(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

anise

sue... i still haven receiev hdb letter on the appointment date.. making me more kan cheong =p

everyone is busy.. i have been busy researching on the flats available..

teacup

sue, saw the pics you posted. i liek the iron rod decor in your living room.
nice decor

man_tou_bear

Anise have u decided where u wanna get yet? ur home finally here.. don't have to shuttle back and fro liao. heehee...

Dajie, nothing much to talk abt also.. heehee.. must find a burning topic to talk abt!

DH & Jes must be really busy with the bb.. wonder what's her name.

maruko

hi all...me hav been real bz wif house huntin lately...now in the midst of "bargainin" wif owner on the cash topup...hopefully can get a satisfied reply soon den can settle on this issue liao...

after settling house issue den gotta settle maid issue...my mil now wanna get a maid liao...guess she cant take the "tough work" of handlin both travis n the house work...finally she noes dat time we wanna get the maid is for her own gd...one thing at a time...den still gotta source for reno contractor...gonna b super bz next few mths...

anise

bear... i still haven receive HDB letter.. wait until i sianz =< i guess my selection date will be near end of may..

jannie.. so where is ur new placE?? still negotiating on the pricing huh..so ur mil finally decided to get a maid and noe u meant good to her =) so hows is travis?? get any new photos???

finally going phuket next week.. so happie.. a short break at last

suetan

tea,thanks, my hb insisted on the wrought iron.

was so busy at work. been really going thru a bad time at work.I am tinkin of quitting seriously cos I dun feel motivated at all.busy cleaning up the new plc as well....

no baby for me yet tho....we have gd family planningnow ha!

jannie, which area r u lookin at?the mkt is dying down ald. if u can wait for awhile.

cherz

actually the property mkt still quite gd. my frenz looking for hse near queenstown. owner asking for $80K cash topup.

sue,
done with reno already? do u go vivocity for lunch? can meet up for lunch.

maruko

sue, me lookin at amk area now...no time to wait liao coz current flat oredi sold n 1st apptment fixed...so gotta hurry in settlin on a unit dat we like...

anise, no time to take pics for travis nowadays...been so bz after work...travellin to n fro amk...back home oredi after 10pm normalli den still gotta "rock" travis to sleep n wash his clothes b4 i can do my own things...so end up sleepin late also...PLUS middle of nite still gotta wake up feed travis... -_- im turnin into a panda real soon...

cherz, wow 80k ah? actualli amk also got some owners wan this amt but dun tink any1 will wanna pay for it...guess they onli wanna c the response...

man_tou_bear

Jannie, hope u get a place soon. i think 2 nights ago the news was reporting that the property market still very hot... u shd have asked for more cash topup when u sold ur flat!! heee..

Sue, reno done liao ah? pictures?

Anise, well the queue no. won't change so don't worry ok? hope u get something gd!

maruko

bear, me also wanna get more cash topup for my flat BUT woodlands area not so "hot" like amk leh...

anyway me FINALLY managed to confirm a flat after so many house viewin...agent oredi submitted the docs n now waitin to confirm our 1st apptment date...so now me will b bz wif reno contractor seekin...any1 got recommendations on cheap n gd ones? oredi spent a bomb on the cash topup so hopin to b able to save some for the reno part...

kioko_angel

hi maruko.. congrats to u for having ur own flat..
just to share.. my friend intro a designer/contractor 2yrs bek for my flat.. we like his design and work, price is reasonable too but tis depend on individual preference la.. im not sure if he still using the same number but u can try calling if u wan.. 91847342 (chan).. hope u can have a good deal..

suetan

cherz, some owners like wat jannie said trying their luck, they nt really desp to sell u see. Compared to last 2 quarter, now really die down alot le.

jannie, my fren got a contractor, her hse nt bad. but cos u must tell them wat u wan exactly, else need to coordinate alot for contractors.

bear, some pic on my multiply i tink, my hb blog abt it, i no time to add. got my connection only tdy, officially move in tdy oso! lots to clean up

cherz

jannie,

my id is ok.he hopped to another id firm. hows the condition of yr new place? do u need to do a lot of reno??

my colleague just sold his toa payoh flat at 50K plus above valuation.

queenie_30

How r u all doing?
I'm just checking if anyone still comes here.I guess we r growing out of this thread since some have moved to the nx phase of marriage-kids.
Anyway,nice knowing u all &amp; hopefully we can still keep in touch &amp; meet up.Take care!

maruko

yoyo...me here also...juz been bz wif lookin for contractors lately...so dun realli hav time to post...

cherz, condition of my new place is rather bad coz its an old flat...near to 30yrs...so need major reno...
toa payoh flat sold at dat price is the market rate now...ur coll sold at the right time lor...

cherz

yes. i am still here too. =)

Jannie,

i went hse hunting with my frenz ytd at my area. One 5-rm unit above mine was selling at $390K and asking for $40K cash. din know my area can sell at such high price.

hav u found yr contractor?

maruko

cherz, found a contractor liao...will b using my bro's previous contractor...ur area is consider quite near to town so can fetch a high price too...

man_tou_bear

Hey ppl... so quiet.. a lot of us are busy with life.. hahah anyway we are all contactable via MSN.

Jannie so when starting reno? how much is ur budget?

Cherz, ur house next to a major shopping centre that's why can fetch so much.

Sue, i saw ur photos of ur new place.. the grill make ur place look retro.

suetan

i m busy with work, tabao work back hm somemore. my parents misses us so much kept callin us go hm eat etc.....

bear, my hb likes the wrought iron idea. Its like waste $ to me, but we need to seperate the space out. Retro.... modern or watever, I dunno le ahhaha. Nowadays the trend is like mixed of everything.

cherz, its more of demand thing, sellers if can sell at that price then ok, if nt they jus leave it, so if there is someone who wants the area badly then the buyer hit the jackpot.

weixiongy

haa haa haa come on judy im sure you are more courageous than that. did you see the guy who took the clip of his office blinds................he is one brave soul...........stood until the very last second than ran for his life........

the paper one more scary.............

queenie_30

wxyang,
i think the movie The Eye also has a scene in a lift of an old man floating.
Can capture ghosts on camera meh?Looks animated to me leh.

man_tou_bear

The ghost looks like she is walking and not floating leh... i think it is a fake.

Dajie, apparently film can capture ghost. there is this famous one showing this ghostly figure wearing robes closing a fire escape door. the ppl in that castle were wondering why the door kept slamming shut by itself!

weixiongy

can can but only if it wants to lah.
hehehehe i think what we dont see or experience we will say that its fake.
only when we truly exprience it then we will acknowledge the existence. this sort of thinking applies to other facts in life than ghost bah.

anise

hi everyone... so long i din post in this thread.. I went phuket last weekend for a short trip.. nice and relaxing... love the sands sooo much. u can't even feel any stones walking along potong beach.. really amazing.. love the beach alot.. it's definitely nicer than krabi.. thanks bear for the resort recommendation =>

This time rd i had alot of water sports.. went jet-ski, para-sailing and banana boat.. of all i tink jet ski was the most exciting.. all alone in the sea.. was so scared that the jet ski would topple when the waves came.. abit scary but den it's real fun. anyway overall a great trip.. had alot of nice cheap seafood over there...

Hmmm finally get to know my appointment data for house selection.. it's on the 21st.. getting excited.. =) juz hoping that there are still good units available when it's my turn

so is the raffles ghost real?? sound scary.. normally when one don't see it, sure say fake.. i had never seen one but of coz i won't wannna see them either... touch wood.. ops...

maruko

wow...all talkin abt the raffles place ghost ah? ITS FAKE LAH...go to the site again n they got a clip abt the truth behind the clip -> main issue is do not OT...haha...whoever works late alot shld show this clip to their boss :p

its been a while since i came in to post a msg...to update u guys me not workin today coz later gotta go pickup my maid...yes me finally employed a maid to help my mil wif the chores n babysittin...its realli not ez to convince her...

plus over the past wkends went to select our tiles after confirmin our contractor den gotta get things ready for our reno...realli tiring...mentally n physically...as usual mil ask us to decide how we wan the flat to b BUT end up she keep makin "comments" when u said ur ideas...sigh...den when u ask her back how she wans the flat to b done, she will say "u decide la since its ur flat" -_- wat can i say?

weixiongy

come on cherz, be brave. its only a video. the window blinds was really hilarious and the most recent is the one they caught in the office where strange things happens in to the office equipments. got to really turn on the sound or else you wont know what are the stuffs which were moved hehehehe really interesting...............

anise sounds like you have lots of fun. can reveal your overall expenditure...might wanna bring wifey on a trip like that too ^^

da jie, do you have any personal experience with the third kind?? hotel mostly alot one right......

weixiongy

jannie, since she can say its up to you guys then juz decide on the things you want and finalize everything. about her comments juz nod and throw it out the other ear lor. should stick to your decision since it really it YOUR house after all......

weixiongy

oh juz remembered one more thing. dunno if it was posted but CoCo delivered last Dec. Jus got a reply from her for the chinese new year greeting.

man_tou_bear

Hi guys! glad to see more life in there!

Wah talking abt ghosts ah. who was the one that went overseas and kena poke in the back by dirty things at night ah? then the tv switched on by itself some more.. heehee.. that one damn scary. :p

Aiyah honestly a lot of us are pressured into working OT.. not becos we have to, but for the sake of appearance. my col just commented if u go home on the dot, don't ever hope to get promoted fast.

Anise, Burasari nice hor.. hehee... i didn't do any water sports there. i quite sick of water sports now. now back in sch i go 'swimming' quite often. damn sian.

Jannie, there there... me dunno wat else to say other than do the house the way u want.. heehee... logically speaking, u live longer than her. :p

anise

weixiong... total expenses about 1.6k.. 300 for airfare, 700 for accommodation (include massage, sparkling wine, airport transfer and 1 dinner in the hotel), 600 on other expenses... overall worth going => wanna plan another trip maybe end of yr...

DH and jes... looking foward seeing ur baby pic..

queenie_30

wx,
yes i've had many unexplained "experiences" in htls but i think they r all nitemares.
My hb had a very terrifying "nitemare" afew mths back in our own bedroom.

anise,
i like phuket too!Hb wanna go back there too!But we do suntanning only.

jannie,
seems to me like ur mil's talk is like passing gas.She has to say s'thing to make herself shiok.

Think i saw anna recently too,she looks like she gonna explode soon.Huge!

weixiongy

morning peeps!

totally agree with what bear said. its the same situation for taking MC......afraid of this and afraid of that......haizzz
your 'swimming' is quite fun mah. gathering all your samples hehehehe if you happen to pick up any crayfish that is not blue in color can give me also hehehe. i already got 2 blue ones ^^

dajie, sounds really scary leh.....wifey sometimes also have scary nightmares too.........will suddenly juz wake up in fright......scared the hell out of me too...

maruko

bear, she said the same thing as u leh but still end up makin comments n wanna decide on how she wans the flat to b...dun wanna invite more "trouble" so juz let her b lor...

weixiong, u dun understand her lor...if we do it our way den she will keep naggin n naggin, den even make sarcastic remarks like "where got nice?" n loads...me afraid me might kena depression if keep hearin these remarks from her. so far we try to compromise on certain items, unless her demands r realli way out den i will insist on doing my way lor...

man_tou_bear

WX, there are reddish crayfish i think... quite big, abt the size of a shoe. but cannot give u lah.. we usually preserve them.
u wanna do the swimming with me? aft being in the water for an hour or 2, u will start to shiver!

Jannie, there there.. me dunno wat to say... how's ur new maid?

weixiongy

jannie, haizzz sometimes the older generations really dont understand how hard we try to accomodate to them and how hard we try to not make them feel bad or wat. the way she is contributing to the final decision is all beneficial towards her...aiya this sort of things will appear in all kinds of decision making anyway. to decide on things that will protect you from being blamed for making the wrong choice.
its must be really hard on you during this period. but be optimistic and you will be happy all the time ok!!!! thats the most impt thing, be happy! ^^

bear, really dont mind but you told me the timing is during office work days mah so cannot. preserve them meaning put them in a container ah???
shiver.....ermmmm dunno about that but i prob be too engross in the things i see bah ^^ LOL

maruko

bear, so far so gd lor...juz the beginnin sure very attentive one...can onli comment hows her performance wks or mths later...

dajie, me agree wif u dat they realli dunno how hard we try to accomodate to them...past few wks my mil kept tellin me durin our conversations dat her bro's daughter in law is the best she hav seen lor...kept commentin how great she is...dunno if she is hintin to me anything la...i cant b bothered...juz oh n ya to her comments...

queenie_30

Wah gd to see the thread come back fr the dead.

jannie,
u r in the situation,u wld knw how best to handle her since u've been staying w her for awhile now.
Frankly,when i'm old.I dont think i'll be an easy old person either. esp if i'm bored.Hehehe!!!

cacphin

dajie.. dont worry.. the thread will not die...
just that everyone is very busy..
me marking scripts now.. that's why a bit free-er
till next stack is in.
LIFE IS BORED....sigh..

teacup

hi hi everyone. good to see some 'life' here. hehe. sorry, i am one of the guilty ones who have not been posting regularly as well.

just moved to a new job and trying to settle in. I feel like a super jobhopper this year.. haiz. not really by choice... hope the current one will work out.

weixiongy

harlow!

jannie, well i also cant be bothered if im you. i think my mil got compare me and wifey with wifey's bro and wife lor.... also heck care lah. they wanna compare, there is nothing that we can do about it. they should realize that no matter how much they compare it is not going to work that way.

man_tou_bear

Jannie, comparing is inevitable one... of cos she trying to say that u not as gd as her 'perfert' DIL lah. ur hb shd stand up for u in this case. all these insinuations can drive one crazy.

Hang in there.

anise

jannie... wah if i m u, guess i sure can't take it and sure shoot back. "ren bi ren, qi si ren" no point to compare.. how come ur mil compare with her bro's daughter in law.. my gosh! i tink she is trying to hint u else won't like dat wan.. juz bear with it.. dun care..

nihpcac... exam over already huh.. so fast, sch holiday coming again liao hor... i love marking books by wont have the chance to.. =p