(2004) Brides of year 2004

jann

Jul, think better to install one first. Alternatively, there's one called system 4, that means living and bedrooms using 1 compressor, less powerful, coz if u on the living rm one, u better not on the bed room one at the same time. That was why we chose 2 seperate compressors.. more power, but in the end, realise we seldom use the living rm one leh.. heheh.. mine costs ard 4k.

kite~

Hi neece,

wow u hv consolidate so much info! thanks. it will be useful to all of us here. thanks alot!

bonjon

I'm a 2004 bride too, my wedding is on 03/01/04. Banquet and photo done, now looking for multimedia photo presentation & favors. Do you have any to recommend?

jul

Hi Jan

If we install the aircon in living room, we'll get 2 separate compressors too. But now I'm just wondering whether to install aircon in LR in the first place.

$4k? What brand?

jann

Jul, if u're not too sure whether to install or not, then get system 4 loh, then not so big and huge one. Mine is sharp, not the new model, the new model looks pretty filmsy.. u can try others like sanyo, mitsubishi elec etc..

jul

But then we were thinking : With System 4, if the compressor conks out, we have NO aircon. But if we get 2 compressors, at least we have backup. But I think cooling power is not an issue for System 4, coz we won't on all the aircons at the same time. And the price difference is not great. How? How? Haha! Wait till my ID starts the design, then I have even more 'hows' to bother u gals with

jann

Jul, if the price diff not much, then get the 2 compressors!
ya man, wait till they really start reno, will get more headache, must go and check frequently ya! See whether they got eat snake or not! haha!

Yvonne, missing?

cyn

marie.. our wedding day very closed.. ino too.. how's are u feeling? settled ur PS? i haven started my reno yet.

forest... u ve another yishun kaki... heehee... woman, it's not really changi sailing club.. only members are allowed into the club. the broadwalk is actually along sailing club. newly developed. but the yatchs can be a nice background.. hopefully i dun fall sick..

ino... no envy lah... when are u choosing ur photos?

TCL... i left my brain at hm... RTC stands for? u lucky gal.. so u can get the EG from yvonne creative... izzit an OTR or MTM EG? usually MTM takes 2-3mths... another 2 mths for PS to ablum. dun forget end yr is the festive seasons.. so they might take longer time.... i'm sure they can stil rush it for u.

doremon.. ROM's coming... feeling excited... is david loh the one to call for a meet up?

welcome yvonne... another jan bride... u can try aterlier for the photo montage.... i'm engaging them as my actual day videographer.

jul

Yvonne

Yeah lor. U have to listen a bit here & there. Then piece some info together. By the time ur reno comes, u won't be as lost as me.

jann

Jul, at least once, if u have time then twice? Just make sure they're progressing and not just stuck. Ask them estimated time for them to finish the whole project.

marker

another lovenest @ yishun! i'm jealous...anyone lovenest at punggol 21???

cin_p,
You are good at making me kan cheong oni hor …..but come to think of it, you are rite … better hurry up or else no chance to show off my nice photos during the actual day...kee..kee…
……

RTC: Raffles Town Club. Huh U means it take 2-3 mths for MTM? I'm given MTM gown, as for EG not sure leh, need to check with them, anyway I'm not so worry abt the EG b'cos already have one in mind…(likely to take one of the EG they featured during their EG show).

Re: e outing will KIV as u gals knw my big day is just 5mth away instead of 6mth away & lots of thing unsettle. Anyway hope i can make it b'cos i'm sure it will be fun and interesting outing. BTW where is the location and the timing???

girlfriend

hopefully I can get decent photos for first fitting. nice then post, if not nice.. better keep and remind myself to do sthg abt it.

If I didnt remember wrongly, my WG is off-white six panels ballgown, scooped neck bustier wif detachable off shoulder straps. Purple & White embroderies, beadings & sugar beadings around the bodice as well as hem.

cubby,
the ID said will take ard 1.5 to 2 months to complete the job. Hopefully I can get it done before my PS. I have a bad habit I can like what I see today but tomorrow if i see sthg nicer, I will complain why I didnt see this earlier. So in my case, I would walk ard and compare first before committing.

If my PS day rain, bo pian change another day. Anyway my PS darn funni will start in afternoon for indoor and go outdoor ard evening time.

If you intend to MTM yr gown, PS in Dec mite b abit tight if you havent chose yr BS. If OTR, shldnt b prob.

Are you talking abt Robin? Initially, we thot of taking him if signing up wif Divine cos' he is the cheapest hehehee..

cyn

TCl.. sorry to make u kan cheong lah... no offences ok =) jus reminding each other wat to do.. jus in case anyone of us miscalulate the timing...

i'm jus as kan cheong as u lah... my big day is jus 3+ mths leh... keke... my gowns are MTM too... & they took few mths.. til now i stil not happy with my EG.. maybe i'm picky & fussy lor... anyway, beta to give u & the bridal shop more time.. cos u might wan some alterations like more details..

join us for the gathering if u ve time.. no worry... get ur friends or relatives to help in ur preparations. i'm sure you'll be in good shape. if u ve any questions, jus post it here.. i'm sure someone here shd be able to give suggestions.

lin.. i'm not sure abt the price... i'm not doing montage.. i'll go back & chk their website & post it here... then u can take alook at their portfolio.

jul

Hmm.. Ok. But then must go to Sengkang on weekday so ma fun. Do the workers work on weekends? Or is it 5.5 day week?

silver

Hihi ladies...

Jul,
You ve forgotten abt me! My ROM on AD too!

Seems like you did quite alot of things so $22k is consider reasonable? Nowadays very popular to ve glass concept ya?

Jan,
Agreed with you thats why still thinking of wheather to engage a professional videographer or not. Hmm...

Yvonne,
Err... I think shd be photographer to do the presentation rite? Abit confused too hehehe

Ya I saw the news abt the delay. Jialat ya

Yan,
How's ur course?

Ever,
Gd to see you around ya hehe

kite~

hi neece,

yes most of these wedding shows, they wil hv some discounts n perks. btw which one r u interested to attend?

anyone else attending the above events?

when u book ur Bridal package, are u concerned abt the makeup n hairstyle? how would you know the BS makeup n hairstyle is good besides hving the nice lovely gowns?

kite~

anyone going to the Grand Wedding Fair this weekend at Suntec city?

Anyone also going to 2003 Wedding Fashion Show at Ristorante Teatro at Esplanade- Theatre on the Bay?

Usually, do u like to sign up BS during wedding fair? some of the ppl there are abit pestering hor.

jann

Morning!

Hey jul, i think they usually work 5.5 days.. Ya, no choice, have to go down to do spot check, if not they may eat snake! heheh..

hi silver, was thinking videography quite waste of money too leh, like after the wedding, think we'll only watch the video once or twice then after that, sure chuck it one side and collect dust hor.. hahaha!
Actually the same theory applies for me regarding the photoshoot pics, that's why trying and hoping not to over-spent for extra pics loh...

hey Yan, u back?

silver

Gd morning gals!

Jan,
2 of my friends regretted not engaging videography cos they commented that for video at least it gets to record everything including what they talked n joked. Also it will show those moments whereby we can't see ourselves eg how the ah yees bargain n 'bully' the groom n brothers... So thats I am still thinking lor. For sure I will ve videography but its whether to get friend to help or engage professional one. Hmm...

Going training liao. Talk to you gals later!

jul

Hi silver

Oops! Yeah, forgot that u also have ROM on AD. So that makes me, you & yan. *hee* Not so left out now

Glass is nice. But not too much or the flat will end up looking like shopping centre. A bit too cold for a home, I feel. I guess 22k is not very ex, just that it could be cheaper. But I guess the mentality is NOT to go for LOWEST quote. I see a lot of the results of lowest quote in my company, so no way! And look what happened to my neighbours' flats. Kena bankrupt again!

jul

Hi Jan

Alamak! Must be like foreman. Sigh... Nvm think abt it when the time draws nearer. I think my ID shd call me this weekend to see the drawings of designs. So excited!

jul

Hi silver

From many frens' & my experience, most pple find watching video of the whole wedding VERY boring. Coz the videographer shoots everything, even mundane things like tea ceremony, & shaking hands with pple at dinner reception. After 10 min, I cannot stand it anymore.

I think it's better to have a highlights type of video, then u just put in the very interesting things like the groom bargaining at the door. I think that's more meaningful.

jann

hi silver, yeah u're rite, but still think we only watch it like maybe twice... Maybe u can check with ur BS, see whether she got lobang for cheaper videographer?

Hi Jul, agree with u too, too long will be too sian for guests to watch the whole thing, was thinking may not want to show slides loh, if possible maybe find a cheap one or if not then get a friend to do it... Decision again!!!

marker

Good morning!!!

cin_p,
heheh...just joking only...no worries....of course i know you meant well and i really appreciate your gd tips and reminder. It's very helpful. 10Qqqqq!!!! & Dun worries, I'm sure ur EG will turn-up well. May i ask which bridal your are using and how's the PS ?

It seems risky to have MTM as we won't know the design will look gd on us until we try rite?? So what is the best design to choose and is OTR a better choice?? My gown and EG both are MTM and thinking of just take the OTR to play safe.

jul

Haha! It's time to make a painful choice - save money / splurge for memories sake!

I think I may just use my PS photos to make into powerpoint presentation. This will entertain the guests when they're waiting for dinner to start. I think I'll get a fren to videocam the event, so that I can see what I missed. But won't show it to others - too long & boring

clueless2705

silver, the course is quite useful... learnt several modeling techniques to be applied to work.. hope i can remember how to use those formulas...

forest

marie,
hey.... like wat cin_p says... we r yishun kaki leh.. kekekek... aiya.. tt cin lor... make me happy for nothing... she's moving out of yishun even bef i'm moving into yishun! chey!! kekekeke...

wow.. seems like u were really busy these past few mths.. hee.. but happy for u tt most of the things r settled liao...

welcome yvonne!!!

wow.. ur wedding is approaching real soon huh! where's ur banquet? which bridal are u with? hee.. i cant really give u suggestions, cos' i havent fixed anything for my own customary yet...

TCL,
alamak... only left 2 person (tt i know of lah) in yishun leh.. in fact, i think there's quite a number staying arnd sengkang n punggol.. so, u def hve lotsa neighbours in here!! kekek...

so, is ur bridal with yvonne creative then? since u got the lucky draw prize for the EG!! so lucky leh u!!! *envy*

regarding the outing:
----------------------------
how abt this..... those who wanna go, pls vote for 2 dates.. 10 Oct or 17 Oct? pls indicate preference... so, tt further details can b settled, i.e. location n time..

our headcount for now:
-------------------------------
forest
ino
doremon
wendy
amos
cin_p
soupie
??????

clueless2705

Jul,

$22k seems quite reasonable for the work that you are doing... but your ID has given u the quotation before the design?? then how u decide whether u like the designs, or the glass effect or not??

btw, which ID did u go to?? do they charge u design fee??

clueless2705

ladies,

i have put down my name for the punggol BTO... was a last minute decision. so hope that i will not regret.. silver & Yvonne, which area did u apply??

jul

Hi Yan

IDs dun give u design, only layout plan, before you sign up. Then after u sign up & pay deposit, then u get to see the drawings etc. Std practice, unless u wanna pay a few hundred dollars to see drawings before signing up.

As for design fee, it's not separate. There will definitely be mark-up because of the design & the coordination they do between all the contractors. But then I dun have the energy to source & coordinate my own electrician, carpenter, plumber, window grilles man etc. I know can save money, but too much hassle. And what if I get the timing wrong. There's a std order to follow : When to do painting, aircon, false ceiling, wet works. Later do something wrong, it'll cost me a bomb to re-do!

clueless2705

as for the topic on videographer, i think its good to have the whole process taped down.. it really serves as a good memory months, years down the road... especially when we had spent soo much effort on that one or two days...

for the few videographers that I have asked, the express highlight (ie showing snaps of actual day events during the dinner) cost around $250 - $400... think should have cheaper ones.. must try to bargain...

me getting videography too, but wun be sourcing so soon... need to give bf a break to study... after i confirmed with david, i told him that we will stop all preparations first, and then to continue after his papers... shortly after i said that, we started sourcing for resales, then the BTO issue..haha... he never seems to have time to hit the books..

jul

Yan

U shd let ur bf focus on hi studies now. It's impt for your future... *hee* I sound like my mum

Only $250? Cannot be so cheap. Is it $250 extra to top up for express, on top of the normal videography charge?

clueless2705

no, just put in our application for the BTO units at Punggol... there are existing contracts and new BTO orders there... not too sure whether how long they will take to build the units... have not chosen any units yet... have to wait till end oct to know whether are we entitled to any units.. if heng, we can get numbers at the front, and that the existing contracts still have high levels, then we may take those existing contracts.. if not, have to wait for that 4- 5 years... (if everything runs smoothly)

however, we are still pinning hopes on amk resale units... see how la...

jul

Huh? Sounds very uncertain to me. It's just like HDB - They'll just do everyhing their way & make things convenient for themselves. Nvm that flat-owners have to wait 5 yrs or even more for their flats! Sigh...

But if u get AMK resale, then what happens to ur BTO? Must u pay 20% upfront?

jul

Argghhh! I better go do some serious work. Talk to you gals later. Mybe u shd ignore me if u see my posting! Then I'll be forced to concentrate on work. *haha*

jann

Yan, video so cheap, only 250?? Or u mean they do the highlights for 250??
ya loh, wait till OCt result out then see how...

clueless2705

jan, think if i luck enuff, i can get those that are under construction at the moment... but not too sure of the completion date as well.. if not lucky, then wait for the "unpredictable" no of years before getting my new flat...

in the meantime, think will stay at my in-laws place first...

jul, the selection of the units will be in early nov.. have to pay $2k as deposit, then when the documents are done, need to pay 10% for new BTO contracts, 20% for existing contracts... if i wanna change my mind, think i only forfeit $10 registration and my first timer applicant status...