(2004) Brides of year 2004

velooi

Hi smallonion,

We have confirmed abt 45 tables on the Orient Ocean at Hotel Miramar. Actually my FH n I dun intend to hold wedding banquet but no choice lor, since my future ILs sort of insisted on having one plus my FH is the only son. Anyway, doesnt matter. Got nothing to lose. Juz go there show face can liao.

amos_aw

Hey Soupie:

Wendy and I are meeting up with a whole bunch of photographers for our AD this week. We'll let you know who we decide to go with, and why.

Ok. Here's my take on digital and film photography. From the customer's (ie. you or me) perspective, digital photography has advantages and disadvantages:

Advantages:

1)Easy to maintain
2)Easy to store
3)Lasts as long as you don't trash the CD, and use a quality CD
4)Easy to alter (removal of pimples, blemishes, people you don't like etc.)
5)Easy to print whenever, and wherever you like (DIY also can)

Disadvantages:

1)Decompression of an image means loss of data. Like MP3 music, a typical song is about 4megabytes +/-. This is done by removing parts of the song that are inaudible to the human ear. That's right folks. This means that you're not getting a true copy of the original, which in this case, is the image. In any case, the general rule is that a copy is never as good as the original, digital or otherwise.

2)A digital camera cannot form a true curved line. Digital images, like the fonts that you see on your computer screen, are formed using pixels. Take any digitized image, blow it up, and you'll see lots of squares. This doesn't happen with film until a much higher level.

So! Digital pictures don't have as high of a tolerance for that as compared to pictures on film. The only way to combat this effect, is to take a digital picture at a high resolution, and with a camera that has a high pixel rating. Case in point: the Canon 300D that i use is rated at an effective 6.3megapixels, and at that rating, produces an image resolution of 3072x2048 (multiply this to get approx. 6.3MP). Each file size will be about 7megabytes in RAW format. RAW formats are as good as it gets, meaning that the image is NOT COMPRESSED at all, and you need a special program to encode it for viewing and printing. The lower the MP rating, the smaller your resolution, the lower the quality of your picture. If you're running a 17 inch monitor on your PC right now, try changing your screen resolution to 640x480, and compare that to 1024x768. Which is clearer? Look at the wordings. Which setting gives you smoother fonts? Having said all that, if you're not going to blow an image up to A1 size, or even A3, then it doesn't matter which medium you choose. Go with what you feel is more affordable and friendly for your use. Only Ansel Adams would shun a digital camera. Just like an MP3 song, we can't tell the difference for our purposes.

The rest of the image, all boils down to who's taking it. Photographers look for clarity, true representation of colours, and things like framing. How the shot is done, what's the main focus of the shot and whether the shot contains any element that distracts the focus of the viewer. Pictures taken with film can also be fooled around with to obtain the desired effect. The only difference is that one is being done with smelly chemicals in a dark room, while the other is done using computer software. Ok. So the pimple on your face that day is beyond rescue on film, so you'll just have to use lots of concealer!

As with both forms of photography, any time you pass through some kind of medium, be it the CMOS chip that processes the image in a digital camera, or the film that's used in a film camera, you will never find a true representation of the subject. On a final note,i feel that photography is much like Philosophy: an endless pursuit of perfection that was never there to begin with.

I think i just made your decision even harder than before.

Ok. Time for a drink. I'm getting thirsty just typing all this. I hope this helps...somewhat.

brambles

hi velooi... wow that's a lot of tables.

anyways... u were talkin bout bridal boutiques in JB? i heard that there are some good ones around?

velooi

Hi smallonion,
Agreed wif u dat they indeed willing to throw in a handful of freebies as compared to Spore BS. They even allow me to go to Pulau Redang for outdoor PS if I take up their bridal package. But reliability n reputation of the BS are the factors dats holding me back. Dats y need to find out more abt dis BS in the forum b4 I commit.
As for distance, not a problem coz I m staying juz across d causeway.

velooi

brambles,
hehe... ya, i supposed so. They are mainly for our relatives n parents' frenz. We dun intend to invite any of our frenz coz it will b a long list too. Or mayb juz dose closed ones lor.

JB Bridal Shops - Cinderella is currently the 1st choice in my list. So asking ard now to see if any1 got negative comments on them.

mtdt

Hi, I am also a 11 Dec 04 bride.

Had booked my banquet at M Hotel & Santiago for
my Bridal boutique. Dun noe what else to do besides to wait for my first appointment with Santiago....

Am also waiting for my keys to my punggol flat, thus also tied up with looking for reno, aircon,etc.

Anyone doing reno now?

mtdt

Hi, I am also 2004 bride. AD on 11 Dec... still got long way to prepare.

Had booked my banquet at M Hotel & Santiago for my Bridal boutique. Dun noe what else to do besides to wait for my first appointment with Santiago....

Am also waiting for my keys to my punggol flat, thus also tied up with looking for reno, aircon,etc. Anyone doing reno now? Any good recommendation?

Am too lazy to read all the postings. Shall we consolidate the info...like this

1) Mtdt (11 Dec) - M Hotel, Santiago, Punggol
2)

(And any other info like the edge, berryhappy etc)

orosalind

Hi straw_beri,

Yup, I saw ur postings under PP thread so guess more or less u have cfm a date with them. Hapi for u cos one item less to worry abt now. Me have a contact for photographer, will PM u and u can check it out. Dunno how gd it is but it's recommended by my fren who says they are quite good and price reasonable too. Can check with ur bridal shop when is ur PS cos think u got to book photographer rite?
==================================================

Hi Chenoa,

Sori, misunderstood ur qns. Sure, no problem. Will PM u.

fairy

I'm a December Bride too. Haven't been active for a while.
Glad that this thread is getting active again.

Had already make a tentaive booking with Raffles the Plaza. Confirming with them by end of this month.

If you all girls need opinions on Bridal boutique, maybe I can give you a hand as I had vsited a handful of them. So far I had visited a number include Jawn happy ever after, Le Galleria, Dang , Tan Yoong, Ted Wu, Divine, Silhouette and many others.

Personally quite keen on Jawn happy ever after, now trying to source for studio photographers.

dora

HI Girlz

Belated Welcome to the thread. Dun worry, if its OTR then its not so urgent. If its MTM, then you will have to be quick!

I'm going to be out of job soon too... so that makes the both of us... but I'm slightly better cos I've finished reno. If you need any help let me know ok?

doremon

HI VeLOOi,

Welcome here.
I am with JB santiago and personally very pleased with their service so far.

I have not come across cinderalla bridal in JB. In other words, no research or comments were done on them. May i know what is the offer they give to u?

The BS in JB which i have raki so far are as follow:

1. JB Santiago
2. JB Milan
3. Graceful creation
4. Passion Wedding studio
5. Printemps
6. Superstar
7. JB Golden House awards.

What would u like to know regarding JB BS? Maybe i can help.

brambles

hi velooi, is cinderalla located in JB City Square?

hi michelle, am currently looking around for flats. juz went down to punggol last nite. hdb has offered us a few locations for selection. mind if i ask which part of punggol are u staying at?

hi fanny... seems like jawn is nt bad. but i've not really heard of them. could u tell me more bout the packages that they hv? the style of their gowns and service etc?

yoyo

Hi Everyone....

I m back...hv a nice trip to Phuket... how is everybody? me back to work today.. ergggggggggg... still on honeymoon mood.... dun feel like working...

smallonion

heloooooo yoyo...u r back!!!! So hows ur trip there. Enjoyed urself with hubby....kekeke.
Ya, after a break back to work tend to have no mood. hehehe

cyn

welcome velooi & mtdt...

sorry velooi, cant help much. no research done on JB BS. ve u book ur banquet?

mtdt, u went for the PG walkin selection? which blk? i'm currently renovating my love nest in sengkang. keke... i've another neighbour.

yoyo... welcome back... how's everything? ROM & HM?

twinkleglint

hi michelle, velooi, beatrice
welcome!

florist - no recommendations leh, sorry
JB bridal shop - also no recommendation. but supperstar at city sq is no no cos my frd got bad exp. i went a few times wif her n the gown not very fashionable leh. u can check with doremon (as above) cos she expert here with all the resources she have.

i agreed the dec'04 is cold now cos still early. most of us here have confirm the banquet n BS. now, everyone is checking on photographers.

hi yoyo,
show us ur photos....rom, honeymoon etc.

hi amos,
wow, u really prof.

mtdt

Hi, Went for the WIS last month.
My blk is 132... premium, 5-room...
still waiting for the collection of the keys...

so which company r u using for your reno?

mtdt

Brambles,
Mine is blk 132... 5-room premium.
which blks are available for you to choose? those with keys ready ones?

Fanny
Raffles the plaza was one of my choice too... esp the stamford ballroom. It is so pretty! unfortunately, the min tables is too much...

ivory

hi orosalind,

me here liao

u b having ur banquet at Pan Pacific ah? they offer free flow of beer rite?

me now headache.. dunno how to psycho Hyatt to give free flow of beer.. u noe ah.. if i buy direct from Tiger dealer ah.. cost oni $250+ for 30l barrel leh.. then hyatt charging $650nett for 30l barrel...

soupie

hi gals, my wedding date is on 16 Dec 2004..

have confirmed my banquet with traders and bridal with jazreel low collections..

doremon, u're also having ur customary in dec04! yay! which day is urs?

happy to see more dec04 brides...

orosalind

Me here too. Pok can forgive us now, hahahhaaa....

Yup, PP offer free-flow for the promotion package.

Ya, some hotel very rigid, wun give means wun give. Can u buy direct fm Tiger and bring into Hyatt? Wow, at least u got this lobang so not so bad lah.

soupie

fanny/brambles, i've made my ROM gown with Jawn Happy Ever After. they are great to work with and their gowns are beautiful and special.. would have sign with them for bridal as well.. but would prefer a more comprehensive package.. so didn't get them.

rabbitwsk

Hi everybody,

wow lots of pp here and a bit cant catch up...

Finally I hv confirm and put deposit at OCC too... yeah! Now maintainance of body for first appt, I think in Jan or Feb. My PS is in July though...

Congrads to those whom r going to ROM in the coming months. I already had mine in May this year, in my new hse. It was about 40pp standing in our living rm... very warm
Did my own deco and flowers... can share w you all if you are interested.

Questy, seems like your hse is ready too...mine is something like ur, hse warm at the same time. How come dun hv the JP to come ur pl to do the solenmization?

KK, if u keen to tone up the arm. Try carrying light weight, doing reverse pump-in or swim. Its every effective

Cheers to all

mango78

Hi Peko,

Yup,manage to book my bridal package during divine bridal show last month. Going for my first appt on the dec. Quite excited about it. kekeke.... I booked my PS on the mid-june. So, my designer need about 6 mths time to do my gown.

ivory

orosalind,
who noes... mayb later Pok chase us until here leh.. kekekkee...

tdy then go n ask Hyatt whether they allow us to bring in our own beer or not lor.. cos Oriental do allow n they charge corkage fees.. still even with the purchase of beer plus corkage fees still much more cheaper than Hyatt's price..

aiya... the Tiger dealer can be found on their Tiger website mah... i just do a search there then got the number liao... cos they cater min 2 barrels, u can oso order for home parties, etc..

last time Asia Pacific Breweries oso sell direct to wedding couples.. but now they dun have cater sales dept so they sub to their dealer lor...

blueberry

Hi Rabbitwsk,

Happy to see you here..

Congrats to your confirmation.. When is your big day??
Me also confirm the dinner venue too. It was a hard time finding one.
Me will try carry light weight - always go supermarket do grocery. can that considered lightweight? me don't know how to swim so....

brambles

hi mtdt... we were offered punggol field for selection, the 201 series blocks loh, which is near the mrt station. wat do u think of the area? yah... it's the ready ones loh... the keys are ready for collection. shld be able to get it in 2-3 months upon confirmation loh

hi soupie... how's jazreel low's package like?

fairymoss

cubby,

no wonder didn't see u around. now can prep wedding whole-heartedly since exam is over. really pei fu u pple can study and work at the same time! I can only do one thing at a time.

hmm...i got 2 pairs, one to match EG, one to match WG. I'm not wearing kua so no kua shoes. I think if wear kua, then would be wearing those peranakan beaded shoes isn't it?

orosalind

Ivory, u v funny leh.... Try to ask Hyatt to waive cockage fee lah. Like PP, I bargain for wine cockage to be waived and it seems so easy for them to give in to that. I think cockage charges is like a bit extra income to them oni so can be easily waived one. Oic, then u bring u urself if Hyatt dun give in to free flow.

ivory

orosalind,
ya.. i bring in.. wait they dun serve for me how? i go n serve or ask my guests to go n top up their own cups ah? then i have to set up a counter.. where?
35679.gif

cyn

hi mtdt

one of my frens also selected an unit there but cant rem which the exact blk. by reno is by D'sign Express. ve u been sourcing ard?

pisduck

hi peko,
no time to tone up already. Saggy, then saggy loh.... sigh.... so, you chose your photographer yet?
hi chinadoll,
no tips on the toning....

soupie

brambles, my pkg with jazreel low is 4188 consisting of MTM gowns and suit, 30pcs 10R photos plus all proofs and selected negatives returned, car deco, flowers.. etc etc.

nnyl

hi kk

actually i m in finance too, supposed to close accounts too. Tt's y going in Nov instead of Dec. :p

kk n chenoa,
I'm with Paris brides and my EG is red bustier. My ROM gown is red too, but diff tones of red. Have sort of decided to have bustier EG since my WG is V-neck. Initially wanted a mermaid cut but dun suit my body shape, hip too big. :p

It's gd to try out diff design n cut before deciding wat to MTM. Sometimes what u like might not suit u. u can ask your BS to give some suggestion n bring out some gowns to try out.

hi straw-beri, congras on confirming your hotel venue and welcome back!

brambles

hi soupie... i've not been to jazreel low. wat is her style like? lace? crystals? etc?

30pcs of photos are a lot!
i know i'm the kind who will pick a lot of photos and end up having to pay a lot more ;p

ivory

orosalind,
hahaha... okay... i tot u mean die die oso bring in myself..
35685.gif

these cuties ah... on n off i see brides to be here got post some cuties so i just save n use lor
but i lazy mah... not everytime will post these cuties up
35686.gif

peko

oh.. they need so long to design and MTM for your gown.... wow...... thats pretty long.....
i will only need to book when my gown is ready but i just gave them a rough idea that i will be having my PS in may or june lor.. hee.......

Hi Pisduck....
bo bian liao lor.... since you decide to have your PS early next yr... but maybe you can do some exercise on your arms or maybe dont eat fried stuffs before the PS, give yourself a mth before PS..... give it a try lor...hee... i got this tip from one of the brides....
i havent choose my Photographer yet.....
still looking out for one......

soupie

hi brambles, yeah... me too..guess all brides would wanna choose as many pics as they look good in hehe.. and anyway they just charge an additional 500 bucks for upgrade to magazine style of 50+pics... the kind where u can have a few pics on one pages or insets. so i'm quite sure i won't over spend there. Their gowns are all quite beautiful.. they are good with beadings.. have tried and seen a few gorgeous WGs with pastel colour flowers and beadings.. very sweet... they do embroidery too. Do check them out if u're interested.. they are located at tanjong pagar.

fairy

Hi Bramble,

Jawn happy ever after is actually very low profile.That is why not much people had heard of them before.

But they offers unique and very beautiful gowns realising every brides dream as they designs for every bride without repeating them on someone else ensuring every gown is unique and special . Their gowns comes with a lot of versatility and very nice train. I feel like a little princess in their gowns. Really WOW kind.

Their MTM packages with photography starts from $3888.00 depending on the photographer you choose.

Hi Soupie,

Glad to hear that you actually had a good time with jawn. I visited Jazreel Low too. Their package are indeed very comprehensive and Lynn is very friendly too.

brambles

hi fanny... yah, was reading thru some of the postings here and apparently, a lot of pple like their designs

can i ask which photographer did u choose and how many photographs were u given for ur package?

doremon

HI soupie, Smallonion and evon!!

U all are here. Glad to see u all here.

Hi VeLOOi,

I replied your query over at the wedding 04 thread. Feel free to ask.

HI gals,

Are u all discussing abt AD photographers here or just bridal package?