(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

hi queenie,
same here..my FH also younger than me by one yr..hehe..but age is not a problem! yup hv went to frontier to talk to gary..he seems not bad..hehe

hi cherz,
well just know it when he comes along..which is someone I really want to b with..

Jus came bk fr FH hse, went for my 1st fitting today for my dress, forgot to bring camera.... Chose my bouquet ald, its lily with centre pink rose. Ask my fh wich is nice, he initially gave ideas, later he was too tired cos i took so long to decide. hahah! he gave up n told me look almost the same. men!!!!So sad, dress only a bit loose.....Dun really need to alter. Need to lose more weight!

Cherz> only bear sign up i tink with bridal zone. Its actually hk broadway n serangoon broadway, they same family.

Queenie: yeah boy. we were doing calculation on the levy and thus decide that it is not worth taking the first timer grant. imagine 20%+ of your sales proceed goes to levy...

HI ladies...

I think I lost this track liao.. more n more ppl.. yeah... merrier... Enjoy yr weekend too ya..

Thanks tea for yr explanation, but i don really understand leh.. v confusing leh..

Hi cherz, I roughly know now, which mean u put on another fake one ha?? wow, so ex arh.. I heard that now, got the better one leh, but need operation.. don know what it's called...

Hi sue, u got lily for yr hand bouquet too?? wow, we are the same leh.. hehe.. but i haven book yet..

Hi AXL, U e-file liao mah?? I think u better do it fast coz this date is quite popular.. I also on 18th Sept leh.. U got yr JP liao mah?? Mine is Dr. Phua

hey ladies, wana share s/thing with u.

saw a gorgeous white tube dress from song+kelly at 50% discount! i couldn't buy it as there is only L size available and i am worried that the fit will not be right after alteration... well in case any of u have not gotten a ROM dress yet

i am on my way out to get my wedding bands
hope they fit... heehee

supagal, how's ur ring? show us the pic ok?

whoa u all decide which type of flowers liao huh??? mine still haven decide yet leh...

AXL, ur rom at lingzhi isit e vegetarian restaurant?

cherz,
ya dat will be xiong... anyway shall c how... normally i put moisturizer i dun put neck... but now tink i will listen to u.. hehe...

supagal,
hope u got ur bands ya..

tweety,
i haven decide where to eat yet and my fh's clothes.. tink the rest like ring pillow dun intend to get unless someone got for mi.. hehe

i will be havin my wisdom tooths extraction soon.. so scary... somemore it's 3 at one shot.. hopeful the swollen will be done after 1 month.. having it extract in early aug...

Hey everyone!
i propose to meet up 7th Aug 05(Sun).We can do a high tea thingy or brunch.No party lah caz we meeting 1st time then suggest tt to talk muz be a conducive environment mah.Wat say u all?Pls voice your suggestions & alternatives.
Also,tmw is last day for GSS.Got my beddings stuff fr metro & my cutlery fr WMF taka.Sale pretty gd.

anise,
i got all my wisdom removed already
Bottom ones r more pinaful then top ones.!1 of it was so bad they had to knock me out.Stitches had infection it was so bad.Anywayz,i wont wish tt on even my worst enemy.

anna,
i plan to use cymbidium orchids for my centre pieces,corsages & maybe hand bouquet.

joy,
do u intend to start reno bfe 7th mth?Gary's workmanship is very gd.If u like can come my place to have a look.I think ceraine fr our JW thread also using him.

hi queenie,
yeah sure..can do a high tea..i am on..hehe..tell me the time and venue so can plan my time as well..hehe ...yeah gary told us he'll come up with the layout and quotations for us..hehe..

i've bought my ROM dress liao...a cheongsum..so happy..a bit of goldish colour..hehe..bought from a shop in millenia walk..

joyous>cheongsum, nice nice..sometink diff. so at least a load off ur burden.
Yup, mayb u can chk gary's quote..but FH consider him abit out of budget. his idea is good though..

queenie> got pix of ur hse bor?? can email?

anise>me oso extract full grown wisdom early this yr, at least no surgery. eat congee for few days. u surgery?

tweety>$40 for 5 stalks calla liilies consider beri cheap lor.. Me still wonder whether calla will be too big stalks for me cos i'm short, can't bring out the look.

DH> shldn't be problem for deferment lar.. how's reno?

cherz>my frd sign wif bridal zone.. she say not much gown choices. but nite shot no xtra charges.

supagal>how's ur wedding ring search?

Hmmm... anyone done chinese engraving on rings bor?

haha qneenie dun scare anise lah.

since young i am very afraid of dentist coz my pri n sec sch dentists r so fierce.so i din go to dentist for quite long until recently.i aso extracted 3 of my wisdom teeth.for me,it was painless n i can eat normally after dat.i am more afraid of fillings!!!cant stand the sound fr the equipment.

queenie,

7th aug no problem wif me unless i hav 2 go hk again.yee i seldom eat high tea leh so duno where is a gd place to chit chat.any suggestions anyone?

can gif me gary contact for my future reference.tks

haizzz, have not gotten my rings. apparently there were some delays and they din manage to deliver to the outlet that i specify.

joy> congratz on getting ur CS... is it a OTR or MTM one?

i signed up with empire ystdy. they gave me a little discount as i didnt take their shoes and flowers :p picked a tube dress in canary yellow hee. now need to find my accessories and shoes. anyone taking the empire package as well?

now i need to select my lunch venue. tweety, u got any suggestion since u r an indonesia.

queenie> ikea having sale now. u can go and look see. i will need to start planning for my house soon as i m getting my keys in Oct...

tinkle,
mi having surgey.. The dentist even told mi that i will be put to sleep during the extraction. Scary rite... will be having 2 bottom n 1 top extract...

Tink queenie not scaring mi.. I expected as well.. hehe.. But kinda scary.. tink the coming gathering on the 7th, I might not be able to go provided my face not swollen and most importantly I can eat.. As wat the nurse mentioned, i will be on 8 days mc.. power...

hi gals, back from cleaning up at fh's new plc....so tiring! gosh, i cant imagine when i move hw it will be...

7th of aug ah? Tink tentatively can but maybe fh's moving tat weekend so cant confirm.

talking abt wisdom tooth, i have yet to remove mine lei. tink will wait till after rom then do ald.....

i'm back after mia-ing so long..
can someone tell me how to juggle from all preps and work at the same time?
Quite busy with getting quotations for my new house and had deferred from HDB to get keys after 7th month. No time to think about ROM..
btw, are we still meeting up?
anything can email me at this address as my workplace is hard to get into this site.

Gd morning!

Hrmm where to start? Cherz, heehee, my FH used to be a PFC too. and he has a couple of frens doing the same line of job... I signed up with Bridalzone rem? Ya trying to rest as much as i can but still had a busy wkend viewing places. Haizzz might take a day off soon.. need to catch up on zzzzz..

Suelynn, BZ has been there for quite awhile liao. the MS one is so much newer and nicer. I heard that the OTR gowns are quite limited, but i chose the MTM package so no probs lor. They are quite affordable too!

Joy wanna see ur CS! how much did u pay for it? Supagal too! any photos from ur ROM fitting?

Had the meet the parents session on Sat. was rather awkward... had some pregnant pauses... but then i guess it happens... didn't felt comfortable myself and was looking everywhere except my parents and FPILs' faces... Hope this never has to be repeated.. so tough...

Also went house hunting. saw two really big flats but both are asking abv our budget.. so dun think we can afford. the 2nd flat was reno very nicely.. move in conditions some more.. but they are asking for 410K! nvm see this wkend got any gd deals or not..

Morning gals...

Tinkle, I'm also v short.. so I'll choose those suitable for me one.. we can cut the it short to make a smaller bouquet.. hmmm, anyway i'll still seek the florist advice first lor.. hehe..

Supagal, hmmm I'm not sure where to go for gd lunch leh.. My parents like "bak Kut teh" at Balestier rd there, But then i don think suitable for u on yr ROm lor.. BaliThai leh?? they sell Indo n thai fd... But I myself prefer western n tim sum.. hehehe...

Ikea having sale ya?? sale on what things ha?? how many percent?? till when ha??

Anise, u extract teeth ya.. then u better drink more cooling tea now..

Queenie, 7 aug ha?? I don think i can meet u all leh.. I need to clear my fh's room n house, need to move all my stuff there n my ROM at his house, so need to clear for space.. haha..

Morning gals,

cannot confirm wether on the 7th will be free not leh cause work very busy might be coming in on saturday too... will have to try my luck...
will confirm with u gals nearer to e date...

went to search for my bridal shoes yesterday leh went paradox very nice but ex. leh... think for tat price can MTM one liaoz... how abt u gals got ur shoes already??? from where huh???

wanna ask something huh... for rom reception both sides parents need to sit at same table rite... wat will they discuss huh??? abt AD??? scared very awkward leh... bearbear luckily ur parents and fpil met already...
i abit scared leh cause my mum invited my maternal grandparents leh... and they wont be sitting with us will be sitting with my aunties and my grandma very kepo tat type leh like to badmouth ppl tat type so i scared later talk to my fpil request difficult things leh... and my fsil will be there with her hubby also leh...

good morning gals and guys, been a long time since i come here le

welcome to all the newbies hehehe.
only manage to scan through the posts and suddenly notice that we have a new thread every 3days or so. so fast!!!!!

seems like most of you are flat hunting already. bet you all know about the 10% thingy liao rite. my MIL told us to think about getting a resale 3rm first then when the time comes we cna sell it off. sort of like and investment but tok it over with my wife and decided we cannot afford to do that.

bear> how are you? seems like a few posts back you seem to be abit paranoid about getting married?? meet the parents session sure will be weird one. two stranger meeting two stranger mah. i have not arrange for mine but i think will be awkward as well so take it easy gal.
juz know that my cousin have applied for a flat from the new punggol project. wow things sure is moving fast.

queenie> like your suggestion but seldom have high tea.... so cannot contribute much.... but i saw this new( i think) cafe at the hotel before the ntuc building. seems like a nice place to chill out.

Hi Anna, I got mine from Isetan, Anne Valentino.. those cover shoes, white with some tinkling diamond.. hehe.. the price is 99 if not wrong.. haha.. As for parent meeting session, i not v sure leh.. actually not necessary talking abt AD la.. anything will do.. AD i think better talk privately when those aunties not ard lor.. when they bargain things also not so paiseh mah..

Weixiong! of cos i m panaroid.. if u have been having as many arguements as I have been having with my FH u might also think twice... anyway, we have been rebuked by both sets of parents and decided not to be so childish anymore...but still being so hot tempered, its gonna be tough.

Me also looking for shoes Anna! OG has some nice ones too.. cheap.. dun wanna spend to much on the shoes cos i will not have the chance to wear them... hate heels...

May be u wanna arrange for a meeting btw ur FPILs and ur parents? at least they met once and will talk easier during the ROM.

I am ROMing at ROM registry "Love that binds" at 30Sep. However, i am having problem deciding what for lunch. I have only ard 15 to 18ppl attending, which includes his parents and my mum. The rest are his frds and my frds. However, all these ppl dun know each other... (as in the frds in my group also dun know each other oso.)

Wat kind of lunch do u think is suitable? Any place to suggest?

So headache.....

bear> yupe yupe i think i understand abit esp the arguments part even though those are bound to come but when it happen too often you will start to think about something else and sometimes might think off course too. that happens to me also and many a times i have been told off by my wife not to think too much coz she knows that i will dwell too deep and go off course. stay as cool as possible gal, thing will work its way out one^^ stay happy!!!!

my wife's shoes are mtm from leaping lizard. told her not to worry about the price hehehe coz it is quite ex as they are using swaroski crystals for the decoration.

Hi Jasmine, Welcome. I forgot to welcome AXL too!

Weixiong, i tot only us gals think too much.hahaha.. now i know guys also will do the same. ur FW seems very mature! not like me, the childish bear. :P

Wah Leaping Lizard ah! u very willing to spend on ur wife hor??? so gd... heehee... gals, we must tell our FHs to be like Weixiong a bit!

Tweety, sent Isetan also leh but couldnt find something nice... cause they dun have those for dinner shoes... saw some at tangs but dun have my size...

bearbear, hmmm OG haven go there yet but dun think i like those there leh... for white or ivory satin shoes, dun like those with black soles leh look so awful leh... looking for those with beige soles...
for meet the parents session hoh think will be even more awkward to them leh if meet earlier 1st cause also dunno wat they gonna talk abt. if meet on rom day than will have more ppl so think wont be so awkward???

yeah jus reserved a private room at yum cha for my rom high tea... took their set menu cause they dun have buffet... at least one load off my mind... think this saturday have to go leaping lizard and another customisation shop to look look in case have to custom made my shoes...

wxyang, whoa u are a generous guy leh... dun need to worry abt price...
yesterday when i went paradox my fh keep jumping liao cause their shoes all around $250-400 heehee but very nice...

bear> hehehe better put it in another way, you know guys.... simply hate to be compared one hehehehe anyway its better lah rather then walk here and walk there to search.

anna> paradox shoe price really can compare to mtm. i think mtm even cheaper.... i have not been to paradox.... where is it??? wanna go look look hehehe is it the shop at raffles city??? go scout around and steal design then when you go mtm your shoe can combine design and *poof* youe very own shoe hehehe

i juz woke up.i went to queue for the walk-in-selection overnight!!!can call myself power woman leh.never ever slept overnight in a queue.everyone juz lie on the floor n sleep.n i still queue alone without my fh coz he having exams on thur so din wan 2 deprive him of his study n sleeping time.tink i am the only gal queueing.the rest r either couples or the guy.haha the sercurity still joke ard n say tis is like the channel U "superstar".

n my queue number is 8!yeah yeah tis time round shd hav chance to get the flat i wan.

there r abt 10 gd units including repurchased flats.u guys hav any opinions on repurchased flats?heard that they can b in quite bad shape coz hdb need the owners to tear down everything be4 they move out.

annabelle,

i went jb city sq n saw a nice pair of wedding shoes at half price.costs abt $37 after 50% discount.its the typical white half covered wedding shoe.really value for money but i din get coz i tot of wearing open toes shoes.

weixiong,

u so gd to yr wife leh.so envy....

hi hi minnie..
heehee...thks for ur reply..yap..My customary is on 30 sept & wedding dinner-cum-soleminzation is on 2 oct..heehee..the chart i m refering to is a table of listing with the brides dates & venues for ur ROM..something like this:
<table border=1><tr><td><font size="-2">Nick</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">ROM Date</font></TD><TD><font size="-2">Venue</font></td></tr></table>

Hi All!

Settled one more thingy liao =)
Signed up for a ROM package with JHC last Saturday...PHEW!

Today in new office...very stressed =( And bf left for 2 weeks reservist this morning too.

Will wait for him to be back to start shopping / confirm on the other items...

cherz,
How u noe got WIS?? still went to Q... damn power.. wat time u go?? my colleague went and collect for mi.. about 100+ at 8 ++

anna,
wah 250-400 for a pair of shoes, it's damn ex lei... I onli buying those normal white shoes so dat i can wear after ROM.. At least can save.. dun intend to waste so much $$ in the end landing at 1 corner of my place... unless u wanna use dat on ur AD... ;) BTW where is the place u r mentioning?!? Good dat u settle ur makan place.. mine still.... haha...

weixiong,
u damn willingly to spend on ur wife huh.. a veri fortunate one.. ;)

welcome jasmine

anise,

i went abt 7pm on sun nite.my fh's frenz inform him.his frenz got info fr another frenz who went down hdb to c look if there is any q.they all guessing shd hav WIS today coz they heard rtumours say there is a WIS in july n tis is the last wk of july.

actually we all not sure which area they r having WIS.we juz guessing n ask the security guard.then the sercurity guard say shd b cck area then we juz q lor.in the morning abt 6am then they put up the notices then we can confirm the venues.

Hi welcome all newbies!!

weixiong, wow you so good to your wife lay... so envy!! my fh dun bother so much one!! he also still dun wana decide on his clothes and dinner for tt day, now only left with abt 6 wks but everythings still dangling there.... hai.....

cherz: you very super lay, I think the response for this wis very good lay... but now only mostly west area, me looking for north area lay... if got lobang can inform me??? me really waiting for very long liao, the last time they had wis for north area was i think last year or early this year... maybe hdb no more north area units left... hehehe

minne,

dun worry.my fh aso havent decide on his outfit for the rom.still tink got a lot of time to the rom.mayb guys r like dat.

hmm but only abt mayb 15ppl queueing overnight.i tot there wld b more.

u considering resale?

cherz, ya lor... if still no news from hdb on north area then i will look for resale lor! afraid tt resale more xx or gotto forkout alot of cash lay...

hey gals> im sure it is in every guys' nature to spend on their love ones but the problem is whether are they able to at that point of time. so do not compare coz they love you, the same as i love my wif. and im sure you all know that guys always like to grab buddha's leg at the last minute one mah. hehehe

by the way, i will be wearing a mandarin collar coat for rom so do i need to wear anything underneath?? not very sure coz never wear before.

cherz> i really salute you. you are one lucky gal!!!!

cherz> lucky u, kekekke! congrats! Keep us updated with the flat selection.

bear> din realise BZ at tpy for sometime cos I hardly walk pass dat side except to buy goreng pisang. kekkeke! $410k for a hdb flat ah? I tink its far too high ald, now the prices for housing drop tremendously. So dun be in a hurry to buy resale. Now ppl pay abt $5k above valuation, most at valuation or even below.

Talking abt shoes...luckily my mum got a pair of silver shoes that I can use, cos I dowan to buy any new shoes. Ald chalk up the cupboard, my whole family are shoe fetishes hahah. We have a 4 door shoe cupboard at the corridor.

My FH havnt go n settle his attire yet...tell me still got time!!! Arggh! Anyway, he is so stressed by the moving oso.....Will settle in early aug, let him rest awhile 1st.

If those of u can make it for the gathering,pls type ur names here.I really hope everyone will do their best to make it as it wld be great to meet up bfe our ROMs as when Sept comes,we'll all be too busy &amp; aft Sept,i forsee only some of us wld still linger in this thread.

Gathering:7th Aug '05(Sunday)
Venue:To be confirmed
Time:To be confirmed(2pm-6pm???)

1.queenie30
2.joy
3.cherz

supagal,
i knw abt the ikea sale,i went fot the "friends" sale last fri at 9am.So ks hor?

tweety,
it's til mid Aug.Some stuff almost 50% off.Not everything on sale.Everyday like diff items on sale.Think towards the end prices will be slashed even more.

ah bear,
congrats on meet the parents session!I had mine in Feb,fpil came over to parents' &amp; my mum cooked dinner.

cherz,
my fbil also got repurchased unit but he lucky caz the owner didnt even start to do reno so it was like brand new.Hope u get the place of ur choice!

wxyang,
any suggestion is fine by me.Anywayz,for me i think i'll be the one with the cheapest shoes for my ROM.Almost bought a $15 muji white slippers but abit too plain lah.Hahaha!!!Wld wanna wear them agn &amp; agn mah.I think esp those wearing long gowns,shoes will be covered already.If wanna drama then during ur AD then go all out lah.To me buy s'thing so ex to put on the floor is quite a waste lor.But tt's my own personal opinion lah.

Buy shoes for ur partners,make sure he/she return/exchange a token like 20cents k or else he'she may leave you.Better be safe then sorry hor.Are y'all practising the "s'thing old,s'thing new,s'thing borrowed &amp; s'thing blue."?

1.queenie30
2.joy
3.cherz
4.tea (tentatively ok)

I went to shop for shops over the weekend. Taka, tangs and metro have nice shoes at reasonable prices. Not planning to spend so much on shoes cos i don usually get to dress up, so buying 'glam' shoes will be quite a waste. But if it is cheap, it is ok... don feel pinch even if i only wear it twice. :P

Queenie: what is "s'thing old,s'thing new,s'thing borrowed &amp; s'thing blue."?

tentatively no for me for the 7 aug meeting as we may be celebrating my bro's b'day. can only confirm again nearing the date.

for wedding shoes, maybe can check out waverlyfinn.com. my gf got her shoes from there previously.

i got my wedding bands... finally. i tried to take the pixs but unfortunately it didnt turn out well so i dun think its a good idea to post it :p
i am quite mad with soo kee. i collected my rings from a SK outlet which i requested and the sales person just pass me the rings in a ugly white envelope without the proper sookee boxes and sookee paper bag! it is so pathetic. when i requested for the boxes, the sales person told me to take their SK box instead! anyway i insisted for sookee boxes and they will deliver it to me. And i was very shocked to learn that they engraved the rings without confirming the size with me. I didnt have the opportunity to try the actual ring in the size i wanted as it wasnt avail at that time, so i just estimate the size....
luckily for me the rings fit, but what if they dont... anyway am quite appalled by their service std.

wx> so interesting to have a guy's perspective keke

my wedding bands has got a little sapphire embedded in the inner side of the ring, so i guess i got the "something blue" covered :p

cherz> quite an experience u had! i bought resale frm my bro as he is moving to a condo nearby... so shiok
but i get to use his condo facilities without hving to pay for maintainence kekek... cheapo :p

tea,
i think it's a western tradition for the bride to wear these 4 items.For eg,S'thing borrowed(rented WG),s'thing blue(garters),s'thing old(mother's ring etc),s'thing new(shoes).

supagal,
yeah tt's s'thing blue.