(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

got something to check with u all...

Do u all know for AD angpows to be given rite, what's the mkt rate to give to all involved like An yees/Brothers/MU artist/MC/Recep helpers/main coordinator anymore?? Must we give the hotel waiters as well and how much?? Wanna see at least how much to set aside for these ang pows...

Yvonne

Oic! It's the dining in cable car thing issit?

I did get some quotes, but rejected 3 straightaway. So now gotta seriouly concentrate on the planning & design part. This is the fun part, not like the defects checking *yucks*

Jan

Not too sure. My fiance's sis did tell me to set aside abt $500 for lump sum ang paos. But if u have many, many, many helpers & nephews & nieces etc, then gotta set aside a bit more. also if u wanna give above mkt rate

Yan!

Really? U went to the show? How come no one told me! *arrggh*

I'm busy this evening too. So can't go. Is today the last day? But u said that my bridal shop already showcased the gowns, so I guess they wun do another show right? So disappointing.

I guess I can go get the gowns now. But too soon right? Maybe I can go try, then if I see something I like, I can get them to MTM based on that design. What do u gals think?

yup yup, Jul, perhaps u shld go ur BS to try gowns again... if possible can ask them whether u can chope it if not then MTM similar one!

Dun worry, maybe they'll have another show coming up towards end of year...

Hi Jul,
Is not cable car thing... is a restaurant! But most ppl go there drink n chat... is facing harbourfront so veri nice view n coolz...

they had the show yesterday already..
maybe u can try to go down tom or real soon, to see whether u like the designs or nt.. if nice, then can see whether can reserve the gowns for u or not...

beri funny, yesterday models got tendenacy to trip... kept stepping on their dress..

i was rather mean, was laughing at the incidents.. then this tot came to my mind... will this happen to me?? will i fall flat on my nose on that day, since i very careless one.. so scary.. on my actual day, must hold on to my bf tight tight...

errr.. ya loh, Yan, scary hor, think we must walk very slowly.. and esp for the march in, everyone will be like looking at u... My goodness, sure panic!! hahaha!!

Yvonne,

Oh! Paiseh.. Haven't been to Mt Faber. In fact, dun even know where it is! Think I'm very mountain tortoise *hee*

Jan & Yan

Hmm.. I dun think I will reserve the gowns now. It wun be fair to the BS to just keep the gown in storage for me. If they lend it to other brides, the gown will get old & worn, & I'm also not happy abt it. Besides, the gowns will be model-size & I can't wear!

I think I will go try to gowns this weekend, then ask them to model my MTM after the designs I like. It's so much easier to try the design & get a feel of what I look like, rather than use pictures. Pictures are very unreliable, I think.

That's true jul, Think they're unlikely to chope for u the gowns too... They will earn more if they rent to someone else who's wedding nearer to date!

Well, as for me, havent gone trying gowns, very lazy!

Jan

Haha! I think u're very efficient. Booked hotel & BS after only 2 visits. So good, dun think so much, then dun have so much white hair

I dunno if fiance is free to go with me to try gowns. If he's not free how?

Hihi...

Yvonne,
Me and my sis kpo abt the place (fort canning) cos there r wedding going on last sat. It's a small wedding (10 tables) n the couple is ang moh. They even builded a small tent outside wif live bands. I heard that they can dance after the dinner. That's the diff btw asian n ang moh. Generally find that the place not bad but rather inconvenient.

Pertaining to your qn, check ur email n you will know.

Yan,
Oh my sis actually wanted to go but slipped off her mind until late afternoon yest so nv go. Didn't know today also ve ya. It's until when huh?

Jan,
So do you intend to try some gowns?

Jul,
Finally you finish checking ur hse hehe. Decided on which contractor?

Ever,
MIA?

hi gals!

me didnt MIA, jus nothing much to contribute... so, quietly reading the postings by you gals... think i <font color="0000ff">mon blues</font>...

HI HI...
How's everyone's weekend? Hope that it had been good..cos i had a real good weekend...went snowboarding! YIPEE....
Did anyone of you watch Meteor Garden? i know the show is a bit old liaoz...but borrowed the VCDs off a friend and then now...i got HOOKED onto the show...hehehee....

Garfield 33:
I know wat u mean by long-distance..but FH n i do talk everyday and update with each other...quite fun this way..we have been long distance for almost close to 5 years olediz...heheee...

Ida:
try Merchant Court..it is quite pretty..and with the MRT station right beside, it's very very convenient. I wanted my wedding to be there...but i couldn't reach their min tables for weekend..but for weekdays, it's quite cheap and i heard tat food is good there.

Pebbles:
Hey pebbles, u also studied IS before..m an IS student.My final year..can't wait man!!! heheheee....Also..ur ballroom at GDW must be damn nice...i heard it's really nice and pretty...it was one of the places that i sourced..but can't reach min tables also..sigh...but AMARA is good too...hehehee....

Ok hope to hear from you all soon!!!

Have a good day!

hi gals... everything's fine!! dont worry...
sorry, think my msg made you gals worried...
its really mon blues... no mood to talk to my bf too... sigh...

Yan

Did ur bf take photos of the TWD gowns? Now that will definitely be very useful to me

U mean all of us go to the shop &amp; watch me try gowns? er... a bit kua zhang right? *hee*

hello!

I saw the HW mag, quite thin leh... so dun buy first, wait to see style first...

silver, at the moment still dun feel like trying gowns leh.. haha.. u're rite Jul, i like to chop chop and settle things fast when i start on it... haha..

yo gals
me in.......
hahaha......as usual going to faint upon reading the archive n archive of msgs....
u all still keep it going huh.....
going to train my eyes now....later!

Jan, is the free bag nice? my fren thought of getting the mag for that bag!! hahahahha....

think i'll wait patiently for Style Weddings...

hello sagi!
Wow.. u take ur time to read our messages hor.. hehe...

ever, cant really see the bag's shape, saw only beige and red one, wanted a black one if i were to buy it but didnt see any, maybe all snap out already!

Hi Jan &amp; Ever,
Izit Tote bag? If is nice i dun mind buy the magazine... hee hee! Abit cheap skate rite...

Hi Sagi,
Thk u've to take some time to finish reading our threads... take yr time we'll wait for you! Hee hee...

yo jan
finished reading liao.....
congrats ahh!! settle ur BS liao.....

me going offline soon.....

see u all on wed......i wld try to log in on mon, wed n fri...... kekeke....

hahaha sagi, u took one hour to read our msgs huh! That's fast!! hehehe.... Hope ur eyes are not crossed yet!!

Yvonne, nope it's not tote bad, it's a small handcarry bag, meant for dinner type.. with sequins... I was so tempted to buy just now leh!

hey mimosatay,
i've also got a similar concern as you. Am supposed to choose my gown in early Sept. My EG is MTM, but i've no idea what type of design i want! Hope the bridal studio doesn't get unhappy that i've got nothing in mind!

fantasy,
i'm not sure what's a good timeline, but i heard that as long as u give at least 3 months to do the WG, shd be enough (i think!). i'll be doing mine much earlier coz my photo shoot is in Dec.

Hello Gals,

Cubby : So have you signed w/PP oredi?

Mimosatay : Not too sure when the almanac will be available. I read from other threads that it'll be coming out only after the 7th Lunar month? Will let you know if I hear something, okie. Ya lor, MC is a hotspot, hence seems like you truly have to book 1 yr in advance else only certain dates are left. Their min. is 38 tables for weekend. As their ballroom is very sought after, it's tough that they'll bend their rules for less than 38 tables...

Me also lax in wedding prep. My gown design will only be in Oct. Designer also told me to cut out preferred designs for discussion during 1st appt. As mine will be a DIY wedding prep, not getting wedding package from bridal shops, the timeline for action plans might differ??? I'm also lost...

Ladies, in response to timeline...

Following are my reference from galfriend's wedding prep. You might wanna browse through and discuss the feasibility with your bridal shop?

Since all of us are June 2004 brides...

Dec --- Deadline for Gown design to be ready for MTM / Gown selection if OTR
Jan --- Trial make-up
Feb --- Gown fitting for studio/outdoor photography
Mar --- Studio / Outdoor photography (take note of possibility if session falls during Qing Ming which is prone to rain)
April --- Wedding photo selection
May --- Collect wedding albums
2/3 weeks prior Big Day --- Final gown fitting
June --- Big Day

The above looks tight, huh? Based on my understanding and galfriend's experiences, most bridal shops work on timeline which might seems tight to us but comfortable for them since they are the "expert". Nevertheless, it might varies from case-to-case. Discuss with your bridal shops okie. Come to term with schedule that is most comfortable for the bridal shop and yourself.

Of course it'll be great to have schedule started even before Nov 2003 as that'll provide an assurance that even if there's need for rectify in whichever aspect, there's still time for alternative. I am personally someone who loves to work ahead of timeline, hehe...

**Remember to note every item on invoice, regardless of how minor the item is. Not being petty, just to avoid tricky mis-understandings if things should happen mah, hor? Also good if staff serving you goes on vacation, ad hoc leave or resign mah, hor?**

leaving office soon... jan, me will go take a peek at the bag!!
hope i'm not tempted to buy the mag!! hahahahha....

Mimosatay : Go to "Anything Under the Sun, Where to buy Tong Shu"... The gals there mentioned that Tong Shu will be available after 7th month. Which means 28 Aug should be available liao lor? Check it out okie...

okie ever, good bye....
haha.. ya loh, i'll stop myself from looking at mags these few days until style mag is out! so tempting!!

Jan &amp; ever,

Dun tell me u really wanna buy the mag just for the bag? *hahaha*

I'll wait for Style. Shd be out very soon anyway.

Jul, no lah, just want a brides mag to read loh..haha... but if the bag is ok then maybe i'll buy! haha.. Let's see whether yvonne or ever buy it or not.. hehe

hi onee,

this thread had been quite quiet...think most of us are so bz

yup, me signed up w pan pac a week ago, and my wedding date finalise on 6/6 2004. its s sun
urs is 12/6 isit?
wah i think your timeline is quite good and accurate! i also plan to finalise bridal ard nov. most bridal said must be 9 mths but i think its too long cos u wont know wats in and nice for 2004 mah. me still seeking bridal...will look ard first.
how abt u? ROM prep?

i think i need to prepare early coz mine both gowns are MTM and men suit also, so need more time for designing and fitting. Besides we haven't got bridal car etc, and my bridesmaid's dress also need to do. Any recommendation for tailors for bridesmaid dress? We enquire at the bridal shop but it will cost us $500-$600 which is too ex. So now I'm looking for other shops, heard those at Arab street not bad, anyone tried? sorry, I'm very cheapo, but then times are hard. =P

My sis bought the HWB but I haven't got the chance to take a look. Let you gals know after that hehe

Ever,
Is your mens coming? Sometimes I will be more 'moody' b4 my mens too hehe

Good morning Ladies,

Cubby : Ya lor, this thread quite quiet hor. Yup, have been busy with work... Wah, sign hotel liao song sai hey hor : ) Mine is on 20 June lah :p Hi hi, based on friend's experiences lor. Plus I am an events organiser myself, hehe, paiseh to say... the Doer tend to work better with tight schedules, haha...

Mi ah... not much prep. I wait until sian liao... Guess nothing will happen until we do the online ROM booking in 2 weeks time lor. Guess till then things will start moving slowly lor, hor? What about you?

Fairymoss : Hi, never seen you in this thread before. Care to intro? Wedding date and other related infor, not compulsory though : )

Coincidently all my 3 gowns will be MTM too. FH blessed cos he'll be using his own suits. Guess it all depends on the shop whom you've signed with. Is yours a bridal package or ala carte gowns only? Oops, I do not have lobang for tailor as we are not sponsoring costume, truly have to cut cost in times like this. I also read from other threads that Arab street is a good catch, check it out lah... Aiyo, don't say u r cheapo lah... U sponsor bridesmaid's dresses leh... Have fun preparing...

Morning gals!! so sleepy... think havent gotten enough sleep!!! *yawn**yawn*

jan, didnt get HWB... so thin!! sure not much contents in it! think its even thinner than the previous issue...

hahahahaha.... jul, no lah, me juz like to read brides mag.... not for the bag lah! plus the bag not very nice leh.. the sequins very "large-sized"!! guess i need to refrain myself from going near newspapers stands now. if not, i'll be broke in no time!

silver, that's true hor... plus i very lazy, didnt eat the evening primrose oil regularly... sigh....

haha ever, i'm also stopping myself from going near to newspaper stands!! Ya tot the mag is very thin also, not worth the money...

Hi ladies..
how was yr weekend..???

Inc,
welcome to the May thread..

Have u shortlisted any hotels which u like..
As for my hotel hunting experience, i went to most of the bridal shows, not only to look at the hotels but also to steal some gown ideas, besides that, i also make appointment with those hotels which im interested then have a chat with the sales and catering mgr and see what's their service, decor and follow up services are like and most importantly, what peaks they are willing to offer u lah..
and most importantly, u must like the person u r dealing with cos u will be dealing alot with.

Hi eighteight,
welcome, think u were also one of the pioneers of this thread rite, remember seeing your posting before, it's not too early to start, to me, it's always better to start early then late and u will have more time to prepare mah..
i think my first appointment with by bridal will be in Nov...

Hi Keann,
wow, so good snowboading ah, interesting weekend unlike me leh, so boring, every weekend do the same things...ahahah, yup me did a double major, so did accounting and IS lor, u doing IS degree ah, cool man...so when is your last term again ah, forget liao, sorry ah, getting old lah...ahhaha..

oh girls, if any of u are looking for videographery, do drop me an email at [email protected] , got cheap lobang to share..

meantime, have a good day ahead

morning gals... the show yesterday was good...especially the last one... daring designer with daring model... 2 of the gowns were so translucent, that we saw the nipples. but as usu. my digi cam's batt went flat at the last show, so didn't take the last BS fotos. think must buy spare batt liao.. and another BS quite creative, invite ah guan to model...

jul, we did took some fotos from TWD... will try to load and send u the fotos sooon...

Pebbles:
Hehehe...singapore weekend where got boring..i kinda miss eating out in singapore..KATONG LAKSA!!!!! hehehee.... Australia then boring...shops close sooooo early..nothing nice to eat...and expensive... but just enjoying as much as i can now....
Yar, i am doing a straight IS degree..can't wait till graduate...going to finish in Dec...then it's back to singapore...

Ok all...have a wonderful DAY!!