(2005/09) ROM in Sept 2005

jannie,
i guess i was on to meet up w my sil & her hb caz or else my stay is pretty much routined.Also,it's alwayz nice to meet family or frens in a foreign country.
I jz asked conceirge for directions & was given an english map.Din hv to chg trains so tt made things simplier.When i got there,my bil picked me up caz it was quite a walk.Saw the tokyo tower.Really nice at night.

hi all, back to my house for dinner so can log in!!

wishing everyone a happy, healthy and fulfilling PIG year!! Gong Xi Gong Xi!!

Just had my dinner.. guess everyone is too busy to be online.. later going for movie.. wishing everyone a happie prosperous new yr.. May lucks be with us all thru-out the yr ya =) enjoy ur holidays =)

Happy New Year guys! Make it bring u all good health and prosperity to all at home!

Just got back from visiting.. one big hole in my pocket. but its fun giving ang baos! heehee..

Happy New Year!!!
May all be prosperous and enjoy good health throughout. Most importantly, may whatever you wish for, will come true in this PIG year.

Gong Xi Fa Cai. Here wishing you good health and a prosperous new year!!!

Firstly congrats to Jannie!!! Take care of yourself ah....take it easy!! =)

Sorry all have not been posting for a while...been really busy with work and also as Jes mentioned her dad had an operation recently so got to postpone our honeymoon... good news is we've confirmed our flights to kiwi island for March.... so really looking forward to it!! =)

Also encountered a number of hiccups for V'Day..firstly it was the venue.... i made a reservation in January and that weekend before V'Day they called me and said sorry no more alfresco sitting because they gave up the seats to those who went down to make payments for the v'day menu...if they have told me i had to make payments in january i would have gone down to do so... anyway they manage to offer an alternative....next was the flowers.....i was SHOCKED when i saw the bouquet of flowers.... the florist actually delivered the wrong bouquet!! Can't believe it.. hehe.... and lastly was the dinner itself.. we waited 40 minutes for them to serve dessert... also the kept serving the same dish twice.. and had to carry the food around asking if they have already served them.....lolz kinda drama ah

We only started our spring cleaning last weekend so we were still cleaning on the eve till about 2 am..... it was tiring but feels good after that.. hehe we went out to buy some flowers.. got a good deal as they are closing soon so want to clear as much as possible... a bunch of 3 "Change luck" bamboo costs 13.80.... it went for $1....heheh... we have also started giving ABs liao...big hole in the pocket... anyway all have fun visiting ah

dajie> i have got so many questions to ask you leh.... i'm fascinated with planes so when i fly i will wonder why we need to do this.. we need to do that ....for e.g. why must we keep the shades up when taking off and landing... why we cannot have bags beside the chairs....why must sit upright.. hehehe sorry so many questions

bear> sorry to hear about your pig....take it easy.... hope you are feeling better now..

tweety> have you made the decision yet re the co.... read that you need to make the decision last Mon??

tea> For me no regrets with the dinner... it was a great experience......it was also nice to meet alot of friends and colleagues after a long time.... they also get to meet each other..... it was really a good get-together......

suelynn> Glad to know that you enjoyed your PS... we went to sentosa as well.. heheh

anise> i think it's alwas like that we went move on to new jobs...... you need time to adjust to the ppl, environment etc... likewise for them they need time to adjust to you.... it will get better as time goes by.. just keep a open mind.

weixiong & aeries> Got work extremely hard during your HM anot? hehehe ...weixiong jiayou ah..... read that you'll be taking the lead in the puchasing system for ur firm....jiayou jiayou.. it will be very good for your cv...

cherz> Congrats on your love nest eh......was spring cleaning a night mare?? hehe

Happy oink year for all of us!

Happy B'day ah bear!

Gvg out AB fun?Went uncle in law place,got 2 new additions.Another cousin in law miscarried twice.Sil & me happily not reproducing.

DH,
many ask me the same questions.U can actually ask the flt attendant on ur flt too!

Anywayz,windows shades up during take off & landing so tt pax can see anything unusual happening outside & can alert the crew eg engine fire.
Bags has to be under the seats infront of u so tt in case of an evacuation,it may not be an obstacle,seats upright so tt the pax seating behind u will be able to get out quickly in case of emergency.These r jz basic precautions.
All due to safety reasons.

DH,
u proved my point agn on why i dont dine out on V'days etc.
Many restaurants r unprepared,inexperienced to handle such a demand.They look very unprofessional.I feel tt in sg,our service industry is a shame.

Dajie, thanks for remembering.. Ya its pretty fun giving ang baos cos its my turn to ask the unmarried couples when its their turn! heehee..

DH, sounds like an eventful V Day! which restuarant is that man? screwed up everything!! i think Jes will always rem this.. heehee... How's ur FIL? recovering well i hope? do come and post more okie?

I saw Cherz and her hb on tv today! It was the 10pm Chinese News and they were doing a story on a big extended family of 80 ppl coming together and celebrating CNY. My hb noticed Cherz in the front row when they were taking a family photo! heehee!!!

Hey dajie... many thanks... learnt something new today..... it's very nice and comforting to know that these small "gestures" are essential and important for safety...

Ah bear... happy birthday to you!! =) Yes it was quite eventful sia....lolz.... It's the restaurant at the new marina south pier...

Yes, my fil is recovering well.... still on the corset i think for another 1 month... many thanks for your concern.... i saw the news but didn't realise it's cherz!

dajie> i paiseh to ask them leh... lolz.....yeah.. the restaurant were really unprepared with the crowd... .

Thanks DH! oooh Marina South Pier is where ah? as u can see, i hardly go out nowadays.. becoming a mountain tortoise liao...

Why need to wear corset? issit a spinal op? actually if my hb didn't blurt out that it was Cherz, i also won't realise it.. i smsed Cherz and she said that it was her mum's side that was featured!

So finally u can go for ur HM liao.. ur turn to work 'hard' there.. wahahahaha....

DH,
most ppl in the service industry dont get paid well so no one wanna be in tt line so when it gets bz,they r short handed lor.
Think there's a stigma in sg for being a waiter.Plus in sg,we dont practise tipping so waiters dont gv a damn.I'm sure u knw in NYC,we gotta tip for everything.Different lor.

harlow all...hows every1 durin this CNY? wow...cherz got such a big family gatherin ah? makes me kinda jealous dat their family is so close...

DH, thx...its kinda realli tough for me rite now coz i cant touch anything in the fridge...cant even drink a glass of cold drink...ggrrr...
finally gg for ur HM? time for u to work hard liaoz...hehehe...be waitin for ur gd news when u back... :p

seems like most of us givin out ABs oredi...but me not givin alot also...haha...onli gave a few for my side den hb side also not much...dunno got give out 10 or not...

went to c gynae last sat on CNY eve...very happy n excited dat we can c the baby from the scan now...hehehe...gotta b more careful these few days coz the spottin is back again...doc gimme this wk MC so no need to go back work tmr...yes bear bear, me noe u will bug me to rest on my bed :p i will so no worries...

hello daje... sorry will not be able to join this time round as i will be out of town on those dates... you guys have fun!! yeah i understand.... it's also no easy being a waiter... got alot of demanding customers

bear> marina south pier is at marina bay... quite close to where we have seafood, bbq steamboat or bowling... or fly kites...yah it was a spinal op....

Jannie> must tahan...... not even a glass of cold drink.... cannot!! and rest well ah...

anise,
if u r serious abt becoming an "icon",here's ur chance.

Local Flight Stewardesses
We will be conducting a recruitment exercise for Flight Stewardess in Singapore. If you meet the following standards, we will be pleased to meet you at our walk-in interview.

Requirements
Singapore or Malaysian citizenship
Females who are at least 1.58m
At least 2 GCE ‘A’-level credits and 2 ‘O’-level credits including General Paper in the GCE ‘A’-level examination; or a Diploma from a local Polytechnic.
(Those with at least 5 GCE ‘O’-level credits, including English, and relevant working experience may also apply).

Preference will be given to candidates who are able to speak foreign languages or are experienced in customer service.

Training
If you make it through our rigorous selection process, you will undergo about 4 months’ training. On successful completion of training you will commence flying duties.

Remuneration & Service Benefits
Apart from the opportunity to experience various cultures and meet new people from around the world, you can look forward to a total income of about S$3,500 a month, including fixed salary and variable incentive allowances. Plus an annual wage supplement of one month’s basic salary and profit-sharing bonus. You will also be entitled to free travel to any SIA destination once a year and enjoy discounted travel at other times.

Application Details
If you measure up to our requirements and are interested to apply, please download and complete this application form.

Please bring the following documents for registration between 9am and 12noon.

Completed application form
Passport-sized photograph
Original(s) and a photocopy each of:
a) your birth certificate
b) all educational certificates
c) identity card
Interviews will be conducted on 4 March 2007 at:

Sheraton Towers Singapore Hotel
2nd Level – Ballroom 2
39 Scotts Road
Singapore 228230

Hihi!!! Din hav time to read thr every post. Juz came in to complain! argh!!! My mum complaint that e AB we gave her is too little..... We gave her n my dad 50 each. Same as WX's parents, his grandparents and my grandpa. She told me she was expecting 100 each. I was like huh??? If 100 each then it's like I need to give like 800 for 'zhang bei'. Not to mention e kids loh... Both sides got so many kids!!!! AHHHH!!!!!!
Then she said others no need to give so much. Grandparents give 20 can liao. Parents muz give more. Wat e F??? Simply dun understand!! She added that we get bonuses is for us to give AB one mah. Then I said I get bonus already gave u money liao. So next time I get bonus dun give u money, I put them all in ur AB loh. Then she said, "Need to be so calculative meh?" Who's being calculative here???!!!!

gd morning every1...wat a lazy morning...

aeris, wah seh...ur mum so calculative 1 ah? where got ppl say give AB too little den ask for more 1??? my mum actually say how com i give so much...hahaha...wat a contrast...actualli me also dunno how much to give my parents initially until my mum told me my sis gave her 88. but oredi too late coz me gave my parents 250 each...my mum still got give me n hb AB so it kinda equals up the amt also...tink when it comes to money, the issues r neverendin...
anyway, dun let this spoil ur new yr mood

DH, its realli hard to tahan in this warm weather...BUT there r ppl ard controllin me...haha...so no worries dat i will drink secretly...

Hello! just woken iup.. heeheee... on leave today.. need to clear my bday leave... but i will be spending it doing an all impt presentation.. sigh...

Dajie, all the abv mention dates are ok with me... how abt the rest leh?? how come no reply one???

Jannie, u know wat i will say.. but i think its ok to drink cold water.. did ur gynae say u can't drink them?? my mum told me her gynae said only one cup of coffee max a day but she still continued to drink 3x a day.. in the end me and my sis also turned up ok.. wahaahha... Physical signs like spotting i believe, but cannot eat this cannot eat that is rubbish... we shd always eat everything in moderation.

DH, orh.. so we are to avoid that restaurant issit?

Aeris, u not the only one... i m currently facing some personal probs hence not able to buy my mum any new yr goods. She complained to my sis abt it... but i gave her $200 for angbao... dunno lah.. lucky my mum dun dare to say in front of me.. cos since young she said that it is rude to discuss abt ang baos in front of the person that gave it to u.

jannie,
i agree w bear,jz eat everything in moderation but i think towards ur last few mths,u may want to consider drinking coconut juice for easier delivery.

ah bear,
maybe the dates r still too far away for some to confirm.The festivity aint over yet mah.

aeris,
it's sad to learn when our own parents r so calculative.ABs r jz a token,since wen the amount is placed utmost importance?Some parents forgotten tt they shd appreciate tt their children gv $ at all.
Those dumped in old folks home & no one visiting them during festive seasons wld knw best.

Hi... happy new yr to everyone!

bear, happy belated birthday =P

Company shutdown today but they deduct our annual leave haiz... will be back to work tmr... abt e gathering can onli confirm nearer to e date as got a customized project with short leadtime starting tmr. hope this pig yr will be a better yr for all of us...

Bear happy belated bday!

I am ok with any dates for gathering. My hb gave my mum $ for cny, I din give mil , anyway mum is happy with any amt. My mum is very pissed with her sis for nt giving me n my hb angbao cos her children all got married abt 35 or after n mum gave them till they married. Then the kids married ald nvr give me n my bro also, so she very pissed plus that aunt is the richest, kids all drove bmw, merc etc. N she gave my granny some bedsheets that were used lo! say cny change bedsheets, kns, mum so angry bought new ones for granny. My aunt whom my granny live in was offended by my mum's sis cos the sheets so old n ask my granny change, majiam those she bought for granny is worse! Can see all sorts of weird ppl during cny...

bear, happy belated birthday...how did u celebrate wif ur hb? :p

eat in moderation...mmm...ok will take note of it...now my hb dun even let me eat fast food or tidbits...sigh...u can imagine wat food im eatin now...mainly fish, meat n veggies...n drink onli plain water or milk...
actualli gynae no say cant eat lah but said b careful wat i eat lor...

hi everyone.. Happie new yr =)

queenie thanxs alot... i oso juz got to noe =) i guess i will juz go try it out =) Hmm actually i wanted to tender without a job on last fri but den my boss on leave.. lol no choice.. guess it's fated to let mi re-consider.. It's not advisable to quit without a job.. Guess i will try out the SIA.. juz try for fun.. might not get in anyway..

about giving AB.. hmmm next yr will be my turn liao.. can't imagine.. this yr my last yr in collecting AB.. lol.. so bear, aeris, DH, cherz.. how much $$ u all used for the AB??

aeris.. wah ur mum so calculative.. maybe it's coz she brings u up n thus expect more.. so next yr u noe wat to do.. dun give her extra allowance during bonus period but put into the AB =)

anna... sooo good. on leave.. anyway this week is a short week.. so should be betta =) weekend here veri soon liao =)

hey anise,
u really wanna quit ah?Is it tt bad?The environment or the job?
Try SQ for fun?Wat if u really get in?If u get in,ur bond is abt 18mths.If u break the bond,u pay nearly $10k.Hv u really considered carefully like can u & ur hb get used to u not being ard alot?
If u think u can handle this & focus on the perks & benefits,i will help u along if u need me.

Hey guys! Thanks for the well wishes...

Jannie, didn't do anything with hb... he almost didn't buy me a cake cos he said it was CNY no shops will be opened.. only got it for me when my MIL said the bigger shops are opened. No presents, no nothing.. sigh...

Fastfood and tidbits are ok in small amts lah... u need to eat a balance diet... some ppl say pregnant women cannot eat too much fish cos of the high mercury content.. can lead to foetal brain damage.. however, a study published just last wk showed that mothers that ate fish during pregnancy had smarter babies.. the fish they ate must be high in omega-3 fats. again, eat everything in moderation.. best is if u speak to ur gynae abt such things.. ur hb will be convinced by professionals.

Sue, only CNY u will see such weirdos so count ur lucky stars tat u dun see them often! heehee...

Anise, so fast wanna throw in the towel? why u wanna tender? just becos of ur cols? surely u can overcome that!!! wat make u so sure the next place u choose won't encounter the same probs? Ang baos ah? i gave away abt $700... bulk went to the parents lor.. imagine this, i didn't visit anybody on my parents side and already $700 gone liao.. sigh.,. next yr will be a bigger hole in my pocket.

I posted this last year & jz a gentle reminder to us women here.Here it is agn for those of us who may need it,now.

Just sharing.........

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE...
A set of screwdrivers,
a cordless drill, and
a black lace bra...

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE...
One friend who
Always makes her Laugh...
And one Who lets her cry...

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE...
A good piece of furniture
not previously owned by
Anyone else in her family...

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE
Eight matching plates,
Wine glasses with stems,
And a recipe for a meal that will
Make her guests feel honored.

A WOMAN SHOULD HAVE...
A feeling of control over
Her destiny...

EVERY WOMAN SHOULD KNOW...
How to fall in love
Without losing herself...

HOW TO QUIT A JOB
BREAK UP WITH A LOVER
AND CONFRONT A FRIEND WITHOUT RUINING THE FRIENDSHIP...

When to try harder... and
WHEN TO WALK AWAY...

That she can't change
The length of her calves,
The width of her hips, or
The nature of her parents...

That her childhood
May not have been
Perfect...but;
Its over...

What she would and
Wouldn't Do for love or more...

How to live alone...
even if
She doesn't like it...

Whom she can trust,
Whom she can't,
And why she shouldn't
Take it personally...

Where to go...
Be it to her best friend's kitchen table..
Or a charming inn in the woods...
When her soul needs soothing.

What she can and can't accomplish
In a day...
A month...
And a year...

happy belated birthday tea...

anise, wat makes u wanna tender? too stressed up? make sure u realli made up ur mind to join SIA leh...juz like wat dajie said...wat if u get in? den u gotta sign the bond for 18 mths...ur hb also hav to get used to u not being ard most of the time...as for ABs, me changed abt 1k...bulk went to PILs, parents n hb's granny...still got quite abit of "small" ones left...

bear, hb very "anxious" abt this piglet so me gotta bear wif it lor...as for now juz listen to watever others tell me n endure for the next 8 mths...btw, any1 noes when is rachel due har? so long no hear from her liao...

bear, how com ur hb no celebrate? cant use CNY as an excuse mah...even ur MIL noes whether the cake shops open or not...he no do homework lah...

kinda reminds me of my bday at korea...we cant find any cake shops coz dunno where hav...den hb ask the tour guide where to get...den the tour guide went to get for me instead...abit pai seh...den even got the whole tour group to sing bday song for me while on the way back to hotel...haha...very memorable indeed... :p

hi all. Happy new year.
thanks for all the birthday wishes. sorry, not been posting a lot. been busy, then laptop kena virus, not able to connect to internet...

New year was ok for me.. the usually visiting. managed to squeeze in some biking and swimming.

I should be ok for the gathering.

queenie... hmm ya quite true wat if i can get thru den i got to really re-consider.. However my hubby supported mi to try out.. anyway i might not get.. get den decide.. If given a choice i guess i will juz wanna try.. Btw, my other concern is dat i getting married in nov, worried dat it will affected if so happen i can get thru.

As y i wanna quit.. hmmm i juz dun like the pple, the culture, the sys there.. my boss keep hinting mi to stay late everyday but i m those kind, since i cant get anythin done liao den i might as well go home rest n prepare for another new day to absorb more stuff right =( haiz my boss dun haf those kind of mentality.. we must go on war till late night everyday =(

tea...... happie belated bday =) sorrie dinno it's ur bday.. hope u enjoyed ur day with hubby =)

yaya i oso ok with the gathering.. as long as i can make it, I will sure go =) but no guarantee wor

anise,
if u get pass the 1st walk in interview then reconsider lor.
If u do get in,u wld probably started flying by Aug & it wld for sure affect ur nov wedding.
Gal,if u not willing to work late then r u ready to be away for 10days?

Sorry. Just checked my calender again, I can only make it for the 7th n 14th.

Going to see a sport specialise regarding my old knee injuiry about 10am. working from home now. Think my knee have not fully recovered, thou better go have a check.

sorry da jie but i have not forgot......been really busy lately and furthurmore my laptop got problem and desktop also got problem...........so busy at work and home.......

any of the dates should be fine as i have not heard from my boss about any overseas trip in march.

will go source for some nice "zhi cha" place but satisfaction not guaranteed LOL

Tea, your knee injury still bugging you ah, better stay away from serious sports or strenous sports for awhile bah.

jannie, i think tidbits can eat abit but you got to know the limits coz my best fren also got eat tidbits....actually she eat more of the forbidden stuffs then the good stuffs hehehehe

i also spent ard 650 for my ang baos. like what wifey say about mil, i was quite mad when she told me what mil said. next year im gonna give the same amount again......humph!!

anise, you should really give da jie's advise some thoughts. coz a bond of 18months is not consider long but it can take stop you from jumping on any good opportunities along the way.

bear, im sure your mum understand juz that she need to grumble about it to feel "shiok" bah. you know lah, our older generations tend to grumble alot but half of the time is juz for the sake of grumbling.

wx: ya, old knee injuiry. so now knee is weak. will feel weak or pain when i do too much stuff.

ya, went to have jap food with hubby whose birthday is just 3 days after mine.
Hubby knows the chef, so basically we just sat the counter and the chef will prepare the food. we just eat. didnt have to place orders.
yummy.

Hi.. I'm back in Sg...

Bear and Tea.. happy belated birthday ya...
so many friend's birthday near this chinese new year.. my hb's birthday last 21st Feb also.. hahahaa

DH.. I choose to stay in my current co with new management...

Aeris.. yr mum said it in joking tones??? maybe she just jokes ba... don take it too heart k...

tea,
wat did doc say abt ur knee?
I recently strained my back due to wrong posture while surfing the net w my notebook.
I saw doc but the muscle relaxant & a rub din work at all so i saw doc agn,he gv me stronger pain killers.Hopefully it'll work this time.Cant bend fwd,cant stand or sit too long.Wearing panties also painful.Really like old lady.

Tt reminds me,how's ur knee bear?

jannie's back also had some problem right?

Has anyone heard of Nanja Monja japanese restaurant at grand copthorne?

Hullo... been busy with assignments.. just handed up a major one... need slp man.. slpt 8 hrs in the past 2 days.. sigh.... can finally rest...

Jannie, everybody will be anxious for u one... but u must not let their concerns override common sense.. I think even ur gynae will agree with me, eat in moderation and not exclude food from ur diet.. best is to check with ur gynae wat u can eat.. and make ur hb sit in with u... ya my hb nv celebrate with me.. sigh... don't wanna talk abt it...

Anise, staying late is part and parcel of working mah... who knows, the next co u join might expect u to stay late too. as i mentioned before, those ppl who goes hm on time, i feel, have not enough work to do. Just my tots. Don't give up so easily ok??? and dun go to ur new co with the same expectations u have of ur old one..

Tea, ur knee ok???

Dajie, my knees are old prob... have had knee pains since 11 yrs old.. went to physio too but they can't do anything cos my joints are too loose, hence the pain. so that means u dun have to fly tmr?? heehee...

WX, i m allergic to a lot of things... chicken, pork, beef, salmon, squids, prawns... but i still eat them.. so dun worry lah... where are we gg to eat???