(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Ever & Jan

I'm different from u gals. Dun like to read mags. Only want to buy the Style mag for gowns' pictures. So xian shi hor?

hi everyone..

hope everything is fine wif everybody..

previously i had been doing static exercises such as weight lifting and stomach crunches at hm..currently i have tried to go for less static exercises such as jogging lately..feels very gd and doesn't noe dat jogging is actually so enjoyable when i used to hate it so much..hee..always tried to siam running in sch

so how's everyone's wedding preps?
i'm thinking to go to House Of Etiquette to try the kwas..heard the kwas are fantastic over there..hmm...anyway is there any other places who have kwas also?

Hee hee... i passby the newspaper stand to take a peek at HWB. Yeah is seriously thin and i dun really fancy the bag either, so didnt buy!!!

Guess what?
I had a bad dream yday for my ROM. Was dreaming that the makeup artist cant bundle my hair properly and all in a mess with my mickey mouse ears sticking out... etc! Haa haa... weird dreams rite!

Ok... seems like only silver will read the mag.. wait for her reviews...hehe...

yan, guess it's coz of the Fashion week that's why the shows should be better than the normal bridal shows.. hehe...

yvonne, you must be "ri you suo si, ye you suo mong".... dun worry, k? everything will turn out fine!!
dont think about anything, juz concentrate on being a happy and pretty bride!!!

yan, the designers so creative?!? must be Ted Wu, Frederick Lee, those high end designers.... hahahaha...

hi yvonne, dun put on yourself undue stress... the day will turn out to be fine, and u will be the prettiest bride around...

Jan,ever, ya, i agree... it could be becos its for the fashion week, that's why quality is slightly better than other bridal shows... Ever, its not those high end ones... its a BS at jurong.. heard of popular BS???

it seems like there are a number of designers there.. saw jit (silverlining boss)there...

Alamak Yvonne, think u too stressed up already... relac ya!
hehe...

Btw, u gals know how to bun up our hair nicely (like for Dinner) without going to hairstylist?? I want to do that but dunno how leh.. coz my hair always in a mess!! haha

jan, u can try those hair accessories... those promotors at the shopping centres are able to bun up their hair with those pins, and it looks quite grand and nice... like those which only use one "chopstick" to hold up the hair... but dunnoe how to do...

Yvonne

Haha! Oh dear, I think u've been thinking abt mickey mouse ears too much. Just relax, & think of ??? er... Someone else's ears?

Jan

Sama sama! I also have a big probelm with my hair. It's so wild, totally no idea how to control it. No idea how to bun hair either *sigh*

Hi Fencnef,

Been there to try on the kwa too. Quite nice. But abit expensive cos for one day rental is about $268. For more complicated design, is about $288. They did sell the red shoes for wearing kua too. Is about $40. I find it quite expensive.Do have a try on their kwa. Most probably, I might rent from them cos the bridal shop that I want to sign up with, their kwas are not so impressive.

Yeah... guess im getting more & more anxious of my ROM. Im not worried abt the dress nor makeup but just the hairdo part... dun noe why??? Hee hee... thk if i tell my bf abt my dream, he will laugh at me!

So only silver's sis bought the mag, good hoh can share share! Then silver will by style bride next time... hee hee!

Hi Yan,
Guess some of the gowns paraded are not meant for wedding is jus for fashion purposes, no one will wear tht for wedding one rite!

Hi Jan,
How i wish i can bun up my hair as n when but cos of my "MM ears"... sigh!!! Moreover, my hair is so thick... must use BIG clips.

Guess there are some hair accessories in market now which is quite easy to use for bundle of hair.

Yan, but using hairpins hard to bun up, ya i dun understand how ppl bun their hair using just the "chopsticks".. must go shopping centres to recky..

U gals do rebonding? I think i cant take rebonding, coz my face is quite broad... if do, will emphasize on my broad face leh.. sighs.. that's why in a mess!!

yan, heard of popular before... heehehehee... i saw Jit when i went to Style Wedding bridal show too!! looks like he's keeping himself very updated with trends...

jan, you can get those 'stick' looking hair accessories with crystals, like what yan said, "chopsticks"
... will look formal for dinner... the sales person will show you how to use them... very easy, juz hold all your hair together (as if you're going to tie into a ponytail) and then, keep on twisting your hair until it naturally curl up into a bun... then, push the stick slightly into the bottom of the bun and invert the entire bun using the stick such that the stick will be pushing into the bun from the top after this action... ai ya, too difficult to explain by words... bet you dont understand me too!! hahahahaha.......

Ya Yvonne, usually those fashion shows, those clothes are not wearable!! All for modelling purposes!!

Hey Yvonne, why not do the ceremic perm, btw, do u all watch CH8 9pm show? the one with jacelyn Tay, Aileen Tan etc.. Jacelyn tay's hair is so-called the ceremic perm is it huh?? It's quite nice... Me totally clueless abt these terms! haha! But i think certain part of the show, her hair is straight lah.. But Yvonne, dun do it now, since ur ROM is nearing, better not do anything drastic incase dun turn out nice loh...

hey yvonne..

which BS did u sign up wif? my BS is offering the beaded and the emboidery type..
btw, u settled ur banquet leow? with GWC?
do u noe of any other places dan House of Etiquette?

Yvonne

Actually, hor, even tho I can tell you to relax, dun get nervous, etc now, I think I'll be worse than you when the wedding date approaches. So dun worry k? We'll all be in the same boat next yr :P

Hi Jul,
Ok... will thk of others ears... haa haa haa!!! U aws makes me laugh with yr joke............

Hi Jan,
Haa haa... seems like everyone is trying hard to explain to Jan how to bun the hair. Another way is you can tie yr hair into half (cross it) n use a crystal clip to fasten it. Saw some gals doing it pretty nice! Hee hee... hope u can visualise it.

ever thanks, ur description is good, i roughly get wat u mean but can it really hold there and last?... hahaha... ok, will find out more, but sometimes there's no salesperson around leh...

hi onee,

your wedding date on 20 jun 04. mine's on 19 jun.
as i'm gonna ROM on this day at the hotel together with customary...could u advise when shld i submit my ROM booking online? and when shld i call n book the justice of peace?

hear from u soon!

yayaya, ever and Jul really make me laugh, hope my colleauges dun catch me laughing to myself!!! hahaha!!! And the thing is cant laugh out loud, so tong ku!!!

Oh yes, Yvonne, get wat u mean, i do the cross one sometimes, but still messy leh that's why wanna do bun up! Cant stand my hair!

Pheeweee ladies,
Good to see this thread back to live again

Cubby,
So you've confirmed the date of your wedding already. Mine's oso on the 6th. So excited! Did you got someone to choose the date? Will your banquet be on the 6th as well??

Onee,
Thanks for the schedule. It's going to be very useful. My own plan was to meet up with my designer in dec but not too sure if it's too early. Think my timing's just right. But might heed advise to call and fix first meet up earlier say in nov. definitely do not wish for any last min hiccups for this big day. I will also be custom making my gowns and man's suit.
So how's preparation for your ROM?? Will u be having the solemnisation at or outside ROM itself??

Fairymoss,
Welcome to the thread. So you will be having bridesmaid and bestman?? Think many have already make do with ah yees and brother... hee... easier and can cut cost too. Dont need to sponsor them on clothings... me even more cheapo haha...

Jan

I've done rebonding before, when my hair was short, ard chin length. It was flat only for a week or two. After that, it became normal, smooth hair like what other gals naturally have. My hair is not the flat type. It gorws upwards from the scalp. So very pong.

What's ceremic perm? Frizzy kind?

I know what Ever's is trying to said cos I've seen the hair clip is quite easy to use! But if you didnt bun properly, you will end up looking more lik an AUNTIE... cos e hair will be flowing down, very messy... haa haa!

Hi happy 2,

You can only start to efile 3 months prior to your ROM date.
If you have a JP or grassroot leader in mind, you may want to book them earlier. I understand that a couple of them can be very popular. But 3 months shld be a very safe leadtime.

Jul,
Your description can be so FUNNY!!! Haa haa... wat hair growing upwards and pong...etc U making me look like an idiot laughing at the computer screen...

Hi Jan,
Ive done rebonding twice/thrice oreadi... thts why wanna try ceremic perm this time. But won't be now la definitely after my ROM or end year. If not, anything goes wrong i will regret for the rest of my life man!

Fen, u wan to go HOE to try kua? I go bef... very impressive... Like i told u, its going to be replm for my wedding gown.

Yvonne u go HOE? I went try and cfm i wan Kua fr there cos elsewhere one not nice. Actually shoes u dun need red, I was advise to wear silver or champagn colour... those that we match w our wedding gown.
Of course if u hv other pl, share w us la...

Hey, i went to this website:http://www.bbngg.com/ and saw that 4th Oct (my anniversary) is a good day to get married but its on Monday lei! Dun know how......

hi fairymoss,
u not cheapo lah...most ppl wont even be bothered to tailor bridemaids dresses leh..they usually ask the jie mei to get any white dresses can liao. r u goin to have only 1 bridemaid? which bridal u with?

hi onee,
nevermind lah....since u experience one sure can do all prep chop chop one hehe
anyway u concentrade on ROM first loh...meanwhile then look out for banquet and stuff..anyway ur bridal confirm tats already a load off ur mind liao...sorri i kept getting the wrong date for ur customary...paiseh hor. so 20th sun also? me now relax relax looking for bridal...

hi happy2,
hey me also gonin to ROM at the banquet...yup, only need to e-file 3 mths prior to ROM date. no need to hurry since we are goin to ROM out. but need to check out JP or GL in advance.

hi fantasy,
u also 6th!! hi-five man! i din know the same! reat to have someone the same leh!
hehe yup, banquet on the 6th and ROM also 6th...everything on one day, can save hassle! in the end i only rely on internet sources cos another couple wans my date so me cant wait for tungshu liao. anyway 6/6 is a nice date, and me and my FH agree, can liao. where's ur banquet? me forgot..

Happy2 : Ha, so you are 1 day ahead of me : ) Congrats !!! For online ROM booking, it should be done 3mths prior ROM date. As I will be ROM with the premise, I am not too sure about the procedures about booking a Justice of Peace. The rest of the gals may be able to offer more information.

Ladies, can someone update Happy2 about booking JP?

Fantasy : Ya, you are right. This thread has been quiet for a while. Hey, how did you put in the emoticons? With this new format, I am lost, hahaha... I'm having ROM within the premise. Since it will be 6 mths from my customary, ROM will be simple celebration lah.

hahahha.... you gals very funny!! jan, the "chopstick" bun will look messy if your hair is too short and soft... think the twisting cannot hold short and soft hair up... need some help from hair spray loh... but, some gals can carry off these messy "buns" very nicely... look classy, not messy on them leh... i look auntie cos my face too round... so, i need professional help to bun up my hair and must hav some strands covering my round face!!

you can go to metro paragon where they sell all sorts of clips from different brands... sure hav a promoter that you can catch hold of!!

ok ever, will go metro, isetan or taka to look see... heheh.. seems like not easy to DIY buns hor.. sighs...

yup perm not bad leh, do the perm at the ends rather than whole head is nice!

Hi Fencnef,

I have not sign up with any BS yet. I'm waiting for Divine october bridal fair to sign up with cos min time they need to do your gown prior to your SP is 6 mths. My SP is at June'04. So, I still have time to wait till Oct to sign up their package to get better deals. I will be taking only the normal package without SP. I signed up with Montage Studios for my SP. No yet settled my banquet. Juz made a tentative booking with GCW. Other than HOE, I'm not sure where can we get nicer kwas. Cos most ppl will get their kwa from the BS. You have already sign up with Noble hse right?

Hi Rabbitwsk,

Yup, I went there about 1-2 mths ago to have a try on their kwa. Quite like it. I think so. So, no need to spend unnecessary things. If you want a weekend , go ahead with weekend unless you are looking for good dates. As for me, I'm not looking at dates, we juz pick the date that we want cos both of us don't believe in all these thingy. Have booked for your banquet?

Hi Yvonne

No go for lunch? Me on replacem meal thus its time for me to look see and tok in SB.
I heard Kelvin Altier has kua too but more expensive... 300plus.
I am renting the kua for 2 days, ps and actual day. since its not cheap wan to make full use of it thus wearing as evening gown too.

Ya, me need to pick dates thus subject to all these good dates thingy. Banquet not book la... looking at OCC. Dun know lei, hv special feeling for that pl... not tt we know each other there but the feeling loh! BUT one concern, the cost... we are looking at below $600.

Actually only one pl we look at... me and hubby very 'focus'...hee... like when we reno our hse, we also fix on one contractor then others jus apptm for seek of listening.

Gown... looking at Dang... also the special feeling i hv for the Cindy and their px.
Cheers...

hey..

juz had nasi lemak for lunch..muz drink lots of water liao..

there's this website which may be helpful..http://mindcity.sina.com/ abt choosing of dates, juz some knowledge after i have my date selected..
1)it will be gd for the bride if the animal which governed the day is ur "sheng xiao"..
2)next yr is a leap year,if u wan to select a date,look for professional help if possible..
3)many "good" dates fall on weekdays during end of the yr 2004..

Gd afternoon gals!

My stupid notebook is giving me problem. Sigh... Suspected hard disc got problem, hopefully not otherwise ve to spend few hundred for that liao

Yvonne,
You must be too stress? Think gals always more kan cheong.

Jan & Jul,
My sis just went for ceremic perm. For the first few days she looks like a doll hehehe

Yan,
Btw, did you manged to check the wine supplier?

Ever,
I think most gals ve this problems. Sometimes just feel man zhang or moody. Whenever my bf sense it he will stay away from me or try to give in abit hahaha

Sagi,
You must ve a hard time reading all my msgs?

Yan,

Dunno what happened but when I on my notebk it keep running scan disc. I scanned more than 1hr n it's still scanning
Going to buy a thump drive to back up my data first.

Fujitsu will be better.

hello...

thanks onee & cubby for your advise... maybe i shld just call up the JP this coming dec to book them....nt sure if 6 mths in advance is too early to book them...but will give it a try

thanks again ladies!

Fenc,

Thanks! The website pretty useful and the date i wan is a no gd date :< Accuracy level? How come u never reply me on the kua thing....

Yvonne,
my area got nothing much to eat... thus on meal repl. plus also can help to maintain my weight.

Yan, think Toshiba will be good too..

haha silver, so u mean her perms are really very curly huh.. haha.. i dun think i'll try any perming at all, just scared it'll look terrible!! In fact, i dun dare to try rebonding too.. haha!! Yup, u better back up all ur data first..

hey rabbitwsk..

i'm nt sure abt ur source, however when i checked with http://mindcity.sina.com/ and uncle's calculation,we find dat the date is suitable for us..the bottomline is...check tongshu and get somebody to calculate loh...you may wanna cross reference with the internet ones..

however, i can say internet buay zun sometimes..and furthermore, birth dates have to be matched leh, so "good" days are not necessarily good for everybody hor..

sorrie sorrie..the kwa part, i havent go to HOE yet..intending to go loh, curious how i will look in it lah..

hey yvonne..
divine nice..
gd choice..i like divine's gowns too..

Hi... so full had burger king!

Ive went to meet a frenz and she passed me 4 bridal magz... hee hee! Can keep me occupy for quite sometimes before the next STYLE bridal is out...

Hi Yan,
Thk Fujitsu is better than Dell...

Hi Silver,
Izit you didnt shut down properly that's why need to scan disk? Cos my home PC oso like that sometimes...
Or kena VIRUS!!! (Hope is not......) quite sad rite if the whole hard disk crushed n all the datas is GONE......