(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Hey Sue, i saw liao... like the 2nd one best.. heehee.. ppl from this thread got discount or not? heehee....

Weixiong, have u been calling any hotels? hows the outcome?

Heehee.. u say one ah Suelynn!!! heehee...

DH> Called BH this morning and he immed recognised it was me and gave me a gentle scolding for promoting my package online.. heehee... meeting him end this mth to pass him the form and to talk abt flowers... and to talk abt that day's schedule... cos i m very very confuse man!

hi all, how is everyone? busy with ROM prep?

need some opinion: is EC worth buying? went to look at ec last weekend. Not sure if I should consider it over HDB.

Bear> no prob!

Tea> EC not cheap lei, u must tink if u wld use the facilities often, cos the mthly maintenance is nt cheap lo. U looking a La Casa? N u gotta take bank loan, interest rate wld probably more the original price of the flat even more ex. If i m not wrong its abt more than $400k on avg, depends if u wan 2/3 rms .For now we definitely cant afford yet, so dowan to struggle to pay every mth, jus buy small unit 1st then slowly when wanna upgrade, will hope to buy a condo in future.

But hor, no matter wat u buy, must be comfy in paying for the monthly instalments, u must also consider if 1 of u loses the job in the event will it affect the payments of the housing loan or not. If payment wise is ok, then by all means go ahead n buy! Its definitely betta than buying pinnacle kekekekke . No offence to anyone who bought there.

bear> i have not start to call them yet. becoz still not finalize how we wanna have it, buffet or sit down. gonna finalize that tonite then tmr im gonna start calling and hopefully can start on the wedding card design. and this week gonna try out the gown and if can get some confirmation, we gonna tell the BS about it also to let them know and got to shop for a matching pair of shoes too. what other things do i need to do???

bear> sorry ah, the person who calculate the date is geomancer kekkeke. not fortune master, blur me!

cherz> I noe which ring ald, I almost bought something similar in felin.The guys version oso same rite? I din buy dat in the end cos my fh's ring wld be more ex than mine kekeke.

DH,

yup the ring dat i was eyeing at fairy inc was 2.4K for a pair.agreed dat its very hard 2 custom made wedding band at caratell unless u hav a specific design in mind.its best if u hav a pic of it coz dat time i went down, they cldnt get the design i was describing...haha mayb i am poor at words.

sue,

yup the guys's is the same version.my FH so vain lor aso wan diamonds.so our rings r exactly the same (which is wat i wanted aso) n costs the same aso.

i aso like the 2nd ring pillow best.

bear,

u looking for fengshui master?i juz went to my FH's frenz hse warming last wkend.they engage adelina pang to see the fengshui of their hse.the charge is $888.ex hor.....haha so but so far still havent strike 4D....

oh ya,

anyone doin champange pouring?i cld do it at amara but no sure when to do champage pouring coz its not like AD.

queenie,

is shiseido selling at cheaper prices in japan?coz i tot of buying their hair pdts.

All of you are very active sia! Very good and me still catching my breath!

Elvi> i'm staying at st 52 now so we are very nearby =) However my love nest will be quite far from where you will be staying. So where you guys planning to go for honeymoon?

sue> Will be good to look for a geomancer to calculate date to save the headaches like you mentioned =) You are really good with your hands. Very impressive!! =)

bear> You can try going for the Oct wedding shows and then make a booking for next year oct loh. I think still in time to book for next year because still got 1 year. Alternatively shortlist a few hotels and make an appt to go down and view the ballroom / suite. Let me know if you need the contact of the geomancer i used and i can send it to you.

Very sorry bear for the scolding - we must have contributed to it. BH told us during of our meeting that he met a couple which wanted him to offer the same package he offered to someone from the forum. I beleve that someone should be you loh =)
Yeah i am also confused as to what to do on that day because i can only think of guests arrive, horse carriage arrive, solemnization and makan and maybe photoshoot after makan. Hmm feels that i'm missing out something.

annabelle> glad that you found an id that you and your fh like. I've not sign up offically with my id yet. Paid 1k for him to come up with computerised drawings of my hse. At the end of day if we do not like his designs, then we'll exchange the 1k for something else loh. We'll also be dropping by on sat-sun for chalet after the hse is renovated.
Heh i think your fh eager because your dream hse is within grasps liao mah especially when the both of you have a part to play in designing the hse etc.

cherz> Glad that its 2.4k for a pair, otherwise think my jaws will drop if it is 2.4k for a ring. heh i am not too good at words too.. maybe will surf the web for some designs and customize if possible.

Personally think will be very nice and romantic to do champagne pouring especially if your videographer is going to film the pouring.

Also engaged adelina pang for my house. Hopefully after renovation and move in will strike lottery. Heheh. Actually come to think abt it, spending 888 for fenghui quite ex but i just want to buy a peace of mind. Hope that everyone will be in good health.

tea> I totally agree with Sue's advice. I am pretty much a conservative person so even if me and my wife can afford a unit, i will take into consideration if 1 half loses the job, do we have to top up cash for the montly instalments. If we have to top up cash, then i'd pretty give the unit up. Personally, i will try not to make use of any cash where possible so that it can be saved for rainy days.

all> gals, i agree with wxyang that your fhs do care in one way or another but just that they don't show it. Sometimes it is face value lah =)

Anyone looking for videographer on 18th Sept? After my mass emails to a number of them, i got a couple which are available on this date.

bear> I m going for a wedding show on july at orchid country club, heard there is wedding show at GPPR in july as well. Tink there is bound to be some shows ard ba, probably nt most of the hotels. Some probably.

DH> thanks for the compliments, need a ring pillow? let me noe k! eheheeh. Wanna go shanghai for honeymoon after rom lei but tink if I still dun have a job b4 my rom, can change to east coast chalet liao hahahha. Honeymoon after AD...hope to be europe, hawaii or japan. But...still depends if by then we can afford it.

Alot of things going on this week, i suddenly have so many interviews, wish me luck again k! Need to book rom date on wed, my Fh took leave on thurs in case we cant book the time online, need to go n source for alternatives. Kinda pleased he did that kekek. Sat going to have meet the parents session cum fathers day celebration.

Suelynn> Gd luck with all ur interviews! Blow their minds away! heehee... GPPR has a wedding show coming up? really? can confirm or not? We like that place and if there is a wedding show then i might just sign up during the show.

DH> no prob lah. I told everybody that they have to talk to Boon Heng. I never once said they can get the same things as me.. some ppl just wanna use me as a bait to get BH to give them more lor. I guess i was lucky to get all those extra perks.

Tea> EC is really not in my budget. And i can tell u mthly maintainence can be a killer. I live in a private apt with no facilities and already paying $170 a mth.Think EC is abt $200-250 a mth. Think carefully lor. I also wanna make sure that if either of us lose our job, whether we still can afford the mthly instalments.

Spoke to my parents last evening and they have no probs with me doing it on ba yue shi wu. so guess the date is more or less confirm liao. have made apptms with Amara, M Hotel, MM and Hol Inn. any other hotels to recommend?

Hi gals & guys,

Whao all very very busy hoh... DH u want to ask my ID for some designs??? he will do e drawings for u foc... he's very flexible with his prices and workmanship is good too... (*value for $$*) or i get him to call u??? i also got him to call a gal in e forum and she loves his design and price...

suelynn> Good Luck with ur interviews... u'll get e job u want...

bear> ba yue shi wu is a very good day for marriage... are u considering other hotels like grand plaza park royal, carlton & intercontinnental? can i knoe wat is GPPR???

Hey Anna, GPPR = Grand Plaza Park Royal! heehee.. i have only 25 tables so only a few hotels can fit me. Cartlon and Intercon is 28 and 40 tables respectively..

good morning!!!!

bear> your requirement almost same as mine. im doing in a buffet style since only ard 150-200 hee hee hee

sue>good luck for your interview!!

DH,

Yeah very near! We are not thinking of housing for short and mid term plan cos will be leaving in BB. My partner got own house in SengKang, so very flexible...weekend at BB, Weekdays at SengKang hee.

So when is ya AD? Booked BS and Hotel already?

Thanks all for ur well-wishes!!!

bear> Jus got back fr 2 interviews.....will be going for 1 more in late afternoon. Confirm got wedding show for GPPR, u can go tot their thread to see or the wedding show thread. I tink for centrally located hotels tat is near mrt, GPPR is considered moderate ald. In orchard, tink the cheapest is marina mandarin if u exclude phoenix. U wanna try furama city (went wedding dinner there b4) or furama riverfront? We quite surprised tat the food is nice n presentation is modern. The hotel looks not so nice on outside but the ballrooms are nice n the price is reasonable oso. tink abt $500++ for weekends, weekdays start fr $490++. Went Amara for wedding buffet dinner, it sux dat day, food nt nice n the staff forgot to give us the wedding favours.......M hotel food is nice, outlook oso nt bad.

DH> y must pay to give quotation?? Its foc one mostly when we look for ID last time when my shifted 6 yrs ago.

Everyone who is wondering y there is this ambigous person...its me suelynn, cos my acct got suspend again......Very upset ald, I din even advertise or wat tis time....

Weixiong> happy looking then..

Suelynn> why u kena again... u just ask us to look mah, not ask us to buy!! may be ask Chin Leng what happened this time...

Anyway gd luck for this aftn's interview! and thanks for all the reviews...

Elvi> I m talking abt both, been to riverfront one for casual dinners n furama city for wedding dinners. The one close to Merchant court is Furama City, convinient cos near mrt.

Bear> dunno ald la, I ald send email ald....sway! Hope later got betta luck at interview can ald.

Hi Sue,

As I've mentioned before, your intention of putting up links to your ring pillows collection was to promote the sale. Even though you may not have stated in your messages this time but you've done so previously.

By including the link in your messages, you are deliberately creating interest for your ring pillows which in turn will invite queries to purchase the ring pillows you made. That is the same as advertising and promoting your service.

As I've mentioned before in my earlier message, we've maintained an online place for wedding couples to discuss about wedding preparations. In reality, huge costs are involved and this is derived from advertising revenue which we take a lot of effort to generate to keep this place available for all wedding couples like yourselves. We would appreciate everyone's support and please do not undermine our effort by promoting your services without going through the proper channels and blaming us when your account is suspended.

Sue ah, better remove the price tags on ur pillows ba.. just pm us the link can liao... dun go and copy and paste ur link liao...

Gd luck ok?

Hi Chin Leng,

The problem with SBF is that we cant edit paste postings unlike other bridal forums. Whatever posted cant be removed. Like I have mentioned, pls remove whatever postings that u tink is inappropriate cos I simply is not able to do so.Perhaps u cld use this as a feedback to upgrade the forum whereby users are able to edit their post even 20 mins after we posted.

I have been ard for some time ald and I did not join the forum for sake of advertising. My main interest is to get information n interact with others who are all preparing/ have prepared their weddings. I fully understand your concerns as the forum get advertising fees to run this webby itself.

I see this as a form of misinterpretation or perhaps miscommunication, I wish if you could reactivate my account. Honestly, I seldom pm anyone or even read my pms, thus I nvr ever pm anyone abt my pillows. You can always suspend my account again if I were to post my link again.

Thanks,
suelynn

DH,

if u wan custom made yr wedding bands at fairy inc, hav to b quick ya coz heard dat they closed orders early for sept coz a lot of ppl getting wed in sept.

sue,

all the best for yr interview!!!

woah woah a wk full of activities for u ya.do tell me abt yr meet the parents session coz i was still tinking whether to hav one.

hey yesterday nite rom webbie was hung my frenz cldnt booked her slot.she wanted to book at 12midnight.then she went down to the rom itself tis morning to book her slot.

oh no....the wedding show at amara dat bad ah...,hope my rom will b okie.

bear,

heard fr lots of ppl dat food at pan pacific is gd.i like sheraton too coz the food is gd but the ballroom is L-shaped.pricing on the high side too but its 12 per table.

I feel kindda "out" tt y'all already planning for AD as i no AD.ROM not even settled yet leh.So scary lah for me.
My fh got his clothes for ROM already fr Zara.I dun even really knw wat i'm gonna wear.
My meet the parents session took place in Feb so I guess the nx time they meet our ROM.Kindda weird leh.
My fh & i fight ALOT regarding the house.Everything,u name it!Fr location to theme & colours to even fridge!!!

annabelle,
may i knw who's ur ID ay?
Anywayz,thx for the email.I'll be meeting Frankie tmw evening.He part timer ah?

DH,
if u need,can recommend u my ID too!

cherz
i'm not sure abt shiseido hair pdts being cheaper in Japan but I wld think so.So far i've bought mascaras & eye lash curlers fr them & they r either not available in sg or cheaper.Shiseido got many many diff range so the price varies alot.

Also,if u need fengshui guy or old lady who sees wedding dates,I can gv u the contacts.

hi coco,
oh u've settled on the Legends..wanaa try that but then FH says dun waste $$$ coz we getting our flat too!! hehe so maybe just ROM and proceed to lunch with friends n relatives..

hi queenie,
yup yup..i m also from JW..hehe..not yet gotten my keys..hehe...my ROM also on 9th Sept..hehe....

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage
8. DH - 18th Sept, Zoo!
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends
11. Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!
12. Summer - 23rd Sept, Raffles Marina
13. Elvi - 23rd Sept, ROMM
14. Doris - 23rd Sept, Amara poolside
15. Annabelle - 9th Sept, ROMM
16. Joyousonline - 9th Sept, ROMM

Hi joyous, hey same day as me!!!! Sorry, r u or ur FH malay???, cos ROMM is for muslims, if u are not, maybe update the list okie. Thanks

Anna>I jus tried practise booking online, gosh!!! cant retreive timing at all....... Tink we mite need to go down ald. I dunno wats wrong n guess wat, 5th, 6th n 7th of sept all taken, slots all gone!

panic panic!!!

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept ROM
8. DH - 18th Sept, Zoo!
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends
11. Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!
12. Summer - 23rd Sept, Raffles Marina
13. Elvi - 23rd Sept, ROM
14. Doris - 23rd Sept, Amara poolside
15. Annabelle - 9th Sept, ROM
16. Joyousonline - 9th Sept, ROMM

1.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM
2.suelynn - 9th sept ROM
3.Annabelle - 9th Sept, ROM
4.Joyousonline - 9th Sept, ROMM
6.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
7.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
8.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
9.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
10.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School(Main)
11.DH - 18th Sept, Zoo!
12.coco - 18 sept, Legends
13.Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!
14.Summer - 23rd Sept, Raffles Marina
15.Elvi - 23rd Sept, ROM
16.Doris - 23rd Sept, Amara poolside

Hi Queenie,

my ID is Dominick from Aranus... hmmm... didnt meet frankie cause me not taking videographer for ROM... *no budget*
cause FH say my wedding band too ex liao other things muz cut... if he's really good muz tell me k will consider him for AD...

hi Suelynn,

hmmm think 9th sept very difficult to book leh... think might be going down to ROM tomorrow too... gosh... yup e slots already all taken tats y i panic also... but FH say never mind lor cannot get to ROM inside than do it outside lor... hehe stressful hoh... dunno wether can get or not...

Sue> I am sure you'll get a job soon and go to Shanghai for your honeymoon after ROM. Best of luck for your interviews!

The 1k is for the ID to come out with computerised colour drawings so that i can see what my house will look like. If really unhappy with the design the use the 1k to exchange for some other stuff like painting etc.

Anna/Queenie> Many thanks for the offer, will let you know if i need the contacts.

queenie> What else is pending for your ROM?

bear> For 25 tables, i think you can also consider Goodwood Park. Heard good feedback on M Hotel.

Elvi> Wah, weekdays and weekends different place ah. Maybe sometimes can switch the order around :P Our AD on 18th June 2006. The hotel is Conrad and BS is Thomson Wedding. Booked with Thomson during the New Paper bridal show last month which i am praying that it will not be a mistake. Will be using our ROM as gauge of their services and may consider changing to another BS if we are disappointed.

cherz> Many thanks for the headsup. Gotta hurry and decide on the designs and approach fairy inc.

For those of who will ROm on 9th Sept (sue, annabelle, joyousonline) tonight can get ready to e-file. Sue, it is very sweet of your fh to take leave on Thursday as a contingency. See guys do care right?

Hi all, starting work today, but its a contract job. So see hw it goes cos I waiting for response fr other Cos. Hope my luck really changes!

Anna> we ald got backup plan oso. But to get jp is a big problem!!! Stressed....

Hai DH... now i very stressed leh... really scared... cause too many ppl e-file together will hang e server wan... if really cannot get dunno how leh... for e pass few nites because of the s-filing stress have not been sleeping well now look like panda already...

Suelynn,

me also very stressed leh... how??? hehe...

Suelynn: Ya ROM is 9 Sep rht? Think u shd be able to eFile tonight when the clock hit 12am (9 Jun). Believe that the system is not ready to accept and the dates will be reflected as inactive until at least 3 mths to actual day.

DH: Wow! Conrad..I dun have such luxury heee.. For a moment, I tot u r my gd fren who is getting married next yr too..but in Apr I tink. She also w Conrad. Well, dun get affected by other opinions about ya BS. My opinion is that, every BS is about the same..to them, we r jus their customers..its a matter of whether u feel comfortable working with the coordinator. So jus be confident and put on ya best smile. Let me see ur PS when ready ya..=)

aiya annabelle,
frankie jz sms said he jz kena booked liaoz.So not meeting already.I am however meeting jayce.So i still need to look for videographer.

Suelynn,annabelle & joy,
dun panic,dun stress k.Easy for me to say but i believe all's fated.All the best to y'all.

DH,
really sweet of u...

I'll be gg to RSYC to settle some stuff.I guess still got afew things pending like photo & video person,flowers person contact by RSYC.Also my clothes cum shoes & wedding bands.I got my JP,my mua(a fren),cake maker(a fren),wedding favours maker(a fren)& card maker(a fren).Did I miss anything out?Heehee!!!

Wah u all need to e-file liao... time like pass very fast hor? another 3 mths is our ROMs liao.. gd luck to those efiling tonite. hope u get the slot u want!!!

DH> thanks for the hotel reviews...

Queenie> u better start lookign for ur gown! oh ya i rem u wanna wear a pant suit right? heehee.. u sooo cool.. decided on the flowers?

Whao queenie,

u have so many frens doing MU, cakes and such ah... so lucky of u... anyway can tell me wat RSYC stand for??? which place???

hopefully can get the slot i want lor... and hopefully e server doesnt hang... if not i'll be e one hanging...
kao_scared.gif

Do share yr experience of e-filing for rom?
cos my rom is on 23rd sep.Me scare got difficulty e-file.Can anyone advise me wat are the details required for the 2 witness?

Cos i am doing a outdoor rom, so maybe more tedious hah...

cheers,summer

ah bear,
ur memory very gd dar.Flowers gotta call the contact RSYC gimme,if he cant do it then i bring my own contact caz club got restrictions.

annabelle,
so save costs mah.Bo painz!I dont want my frens to jz come as guests caz it's usually boring.I want them to be involved so they really feel part of it.My fh frens r guests,those guys,aiyo!
I also got a hen's nite organizer.Heehee!!!Wonder if she'll get a male stripper.

RSYC is republic of s'pore yacht club.

Hi Summer,

for outdoor rom dun worry about not able to e-file sure can wan jus do e e-filing anytime lor no need to grab with ppl. only those doing in rom like me than have to e-file at 12 lor... ouside e-filing think quite e same but need ur JP name and license no. and... sorri forgot liao... e details for the 2 witnesses are their full names and IC no. only lor...

wah queenie... good idea to make them part of e celebrations... whao got someone organise hen nite for u somemore... envy leh...

Summer, outdoors ROM very relax one. u only need to file 3 wks before ur ROM date cos as what anna said, u dun need to snatch places with ppl in the registry.. those who wanna do it in the registry needs to fight for space.

Heehee.. ya Queenie i think its a great idea involving the guests.. make them blow balloons heehee.. and deco the place... heehee.. me thinking of having balloons too.. what u guys think?

I want hen nite too. and i WANT a male stripper... heeheee... but think no one will do the full monty.. heeheehee.... chee kor pek bear... =D

hello ppl.....
got a reply from sheraton so shld be meeting with them soon.
to all those who are efiling tonite, good luck!!!! got an idea but dunno if it will work...hee hee hee this is wat i use to do when i wanna see my result. get lots of frens to help you to log in and the one who got in will give me a call. i call this "borrow luck" hee hee hee well of course i gave my particulars to my frens as well hee hee hee

queenie> haa haa haa you sure your FH ok with a male stripper.... anyway he prob would not know haa haa haa

anna> haa haa if you want you can always get the gals in here to organise one for you. im sure it will be fun haa haa haa^^

sue> congrats on your new job. well at least it is something for you now. keep looking around for other good ones

summer> don worry summer, holding the rom at a outside venue no need to book time slot one. you juz need the particular of your 2 witness and the JP that is all and you don really have to do it 3mths, at least 27days or 25... forgot le is enough. the rom webby got a list of things to do
http://www.rom.gov.sg/rom/reg_info/pdf/checklist_outsideROM.pdf here it is and for the others who have not seen this ^^

hee hee hee now even more busy coz me and wife wanna perform a hip hop dance on the AD so need to choreograph the dance on our own^^ this sat goin to try out her gown so excited^^ need to source for my clothes too....

queenie,

tks for the info.i was actually looking for tis shiseido hair pdt call "bu lao ling".they say its gd for prevention of hair loss.

can email me the contacts at [email protected]

tks =)

wah u sure got a wide social circle to source for resources.

wxyang,
my fh knows abt the stripper.We hv an open r/s.We reveal alot to each other.He's ok with it.I knw he'll hv a stag nite too!

cherz,
already emailed u the contacts.Hope you'll find them useful ya.
My resources r jz frens lor.They arent pros.Jz tt i knw they r gd at doing these things lor esp my cake maker,she loves to bake.She feels it's therapeutic.

ah bear,
was thinking of getting balloons as well.Think there's a shop in holland v.Will check it out!

suelynn,
how's the interview & 1st day at work?Anywayz,alex did reply today & his rate is $300 for video.Ex leh.

Anywayz,i met jayce & confirmed.Jz need to send him a deposit.His style is straight fwd.Nothing too fancy.Fine with us lor.Meeting a video guy on sunday who charge ard $158 for 3hrs.
Also,signed the contract already.Glad all these r settled.

I m gonna be jobless again cos I dun like the job at all, totally admin n I almost fell alseep.......

Tml going for another interview.......

Anna> I also stress lei, cant sleep got past few nites oso. tink my FH oso stress....