(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi BinBin, my MIL said she only mind the time we reach her place must follow. Think anything you better check with your MIL, especially regarding the tea ceremony. Cos supposedly everything must groom's side first.

hi gals... now considering if I should try sothys as u guys recommended. My skin belongs to sensitive skin type...right now dun use any make up or cleanser at all... friend just recommended DR HAUSKA to me... anyone knows about this product? bought for a few weeks but have not started using. hehe

coffee/dinner on!! where??? hehe...should we make it either orchard or cityhall so that everyone can make it then arrange for hometown coffee sessions there? haha... exciting.

hi kkwai

what about placing damp tea bags on ur eyes? or cucumber? hee hee, these are the traditional remedies which i've heard before. if u have puffy eyes, u may want to try lamere moisturiser. it's very ex tho, i think one small bottle costs about $400-$500. but the amazing thing is, u can use this moisturiser on ur eye, it doesn't harm the skin around ur eye and it works, it reduces the puffiness around ur eyes. either that or..... get more sleep

hi c0co
hee hee, never heard of Dr Hauska before, but since u've bought it, might as well start trying right? but if u have sensitive skin, better not use it on the whole of ur face first, try it on the inside of ur wrist, u know, where u'd dab some perfume? i think that's a good spot to let u know if u can use that product or not.

better to let ur wrist itch than get the whole of ur face itch or have other allergic reactions right?

i've got a friend who had sensitive skin and she used Nuskin products, she said it works for her. i guess it's really dependant on the individual.

and if u find that Dr hauska doesn't work for u, then u try sothys. the ex-colleague who reccomended me to sothys had sensitive skin and this was the only brand that worked for her, but as i said again, whether it works for u or not depends on the individual. hope this helps

hi binbin,

i had tea ceremony at my mum's place first. hehhe. It's more convenient that way. My hubby picks me up fr my place, then we proceed to his house. We had some time for photoshoot before leaving for my ROM venue.

In the afternoon, i went back to my mum's pl together with a suckling pig. By rite, we shld go back after 3 days but my mum doesn't mind.

My PIL did not voice any obj tho some of my relatives say tt it's not quite rite...we shld hv the tea ceremony at my hubby's pl b4 holding it at my Mum's pl. But my PIL is quite ez-going on tat. ;-)

Hi forest,
i have managed to load up my ROM pix in the same link tt i have sent u. You may view it.hehhee

oh binbin,

one more thing to add. My geomancer stipulated the time which the Groom arrives at the Bride's house, the time which both G & B shld arrive at the Groom's place as well as the time for the Bride to go back to her parents' pl.

Oh yes...piglets & brambles...i hv seen their setup...I'm am taking the Pacific Ballroom.

My initial plan was the Ocean Ballroom..but i fell in love with the setup in Pacific Ballroom when my co-ordinater offer to bring us to have a look...

Hv no trouble bookin my date when lookin for other hotels...mayb it isn't popular...We juz took our unit hse number to be our ROM & AD.

hi mist,
there's a lot of good comments abt Patrick in the forum so thinking of meeting him to see if can "click". also wanna see if the quotation can "click" too

hi binbin,
if you can make both the timing reaching the groom's place and then reaching your parents' place to be both auspicious time, that will be the best (my mom told me this).

normally, tea ceremony should take place at the groom's place first to show more respect to the PIL. but if you need to do the TC in your parents' place first, i think you should inform/ask your PIL to get their consenses... at least they will feel better since you've shown respect by asking them.

hi moonlight,
do share with us your gown selection experience too~!!

mist, think I a bit blur liao..haha...keep asking u same question even though u answered me b4 abt your contractor. paiseh

hihi everyone!

i'm new to this thread too!

hey taurus, din know u are also getting married in nov too! btw, 4got to mention mine is MTM WG & EG, it's also good to postpone my 1st appt to march coz it gives me more time to source for photos of the gowns which i like to show the designer ... as now i really have no ideas ...

Hi girls!!
I am finally back!! Whew….. been super busy & all! & also my comp became ting tong again & again, hanging up on me that I had not been really active in here!
So how have everyone been doing? Good, I hope!
Finally took time to read thru all the threads posted …. & happy that we are all Sept04 brides to be man!! Woo….Hoooo……..

Hi Eternity, DaBee, Mandy, Kokopooh, Anni, Gerlynn, Niv…..

Have I missed out any?? Ok, now that I am finally back, let me fill u all up with my story! Kekekekee…. Dat is if u all wanna hear / see lor….

I have gone for my 1st FITTING DONE already.....

waahh….try on all the different BG, EG …etc… till I nearly shagged out! So tired! Aiyoh….. I managed to find BG, EG to my liking, so I decided to OTR for all, rather than MTM lor, coz me brain very blur on wat to design leh, no ideas lah… so save the trouble, I OTR better. But my BG a little tight, will have to lose weight ah … before my 2nd fitting!! Seems like u all a lot onto MTM eh? Good lor if u all got ideas…
So happy, finally my BG,EG,Kua,…..etc,… all settled!
My 2nd will be in April/May, then PS in June lor!
~ Any advice on any “undiscovered” lookalike overseas spots bor?
~ So what abt u all? Done with all these I reckon?

AD & VENUE SETTLED.......

I think this one u all already know rite? My is 21 Sept lor, 2 days earlier than Gerlynn & Dabee… =) All of us in Sept mah hor? Heheheee……

Have not chosen a date for the GDL yet too man! =P

HOUSE NOT DONE YET......

As for my house, not done yet lor, haven’t take keys from HDB yet also. Slowly lah, no hurry, so many things come together at one time….aiyoh….. then u all leh? House done liao?

ANY BEAUTY TIPS MAN!!.........

So have u all done anything to lose weight yet? Aiyohh….. me no leh, dunno wat to do man….. although I know some of my frds on diet pills lor….. actually exercise is the best lah, but no time lah, aiyoh…. Me sleep sleep all day…. Hahahaa…..
Any exercise tips for the back? Coz our gowns are bare back one mah, must train abit there leh…. Kekkekeke…..

So any one of u into those spas or facial thingy already? Must look glowing on ur AD man! Me still nothing done yet leh…… Haiz……

jus to share, for me the temple did give me the timing i must step into our room. they say it is impt cos the older pple says this timing is the time that will not "chiong" wif us. so before 8 am, we mus standby n at 8 am sharp we mus step into our new room. all other pple cannot go into the room before us.

wat soupie, smallonion n ino had suggest n expreience is really good esp when we have timing to abide to.

another way is to ask everyone (both sides) to go new hse for tea ceremony all at one go.

Morning Gals.....
Thanks Piper for sharing the song...

I'm had yet to finalize my song.... it seem it taking donkey year just to do it.... but got good news is a friend is going to lend me a whole cd of wedding song.... so don need to hunt the song just pick a couple from it.... I feel like using Hero from Mariah Carey.. any one had any comment?

Hi Smurfy...
U must be glad the big day is over..... looking forward for the honeymoon..... thanks for the tips.... will take note on that....

BTW anyone went for photo shoot on the AD day itself? Where u go for photoshoot??

hihi ladies, thanks for the sharing...
i am very relieved coz last night we met our geomancer and our timing is settled liao!!!
hhhmmm.... ino, seems like so many ppl says things diff. MIL's contacts says that the timing is import for the groom to leave his house, and couple to reach groom's house. but our geomancer said it is import for the timing to be good when the groom brings the bride away from her home. the rest doesn't really matter, coz he said the bride is starting a new life journey, it shld be stated at the right timing so her life will be good. and ur says another story too....sigh...really hor, these timings make all of us so confused. anyway good that we each have someone we believe in. anyway, me very relieved it's settled now. the timing can coincide hehheee....

for us, coz the time my FH can stay in my house is not long, we wun have time to do the tea ceremony at my house first anyway. and in any case it;s too early (before 7 am), relatives may not all have arrived. hahaha.....so we can proceed to his plc first then can start our church ceremony earlier at 11am...
goodiee.....

oh twinkleglint, u remind me, i gotta ask him for the time we can step into our room...hehee...

hi cat and poupie, thanks girls... yep i thnk so too. tea shld be at groom's side first or else tongues will wag wag..
last night met our geomancer and confirmed the timing liao, so happy now..hehhee...everything is possible after all. we will be leaving my plc and reaching his place at auspicious time. actually my geomancer said leaving the bride's place timing shld be good leh.

Hi HP,

will gladly share after I've been mine..

Hi adidas,

welcome, another nov bride, my whitelink package had a mtm WG, but may not use it if i can find something i like otr. : )

hi morning ladies..

yvonne..
yap..i will be going on my own then, u can beep me when u reach k..

yap..i think skin products really depends on individual, just like hair products..so have to try and know wat the best for our body..

Morning Ladies...

hi Yvonne,
Thanks for providing so much info.
I really know nuts abt facial.
Juz hope that they will make me mei mei on my wedding day..

hi happybride,
Nice to see you here again.

hi c0co,
Neither have i heard of DR HAUSKA.
I agree with Yvonne, since u already buy the product, muz well use it first.
Who knows it may suit u better.

If u dun like it, you can always join us in Sothy.

hi hp,

it's okay lah, enjoy your talk with patrick..

wah, you all so on, still got find photos of your dream gown... hehehe... me know nuts abt it, didn't do any research... anyway, i will be going for gown selection next monday...
see how's the gown first, then decide ... :p

hi taurus ....

sorry for the late reply ... was very very busy over the weekend prep for my new nest .... v tired ....

mine is all MTM .... can keep 1 tea dress which I have already used for my ROM ... anyway i intend to wear kua mar ... so no diff ...

not too sure abt their AD standard ler .... think my fren didn't have that as part of her package ... but not worth it to change to photos cos they only giving v few in exchange for that service ... me check it out liao ...

Me just come in hear to chat... How all of preparation so far... Me having my trial make up in 26 Feb having my PS in 5 mar...

Having my wed in 24 Dec 04

hi bin bin! *blur*
now u got mi wondering on the timing part... so far only agree tat the bride MUST leave hse ard 8+ BEFORE 9am .. and not to reach his hse too early as his relatives wont be there tat early.... *gog to hv a headache liao*

Hi HP,

Yah, it's a big load off my mind. I am still discussing with them on the details of my package cos I already have my WG liao. If you are interested, no harm going down to take a look. Their phone no is 6257 6515.

Hey twinkleglint, thanks for the email. Hmmm, not sure whether to take a professional package or ask frens to take the video for me. Have you seen their work? How is it like? Thanks!

Binbin, my fren have her TC at her place b4 goin to her in-laws place due to the shortage of time (church wedding too...) She consulted both sets of parents and then went ahead. Nobody mind as all of them understand that time is very tight shld they follow the traditions...

hi binbin,

think diff pple pays attn to different things. hehehhe...anyway, good tt u settled your stuff. at least u have lesser things to stress abt. it's really tough!

Hi Moonlight

Trial makeup is the makeup artist do a full makeup for you. Wif your gown on. just like that, i seem a waste of time....

hi nicole..
me kapo..i check the table liao, c0c0 is 16/18 of oct and her dinner is at orential..

today seem to be pretty quiet leh, everyone busy with work huh??or thinking hard wat to buy for vday??any ideas to share?

hi, me had my 1st gown fitting last sun. Initially heard alot of bad comments abt staffs in whitelink, eg. not friendly lah, lazy to show more gowns lah etc. but all these are NOT TRUE!!

I have a very good and friendly co-ordinator who brings alot of gowns for me to try. My pkg include 1 MTM n 1 OTR. So far, I managed to KIV 2 WG and 1 EG. Find their EG not much of selection leh. But anyway, I will be goin for my 2nd appt next mth to see if there are any more nice ones.

Most likely will exchange the MTM to more photos cos I really got no idea what kind of designs to MTM plus I'm afraid the MTM gowns will turn out to be unexpected. So will go for 2 OTR instead.

Too bad, WL dun allow cameras otherwise can take photos for those gowns that I have tried and show to my sister...

Hi moonlight, hope you too have fun this wkend for your gown fitting :>

Tried that too. The La Mer does not work...
It is not cheap. It is worth if it works. But does not even work.
You are like a walking beauty book. You know so much about info.

Hi Nickel,

I bought my dear a card holder.. so I can rest my leg for shopping.. Each year seems like running out of ideas, so buy something he can use..

hi, something to add further, find their tea-dress very limited. 2 or 3 designs only!!! not sure if I should go for kua instead? WL do provide kua but they got only 1 design but in diff sizes (S,M,L). Afraid that the kua will make me look old like ah-ma??? any comments on kua?

hello poshies,

I went to our hotel for photoshoot coz it was raining in the morning tat day. Actually, taking photos in the hotel was our original plan as well...so rain or no rain makes no difference to our plan.

Where r u planning to go for any outdoor shoot? Just keep in mind of the timing if ur family/in-laws are very particular with the timeings.

hi kk..

me now getting more and more no ideas liao, oso dun know wat to buy, me thinking of doing something for him but scared not enuff time, maybe a handmake photo album..aiya..say only, sometimes oso quite lazy lor

hi piper...
thanks for the quick respose... all seem to be super busy .....
well my hubby thinking of getting the shot at chinese garden as i'm staying in Jurong...
at first wanted near my hotel... but hubby against it as he say too many pple... sign~
hotel is a good idea... so u took video too??

skylar...
wah... thanks for your precious update.. now i know what u been doing liao.. ahahaha..

i sign up adonis facial treatment package.. signed b4 cny that why got some sort of discount... so far went twice... not bad lor... got one free ICO2 treatment too... i spend abt 900+ to 1k for the package.

eh wanna ask u all... see ah... as a plus size bride hor... get gown also might be difficult... if go for photo shoot hor.. got so many different costume to change meh? advice advice...

hi coven,.....oops sorry to stress u. but actually its good to be aware of this now lah, then u can check them out early and be stress free closer to ur wedding date. hehehhee...not like me,last few wks so stressed. now more okie...sine timing settled, i can firm up my programme liaoz....

Ino, yep yep diff ppl diff loh...
yes very tough leh.

hey can some of you send me your mc scripts pls? need to start working on that....many thaNKS in advance!

hi hi shinchan, thanks.
i also have church wedding, that was why was considering doing that. but MIL more particular abt traditions. in any case, the timing given by our own geomancer last night wld nt allow us to have tea ceremony at my place first hehheee....coz no time lah....need to leave my plc by 7am....

hello poshies,

where are u holding ur dinner? You can always take the photos in ur hotel rooms or the swimming pool etc.

We only took the photos in our suite & the lobby. Actually we had wanted to take at the Pavilion or swimming pool coz GCW have this really nice pavilion outside...but the rain stopped us from doing so. Guess tat was the only regret tat I had.

We took video as well as he was my husband friends. My husband was quite against the idea of video in the first place, but after the wedding, he was glad that I insisted on having one. I've yet to see the video but I think it'll be a pleasure to view those moments that we've missed.

hi taurus,
alternative is to go for cheongsum loh. my friend wore an evening gown as her tea dress instead.

so how u feel when u initally heard bad comments of your chosen BS? I ask this because my friend place deposit at a BS recently but lately she saw -ve comments abt the BS so she's very upset and worried now.

Hi Taurus,

I was thinking about the camera issue yesterday and call up WL if I can take camera, so that I can see later how good the gown will look on me at home and can also seek friends opinion, but they rejected me flatly. : (

Well, me have the same thinking as you. Scared MTM WG don't look good on me. So prefer to take the WG otr, but like u say, if they dun have much selection for EG, maybe I will MTM my EG since most people will get to see my EG leh. See how.

Will check it out and let u all know when I visit them over the weekend. : )

Thanks Taurus, hope I will have a good time there.

BTW, who attended to you? and how long you spend your time there? sorry, alot of questions...