(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Cherz u thinking of changing career??? heehee...

Tea> Gd luck for ur balloting...

Queenie> agree, if a man wants to fool around anytime and place also can... makes me wonder why i m getting married in the first place. i read all the cheating spouse posts, all the 'no more love for spouse post', all the 'aft babies no love' posts, all the divorce posts and it made me feel really depress. what if it happens to me??????!

Bear: thanks. need all the luck man. hee.

Yeah, very true, if the man wants to cheat, he can do it anywhere and anytime. all the stuff that bear quoted are very real life issues. We cannot escape it, it is happening all around us. Guess getting married do have its own risk but we cant say that 'so-so marriage didnt work out.. so i should not get married..'

Look on the bright side, we are all with someone whom we do want to share our happiness, grief and life with. (pretty sure it is the same for our FH).

Btw, morning everyone.... hee, 'heavy' food for thought in the morning. ;)

Tea> ya i m feeling a bit depressed... tired. FH was very nice last nite... patting me to slp.. I fell aslp on him again... feel so guilty cos he traveled all the way from Simei to spend 1 hr with me before i zzzzzzzzzzzzzz....... i m always falling aslp on him nowadays.

May be its me and my cold feet, but reading those posts made me sick with fear. I m not one of those that cowers behind my fears. I m not saying that i dun wanna get hitch. But more how do i prevent these probs from happening? I read that a guy, after witnessing his wife giving birth, swore off sex! i wonder if this will happen to me!

i m those super worried type... like to freak myself out with stupid tots.. but ah i tell u i work best under stress...

May be i should go for marriage preparation classes.....

Bear: why are you do depress? cos of what you read? don be. *hugs*. I believe you have lotsa faith in your FH. If not, you will not have come so far with him. Making the decision to settle down is a very very big committment.

Oh, i think marriage preparation course is helpful. It will definitely prepare both of you for marriage life.
I will need to go for mine before AD as well cos i want to get married in church.

Queenie: btw, my bf staying near jurong point. i think should be near to your place.

Oh no Tea, so sorry... results out today ah? i tot will be in a few mths time? Cheer up gal... Looks for another place.. may be consider resale? U know resale also got grant?

I m depress cos i think i m tired, sick of working so hard... all i wanna do is zzzzzzzzzzzz... i read ppl's posts and think: hey i m also an ordinary person. This person with the prob could be me... there is no reason to think that it won't happen to me if u know what i mean..

I have a lot of faith in my FH... he is the one who never tot of leaving the relationship... honestly he loves me very very much and i know i m lucky to get a guy like him.. I love him lots too... think the prob is that i m a worry wart, worry abt every single thing... haizzzz...

me will call up some family service centres for the marriage prep course...

sigh... possibility that we might not be doing the ROM this year then... haiz. not so keen on resale cos of the cash that we need to fork out. but will look around and see how as we go along. haiz.

hey, cheer up bear. whenever you have doubts, just think of your FH. it will put a smile on your face. ;)

bear,

dun worry so much!!
My FH aso loves me very much.hee more than i do.so i never worry abt tis.but sometimes things do happen aso so cant take things for granted.if it happens then it is meant to be.so no pt worrying.... =)

hey tea,

tot results wont b out so soon???
dun b sad ya!!!me aso still looking....

Poor Tea> cheer up! there are millions of HDB flats out there... ask u ah, why u keep saying that u need to fork out hard cash? i m buying resale also dun need to fork out any cash!

Cherz> me better liao..

No always...

Let's say i like a 300K flat. I need to pay 20% downpayment (DP). if i choose a flat that is near my parents, the grant is 40K. The DP amt is 60K (20% of house value), i only need to pay 20K from CPF or cash....

That's why i m choosing a resale cos i only need to pay abt 20-30K from CPF..

Hi everyone, tis is my 1st time here!
my bf just proposed to me last mth, in tasmania

we are looking on either sept or jan next year for our rom.

Hi tea> i have applied for flat in amk last nov and ballot results in jan showed my no. to be way off so in the end, we gave up. anyway the unit which we are interested in are taken up.
we are now looking for resale flat @ valuation so tat we do not have to fork out any hard cash. so far, we have viewed 20+ units. tiring!!

Hello Angeline!

Welcome here!

We are all ROMing in Sept... when will u confirm ur date? wah u intending to marry and move in ASAP? to buy resale u need to show the cert by ur 2nd appointment with HDB...

I m ROMing on Sept 22nd! have u selected a BS (bridal salon) yet?

Hi bear> we have asked a feng shui master to select a date for us, either 18 sept or 9 jan. we still cant decide on the date.. cos we dunno if we wan to hold the customery together, if its sept then will be too rushed & cash tight!! but if its jan, then we will have prob if we found an ideal hse mid way.. gosh

we would really like to get a hse & move in asap cos my bf is beaten from splitting this time between myself & his family.. haha.. and of cos, we wan our own haven too

we have placed deposits with Whitelink 2 yrs ago.. other then tat, simply have no clue as to which boutique is good, the style of wedding gown we want or where to hold the rom/dinner!! anyone care to share?

btw my bro is getting married in nov so does anyone knw if i hold mine within 2 months of his, will it clash??

hi angeline...

welcome here!

18th sept is supposed to be the most auspicious date in 2005.i am goin to rom on this date aso.but its a sunday so if u wanns tis date hav to look for venue soon.

i tink it will be super rush if u wan hold yr customary together in sept.coz i hav a frenz having her customary on 11 sept n she is taking her photoshoots next mth.she is wif white link aso.i duno how long in advance u need be4 yr customary if u mtm yr gown.hee a lot of stuff to consider.sept aso hot mth to hold AD so a lot of hotels may b booked.

hmm.....we cant attend ppl customary if it is like 4mths to ours.so i tink yrs will clash wif yr bro leh.unless there r exceptions to family members...duno leh..i not very familiar wif these....

hi cherz,

congrats to you!! are you holding yours at the rom building or outside? have u got all your things prepared?

yeah i knw its gonna b super rush to hold eveything in sept but we thot of getting a simple reception or lunch only.. not the traditional dinner hopefully cos it can b very tiring (esp for bride). just my thots.

i din knw 18th sept is most auspicious in 2005 so i better hurry! btw, can you help me get feedback from your fren after her photoshoot with whitelink? i wan to decide whether to pay up balance amt to take up package or use the deposits for my rom only. which BS are you using?

btw wat does AD means? hehe.. i'm lost here

oh no.. i do wan to attend my bro's wedding!! he said he dun mind... so does my family cos we are not tat particular then again, marriage is so important, i dun wan things to screw up for us.. eekks

Angeline, if u wanna do ur customary together with ur ROM in Sept, it will be a big big rush.. plus i think 18th Sept is fully booked for hotels liao.. restuarants not sure... i know cos i have been talking to some other ppl here who have already booked the dinner in Nov 2006!!

Photoshoot (PS) should be taken min 3 mths before AD. to have a make to measure (MTM) wedding gown (WG) u need abt 6 mths...

Abt ur bro's wedding, i think u shouldn't have ur customary 2 mths before, cos ppl might think u want to snatch their limelight!! (yes there are some very bo liao ppl around!)

My advice is to do ur ROM first in sept then do ur customary in Jan. better for the 2 of u... and also give u time to reno ur new house..what do u think? don't u want ur wedding to be nice and relax instead of rushing through it and not enjoying urselves??? in this way u can get ur dream house in sept and won't clash with ur bro...

angeline,

i am holding my rom at Amara poolside.18th sept is a sun n rom premises dun open on sun so u hav to do it outdoor if u wan it dat day.

i am not taking any BS coz my AD still far...mayb 2007.

no problem abt feedback on whitelink.so far so good...no negative comments abt them fr my frenz.

Hi bear> i like your idea of doing my rom in sept & customary in jan!! i've nvr thot abt it tis way... worth considering! thanks a mil

yes yes i do wan to take my time to plan & enjoy every min of it. as for my wedding clashing with my bro, is there really such bo liao ppl ard?!?!
btw bear, r u gng to hold you rom in sept? may i knw whereabt is yours held at?

cherz> are you inviting JP for your solemnisation? how much do we give? thanks for the whitelink thingy!

Hi bear> i like your idea of doing my rom in sept & customary in jan!! i've nvr thot abt it tis way... worth considering! thanks a mil

yes yes i do wan to take my time to plan & enjoy every min of it. as for my wedding clashing with my bro, is there really such bo liao ppl ard?!?!
btw bear, r u gng to hold you rom in sept? may i knw whereabt is yours held at?

cherz> are you inviting JP for your solemnisation? how much do we give? thanks for the whitelink thingy!

angeline,

yup.i invited david loh as my JP.haha i veri KS...once i decided the rom date last year, i asked david loh if he is available.

i tink the minimum to give is $28 to reimburse their tpt costs.i am not so sure abt the exact min amt.

kao_welcome2.gif

Welcome angeline!!!

tea,
yup,my FH flat is 2 bus stops fr JP & our new flat is walking distance.
Dun be sad k.Consider resale,keep ur options open.I took bank loan so cash outlay abt $16k but I've been working a long time so my CPF helped us alot plus my FH contra.

bear,
both my FH & myself got many friends who r divorced.Anywayz,divorce isnt end of the world.Take my dad for eg,he divorced twice bfe he found The One for the 3rd time ard.Haha!But,what i admire is he didnt lose faith in love.I learn many lessons fr him jz fr his divorces.Everything happens for a reason.

U see,sometimes I really feel that we gals in general put too much time into the wedding but not much thot abt the marriage.Which one gonna lasts longer?

cherz,
wat time is ur ROM at amara?

angeline,
18 Sept is the 15th day of the 8th lunar mth.
3mths wld be the ideal duration btwn 2 weddings or each couple may snatch the other's luck.

U can choose to defer up to 3 mths fr 2nd HDB appt to show ur ROM cert.If u want to extend the deferment,u may write a letter to HDB explaining ur reasons.They r not gonna knock on ur door if u dont either.Only thing is if u still havent ROM by the time u intend to sell ur flat,then u'll have a prob lah.

Yup,cherz is right $28 for JP,no more,no less.U may invite them to the reception as well.

Gd morning!!

Angeline> I m doing it on 22nd Sept at the zoo.
Yes there are bo liao ppl around... really! just go and look at the threads in this forum abt bo liao BILs and SILs!!!

Queenie> u are right abt us gals worrying so much abt the wedding and not abt the marriage! that's why i keep on thinking abt my life with my FH after marriage. whether we can go the distance or not. No divorce is not the end of the world. but i feel, right now, i love my FH so much! can't imagine a day without him, can't imagine having a divorce. Even so divorces are emotionally draining. i never want to be in that position ever! if u get what i mean. Anyway i have looked up the MCDS webby and FH and I both agree to go for marriage preparation course... though both of us prefer to go to anger management class!! heehee...

Abt ang bao to JP> only $28 meh???! i asked the zoo ppl (they are arranging to get a JP for me) and they said minimum $50!

welcome angeline.

Gals: yeah, will keep a lookout for resales flats at valuation.

Queenie: oh, think we will be staying real close after i shift to BF's place. Hee.

TGIF. :D

queenie,

my rom is 1pm.yup i am inviting the JP for lunch after dat.mayb giving him a bottle of wine or wat on top of the $28.

GOOD MORNING!!!!

bear> wah zoo.. interesting! i pressume u are renting a space in the zoo? so how much do they charge u for? and wat other things are they helping you set up?

me too, would want to grow old with my bf, cant imagine life w/o him! when i knew him, he was overseas studying, in his finals so we were not apart for tat long but enough to kill haha.. then 3 months ago, i had a minor op and he really tok care of me, helping me cleansed the wound etc. wat more could a girl ask for right?
we nvr knw wat will happen tmr so we shud treasure for all we can. i'm for the marriage prep course so can anyone recommend me a good one?? oh yah.. and anger mgmt course too!! :p

gals> btw i'm looking for resale flat at hougang area so if u have any lobang, do let me know ok? thanks!!

$28 for JP and balance for the zoo to keep is it? hehe..

Thanks for all your replies. Appreicate them.

Hi Cherz,
So you have booked with Amara for lunch slot on 18 Sept? How long will the whole thing last?

polaris,

r u angeline???
yup i bked wif amara last yr.i tink they give me 2hrs for the whole thing.muz go back see the contract coz i am in HK.

Hey another newbie! Welcome Coco!

Ya i m at the zoo.. u email me i will send u the zoo's quote ok? are u going to ROM in Sept too?

for the marriage prep course, u can look in MCDS webby.. there are many FSC doing it.... choose one near ur place.. actually u can also do it online but i feel that is too impersonal liao.

sorry for the confusions gals!!
coco angel = angeline
i made a change in the name yesterday

bear> i will email to you then u sent me the zoo's quote ok? thanks!

Hi Ladies !!!

Cherz > How come you are staying in HK for so long??

Bear > how is your job???

Queenie > Need to seek your advice, which cosmetic brand foundation is better? Apply already can last whole day without oily oily looking?? IU got an infection on my wisdom tooth... spend more $$ now. Do you think Tiffany ring is worth the money and value? Saw one pair of Wedding Band and fall in love with it. By the way, how do I upload pictures on the thread???

Suelynn > Are you in Aussie now or back in Singapore?

Teacup > How is your ROM preparation going on?

Gals, anyone of you here know if Chris Ling does a good job for AD photography?

Welcome Polaris, Coco to this thread...
So you gals are ROMing in Sept this yr too??

Hi GingerCat> i'm still deciding whether to rom in sept or jan hehe.. will discuss with my bf tis weekends. how abt yourself? when & where are u holding the ceremony?
sorrie i dunno abt Chris Long~

Gingercat: oh no, is your infection better now? we were all missing u.
to upload photos, just click on "Upload Attachment" and then select the pic from your file. It cannot be larger than 400x400.

Kris> My job is fine.. though i won't be with the lab anymore, there will be another lab auditing job i think.. now everything still vague.

Tiffany rings are always worth their value. cos there are something money just can't buy.. Tiffany's branding is one. But if ur work requires u to do rough work then better not risk the Tiffany ring liao.

Oh ya, Chris Ling personally don't do AD.. dunno if his other ppl will do it or not...

Cherz > Wah... Think by the time when you come back Singapore, you will go ahead with all those Laksa, Mee-Siam Etc... Anyway, manage to make any cheong-sam over in HK??

Coco > I will be having my ROM on 24 Sept 05 at Furama Riverfront Hotel. My AD is on 24 JUNE 2006. Your bf so romantic, at least he propose to you...
My one, hiaz... never proposed.

Tea > Thanks, my wound healed up totally already. But I look like chipmunk for almost 2 weeks... Thanks for your info. tea... heehehe... later tonight try to load some rings picture.

Bear > No worries now, take one step at a time... My company also out source my dept to an outsourcing vendor... Now I am with the outsourcing vendor but still working within the same place. Chris Ling associates does photography

gingercat> did you book a function room with the hotel? i'm thinking of booking a small function room or maybe poolside for my rom, so i'm checking out the price. anyone knows the range?

well i've been feeding him ideas of proposing to me & not the usual lets-get-the flat excuses since last yr.. haha.. and he did it right in a romantic lodge which we put up in tassie :p

actually it doesn't matter if your bf proposed so long as he treats you well & love you lots! one can say alot & put up romantic front but if he's not sincere abt the whole thing, it stil doesn't last rite

btw, mind if i ask what is your infection abt? hope u are fully recovered.

gingercat,

i put on a lot of wt in HK coz the pork chop here nice.every meal is fill wif meat!!!omg...i seriously need to lose wt when i return spore for the rom!!

is cheongsum cheap in HK???i tink china cheaper rite.anyway i had my rom gown liao.if not i may consider making in HK.

Hi Cherz,
I am not Angeline, I am new =). Actually, do u have Michelle's contact? hand phone no.? I am interested in Amara too but need to clarify some questions with her as I think 18 Sept is fully booked. May need an alternative date. Do u have JP David Loh contact no too? Is he as good as everone say? my e-mail add: [email protected]

Hi all, seems like you have so much experiences that I can learn from. Thanks for all these useful information too.

Hiyee!!!
Poor u gingercat...hope u'll get better soon.I totally knw how it feels caz I also kena infection.
Foundation huh?Wat is ur skin type?I'm using Bobby Brown compact foundation,I've got combination skin.Easier to apply compared to liquid.Is there any particular brand u wld prefer?

Aiya,my FH also havent proposed yet.

Honestly,I think Tiffany's not worth caz u r paying for the brand,shop,ads & the blue box with the little white ribbon.Think abt it lor.Plus,it's mass production.Go customize ur wedding bands if u r particular abt design or go do one jz like Tiffany's & pay less.The decision is your's.

polaris
U can get JP David Loh's contact & other JP at http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_interpreters.asp

tea,
welcome to the JW in advance.

bear,
$28 for JP as they do service to community,it's jz a token.Dunno why zoo told u $50 but it's really up to u lor.
I dunno anyone gg for the marriage preparation course,do share with us aft u been k.

cherz,
cheongsum in Shanghai way cheaper.But workmanship,HKG wld be better I think.

Hey, its Sat and i m back in the office... zzzzzzzzzzzz... some visitors to the lab....

Okok, reminded FH abt the marriage prep course. Will go and look it up further... Tot u going to Mel Queenie???

Feel like slping.. will be going to the outdoor show later.... zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.....

hi polaris,

sorry i dun help u wif michelle n david loh's contact no. now as i am in HK.i tink u can get david's number in the JP thread.i got it from there too.as for michelle, mayb u can email here for her phone no.

hey the thread is quite quiet today ya.

for those who r doin rom outdoors,hav u tot of doin yr own vows?
i tot if it but duno how 2 go abt doin it!

Hi Ladies!!!

Coco > We will be using the coffee lounge for our ROM. The hotel allow us to use it for 4 to 5 hours. So not that bad afterall... most importantly, the ambience is there.
I have my wisdom tooth extracted and it got infected on the gums... but now everything back to normal... just a bit sick on antibotics.

Cherz > I know Shenzhen is cheap in making cheongsum, but for HK, it was my HK counter part colleagues who tell me about it. How do we do our own vows???

JP - David Loh Tel : 97425005
Fax : 64893003

Do remember to check with him on his availabilty date before faxing the form over to him .

Queenie > My skin type is I also dunno... Sometime, my skin will start peeling off from my face but when I apply foundation or make-up, after 2 hours or so, it start to get very greasy... dun like it... Do you think the brand that you are using will be suitable for me? Myabe I can copy Tiffany design and get the jeweller to make it.

Tea > Still cannot upload picture.

hIhI !!!!

how's the weekend for everyone? any interesting place to recommend in s'pore?
btw, have u ladies met up before?

bear> wat oudoor show did you go to? are u into plays & concert?

gingercat> so i reckon no food & drinks will be provided? how many ppl can u accomodate at the lounge? wisdom extracted.. argh... i hate gng to dentist.

btw, why is JP David Loh so popular??