(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Hi babylove,
how much is your package and what are the itmes in it? btw, where is your love nest? have you collected your keys? when will reno start?
Although I taking over their house, would stil need to do some reno here and there as they renovated abt 2 yrs ago and some of the fittings are not really my style leh
other than that need to get some basic furniture although all electrical appliances would be there to stay for us like the tv, fridge etc...you got any ID company to recommend?

Hi Chloewinkie,
My package is $3288. Actually, the prices differ. So it really depends on ur bargaining power. However, the items in the package are pretty standard. (photos, makeup, gown etc)

As for my love nest,it's in Bukit Panjang. I will be collecting my keys in Jan03. Reno will start soon after.

As for ID company, I've also yet to find one

Hi CC2,

Looks like me really blur...okok...now the confirmed ppl going for the hyatt is:Me and FH, CC2 and pebbles's cousin, pebbles's FH and bubbles.

Hi Chloewinkie,
Welcome!!! Lucky u..get to stay in parent's house..wow save $$$.

aiyo, think got some miscommunication... yes, am going for the hyatt show.

By the way, welcome babylove & chloewinkie. Looks like the 2004 family is expanding and buzzing!

By the way, where are the leafy (still busy?), Wendy ( ROM day approaching rite?), annmelody( studying for exams?)

Dear all!!! me missing for 4 days coz got proj demo. now it's finally over...whew....

Bubbles thanks for the welcome...

Chleowinkie and babylove, a big welcome to the two of you...
hope u have a good time here.
babylove, heard u got ur flat in segar, i got mine in senja...

i queued for three days three nights in the wis, and was number 8 in the queue. what number were you in? perhaps i know you...hhehehee......
you chose 5 room?
We have been informed to collect keys liao but as i said will postponed to late oct or early nov.

sweetcorn, to postpone the collection of keys, you probably have to wait for them to inform you of the first appint first. then you either mail them or fax them a letter asking for the postponement and citing the reasons. e.g. not free, overseas or ROM date too far etc etc.
For us, we were not free, so we postpone. they agreed, and will inform us again of the date.

sweetcorn and blury,
For the second WIS, i heard that it will be after the balloting. the balloting will be in nov or dec this yr, depending on the length of the jw wis (they may have plans to extend it to two months). so if the balloting starts in dec, the second round of wis should be jan or feb. but must tell you first, the same source also said hdb is quite spontaneous in their decision, so may change anytime...

sweetcorn,why u worried, you got a nice place liao mah....

sweetcorn and blusher,thanks for the contacts to the OP show. sigh....dun tink i will go, got a lot of outings these week, if i go my parents will nag nag nag abt not coming home for dinner liao....hehhehee.....

blury, u really beri cute and blur leh...u got the wrong date for the rom? what u mean?
hehhee...we also like dat, his mum gave the wrong birth time, so gotta go and count again...hehhehehe.....

wendy, my rom should be on 21 march next yr. have not booked yet...

Booohooo.....my FH just flew to India for a conference last night. sent him off at the airport, so sad i cried so many times.

it's only 9 days, but i know i will miss him like crazy.....
he's coming beck next fri.

CC2, are you in a new job? where u working?
perhaps you can wait a while til you familiairise urself with the working culture then you wil know whether it's okie to leave early...

Hi bubbles
My ROM is coming soon(Next Sat!!!)
Very excited now!!!

Here's something to share, some of it is quite funny:-

Love and Marriage - 15 Differences

1.. Love is holding hands in the street,
marriage is holding arguments in the street.

2.. Love is dinner for 2 in your favourite restaurant,
marriage is a Chinese take-away.

3.. Love is cuddling on a sofa,
marriage is deciding on a sofa.

4.. Love is talking about having children,
marriage is talking about getting away from children.

5.. Love is going to bed early,
marriage is going to sleep early.

6.. Love is a romantic drive,
marriage is a tarmac drive.

7.. Love is losing your appetite,
marriage is losing your figure.

8.. Love is sweet nothing in the ear,
marriage is sweet nothing in the bank.

9.. Love is a flickering flame,

10.. Love is 1 drink and 2 straws,
marriage is "Don't you think you've had enough?"

11.. Love is staying awake all night holding each other
marriage is staying awake all night holding an argument

12.. Love is driving to 'lovers lane'
marriage is driving to the supermarket

13.. Love is not being together enough
marriage is being together too long

14.. Love is skipping work to be close to her
marriage is working overtime to keep away from her

15.. Love is an overactive hormone level
marriage is hormone replacement therapy

Hi BinBin,
I was in queue 95. So u must have gotten a really good flat huh...
I'll only be collecting the keys in Jan...cos wrote in with a personal problem

But overall, I like the full length glass window.

Sweetcorn,
what's ur block?

hi babylove, mine is 473. I only bought it near to the end of the mth, so didn't Q...I also fancy the full length glass window
we are quite near to each other...o yah, u can also join me in the other thread under 'Anyone staying in segar', we hv a few (ya a few only) neighbours there too...heehee...

So you will collecting your keys in Jan, do they allow? They asked me to collect in Oct, latest in Dec, will try to postpone to as late as possible as my ROM will only somewhere in mid 2003.

cont'
hi binbin, regarding the 2nd wis, me not worrying lah, juz dont wish the px to drop further mah, wait lugi...kekeke

you have decided on your ROM date huh, congrats! my sister is round there too, likely 15 Mar, she hasn't really confirmed. Yours was a pick date? where are you gonna held your ROM?

BTW, you must be quite young...and loving your FH so deeply...cried so many times...don't be sad lah, you have us here to keep u company

understand how u feel lah, me also 4 days no see my FH liao, he also out of town...but he is back tonite, can see him tomorrow liao...yippy
absence makes the heart fonder...stay cheerful..he'll be back in a blink

hi sweetcorn, you FH also out of town ah?
from your email, he should oredi be bek last night....
hehehee....can imagine how happy you will be right now...hhehee....

u said me young ah? mmm....okie lah not young not old..

coz we see each other nearly everyday from the day he first courted me. til now, only about less than 10 days i neber see him loh. so this continuous 8/9 days absence very jia lat.....

yes mine 21 march was a picked date.
actually would love to hold it traditionally in the registry itself. dunno why, find it very sweet loh. but my FH is a catholic, and he would like a church wedding. instead of having the church wedding on the same day as the customary, whcih will be beri tiring, we would thinking of holding it on the same day as ROM.
but i wanted to have it at registry, and i think my parents (who are not catholics) would find it funnie if their daughter have their solemnisation in a church, so we were thinking of signing in the registry, then going to his church for a small service for the priest to bless our marriage. we found out it could be done, but we have a problem getting a choir that day coz it's a friday.....:P

abt the second wis, i also think hdb wun want to ganna complaint by lowering their prices...

babylove, you were number 95? that's means you started queuing on 9 sept?

well we got our first choice lah, coz the 7 couples in front of us chose 5-room. whew.....

we were surveying bukit panjang for more than a month, waiting for that wis date. so we must be kiasu loh. we were soooo happy after that, but sooooo tired too....i went back to work while he went home to snnoooozzzeee....

wendy, how is ur preparation for ur ROM?

are you going to have it at the registry?
you must be beri excited now....hehhee....

tell us about it kae?

Wow!!! you gals are really happening....ever since my last posting, the thread move on really fast....had a hard time catching up with it though.

For those who are asked to collect keys by the HDB but don't feel like doing so, you can just write a letter to HDB and request them to delay the key collection. Give them some valid reasons and they usually extend it a few months later depending on case to case basis. As for the property tax and conservancy fees etc, yup, u have to start paying them once u possessed the flat (in other words, pay the 20% and collected the keys). For myself, property tax just arrived and eversince i got my key in Aug 02, i have to pay the monthly conservancy fees.

Worried abt HDB coming after you for the ROM cert.?? No worries as u all can write in again after 3 months starting from the day u collected your keys to request for another delay to produce the ROM cert. Though it seemed troublesome but i am sure none of u would want your ROM date to get restricted by HDB....
Understand that you can delay producing the ROM cert. for as long as 6 months later.

Sweetcorn, so if u can delay collecting the keys till Dec and yet still be able to get yourself ROM in mid 2003.

Leafy, usually whenever i am too stressed out or busy, the flu bug will hit me especially if there are some pple ard who had it. So have the date for the 4th outing been fixed yet? When is it? Just to see whether can i make it if it happened to be after 22nd Nov.

Wendy, must remember to take lots of photos and let us see....Cannot wait to see your ROM photos....

hi doremon, thks for the great advice

You mentioned that we can even extend it to a few mths later? HDB indicated to us that if we don't collect by Dec 02, we will have to forefit our $2000 booking fees. Is it Ok to write in to delay till a few mths later and yet not forgo our booking fees?

o yah man, I forgot abt the property tax, only remembered conservancy fees! How much is the property tax usually? By the way, can we write in to delay both the keys collection and the ROM cert or shld we do it one after another? I'm thinking of stating the reasons for delay as my ROM is only much later..er, valid?

hi binbin, yeah, FH was back..heehee...nice to be with him after the 4 days break...we also used to meet very often when we first courted....now, we try to reduce a bit so that we can have enough rest and time to do our own things...at first he is quite resistant to the idea, but now he is slowly getting use to it...however, we still somehow meet like alternate days in the wkday...actually, sometimes, i like to be alone and when i get back to him, i enjoy the bits together better...and also gv him a chance to miss me more...

Hi binbin
My ROM preparation is more or less complete liao. Right now only waiting for countdown!!! 7 more days to go!!! Very Very excited!!!

Yup mine will be at the registry.

Hi doremon
Of course will take of lot of photos to show u gals!!! Once in a lifetime!!!

Hi bubbles/CC2/blusher
How the Hyatt Show??? Is it better than the FemaleBrides one? Update us ok...

Blusher
How'w your ROM preparation coming along? Have you gotten your shoes?

hi sweetcorn, hehee so u do that huh?

yeah absence makes the heart grow fonder...
but din u miss him so much when u first started to alternate the meeting days? :o
yah loh actually i have so many things i wanted to do but no time coz we meet so often. perhaps should take this time to do them.

i was so touched by something. my fh actually arranged to deliver roses to me last fri, which is the first day he is overseas. when i get the roses in the office and see the 3 cards he attached, i felt like crying......

now counting down to Friday, when he is back in the early morning.

wendy, glad u are fully prepared! u must have started planning early yah? happy counting down!
what will you be wearing?

hehhee.....

Hi Wendy,
Congrats! u must be really excited.

My ROM 's in Jan 03. Now, we're thinking of bringing our customary forward....probably Sept 2003. Is it late to book our banquet now? Seems like there are people who book their in 2004!

Hi Sweetcorn,

U r welcome!!
Firstly, i need to know the full picture. That is have u written to HDB to request for the delay yet? If yes, that means they already given u the ultimate....which is collect key by Dec 02 otherwise $2k forfeited right? If that is the case, u may want to indicate to HDB again that both of u r prepared to collect the keys in 31st DEC 02. In this way, HDB won't forfeit your $2K and both of u can also have yr ROM in mid 03.

That is two ways to settle the hse when both of u got the keys. a. Leave the hse as it is, don't carry out any renovation first till after your ROM. However do remember that once u possessed the keys, monthly installment and conservancy fees need to be pay so actually not very wise to do so.

b. Start to do some research on renovation first such as talking to ID companies and contractors, get quotations and the theme u want for the hse etc. 3 months before your ROM date, can start getting the desired ID company or contractor to do the renovation. Normally, take ard 2 months to complete (depending on the extent of renovation) and after which the hse should be in time for your ROM.

OF course, if u collect yr keys at the end of DEC 02, be prepared to pay the 5% GST charges in your renovation cost, furniture purchasing etc etc.

Nooo...u do both things at different timing. First, settle the key collection first then wait till HDB send u a letter to ask for the ROM cert then u write in the second time. My property tax was ard $95.38 but after GST rebate, it was $59.90. Do take note that property tax varies from different units. Mine is an EA.

Other than property tax, u need to activate an utility account on the same day u sign lease agreement with HDB. Plus fire insurance and also don't forget the Home Protection Scheme (HPS). If u intend to purchase the HPS from commerical insurance company, do remember to indicate to HDB. Once all paperworks settled, do get your insurance agent to expedite on the HPS thingy.

Hope that my long message won't bore u.

Hi binbin and sweetcorn, wow....absence of FH do really make both of yr hearts fonder.....

Hi wendy, i can feel your excitement also.....
So when will u be on leave? Or are u going to take 1 day leave prior to your ROM? Btw, i got the winter sonata CD, u want it?

Hi CC2, how is everything at your side? Have u start sourcing ard for ID or contractors? I got a few quotations to share, do u want it?

Hi Babylove,

Do start checking out the hotels etc now asap becos' my younger sis is having her customary in Jan 03 and she just told me most of the hotels are fully booked especially since next yr is a good yr to do customary. Better start narrowing down the list of hotels u like and start calling them up.....

hi doremon

with regards to ur reply to babylove,do you mean jan 03 or jan 04?

wow where is ur flat? sengkang?
u really know so much about housing ownershop. hehhehee.....
thanks for the advice, coz me like sweetcorn also wish to postpone.

so if we wish to purchase the HPS and fire protection thingies from commercial insurance, do we need to do so before we pay 20%? that is, will HDB leave a sum in our CPF for us to cover the insurance? am concern coz our appoint has been postponed to 1 Nov and we have not got our insurance yet..

Hi Doremon,
Thanks for the advice. Since today is Sunday, we've started emailing the hotels. Hopefully can get some replies. Then when we have time, we'll set up an appointment with them. If worse comes to worse, maybe we'll even settle for a Fri

Thks Doremon for the further elaboration! mine is kind of strange, we didn't write in to request for delay but in their first ltr to us, HDB already indicate the ultimate date, cld it be cos mine is a WIS flat? Given the case, can I write in to postpone till Feb next yr and still not forgo my deposits?

Since my cust is only in late 2004, so I really don't wish to collect my keys so early since there are so many other expenses to look after - conservancy fees, property tax, utilities, insurance...oh gosh

We also thinking of starting renovation only after our ROM in mid 2003. I also don't want my flat to be empty for too long after renovation being done.
quite a dilemma hor..

o yah, what is the home protection scheme? I thot only the fire insurance is necessary fm HDB?

hi bin bin, you must be feeling to the moon, your FH is quite romantic huh!!

yeah, reminds me of mine too, he went to Taiwan for 1 mth reservist when we first started and he sent a bunch of blue roses to my office. That was the first time I receive it in the office, and I was so shy, delighted and the feelings till now is still aww so sweet...heehee..

As to how I get used to the alternate days, well, as the relationship grows, you know that besides him, you still have your own life and own stuffs to do and it is gd to have some time on your own...hmm...it's actually different for all couple I guess, I've a friend who only meet once a wk and they are still doing good, some after many yrs of relationship, still meet everyday...as long as both are happy....who cares

HI Wendy26,
Wow another 5days to ROM...excitment must be overwhemling rite? Did u tell us how ur dress look like? Me very blur leh.. Did u chose the red one that all of us said it's nice, or did u chose another? As for my preparations. still looking aro for shoes. Actually, I didn't really look aro for shoes. Now like not so excited already...don't know why. AS for FH, still looking aro for shirts lor. AS for Hyatt show. I liked the gowns...to me is very nice lor. But too late to change bridal now..already paid the deposit. Me and FH are very impressed with Hyatt's service..like the place too. Will consider Hyatt as one of the potential hotels.

HI Babylove,
Thousgh there are lots of ppl that are getting married in 2004 have booked the banquet, it's still not that bead to start now, if u gonna have it in sept 03. Better be fast. If you are not that particular about dates...should be ok...better act fast....

Hi doremon,
Is it true that 2003 is better that 2004 for customary? I heard some ppl saying that too. Any advise?

Hi Doremon,

Yes pls! Can share share with me? I have actually stop looking for IDs. Now, more keen to look for dinner venue.

Can email me the quotations? Tks

CC2

sweetcorn

wow blue roses. very sweet right? i can imagine ur look when u receive r roses in your office.

yah a lot of my frens meet not very frequently one loh, but i think we prefer meeting often, coz cannot tahan not seeing for one day.
yes but i agree it still depends on ppl. some would prefer seeing each other less often coz they need a lot of space.

btw, in the first letter of HDB to us, they also stated 8 Dec as the last day of collection. you too?

Blusher and Doremon, is it true about the 2003 for customary better than 2004? where u hear it huh?
sigh....for me cannot leh coz mum go and ask some ppl who calculate and say i shld get married only after lunar 28 birthday or else no good. later found out that a lot of ppl also been told that, so beri common and not only for me. but what to do, since we know oredi, will "ling ke xing qi you" (rather believe loh).....

babylove, which hotels have u emailed to? care to share? interested in which are the popular ones among u girls...

wow! so many msg... i'll read when i've time & post my replies (if any)

Oct is coming to an end... (wow! time really flies!!) Time to fix a date for our next outing, Seems like all of u who replied (pebble, blusher, wendy26, durian, CC2) are free on 22 Nov. Except annmelody.

<FONT COLOR="orange">Annmelody &amp; doremon,</FONT>
do u think u can make it on 22 Nov?

What about the rest? <FONT COLOR="orange">blurydoey, binbin, sweetcorn, baby love, bubbles... ...</FONT>

wow! <FONT COLOR="lilac">2004brides members are growing...</FONT> Please let me know if i left out anyone.

Hi Leafy,
At the moment, 22nd Nov seems fine for me.

Hey Blusher &amp; CC2,
Guess what, when I told my FH about Hyatt's package yesterday, he seems very interested and thinks is worth it esp. with the free flow beer thrown in. Aiya, he is so fickle...

Hi binbin
I got my ROM dress from my bridal shop &amp; is Maroon colour with short train behind...

Hi doremon
Yup I will be taking my Marriage Leave(3 days) coming this Thurs,Fri &amp; next Mon. Dun want to "lu gi"(who knows I may not be in this company anymore since my customary is in 2004)

Doremon, you mean you can only get married after you lunar 28th birthday? Why? For me, I rather not go for this kind of fortune telling as there are so many restrictions. Just let nature takes it course...

Hi blusher
5 more days!!! My ROM dress is the one you saw, Maroon(Red) colour with very nice embroidery behind(front also got a bit of embroidery). That's one of dress I choose at my first appt.
Why you mentioned that you are not excited leh? Dun be too stressed...you still got one month to prepare

Got to go!!! Talk to you gals again!!!

Hi Blusher,

After u and ur FH were gone, Walter went to the Director of Sales to ask for more info. She was telling us that as long as u booked yesterday, u can lock in the prices... That is to say u don't have to worry that the prices will be different in year 2004.

CC2

hi all, marrying only after 28 yrs of age? hey, mine also told me the same thing, but i forgot is it 27 or 28...hmm...anyway, doesn't matter already...heehee..

Oh yah, did anyone of you hear before that man can't be married at the lunar age of 33? Wonder why....

wendy, your bridal shop is which one? I've yet to ROM nor choose bridal shop. I heard that they can lent us the ROM dress, a bit tempted to sign before my ROM then, but I also heard that most of the ROM dresses a bit outdated liao. Is it true?

hi leafy, thks for the invitation, shld be ok for me
as for the gd yr for marriage, indeed 2003 is a gd yr to marry. hopefully ROM in 2003 is equally gd

Hi sweetcorn
My Bridal shop is at Tanjong Pagar called Julia Wedding News &amp; so far I am very happy with their services! I don't think their ROM gown is out dated at my bridal shop. Every evening/wedding gown are all very beautiful!!! It also depend on your expectation, if you those who is very choosy one I dun think you will ever find a dress to your liking...For me I am very fortunate to choose a dress that I like there.

Hi Wendy,

Aiyah....u make a mistake already....binbin was the one who mentioned abt the lunar 28th birthday....not me lah...must be feeling too excited over yr ROM lei....

Hi Binbin, sweetcorn and babylove, yes!! i have been hearing alot abt next year 03 being a good year to get married, meaning doing customary. For year 04, i not so sure. But anyway, for myself, tentatively, my customary will be in year 04. Yup!it's my younger sis who is having her customary in Jan 03. So she is the one who told me abt the hotels etc etc.

All of u r welcome to ask me any question on the keys collection etc as i just did mine in Aug 02. Heeee...heeee....no worries, mine also got from the Sengkang WIS.

Sweetcorn, in that case, that is not the ultimate date yet unless HDB have something up their sleeve again. I would suggest both of u make a trip down to HDB on the weekends and produce a typed letter stating all reasons to request for a delay. That time, when i did it, the officer took the letter and said would submit for us. In the end, they delay another 2 months. It was only during the 2nd letter that they give us the ultimate and that was after we called them up again to request for another delay.

I tried to give u a layman term abt HPS. HPS is a policy where in the event, anything happen to either of the main applicants, the other party will not have to pay for the flat anymore. HPS is very impt especially if u all intend to get from commercial insurance. For myself, i took up with NTUC income so after i collected my keys and paid the 20% deposit, then i proceed to do the HPS. This thingy must settled asap becos' without the HDB's HPS, meaning we are not covered during the period till NTUC accepted our application. That is why i said must hurry your agent.

Hi Binbin, to answer your qns: u can only get your agent to settle the HPS only after u paid the 20% and key collection as during that day, HDB will give both of u a finanical statement regarding your loan etc etc. Therefore, your agent will need it to process your HPS application. I think that is the reason why u have not hear from your agent yet. But why didn't he or she explain to u?

Hi Leafy, my last paper is on 22Nov. I guess i can make it if i not too tired on that day. Most probably, i will looked like a panda then....hope that i won't scared off the newcomers.....

HI CC2, will do, i will try to scan and email to u otherwise when we meet up on 22nd, i pass to u.

Got to end here.....first time post such a long message. Later confused all of u even more.....good night!!

hi sweetcorn,

to add to what doremon has to say about hps, if you intend to service your HDB loan through cpf you must be covered by hps whether you intend to take up hps through private insurers (ntuc,aia) or through hdb. there are advantages why u would want to take up private insurance compared to hdb's hps.

best thing for u to do when u receive your keys is to apply for hdb hps first so your 1st installment can be paid through cpf. after that is done, u can get your private insurance agent to transfer your hps from hdb to your selected insurer. dun worry as hps is pro-rated so u can get refund from hdb for the period which u terminate their hps.

note that if u want to take up private insurance first, you might be faced with the possibility of paying the HDB loan first installment in cash instead of through cpf because your private hps has not been approved by cpf board. ( due to time lag n some red tape)

hope this helps.. too lor sor

Hi Sweetcorn and all,

To add on to what rally has just mentioned, if your CPF is sufficient enough to make the 1st installment then it's fine to opt for Private HPS first. However, if it's insufficient, u can do what Rally has just proposed. For my case, our CPF is enough to meet the 1st installment thus need not go thr' a round.

For my case, the red tape etc etc did not exist...once NTUC approved my application, my agent went down to CPF board to inform them and once we got the confirmation letter from CPF, we went down to Sengkang HDB branch office to do the necessary paperwork.

Hope that we won't add on to your confusion...

hi all! leafy, 22 nov is okie for me.

look forward to seeing ur ladies...

wendy, u blur lah, mix me up liao...hehhee....
anyway, me also went julia wedding news to see before. their gowns are beri glamourous. makes u feel like princess one. i tried on this slightly golden colour one that was normal to begin with but look so princessy once they attached the 2 long trains.

but not signing up with them coz their package expensive loh, and doesn't come with some things that we wanted.
glad that you are happy with ur gown.

sweetcorn, yah loh beri mah huan right? so silly to restrict to marrying only after 28 lunar.
sigh.....anyway, that's why i chose 2004 loh. or else will get married earlier liao...hehhehehe......
no lah, actually frm the time my FH proposed, and taking into consideration the time needed to get our house, to reno, to book advance for hotel, early 2004 just right....

btw, neber heard of the 33 yrs of age one before. :P

doremon, rally, WOW! u girls really know so much!
hhhhmmm.....a bit hard to absorb all in one go.
but i do get the gist of what you are saying.

will cut and paste and refer to this later.

2 more full days of missing before i can see my FH again....

HI Bubbles,
Fh interested in Hyatt too? I felt Hyatt is quite nice. Do keep this as one of your options.

Hi Wendy26,
That lovely Marron dress...very nice..good choice! Sure look very pretty that day. Hey 4 days more to go!!! Looks like I'm more excited in ur ROM than mine.Hahaha!

HI All,
Any suggestions of good hotels for a weekend stay. Looking for hotels that are in town area...not too expensive...<$200 have or not? Pls advise ar!!

Hi doremon
Oops sori, I got mixed up
paiseh paiseh...

Regarding the Winter Sonata CD, I buy already. Thanks for offering to lend it to me. As for VCD, I will borrow from my friend

Hi binbin
Yup Julia is expensive &amp; no car provided for actual day
. But their gowns are soooo beautiful!!! I fell in love immediately once they let me try it, specially those with long train... Just like what u say felt like a princess!!!

Hi blusher
4 more days!!! Oh boy... can't imagine how I will react when I am taking the vows!!!
I will also be very excited for you when your ROM comes next month!!!
Regarding Hotel Stay, maybe you can check with your company to see whether they tied up with certain hotels to enjoy corporate rates. But I think you have to book under your company name &amp; you pay your company later. It will be cheaper compare to publish rates...

Hi pebbles
Are u back already?

hi ladies, wow, that's really quite a lot to digest...let me and FH think think and discuss. Will consult you gals again if we need further clarifications...

oh ya, doremon, can email me one of your reasons for reference? thks in advance

just to let u know I booked liao finally at crown prince hotel for next year 17th sept. is pebbles back from her trip? seems like very long lei...

Alamak what am I doing???

Retype!
hi strawberry long time no see u here at this thread.
yeah me want to meet pebbles too.
10280.gif

wendy, so what kind of WG did you choose? the glamour kind or the sweet sweet kind? last time i did not see any sweet sweet kind can tell me if you had managed to find any?

blurydoey, congrats! happy for you that you have gotten a hotel of your choice at last.
care to share what made u decide?

blusher, for weekend stay, like wendy said u can find corporate rates for your companies.
but what i understand (what my FH did) was that we book with reference to his company but using my FH's own name. and when we pay, we pay using our own credit cards. so dun need to go one round to pay company back.
hhhhhmmmm....recommended hotels below $200 along town area is not easy to find, esp if you want a good one. so u should really look for corporate rates.
For Marina Mandarin, their rooms start from $128+++ for OUB/UOB card members, and Merchant Court from $140 for DBS perks holders. but the latter dunno still available or not. If yes, I will strongly recommend Merchant Court HOtel, esp the Merchant Club Package, where you get to enjoy afternoon cocktails (yummy snacks and free flow of all sorts of drinks) at this super comfortable merchant club lounge. we paid about $180 or $195 for it then. and the service of merchant court is superb. i must say much better than swissotel the stamford (the former westin), even though the latter is also good.
10281.gif

Hi Sweetcorn,

No problem, but i need to go back my FH's hse to retrieve the letter as it's inside the notebook. Can wait?? If can, i email u over the weekends.

Hi gals, for a quick update on my side....
Renov started this week, tentatively end by 1st DEC. Bought all the electrical appliances such as projection TV, fridge, washing m/c liao...
Now leftover are curtains and furnitures. Once all these completed, i will be checking on EB again. Most probably will go down and negotiate for another package....cannot waste my 1k deposit...

Hi binbin
Hmmmm.....how to describe my ROM gown? The embriodery are mostly at the back all along till the train...As for the front, the embriodery are only at the chest and then plain throughout. No beads but have those shiny/sparkling small sequin here &amp; there. More to formal than sweet kind
Their EG are quite elaborate &amp; if you you want something sweet &amp; simple, you may not find it there...Did you go to the 2nd floor?

Hi blurydoey
How many tables will u be having &amp; the cost per table? You have not gotten your bridal pkg right?

Hi wendy26,blusher,doremon,CC2,bubbles and the rest,

Woww.... the thread is really very lively and busy now. I have not been here for more than 2 months..... really tied up with work and studies.

Really regretted not being able to find time to catch up with you gals.... My apologies... Now I will be staying over at my bf place more often and my timetable is not as packed as the first semester so I will be able to come in more often!!

First of all, congrats to wendy!!! ROM coming soon so you must be very excited rite?? I have attended a fren's ROM and most of us were laughing at the Chinese vows that the couple took... so mushy and 'cheena'.... Hahhaha.... So will you be taking your vow in Mandarin or English??

Remember to take more photos and bring it on the next outing... I am sure all the gals here are eager to see the photos.....

Here's a piece of good news.... I have finally booked my lovenest under the Jurong WIS after waiting faithfully for 6 months since the first WIS!!!!

Now I am really financially stress!!! We will be expected to collect keys sometime in Dec/Jan but our cpf not enuf to pay the 20% downpayment (about 42K).... Sigh.... then next, have to worry about renovation, then wedding package, wedding banquet... Everything also need $$$$$$ and its not a small sum.....

I will be going down to request for deferment... No sure if it will be successful. My cousin wrote in and got deferred for 6 months. At least cpf growing so don't need to fork out so much cash hor...

It seems that Yr2004 is really an auspicious year for marriage... My future mother-in-law came across the column on Fengshui Master 'You Long Zi' in 'Xin Ming Ri Bao' mentioning that Yr 2003 is an auspicious year for marriage..... He has provided a few auspicious dates. So most likely my customary will be in Nov 03 or Jan 04. Both days happen to fall on a Sat, so quite ideal lor....

Please pardon me for my long msg...... Hope that you gals won't feel sleepy after this!!

HI Blurydoey,
Congras on confirmation of hotel. Can share with me the packages with me?Pls email me if u have the soft copy of the banquet packages. Pebbles still not back...should be back soon...all of us miss her so much....

Hi Wendy26,
I know that thru company, can get better rates for the room, but don't really want to go thru my office channel. Thanks anyway for your suggestion.

HI Binbin,
thanks for the info.. I will call the hotels up to find out more..

Hi Serrich,
Wow..it's been a long long time since u last posted. Congras on ur lovenest. Hey, I believe all of us here are goning thru this 'no money' situation. 20% down payment, wedding, reno, furniture...ah yoh..so much money rite. Just have to hang in there ok....U mentioned 2003 and 2004 are good years for wedding rite? Great...so no problem for all of us here... Hope to see u in the coming outing. Tentative date is 22 NOV 2002, organise by Leafy.

I am on MC today so should be logging in quite often heeee....
Have a relapse of my back injury

Hi blusher, if u don't mind, how abt i book the hotel room for u instead? I can get corporate rates and procedure will be like i booked under the company name but pay thr' using my own credit card. Let me know if u need it. Of course, must first confirm the hotel u want and then i check it out whether got corporate rate or not....

Hi Serrich, finally u r back!!

Wow!!! HDB allow yr cousin to defer for 6 months so lucky of her. When i requested for deferment, they only allow me for 2 months. Yup.....now with the hse etc etc, really a big sum of $$$ involved. Like what blusher mentioned, all of us here are in the same situation so don't worry, need someone to confide to...we are all here.

Hi sweetcorn, u may also want to get the sample letter from Serrich's cousin and gain some tips. Should be forwarding u the letter by weekends. Can i have your email address?

Pebbles, pebbles....come back soon....We really missed u!!

HI Doremon,
How much is one nite stay? At which hotel? Will it be very troblesome for you? Will your company mind? Thanks for offering your help on this....Take care ar!!! Rest more..

hi wendy, no i didn't go to the top flr.
they were having some photo shots or some maintenance. so we couldn't go loh.
glad u got the gown of your choice.

10326.gif

doremon, what back injury? is it serious?
must take care lah. u must be those beri active and do a lot of sports one huh?

serrich, neber see ur mesg b4, but understand you are a "lao jiao" around this thread.

keep the mesgs coming bek.
what course u studying?
btw, one think u said made me blur. u said that 2004 is really an auspicious yr to get married. then you went on the comment on 2003. so it is 2003 or 2004 that is good? heard that 2003 is better?
aiyah not that it bothers me lah but just curious....

btw where will u be staying?
10327.gif