(2004) Brides of year 2004

oraia

hellos, i'm new to this thread... in fact, new to this whole website!!
i'm a dec bride too! dec 12. seems like a v popular date!

poupie

hi doris,
have not gone for my PS yet bcause WG not fully done, EG not done, trial makeup not done. I will be going to my WG/EG fitting mid-Dec and probably trial makeup end-Dec and PS early Jan. FH will be out of town until end-Dec, so no rush loh...

Who is your makeup artist? have you gone for your trial?

my videographer charges me $688 (dvd format) but i heard he has increased his charges recently, not very sure.. he has done my fren wedding and i am impressed by his ability to capture my fren happiness moments, that why i did not even source for other videographer, i just sign with him. if you want his contact, do email me.

not sure whether your AD photographer charges is high a not because i see charges from $600-$2000 for AD photographY! is he a journalistic photographer? have you see his portfolio? if it's good, recommend him to me!

AD photographs are very important to me, it is the day you get hitched, no more singlehood and beautiful events of this day cannot be rehearse or recapture....

sorry, so loh-so like an old lady..

tsubame

Hi ladies, added mine:

March Brides:-

6 March, Saturday
=================
Lilian
Cat - Lezen Creations, Rasa Sentosa, PS 10 Dec Linn Kong, AD(P) still searching AD(V) still considering
shinchan - Bridal Zone, Meritus Mandarin, PS 19 Dec, AD still searching
Lynn

11 March, Thursday
==================
Jamci
cc2 - Allure Charix, EG & TD by Mum, Grand Corpthorne, AD(P) Yew Kwang, AD(V) Pilgrim
poupie

13 March, Saturday
==================
Doris - J&M, Marina Mandarin, PS 20 Dec, AD(P) Pending, AD(V) Pending

20 March, Saturday
==================
Binbin - Divine Couture, Conrad, PS 11 Nov, AD(P) Nick, AD(V) pending

21 March, Sunday
================
blim - Z Wedding, Pan Pac, PS 9 Dec, AD still searching

tsubame

shinchan, I just received email from Sok Eng. She's booked for 6th Mar already...

Hi cc2, my friend whose church wedding is this Sat is using Yew Kwang. So will be checking him out then.

Looks like most of us still looking for AD... But our PS all one after another this month. blim(9Dec), mine(10Dec), shinchan(19Dec), and Doris(20Dec).

Binbin, my BS right across yours you know? Actually made appt with Divine for after Lezen but settled with Lezen b4 visiting them. And shinchan, both Binbin & my BS are located in Meritus Mandarin. We might be bumping into each other without knowing it

Be going for gown fitting tomorrow, or rather, today. Looking forward to all those beautiful gowns

annmiko

Hi Gerlynn,

My PS will be in end Jun. So we can share our PS shoots once we collect our CD-rom. You oso sign up the package where by all the shoots will be returned in a CD right? Can share with us how much is your package? My package is $4288 with MTM WG, MTM EG, MTM Men's suit, and the rest are usual. Kelvin's photography is included. (20 pcs of 12" x 15" album (with touch-up) and 1 CD with all images return). Is yours like this too? Think diff BS will have diff packages.

Shirley has designed my WG and EG on my 2nd visit! She's really talented.
She immediately drew out when I told her my preferences.

Wow....think we just don't think too much on recovering cost but also must try to budget closely so that we don't end in debts.

So poor thing....must take care of your health and personal life. Remember we are not slaves to $$$$ (even tho' it's like this lah..hahahaa)I'll share with you the materials once I complete my sessions. We can do together and for each other if you interested.

If you visit the auspicious dates for 2004 thread, you will notice that the whole of chinese month Aug 04, the only auspicious date is 23 Sep 04 (calender). Very strange hor. Usually chinese Aug should be very Wang Wang wan.

shinchan

Cat, thanks for ur update but u can forget abt Yew Kwang liao. Check wif him b4, & he's booked on our date! Do update us on ur gown selection..

CC2 & Blim, hahaha... we r the same kind, so particular abt shoes!
Lucky HB oredi understand my craze for shoes, so he never grumble...

Blim, I took kua bcos of one simple reason, cos I'm a cantonese!
Thou my HB is hokkien, but my parents will be happy to see me returning to niang jia in kua. So must make them happy lor...

For updating purposes, I'm looking for AD(V) as well...

madwomaninattic

eLLo Dora - Wah!!! I will kill my husband if he ask me to go on diet in front of ppl. I dun mind "no branded BB" so long as gown design is presentable & fits. Izzit in Yishun Central??
I am looking at Yvonne Creative cos' there's this girl who was telling me how flattering their gowns are and that they actually cater alot of gowns to size 12-14. But all suggestions & recommendations welcome of cos

Hi DJ - I am more interested in Yew Kwang's portfolio cos' simpler mah... You want my email for further disclosure??

Hey Keann - Will definitely feedback you if you are keen. Make-up can try this girl call Elaine who does natural make-up unless you like very bridal make-up. Dun ask me simi meaning cos' I dun think I know also
I can get the contact for you if you want. But you looking for AD only right? I want the glowy, dewy, pinky look myself!!! But someone who can do good make-up doesn't mean she or he can also do good hairstyling ehhh?!?!

madwomaninattic

Btw ask you girls something --> What constitutes an MTM gown? Lets say I got something from the BB but sizing buey gam and have to get size alteration + add some details... So izzit considered MTM as well??

If I give them a specific design (print out with colours) and ask them to conceptualize & make the gown... ehhh possible?? I really luuuuuuurve the custom made WG I bid off eBay from this HK BB. I show it to my husband, his bro & wife, and a fren & they all say very pretty dress but I am considering all the "what if(s)" after paying...

Most importantly what if I dun like the WG after they made liao & send to me in S'pore?!?!

cc2

Hi shinchan,

The shoes must match the gown even though some will say nobody can see the shoes cos the gown so long! ;)

keann

Madwoman:
i think natural look is not heavy kind of make-up..just light make-up. But i am looking for someone who can do hair as well....PAU everything kind!! hehehee......
I think MTM is where they take your exact measurements and make gown accordingly...I also headache about my evening gown...but everything go back to sg then see how! Everyday sit down here.....like waiting for 18dec...where i fly back home....you shiok lahz....going back soon liaoz!!!!

I bought my white wedding gown off Ebay ...so i know your "what if"..guessed you have to check the person's feedback...and see if he's reliable..i usually buy from ppl who has an Ebay store and has many many positive comments. I guessed it's based on trust. But i do have a friend who bought some electronic stuff from ebay and kana cheated of money...but ebay return half of the money after checking....But i do agree that ebay has some really nice gowns!

I will be looking for this lady called Kim in sg...she is quite popular with brides in this forum and her prices i tik..are quite reasonable....i may check her out when i go back to sg.

DJ:
can disclose this YEW KWANG's portfolio also? Is he expensive??? BUDGET BUDGET lahz!

madwomaninattic

Keann ah Keann --> Yew Kwang not expensive lah... less than $1000... Kim sounds familiar but I do suppose all make-up artist "bao" hairdo as well becos I cannot imagine having to get someone else to do hair separately. Then again you majiam freelance everything like that

My ballerina gown ahhh... *sob sob* well I dun think she has an ebay store but so far she has sold numerous gowns + dance dresses. There's actually another lady who charges more but I told her I dun want a skirt with "hoop" cos it will make me look like an elephant besides my husband. She as if catch no ball so I thought forget it.

DJ --> I was actually wondering... do you think we can get bulk discount from Yew Kwang huh?? Just a thought nonetheless...

dora

Hi Madwoman

heh heh, actually I was the one who 1st suggested I should go on diet, then he just say yah lor yah lor and got scolded for it heheheh

Its actually Yishun Ave 5 (ChongPang), directly opp the KFC. If you want the exact address, I'll give it to you when I go home tonight.

Alterations are considered OTR. You'll be surprised how much they can alter, at least 2 inches I think. So size 12-14 shouldn't have much problems.

Personally I think its quite risky for pple of our size to buy WG over the internet. Cos there was a few times when I saw a WG and I thought its nice, it doesn't look nice on me at all, cos I dun have a nice model figure lor....Even MTM for me is risky cos dunno if the final look on me is really what I want... unless you have tried a gown of the same cutting and material and you MTM only the trims... dunno leh... maybe because I'm a fashion idiot that's why

Keann

Good life hor..... so you're coming back for x'mas? better enjoy this "free" period, you'll be busy preparing for your wedding once you're back

mona

My wedding is also on 21 Feb. Is this a popular date ?

I am getting quite excited now. Do you know where I can get ideas for my bridal hairdo on the actual day ?
Thanks a million ...

hoshi5

Hey, just went down to Spotlight at Plaza Singapura yesteday.
Found a real nice heart-shaped organza sachet.
thinking of putting in potpurri and giving them out as favours for helpers!

I'm giving out my invites next week onwards...
Very 'sicked' by some colleagues attitude when u invite them to your wedding and they gave lame excuses that they are busy!

Wah...all you early birds!

Madwoman: ya, gimme your email address via PM or something.
It'll be 6pm for you then.

I dunno about buying gowns over the Internet man...I've only bought one before (years before) before all these funny extras starting piling in on the sides...anyway, I think if you wanna do alteration it's not MTM. But...I asked Silhouette once and she told me if I buy her $150 gown and do alterations, the alteration is gonna cost more than the gown!

Keann: Hee...good to know i'm not the only one bumming ard
Ya, Yew Kwang's most expensive package is about $950...but that's w/o the extras (e.g. if your wedding held over 2 days extra $100, if you want collage extra...) Think it starts from $650.

binbin

hi hi ladies!
wow some of u are really crazy about shoes. hehehhee...
actually for my PS i just got one pair for my WG, EG, CS. and for my kerbaya, i borrowed from MIL hehehhee.... too lazy to source. guess for actual day will try to just buy more pair for the 3 gowns. and one more for kerbaya. :p

cat, yes i know lezen is near to divine ehehhee..i always pass by lezen when i visit divine for appointments.
yah hor could have met u without knowing it!

doris, $800 is not expensive. it's considered cheap in today's market rates. like what poupie mentioned, some charge as high as $2000. but usualy these will have jounalistic albums, artwork, editing, etc etc. wun be just the pics. for the $800, better ask him what will he be doing for ur photos, will he be doing touch ups, taking journalistic photos, etc etc. and have u seen his works and do you like them, can he capture happy moments, more candid meaningful shots than posed ones, how many photos will he take? will he charge u extra for every extra rolls he take for example.

blim, to edit the font just type "\purple" followed by "{text}". u can change to red or yellow. i am using cyan.
i will update the list again

binbin

March Brides:-

<font color="0077aa">6 March, Saturday</font>
=================
Lilian
Cat - Lezen Creations, Rasa Sentosa, PS 10 Dec Linn Kong, AD(P) still searching AD(V) still considering
shinchan - Bridal Zone, Meritus Mandarin, PS 19 Dec, AD still searching
Lynn

<font color="0077aa">11 March, Thursday</font>
==================
Jamci
cc2 - Allure Charix, EG &amp; TD by Mum, Grand Corpthorne, AD(P) Yew Kwang, AD(V) Pilgrim
poupie

<font color="0077aa">13 March, Saturday</font>
==================
Doris - J&amp;M, Marina Mandarin, PS 20 Dec, AD(P) Pending, AD(V) Pending

<font color="0077aa">20 March, Saturday</font>
==================
Binbin - Divine Couture, Conrad, PS 11 Nov, AD(P) Nick, AD(V) pending

<font color="0077aa">21 March, Sunday</font>
================
blim - Z Wedding, Pan Pac, PS 9 Dec, AD still searching

mochamel

HI Hoshi

thanks ....

you actually asked your colleagues wether they free or not, then you going to pass them the cards next week. maybe you dont ask lah, just hand the cards that its to them. but get them to give firm replies, and not answers like "maybe" or "seehow" etc. actually its much better to ignore these people altogether dont have to take their attitudes.

you going to give out additional favours besides the ones provided by the hotel??

Hi Tigger/ Cin/ Ino/ Bonjon
any advise on where to get all those traditional stuffs needed for guo da li? which is the best/ ave price shop??

have you done your food tasting??
what are the things to look out for - besides whether food is too salty??

bonjon

Hoshi,

Thanks. But can't open the pdf file.

Some of my coll are going to my ex-coll's wedding whom falls on the same day as mine. I will give them the invitation card as well, knowing that they will not go. It's courtesy especially to those whom had invited me before. I only asked my friends and ex-coll to confirm their attendance before I give them the invitation card.

Don't be upset, it's always like that one liao. Some people will make excuse when you invite them but when invite you, they expect you to go.

Smile
Forward for your AD. The most beautiful bride of the day.

blurq

hi orosalind, I think I keyed in ur email addr wrongly.
I have send an email to u already..

hi ivory, have saw ur name in the grp..but haven't get to receive the particulars from u..can send to me again?

hi happybride n the rest,
Can u give me ur email? I will consolidate all your details and send the invites to u all once ready..

bonjon

Mocha,

Can't comment on this at the moment, I yet to buy. Will be going to Chinatown, mostly next week. Keep you posted then.

Food tasting. Gather comments from people going for it (10pax). Discuss and require changes accordingly. My parent let hb and his parents decide, they more picky about food. And I'm more particular about service so I comment on that to hb.

wendy_aw

ic

Hiii! So you are back already?!?!!? Wow...time flies doesn't it.
So what's up? What do you mean by "life still uncertain"? Thats if you don't mind me asking. Getting stressed out about the future? Don't worry, you are not the only one. I know..with the wedding in a few months time, I've been doing some soul searching as well. It's a long story. So if you wanna talk...I don't mind sharing my feelings with you. Can email me at [email protected]
But of course, you don't have to reply. Don't have to feel obligated.

blurq

hi orosalind,

I have received it. Hmmm...we have a lot of things in common..

How come today so quiet, where are all the oct brides?

hoshi5

Haven't pick a date for food-tasting yet.
My PIL doesn't want to go coz we r given a voucher to use and they hv so-called 'tasted' the food liao... how? They will leave it with my parents... hope my parents dun 'hiam' so much abt the food!

The additional favours will only be given to my closest friends/helpers.... I will be sewing them myself!.. hope it turns out nice!

Thanks bonjon for u nice support!!.... Really appreciate it esp when those colleagues really suck!!

doremon

Wow!!! this thread is getting really lively...i have to spend some time to go through the postings. Yup...just reach SGP yesterday night and now busy clearing emails. :p

HI Newbies!!

Welcome here!
Look like there are more pple in Sengkang now liao.

Hi Amos,
Read that u signed up with MOOS. Scanned thr your package and agreed that the pricing is very reasonable.

I have read abt the thread which u mentioned. It is very sad to learn of that happening. Hope the gal is fine now.

hoshi5

bonjon, thanks for ur encouragement! really appreciate it esp when ur colleagues sucks!!..

My PIL wants to leave the food-tasting to my parents.. a bit funny but they dun want to attend coz they have already used the vouchers to taste the food already... is tat okie?

Hi All, I'm also planning to go to Chinatown maybe tis or next week... will go to the shops above the hawker centre... seems like lots of pple recommend there.... Let me know whether any of u gals find anything okie?

kokopooh

hI gals...

so coincidence...i'm also considering beetles at work for my AD photography, both my FH &amp; myself like Bernard's work. Both Kelvin &amp; bernard are really good....

bonjon

hoshi,

Welcome welcome.

That's definitely fine but do inform they what you are going change (must show respect to them).

You can try to visit the Guo Da Li thread, there're alot of brides, discussing about what and where to do buy this and that. It's help.

I had ex-coll's daughter getting married on 07/01, just wondering could it be either one of you?

separate photography and video package or 2-in-1. That is the question. Heh...

Didn't read the thread about wat happen...dunno the thread...but always sad to hear things not good...

hoshi5

ok bonjon, point noted!... my parents very fussy abt the food, esp if it's too oily or salty coz my sis is a dietician!!...

Yes.. but it seems like the Guo Da Li thread got too many things to buy!! My mom not very interested in Guo Da Li but my PIL will be having it and bringing them over to my hse, just the basic stuff lor.. so I will need to get the most "BASIC" stuff..
Girls.. any idea which are the most basic stuff for Guo Da Li? All I know it's the 'long feng candles' and the '2 lamps'... any thing else?

oh madwoman, we might have it earlier ard 5pm cos he's gonna take half day to accompany me...we'll be seeing two others in that afternoon

doremon

Hi DJ,

For myself, i will go for separate unless the person can do equally a good job for both. It's a pity that till now, i have yet to encounter one.

Best to have a budget for both.

Well...stick to what Amos have said. Share with those u can trust otherwise noo...nooo..

icechoco

hi wendy,
yes, time really flies. When came back, saw a lot of changes in neighbourhood and other stuffs in singapore. Though miss home, somehow miss life overseas as well. I think you must have already settled down. Sure, will email you sometime

bonjon

hosi5,

My mum will prepare the followings:-

- 2 tea sets (basic)
- Face basin
- sewing kit
- red strings (1 pair) (basic)
- Xi stickers ( 2 big ones to paste at master bedroom door and main wooden door, smalls ones to paste everything (basic)
- 2 bottles of orange juice (to exchange for 2 bottles of Martell)
- Red banner (basic)
- Red packets ( for hb, PIL, match maker,helpers and myself) (basic)
- Gold chain for me &amp; gold ring for him
- Spittoon

These are what I know so far.

The rest (not basic) is depend on both families.

hoshi5

Hi bonjon,

why do we need 2 tea sets? My MIL says one teaset will do. We can bring them to each other's place on the AD.
What kind of red strings and banner is that?

The 'xi' stickers quite easy to get, so not too worried...

What's ur dialect? Mine is hokkien.

bonjon

Hoshi5,

one for my mum and one for MIL. If she says, one is enough. Just buy one.

Red strings to tie ??? I dun know. Banner to your house. MIL will be making one, with flower ball.

Me too. He's teochew

hoshi5

bonjon, who's ur AD photographer &amp; BS?
urs is on 3rd jan rite?....
Hv u collected ur photos? can show me?

Hmm, flower ball? sounds nice... hehe
Think I will just go get those basic basic stuffs then...

bonjon

Hoshi,

AD photographer - hb's friend, charged $480
BS - Thomson Wedding Design.
AD, correct.

Collecting on 10/12, ok provide i scan them if not, show you the photo montage.