(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
HI Doll,
No leh..still as strong as ever..not successful. Hahaha..guess it's a good thing to have good health..maybe I should stop hoping that I will b sick..'scar li' really very sick....heehee!

HI Leeann,
Welcome!!! ROM soon...Great!!! I got my shoes about 1 week before my ROM..was really worried then..search high and low..can't find the exact one that I like. Later much nearer to my ROM..I found the ideal one..from heatwave..it's is feature in this latest issue of Her World Mag. I didn't buy any accessories..just a simple chain with a pendant. AS for make-up...I did my own..lucky turned out ok.

HI Durian,
Wah...Now Mrs XXX. Me too...still not used to address him as hubby..everytime must pause for a while before addressing him as hubby in front of friends and colleagues.

HI Chiart,
My actual date is 18th NOV 2003. What about urs?

enjoy ur long weekend ar....Take care!!!

I am new here and got ROM in Jan this year already.

Getting ready for my house renovation and wedding in Jan 2004. Feel the same way as Doremon, sometimes really feel like calling off the whole thing. Already feeling stressed though I still have one year ahead.

Sourcing for renovation contractors is headache enough, I cannot imagine sourcing for Wedding venues and Wedding studios.

sigh.. think i'll just read all the threads here that had been posted and decide on the studio and venue here :P

Thanks for the warm welcome!!

Hi Doremon

Thanks for the info for good bargain of curtains. Me and my FL are looking high and low for curtains as we are also doing our hse reno now. We will go and take a look.

Hi Chiart

How much you pay for jean yip's make-up and hair-do?? I am meeting Daniel, make-up artist, on coming Mon, heard comments from other treads that he is quite good. I saw one shoes at Taka, silver color with shiny crystals, FL said quite nice but I still want to look around before making final decision. As for dress, I bought a simple spagetti strap light blue dress from Marina square.

Think it will match silver colour shoes, what do you all gals think?

My ROM time is very early, at 1010 hrs... sign..has to wake up early that day.

Hi Wendy26

No, I have not found the bridal shop, still looking around.... bcos have not confirmed the customary date, but likely it will be the same as you, during the first half of 2004.

Hi Blusher

Where is heatwave?? Sorie, didn't buy the Her World bride mag.. hee hee..

yawn.gif
...Oops, I am yawning.... feeling tired after whole day shopping...going to sleep now.. C U all... Good nite!

Hi blusher,
my customary tentatively set on 7th jan 2004....congrats to you anyway.
found your bridal package and wedding dinner packages?

Hi leanne,
the jean yip package that i took cost me i think about less than $60 only...including makeup and hairdo...i just have a simple hairdo maybe that's why...
i think silver will goes quite well with blue...dun take too long to choose or you will feel panicky

Hi Smurfy,
Welcome!!!

Hi pebbles,
Looks like the no. of 2004 brides are increasing.....

HI Leeann,
There are a few Heatwave shops aro...at basement of Lucky Plaza, at Far East Plaza and at Caltex House..

Hi Chiart,
Yap..have signed up with Paris and confirmed my banquet at Merchant Court. Guess there's nothing much to do now...till 1st appt in Q1 2003.

Hi Oldies(u know who you are),
Don't forget me for the coming bridals shows ar...want to tag along too!!! After the long weekend..very lazy to work. Did u gals had a great weekend?

Good morning!
What a lazy monday morning.

Blusher,
My long weekend was great! shopping, watch TV, sleep, cook, bake my first fruit cake! quite satisfied with my first attempt. :o)

Wendy, durian,
I still introduce/relate my hubby as my bf leh... feel so funny to say my "husband"...

For those who has ROM, when is the first time he called u "lao po" and when do u call him "lao gong" for the first time?

Hello ladies and would like to welcome the new comers...

For all newbees, could u kindly email me your details such as name, hp no, rom date, wedding date,bridal package and lovenest...i will then compile it to the list and send out a branch mail....rather then sending out now without the lastest details..

Blusher,
hello....dun worry will sure ask u along one...so u want to join us for the GWC show...which is on the 21st feb..
i send in the form already...
so how was your long weekend...

Wendy26,
hey so how did the autograph session go ah...??? too bad i couldn't make it in time ah else will sure go join u..
so u going for the GWC show too???

CC2/Bubbles,
hey we all go together ah...

Dormeon/Smurfy,
dun feel that way, i know what u girls mean, sometimes i also feel that way but i guess to give up is always the easy way out, look at things on the brighter side, u only get to go thru all these once in a life time so why not make it an enjoyable one..

Chiart,
yup, me looking forward to my rom, my FH also started counting down already..ehehe..
he's even more excited than me, being saying maybe we should rom earlier but too bad chose the date and it's may..

wow wow, many msgs and big welcome to the newcomers, chiart and leanne

Have a long tiring weekend, first time helping a close friend for her wedding, so fun. keke
Attended the wedding dinner at pan pac, oh yah, is bin bin still considering that place? Their carpet is kind of nice..blue blue and wavy.

Indeed preparing a wedding is not easy, choosing the date itself is already a big challenge. On one hand, want it to happen fast, on the other want to have more time so that can give it a best shot with more preparation and less stress. Sigh Sigh. ok lah, whatever will be will be..

HI Leafy,
Wah..fruit cake! Must share share ar!!! I started calling him hubby immediately after ROM...cos if I still address him as fiance..he will 'box' me.

HI pebbles,
wah..so fast sent in the form already...me better sent soon. My weekend, went shopping at DFS...very broke liao. Guess CC2 & bubbles will be going too rite. Will let u gals know once I have sent the form. Take care!!

hi all! din come in for one wk liaoz. last wk was my FH's birthday and i celebrated for him at Regent. Very nice place.....

took 2.5 days leave. nearly fell sick on last day. my colleague joked that i should sell my leave coz i always fall sick during my leave wasted...:P
13049.gif

blusher/leafy, though me have not ROM, also wondering when i will start calling him hubby. now he keep calling me wife-to-be and i refuse to answer...:o he will then pout. perhaps i will only call him after customary lah....hhehhehee.....

sweetcorn, no i am not considering pan pac anymore.
yes i agree their carpet is quite unique, and their long aisle is sooooo lovely. the bridal suite too...
but we will be taking conrad loh......

Welcome to Smurfy, Chairt and Leeann!
\image(welcome)
Hope u have a good time here. sorri can't provide suggestions on shoes and accessories coz i have not ROM yet.
planning to in March 2003. my customary will be March 2004.
What bridal packages are u looking at now?
smurfy, the enjoyment is in sourcing mah, let's enjoy it...

13050.gif

Doremon/Doll/pebbles, so u girls will still be wedding in 2004 huh?
That's good lah hehhehe.....

Doremon, what are u upset about? Do we know or did i miss something in the emails.?

Dun be down kae? hope you can enjoy and be happy planning for your wedding.....

Hi all, was thinking of going for one or two bridal shows too leh...
but since i oredi more or less confirm hotel and bridal, do you tink i will confuse myself by looking at more choices huh? aiyah......but wish to go leh, can meet u girls somemore beri fun. u not bringing FH's?
bubbles, have u confirmed conrad too?

aiyah, sala!
chiart, leeann, smurfy
13051.gif

chiart, care to share how much did you spend on your ROM package in TOTAL?
hair, plus shoes plus bouquet, makeup and dress?
u meant u go jean yip in the morning then rush to ROM huh?

my FH wish to have a church service after ROM, to get out marriage blessed in his church. but his priest said best to sign the cert in church itself.
but my parents are not beri comfortable with the idea of their daughter signing the legal cert in church leh, they not catholics.....
sigh........

hi leafy, u can bake fruit cakes ah? do you know how to bake pineapple tarts? hoping to learn b4 chinese new yr leh.......

Hi BinBin,

Have you booked conrad yet? I very gan cheong now, am so afraid will not have dates should I finally decide on conrad. Both FH & I have yet to see the ballroom. But FH said will get down to planning for the wedding after our trip (finally!!), so shall see till then.

Your BF is a catholic? Anyway just signing, your parents shouldn't mind too much. As long as you have a church service, must sign a cert, so no choice.

Hey pebbles, I have yet to sign up for GCW show yet. U interested in the Mandarin one? For that, looks like it's free. Am going to send in that.

Hi pebbles,
can i have your email add so i can send my details to you? thanks

dun worry take your time to savour the thoughts of getting ROM. So when is your ROM date? care to share?

Hi Binbin,
i think i spend about $200 plus in total for the ROM package. cos my ROM time is in the late afternoon, so i have plenty of time to go jean yip for hairdo and makeup..

so how much u are spending?

hi bubbles, no i have not booked (signed), but have tentatively booked the date with conrad.
u have not seen the ballroom huh? hehhehe.....dun worry lah it is beri nice one.

Have u gotten the package yet? Why dun u call up their coordinators (Catheryn, Judy or Debby (Dir))to make an appointment for a date in late dec? you are back by then right? so that u dun have to feel kan cheong during the trip mah.

or if u have any dates in mind u can call them and check if available?
when u leaving...? Enjoy you trip kae!!!!!

as for the church, actually we can get our cert signed in ROM, then go church to have the priest bless our marriage by attaching a seal at the back of the cert. Is considering do this lah, but then our guests would have to attend two ceremonies loh.......hehhee....

chiart,
i not sure how much i spending. i may sign up with a bridal that provides ROM package (if sign up for ROM package only is around 600 plus leh). If i happen to sign up with one that does not, i will then do it myself loh. but mine in the morning leh, no time to go jean yip and things like that, probably getting someone to do my makeup and hair then.

bubbles, do u rem whether Divine has ROM package huh? me forget liaoz.....

Hi binbin,
why dun try for package in Say Yes at ROM? at least u dun have to rush in the morning and u get to choose their gowns as well....
if u have book a bridal package, then u can get them to lend u a ROM gown (FOC) and instead of trial makeup, get them to make up for u during your ROM...like that u can save some money and use it for a VERY BIG DAY
)))))))))))

Hi Chiart,
sorry forget to give u my email address, it's [email protected]
my rom will be in May next year and how much did u pay for your make up and hair do at Jean Yip ah, are they good

Hi bubbles,
yup will be going for the GCW one but FH dun intend to go for Mandarin one cos he say more or less set on either GCW or Marriott already, might even sign up during the show if i like GCW..

Hi Pebbles

I was about to ask you for email address too so that I can send my details to you. I will send it to you this afternoon.

Hi Chiart

Jean Yip really charges quite a reasonable price huh... but like binbin, my ROM is in the morning, somemore at 1010 hrs, thus no time to go jean yip. I will engage a make-up artist to do for me. So far, I have met Daniel recently (recommended from other threads), seem not bad. He is charging abt $150 but for a 2 hrs make-up and hair-do. He is very funny.

hi binbin,
Do I sound like I'm good at baking? heee...

Actually I'm a dummy baker. Fruit cake is a heavy cake, easier to bake ahh...

Pineapple tarts ahh... never hands-on baking, only hands-on eating leh.

Hi Leeann,
now i see u, now that i think about it, i think i did see your posting ..eheheh..
sorry ah blur already so many postings..

Hi dear, me home. u still there...

oooh so fruit cake is easier to bake ah? i see, din know that. me very sua ku when comes to baking. :P

chiart, yes i agree with what u said. but actually if the bridal shops have ROM gowns, most likely it will be part of their bridal package liaoz. If it is not, likely that they do not have ROM gowns. so cannot loh.

and i am thinking of signing up with Divine u see, and i am pretty sure they dun have ROM gowns leh.
But what is this Say Yes u are referring to? how much they charging?

leaane, yes am considering alacarte like you, hire makeup artist for makeup, hair and bouquet (does daniel have bouquet?) and buy dress, shoes, and accessories ourselves. calculated and guess it will come out to be about 400 at most, cheaper compared to if i pay le galleria for ROM packages (668) let's say. but not saving much much lah......

Hi Pebbles,

Ur FH decided on either GCW or Marriot huh?.. Me too! But I would prefer GCW
cos i tried the food before mah! I heard from my ex-colleagues regarding the food of Marriot, some say ok, some say not bad and some say no good..

Looks like both of us will sign up during the bridal show. Blusher wants to go to GCW show but her hubby cannot make it, dunno bubbles want to be her "part time hubby" or not? Bubbles u MIA again huh?

Wendy u want to go with us?

good morning! Wow...so now the discussion has proceed to banquet booking and ROM package o;

<FONT COLOR="ff0000">bin bin</FONT>, Say Yes is a bridal shop located just beside ROM. Go to the website: www.sayyes.com and check on the prices. I would say quite okie.

Yup..my wedding confirm to be in Year 2004. Just got my deferment for ROM from HDB till September 03.

Hi <FONT COLOR="119911">pebbles</FONT>, how about your side?

i am back.....i think the jean yip one still ok not too bad...
leanne, bin bin u can try if your ROM not too early.

Hi Bin BIn
i think if u have booked the bridal package, u can take any of their evening gowns to try as ROM dress cos that's what all my other friends do...quite nice and they charge FOC as well...

i think say yes website is www.sayyes.com.sg?
i think so only......i think cost about $300-$400 .....

Hi ladies,...

how's everyone????

hi doremon,
have not heard from hdb yet ...but will sure keep u updated when i have news from them, still hoping for the best now..

hi everyone!

oh ya...still owe u all something. Told doremon tt I'll scan her ID quotation n send to u all...but not done yet, either work Ot or have gatherings. Sorry arhh... :P

so how's everyone? today onli one msg from pebbles... all monday blues?
But cheer up! it's the end of the first day!

thanks pebbles received your email..i have updated the details already......wowa few of us staying in sengkang side

so how is everyone reno coming along???? mine work in process...i was hoping to finish before cny...

Hi Pebbles,

Don't worry too much. You will get your wish

Hi Bin bin, I think there is something wrong with the website becos' i also try to go in to www.sayyes.com.sg but was directed to other website instead. There is a thread regarding Sayyes in this forum. Go and read through the comments as i would say there are good and bad so maybe you can learn more about say yes from there. Sorry...i try to search for the website but failed.

how's everyone doing?
sorry i mia so long...
very busy with work...
Just to update all of you, I will be sticking to having my wedding in 2004 instead of 2003 liao

binbin- haveu started on your amore liao??

serrich-have william gotten back with your perspectives??

Hi doremon, leafy, bubbles and pebbles!!
how are you gers doing?

leafy-i think i saw you at tiong bahru one of the weekday nights in the food court dunno if it's you...

I'm back, sorry to MIA for so long, busy with work loh... Last Sunday, I attended a fren's wedding dinner at MM, just want to share with all of you, the foods there is very good especially the dessert, mango with ice cream and sago, wow fantastic!! Until, I still think of it.. hee hee. So, for those who is having your dinner there, make sure you tick this dish.

Hi BinBin

Daniel does not have a bouquet. I think he is doing freelance. Likely, I will use him as my make-up artist. My whole ROM package (exlcluding lunch) costs about $400++, so I think it is still better than those bridal shops.

Hi Pebbles

Thanks for compiling the list. Quite a number stay in Bt Pangjang too huh! Mine is at Jelebu, very near to the shopping centre, Bt Panjang Plaza. I will update the list and send to you again.

Hi Chiart

My reno is going on now.... shd be able to complete b4 CNY. Did you engage ID?? How much did you spend for the whole reno?

hello girls..

Chloewinkle,
so your wedding is now still in 04 lah, the first qtr of 04 ah..
u booked your hotel already rite..???

hello gals,
sorry me mia so long in the sbo thread...
how are u gals getting on with the wedding preparations?seems like a lot of u are going to the gwc show. I think there is also wedding show for plaza parkroyal.
I be going for my 1st appt this coming sat.wish me luck in finding any gowns to wear..

Oh btw I am going to dinner at chevrons beside the IMM in jan nex year anyone going to book there? The first among my sec friends..

Chloewinkie,
wow...pain ah...me can't remember mah...so didn't stare at the personal details for 04 for that long u know..eheheh...oh yours 3Q of 2004 ah so good lor, can still make it for mine..ehhehehe...

hey what happend to the rest of the girls ah, i saw binbin name's somewhere but think she change her nick to sad binbin ah, what happend to her???

hi pebbles...
aiyah me change to sad binbin in the conrad thread coz i was quite sad with debby yesterday loh....wan't really happy with her attitude in the emails, seems like she's regretting promising me some things like that, and hinting that ppl are looking at my date (March 2004!!!) liaoz better confirm fast.
But i am trying to confirm with her mah, sent her a list of thingies which i wish to ask her on. she din see the attachment. sigh...there's some other things as well loh.....beri sad lah, hope things will turn out better loh. all of us want our special day to be special mah.....:o

chleowinkie, you change back to 2004 ah?? why leh? me curious...so it's October/Nov 2004 right? how come u said 3rd quarter huh??? okie okie!! dun conk my head kae?!!!!

me have not gone amore lah...last last wk my FH birthday, celebrate with him, at regent for 3 days.
last week got a lot of work, no free leh. this monday me on mc, sick....so stupid right?
hhhmmmm....i must set my mind to go next week!!!!!
bubbles left for hols liao right? so if we go it'll be two of us? will keep you updated via email....

chiart, thanks for the advice on getting the ROM gown using the shop's evening gown. din think of that...will consider...

leann!!! you stay in BP yah? blocks 183/184 huh?
did you get urs in the WIS? EA or 5 room?
hehhe sweetcorn staying in segar me in senja (near jelepang LRT). why dun you also come join us in the BP thread, esp the "Anyone Staying in Segar" one? they are beri nice girls, doesn't matter if u stay in jelebu.

yah loh, 400++ ROM alacarte still cheaper hor...
will see how lah... :o

Doremon, perhaps the say yes website down liaoz...even the female online oso down leh, cannot access. nebermind, will go say yes thread to look look see see.....

Hi BinBin,
dun be so sad lah, maybe it's better for u to call her instead of sending emails, u can't really tell if she's being rude thru the mails but u can really sense it if u r toking to her on the phone...if she's really rude then change to another hotel lor, like what u say, it's every dream to have a special wedding and having a special wedding includes having the good service, it's pointless having it at a nice hotel but u r not happy with their service...anyway, u also like Panpac rite, look around first lor, u will have to deal alot with the hotel pple so better get one u r happy and comfortable with...

Hi Binbin

saw yr Sad Binbin posting on Conrad about Debbie.
Like you...i did email her with all the enquiries and items that i can think of...but my previous experiences with her also encounters the same as in she has no time (i hope) to reply to your email enquiries. I waited 2 days and no reply.

Afterwhich, what i did was i would still email her my enquiries but i would call her up to ask..in that way, i get the answers from her immediately...and also settle any "bargains" that are confirmed. Then,i would email her what both of us has confirmed. My emails to her are just for records purposes and also for me to remember what we have agreed upon and to be use as a checklist in signing of the contract.
Just to share with you that you are not alone in this..i sometimes do get abit upset too.
Other than that, she is quite friendly.

What are the things she agreed with u and now seems to be regretting? Have u make a tentative booking for the date you want? If so, then no worries, unless a couple wants to pay deposit for the day you want, i think u have the very right to take your time and get things confirmed first.

For my case, i am the bad bad one..coz me and my hubby really wanted the date and debby has to really "push" the couple who had tenative book two dates with them to decide on one..and it was really a relief when we manage to get ours.

i'm oso a 2004 GCW bride. can i join u gals? seems like many of u r keen abt GCW. it's definitely a gd choice! =)

dear pebbles and marie, thanks for the advice and assurance.

last evening debby called me up liao. and i have to say that i must have misinterpreted her tone in the emails. she is very friendly on the phone, and called me to confirm the list of items i wanted. managed to get most of it lah, so beri happy.....

pebbles, i am still sticking to conrad, coz it was my first choice initially.

you two are right, talking to her will reveal more about her attitude than emails loh....so next time i shall follow up my emails with a phone call.....
. think i misunderstood her liaoz.....
yesterday she was coughing, think she was sick. must have been beri busy there lately, she said 2 of her colleagues sick so got it from them. hope she gets well soon.....

You gals know what? yesterday i found out that one of my colleague is getting ROM next yr March, on their anniversary. it also happens to be the exact same date as my customary in 2004!!! they have not fixed their dinner date yet. later on i asked him if there's a chance they will hold their customary on the same day as me. he said there's a chance, but will only confirm the date after their ROM next yr. I hear oredi beri sianz liao, coz if he holds it on the same day as me, we will have to split colleagues invitees!!! I am not inviting all of my colleagues, but most of them. and all I am thinking of inviting are ppl who are very nice and whom i am close to.....and we happen to have quite the same clique of friends....if i am unable to have all of them at my wedding coz some are attending his i will be very very sad.........
now quite down liaoz, woke up today feeling low.
looked forward to sharing my joy with those colleagues on my wedding day, wearing my gown. now........sigh......guess i will have to hope that he will not choose the same date............

sigh...think i beri lo soh today....

Hi Binbin

glad that you have your worries and enquiries settled!! Must be one load off your mind =)

Aiyoh..it would be very sao xing if your colleague wedding on the same day as you..but nm lar..for now..since he also not confirm..u just concentrate on preparing your wedding to make yourself the prettiest and happiest bride for the day lor! Hehe..and somemore..u more or less confirm the venue liaoz..whereas he has not and would only do so after his ROM...by the time he decide..might not make it for the same day considering how KS nowadays couples ah..book way before hand alot of things liaoz...eh..sounds like me..hahahahaha

Hi cyn,

Welcome to the 2004 brides familly.

Which day have you booked for GCW?

Pebbles and myself are looking at GCW too!

CC2

Hi Bin Bin

Yup, my new hse is at BP Jelebu. Blk 184.
Yes, I got my flat, a EA during the WIS.
Do I happen to know you??
U oso got your flat during WIS huh.... are u at the first 10 quene?

hi leeann, yes i am the first 10 in the queue! i am actually number 8.
Are you the first 10 too? as far as i know, only no. 8 and 10 got EA's. Don't tell me you are no. 10?!!! C*******a? if so, very ciao leh! i was the one who recommended you to this site then.......hehehhee.....

marie, yah lah he hasn't confirm yet. my another colleague also told me not to worry loh...will try lah. the thing is, i dun think he is set on hotels loh, he could be booking restaurants.
if so, he has more choices mah, so chances of not getting that date is quite low. Only hoping that he Do NOT want that date. :P

hi cc2

mine is one 7th jan 04. u &amp; pebbles gog 4 e show? i might be gog too. hopefully my coordinator remember to invite as she has promised. anyway, ve u gone down 4 a look? maybe u can take a look b4 e show, if u like it then book during e show. tis way'll be beta. i can intro my coordinator to u gals.

wow tis thread is so much more active than FBO. care to intro abit? how's ur preparation?