight, but my mouth still munching non-stop... kekeke

Cherz, Congrats gal! now got your lovenest liao... very envy! hope you dun mind can I ask you how much you paid for your 5rm and on what level? cos me also looking for 5rm but different area lah... just wana find out the market rate lor...

Coco, I agreed with you about the housing things... I also looking for resale but looking at hdb valuation or even below value would be better, kekeke!! cos cant afford to pay the extra in cash, anyway no matter how good the reno also already 5 yrs... somehow or rather we still need some touchup lor!

Anna, me will rom at the premises itself then go for dinner but will not change lor cos so troublesome need to bring somemore clothings... also wana wear nice nice can go to the reception there to take pics mah... if wear casual, then will not match with the makeup loh...

tweety &amp; minne, think i not changing liaoz...
heehee gotta make fh read this thread... keep asking me to change my mama also ask me change...

bear, ya going to change another gown if not maybe ask them to provide me with bouquet since dun take their gowns if i cannot find something simple.

Bear>>> haha.. Mine is Andre Valentino. I bought at Isetan, abt $87 after dis...

Minne>>> I think cherz paid ard 230k+ for her flat..

Anna>>> ya, u try to look for more simple gown lor.. then not so awkward liao.. I think mine also v formal.. but I have it at home,then maybe took some pic at ROm there, so not much pros.. hehe..

hi anna,
me also din wanna look too formal thus looking either a knee length dress or CS..finally got my knee length CS..hehee at least i can still wear again for functions..

hi minne,
i bought mine at Jurong west..5rm for 168k, 7th floor..got full length windows at living room..

hi tea,
when u all gng down?? hehe

hi tweety,
yeah i admit it is a bit far..but then my side and near anna also..building an mrt extension..hehe..so next time will b more convenient..yeah the floor area is 110 sq meters. think is quite standard

Hihi!

Minne, no matter what i will always feel huge beside my FH. I mean he is almost the same weight as me lei.. How can? a bit more meat then nicer right? ANyway i have been controlling my diet and managed to lose 2kg. must do it lah.. the sight of my fat arms is enough to motivate me to do something.. heee...

Tweety, that day i was at OG and saw the same brand but hor the shoes there was very limited.. not nice.. i guess u must have the best looking one. heee

Wah u all going to Seven! i think i will envy u guys.. must tell me abt it ok?

joy, yup gowns muz get those tat can wear quite a few times... i have 3 or 4 gowns at home... keekee the most ex. from daniel yam @$198 wore quite a few times liao so quite worth the $$
if cannot find something nice from WL than wear my own gown...

tat time me and fh go JB take couple photos for my 21st birthday i brought my gown and other dresses there... tat was 2yrs ago liao than think a few months ago there was a tv program promoting malaysia than fh say he saw our pic on tv leh... think e stupid bs in JB use our pics for promotion leh... kaoz wait ppl thought e gown is theirs when its actually my own...
like kanna cheated leh...

my flat premium 4-rms bought at 163.5k 14th floor near joy... maybe can consider getting flats in e west area???

joy: oh oh. hee, sorry, i am confused. I will probably take a train down. Shall we meet at 10am paya lebar mrt station control? who know how to go there har?

Joy>> another point is that my MIL wanna us to stay near her place, so that she can help us take care of the baby.. hehe..

Bear>> I went OG too.. But not v nice leh.. so go other place lor.. Fortunately found one at Isetan.. hahaha..

Anna &amp; Joy>> Yr flat near 647?? I used to stay there before moving to my fh's house leh..

tweety, my flat is 987D... keekee not sure if its near 647...

tea, dunno wat time going down yet... tmr than confirm cause have to ask fh first...

bear, yup i read the thread already... this guy really no brains... dunno still living in which era...

Hi Sean,

Are u gg to ROM in Sept too? No lucky me, my FH is not like that. He tries to give me all that i want except when i go overboard and ask for a LV bag! heehee...

Tweety, u went OG also? i saw a lot of silver coloured heels but not white...

Anna, my sentiments exactly...