(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

HI Ladies!!

Cherz> Hihi!! Which part of HK are you in now?? Wah... you should find some time to do some shopping over there.

Queenie > You going HK next month? For how long? My FH still thinking whether to go or not to go... cos budget... must psycho him a bit.

Suelynn > 0% instalments? By credit cards is it? I cannot used it cos dun think my FH will allow me to do so... He will scream at me when he sees the bill and I know he will say something like that " I had been saving on my expenses for wedding and you are there happily spending away "

Kris> Pass by birdal concept today....sad tot say the package they offer is not as gd as the roadshow at style wedding...Will check out Yvonne Creative. I sign up long ago, b4 we had wedding plans. Every mth pay $100 bucks, I use my own card, nt he sub me one so he cant grumble at me kekkeke.

Queenie> u SIA ger?? kekekek Dats y on duty?

i am staying at fanling.haha if u all watch "zhen qing" u shd hav heard of this place.quite far fr the central.i need to take like an hr MTR ride to my client's place.starting to miss home already.

hey i went shop shop today till my legs drop!!!hee but din buy much coz a lot of branded shops.HK realli hav a lot of ring designs here.saw some pretty nice ones but too bad FH not here.those goin HK,r u goin wif yr FH?mayb can go shop for rings!

cherz> Fenling (in chinese) very far lei! U shld go mongkok to see like far east liddat, lots of bugis/far east stuff are fr there actually. The branded stuff are almost same in prices as sg. Tink the plc i went to is mongkok shopping centre or something

I remember there are lots of Zhou Sheng sheng or something goldsmith shop in hk! Saw anything suitable for ur rings? *wink* U shld go peep at their electronic stuff there, cheaper n more variety lei. Oh no talking abt hk makes me itch again ahahha

suelynn,

ya its very far!!but lucky the apartment got sercurity guard so still quite safe.

i din realli went to see if there is any rings i particularly like juz browsing thru the shops coz FH not here leh.

hmm ok i will go mongkok walk walk tmr.

HI Ladies

Queenie > Oh I see...
Bet you are going there for shopping spree this time.
Have not check out ALdo yet but this week will definitely go... Cos my FH going with me... Hek hek!!
kao_love.gif

Suelynn > Bridal concept is not veyr flexible with their things... like when I try to ask for teadress and kua... They said that I can only choose one...
I tot most of the BS will be okay okay to give in... Carol from BC is charging me at $85/pix. Heeheeh... later if you signed up with YC.. who knows I may see you there for fitting... Kekeke

Cherz > I see... yah that place is very far off from the central... how about the area that you are putting up at? Is there a lot of shopping area? So when are you coming back to SG?? Your FH keeps on calling you or not? ;p

Wah... today east coast very very crowded... went there for jogging... of course not on my own accord.... Future MIL and my FH said I wanna lose weight fast must exercise... end up getting injury on my knees and fingers blue black

Kris> wat u do until u get injured for jogging? too over-exert huh?

The coordinator gave us quite a lot of things, they charge us $65/$75 for additional fotos lei. She is giving me mtm rom dress cos she can tell I cant find something I like. So far ok la, but FH wants me to look ard others 1st b4 I commit. Cos he dowan me to grumble at the end of the whole thing kekkeke

Gals> went past Allure Charix today, realise tats the plc tat has the ready-to-made teadress/bridesmaid's dress nt Silhoutte. Mixed up ald. Allure Charix is near Amoy St or at Amoy St. Pardon me hor

gingercat,

mine apartment at HK not a lot of shopping nearby so muz travel down to the central area.

hee FH in taiwan now for training so our phone bills r even more expensive!!

Hi Ladies.

Suelynn > I slip on the dried leaves...and fall down. Not over exerted but now my whole body aching.

Cherz > Think you gotta watch your budget this month since the phone bill is so expensive.

Queenie > Then you will miss your shopping spree this time... Fall down on the pavement and use my fingers to support... now blue black. Hiaz...

Gingercat,

I overspent when I was in NYC caz I went to a tax free mall & went crazy so gotta control myself.HKG so near can go any time & besides go during their summer sale lagi best.(jz sour grapes talking)

Kris> u take care lei, heng ur ROm nt soon ah.

Ya, dun go out best, no temptations, dats wat I do nowadays, try to tell myself everything so ugly nt nice etc kekkeke

Queenie> u have chance to go again one since its short haul rite, so jus wait la hee

I m new here... ROM on Sept this year at the zoo.. well that's all that i have done.. have yet to look for flowers, dresses etc... what to do next? kinda lost...

Anyone can help?

heehee eating snake now!!

ya muz save money but i cant resist temptations!!

hi bear,

u muz like animals or the zoo got some special meaning to u so u hold yr rom there??

HI Ladies!!

Queenie > Wah... what did you buy in NYC? Heard that over there those bags (branded) are cheap. Anyway, agree with Suelynn, you can go back to HK anytime. Btw, when is the summer sale?

Suelynn > Thanks... ya my FH said that luckily my ROM not around the corner yet... if not... going to be ugly.. ( anyway its ok cos my teadress is a long one )

Cherz > Dun eat too much snake.. very heaty for health.. lolz... Have you shop a lot already?

Bear > Welcome to this thread. Zoo? Think you are an animal lover right? You can start looking at teadress for ROM like empire, jess etc. If your AD is near your ROM date... maybe you will want to find a BS ( in your budget ) and they can throw in a piece of teadress, make up and bouquet for you on your ROM day
How much are you paying for the solemnization venue and how many people can u cater for? And when is your actual day?

Bear> So envy!!! I also wanted to have solemnisation at the birdpark lei,the mandai lake is great too! but the min pax is too huge n its too ex. Min pax is 80 n cost $60 plus per person rite?? The place is lovely, tink u mite be someone who loves nature? Welcome to the thread!

Kris> tink cherz meant she is "taking a break/idling" cos eating snake in hokkien means stealing time off to rest during wk.
Summer sale shld be during spring/winter in hk.

Morning Ladies!!

Suelynn > Heehee!! I know... eating snake means doing nothing during work time...
Making fun of cherz only

Last night, my FH told me he had already finalize the wedding banquet place. He is not taking Orchard Mandarin anymore cos he feels that the pillars are hindrance and he dun feel good with it. He had confirmed with Marina Mandarin and will be signing up with them... tonight paying money liao... sob sob... $$$ going to fly liao.

Call Yvonne Creative yesterday and asked May to arrange for us PS somewhere in Sept and October.. SHe had one trip in June and asked if we are interested, my FH is keen but not for me... still need to slim down first before taking pictures..

Morning!

Kris> U trick us ah? Tot u dunno hahahaha!Need to put dep tonite la, hw much? Marina one really betta la.Sep/oct to take ps, very fast lei, tot ur AD is 1 yr away fr rom? So happening hor? kekkeke

Hi Suelynn

Heehehe,....
Just being playful in the morning. Need to place deposit of $3500 tonight. We get extra perks like additional... but my FH refused to tell me what he had got... he said meant to be surprise.. other general stuff will find out from them tonight.

Arrange either Sept and October because we are going to Kota Tinggi and desaru for outdoor shoots. Not going Bali because very ex. and with that 1K, can use it during honey moon period or even additional top up of pictures.
Dun wanna risk to take PS in Nov and Dec cos rainning seasons...

Studio shoots will be somewhere after Chinese New YEar, in Mar 06 whereby my MTM WG and EG is ready... moreover they need about 2 months to get the album ready. By then , actual day should be drawing near...
June 24 2006.

Hi! glad to see so many of us.. i m still wandering around the forum looking blur..

Hi back to Suelynn, Gingercat and Cherz for the warm welcome. Yup u are right, I m a biologist by training and of cos i like the zoo very very much! >grin<

It cost me 2.6K to hold it at the zoo. for 30 pax. its been set on the 22nd of Sept. Now i m looking for a dress. Do u think it is wise to get a BS package that include this cos my AD is end next yr.

Also looking for flowers for my flower gals for their heads. anyone can recommend?

Kris> oic, no wonder, tink they organise a few couples to go I heard. If u wan bali, jus pay $150 to go little bali n take, almost same effect lei, really, save $. Tats wat BC suggest.

Bear> My Ad is ard 2 yrs later but I mite sign up with a BS cos I need to sign up with a BS sooner or later n I can use the items foc for rom. But the risk is u mite nt like them suddenly after some time cos women are fickle mah.

U can acutally do a search in the forum, if u have ideas hw it look like u can even diy. Or u can show those normal florist n ask for quotes. My bf went holland v to get me flowers on vday. He said the florist there are much cheaper n nicer than some of those in town. Maybe u can try there?

Hi Suelynn,

Hrmmm, i was just wondering abt the price of a hand bouquet and the head flowers. cos i m allergic to pollen and have to choose my flowers carefully. Lilies are out but they are my fav! i m rather blur and fickle when it comes to dresses and flowers!

Which BS are u targetting at??? i went to Irene's creation. Not bad... me quite impress!

Bear> its at bukit pasoh or something u can check out the webby. Do a search on empire n u can find. U can try jess coutre as well, her package is mtm dress to keep plus mua, hairdo, flowers.

I dun really like irene's creations cos they are too ex n inflexible. Personally I really like the wedding present, empire's sister shop but their prices are too ex for my budget. I like flamingo as well, but oso above my budget. Am looking at white link, bridal concept, golden horse awards n yvonne creative. I like golden horse awards the most among the 4 jus tat the branch is in tamp, kinda holds me back n plus their gst etc. Bridal concept has the best overall for me, in terms of fotos, gowns n price. Whitelink like got double standards one so havnt really go n find out in detail yet. Yvonne creative gowns are nice but so far i have seen 1 fotos n I dun really like their style. Need to see more fotos to decide.

But it all depends on individual one cos everyone's concern is diff,style oso. I m very particular abt the overall, price, gowns, fotos n service. My top priority is price, followed by fotos n then gowns.Cos to me gowns most bs oso got their own speciality. We can always mtm to our liking

There are a few blacklisted ones so do look out n keep far away fr them.

Hope these helps, jus my 2 cents worth

Hey Suelynn,

I have heard abt White Link and Golden Horse. White Link's feedback was great. But not Golden Horse. my cousin did hers there and she said when they made it clear they dun wanna purchase more photos, the photog treated her like 2nd class citizen!! i specifically went to ask all my married cousins abt the BS and if they would recommend them to me.. only this cousin said something bad abt her BS...

i m particular abt the photography. Gown wise i like it simple. OTR can liao! heehee... but i need to get a kerbaya cos my mum's side is Peranakan. Haizzz headache!

Suelynn> Yah... must save money for honeymoon. Over all I think YC charges me very reasonable already for the Bali Trip. When I enquire about Bali trip with tour agency last week, they are charging about $488++ per pax for 3 days 2 nights exlcuding meal. Huh?? Bali trip fpr $150 only? Which agency is giving that promotion?

Bear > Irene creation is good but price a bit steep... and moreover they wanted 30 to 50% deposit upon signing up the package with them. Moreover, they dun give this and that... having hard time bargaining with them, in the end give up. Agreed with Suelynn, it is each individual preference...depends on what you want as top priority. For me, I look more on services and the feel I had with them...

Suelynn > which are the one being black listed by you? I black listed French Bridal and U bridal... dun like them

Hiya Gingercat!

Ya agree IC is rather steep!! i managed to ask them to upgrade the potrait size, throw in one ROM dress and 2 jackets for the 2 dads. Price is $3988. if want MTM add another $600. Sigh... getting married is a lot of money!

And i agree with u abt blacklisting French and U bridal! they were trying to hard sell me when i went to the wedding fair in Feb!!! then showed us the black face when we said we will consider... are they the same company or what?

Bear> my fren's bro is with GHA, their comments is realy gd lei, tink up to individual. I had comments abt whitelink tat is bad lei. See heng or sway I tink kekekekek.

I personally blacklisted everbliss, forever irritating n everywhere! I dun like bridal zone oso. Yah french n U are same co!

Kris> Its nt a package, its a place in singapore call little bali. U can do a search, forgot the link ald, BC told me their client wanted bali feel so they went little bali for dinner or u can go the place for PS, pay $150 for rental of the place.

Heehee! ignorant me!

Yup u are right, i guess it is up to individual ppl lor.. as u said, heng sway one... if u click, u click. actually come to think of it, no point looking around cos if u like one BS, then the impression is already there! But a fren recommended me Everbliss! haven't went to see see though...

So when's ur ROM and AD Suelynn? How abt you Gingercat? Where are u guys holding it? At the Registry or some other places?

hi bear,

i bought my rom gown at ic during their sale.kervin was serving me.i quite like their gown designs but prices r a bit steep.

u can get a BS since yr AD quite near so can bargain for free rom gown.

mine rom is on 18th sept at amara poolside.

Bear> pls pls pls dun try everbliss ok, U can go to their thread n thousands of bad comments. Some ppl continue cos they bo bian,ald paid dep. Its always gd to look ard 1st b4 u settle on anything 1st, dun be afraid to say "no" to them. Its nt cheap lei, $3-$5k ok.Must consider carefully. U can join the BS thread n get to see their fotos n comments 1st. For IC's price u can try silverlining, margaret's bride, their gowns are nice n tie up with some nice fotographers.

My rom is on the 9th, venue dunno yet cos we havnt find lei, will start searching in april, cos my FH very busy this mth. Shld be courtyard at grand plaza parkroyal. AD damn long later, in 2007, kekkeke

ya dun ever try everbliss.

i rem last time when me n FH still young, we get psycho by them to sign up duno wat package n we pay duno how much deposit,something like $200.u noe they always hav roadshow at marina sq.

cherz> yah lo I realise a lot of my frens oso when young kanna con lei, somemore havnt even decide to marry, even $100 they oso shiok. siao!

Bear> 1 granny oso peranakan, u can easily find kebaya nowadays lei. Katong got alot, but my grandma n aunties all bought fr malaca. Tanjong Katong n joo chiat got oso. I have a lot of hand me downs fr them ald, some is like family hierloom, got belt n shoes oso.

hi Ladies..

Bear > Yah... Irene Creation is expensive even though their gowns are nice. They will want you to top up more on the MTM ( rental basis ) and the no. of photos they are giving you, cannot even bargain for more. My ROM will be in 24 Sept 2005 at Furama Riverfront Hotel's lounge and AD will be on the 24 June 2006, Wedding Banquet Venue will be at Marina Mandarin and my BS is with Yvonne Creative. My Photographer will be using Yvonne Creative too.
My videographer will be from my FH's friend... Dunno what is his name but I do know that he charge people at $900 but for us, about $500. Save the hassle on scouting around. Remember the other time when we attend a wedding fair in suntec, thought a lot of BS but in the end one pathetic French Bridal with 2 pieces of gowns displaying there... try so hard to sell the package to us and even demand us to pay 50%... my FH thinks something fishy and in the end, forget about it, we rejected the offer and the sales person face black like charcoal... U Bridal and French Bridal is the same. Sanmike and Precious Moment and Sophia Wedding is the same.

Suelynn > Sorry ... me really mountain tortise... Dunno there is a little Bali in Singapore
I tout the real bali.. hehehe!! Initially wanna go Bali is because of the beautiful waterfall... later realize that Kota Tinggi waterfall also not bad... and aiya!! Both also water fall, makes no difference. If photographer is good, no matter where you take the picture is the same.

Cherz > Eating snake again huh?? Lolz... jus kidding
You mean you have already signed up with Everbliss?? how long is that? My friend is a everbliss bride and she feels that their service not up to standard and even cannot even understand customers needs and agony...

Kris> really ah sanmike, preciousmoment n sophia same? Gosh, Sophia is so much more ex lei. Heard precious moment is affordable, used to be horrible last time. My Fh fren kept asking us to go sophia cos they were with them. They spent almost $10k for their package. Gosh!!!!! My fren tell me french is gd somemore lei, I tink she is the chinchai type. Heard U bridal much cheaper than French, reminds me of soo kee &amp; sk, lee hwa &amp; citigems.

gingercat,

i got con by them when i am young.i tink even be4 my 20s.since then never went back to them liao!better forgo my deposit then to even sink deeper.hee i aso forgot wat i signed up for.

suelynn,

yup heard a lot of compliments abt sophia photos so a lot of pl tend to develop a lot of photos so in the end spent a lot!

suelynn > Yah... Sanmike is created from the boss of Precious Moment (guy) and Sophia Wedding (lady). Dun understand y they set up another Sanmike.. maybe because the previous business they had is really terrible and that is y no choice but to come out from there and set up another one. Sanmike is located in Riverside Point (opp my office) How did your FH frenz spend until 10K on their bridal package alone??? Must have taken back alot of the pictures

Went down to Marina Mandarin just now. The coordinator told us that she is giving us the ballroom on the 5th floor cos we only had 28 tables. When I see the ballroom... I really faint... the ceiling is really low and once my FH stretch his hand, he can touch the ceiling and I asked her if it is really possible to accomodate 28 tables, she said yes and tell me that the max capacity for this ballroom is 30 tables. I turn back and asked her if in case before 3 months I have more than 30 tables than how, guess what she told me... no choice, the grand ballroom min. requirement is 40 tables and if we had more than 30 tables, we will move down to the big one but paying for the price of 40 tables... I simply dun like this idea... My face sulk the whole evening and told my FH if that is the ballroom, I rather go to some ulu ulu hotels and have the wedding dinner.
kao_angry.gif

Kris> u sign ald ah? Dun sign la liddat, eeee! Betta look for alternatives. Got many other hotels for marina mandarin's budget, try crown hotel?? Grand corpthorne?

I dun tink the fotos fr sophia so damn fantastic lei. Pretty normal, they took back all the fotos. Some other bs took back all fotos only abt $6k. Given the choice I wld rather go aussie shoot ald got $10k. They markup damn high, out of the 3 shops, sophia is the most steep.

Gd morning!

Hrmmm lotsa comments! where to start?

Kris, i rem my cousin who did hers at Marina Mandarin, the effect was rather nice.. she has 30 tables i think... Rem its ur big day so dun compromise on anything. So have u decided on where to have ur dinner???

I also not sure abt IC. after hearing all ur comments, not a bit scared scared. Anyhow have planned to go scouting next Sat at Tanjong Pagar. May be visit Jazeel Low, Sillohoute (spelled correctly?), Bridal Veil. Anymore u guys would recommend around that area? BV is at Delphi though... may be go and visit white link too...

Me getting a bit panicky now.... time is ticking closer.... =P

Afternoon Gals!!

Suelynn > Have not sign yet, for that kind of ballroom, wah lau, I rather go to Goodwood Park or others... really surprise me.

Bear > Dun worry, take your time to scout... at least short list a few... those BS at Delphi Orchard one very very expensive... but if you are going to Tanjong Pagar, then you have to stay firm... sun get psycho by them.

I remembered the other time I attended a wedding at MM it was great too! But I dunno wat ballroom was that tho. Maybe demolished ald cos of the reno. Goodwoodpark is nice but tink only fit max 28 or something liddat.

Bear> Jazreel is not bad, U can try Sattine as well, heard gd comments. BV's designer n owner well known for being tempermental lei. silhoutte is nt cheap. Actually I went tanjong pagar today. I n my mum n her frens got scared by the ppl fr wedding news n another BS b4 it, kept askin my mum to see. Finally went YC, sad to say, the foto style is nt wat I want. So need to find other BS to compare ald. Havnt been to the rest of the BS in tanj pagar tho, will find 1 day go with my FH.

Bear> what are ur priorities? Maybe u name n we help u??? I am more for mid range, high end one out for me.

Hi Ladies!!

Now finally got the time... I received the reply I get from Marina Mandarin. Maybe a bit naggy today, but then I am really fuming when I got the reply via email from them at my office place.

I am asking for free flow of beer / a carton of red wine, waiver of corkage for wines, Additional one night stay in a normal room ( if cannot then give a discount rate ), light snack before wedding dinner or supper for the bride and groom, additional carpark coupons.

Moreover, yesterday afternoon my FH called the coordinator and she said that she had blocked the smaller ballroom for us and even claim that the big ballroom is taken, we find a little suspicious and this morning I called again and the other coordinator informed me that neither one of these rooms had been blocked at all. The coordinator told us that the carpark coupons they can increase up to 25% and waiver of corkage for wines is not a problem and even the usuage of the LCD projector also not a problem. They can give it to us as a perk.

Each table cost $908 nett and I dun think it is very unreasonable to ask for all the additional perks ( especially car park coupons and light snacks which is less than $100 ) In the end, non of our requests can be fulfilled. Guess what is the reply from their coordinator?? This is their reply :

Dear XXX

For a booking on 24th June 2006, we will be able to extend a complimentary food tasting for a table of ten if you book before 9th May 2005.

I express regret that it will be difficult to accomodate your other requests for perks at least for the moment, as we are having several enquiries about this date already.

Other simpler arrangements such as an easel stand for your photo album or a late check out, however, may be arranged.

Thanks for your understanding and feel free to contact me should you have any queries.

Warm regards,
Wendy Li
Events Executive
MARINA MANDARIN
Tel: 68451104
Fax: 68451019
Email: wendyli <mailto:[email protected]> [email protected]

Of course, as a consumer, we made the effort to go down and talk to them despite the inaccessibility of the transport ( road work, construction every where ) and in the end, what she said yesterday is like bull shitting. IN my whole life, I had never been so angry like this before...
kao_angry.gif

Even my colleagues agreed that with the price that I am paying for Marina Mandarin, I can easily source for another place and they think that it is really unfair to give us a reply like this. Hiaz... not my day today.