(2004) Brides of year 2004

momoechan

good morning ladies
TGIF
i'm sure everyone's in a happy mood today right?

hi chinwoon
we'd only just set up our joint acct last oct, cos had to start saving money to pay for household expenses, like what lynn mentioned. as for rings, bridal packages, etc we just split the cost, 50/50. yup, $ is a sensitive issue, u've to sit down & work it out on what's comfortable for the 2 of u. like bebe, we've also got an excel spreadsheet for our reno, the wedding/honeymoon & furnishings for the house. having this will help in budgeting and tracking ur expenses.

hi chubbyrain
hee hee, if i'm ur hubby, that's what i'll do, he doesn't log in to SB right? so, he won't see what i've said, don't give him my 'idea' or ur jie meis will scream at me

oh yah, forgot, ur lovenest was supposed to be "On The Streets"

hi ivory
hee hee, i'm sure, i'd be the same if i were u but then, for the sake of beauty, we'll do most things lah
u're lucky, now i've to think of a way to get my hubby to put his $ in my acct as well
what 'potion' did u use?

oh yes, u're NOT fat, so, don't ever think that ok?

hi carol
enjoy ur 1st appt at ur BS later
oh, and have fun on the yatch, don't worry, should be alright

hi nickel
we're also on a tight budget, also think and think and think before deciding on what we want or we'll have to eat air
lio.gif

hi lynn
er... actually... not my lovenest since in laws will be there, more like family nest!

hi exciting
sounds like u've got another nice boss & it sounds like he wants to help u. will pray for u that all will tur out well for u, don't give up hoping ok?

hi mei mei
take care of ur health when u OT

hi bebe
no prob, will keep u posted

hi c0co
hahahaha, can, no prob if u gals don't mind travelling to bt gombak, i'll be more than happy to exercise with u

oh yes, where's blurq? she's supposed to have her 1st with her BS today right? or was it last fri? getting old, memory bad liao

clueless2705

Hi Butterfly,

received your fotos as well..very nice... i like the color houses on the beach...
hehee, your fiance looks like one taiwan TV host... a much slimmer vision of "NoNo"

nicole_look

Zao an everybody......

hi chinwoon....ya me n my hubby do have a joint a/c......we open abt 1 yr after pa-tor......so at dat time...try to save a bit every mth lor......think is gd to start early....coz the $$ we save just in time to pay the cash above valn of my resale 5rm flat.....if not duno how to come out of this sum out of the blue leh......as i in finance mah...so e card i control lor...anyway we woman also more thrifty/calculative in spending mah....ha ha just discover a thing few days ago....as our joint a/c is DBS.....our personal savings a/c POSB....duno y i'm able to see his bank bal using DBS card......so he cant underdeclare his $$ to me......i warn my hubby last nite....better dun hide from me anything.....hee hee

lydia81

below are the latest updated info:

lala - 16 Sept - Oriental - Divine Couture - July - Sembawang
mandy - 18 Sept - Noble House- Yvonne Creative
eternity - 19 Sept - Laguna - Camellia Hatue Couture - Mar - May(Beetles) - Seng Kang
lydia81 - 19 Sept - Le Meridien - Thomson Wedding Design - 1st fitting on 10 Apr - PS in May - Albert Chua@Everafter - Seng Kang
dae - 19 Sept - Hyatt - ??
adeline - 20 Sept - Mariott Hotel - Divine Couture-Tampines
skylar - 21 Sept - Plaza Hotel - White Link - SengKang
gerlynn - 23 Sept - Hyatt - Camellia Haute Couture
annie - 23 Sept - Furama - Flamingo Bridal - 15 Mar - Jun (Kelvin@Beetles) - Tiong Bahru - Yew Kwang
dabee - 23 Sept - Century Roxy - Seven Heaven Bridal - April - MAY photoshoot - Marine terrace - Alan Dai
gintonic - 23 Sept - Hyatt - Yvonne Creative - 3rd of April - 3rd of May - Toa Payoh
marilyn - 25 Sept - Peninsula Hotel -Santiago
yshu - 25 Sept - Rasa Sentosa - Dang
ralphine - 26 Sept - Sheraton Towers - Yvonne Creative - SengKang
kc sunshine - 26 Sept - Pan Pacific Hotel - White Link - PS in Apr - Bukit Batok
kokopooh - 28 Sept - Sheraton Towers - Bridal Veil - feb - jul
niv - 28 Sept - ROM only

chubbyrain

Hi bebe,

MCDS is Ministry of Communication Development & Sports. Ooops, but i remembered wrongly, i found a website called Family Town http://www.familytown.gov.sg/cm_getmarried_gm_civil_preparation.htm
There r some courses there too, but we haven decided which one to go for.. Wan something comprehensive n fun

Hi coco,
My hubby's colleagues went for such course b4, they found it useful, thus recommend us to go. You can try surf tt link i hv pasted above to find out more

Shouldnt be boring lah.. I tink it costs abt 200 bucks for 6 lessons, but they will rebate some money upon completion of course.. Something like tt

Hi Chinwoon,
We dun hv joint a/c bec his parents is paying for the banquet, he is paying for the BS n photography stuffs.. So u ask wat I pay hor? Hmm, I juz need to pay for his ring, my parent's clothes, my own high maintenance stuffs, like facial lah, spa lah.. Haha.. Good deal eh?
Tts bec he has worked for longer time than me, so he said he will pay for the BS stuffs lor..

Yvonne,
He noes abt tis website, but i tink he too bz to log in lately.. n knowin him, probably lazy to read archives.. Tis thread moves so fast

Hey, ur new hse in bt gombak? I stay in jurong east, tts quite near.. U all goin jogging ah? When? When? Let me noe too leh.. though i hate to jog..

Hi Meimei,
Wah, u worked until so late, must take care..
I m at home today, working fr home..

TGIF!!

poshies

Hi Voice,
Who is ur AD Photographer - Kai? He is taking pretty long on the Photo.. .still waiting for mine... :p

Hi Oceans,
So envy you lah... had Master Fong - special delivery to your house.... can't wait to see your.. when we meet up can saw you my Honeymoon picture too (hopefully is ready... just send for printing today... but only take a day or two lah)

Hi Piper,
Will go n take a look.... the more I see all your photo.... can't wait to see my own...

I got relative call and ask for the photo already lah....

btb04

Hi Butterfly,
Can i also have the link to your photos? my email

Anyone has good contact on taps and sinks? can share with me?

Hi Zenn,
I heard that Gain city has limitations on their trunking, like 35ft, excess you have to pay for each ft, so be aware. Just my 2cts worth.

doremon

Me interested to meet up!!

I was abt to ask anyone staying in Sengkang want to have a "rendezvous" at compasspont. :D

So anyone interested in sengkang rendezvous?

fi_fi

piglets: heeehee me juz got 2 kn it oso. now dun kn whether d 1 dat they chose nice anot.
sigh... really vri bz now. doing reno,studying oso. hve juz engage a planner.
so tentatively, wedding things all pass 2 em 2 settle lor. so not so bad now.

all: wow... since CNY til now oso hvene mit up. so hve u gals decide?

pageup

Hi Piper and poshies,

Thanks for sharing your pics.

Poshies, I think your tea dress look sweet.

Piper, you looked young and slim.. so envy!
hehehee... I realise you also have 2 young boys to open to car door. Are they also twins?

brambles

hi fifi... wow, so u engaged a planner liao? that's nice. den u can concentrate on ur other stuff

doremon... me me me!!! i haven't stay in sengkang yet but dun mind a rendezvous @ Compass Pt. hahahaha

pageup

Hi Odie,

I don't have the problem of the strap scratching the dress. Probably because of the slit at one corner of my dress and it isn't tight fitting

piglets

Hi Fifi

So yr wedding planner can settle everything for you. At least you have a peace of mine.

Doremon, ohhh my god sengkang... Me staying west leh?

Hi brambles how your song preparation so far.

lorac

hp,

jazzrel low bridal collection having clearance sale today till 14 march. gowns gng from $50 onwards. u may wanna check it out. not sure if itz any good though. will drop by this evening see see look look.

ivory

chinwoon...
for our case, my hubby pays for all the stuff.. from wedding bands to room furniture to BS package to banquet.. cos i no money mah..

his money in my account bcos he oni has 1 current a/c for biz use.. n i have 2 savings a/c so i use 1 of them solely for savings from both of us. anything relating to us even the household bills we will use the money from that account. so far, my hubby has been the one contributing the savings. i incharge of monitoring the balance.. when not enough money, then i will tell him its time to deposit money liao..

as for honeymoon.. havent think yet... if still got balance from the banquet, then we will go for honeymoon lor.. if not then just take leave n nua at home lor

mei mei...
take care ah.. i last time oso every day work from 9am - 1am.. Sat n Sun oso have to work full day... in the end i quit cos no life.. all my frens n family becum so distant.. not worth the OT pay i take home

bebe...
where u go do ur nails ah... my fren there ah?

me same as u lor.. must fall extremely sick then will lose a little of weight but will put back once im well..

but i so happy... last nite i measure i lost ikg n 1 cm each from waist n tummy n hip.. so happy

my hubby oso gave me sup card when we were bf n gf.. but i found no use for it leh... nothing to buy...

c0co...
dun say i sexy lah... but if i were born during Tang Dynasty... maybe i be 1 great beauty oso cos Yang Gui Fei definitely more big size than any of us... hahahhaha...

Yvonne...
i din use 'magic potion' on my hubby lah... bcos he very busy, no time to open account n since i have 1 idling account, so conveniently use that account as our joint account though oni got my name oni..

i not fat? think i stand besides u sure look like monster right?

mist

hi moonlight,

oh, i managed to find a gown i like from OTR, and it happens to be new and haven't tried by anyone yet... :p

so i dun hv to visit my bs liao, until my photoshoot.

piper

hi pageup,

those 2 young boys are my hubby's nephews. They always fight one....so if 1 open the door, the other one wants to open too. So we let the 2 of them open the door to prevent a fight from breaking out.....

tealeaf

eternity,

I have very sensitive & delicate feet, almost all shoes give me blisters ... thus have been wearing my bridal shoes at home, walk here & there with it to prevent the shoes from "biting" me on my AD... hahaha ...

Think u gave a very good suggestion about putting on heels only when photographer takes pics that reveal shoes, me intend to wear my flats during PS too ...

Lydia, me envious of u leh, soooooo young =) luckily me young at heart ... keke

Maybe we can further spice up out thread by adding new topics ...
Hmm .... when u gals intend to give birth after married?? How many children do u intend to have? I am thinking of give birth in 2006. Have a bit of time to adjust to married life + enjoy the freedom & "er ren shi jie" 1st. (me not as young as Lydia, so must cut short "er ren shi jie" loh) As for baby, max 2 kids.

sooo ... for those who have their own place, what tiles are u using for floor? We have light brown homogenious tiles. Actually mine is a premium flat (meaning comes with tiles), but the ceramic tiles are white with many funny blue lines, so we removed it.

hear from u gals ...cheers ...

stardus

Hi Mist,

you are so lucky to find one that you like OTR, somemore new! What a luck! I don't possess such good luck, have to MTM my gowns. A bit worried. Hope everything will be ok.

lydia81

Hi lala,
think me will onli think of having baby in Yr 2008(hmm, nice no) hahaha... Ya, think max is 2 kids also, best if can have a boy and a girl.

As for my house tiles, me using homogenious marble look tiles which has the kind of marble look but it's homogenious plus a bit of marble materials. Effect not bad and neighbours thought my tiles are marble... If you gals are interested, we can plan to do house visit

Since yours is a premium flat and you still change it, wow, that'll cost a bomb lor!

sweetieyumiko

Hey ladies.. I'm new 2 this website...Just wanted 2 post my msg regarding wedding banquets... Any 1 knows any hotels or restaurant wedding package is around S$300 - S$650 Nett? I'm planning for dinner on weekends(Sat).. Less than 20 tables... Any recommeded hotels or restaurant yr have experience before? Pls advice... Thks....

tealeaf

Lydia,

homogenious marble?? Never heard of leh ... Already I find homogenious tiles look like marbles ... believe yours must be very beautiful .... what colour is it? House visit ah ... no problem =)

Yep, we were contemplating to change or not ... but since we really do not like those funny blue lines, thus close both eyes & change loh ... haha ... glad we did.

I also hope to have a boy & a girl; one "hao zi" mah ... you have plenty of time b4 have bb lah ... me born in 1975, same age as Adeline ... ohhh, u are only 23 ... so young, me 29 this yr *sob sob*

Quite a no. of the gals here stay in Seng Kang hor ... My hubby & I were also considering Seng Kang, end up take Sembawang coz near to my mum.

So is your house all done up with the furniture? Have u & ur HB shifted in liao?

chubbyrain

Ivory,
I tink u got sexy look too leh.. Cos ur eyes r a bit slated, got those seductive look.. Hehe..

Same here, I need to be super sick then lose a teeny weeny bit of weight which will b gain back in no time.. Resign to fate lor..

My hubby likes to call me yu huan, Yang Gui Fei's name.. Arrgghh.. I also wish I was born in her era, then maybe can b a great beauty..
All the media's fault lah, who says only skinny women can be pretty? Sigh..

Chinwoon,
Actually, who pays for wat depends on wat u n ur hubby comfortable wif.. My hubby said he will pay for the honeymoon but I not goin to sponge on him, I will help him pay for certain things too ..

Tts y I tink marriage prep courses r useful cos u will noe fr such courses how both of u view money n how to handle financial aspects of marriage. Such things r very sensitive..
DUn worry too much..

lydia81

Hi lala,
Our homogenious is beige in colour with praquet-like strip. We should arrange house visit if you gals are interested. My house is now left with cabinet undone onli... Probably will have the furniture sent in next month. My hubby will be shifting in first as i want to have that kind of 'fresh' feeling when i moved in after AD (keke). My mum's house is onli five mins walking distance from my new house, that's y my hubby wants to move in first.

If you gals agree to arrange house visit, think mine will be done by next month.
How about your place? Reno all done liao? Actually, shopping for house decro is more fun than searching for BS. I'm still enjoying shopping for my house decro.
So you're of the same age as my sis, she jus got married last year and now enjoying her 'er ren shi jie'.

ivory

chubbyrain...
no lah... that sexy look bcos of my fren makeup skills lah... if u see my without makeup u wun think i look sexy oso

my eyes are the typical oriental 'feng yan' - phoenix eyes.. so bo bian.. i more envy my frens aho have big big eyes.. so pretty

ya lor... all the media's fault... y portray skinny women as beauties... hai...

butterfly

Hi zenn,
I'm not aware of the different groups of workers doing the air con installation leh. But heard from somewhere that 80% of Sporeans will go to Gain City for air con. So it's the reputation thingy lah.. I guess, i have to trust them cos i've paid for my air con! Haaaa...

Hi yan and zenn,
Photos taken in Australia are usually outdoor. No studio at all. Cos they prefer using other locations for the good scenery, etc. Quite different from Spore photo shoot ya..

Hi btb04,
I got my sink from a shop in Jalan Besar. It's a round sink and costs only $60. Just take a walk along Jalan Besar. They have quite cheap and GOOD stuff there..

etelle

hi ivory can i have a look at your pics ?? Hee Hee want to look at the oriental beauty
Hee Hee did i update my infor with you. I think i did right.PLs check for me . thaks. Me seldom logged in to singaporebrides, only like as and when thus seems to lsoe touch with this gruop not as close

zenn

Hi Yan,
Check yahoo...

Hi btb04,
Ya usually they charge but during this promo there is no limit to the trunking.

bebee

hi hi yeah...friday.. but been soo busy w work, got some crazy deadlines for monday which were just told to me..xiao liao... :p

Chubbyrain - we have been going for MPC its organised by catholic group (r u christian?) anyway, it doesn't matter, my ~FH oso free thinker, its open to anyone... we go about 150 pax signed up this round - pretty popular.. we pay $90 only per couple.. covers 6 sundays... all sorts of pple go, couples whom r just dating, ROM, marrying soon n some married ones whom have problems... got ang moh, indian..chinese etc.. all walks of life.. we have 3 sessions at a centre and 3 at a host couples place.. they present stuff, get professional speakers etc.. n we got 'homework' couple packs that make us discuss things together n make us know each other better... we dun have to share private stuff w others no presentations, just share w FH..
if u wan i can send u the details via email...

bebee

chinwoon - my FH paid for the downpayment for our house... so I am helping w the reno..think some stuff i c we may do 50/50 but some how he come up with a bit more then me..same a ivory, i pay for my own stuff like facials, manuicures etc... still dun have supp card so pay for my own shoppin etc.. we plan to split some of the house hold cost when we move in together..
when we go on holiday..cuz i do the bookings so sometimes i pay for tickets.. then he pays for food & hotel etc.. dunno about honeymoon yet...

Ivory - no honeymoon? sure? im sure u wil end up goin somewhere.. i am stil trying to figure my dream desination... we r thinking of goin w group or friends.. that way not soo boring.. but my friends have picked Milan, Spain already...wonder if we want that...

not yet called your friend to do nails.. i happen to be in Orc so did there last min decision..

heehee u measure ah.. i dun dare take my measurements..cuz compared to school days sure faint one!!!haha only now n then get on the weighing machine...up down up down...

chubbyrain

Hi bebe,

Both of us r free thinkers.. but tt sounds fun..
Pls send me the details.. My email is [email protected].
Thxs..

Aiyo Ivory,
Have more faith in urself lah..
U say until like tt.. Tsk..
Lynn also said u not fat, its ur hubby who is skinny.. Blame him.. :p

doremon

Hi brambles,

Okie. Let's see whether the rest interested or not? If no, then both of us have a rendezvous lor

Hi fifi,

long time no see liao! where have you gone to?

U engaged a wedding planner too? My gf also did that for her ROM. She too busy to source for venue etc etc, so got a planner to do for ROM including calling JP, engaging one etc etc.

nickel

hi all..TGIF!! so happy rite!
so make any plan for dating?? me will be going down to my BS later in the evening, to finalise my AD gown and my hubby's suit..lookin forwards to it leh..

chinwoon..
me has a joint acc with hubby, think onli a couple of months ago..usually we juz try to put in a comfortable amount we can and if there is things that need to pay, we will use that acc lor..but i always "force" him to bank in more and if u can, go to his personal acc and do the transfer on ur own..hee hee..

yvonne..
r the gals planning to go ur place?me want to go too..let us know k..we will use all the facilites there, to make ur money worthwhile..

oh yes, regarding the pre marriage course, i think its a very good one..one of my coll went and she say is good..she ask me to go as well..actually my church has similar courses and its conducted by my pastor..me will be going in aug..its a two month course..hoep that will help in the marriage.

ivory..
i agree with wat chubbyrain said, u r not fat, ur hubby is simply skinny..hee hee..

momoechan

hi nicole
not bad hor? the bank's even "helping" u keep track of ur hubby's expenditure
mine isn't linked that way leh, i can only see our joint acct and my own accts.

hi chubbyrain
oops, hee hee, heng ah, we move too fast for him to read

yup, my new pl is at bt gombak. lynn & her husband will go to bt gombak to jog every fri. i'll join them after i move in to my new pl. if u want, can join us as well

hi ivory
er... not really leh, i'm much more meatier now, used to be like a bamboo 4 years ago but now, everything i eat also shows
don't worry, u won't look like a monster standing next to me, u're so pretty

aiyah, no magic potion ah? then i cannot 'con' my hubby liao

chubbyrain & ivory
i totally agree with u, the media's causing a lot of misconception, and it's also not true skinny people look better. u can look really skinny without meat, not nice also. beauty's all perception, as long as we're happy with our lives, we're all beautiful

hi bebe
so, if u're not interested in Milan, where would u like to go? i've got so many places i'd love to go for our honeymoon; italy, france, austria, spain, new zealand, melbourne... but lately, i've been thinking of maldives. want to go on a free & easy holiday rather than 1 where i have to rush.

also, want to go to a pl where both of us haven't been before cos my husband's been to most of europe & i've been to most of australia, so, have to strike them off. AND, the best part about maldives is that there's no shopping, so, i won't have the chance to spend money hee hee. have to control my spending lah

hi carol
looks like it's a pretty good weather to travel on a yatch today, sunny day

hi nickel
u're having ur 1st facial session tomorrow right? i hope u'll have a good time

chubbyrain

Juz wanna share something wif u gals which i find real sweet.
Did any of ur hubby teared when he saw u in a WG for the 1st time?
My fren said when she was hunting for their BS last yr, her hubby teared when she came out of the fitting room. Said he was suddenly very touched bec they hv been dating for 10 yrs n tt was the 1st time he saw her in a WG. Tt was the 1st BS they went to..
Very sweet hor?

My hubby din teared leh, maybe we were not tgr for so long.. But different guys different reactions.. I juz find my fren's hubby reaction darn sweet, she said its sweet too.. Envy..

I "scolded" him yesterday for not tearing n he said he too macho to shed tears.. Hmmph..
Men.. :p

ade75

Hi Lydia81,

Bingo! I'm suppose to be 29 this year ... so old *** sob sob *** And hence will try for baby after married. Anyway my house will be ready only mid next year and hence no worries fior reno now. Hengzzz ...
Mayb my ROM white shoe can be used to match with my WG. Quite nice ... from JWEST.

Hi Lala,

Yo, which month are you in? I'm whethering if we know each other anot??? Hee.
Wow ... you really have a good deal from DC. SO envious of you.

Hi Eternity,

Accessories will have to hunt for after I've an idea how my WD/EG looks like ....
))
Thought Helen will help us to design?

Btw, gals, I would like to wear qipao as tea-dress.
Do you have good recommendations for me???

momoechan

hi nickel
have u thought of whether u want MTM or OTR gowns? also, best if u can bring down some designs which u like, just in case they don't have anything u like, u can start working on ur WG immediately.

hee hee, yah, looks like i've to organise a housewarming party sooner than i tot
yah, all of u come and make use of the facilities while it's new

nickel

yvonne..
yap..good memory leh..my appt is at 1045am.will keep u update again when i finish k..looking forward to the glowing face..yap..so long never see blurq liao, want to ask her about the facial too..
blurq blurq! where u?

me havent confirm on my honeymoon yet, my hubby juz told me he might be going new zealand for training in early jan 05, if that the case, we will be going in jan, after his training lor..i fly to join him..if not maybe thinking of going some kinda beach places like phuket..can save money too..no shopping!!

momoechan

hi chubbyrain
that's soooooooooooooooo sweet. no lah, my hubby never even shed a single tear when i came out from the fitting room with the 1st gown i wore. in fact, my beloved engineer of a husband had no reaction on his face! i'm resigned to that fate already
like babysheep said before, as long as he loves me and takes good care of me, i'm happy

nickel

chubbyrain..
my hubby huh??his reaction was oh, hmmm.. not bad lor..very boring remarks! so angry..think ur friend's hubby is so nice..hope he never scare the designer away..i know some guys can be very sweet lor..

yvonne..
me was busy this few days, with work..havent do homework leh, will be toking to sia and see wat he see..want to ask him to let me try more gowns lor, hope that i can get wat i like..wish my luck k..let u know again..
actually i took some pics leh, u wan to see?can give me some comments?

momoechan

hi nickel
er... u r wrong leh, phuket does have shopping, hee hee. i went there last year, lots of shopping at the patong beach area, so, u may want to reconsider

momoechan

hi nickel
yah, get sia to let u try more gowns so that u'll have a better idea which type suits u. but usually, there are a few basic cuts. and then, it's the colour & material. if sia allows us to take pix, i'd like to go and take pix of the WGs that i've chosen cos i'm still undecided which 1 i want for my AD. i'll make the deicision during my trial make up session