(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

Kris> Dun be angry cos no pt, u are paying for it lei. Y are u so angry, u got nothing to lose, in fact they are the one who's losing ur biz. Wedding is nt cheap, be happy gal!

Can always find another venue, try panpac, jus next door to them only mah. They refuse to budge even for u all to meet any one of the things u requested? Tink they got the take it or leave it attitude so be it.

But do take note that some hotels do give more perks to couples who took bigger ballroom/ during promo. There are many hotels out there. Maybe u can try hotel intercon since they are having wedding shows, gd chance to source for venue during shows.

Gd morning!

Agree, Kris, u are paying an arm and a foot for ur wedding. Why should u put up with slipshold standards??? Heck them and go look around ASAP. Don't bother to negotiate further. u are only wasting precious time.

Suelynn> my priorities are rather simple. I don't need a MTM dress cos i have rather simple taste. But i need a kerbaya as my tea dress and a ROM dress... I dunno if i want 1 or 2 EG. though. Of cos i m willing to splurge on the photos, provided the style is what i like! =) Car wise, i dun really need one cos i have relatives with Mercs and Beemers. Can borrow from them. Of cos i need a gd suit for my FH as he is very skinny! That's abt all.. However my FH has given me a budget of 5K for everything including extra photos... is this a reasonable amt?? I have shortlisted a couple more places to go next sat with my best fren. Dun want my FH to go with me as i dun wanna bore him to death!!

Tulipger> Hello and welcome! When is ur ROM exactly?

Bear> I oso dowan MTM cos I find it risky, designer may nt produce the gowns I want. Standard package is a WG, EG n teadress for actualy day, photoshoot, they will give u more, probably extra 3-4 sets on top of ur AD's costume. Car wise they will give extra photo or deduct $. So far we jus leave it in the package we ask for cos we want some other cars as wedding car. All these u shortlist already then negotiate if u wanna finally sign up.

$5k is very reasonable but provided u stick to ur budget, I have frens who cant resist n end up paying more than budget, had one who paid $5k for their $3k package. Another to $10k.Jus tat if u get mid range BS, u can get more fotos with tat same amt at a more high end one. Since u are nt very into gowns details cos some ppl like lace, crystals etc, u can actually go to any BS that u find their photography styles comfortable. But seriously I tink u betta get ur own Kerbaya cos its nt that ex n u have freedom of choosing the design u like, nt many bs I visit have Kerbaya.Guys suit u can always negotitate to let them put down mtm suit for rental on contract if ur FH cant fit into any suit.

Gd luck n let us noe hws ur window shopping like

So who did u signed up with in the end Suelynn?

Hrmm the think is there are so many to BS to choose from.. i m getting a headache thinking of it... plus i m rather soft heart.. always a sucker for salesman.. need my FH or another fren to pull me away... sad hor.. i m like fish bait for the great white sharks...

Another headache is the kerbaya.. dunno where to source for it...

Another headache is what type of dress to wear for my ROM cos the zoo will be providing me with a horse carriage.. dun wanna trip and fall off it!! (i m super clumsy)

morning ladies,

so much discussions on gingercat's banquet.i havent done research on banquet yet so cant offer much suggestions.follow yr heart ya gingercat.

hey how much r u all willing to spend on shoes for rom or wedding?open toes or covered ones?i saw somw nice ones in HK here.

Bear> I havnt sign up with any lei,jus sourcing oso. Another gd thing abt nt going with FH is u say u need t bring him down cos he's the one paying n tell the BS u come back another time. Yah too many to choose fr, maybe u can shortlist fr bridal mags, fren reccomendations 1st then cut down to probably 2-3. If u still got energy then u continue to find somemore. Rom dress u oso can get ideas fr bridal mag, then try at the BS u enquiring n see hw u feel etc.

Cherz> I wont spend too much on my shoes cos I had this pair dat cos $200 plus n only 3 mths the whole shoes beyond repair. Am super clumsy as well so my shoes shelf life is very short. Tink I'll spend ard $50 liddat for my bridal shoes next time.I like open toes shoes, covered toes hurt my toes. Only wk then I wear.

Lucky gal Cherz! In HK!!!

Hrmmm, i think the most impt factor is how easy it is going to be to wear. cos have to balance in the WG and undo ur shoes is really a tough act for me...

Oh ya, i prefer short heels cos i m rather tall... but price wise i dunno how much i m going to spend. depends if i like it or not lor...

Hi Ladies...

I have sent Chin Leng an email to remove the topics I posted in regards to MM. Some people just dun admit their fault and even called and scolded people for ruining their reputation.

I copy the email directly and posted here... there are no lies in it... Dun understand y they wanna face so much. I dun want to have anything to do with MM anymore. Worst come to worst. I have it in a restaurant.

U mean someone actually called and scolded u for insulting and ruining ur reputation? well if we complain by the word of mouth wouldn't the effect be the same??? strange...

Cool down Kris, just ignore them and find some place better....

Hi Ladies...

Welcome Tulipger... sorry today I very lifeless...

Bear > Yah, someone from MM called my FH and ticked us off very badly... even complained to my MIL. They said that we are ruining their reputation.... and even wanted me to take off this posting. I just feel that they are born soar loser thats all. Anyway, I have confirmed with Orchard Mandarin already. At least their services and the items we required, they can accomodate to us. And last , they are much much cheaper compared to MM.

Cherz > I am same age as your FH.

wah lau,

how did MM noe u hav all these postings here?their acts will only ruin their reputation.dun need care abt them ya.

Kris> Actually, wat u post here must be very careful cos those package etc, BS, hotels dun dun really like public postings. Take tis as a lesson, they are not the only hotel in Singapore, take suntec area for example, Oriental n panpac is jus next door. Conrad is jus a few mins down the road.
Orchard road there are also plenty of hotels, wont die one la.

Be positive gal, its ur wedding, remember ok. Smile la, dun let them get u. If they wanna be sore so be it la. To be fair, next time dun post anyone's name cos the forum is very public, wat if ppl in turn sue u for slander?libel? Jus to protect urself, dun do dat again lo. Cheer up.

I n my FH same age, same as Kris

Hi ladies!
Sorry I MIA.Work lah

kao_welcome.gif
Bear & tulipger

Gingercat,
way to go girl!Wished more gals r as feisty as u.U got my vote!
Maybe u wanna consider Merchant Court.Went there for a wedding,cosy.

Bear,
I initially wanted to hv my ROM at Birdpark but when I saw the menu,disappointing.Also,do they provide anywhere for u to chg & get ready or muz chg fr home?
Personally,I prefer to hv a room to chg etc...
As for shoes,u may wanna consider heels tt r more chunky,not stilettos.
Ur budget is alot,I knw some ppl's budget $3k incld rings.

u all hor so young.....

Hello Queenie... The menu is very gd at the zoo! i like the food very much. Atlantic cod, ribeye steak etc etc... at the zoo there is a room for me to change. it is the bridal suite. they are giving me a nite's stay there too... very nice.. esp the toilet! u know how the zoo is famous for the outdoor toilet concept? the toilet in the suite has the same concept! very sexy!!! FH looking forward liao! heehee...

I honestly would recommend u guys the zoo if u haven't found a suitable venue yet. The sales manager there is really helpful. I feel very safe with them.

Is my budget a lot??? i tot it was ok only.. granted the zoo is rather extravagant. =P i already bought my rings last wkend.. was $816 aft discount!

Hrmmm Kris, what's done is done... now i will think carefully when i choose my hotel, esp if i wanna ever consider You-Know-Who-Hotel.

Hi Bear,
the menu I got was for a high tea one so maybe tt's why disappointing.Can u share with me abt ur package?They got bridal suite?I didnt knw tt.Sales mgr,Boon Heng?

Yup the sales manager is Boon Heng. Very helpful fella.

I got the lunch menu. 4 course western (sit down). Starter is smoked salmon with wasabe mascarpone, soup: cauliflower with crouton, entree: Roast ribeye with tomato bearnaise OR Atlantic cod with lemon butter sauce. Lastly, carrot and pecan cakes with fresh fruits plus coffee and tea.

Its $60++ per pax...

yes they got bridal suite. if u go to their webby at http://www.zoo.com.sg/wedding/enchantingeden.htm there is a small pix of the zoo's suite at the bottom.

Hi Gals!!

Cherz > Maybe they have some insiders over here... I dunnno... but anyway, its over. I dun wanna make myself unhappy becos of this.

Suelynn > Thanks for your advice.. Told my FH aboutit already. ANyway, personally we feels that we are just writing our own feelings and well, that email cutting is unintentional one. But what had been done had been done.

Queenie > No wonder so long never see you in the forum... hmmm...mmm Yah, understand that merchant court is a nice place but the no. of tables they required... I am afraid that I dun have so many. At least 40 tables.

Bear > Anyway, I have confirmed with Orchard Meritus Mandarin today. Awaiting for their contract to be send over latest by next Tuesday. The event manager is very professional and helpful. I am taking the belverde room and though there are pillars... but then, not that bad. At least high ceilings and there are lightings on the pillars. I like it!! Actually I prefer the other ballroom, ACT1, so unique and special... never seen any hotels with a design like this, too bad it can only cater for 18 to max 20 tables.

Next next, source for photographer n videographer...

Bear,
I initially wanted to do outdoor solemnization.I,especially liked the hearts-a-flutter pkg.(If a butterfly rests on u,it's gd luck!)

Prefer mine to be a stand up buffet dinner/party.Anywayz,for a western sit down lunch,do u hv to get ur guests' main course orders in advance?Caz,wen I went for my gf wedding at Four Seasons,twas a western dinner & we had to rsvp with our choice of main course.To my knowledge,everyone's order was right.Not easy to co-ordinate lor.
I only tentatively booked RSYC so maybe can still consider zoo/BP,see wat FH thinks now tt I knw they got a suite.Resort theme ay?Cool...

(Gals,check out the site,they're hvg some bridal event thingy both zoo & birdpark.)

Kris> glad to hear u ok ald. No choice, sometime u like the place but its too small or cant fill the min tables.As long as u found something u comfy with gd enuff!
Tink the ppl from the plc will read the forum dats y....? kekkeke Dun care them la

Wah u all settle some of the things ald except me lei....I nvr settle on anything yet.....Aiyoh....Hope wont be late or anything.

Bear n Queenie> I oso like the hearts-a-flutter cos I like the feel of it n the pix looks great.Like the flamingos oso! But too bad, its too pricey for us n the no of min guests is too huge for us.

QUeenie,

DUn mind, check with you, heard many people saying RSYC... what does it stand for? Is it Raffles Yatch Club?

Suelynn > Thanks, now I know... Heehee...but still get back to my no.1 choice for dinner venue. Dun worry, u still have ample time to prepare things...

Aiyo Gingercat,of caz dun mind lah.

It's Republic Of S'pore Yacht Club near West Coast Park.It's a small club with nice accomodation.All their suites got a jacuzzi.No,we dont own a yacht.

suelynn,
I've not done anything yet either.Jz window shopping lah.Dun worry k.

Gonna meet my 1 of my IDs tmw.FH & i still cant decide who better to engage.Both pretty much the same.

Hi Ladies...

Queenie > Oh ic.. so are they charging very high to hold a function there? Can we enter if we subscribe to their membership only???

Hey Gingercat,
no they're not that steep,cheaper than htls I believe(didnt check htls as overpriced).Buffet spread pretty gd & food is gd too!Service alright too!
Check out the site if ur interested. http://www.rsyc.org.sg/index.html
Plan to hv mine either at The Beacon or poolside.
Think one can only come as members' guests.But I believe they open their banquets for public too.

Hi! Hope u all had a gd Fri! i just came back from KTV..

Kris> glad everything worked out fine for ya! Just put the whole episode behind u and enjoy the rest of the planning ya?

Queenie> I didn't op for the butterflies cos i rather take the horse carriage ride. for the western, my guests will choose only on the day itself. so don't have to worry abt coordination. RSYC is great! i used to frequent there cos NUS's boat is docked there. Have to go there when we go diving. Like the pool very much too!

Suelynn> I think u can negotiate with Boon Heng to cut down the minimum pax. the zoo was supposed to only cater for 80 pax and abv, but i managed to negotiate with Boon Heng for 20 pax (at first). I then increased my guests to 30. He is very flexible. U will never know until u try. U can say i recommended u...

Bear,
that's great but I'm curious what if 1 of the choices is more popular,wonder how they go abts preparing for such things.I'm in the service industry so....u probably dun knw,i jz kpo lah.

have y'all gotten the rings yet?

The fengshui man coming later to discuss abt my new plc.Wish me luck!

Hi Ladies!!

Queenie > Thanks for the link but have already decided where to hold my ROM, Furama Riverfront Hotel. Anyway, I am not member of that club too and I think they have a standard minimum requirement for headcounts
Which fengshiu man did you engage? Is it expensive?? My wedding band rings.. dunno if my FH wanted another pair becos I think he have the intention to use back the pairs which we are wearing now... ( when he said that he wanna me to be his last and only companion to walk down the aisle and spend for the rest of the life ) Wish you all the best during your meeting of the fengshiu man.

Bear > I will, thanks for your concern Bear. It is natural reaction when I first got the stupid reply and attitude from you- know-what-hotel I referring to. But at least now, I have almost forgotten about the whole matter. Now all I have to do is wait patiently for the contract from Mandarin Orchard.

Thx Gingercat!
The meeting was gd in the sense that he was very detailed & thorough.4hrs until had to postpone my meeting with my ID.
Gave him ang bao,he dun really have actual standard charges but we gave him half the price what the masters wld have charged for the size of our flat.
Told us abit of our fortune then came the discussion abt the place.Sigh.....Gotta chg some stuff regarding the kitchen.
Shd be mtg my ID on Tues.

Queenie > Glad that your meeting with the shifu is good. This is the first time I had heard that a shifu just need an ang pow and no need to charge you the full standard charges. So how is your fortune for this year? I think my fortune for this year is really down... Yesterday went to see a gynaecology becos my mense was late for 3 months already. Think the complication may due to my sudden weight incre... hiaz...

Wah u all so happening over the weekend ah? I caught a chill, have been on the bed for the whole day!

Bear> We tot over it, dowan to spend so much on ROM, keeping the $ to go for a short trip hopefully if we can get leave.

Queenie> must share ur fengshui master's contact okie, will need to get it fr u in 2 yrs time kekekke. I went to temple to pray oso on sat. My luck tis yr nt very gd oso....tats y need to pray more often.

Kris> tink u stress la dats y ur mense nvr come. Tot u lost weight dat may be y oso.

Hello All, the long wkend is almost over...

Queenie> care to share ur shifu's contact? my fh was very excited when he saw that u engaged one.. he is crazy over these kind of stuff...

Suelynn> hope u are feeling better.. Poor u... i had a gd wkend though. Had some news to tell all of ya.. see below.. So where will u be holding ur ROM Suelynn?? I know Kris's will be at Furama and Queenie's will be RSYC. How abt urs?

Kris> how come menses late? could it be....???? What did the gynae say???

Ok here's an update on my side. My FH's fren recommended us to check out Bridal Zone, so we did on Sat evening. cos there was an outlet near my place. After listening to his fren rave abt them, i was rather impress at the economical package.. So FH and I went to listen to their sales pitch and signed up with them aft that!!!! the package cost $3188! one MTM WG, MTM EG, ROM dress, flowers for AD, ROM and PS, make up and hair style (4 times), 26 18R photos, one 8R table top, one 20 x 24 potrait, car for AD, 2 Men's suits for AD with pants MTM to keep, 2 men's jackets for dads.. and accesories!! pretty gd bargain to me! what do u guys think???? my ROM dress fitting will be in July! heehee.. me so excited!

Oh ya to ans Queenie's qn abt the rings, Yes i have bought them... At Lee Hwa 2 sats ago for $816 aft discount. I need a no frills ring that is not expensive as i deal with lotsa chemicals and do a lot of outdoor work. Don't want my ring to be damage, or worse still have one of the diamonds dropping off!!!

Hi Ladies, hee, missing for a while... cant find this thread on the forum... got a bit lost... kept seaching and just cant find the correct one.

Queenie: yes BL = Boon Lay

cherz: Yeah, the queenstown flat are small and due to the way it is structured, cannot hex a wall...

Bear> I will be tentatively doing my rom at the courtyard of Grand plaza parkroyal hotel. Havnt confirm yet.

U went n sign up ah? Guess every brides exp is diff...cos bridalzone is actually hk broadway, they had a bad reputation las time....But anyway, hope urs is a great one. Be sure to communicate well with them.

I n my fh tinking of getting the soo kee rings lei, he dowan diamonds on his ring oso. For me I chinchai, nice n I like can ald.

Bear> I will be tentatively doing my rom at the courtyard of Grand plaza parkroyal hotel. Havnt confirm yet.

U went n sign up ah? Guess every brides exp is diff...cos bridalzone is actually hk broadway, they had a bad reputation las time....But anyway, hope urs is a great one. Be sure to communicate well with them.

I n my fh tinking of getting the soo kee rings lei, he dowan diamonds on his ring oso. For me I chinchai, nice n I like can ald. But me being me wanna go see more designs b4 deciding

Hi Suelynn!

OMG are u sure they have bad reputation before? so far i read the posts in their thread was ok leh. Plus 2 of my frens did theirs there, no complains.. guess its heng sway lor... me keeping my fingers crossed!

hehee.. i like my rings very much... don't like those boring ones without any patterns. but FH likes them as simple as they can get. so the rings we bought is simple yet got design! heehee...

when are u going to get ur rings? heard that Fairy Inc got pretty nice ones...

bearman> I still got few more mths so taking own sweet time. Tink will go n do proper search during may, then theres singapore sale. We like the soo kee one fr bliss collection n the jorn rainer ones fr lee hwa but the one i like fr lee hwa is super ex, tink abt $4k per pair....

U must remember to have everything they promise in black n white. Every brides's exp n expectations diff so u gotta tell them wat u want. They used to be names dunno wat broadway one. They mite have improved oso la. Give them benefit of doubt

Hi Ladies...

Suelynn > Dunno... dun think so... doctor showed me the scanning report and said that my ovary cannot ovulate... see another one more month how is it... if still dun come... have to scope me already...

Bear > No lah... not pregnant... just my body system... dunno what happened and had went hay-wired... just pray for the best. So you went to Bridal Zone... yah... agree with Suelynn it used to be HK broadway bridal.. and well, so long you like it and feel comfortable... guess it is fine.

Rings... not going to get one more pair of new one because we can use the existing one for ROM. This is my FH idea...

Recently also dunno what is wrong with my FH and myself... so many quarrels and arguement... before lunch there is one arguement... told him my mum going to temple and pray for me because of my menses stuff... and he replied me , then if he never do "big business" for 2 days, then he will have to go temple and pray lah is it?? I dunno... i feel that he is really.... urrggghhh... my mum is concern and worry for me and yet he can say such a sacarstic words... really poking on my nerves.

gingercat,

wat is scope?

me will keep u in prayers.dun worry too much ya.too stress up over it wont help aso.

sometimes my fh aso hav "PMS".haha but if my FH reply me like dat,i will be urgghhhhh aso!!!

Suelynn & Kris > i check out their credentials on this forum liao... long ago they were rather trashy, but seemed to better now.. Honestly i will be apprehensive no matter which BS i choose. guess i have done it liao so just lie back and enjoy lor. Yes Suelynn I have everything in black and white. the coordinator wrote everything down. made me double check before asking us to sign. Aft we signed, she asked us if got anymore questions or things we want still can add.. i think overall the service is rather gd.

Kris> will pray for u too. hope its nothing major.. may be becos of ur menses thingy that's why u feel more grouchy? i m very grouchy when its that time of the month. What do u mean ur ovary cannot ovulate? is it polycystic ovaries? this is caused when the egg cannot ovulate and get stuck in the ovaries leading the ovaries to swell. one of the symptoms is no menses. Slowly the unreleased eggs will breakdown to give testosterone. Please see another doc if ur gynae can't / won't do anything soon. 3 mths is a long time for u not to have menses. This can affect ur fertility too. I know this cos one of my gf asked me when she was spotting in the middle of the cycle and not having her period for 2 mths plus.i made her go and see a gynae and that's when she found out she has this condition. took her 2 years to get everything back to normal.

But have to say ur FH was quite mean to u Kris...

Hrmm if anybody needs Lee Hwa's privilege card i have ok? 20% off the prices of the jewelleries.

Kris> dun be upset lei, tink ur FH is trying to make u relax by joking or wat. My colleague did hers cos she oso 3-4 mths no mense, once in awhile spotting, quite common in women la so no worries.

Cherz> when u coming back? Got shop? Scope is to dig the tissues n do some test or put a tube long torchlight into the body n see.

Bear> dun worry la ok.

suelynn,

is scope similiar to pp smear?

i duno when i am coming back aso.signzz i wanna go back to spore!!!
ya got shop a bit but havent bought much stuff!

hrmmm seems like i am the one making Kris even more worried.. Sorry sorry... Just follow the doc's instructions and ignore me ok?

Cherz> Scope is a tube like thingy (optical fibre) that will be inserted so u can see (real time) what is happening in the body. Different from pap smear.

Hi Ladies.

Bear > You are right, that is the term that the gynae told me, polycystic ovaries. The explanation is exactly the same as what you are describing. Now, the doctor said that if by this month, my menses still not coming, she going to make me visit her again... She already said, I cannot get pregnant easily and even if I am, high chances for me to be miscarriage...

Suelynn > hiaz... how can I not be upset... my body now like this and moreover the doctor said that it can lead to cancer if I dun treat it... Even more worried and my man there can still happily crack this kind of joke...

Cherz > so who will give you the cue to come back singapore?

Kris> sorry to hear that. The gd news is u can cure it! u need to take The Pill for a couple of years so that ur ovaries will stop ovulating. Give and take depending on how long the prob has been around, treatment will last at least 2 years. Its curable. don't give up hope. Just puzzled why ur gynae didn't start u right away.

gingercat,

sign....when i am done wif my job then i can come back!!!but i duno when will dat be.seems to be very draggy.initially its 5wks but i tink it will drag to 2mths!!

=(

ladies,

any1 gone for pap smear?

Kris> dun scare urself la, jus hope for the best, betta noe early than late rite. Can cure one. Jus wait n see ok. All the best!

Cherz> wat u do one? So gd can go hk for so long. I went there few times n everytime dowan to go hm kekekke

I nvr gone pap smear b4 lei, tink will do it next yr for my checkup

Bear > No worries... you are not making me worried. I have already known it since last Saturday. The doctor said that this kind of sickness came in because of my drastic weight increase... and the cure to it is to lose weight. That is y now I so hardworking go jogging with my FH even though I hate running. The doctor wanna see how much weight can I lose within a month before starting me... She said that noramal method is better than using medication. When I saw my ultra scan photos... my god!! Did not know that all my "eggs" are crowding in each ovary... The program that the doctor will start is called a hormone XXX dunno what is the name. Anyway.. have to try losing more weight now... Next time, I dun think I wanna even try contraceptive pills... they are the cause of my drastic weight increment.

Suelynn > I know and thanks for your concern.
It is best for ladies or woman to do their pap smear once a year regularly. ( esp. woman who have sexual activities, no offence but its true )Cost $35 per pap smear test.

Cherz > Dun tell me you are working as an auditor... heehhehe!!! Just guessing.
Wah... 2 months very long leh. Then your FH miss you or not?

My FH said dun bother... at most use test tube baby pregnancy or adpotnext time
Health is more important.