(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

gingercat,

hee i hav no idea how 2 do our own vows...dats y asking u all!!!

coco,

we never met up be4....
heard ff ppl dat david loh is very friendly...he will bring his props for the rom....n entertain the guests as well....

Hi Ladies!!

Coco > Interesting place? Depending on what purpose... Well, in the June 2006 bride, we are planning to have dinner together. Currently, we are trying to fix a date. It will be great if this thread - Sept 2005 have some gathering going on.
Oh, my ROM package includes hi-tea ( 12 different kinds of snacks etc ) and a night stay in their bridal room. Drinks are provided too. This package is for 30 people but the lounge can take up to 60 pax.
David Loh is a popular JP because he will make the session relax.

cherz> oh i thot u gals have met b4 cos u seem to knw each other pretty well

gee, really? he seems interesting & responsible in his work!
during my cousin's wedding last yr, her JP was late for the appointed time so they have to call him up!! found out he has forgotten abt it!! he's an ang moh but i din find out his name. gosh, imagine how it will b if he had went on holidays
kao_scared.gif

i dun mind having a gathering.hee but when i get back ya....

hey gingercat.

how much did the hotel charge u?
i am still trying to cut down my guest list.hav abt 50pax now.s0 will sum up to abt $2K.big expense!!

coco,

hey yr cousin's JP very irresponsible leh.tis is the last thing u wan to it to happen on yr rom day!!

Hey Peeps,

I will be on course till wed, so can't check the thread till late.. lucky course ended earlier today, have some time to check before tuition later..

Coco> I went to the outdoor wedding show on Sat at fort canning. gotta tell u it was rather disappointing. Went there to look at flowers but the vendors only showed photos...

No we have never met before, though i would love to. Think it will be rather hard cos everybody has their own plans at nite and on wkends...

Tea> Did u go? felt i wasted a trip there....

Cherz, we have to recite the 'standard' vows is that not? i think i will do so.. too lazy to think of one myself.. heehee... 2K for 50 pax is ok leh Cherz! The zoo is charging my 2.6K for 30 pax.. seems like my guest list in growing longer cos everyone wants to come!!! already exceed 30 pax liao!!!!

Bear,

i tink can add yr own vows on top of the standard vows...duno leh.never knew any1 who created their own vows.

how much is the zoo goin to charge for an additional pax?Yr is outdoor aso rite.i am very afraid of wet weather leh!

Hey Cherz,

It will cost me $60++ per pax if i wanna top up. But this includes admission and tram ride.

There is a wet weather plan, also at a very very exotic place.. so i m not really worried. the place is where i m going to have my lunch. fully air con...

My friend had an angmoh JP too & to think angmohs can pronouce properly,we were shocked to hear he said "comfort" to sound like "come f***".This is true.Some of us were like looking ard to see if others heard it too.Geez!

My personal view of self written vows r rather er...like poseurs lah.I think dun malu ouselves by doing such things.U'll nvr knw wat happens 5yrs down the road,if u knw wat I mean.
But if u really wanna,they r some websites tt can gv good inspirations & jz tell the JP u got own vows u wish to do on tt day.

cherz,
my guest list also growing fr 30 to abt 60 now.Jia lat!How to stop it??

gingercat,
I feel tt to find a suitable cosmetics or skin care product is thru trial & error.Our skin is alwayz chg esp as we grow older or certain time of the mth or climate all play a role.
I think u hv dry skin caz it peels & maybe the foundation is oil base tt makes it greasy?Also foundation jz apply wear u need,not whole face k.I macham beauty consultant,heehee!I'll help where I can k.

bear,
watz the wet weather plan?
A gathering sounds fabulous!I knw those in May ROM gonna hv gathering too!

Morning ladies.

gingercat: is your pic file very big? you will not be able to loan anything larger than 400x400.

bear: i went to the show on friday evening after work. not as good as i expected. i can get all the info online actually. Really hope i can do my wedding outdoor... did a draft calculation, the cost is almost the same as hotel. plus the older folks may not like it. dilemna.

Yeah, think we should all meet up for coffee one day.
hee.

Hi tea,
I think all these wedding shows r jz gimmicks.I really wonder can they profit if it falls below expectations
Instead of outdoor,wat abt alfresco?Not totally outdoors.If it's in the evening,not too bad for the old folks & kiddos.

Morning Ladies

Cherz > For 30 pax with food and drinks, usage of hotel lounge and one night stay is about 1k. I dun intend to invite a lot of people.

Queenie > Maybe I will go ahead and try prescriptive. They have those for all type of skins...Oh... now I know foundation cannot apply the whole face.

Ladies ladies... care to meet up for dinner someday... if time permits and lets wait for cherz to come back.

morning ladies!

queenie,

my guest list aso growing coz when u invite some ppl then cannot leave the rest out.then some frenz r couples.i will try to squeeze the guest list to 50 pax!!

gingercar,

yr charges is alright.mine charges for 30pax wif a nite stay is aso $1K.

Heard gd comments abt prescriptive foundations n powders.can try.
i have been using clarins pdts intro by my aunt.so far so gd!

hey u all can go ahead wif the gathering coz i still duno when i coming back yet...

Hi gals, am still in melborne. Nw using the internet kiosk machine at the state library waiting for my fren to meet me n have dinner. So boring at nite, everyday watch tv only cos all the shops close so early except thurs n friday.

Miss Sg food. I tink of fries nw I'll shudder. Went to a farmstay over the weekend. The owner of the farm is a celebrant, he soleminise couples. Got some ideas from him, will share with u all details when I'm back. He is so cute, he suggested I do my solemnisation over at his farm, his hse n garden, lakes are terrific but I tink it will cost a big bomb for everyone to fly there.

hi suelynn,

so great to hear from u!!

hee i aso miss sg food.better dun eat too much fries ya.if not too heaty!

so cool if can solemnise overseas.

Dinner sounds great.. but i have to check my schedule... tuition on 4 wk nites...

Suelynn> enjoy the cool weather while u can!! its sweltering hot here!!!

Queenie> the zoo has arranged another venue for me to do my solemnisation if it rains. What they do is to check with u 2 hrs before the whole thing to see if u wanna go ahead with the outdoor thingy if the sky is overcast. if no, they will set up an indoor location for me.

suelynn> hi, i'm a newbie

are u in melb holidaying, study or work? i just came back from there early apr.. i love tat place. been there for a few times already and i still want to go back for more. my bf & i did thot of solemnising there cos it holds alot of memories for us, but again, quite impossible to have families & frens fly there. do share with us your ideas when you are back yeah!
weather should be getting colder now rite..shiok!

gingercat,
dont mean to burst ur bubble but prescriptives gonna be out of sg in afew mths time so either u stock up or dun even start using in case u love it.

suelynn,
glad to hear fr u gal.We miss u!Was there few days ago & gg agn nx wk.Weather not exactly cool yet huh?Well,u can alwayz do ur vows agn in say 10yrs time at the farm jz ur hubby & u,soleminiser & the farm animals.So romantic!

bear,
the zoo sounds like a wonderful venue.

cherz,
funny ppl wanna go my ROM too!As the day draws nearer,I bet many ppl wld hv a tough time deciding which wedding to go since 18 Sept is a hot date!

tea,
check this out http://www.blessedrom.com/

queenie,

hee wat kind of funny ppl wanna go yr rom???
i had the same thoughts as u too abt the sept 18 date.hopefully, we can reduce our guest list by then....

cherz,
heeheehee!!!!!I meant funny,ppl wanna go my ROM,forgot the comma lah.

It's like if I went to their's,they expect to go to mine.All wanna get a "fine".Now,tt's funny!

ha, me and bf have not decide on date yet. think both of us a bit sian by the ballot result the last few days. But ok now, starting looking at other areas and resale.

Cherz: I will be going to HK on the 2nd week of may.
first time going there. hee. you want me to bring any food over for you?

Gingercat: yeah, saw the newspaper headline that prescription is going to be out of sing. a bit upset cos i really like their products. but not planning to stock up cos i only use make up when i have external meetings... so don know when i will finish my current set.

Queenie: thanks for the link. saw them at the outdoor show. Need to check the charges with them.

tea,
u gg HK for work?U may get culture shock,I dunno.

Blessrom core biz is tentage,tables & chairs-logistics but they can help u with the rest like food & venue as well.They dont come cheap.I spoke to a nice lady,Dawn.

U knw cosmetics all got expiry date,so dun keep more than 1 yr k.

queenie: yup yup. i actually write the dates on all my cosmetics, except for those lipsticks and eyeliner (no space). :D

yeah, going hk for work.
will be going to Taiwan first then HK, have not decide if I should stay the weekend in Taiwan or HK.

tks tea....but i hope i will be back in spore by the 2nd wk of May.

hey u can do facial in HK leh.cheaper...i did mine for only $35.In spore i spent abt $90.

queenie,

i din get culture shock when i wk in HK now leh.mayb i din wk at the central area.

u noe of any gd shoppping place in HK?

Hey!

So many things.. from tmr onwards i m back in business...

Lucky u Tea! get to go overseas for work.. wish i could too....

Ya i m using prescriptives too!! i like their stuff very much.. their traceless foundation smells great!!!! too bad they are pulling out.. now dunnow what brand to use? Lancome?

bear: oh, good to have you back. hee. this could be my last trip for a while... changing department next month... so don know what is install for me. oh well, better enjoy this one and not think too much.

tea,
in HKG,i think anywhere also can shop.Everywhere I go,there r lots of shops leh esp Kowloon side.If u like city life then no culture shock.Guess like sg jz that sidewalks r narrower.
U gg taipei?I'd prefer HKG any time.

Went for dinner with my friends at Amara htl & then went to their swimming pool on the 6th fl to tk a peep.There were 4 tables with decor there near the door.Prob preparing for someone's wedding.We walked ard,it's pretty nice.Can consider.

Hi bear,
i dunno abt lancome,my fave brands r shu uemura,kose,bobby brown & mac.Used estee lauder for 8yrs for skin care then switched to origins & now jurlique,australian product sold in HKG,m'sia but sg dun hv.

Wat products do y'all use ah?

Hi fr seoul!
bear ah,
greasy?Wat product?Eye shadow?Think it depends how u prepare ur face bfe applying make up to avoid it being greasy or dun go for cream type.Not really sure wat u talking abt leh.Tell me more so i can do my best to help u k.

Hi gals, me back!!!

Queenie> There's jurlique stuff sold in sg, but its ex, but its so much more ex in msia. I always get friends relatives to buy fr Aus airport one. I love the rosewater n lavender handcream. Let me noe if u need sg jurlique contacts. Nw u in Seoul ah, I miss the cuttlefish there.

I fall in love with Korean cosmetics after I went there lei, now using the face shop n missa prdts. They have a shop in bugis, cheap n gd, can go n try.

coco> Me not a student there, was a tourist in melbourne hehehhe.

Gotta go slp nw, jet lag plus I slp early in Oz cos at nite nothing to do, gotta go Koon....nites. Will read more tml

Hey all! morning!

Queenie> u now some foundations feel greasy on ur hands? think it is oil based ones... i like a lighter foundation cos my skin is rather oily. But i also gotta cover some pimple scars... haizzz. i tot i found my perfect foundation in prescriptive's traceless... but now they pulling out... haizzzz

Glad u are back Suelynn!!! makes the forum more lively!!

Hi gals!!!!

Tea> Y stress? I oso lei, start to stress abt being jobless again......

Din get a dress fr aus lei, so sad, put on weight ald, need to jian fei soon!

Hey Suelynn glad to see that u are back... did the ppl get back to u abt the job? the one u went for the interview before u left for Aus???

Don't stress ok gals? think abt ur ROM day and i think it will bring a smile to ur lips.

My hp got prob lei, then i dun have autoroam for abt 1 week, so i dunno lei, my mum say alot of ppl call my hm, dunno issit the companies

hai i aso very stressed n depressed now...all coz of work.i am going back spore next wkend n coming back HK again the following wk!!tink i will b in Hk quite frequent.....i am so afraid dat i got no time to prepare for rom stuff.

welcome back suelynn!
Wat did u enjoy most abt ur trip?

I knw there r jurlique at Basic Essence at Holland V where i do ear candling & facial but since I go Aussie land pretty frequently,i get my stuff there but A$ been abit high for awhile now so...dont mind the contact though if they can get cheaper somehow.I prefer the lavender handcream.I'm using alot of their stuff.
U shd've activated ur autoroaming lah.Gg mel agn on monday.

Jet lag?Welcome to my world!

bear,
if u got oily skin,u cant use oil base make up lah girl.Use water base.Try bobbi brown lah.Buy $150,get 6 free make up lessons.Their make up techniques r modern compared to the rest.Plus they record all ur details in their data.

Anyone can tell me what are the things I need to get to file for marriage? JP signature on a form?
If my solemnisation is outdoor, what procedure to do or get from ROM before that day? I tried the web, but not very clear except to file for notice for marriage

Hi polaris,
i'm not sure wat r u unclear abt leh.Think the web is very clear abt it.Yes,u need to file notice of marriage,need to get consent form signed by JP if doing outside.U'll need to go to ROM afew days bfe intended date to verify the documents r true & correct by taking an oath.

Thanks Queenie,
Do I have to send my consent form to the JP or good enough thru fax? I thought we can do e-filing for notice for marriage? So when do we need to go down ROM personally? except for the few days before to verify docs? My FH not in town until Sept, so I need to know if we can do all this without him here at all. Sorry to ask all these questions as I am doing all this alone =(

This is Polaris again. I have just called David Loh and his is fully booked on the date os my ROM. Anyone can tell me which other JP I can approach? I know there is a list but I don't want to pick anyone in case those JP not very popular may not be familar or even remember my special day after agreeing now (heard from this forum that one couple got a JP who forgotten their date and time and they have to call him up last minute to wait for him to arrive.

Need help!!!

angelsky,
fr wat i knw the lady at basic essence told me jz tell them wat products u need & she can order for u.

polaris,
yup can fax to JP.Filing of notice of marriage is thru e-filing.These r 2 different things u knw.Aft e-filing,u will be informed of wen to come down to ROM.E-file u need ur FH,ur 2 witnesses & ur IC nos.Make sure u get all the names right as well.Ur date & venue plus Solemnizer's Name and License No.Hope it helps ya.

polaris,
when is ur ROM?If it's a popular date,many popular JPs wld hv been booked so we cant really pick & choose,wld jz be lucky to get someone to marry us.Jz go with ur heart.Anywayz,it's the couples' responsibility to call the JP 3 days bfe date to remind him.

Yup, gals, thats the place to get Jurlique items from Basic essence, they supposed to be in orchard emerald or somewhere there but since I have frens n have been going to Oz, I nvr really get my stuff from sg's agent. I love the handcream n rose-water essence!

I activated auto-roam but I dunno wat happen lei...There was abt a week when the reception is really bad when I was at the farm etc. Damn sian, monday gotta start calling all the agencies n those co I went for interviews to enquire.