(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date

Hi blurdory,
yeah lor, very cheap hor, i see if she's good then can let u girls know..
now so scary to travel but think come sept should be ok lah..
keeping fingers crossed..

CC is also thinking of taking up a pakage in JB so u can check with her lor..

Soupie,
yup yup, consider it done, will add your details in the list then will forward u a copy..

CC2,
wow, u actually made a posting during office hour ah..not scared later yr boss scold u ah...ahahah..

SAGI: HEYEHEYEHEYEHEY!!! What WENDY what???
21936.gif
GRRrrrrrhhhhhhh....

Me still in the mist of sourcing for my WB, soltaire... ROM venue/package... so headache! Very chuan hor... running around from threads to threads!

BLURYDOEY/CC2: Not really lah, have a package over there liao... so tmrw might popby to see see their gowns... have to peek for my ROM dress... last mth went and see liao... not really WOW lor... so trying my luck tmrw. Which bridal you taking from? CC2, you taking PS again?!?!!? Rich MRS-to-be wor...

YESH YESH... soon will be another holiday liao!!! The next holiday will have to wait until August?
21937.gif

ok pple,
me going to knock off liao...
will see u girls on monday cos taking leave on friday..

blurydory,
thanks!!! me will enjoy my prep!!!

oops.....kena caught in action by wendylee....

pai sey pai sey....

kekekke....u watching ivory....i watching u... u wanna sing the song also??
21939.gif

sorry ahh....dun mind my siaoness...waiting for knock off time....today no mood work....so u see me busy weaving thru the threads...ahahahaa
21940.gif

SAGI: HAHAHA... I should be the one WATCHING you wor... hahaha! Know lah know lah... can see your siaoness....

PEBBLES: Enjoy your long long weekend!!!
21944.gif

GALS: HAPPY VESAK DAY!!!!!!!!
21945.gif

hi wendylee,
finally noe how to post the icon liao
21948.gif

btw, i think it's better to buy loose diamonds and set it yourself. The grade of the dia will be better and the size is actually bigger. It will be more expensive to buy from Lee Hwa, Goldheart, etc becoz you might be paying premium due to the high advertising cost, high rental cost incurred by them.

I've been to the jewellery shop called "House of hung" at Far East shopping centre. Their dia are GIA certified and it seemed to be cheaper as compared to Lee Hwa, Soo Kee, etc. Check it out and compare prices...u will see the diff. (ps: me not an employee from the shop)

Perhaps to buy dia rings, you buy loose dia and get it set in the settings that u like. E.g can go to Lee Hwa to set the "Calyx" setting for the loose dia. Can save more than $500 as compared if you buy from them!

Have not checked out Dia industry but heard fr my frens that the workmanship is not so good.

Also, dia of Grade D,E,F is the best and it's near colourless. Usu they dun have GIA certification for small dia (think it's for 0.4-0.5 carat above).

Hi cin_p/Blury,

initially i also dun noe how to post the cute characters. You will have to type in : "\image {your file name}"
Note: pls do not type in the open/close inverted commas. Urm...there should be no spacing between "image" and "file name".Post your message and the website will prompt you for the file (of coz you muz download your file first)

Hope this info helps.
21949.gif

Hi ivory,
always see u very bz at your "ROM picx" thread leh...so many messages within one day!

Wow so quiet this afternoon huh? Went Allure Charix to accompany my gf choose her EG, at the same time I also tried a few WG
Tried 3 pcs, quite like one of them but no intention of buying so just take note of the design.

Jul 04,
I think it's a gd idea to try a few gowns cos at least now I ve a slight idea of what I want
At least know what suits me and what is not. Look forward to try a few more hehe

Pebbles jie jie,

Me old bird liao mah! So don't care liao lor! Actually my boss also post during office hr!

Hi Sagi,

I went to 2 bridal shops last weekend. One of Oscar and the other is Divine Brides. The OScar gowns really cannot make it. Very very cheena,
my mom see already the head shake until want to drop already!

Then when we went to Divine, it was so much better as compared to Oscar. BUT then those gowns on the rack are 2nd hand one lar, meaning those brides in Singapore MTM already then they sent to the Divine Brides in JB. U can MTM there too!

Hi wendylee,

Just curious, y u say me taking PS againg ah? I no $$$ so that's y need to go JB to take lor! No rich Mrs-to-be lar! By the way, which bridal shop are u with?

Have u been to JB Milan?

Hi silver!

Yeah, u shld try more and see which one suits u best!! hehe..
Yup, try to remember the design and the type of material will help too!

Just got back from 2++ hrs of trying gowns and discussions with the designer. I am with Graceful Image. The designer, Judy has been very patient with us.

My FH has generously allowed me to go for MTM gown. I sort of like designs of a few gowns and so, Judy helped me to design one that combines the features that I like, keeping in mind my fleshy arms. Am now determined to lose weight!!!

My gown will have embroidery detailing, with long long train that is light. It will be ivory in colour, has 3 layers and the outer most being douchess satin. The material feels smooth and sort of strong, thick and heavy. It has an irresistable sheen. Wonderful! Can't wait for 1st fitting in Sept!

Pageup, i think clarke quay is nicer than boat quay.... will ask around and see if my other friends have any ideas.

Smurfy, envoy you leh...so many gowns to choose from. Just curious...Y did u sign up with 2 boutiques? And what does CS stand for?

Ocean... dun worry too much... stay happy and be a pretty bride.

mee mee

I was on course today, so boring, nearly fell asleep, esp after lunch.

Wow, silver, so u went to try the gowns. So how do you feel? Like a princess? So envious, I wanna go try too!

Jan,

How do you remember the design & material? I mean, the shop will not allow us to take photos, neither can we start scribbling in a notebk right?

hi jul04,

u seem very busy with lots of courses! hehe...

Err... ya, tough to remember the exact details..hehe..., but perhaps roughly know the kind of material, like for eg is it the silky type or the organza type (soft, flowy) etc...

CC2: Hello, Im wih Printemps. HAHA!

INO: Oh so you saying buy loose diamonds from House of Hungs or the whole ring? Eeee... tell me on Friday again bah... wana go sleep liao... NITEZZZ

yeah!! so happy to hear from more brides.

looks like all of u have booked your bridal package....mm...thought of doing that last cos most bridal shop only needs about 6 months or so to get the gowns ready....but book early is good...one load of your mind.

i'm planning to settle my banquet and actual day photography first cos if i want my first choice then gotta be more kiasu :P

pebbles
glad u found a bridal shop u like. most imp, the gown must hide our flaws and bring out the best in us right?
i posted once or twice at the 2004 thread but can't catch up with the postings so gave up liao. occassionally still pop by to take a look though.

eighteight
well....u juz have to wait for 1 more month to fix the date...soon soon
as for me, both our families are christians so we're not particular on dates, parents juz left it to us to decide so we just choose any date we like lor

hi hi girls......whew, so many postings! Head spiiinnningg.g.......

hehehee...pebbles! enjoy ur ROM prep yar?!! i am sure u will be a happy and pretty bride on that day!!!

forest, the spa i told pebbles abt is amrita spa at raffles the plaza (former westin). not realli "recommended" by me lah, just that there's a may promotin which is beri attractive $48 for a 25 min body scrub + 25 min back and shoulder aroma massage. plus use of spa facilities.
and the relaxation lounge is suppper relaxing, can fall asleep there beri cosy.....
though i feel overall the service at at greg therapeutic spa better.

pebbles/forest, i have not taken pics of our shetland sheepdog, still in the midst of toilet training him, realli headache leh! he is so beautiful, we call him Prince.
will bathe him tomorrow, if possible (if he not too shy) will take photos of him and share with you kae?

Happy Vesak Day!!!

hi wendylee, are u the one asking abt diamonds huh? me read until beri blur liao...hehhehee.....

i personally prefer sookee/lee hwa to goldheart or diamond industries, but depends on individual lah...hehhehee....
like what someone mentioned b4, colours range from D, E, F and so on. up til G is considered white, D is the whitest. as for clarity, best is IF (internally flawless) followed by VVs1, VVs2, Vs1, Vs2.

As to whether 4 claw or 6 claw is better, depends on the size of the diamond loh. if the diamond is kinda big, a four claw would like beri funnie with it coz looks like it's gonna fall out...hehhehehe.... which it may....hehhee.... if it's relatively small, a six claw would overwhelm it.... so realli depends on the carat and cutting....
but a 5 claw not beri popular coz its not beri symmetrical, but again depends on individual hor?! hope i din offend anyone unknowingly...

which one u eyeing?

Hi pebbles,
Wah! So many posting! Sori ah... me have been MIA-ing for awhile... Heehee, busy with work lah, and reading so many stuff on the forum - my brain wanna explode liao...

I'm going down to Benny's studio tomoro with FH... hopefully I like what I see.
. Don't know whether will be booking actual day photography yet though... is it too early? Cos my wedding still 11months away...

Wah... and saw many postings about DIAMONDS!!!
Woah!!!Me dun know how to see leh... Have to start yen jiu-ing the msgs above very carefully liao... Agah agah know that got cutting, colour & pigments... Hmmm... But I think it's true that if you buy loose diamond, and set it yourself, it's cheaper, bigger & brighter... Cos that's what my FH told me too, after he went around comparing so many place. Hahaha! He even more knowledgeable than me about diamond wor...
Anyway, hope you gals have fun looking at all the diamonds! Diamond shopping is always an enjoyment!

Hi Jan & Jul 04,

Ya it's quite fun to try the gowns

Jul 04, when I came back I actually briefly draw out the design. Cannot remember everything lah - only know it's princess cut with breads and soft material.

Jan, silky type and organza is very close rite? What other things to take note huh?

hi hi!!

silver, think u can take note whether is it the tube top kind, the toga kind, or spaghetti strap kind etc...
For the bottom part, note whether is it the can can type, or or soft flowy kind etc...

Ermm.. actually dun really know what's organza.. haha.. just see the word in the mags, think it's the stiff can can material is it??
Or u can try the very soft chiffon material - this is wat i like! hehe..

Then u can see whether u like the flare or slim cut type.

silver, can we just walk into a shop or do we need to make an appt first? And do you need to specify that you wanna try gowns during the appt?

Jan, no lah. It's my training dept's fault. At first all my courses are spaced out nicely thru'out the yr. Then they cancelled a few courses & piled them all in May. I still have 2 more courses nest wk & the wk after next. Dumb right?

Btw any of u gals are currently renovating ur homes? I'm getting my keys in a mth or two, so it's time to start the reno project.

hi!

jul04, u must be very excited abt ur house eh?

Which area is ur house in?
For me, my house already done up last yr...

Hi Jan,

You're still online!

Yeah, I'm very excited. Actually, the keys were ready since Feb, but I don't have enough funds in my CPF to pay for the flat. And cash is also tight cause the wedding & honeymoon & reno is all coming at the same time! So came up with some excuse to delay the keys collection till maybe Jul lor

Can you email me your ID / contractor's contact pls? I think I have to start flipping thru ID mags soon.

Hi Jan,
Wow like alot of diff term huh?
Ok next time I will ask them the material. No idea what's the material I tried yest

Hi Jul 04,
Yest was the 1st time I tried gown. I was supposed to accompany my gf to try her tea dress so she asked me to try gowns too hehe. According to most of the gals advise is to make appt and inform them you would like to try their gowns.

Hey you must be very excited abt your hse ya! Any idea of what kind of designs you like?

hi gals!

Jul04, i'll email u...
Yah, u shld go thru some mags for more ideas... dun rush also lah, see whether u like the simple kind or u wanna do very designer kind... Mine is done simply, as long as the house is cosy that's good enough... so we tot no point spending too much to do the house...

silver, yup, next time ask them abt the material.. hehe... then u can do up some designs on ur own and show them to ur bridal...

Hi Jan,

Yup I will remember to do so
Btw, have you been to silverlining to see their package, gowns and photos? Seems like quite good feedback.

Hello Binbin,

Huh? I got the place wrong ah? dunno leh, but is Hafary the green signboard one? My parents' house just nearby, everyday also pass by that stretch of roads, anyway, u got your tiles already and has started reno right? happy for u, got take pictures of the house in different stages or not? When would the completion date be?

Wendylee, Mango Cheesecake and others (can't rem who else, thread moving too fast),

Can try Diamond Industries, but my advice is must get the GIA certified ones from them. Please dun buy the in-house certified ones, not good. Please bear in mind the 4Cs while buying diamonds. They are Cut, Clarity, Carat and Color.

Cut refers to the shape and proportion of a diamond. When a stone has either a very shallow or very deep cut, light is lost through the sides and bottom of the stone hence reducing its brilliance. Brilliant cut is quite a good cut, but sometimes a good cut may need to sacrifice some of the weight so the diamond may become smaller.

Clarity refers to the inclusions in the diamond. Fl is the best grade, it's flawless and has totally no inclusions. VVS1 and VVS2 is the second band with very very slight inclusions, then VS1, VS2 - very slight inclusions, SI1, SI2 is slight inclusions lastly is I1, I2, I3 which is imperfect diamonds.

Carat of course u know what it means lah. =) It's the unit of measure for diamond weight. 1 carat is actually 200mg. The bigger it is, the rarer it gets. But not necessarily means big is good. Big ones tend to have more inclusions.

Color is also self-explanatory. Most diamonds are colored, unless it's very yellow, the naked eye may not be able to distinguish. Unless u place them side by side, amateurs like us may not tell the difference. Although most diamonds are colored, it's the absence of color which makes it precious. The top grade is D, E followed by F. These are the colorless ones. G, H, I and J is near colorless. K, L, M is faint yellow. N-R is very light yellow. S-Z is light yellow.

My hubby bought one from DI last time and surprised me while we were holidaying overseas. I think many people do not have good impression of DI, but if you are careful and if it is GIA certified, should be relatively safe to consider. It's more worth than buying from outside boutiques. I ever brought my ring to Goldheart before when I patronised the store, and they did a valuation of my solitaire ring and I was surprised at how much they could sell up to in Goldheart! They even didn't carry much of such diamonds coz it's less sellable. Although some cuts are nice, but if u want a combination of D color, Brilliant cut, VVS1 and big stone is very difficult to get in boutiques. So why not go to DI and have a look? Can even catch a glimpse of the boss's sports car outside the shop. =) Have a geat time shopping for your engagement ring!

Need your comments. I quite like the 3rd rows most right WG (no 9) but it only shows the back of the WG. From the way it show, what do you think the front will be and you gals know this is consider what cut and what type of material?

http://www.theknot.com/bs_results_local.htm?GownType=1&path1=weddinggowns&path2=search&Status=A&DesignerID=284&Silhouette=&Neckline=&PriceRange=&newsearch.x=16&newsearch.y=7

Jul 04,
There are alot of gowns there. You can take a look for more ideas.

Hi gals, think organza is the soft, flowy type... quite popular as gown material.... think another popular material is duchess satin... shiny and stiffer, more for ballgown designs...

Jul 04, congrats!! where's yr new place?? must be excited over the reno!!

Silver, we need to register at the knot website?? oh, by the way, i hav kept some gown designs which i like.... wonder if i can paste it on this thread to share??

Hi ever,

Sure! I would like to take a look at your designs too.

No need to register if you dun wan to. You can just view the pics...

According to my gf, the gown I tried and like is duchess satin material. Err... also quite soft type leh. Sorry huh I still quite blur hehe

Hi silver, managed to see the gown you like... very nice!! you can click on the gown to view the details... its a bustier gown.... using satin material... but its empire line (written there), so may not be easy to carry off... personally, i cant wear empire line... will look like i'm pregnant!! hahahaha.....

but you can always ask yr designer to copy the back design only and use other designs for the front...

Thanks for yr info!! the website really hav lots of nice gowns!! plus all the detailed descriptions that we can tell our designers next time!!

Hi ever,

Oops I saw the details. Paiseh nv notice it hehehe.

Ya so many I see until blur. Wat you mean by empire line huh? Btw, duchess satin and slipper satin v diff?

silver,

i tried to paste the pics but can't leh.... donno why....
ya, i liked duchess satin too!! its soft soft also but stiffer compared to organza... and organza is "translucent"....

did you try bustier gown?? i liked bustier gowns... can hav more variations but me wear bustier can see FATS above the bustier line.... so, too bad.... will go for spagetti straps or halter neckline....

empire line.... hmmm... you know, the connecting part for most dresses are at the waistline, but for empire line dresses, the connecting part is below the bust... so, some people wear already looks pregnant...
heehhee... hope you understand my explanation...

donno the difference leh.... from the pic, slipper satin looks softer than duchess satin though...

Hi ever,

I think I get what you mean on empire line dress liao. Ok next time I go and try and see if I am suitable or not hehehe

Err.. what's bustier gown? I dunno what type I tried leh. Only know it's princess cut, A line
Dun think I will go for spagetti straps cos was told that I ve small shoulder so avoid that cos the strip will easily fall off but may consider halter neckline for my EG.

Hihi...

Check with my gf the one I tried is bustier gown hehe. Just realised there are so many things abt gowns itself...

Hi silver,

Thanks for the link. But when I tried to go to the link, I kept getting gateway error. Dunno what's the prob also

Hi ever & Jan,

My new home is at Sengkang. Nowadays everybody's getting either Sengkang / Punggol, I think. Must go home & calculate CPF funds so that I can work out when to get the keys

Jan & silver, we haven't made up our mind whether we're gonna stay there for >5 yrs. Of course, if we're moving out soon, then won't do up the hse so nicely lor. Also limited funds, so I think designer is out. Basically, I think I like easy maintenance & minimalistic look. Don't like the Oriental, Chinoiserie (correct spelling?), French frilly, carving, kind of looks.

Morning!

silver, didn't manage to see which gown leh... coz so many to choose from... and nope havent been to silverlining yet... yeah, heard good reviews that's why..

jul04, i have emailed u the contact.. check ur mail ya!

MORNING!!!!!!!
21994.gif

MIMOSA/BINBIN: Thanks so much for your informative tips! But again, as mentioned earlier... I found somehow that the settings' of the rings from DI not very attractive wor... and their whitegold looked like 925silver. But indeed you can get a BIGger diamond cheaper from retail lah... how cheap, I duno.
21995.gif

MIMOSA, your message is very very detailed but worried that I might not remembered all when I popby any1 of the shops wor. So panic!!

BINBIN, thanks too... I duno about stores compared to stores cos I also very sledom go into and see see... now goldheart at wisma got 20%, leehwa&sookee got 30% off wor... mayb this weekend popby and see see. Asking you both wor... those VIP/discount card they issue to you upon same day purchase or they will take down your particulars and mail to you when its ready? Cos we are thinking if were to buy Goldheart's WB, then if got the VIP/discount card then can buy the soltaire using the 20% ma... if not have to wait at a later date until they sent us lor. I think I prefer goldheart to sookee to leehwa to DI... but if DI really that cheap and 'about' the same quality then will consider last choice? HEHEHE, btw... need to ask for GIA cert instead of in-hse cert? Then those at retail shops leh? Heard that they have in-hse cert do they have GIA then?

WOW, isnt it too much qns...??? I post until blur blur...
21996.gif

PEBBLES: Enjoy your ROM preprations!!!! Remember to let us share your photos!
21997.gif

INO: You were saying the shop at FarEast? Any1 to recommedn when I popby there? Whick unit btw?

Hi gals!!

Jul 04, you bought a resale or new flat?? cos if its new, then you gotta stay a min of 5 yrs what.. ya, i like minimalistic look too...
oh, my new house in Sengkang too!! but will be getting the keys next yr... hopefully in time for the wedding....