(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

sue,

me still in spore.havent went back 2 HK yet.

which jp u got?

Bear,

i still havent started losing weight.u noe...everytime is "tmr...tmr".

cherz> u wanna try sia ah? kekkeke

I oso lei, diet always is tml one hahaha

U tink we shld add the names of jp for those doing outside?? in the list?

cherz,
how to survive tt?Hahahaha!!!
I think do be polite,considerate,sociable, & smile til ur face & jaws cramp up!Dont be outspoken or try to take charge during grp interview.
Who's gg?

queenie> You're welcome. Hope that you find a videographer that you like. Good luck ay!

anise> Congrats on getting a slot. Double dates are always very popular. So will you be having reception after your ceremony?

suelynn> Your JP is JP Chan right? Wanted to get him too after reading abt him being fatherly etc. Too bad he is fully booked on the 18th. Good luck for your interview! Hope that you'll find a job that you like soon

bear> Some other hotels that have min 25 or less - Crown Hotel, Furama City Centre, Furama Riverfront Singapore, Grand Hyatt, Holiday Inn Park View, Marina Mandarin, ORchard Hotel, Pan Pac, Plaza ParkRoyal, Raffles Hotel, Rasa Sentosa, Regent, Traders Hotel. Can also consider going back to BH :P Hope this helps.

cherz,
from the way u describe the wedding favour, must be real cool..

sulynn,
good luck to ur interview tmolo... must impress the interviewer... dat's imp

gals we must motivate each other to slim down... if not there will be no ending tmolo ya... there is juz too many 2molo lol

Seem like there is quite afew crew here ya.. so envy... can keep flying... too bad i dun haf the quality
kao_sad2.gif

DH,
thanks... intending to go for high tea but hahving source for the venue yet... at a lost now... Any good place to recommend?

Hey DH thanks for listing all the hotels out... me being the picky bear i m have shortlisted Hol Inn, Traders and M Hotel to see... Might be considering Orchard hotel and club chinos. Been to Amara, Gd wood (too old) and GPPR. So far we like GPPR best... might pop down to their wedding fair on July 16th. Haven't decided yet cos might wanna spend the whole day reading my new Harry Potter (hahah i pre-ordered)

Wah gals, all trying for cabin crew? u all must be mei mei types.. heehee... me, the ugly bear...

I also trying to lose weight... starting with three quarters of what i usually eat plus weight training every alternate day. have to say arms are a bit more toned.. weight wise, still the same... haizzzz..... we must motivate each other ok? i will start by saying i dun wanna look like a bak zhang in my gown.... heehee...

Hi anise,

whao quite difficult to get to WL leh with car... need to walk quite abit lor... hmmm their rom gowns selection quite limited... but managed to get one... have made an appt. with cecilia for MU cause i wanted to MU at suntec nearer to ROM...

think u should book an appt. soon as their MUA are already almost fully booked on tat day cause some couples will be going bintan for their PS so limited MUA left.

suelynn,

good luck for ur interview...

Hi anise,

whao quite difficult to get to WL leh without car... need to walk quite abit lor... hmmm their rom gowns selection quite limited... but managed to get one... have made an appt. with cecilia for MU cause i wanted to MU at suntec nearer to ROM...

think u should book an appt. soon as their MUA are already almost fully booked on tat day cause some couples will be going bintan for their PS so limited MUA left.

suelynn,

good luck for ur interview...

good morning gals and guys!!
wahhh soooo many postssss!!!

i went to BS last weekend to chose gown for my wife. hee hee hee scared too late go will not have much choices left. anyway my wife manage to pick a gown which she like and next weekend we are going to look for compatible shoes. anyone got any idea where i can get shoes suitable for wedding gown??

anise> unusual?? hee hee hee unique mah

cherz> the food not fantastic ah..... coz my wife is interested in having ad there worrr. care to share more on the food part....
i also saw the notice. 6 couples having wedding there and we went to see the setup. not too bad either.

and welcome to all the new ppl who jus joined^^

Hi all...my ROM is on 09sept too. : )
will be holding at Suntec-Kuali Buffet resturant. They will corner off the cosy area for our solemnization. So excited.ehehe..found my JP as well but he wanna meet us first to let him sign the consent form.

hi jamie,
my jp juz want me to fax the form to him and after he sign it he send it back to me by mail.
im intending to hold it at the concourse lvl but have some doubts about the quality of the food. anyone have any views about it??? is the food at kuali good?

Huh? Weixiong i tot u doing ur ROM at Chung Cheng Main? how come now doing it in concourse?

Hi Jaime, welcome....

The zoo fella is arranging all the JP procedure for me.... so i just go with the flow...

Hello, so many post again!

Jamie> welcome! U having it same day as me. Dun tell me ur jp is mr chan ah? kekekke Cos my JP oso wanna meet me b4 passing me the consent form

ai.. seems like every1 hav a rom venue except me.. sobsob..

nw waiting 4 my FH sis to help us bk a chalet in changi.. i dono wat to wear 4 rom also.. wearing a gown seems formal to me.. but don wan to b too casual at d same time..

welcome jamie!!!
kao_welcome.gif

I met up with my JP Mr Wu this aftnoon for him to sign consent form already.So ks but who cares so long as I can tick off my to do list.I'm satisfied.

DH & annabelle,
I met up with Sam,the video guy both of u gv the contact to me.He showed me some of his works.I dont really knw how to judge but he seems to get us & we're gg with our gut feelings & most likely engaging him.Imagine,he's cheaper than my photographer.

sky,
my suggestion tt if u gonna hv it outside anywhere of ur choice then u can wear anything u want.U can opt to wear semi casual.Knee length dress,choose right material & accessories to decide on whether it'll seem more formal or casual & how ur make up & hair is done.All this can play a part.

anna,
hmmm WL is near to where? any prominent building?? Hmm tink i need to betta get my gown fast since the date so popular.. I did call to request for MUA.. Requested for sammi but dunno if it will turn out good..

welcome jamie.. Another one having rom on the 9th ;)

weixiong,

the main thing is dat the dishes r not very warm when served.but the prawns r quite fresh.
n the best part is dat duno y the ee-fu noodles serving is so little.one of us din eat the noodles n the dish only managed 2 serve 7 pax.then the waitress actually took 2 of our bowls n filled it wif noodles fr another plate dat was meant to be served 2 another table later!!!

cherz> thank you for our valuable feedback!! guess that the staff service not that good and the food is poorly prepared. it is at the concourse rite?

sky> do not fret as what you are experiencing is what we have all experience and now we all manage to get the show on the road. if you have any query feel free to ask coz our gals and guys in here are very knowledgable!!!!

sky> I tink u can go for the sunny weeekend look, get a floral dress with sandals kind. Dunno hw to explain, but it looks nice, not formal yet not too casual. Try mphosis for their pants n some flowy sleeves top, some I saw are pretty nice.

wxyang> sometimes it really depends I tink, maybe cos there are too many weddings going at same time, dats y. Anyway, if u have it on a very auspicious day, u must also risk if ur guest mite have another invitation to another wedding. That happen once when we have to decide which wedding to go ald. Then the couple will have to call up the backup guestlist...

Hi all, did u all discuss abt addressing your ILs after rom etc? My fmil ald tell me wat to address her ald lei. Eeeks! For my mum, she said up to him, call her auntie oso can, if he nt comfy, after AD then address her as mum.

sue,

haha wat yr fmil tell u 2 address her?

me n FH decided if our parents din mentioned anything then we will continue 2 address them "uncle,auntie".

Weixiong> concourse where??? at beach rd or suntec? Blur bear liao.. If u meant Suntec, the food is rather cold. Think its bcos of the large atmosphere and high ceiling.

Sky> wear a Lycra top and those long peasant skirt. U can top it up with a white garland of flowers on your head. Do it bare footed...

Anise> WL has a couple of branches. Think there is one at Suntec and another at Ubi.

Sulynn> my FMIL will still be auntie to me till aft AD. But is it necessary to have a meeting btw your parents and in-laws before the ROM??? my FPILs says yes lei.... what abt u guys?

Anise,

WL is opposite of JTC building at kaki bukit... me thought of getting sammi too but she's booked and if want have to MU at kaki bukit at 12.30pm me not in time to meet my photographer so choose cecilia MU at suntec nearer to rom.

anyway i'll still be calling PIL auntie & uncle after rom also lor... cause still quite angry...
kao_frustrated.gif
haha anyway haven serve them drink tea yet mah...

welcome jamie... whao seems like 9th is a very popular date... i'm on the 9th too...

sky,

u can be very creative with ur rom dress as u dun have any restrictions... can buy a pair of hawaiian shirts or blouses... match with a short straw skirt or something... heehee very nice...

when will ur FSIL book e chalet for u??? i thought can book already???

Queenie,

wats sam's rates like huh??? can keep him in mind for my AD...

Suelynn,

any replies from e interviews lately??? all e best...

annabelle,

she said she can onli ballot on d 16th tis mth.. so probably noe d answer by end of d mth.. she is in navy..

bout d addressing PIL, i discussed w my FH. then he said shd call dad n mum.. but i feel so odd calling another person dad or mum when they r not my real dad n mum.. heehee.. my mum also say it's strange to hear smbody else call her mum..

have been reading this site for long b4 signing up.
my ROM on 18th sept too at Suntec-Kuali restaurant.
same as Jamie.

AD on 6 Jun 06 at Pan Pac.
BS: Mr & Mrs Wedding Club.

hi cacphin,

me sign up 4 mr n miss wedding club too..
hav u tried on their gowns yet? there's a mr n miss thread in bridal boutiques section.. u can join sm of us there also..

hee hee hee wah discussing about wat to call PILs ah. i have already talk about this with my wife le and we decide for mine is papa and mama ^^ and or hers will be daddy and mummy. actually already addressing them like that in our conversations le juz did not say it openly hee hee

bear> hmmmmm guess i will have to look for another place le. as for sheraton, my wife thinks it is too old le so can forget about it also. instead we are looking at raffles country and town club and kiv "the banquet hall"

Sky,

oic... are u balloting e aloha loyang or aloha changi chalets??? e terraces are very nice but e prices increased already now very ex. but its very big and nice with good environment... have been to aloha loyang many times and love it...

Anna> We had the meeting last week ald, the parents meeting. To celebrate father's day at same time to discuss abit. No news yet lei. Tink gone case ald. Waiting for another reply by end of this week.

My FH disturb me la, kept asking wat I call the mother on the 9th, in front of her somemore lei. So she said call her mother or follow fh call mummy. I felt like calling her ma cos my mum is mummy lei. FH will call mine mum n dad lor.

sky> honestly its ur wedding, its ur call. Wear watever u like.

wxyang> Sheraton old ah? Then go for conrad lo. Pan pac, oriental n marina mandarin all jus reno.

suelynn,

parents meeting discuss wat huh??? is it very awkward??? thought of not having parents meeting before rom leh but on tat day itself also awkward leh... but meet also dunno wat to discuss... headache...

Good luck for ur job search... keep looking there'll be an ideal job somewhere...

there is another chalet in changi 4 those in govt service job rite? dono wat is it call.. :p it's much newer than d aloha 1.. i prefer tt.. hehe.. but if we din get tt, probably we get d aloha changi..

i went to d aloha loyang b4.. wow.. it's super big.. 5 bedrooms.. but my FH said tt it's v inside so don wan.. but his sis say they will pay d chalet 4 us.. hehehe.. we onli nd to tak care of d deco n food.. :p

Wah i disappear to a meeting then come back already so many posts.

First welcome to Cacphin! Hihi!! U got ur JP yet? Heard that the 18th is rather hot and some found it tough to get a JP.

Sky> u are refering to the Safra Changi? those are meant for paying Safra members.. not the ordinary ones. Think its like a country club for all working personnel or something... How abt Sentosa chalet? its super big too! plus its more exclusive thus more private to hold ur ROM...

Weixiong> happy looking!

Suelynn and Anna> ya meet parents discuss what??? i also blur blur... i think i will be feeling damn awkward.... this wk going out with my FPILs to buy the flower gal dresses.. see how lah...

Suelynn> any news? gd luck if u got more interviews!

hee hee hee a meet up for the PILs ah i think the ones feeling more awkward then us will be them lorrr. think i will have one before rom to let the old folks meet up and see if they can get along or not. sort of like get a mental preparations in case they do not so can at least try to prevent things from turning bad.

bear> thank you bear!!! so hows your meeting?? definitely a bore......???^^

Its more of a celebrate father's day thinggy, then at same time discuss abt the guests etc during rom. Then got talk abit etc, like pr session la. Its like a pre welcome to the family kind of session kkekek!

No news yet lei for some, need to wait till end of this week.

sky> yah, wat ur fh said is very true. Too ulu, dowan betta.

Weixiong, my boss talked 1.5 hrs on one same topic. how interesting is that? I told some here that my lab is gonna be outsourced so she was trying to calm the junior staff...

Okie Suelynn, will see how... i think i will be awkward cos i dunno how to mediate btw them... scared one person open mouth wrongly then that's it liao.... WW III starts.... haizzz....

Anybody know what to write in an ROM invite?

sounds really boring...... think her effort definitely gone to waste.... the staff definitely can see the danger of losing their job one mah.... by toking that long its will make them even more uneasy.....
well i think first meeting cannot ask for perfection one but sure will give way one then at the end of the day juz gather feedback from both side and then see how to improve.

writing rom invite..... i thought use phone calls can le..... the zoo not doing it for you????

yah sky aloha loyang chalets all very big... tats y i like... but its very ex... hope u get e one u wanted lor...

dunno leh hope dun need to have parents meeting bah... later ask my FH see how lor...

Hey Weixiong.. ya lor all the junior staff are in a panic.. they listen to every other rumor except the stuff my boss says... hahaha... ironic ain't it?

No lei the zoo not giving me invites. I already bought my cards.. love them very much... now dunno what to write in there... any ideas? DH, u lei, having ROM invites? BH got help u?

Anna & Weixiong, i dunno lah.. i already having some probs with my FMIL and recently had a major disagreement with my own mum... i will just arrange their meeting.. they should be adults enough to know that they should and shouldn't say. Women are so damn mah fan... that includes me.... :P

Suelynn, i paid Yew kwang the deposit liao...

queenie> Glad that you found a videographer you and your fh like. Who will be your photographer? A friend will be taking the shoots for us but personally I would prefer to get a professional photographer. Don't know how to bring this up to him.

anise> If i'm correct, i think WL at Suntec branch is just below the bridge or beside Nokia Care Centre.

cherz> You are referring to Suntec when you indicated tha the waitress actually took noodles from another plate meant for another table?

sulynn> Hmm that is a very good question wor. Haven't thought about how to address ILs after ROM. Think will still be more comfortable addressing as auntie / uncle but of course it will depend on them.

bear> You are most welcome. It is perfectly ok to be picky as it will be once in a lifetime affair. I'm also very picky when come to selecting venues. If you need a contact for Orchard Hotel, do let me know. I have a school mate who is with the catering sales dept and she may be able to give you some additional perks.

My parents felt that it was necessary to have a meeting before the ROM and we already done ours over lunch. Didn't really discuss much over the meeting such some requirements for the tradition. It will be alittle awkard at first but should be pretty ok after a while.

Will be having ROM invites as BH will be providing them for me but i haven't seen how it looks like. Does BH know that you will be using your own invites as the guests need to show the invite to gain entry to the zoo. Maybe i will check with BH and see what will be written and let you know?

Welcome Jamie & cacphin!

DH, BH stated to me that there will be no invites.. think cos i already got a lot from him! heehee... may be when i meet up with him at the end of the mth i will ask him abt it.

That's why i m need an invite, cos it acts like a sort of pass to allow ppl into the zoo free.... Since BH didn't wanna give it to me, we went to American Wedding Dream to pick up a funky orange card! heehee...

Bear> me too got disagreements with FMIL... nevermind lar... so far my mum still ok... whao u got yew kwang as ur photographer??? wanted to get him also but he's already booked on 9th... btw how much is he charging???