(2004) Brides of year 2004

annmelody

Dear Leafy,

I should be okie on the 22 Nov...provided me not stuck at project work.

Any recommendation on house renovation? Hubby would want to start renovation in mid November. So dun really know what and where to find a good one.

My wedding dinner could possibly be brought forward to Oct or Nov 20003.....else will be early 2004 loh. Think someone posted some information on the hotels. Can share?

cc2

WOW! Looks like quite a number of 2004 brides becoming end 2003 brides liao hor?

blurydoey

whoa so many postings..
I booked my wedding dinner at crown prince during a bridal show held last fri,so got an $1800 angbao off the total bill n free flow of beer, free corkage of wine n liquor n also extra nite stay...i am having a nine course dinner on a wed nite..
I also just booked the focus at imm yest...too troublesome to look around...
wendy how are u feeling liao??excited lei coming soon liao your rom..
blusher,I dun have your email maybe u can send me an sms? I really miss pebbles lei...want to share the news to her also....
gals,
I am not coming in so often lor...if I missed out any postings please yuan liang....

doremon

Hi annmelody,

u looking for contractor or ID?? U can try Impress 21, cistern or Ideal Home....Their pricing not bad. Check on them at the renov thread especially IMpress 21. Very popular.

CC2, u may want to look at Impress 21 too. For my case, we engaged the contractor used by my FH's friend so if u both interested, i can pass u both the contact too.

Anyway, i will zap a copy of the quotation etc etc and pass to both of u during our 4th outing.

Binbin, my back injury is a long long story...anyway to bring it short, i injured while working....so recently carried too many books ard and hurt it again. It's a disc bulged that is pressing hard on the nerves thus i am being confined to bed for 5 days!!! Will be going back to SGH on friday. Heee...heee..used to exercise but after injured back, have stopped already..

annmelody

Hi blurydeoy....

Your pkg with crown prince sounds good...May I know wat's the price per table?

Doremon,

Think may need you to fax to me a copy of the renovation list as would want to start renovating by end november I guess.... can i drop by your place and look look see see? me still not sure what concept to adapt for my new place.

blurydoey

annmelody
its abt $628 per table...but its a weekday lor...
heard a lot pple comments saying y hold it on wed..just trying to ignore all those neg comments..becos its our big day we shld choose whichever day we like..

doremon,
u better take care, I also sprained my back last year, n always will have back pain whenever i carry heavy stuff...better take care..cause we have to bear children in future very impt not to overstrain our backs...

serrich

Wooowww... so happy that you gals have not forgotten me though I have been mia for so long....

Talking about contractors & IDs... I went to a few lah.. quite impressed with Louvre Design and Ciseern.. Home Success sucks!!!! I am quite disgusted with the designer... Anyone out there using Home Success???

hey doremon,
What reasons did you give when you applied for the deferment of your flat?? For my case, a bit complicated as we are both short of cpf & cash... My FH parents also out of job then he and his siblings have to help to finance the present housing loan... Sigh......

binbin,
According to the Chinese lunar calendar, Jan 04 is considered as lunar 12 'yue4' mah.... Tentatively, me and my FH will have to decide between 2 dates, ie. 01 Nov 03 or 04 Jan 04 lor.... I would like very much to have it on 01 Nov but afraid that we might have some financial difficulties....

I am currently doing my BSc in Business(UOL)at SIM. In my 2nd year now... Veri siong leh... Used to have lessons 4 times a week & have to work OT on other days thats why cant join you gals in the 2nd and 3rd meeting...

Now not too bad.. 3 times a week and work load getting lesser so most likely can skip class on 22 Nov to join you gals....

Btw, my love nest is in Jurong.... Anyone here staying in Jurong West too???

sweetcorn

hi hi, this thread is certainly getting more lively with all the news and cute pics

hi doremon, no problem, you can email me at [email protected]. Thks. Yeah, Serrich, your cousin got a 6 mths deferment! wow! how did she do it? Can share? Me and FH cracking our heads to come up with 'valid' reasons...hee

hi blurdoey, nice mtg u on sunday
sorry that we didnt have much time to catch up on that day
hey, why u wldn't be checking the forum so often now? have to start buzi with your preps huh. Me also feel quite tired of finding info / sourcing for bridal pkg and banquets....
how i wish i've a wedding planner to do everything for me...sigh

FH quite tempted for a wkday affairs too coz that wld give us more choices of hotel. For wkend, well....a bit tough lor...
My FH now regret not starting his savings earlier...see lah...sigh sigh.

blusher

HI Doremon,
My weekend stay may be delayed...thanks anyway. I will need your help when I confirm the date later.Hows ur back?

HI blurydoey,
Thanks for sharing with me....

leafy

hi!
finally back to read all the postings one by one...

seems like most of our new comers will be staying in the west! great! Me will be staying a bit west too.

<FONT COLOR="red">babylove,</FONT>
Have u registered for ur date for ROM in Jan03? If not, better do so, else all timeslot will be "chobb" by other couples, esp if u choose a saturday.

Wow! All talking abt collecting keys... When come to my turn, most prob hdb rules will change.... sigh...

<FONT COLOR="red">Wendy,</FONT>
Wonder if u will log in today, since u on leave already. Envy u leh...got marriage leave, somemore 3 days ahh! Not many companies giving this benefit.
So excited for u, but don't worry, the solemnisation is only a few minutes, <FONT COLOR="blue">try to bw calm, so u can enjoy and remember the whole process clearly in your mind...,</FONT>not many ppl can so this though cos most couples will be too nervous and that few minutes passed without u knowing.

The date for next outing is fixed at 22 Nov 02.
Those going are:
pebble, blusher, wendy26, durian, CC2, Annmelody, doremon, sweetcorn, bubbles.

How about blury, binbin, serrich, babylove, chloewinkie???

time to go lunch...will post msg again when I'm free.

pebbles

sorry for MIAing for so long ah , me still in china anyway, got a bit of time so log in to send u girls a short msg, will be flying back tomolo so me will make postings during the weekend lor...now no time to read up but there's really so many to read ah...oh oh, a warm welcome to all those new comers...!!!!!
can't wait to go home ah, getting home sick liao, away for 3 weeks....
ok then....yak with u girls when im back..!!! have a good weekend

wendy26

Hi blusher
Sure you are making me very excited. Today I went for facial &amp; also dental checkup

Tomorrow will go for a wash &amp; blow hair &amp; manicure
Ai ya... I so vain Hahaha...Only excuse to pamper myself right!!!

Hi leafy
Yup I am on leave liao. Luckily my company have marriage leave so can take advantage of it loh...Back only on Tues. Will try to log in at night...to keep you gals updated.

Good night!

blusher

HI Wendy26,
Tommorrow will be Mrs already...me really make u more kan cheong rite. Wah...Facial &amp; dental checkup,blow hair and manicure..sure look gorgeous tomorrow....must take lots of pics ok. I was hoping the next meeting will be before my ROM, then u can give me tips on ROM...never mind lah...I call always u for tips...My comapny also have marriage leave 3days..but didn't take it now..I thot can only take this leave after the marriage, must produce marriage cert then can get the leave rite? I better check with my HR. I have applied leave for my ROM, but used my annual leave...U take care...try to sleep early tonite to be mei mei!! But I know sure cannot lah..too excited to sleep. Don't drink too much water before bed...may have water retention....Take care!!!!

binbin

hi wendy, congrats and hope u have a beautiful rom...
rem to tell us about it.

leafy, yes me will be going for the 22 nov outing...keep wondering how u ladies look like hehhehee....

serrich, so you are in ur final year now?
studying beri fun leh, really mis studying. everyday i looked forward to it last time, to seeing all my friends in school, talking during lectures, doing tutorials...hhehehee....
now wanna go bek to study but no time. :p
quite envy u leh....got chance to skip lessons. (that was my fav activity last time - skipping lessons:p). i also wanna skip work....

did you get the cute pics from the hotel intercontinental link? beri kawaii!!!
btw i stay in bukit panjang...

cc2, yah loh, quite a bit of 2004 brides becoming 2003 brides.i saw babylove posting in Sept 2003 thread liao.

doremon, wah careful ur back leh. how come carry books can hurt it again? did you remind urself to bend ur knees instead of ur back when u carry the heavy things? must remember leh. like blurydoey said, must take care of ur back coz we gotta carry baby to term next time. heard that it's gonna be quite strain on the back and calves...so take care....

binbin

btw me beri happy coz my FH came bek from his 9 day trip liao! yeah! me at his place now, he's sleeping like a log.
i took time off.

doremon

Thanks for all the concern. I have been extremely careful with my back already....i mean no more heels or even step aerobics etc etc. So this time is abit careless as i thought that the books aren't that heavy. Well....i also worried abt that. See how the doctor say today....

Hi annmelody, sure no problem. U can always drop by once the place is ready. CC2 and alll, u can come too if any one of u don't mind the distance...
But have to wait till my exams over which is on 22 nov, i will arrange a day with you gals again.

Annmelody, most probably i will be zapping it instead as i already keep my fax m/c and scanner under my bed so under my current condition, i don't think i will be moving much stuffs ard.

Hi Serrich, beware of the home success. They have quite bad reputation if i don't remember wrongly reading it in the HOME AND DECO forum. As i mentioned earlier, do drop by to check out all these IDs and contractors in the HOME and DECO forum. Very useful information there.

Hi Bin Bin, wow.....so sweet of u....taking time off just to be with your FH the moment he is back...heeee....heeee...may i ask how long have both of u been together?

Hi Wendy, Sleep early tonight....play some relaxing music and sniff some lavender oil should do the trick....

Pebbles!! great to have u back!! All of us here missed u

blurydoey

congrats wendy, tomolo be a mei mei bride hor...ekkeke....
wha gals so many postings,my collegue on leave so busy with my work lor....
pebbles....we miss u quick come back......
sweetcorn,
I also finally finalished all these stuff..but these are just the beginning..u dun be too stressed...I also felt very tiring doing all these stuff but at least u got hubby with u along lor...

leafy

hi Wendy!!

leaf n wind sending all the well wishes to both u n ur hubby. Wish u have a blissful marriage, "bai2 tou2 dao4 lao3" "yong3 jie2 tong2 xin1".... heee...what else...ehh... loving forever.

you are the first to get ROM after the launching of this thread ... many of the 2004brides r depending on u to provide tips and share ur ROM experience leh!! So must take many many photos to show us ok??

u sure will be the most stunning beautiful bride tomolo! Can't wait to see ur photos liao... hee...

doremon,
Do take care and remember not to hurt your back again. When u recover, try to seek ways to strengthen ur spin, else might pose lots of inconvenience if u live with this problem, esp during old age.

binbin,
glad tt u are free to attend our next outing.
We have taken some pictures during our previous outings, u want to look look?? give me ur email address, i send to u. k?

blusher,
have u checked with HR regarding marriage leave? My company will start providing this benefits soon, but too late for me, cos I ROM liao. So sad! Actually, they should allow us to take during customary wedding hor.... since nowadays, ppl usually ROM first, then customary. aiya...

wendy26

Hi blusher/doremon/binbin/JustROM/blurydoey/leafy &amp; all

Many many thanks for all your well wishes!!! Very "Kan Cheong" now as I am posting this message!!! I think I will have sleepless night tonite!!! Got butterfly in my stomach leh...
Of course will take a lot of photo to show you all.

Got to go to bed early liao. Talk to you gals after my ROM ceremony tomorrow!!!

Bye!

leafy

Wendy!!

Congrats!! U are now officially Mrs ?. How do u feel? needless to ask, of cos felt like nobodyelse is luckier n happier than u right?

Did u stay calm n remember every little detail of the ceremony? During mine, I was too nervous, can't remember anything leh...

Can't wait to see ur photos...

binbin

hi leafy, yes yes me wanna see photos! can send to my email [email protected].

Doremon, actually we have not been together like beri beri long loh, compared to u girls...

about a year and 4 months.
ever since we are together, we have seen each other everyday. the times we neber met is less than 10. so him going for 9 days trip is like beri long to us loh....:p
when he's not, whenever something happy or unhappy first reaction was to share with him but he's not here...beri funnie loh...
my collegues said we dun give them the impression that we have just been together. they felt that we like very got "mo qi" and like "lao fu lao qi" like dat....hehehhee....perhaps it's coz we talk a lot about each other's feelings and ideals...
sollie beri loh soh...:eek: what about you?

serrich

Hi wendy26,

Congras..... You must have enjoyed your day... So how did it go?? Did you take lots of pics??? Must remember to show us on 22 Nov, okie?!!
10525.gif

hi doremon,

yup..me will be careful of home success...btw, my FH had posted remarks on them in the treads in Home n Deco liao...
10526.gif

hi binbin,

studying very fun meh?! hehee.... the lecturers all so boring n always so sleepy on class after a whole day work....very ke lian one leh!!
10527.gif

10528.gif
10529.gif

binbin

doremon, can share your ID package comparisons?
you can send to [email protected].
Thanks so much!

serrich, hehehhe yah i rem wanting to sleep during lecs too...

but overall, isn't it better than working?
at least studying you got 3 plus months leave leh!

wendy26

Finally finish my ROM!!!
Yesterday was a tiring day...It was so crowded at the registry &amp; I think it was a very popular date to get married. I saw Channel U artiste Bryan Wong &amp; Quan Yi Feng with their camera man filming someone who they know getting married there too.

I took abt 7 rolls of film(exclude Digital camera)for Ceremony, Indoor &amp; Outdoor shoot. No regrets!!! We went to places nearby like the Merlion, Esplande, Fullerton etc...Finish photo taking only abt 6+...

My leg was aching after a whole day of walking. Luckily still got one more day to rest. Will be back in office on Tues.

Hi blusher
It will be your turn soon!!! 22 more days!!! Me start counting down for you liao!!!
How'r your preparation coming along?

Got to go now. Bye!

blusher

Morning Mrs ?(Wendy26),
Congras on ur ROM...wow 6+ roles of film...must show us on the 22 nov hor. Me only planning to bring aro 3-4 rolls of flim for my ROM. Will not be going many places for the photo-taking. At the registry and at Fort Canning perhaps. I agree that 26 oct was a good date, cos I saw many 'xin niang che' that day..must be a super good date. Hopefully my date is not too bad..I didn't check the lunar calender if that is a good date...me and FH just 'han tam' only. As for the preparations for the ROM, FH have finally started his preparations last weekend. I think he is begining to feel the kan cheongness now. He had his shirt and pants tailor-made. Will only be ready in early Nov. Now have to start searching for his shoes, belt and tie. Me still have not got my shoes....still looking aro, hoping to find another nicer pair. I have shortlisted 2 pairs, one at Isetan, the other is at URS. Hows the food at the restaurant that u went for your lunch? Good? Me still looking aro for lunch venues.

Hi pebbles,
Where are you???? Must be busy ' tian tian mi mi' with FH rite...do log in when u are free....waiting for your postings....

justrom

Hi Wendy,

Or should I address u as Mdm Wendy.... Congratulations for your new status... Have to show us the photos when they are developed....

pebbles

it's really good to be back leh..
miss me...ehehehe..

Wendy,
congratulations on your big day..!!!!wow, u took so many pics ah, must show us all on out next outing ah..
so how's the feeling like,to be address as Mrs..!!!so in the end did u engage a prof or u DIY for your photoshoots..???

Blusher,
u ah, make fun of me ah, me still tired from my trip ah and have not fully recovered yet and i went to Panpac last nite cos i was out shopping for my bro's gift, check out the prices for Panpac..
intend to do up a spreadsheet for all the freebies and prices, will send a copy to u all when it's done..

so u still looking for your shoe ah, need me to go shopping with u or not..heheh..
let me know ok..

Binbin,
hello, the new active bride..
read it the previous postings that u miss your FH so much ah..
dun worry about it girl, u will get to see him everyday the moment u two love birds get marry then u will see him everything for the next 70 years..eheheh..
me worst rite, didn't get to see my FH for 3 weeks ah...it's good sometimes cos he will miss u more mah...then will treasure those special moments that u two spend together more..
and like what sweetcorn mention, it's not a bad idea to meet up twice a week cos i was like u , must see my FH everyday one else will miss him so much but then we decided it's better for us if we meet up twice a week then we will have more time for our frens and also more time for ourselves. so have u shortlisted any bridal shops yet...??? need any help??? me will try my best to help if i can..

pebbles

hi Serrich,
so nice to see u back here..
i see u make a lot of progress leh...good on u..
me also intend to defer the keys collection, any tips on how to delay it for 6 months at least????

binbin

hi wendy,congrates on ur new status...

show us ur pics show us ur pics! hhehee...

pebbles! u are bek! heard so much about u. got ur email few wks ago but first time seeing u in the thread myself...

hehhe my FH bek liao really feel so happy.
last weekend we keep smiling at each other and saying to each other how glad we are...beri funnie....

okie will keep in mind about scheduling our time for other things....hehehe.....
i have went to 6 bridal shops. and shortlisted 3. still wanna go 1 more before i decide. you know what, i am superly and totally impressed by doreen chee. She's so wonderful! She's talented, patient, always smiling, and best of all not at al pushy. me and my fh could not believe it when we went down last sat. she was so patient explaing the packages and letting me try 2 gowns, so patient when answering out queries on so many things, and so very sincere in her dealings.
we feel that she's so real, a person who truly find passion in what she does, and is doing it for the love and interest most, and not the money.
sighh......really love her gowns, but din really take to the photography packages, coz we want a certain style and much more photos. so dunno how still considering.....
what about you, what bridal shops did u sign with?
which hotel? I am considering conrad, fullerton, merchant court, marriot. have not seen the third and fourth.

blurydoey

congrats mdm wendy..
whoa so many pics..I only took one n a half roll for my rom...
pebbles
I just taking a breather now from my work...
ok gals see ya around...
blusher,
dun be kan cheong...u going to be mei mei bride soon liao....

pebbles

Hi binbin,
hehehe...really ah, what have u heard about me...hope it's nothing bad..

u and your fh so cute hor..ehehehe..
dun worry lah, u will get used to it one..me also like that when we first change our meeting schdule now used to it already, last time worst ah, me will find all kinds of excuse to meet up more often..ehehe...at least now got more things to do so it's good to have some free time..

oh, i heard alot about doreen, i think it's good if u go for someone that has a passion for her job..
for me, i sign up with bridal zone cos it's cheap lah then also my co-orinadtor is a very nice lady whom gives me whatever i ask for..ehehehe...so good for me lah as for hotels ah, have not shortlisted any yet...but i see your hotels all very ex one ah..dun think i can afford all those ex hotels but will be looking at the hotels after i selected my date..
will keep u updated..

oh yes, i will try to send u girls the spreadsheet i did for the bridal package will benfit those who have not sign up with any bridal packages lah..

so u going for our outing...???hope to see u there ah..

annmelody

Hi doremon....

Hope your back is fine. envy you...exams finish already... mine will only end on 1 Nov...so now very the stress.

After exams think will be preparing ym house reno then back to my studies again :
Think you mei mei that day so must show us all the photos then okie.... see you on the next meeting :p

bubbles

Hey Wendy,

Congrats! Must show us your fotos when we meet!

Hey the rest, looking forward to meeting up on 22nd.

K, got to go. Ciao

leafy

WEndy,
wow! 7 rolls excluding digi pix! U really got stamina ah! I get tired easily smiling at the camera. But good, once in the lifetime only.

Have u collected the photos? Did u engage a photographer? or DIY?

justrom

hi Pebbles,
If you happen to come to the forum, just to let you know that your mail box has exceeded quota.. Can't send any mails to you at the moment

pebbles

Hi Justromed,
yeah cos blusher send me a big file, i deleted the file already but think yahoo takes a while to clear the mailbox..
sorry about that

blusher,
wow, the file is really big ah, it's 2000+ i save it into my hard drive then deleted it from my mail box already..

wendy26

Hi blusher
My Tim Sum Buffet lunch was at River City Restaurant Level 4 at Excelsior Hotel. The Food was good. We have about 26 people so was given 3 tables.
You can go for food tasting first to see whether you like it or not.

Hi JustROM/pebbles/binbin/blurydoey/bubbles/leafy
Here's my films distribution for my ROM:-

1. Engaged 1 photographer for the Ceremony/Fort Canning Shoot(1 roll) from Say Yes.

2. 3 rolls DIY for Candid Shot/Group photo etc.

3. Digital camera DIY by my cousin Candid shot/Group photo etc.(don't know how many pics yet)

4. Engaged another photographer(recommend by friend)after the lunch for outdoor shoot at Fullerton/Parliment House/Esplande/Merlion Park(3 rolls)

5. Viewcam DIY by my friend.

I like to take photos since I was young. Therefore being a once in a lifetime occasion, I tend to take more loh... :p

Of course will bring &amp; show it to you gals during the next outing on 22 Nov!

leafy

wendy,
Seems like u had a elaborated ROM... how much u spent altogether?

Last time i love to take photos too, but now fat already... not photogenic anymore. So, took lesser n lesser photos nowadays.

pebbles

Wendy,
wow, really envy u leh, take so many pics, i hope i also get to take so many pics when it's my turn, i also like to take pics one but some how i find i look so the ugly now when i take pics..
maybe this time the outing we can take pics again..ehehe..

blurydoey

wendy wah u really got stamina..so when taking wedding pics u sure very natural one..
so we are meeting on the 22nov ar??
pebbles,
wont lah..girls always find faults in themselves one...scarlly its very nice..but u think not nice lor..
blusher,
countdown for your rom liao?u bought your shoes bor?

pebbles

hi blurydoey,
so nice to see u here leh, u still busy with yr work ah...??? no lah, really very ugly leh, last time take pics still quite nice lah now so fat ah can see the double cheek and fats...so sian lor but lucky i still have a bit more time to lose off those fats..ehehe...else my wedding photos sure turn out very ugly one

annmelody

Hi Gals...

Need you gals help in shortlisting my dinner venue. Me Kiasu...... scared later date choose already....the hotel got no vacancy.

I'm facing a problem as I think his dad want good food and care nothing about the ambience whereas I want both the ambiance and food to be okie.

I thought of a few hotels like Merchant Court, Amara Hotel, Crown Prince, Plaza Hotel and Grand Plaza Hotel.

What you gals think and any futher recommendations?

binbin

aarrrggghhh.....so stressed the whole day and week....!!!

dun care, decided to come on the forum to meet you girls...hehhehe....

annmelody, just my two cents worth. Had dinner plaza hotel twice b4, the food so so only. ambience wise also so so....
heard that merchant court ambience is good and service too. conflicting comments abt the food though. why dun u go check out the threads of these 4 hotels?

pebbles, actually me considering bridal zone too.
met with the coordinator once. (yours is grace right...;P) but did not try the gowns so dunno how nice. really love doreen's gowns loh...so actually considering signing with bz but getting doreen's gown.
but will try BZ gowns this week to decide lah.....:eek:
the hotels expensive hor? yah loh i also think so that's why we have not decided mah! hehhehee....
last sun, me and my FH set down and calculated how much money we need for our wedding, including items like dinner downpayment, bridal package, honeymoon, additional frills of renovation (hacking and relaying of tiles etc), major household appliances and furniture......and it CAME to $45k!!!!! ohmegod!!!! pengz! we figured we will need very very disciplined saving regime to reach this......
no more chongqing steamboat, modestos aglio olio, claypot frog porridge.....and i love to eat so much!!! booo-hooo......

10668.gif

sigh....dunno whether all of u are facing this problem. but i think most of you have been saving faithfully all these yrs right? or at least spends less than me....
sigh.....nebermine, it's our marriage, our home mah, so gotta sacrifice loh....:eek:
10669.gif

doremon

Hi annmelody,

U mistaken liao....my last paper is on 22nd Nov that is why i was telling leafy regarding the 4th outing 22nd NOV may be not able to meet up as i think i will be very very tired. Now i rushing to clear all my studies before my hospitalisation leave end....

Hi wendy,
WOW!!! A lots of pics taken....so envy of u...for myself, i don't really like to take photos but at the same time...like u say, once in a life time, don't take like so wasteful...i don't know how to pose in front of a camera....whenever, i think of the studio shoots, i get headaches... Btw, how much u spend on engaging the photographer from SAY YES and your friend's recommendation? Can share share??

Leafy, i will SMS u on 22nd Nov to confirm my attendance as that day after my paper, i need to go back SGH for another review.

Hi Sweetcorn, sorry....i will send the letter to u on thursday instead as i cannot travel too much so during the weekends, i was confined in bed. Thursday, i going over to pick up a textbook from my FH's place so will send it as well....my apology again!!!