(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

hee hee hee my situation same as you wor sue. my wife also had quite a number of relatives but since most of them in malaysia so we decide to have two banquet. one here and one there. thats why we only need ard 20tables. thats a good advice from you^^ prob suggest the 2 place to her and discuss how. thanks alot!!!

queenie> I also think so... intend to get one heehee..

suelynn> ya, the prices are ok not like others about $100+

Twink> Welcome!

wxyang> u can consider the ring pillows as what suelynn said, their prices are not very ex...

for ur banquet, can look at the magazines got lists of all the hotels and go to their website to see their function rooms sizes they will list how many tables can they put in each room.

wxyang> yah, hold 2 dinners more wu hua cos if u invite msians over, I can tell u, definitely u will make a huge loss fr tat side. No offence to anyone k, cos their banquet prices way cheaper than ours n so their angbao oso way lower. My FH's fren had 2 tables of msian relatives, gosh, the cost of the table is $500+ n he got back $200+ for one n another table got back only $100+....

hello kitara & interrace!!!!!

kitara,
SAFYC,changi right?Cool

interrace,
u hv mixed parentage?

suelynn,
already emailed u leh.So far,Far east flora is e cheapest.My fren's mum is a florist in adelaide said $400 is very cheap already caz if DIY,we dun hv a storage plc.

cherz,
i went to Fairy's Inc today,they hv plenty of diff choices but my FH prefers caratell.Aft seeing so many rings,I still like the piaget ring.
Well,we'll see.

Hi!Found this fr another thread for htls tt cater outdoor ROM.

Amara Hotel
The Oriental Singapore
Goodwoodpark Hotel
Calton Hotel
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort
Seletar Counrty Club Pool Terrace
Legends Fort Canning Park
Hotel New Otani

seems like a lot of us doin rom outdoors!n many of us on 18th sept!

jaslyn,

hey the ring pillows r super cute esp the bunny ones.but $55 is quite ex.haha quite tempted to buy.if i got my own flat already i wld buy coz can put at the bedrm.=)

suelynn,

yup i wld look ard again be4 i commit.

wxyang,

hyatt can accomdate less than 30 tables.
i rem my godbrother's AD at ritz carlton is less than 30 tables.tink abt 15-20 tables only.i rem it was a long function rm.quite cozy feeling.

queenie,

once we set our eyes on something,nothing seems to b better than it ya.

cherz> hyatt can accomodate less then 30tables ah.... i know ritz carlton can juz that i have not go and take a look at the room yet.

me and wife confirm gettting the ring pillow liao hee hee hee.

I am getting ROM 23rd sep'05.

Me venue is at raffles marina (Tuas) whereby the background u can view the yatches...

I am having it ard 2pm..not sure if its sunny?

Guess we cant booked our rom date in the internet right???

wxyang,

Amara: http://www.amarahotels.com/
Beaufort: http://www.beaufort.com.sg/
Carlton: http://www.carlton.com.sg/
Concorde: http://www.concorde.net/
Copthorne King: http://www.copthornekings.com.sg/
Crown Prince: http://www.crownprince.com.sg/
Excelsior: http://www.ytchotels.com.sg/peninsulaexcelsior/
Four Seasons: http://www.fourseasons.com/singapore/index.html
Fullerton: http://www.fullertonhotel.com/
Gallery: http://www.galleryhotel.com.sg/index.asp
Goodwood Park: http://www.goodwoodparkhotel.com.sg/
Grand Copthorne: http://www.grandcopthorne.com.sg/
Grand Hyatt: http://singapore.grand.hyatt.com/
Grand Plaza Parkroyal: http://www.plazapacifichotels.com/grandplaza/
Hilton: http://www.hilton.com/en/hi/hotels/index.jhtml?ctyhocn=SINHITW
Hotel New Otani: http://www.newotanisingapore.com/
Le Meridien: http://www.lemeridien.com/singapore/singapore/hotel_sg1670.shtml
M Hotel: http://www.millenniumhotels.com/flash.nsf/mhotel.htm
Marina Mandarin: http://hotels.meritus-hotels.com/meritus/marinamandarin/index.html
Marriott: http://marriott.com/property/propertyPage.mi?marshaCode=SINDT
Merchant Court: http://www.swissotel.com/ms-basics.asp?id=25
Meritus Mandarin: http://hotels.meritus-hotels.com/meritus/mandarin/index.html
Miramar: http://www.miramar.com.sg/
New Park: http://www.plazapacifichotels.com/newpark/
Orchard Hotel: http://www.orchardhotel.com.sg/MCIL.nsf/mainpager?openform
Orchard Parade: http://www.orchardparade.com.sg/
Pan Pacific: http://singapore.panpacific.com/
Paramount: http://www.ytchotels.com.sg/paramount/
Plaza Parkroyal: http://www.plazapacifichotels.com/plaza/
Raffles: http://www.raffles.com/raffles/mini_site/mini_site_general_information.asp?mini_site_id=7&content_group_type_id=5
Raffles The Plaza: http://www.raffles.com/raffles/mini_site/mini_site_general_information.asp?mini_site_id=8&content_group_type_id=5
Rasa Sentosa: http://www.shangri-la.com/eng/hotel/index.asp?h_location=singapore
Riverview: http://www.riverview.com.sg/
Royal Plaza Scotts: http://www.royalplaza.com.sg/
Shangri-La: http://www.shangri-la.com/eng/hotel/index.asp?h_location=singapore
Sheraton Towers: http://www.sheratonsingapore.com/index.html
Suntec: http://www.suntecsingapore.com/
The Oriental: http://www.mandarinoriental.com/hotelsite/frameset.asp?pWebCatId=18000013&pLevel=1&pHotelId=18&pHotelSite=1&pUserSessionId=115889885
The Regent: http://www.regenthotels.com/hoteldirectory/hotelbio.jsp?hotelCode=RISIN
The Ritz-Carlton: http://www.ritzcarlton.com/hotels/singapore/
Traders: http://www.shangri-la.com/eng/hotel/index.asp?h_location=singapore

sorry i have no time to look at every posting now... just back from bkk and u guys are moving so fast! hehe
but below is my update:

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage
8. DH - 18th Sept, TBD
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends

WOWWWWWWWW queenie you are the best!!!!!
so many webbies..... gonna take me a long time to go thru them all hee hee hee
thank you so much!!!!

welcome back coco^^ hows your trip?

Hi, I am new here. My ROM is 19th Sept 2005, on a Monday. Holding it outside ROM... Excited now!! I knw 18th Sept is a hot date man...and so is today... Hahaha...

hello patrick, seems like me and DH not the only guys already. more and more guys lor!!! hee hee hee

where did you intend to hold it??

sue> happy holiday to you too

all> ENJOYYYYYY your holidaysssssss!!!

wxyang> nothing fun abt the trip cos its meeting all the time! now getting sick liao...
called up a few JP tis morning but they are all booked

getting abit upset now cos some frens cannot attend my wedding.. 2 are due for delivery of bb, 1 is 'ban dang' abt attending too many 'white or red' occassion this yr and some have weddings on same day so will come later... my jie mei group also not form yet.

take it easy gal. these things sometimes do happen. most impt thing i think is to form your jie mei group coz thats where most of the fun are i think. and another thing is the main event that nothing goes wrong with it. you better take care of your body ah. ask your fh to buy you some tonic!! there are so many jps ard im sure you can find one that is available!! don stress k!!!

hi summer,

welcome!

coco,

dun get so stress up ya.i aso din get to attend my best frenz wedding n be her jie mei tis yr coz of overseas assignment.there r some things which u cant help it one.

agreed wif wxyang advice...

take care

Hi pepole!
i jz got back fr watching Star Wars.Super cool!

T'was a long day for me,went to pick tiles,sinks,taps etc for my new plc.Tmw,it's kitchen tops etc.Also,went RSYC to plc my deposit.I'm really killing 2 birds with 1 stone.Hope i wont get stressed.So far so gd.

wxyang,
i got it fr another thread,no biggie.As long it helps my buddies here.

coco,
dun sweat over the small stuff gal.I had chicken pox & cldnt attend my gd fren's wedding.Some things we jz cant help ya.Hang in there ya.We r all here to support each other thru tis testing period.

queenie,

muz b pretty exciting selecting all the things for yr luv nest ya.

hey,

any1 got david loh as JP?a gal fr another thread told me he made her hubby sing a song during the solemnisation.haha better get my FH prepared!

Gals, finally collected my wedding bands, kinda vexed cos the space to engrave ltd......

Wah a rainy day today hor......So nice to slp kekkekek

We went to chinatown oso n pass by some tailor stalls, they quote us $200 n above for a suit, depends on material. U all tink ard $200+ worth it not to tailor?

Queenie> I m so very sorrie, today then i checked my email which send pm to. Realise u pm me a few times, kekkeke. I emailed u ald k, go n see hor

wxyang, cherz, queenie> thanks for your advise & support! i will try to take things at a lighter note. i will call the JP again & look into forming my jie mei soon. after talking to my FH, i felt better too. i agree, some things are beyond our control..i'm sure frens will bless us all the same even thou they cant attend our wedding!

we went to pay deposit with Legends today (at least one thing down) & clarified some details. for those out there who are considering with Legends, pls do contact with Jessyln, she's our co-ordinator & has been very friendly & helpful

queenie> how exciting to prepare for your love nest! where did you get your sinks,taps etc from?have u started the reno works already? when will u b shifting in?

coco,
reno starting nx wk & gotta shift out fr current flat for new owners end of June.Toilet stuff fr imm,shopped with my ID lor.

Hello PEOPLE!

Bear's BACK!!! miss me?? so many posts...

1.queenie30 - 18th Sept,RSYC
2.Jaslyn - 18th Sept, Carlton Hotel
3.cherz - 18th Sept, Amara ppolside
4.Kitara - 18th Sept, SAF Yacht Club
5.Twink - 11th Sept, Conrad
6.weixiong - 18th Sept Chung Cheng High School (Main)
7.suelynn - 9th sept Registry of Marriage
8. DH - 18th Sept, TBD
9.interrace - 3rd sept ROMM.
10. coco - 18 sept, Legends
11. Bear - 22nd Sept, Zoo!

Hope all ur plans are going on smoothly! I saw some ring pillows with bears for RM46 in Penang. didn't get them though.. cos i have a teddy bear that will act as out 'ring bearer' that day...

i have arranged to meet Gdwood park Hotel to look at their ballroom.. cos their max is 25 tables.. which is in our range...

To the newbies - Kitara (ur name from Dragonlance???), Interrace, Twink and Patrick, WELCOME!

Hope that all is well for you.

I'm still trying to find a venue after the boo boo. I was offered an alternate venue by Raffles and will make a trip down to take a look. We love the lawn but now have to considering changing our ROM date even though 18th is a great day! Our AD falls on the 18th as well so it will be nice if both ROM and AD are on the 18th.

Welcome back bear! Hope that you had a great trip!

Coco> If there is any comfort, i'm in deeper mess than you. No venue and no JP yet which is why my venue is TBD as above =) Take it easy my friend.

Coco> dun worry too much, sometimes no choice. Got a few jiemei can ald.

Bear> u so fast see venue ald ah? kekkeke!

DH> all the best ah!

Queenie> gotta shift out by end june from current flat? u mean u have a place with FH now? or his parents place? will u be staying with in-laws after tat?

Bear> when is your AD? my cousin held hers at Goodwood Park 2 yrs back, i like the ambience there but there's pillars around so we were kinda 'isolated' from wats gng on at the stage. So we have to stand up & move forward to take a peek.

Suelynn> Thanks, i'm feeling better now
how's your job hunting going?

DH> have u cfm changing your rom date? wats the alternate venue offered by Raffles?

Hiya...

Just finish tuition.... zzzzz feeling slpy... Had a great trip! ate and ate and ate... heehee.. fat liao..

Ya, i looking for venues liao cos i m going to be busy looking for a place and doing it up from Sept till June next yr... so need to start looking now. hope to confirm my banquet stuff by Aug. One hotel a wk lor. heehee.. my AD is on 22nd Sept 2006, one yr aft my ROM.

Ya Coco, the Gdwood coordinator said 23 tables will have the perfect view of the stage while the other 2 tables will be blocked by the pillars. Is the food gd?

DH> ya what's the alternate place? may be no choice have to take this place instd.. i also dun want to have so many dates to rem! so AD and ROM on the 22nd! heehee...

bear,
we missed you!Esp ur early morning postings!!!
U drove up or took ur 1st flt to penang ah?
So wld u celebrate ROM or AD as anniversary?
Wat plc r u looking at ah?Why need 6 mths?Resale too?

DH,
since it's their boo boo,hope they r more willing to help accomodate to ur needs.Gd luck k!

coco,
current plc is fh's plc,his name alone.He's under 35.Dun ask me how tt's possible but it's HDB's boo boo so we bought resale or esle pay levy if gotten a brand new flat.Yes,FMIL will live with us,lucky me,she's nice.Then agn,i cant walk ard with my skimpiest lingerie ard my new plc,can I?

hi ladies. currently typing this post from boon lay. yes, i have shifted over. been so busy over the past few days.

i will be off on wednesday again. this time for a short hols at bali.
hee.

coco> my job hunting ah? nt much luck yet. Hope to find 1 soon....

welcome bk tea n bear!

so soon hols will be over hor, next 1 will be in aug....

bear> err... i can't really remember the food cos its 2 yrs back.. me old liao, memory not good.. but it shouldn't be bad otherwise i would have remembered it. take your time to check ard the hotels & compare, dun rush like me. happy searching!

queenie> haha.. yeah lucky you tat your FMIL is nice. but its the downside of staying with in-laws: no walking ard in next-to-nothing lingerie
however staying with her may have more ups compared to this, like someone cooking home-cooked meals for you.

suelynn> dun worry, i'm sure u will find your ideal job soon, keep the spirits up & jia you!!
u mentioned abt this tailor shop in chinatown, so have u engaged them? for tailoring your dress or your FH's suit? i tink $200 is pretty reasonable.

cherz> my fren's ROM is on 4th june & they have engaged david loh as the JP!! i hope it will be fun! too bad i cant get him but i will tell you guys later if he did lived up to his name hehehe...

tea> wah bali for how many days?? do update us more when u are back, will you? thanks. most likely i wont be gng for honeymoon but if bali is great, i might consider gng there for a short break

hi coco,
u owl ah?Do u have msn?Gimme ur email & we can chat.U dun accept PM leh.FMIL hardly cook caz we r all hardly at home.Hard to cook for 2-3ppl.She's active like karaoke,singing lessons etc kind.Better than stay home & nag type.

hi quennie> hehe sorry, i went to bed after i sent the posting this morning.. i used to sleep late but now i try not to cos must maintain mei mei mah... i do have msn but i seldom log on now cos dunno y i hve trouble loggin on at home, something is wrong wif my pc? will only log on at work. contact u when i do so yeah?
wah.. this type of MIL is very modern leh, good.. wont stay at home & be bored, then start nagging liao haha...

Queenie: haha, no, not pre-rom trip. but cos my points was going to expire, so used it to redeem for the tickets.

suelynn: sure, will let you know how it is over there. I will be there for 5D4N.
but cos of BF recent op, got to cancel the diving and trekkign trip. now wondering what we can do there....

queenie> ur fmil sounds like my mum kekekeke!

Tea, so gd can go hols.....Sorry wat did I ask??? Tink its nt me who asked lei.

Hee... u guys are really loyal to this forum!

SUELYNN!!!> read that u got somebody that can do both videography and photography for ROM? can send me the contacts.. FH thinking of getting a videographer now....

Tea> enjoy urself in Bali! Lucky u... u dive? i dive also! thinking of going for a trip nrxt mth. hrmmm.. thinking thinking thinking....

What's this abt FMIL??? today my FMIL had an arguement with FH so showed me the black face the whole day.. didn't want to talk to me nor eat the porridge i bought... Haizzz... AND i have to live with her aft my marriage!

Hi ladies!
Jz came bk fr FH cousin's wedding.Guess who was the JP?Mr Chan.My FBIL went to personally ask him for my ROM but of caz he's booked already.Sigh...
It was held @ Regent.Nice ambience & food.I heard 1 table $750,they had 40 tables.She wore 1 WG,2 EG.Got live band some more.Whoa!!!

tea,
where u gonna be staying for ur trip?Wow!U dive?So active ah?Today I went sun tan & swim so tired already.Oh ya,if u r superstitious,dun go to any temples there or else may be cursed & break up since not married.

suelynn,
may need ur contact as well for camera & video person.

annabelle,
my FMIL told me tt cant hv more than 1 wedding within a yr fr same family leh.Dunno if u superstitious or not.Also cant go to any weddings within 3 mths of each other.

Gd morning!!! Start of a work wk.. lucky only need to work 4 days!

Queenie> heehee.. u researched into superstitions?? i never heard abt the Bali one but the one abt attending weddings is quite common here... But i will just ignore it and go to as many as i m invited to... kinda silly to miss out on my frens' big day right?

bear: yes, i dive but am a lousy diver.... cannot control my bounancy. haha.

Queenie: you mean cannot go temple if not married ah?? interesting. never heard of this before. I have not book my lodging yet. Hopefully can do it later. will be staying at guest house.
I like the Regent hotel, the ambience is so nice.

Suelynn: ops, hee, think i got confused.

thanks queenie but we're not superstitious... if i wait one year after my FSIL than my house will be dusty liao... anyway i cant wait to live there... so never mind lor... my family dun mind... his mum also ok with it if his sister minds than she can dun attend...

Hey Annabelle have decided when to hold ur ROM? still in sept? Sorry if u have mentioned it before. I didn't go through all the posts that was written while i was away. If u decide to do it the way u want, then heck care ur FSIL! its ur wedding too...

Doris> hope u had a gd rest... i know i did! heehee...

Now looking for a package that have both photography and videography for ROM... anybody got lobang?? please let me know... Thanks!

Heee Kitara, i dunno what is Redmoon. Dragonlance is a very popular set of fantasy books that was published in 1981. Love those books.. There was a character there called Kitara too...