(2005/05) ROM in May 2005

hi gals, my hubby also nt beri keen to celebrate v-day liao... dunno izit he feel he already overbudget on mi present from Citigems ... tot he planning dinner tis sat but dun haf leh... *sigh* i bought him a new renoma wallet coz his wallet beri koyak liao...

guys ah? erm..i think shopping center should have leh, like metro lah, taka etc.

wah, what you buy from citigems?

HUbby very choosy abt wallet, he want his small wallet only and despite my mum giving him a new wallet, he used for 1 week and changed back to his old wallet...

Diana, "sexy boxer shorts" is a great idea!! me too same as Ryes & blur, too broke to buy anything now. nowadays both of us are saving for the big day!!

Moonlight, yah its Jane who called me too in the 1st place but i called Michelle to clarify. me chosen the design with the word "XI" on it. wad abt u, wich design & how many cards r u collecting?? me collecting on sunday...actually i oso liked the card with the square shape but cannot choose 2 designs and take haf of it leh. Jane told me got additional charges if choose 2 designs. I collecting 200 1st cos Michelle mentioned is based on our estimation. If we do not meet the max tables based on the no of cards we collected, then we have to pay for the extra unused cards.
V disadvantage to us hor...

ryes, hubby bought me a heart-shape pendant wif many small diamonds (small until can't see) :P and also a necklace to go wif it..

my hubby nt beri choosy abt wallet, as long as can use will be ok.. basically he's ok wif everything i buy for him coz he koes i'll make noise if he say nt nice or nt gd.. haha.. i always bully him

Ryes, u gg SPAIN for f&e??

hermmm...dun think my hubby b planning any V-day surprises for me cos we r having our PS on monday.

moonlight, i called Jasvy & T-dragon already. Both charging $100nett for inserts based on 1st 200pcs. Hot-stamping by Jasvy is $160nett. Not sure abt T-dragon.

blueberi, that's very sweet of your hubby to buy you the pendant and chain.. so nice...

Gintonic, rem to have enough rest this wkend so that you can be mei mei on your PS on monday.

gin,

not F&E, hubby doesnt want F&E, he say he want to enjoy.

You girls doing hot stamping ah? We just did inserts, 300pcs abt $230 like that, coz the paper we use is like translucent paper that costs $0.125 each.

hey blueberi, awww..so sweet. small till cannot see then use magifying glass to see lah...at least he have the tots.

ryes, i can email u the names of somee attractions in Spain. u gg Barcelona only? By the way, how many days u been in Spain??

most likely doing inserts cos hotstamping is much more ex as afterall its just invitation cards. most pple dump it after dat. no pt waste so much $$$ on printing.

ryes... good idea to use magnifying glass to see the teeny weeny diamonds, the Citigem staff said add together got 0.15carats.. i wonder real anot.. hubby say if i ever lost them, he'll nv buy mi replacement... also beri envy u can go spain & portugal for HM. if i can go korea for HM, i'll be happy liao..

whahaha...no lah, I just teasing you only. The diamonds should be real, just that it has no certificate etc as it is less than 30 pointer. But as long as it shines, who cares!

we are gg for 13D tour pkg, but I think very low chances to go leh. They claim to have 3 pax now, but I think the 3 pax is bluff one lor, after this weekend I shall call and pretend to ask how many pp join the tour.

So till I confirm the departure then I get more details from you. My itinery quite pack one leh, xian, just have 1 day in barcelona for F&E.

Yeah, hotstamping is very nice, but then ex, so I make do with inserts but use slightly more ex paper to make it nicer.

bluberi, ur hubby got the sincerity is gd enuff. dun mind those tiny diamonds lah..m sure he wil get u bigger diamonds in future.

korea is a v nice place. me been there few yrs back during SARS. best to go during winter cos can go skiing.

any of u r teochew BTBs?? i'm teochew n my MIL has suggested to go Poh Heng buy "si dian jin" for me. Is poh heng the most popular jewellery shop for the latest designs on si dian jin??

hey gin,

gues what! I just went poh heng last week only for my mum wanted to buy us gold for the tea ceremony. Apparently, she say poh heng is the lao zi hao for the seniors and alot of her foreign customers only like poh heng things as compared to others like lee hwa lah, goldheart lah, etc. So you dont worry that poh heng is very what.

But hor, I dont like gold. So my mum bought me a pair of diamond earrings for my gown, then bought a gold chain for hubby.

gintonic, u r rite, as long as it shines can liao.. hopefully dun drop out.. i went on a company meeting to korea earlier in january for 4 days.. came bac & was sick for 3 days.. i guess it's my body can't take the change in temperature, fm -2 deg cel. to 30 deg cel. but still wan to go korea in winter... hahaha

i tink the si dian jin at poh heng is nice... saw it on display when i walk past the shop... last time my sis wedding, mi mum also bought the jewelley from poh heng for mi sis & bil.

hey gin..
i choose the same card as u haha...actualli can choose both patterns leh...

The additional charge Jane mentioned shld be (if i'm not wrong) pertaining to the printing charges if u use their tied-up printer. Coz i tink printing charges are by batches of cards of the same design. So mebe if print 2 batch of different designed cards, Jasvy charge more. So after i told jane dat i'm gng to an external printer, she say I can choose different card designs leh...but in the end, i juz stick to one design la =)

wah suddenly today got so many posts! haha....

Gin, mi not teochew but mi hb is. I got all mi si dian jin frm Poh heng as well. Mi mum oso one of those who believe in getting fr Poh Heng only.designs not too bad and they can exchange the jewellery yrs later when u feel that u dun wear it and wana change. their price is quite reasonable. somemore i requested for the box. i like the SDJ box!

so i got the SDJ as well as tea ceremony items from them fr mi MIL. mi mum i got her to buy us watches for tea ceremony gifts.

gin, me hubby is teochew...but me hokkien. however, i hv skin thick thick tell my hubby tat i want si dian zhuang...hahaha...then he go tell my MIL as he say my MIL do noe all these stuff....but he say will only gif me san dian zhuang coz he oredi gif me a diamond ring liao mah...hahaha...i also dun like gold so tell him diamond lor since it is the trend now replace jin wif zhuang wahahaha

mi & hubby both hainanese, so there is no si dian jin for mi... dunno my hokkien mil will buy for mi anot (she beri stingy one)... toking abt yellow gold, i remember last time i told my sis i wan the big gold pig pendant wif chain (seen in those hkg drama) as wedding present, and she said if i dare to wear wif the kua den she buy for mi... haha... i told her it's ok and i'll wear wif the kua,after AD den bring to the goldsmith to change... *lol*

ryes, do u koe how to speak hainanese dialect? last time i used to speak it fluently when my grandma is around... but since she past away 16yrs ago den nobody speaks dat to mi liao... nw i can oni speak beri little hainanese dialect but i can understand it when ppl toks to mi.. my hubby worse, can't even speak or understand the dialect... he's fluent in hokkien instead *pengz*

moonlight, i collected the cards liao. so wich printer r u gg?? hubby suggested to use Jasvy since they charged the same price as T-dragon.

Ryes, need ur advise abt the addressing part. For relatives, it shld be our parents who invited them rite? so for eg; if my mum's eldest bro then shld address as eldest bro, cannot write as my eldest uncle rite??

Bluberi, me teochew n can speak well cos i was brought up by my grandparents as my parents were both working those daz. My hubby is cantonese but he can only speak very mild. haha!! Hubby was saying he might want to use teochew as the thank u speak during the banquet. I told him dun "ma lu" cos my granny confirmed will laugh at him..me too can only speak mild cantonese cos watched many HK drama serials. Anyway, I hope my children can speak both dialects in future else the dialect linkage will b lost forever..

hey blueberi,

I cannot speak, I only know how to say Wa bo butt hia, meaning I dont know how to listen or speak, I also dont know. whaha...Abit ma lu lah, coz my older relatives will suan say I am hainanese yet dont know how to speak, blah blah. I dont care lah. I grew up living with Grandmother, she speaks hokkein with me lor. But I also not so fluent in hokkein.

Hi Gin, yeah, she have to address the card to Eldest Brother and not as your uncle. LIke my case, we written wrongly as Grandma when we wanted to send the invite to her. My mum said, she is the one representing us to send the invite, so by right she should write the invite as Mum.

eh, poh heng got this wedding catalogue, if u all have a chance to go, take a copy. Inside have those little notes which is very useful like say for example for an chuang, you need peanuts, gua zi, longan, red dates etc so that couples will zha sheng gui zi.

gintonic & ryes.. i also hope in future my children can speak both dialects, hokkien & hainanese.. but tink is too difficult to com true... mi always kenna suan by relatives on not speaking my own dialect... besides hainanese, i can also understand hokkien, cantonese & abit of teochew... if ask mi to speak tis dialects, i sure malu also...

juz now i happened to walk past the roadshow of the new BS which i signed up last week... so i went up and ask them the price of topping up pics for the 15R album. the staff told mi is SGD95 each but told mi not to worry coz the boss sure will gif mi discount. she also said digital photo stand price is $95. izit true?

I also hope my kids will speak dialect. I'm sure they will pick up hokkein because my PIL can only speak hokkein and mandarin. As for my parents, we speak mainly English. So I suppose hainanese, canno learn liao lor...

wow...oredi talking abt wat dialect u wan u kid to speak liao....hee hee

for me, one thing for sure, they will definitly be able to speak mandarin and english coz tat wat me and my hubby use to communicate...but i tink they will sure understand hokkien coz my parent speak it and i will also use it when toking to my siblings...

for teochew, i nt too sure....coz his mum seem to speak more mandarin at hm than teochew...however, i tink i will also love them to learn it too...coz it is their father tongue mah...kekekeke

haha....wow....diana...mi reaction same as u when i'm reading thru the posts above...keke

I'm total idiot when it comes to dialect, can't even speak hokkien properly, except when it comes to swearing la...wahah...but then again...onli the most basic ones la...keke

But i tink canto is a nice dialect to learn though... =)

heyz gin, i still duno which printer to go to leh....but a colleague recommend mi his...which is near mi workplace....so mebe i'll consider that bah..not realli particular abt printing...so tink i'll juz chin chai go to the cheapest one..haha..hb even tinking of printing the cards ourselves!!! faintz...

wahhh...luckily i read this forum..else i sure duno how the addressing of seniors in invitation cards go...i sure write as if i'm the one inviting them all...hahah ..thnx manz gals!! hee

Hi gin, thk ur hb using teochew at the wedding is a nice touch.
mi hb's spoke in teochew to thank his parents too.
i attended a wedding yest where the groom used hokkien too to thank granparents. although not very fluent but sincere.

heh, i dun expect mi kids to be able to learn dialect la. im half canto and hokkien but never master speaking both dialects.only can understand it. so how can expect the kids to learn. maybe only teochew since hb can speak it.

ya, writing the invites is a headache for parents' cards but there is oso someone u can go to to write it out properly for u. for mi side, mi mum brought it to her cousin to write it in chinese. the modern ones easier since can still write their names in english.
so even for printing, some says that the invites muz include ur grandparents if they are very very particular.

yeah, my hubby gave a thank you speech on our rom day using hokkein as his parents communicate in hokkein one and he broke dwn lor. so this time round, he die die dun want give speech liao, scare later burst out crying again..kekekek...

haha...mi worse ah, mi hb all prepared den i tot can write later on coz got time in hotel rm, den i got caught up chatting with mi jemeis till last min den panic. so juz anyhow say something on stage. ended up didnt expect to feel like crying when i thank mi parents, granny and bro on stage so mi voice was all wobbly and weird. hahaha....
mi jiemeis down at the tables was juz panicking i would ruin mi MU. hahaha...

aahhahah...yeah, i guess is quite emotional one leh, so i rather skip it. I got quite emotional while exchanging vows with hubby my voice went weak. better play safe, dun give speech then no problem. phew.

Happy Valentines!!!

Finally done with my photoshoot yesterday!! Weather was great, No rainz!!...went out ard 5pm for outdr and ended at 8pm+. Everything went on smoothly. I b able to view my pics in abt a week time. My BS PG was nice too as he shared wif us some of d 80pics which we took earlier in our casual wear, kua n korean costume before we proceeded to chg into our evening n wedding suits. At least we are assured of the pics will turn out nice. Though my feets felt tired but we really enjoyed the whole process esp hubby who started off looking stiff n nervous but in the end he relaxed and had fun as well. heeee

It really doesnt seems to b so tring as many of my frens had told me!!

hee..ryes, i tot i would be fine since usually im quite calm, and mine was juz a short one.
i felt that if dun thank sounds abit farnie to juz say thank you and go down the stage. seemed more sincere to say something. but if really too emotional, better skip the part then if not, ruin the MU.
i attended one on sun and the groom was the emotional one.

Hi Gin, glad to hear everything went well..ya luckily the weather was good yest hor, den u get lovely pics with blue skies...
so where did u go for ur PS?
u got gd stamina hor, i was quite tired out by the weather and the smiling by the time i finished mine...
cant wait to see ur pics too...

pierced, me went to botanica garden n fullerton. yah managed to snap pics of the blue skies. heee
we were actually sweating at the botanica garden but restored back our energy on the way to fullerton. so overall, still managed to put on smiling face!! haha...hopefully the pics will turn out nice. Our BS PG quite pro cos we thot he wont b so pro..v bad of us hor. he had a discussion wif us on the theme we wanted before started our PS. So in d end my hubby was pleased wif his works n services cos he super particular abt photos.

Will share my pics once ready!!

hi girl hi girls,

so sorry been really busy recently esp these few days I'm so argh! short of time. table number not yet assigned, not yet burn the cd for the songs, tomorrow testing the sound system, then i not yet come up with the guestlist somemore. I'm so stressed!!!! then not yet an chuang, then worry about my bunnies also, who take care when I at hotel etc. aiyo!!!!!!!!!!!

thanks gin, yeah, I'm getting married off this sunday..

hi gals...

have been really busy and hasn't have time to log into here to chat with all ofy ou.

Gintonic, your PS sounds really fun. Glad that both you and your darling enjoyed the whole process. Remember to show us your beautiful photos when it's ready ok? Looking forward to my PS too..

Diana, pierced, gin, ryes n the rest..I onzz for a meet up too! well, we have been chatting together here in this threat for almost, er... or even more than a year already.. but we all have yet to meet up. However, i m pretty shy when it comes to meet up with "strangers".. hee hee.. Maybe when Gintonic photos are ready, we all shall meet up for some photos viewing session. Ryes and pierced can show us her AD photos too.
Also also, Pierced, pls conduct a corsage making session too. I am really keen to learn leh..

Ryes, All the best for you big day on this coming sunday! remember not to stress up yourself. stay relax and be a mei mei bride on sunday. Getting really excited for you. Do keep us update on your pre and post AD programs...

N last but not least, will be flying off to bangkok this august for shopping spree. Well, guess most of the time shopping for my household stuff. I had just sign up for a valentines promotion by tiger airways online. So cheap. will be flying off for 5 days (over the weekend) and back on national day. Total we paid is only $251 including tax and flight for 2 persons! It's a one for one promotion...

Hi Ryes, muz be getting really excited now. hee...dun worry, everything will run smoothly on ur Big Day. remember to juz smile and not to bother about things on that day.
u will enjoy the whole process and everything will be worth it!

hi blur, no prob...corsage making can, as long as u gals dun find it too amateur coz i oso juz trial and error one...

Thk we will have to wait for Ryes to come back fr wedding to mit up rite? when arh? muz set a date. come to thk about it, we almost gg to ROM a yr liao lei, left 3 more mths...haha..

like tat, y nt we leave ryes to set the date for us...hee hee

ryes, stay cool, clam n pretty for ur big day!!

so, gin, after ryes u will be the nex rite? then moonlight rite?

yo gers!

wow!! havnt log in for a wk, so many postings liao!!!

Diana: dun forget to include mi, I'm keen for e gathering too..

Ryes: Time really gone by very fast especially on ur AD... Juz smile and dun bother much on dat day, everyting will run smoothly.. ;)

deardear, sure...how can forget u...

a joke for u gals...especially for ryes...

A wife was making a breakfast of fried eggs for her husband.
Suddenly her husband burst into the kitchen.

Careful. CAREFUL! Put in some more butter! Oh my GOD! You're cooking too
many at once.

TOO MANY! Turn them! TURN THEM NOW! We need more butter.

Oh my GOD! WHERE are we going to get MORE BUTTER?

They're going to STICK! Careful.

CAREFUL!

I said be CAREFUL! You NEVER listen to me when you're cooking!

Never! Turn them! Hurry up! Are you CRAZY? Have you LOST your mind?

Don't forget to salt them. You know you always forget to salt them.

Use the salt. USE THE SALT! THE SALT!"

The wife stared at him.

"What the heck is wrong with you? You think I don't know how to fry a
couple of eggs?"

The husband calmly replied, "I just wanted to show you what it feels
when I'm driving."

Morning gals..

Diana, that is classic one. hehehe.. so funnie.

pierced, dun worry, as long you are willing to teach me, i am willing to learn. But before that we need to go buy some raw materials right?

where shall we meet up ? so far, Gin, deardear, pierced, diana and myself are onzz for the gathering.

Diana, its really a meaningful joke!! Sounds v familiar leh. haha!!

blur, wow gg BKK again..so gd leh can go on shopping spree!! Do share where to get nice household stuffs. By the way, how u gotto noe abt the tiger airways promo? its quite cheap leh.

Heee...yah after Ryes then is my turn then after mine is moonlight's. so fast leh, we gg to celebrate our 1st yr ROM anniversary.
I hope to bring along my pics during the gathering if its done in time.

Hi blur, no worries about material first. i have leftover roll of ribbons and flowers fr mi wedding so can use those first. den u gals can see if u wana use it too.