(2004) Brides of year 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter 21nov
  • Start date Start date
Don't worry abt weight increase!! Jus saw from today Sreats tha Singapore is coming up with a <FONT COLOR="0000ff">Slim Water</FONT>.

Drinking 500ml of the water is equvilant to eating 1kg of tomatoes and thus increasing your fibre intake. Understd that this drinks actually help block fat absorption. And it is priced at $1.95
Available at the end of this mth!!

hi hi cin, ur idea sounds good...maybe we can have a cooking gathering next time when all our houses are ready. then we take turns cooking stuff then potluck over to one of our places!!! how's that?

soupie, perhaps u can go check out the JW marriot website to check what is the original rate for 3 nights stay with no frills. then compare to this offer price see if u want. coz i think the price u said is beri beri reasonable, somemore in sing dollars. but then must warn you lah, if you spend on spa there be prepared to spend another sum of money loh. if it's me, and i have not gone marriot b4, i will choose marriot over the hotel ur friend choose. coz i will wanna pamper myself, the service is superb....hehehee....but that's me lah...

silver, think 5 i also cannot take it liao!!

Last time, for my banquet hunting, we just went 3 hotels and then gave up!! haha..

binbin, had checked out the internet rates.. it's USD119+++ per nite and added up would be abt S$1300 for 2 pax incl. airticket.. but no breakfast and transfers.. had wanted to get the spa romance pkg but it's fully booked until august! wow.. so definitely local tour agency would be much cheaper.. since they are actually giving out the 3rd nite free.. besides it comes with 1 dinner.. 10% off spa treatments.. and free transfers to patong beach/town...

i'm also a sucker for good service and luxury hotels.. hehehe.. but my hubby commented the place is not crowded.. quite quiet without any guests.. cos i showed him ur photos and he said cannot see any other guests... hehehehe

soupie, i'll definitely go for a better resort when i'm in phuket. actually tat marriot package sound good leh.

u know we gals very vain one, always like to try out new products. so i'm using the loreal one for the whole body. then the slimming salt for my tummy &amp; thighs. seems like i spend longer time in the bathroom.

silver, regarding soaping b4 or after scrub is really up to individual lor.

binbin, the potluck idea sound great... but seems abit difficult to cook for bigger group huh.

soupie, it's good tat the place is not crowded. dun like to stay in a fully booked resort &amp; seeing childrens running, shouting &amp; crying ard.

<FONT COLOR="119911">FOREST</FONT>: HAHA... not actually... he only upon request or once in awhile...

But really pei fu those really can cook a meal... me only tried twice... then arrggghhh, too much work liao... by the time me got home and start preparing the dinner... seated infront of the dishes is already 8-830pm lioa... - supper uh?
24148.gif

cin_p, yeah that's wat we're afraid too.. that's why hesitate to get a resort in the busy patong area.. cos might end up like hotel81 or worse if there alot of touting done there... but another thing is we've actually been to banyan tree bintan.. and it was soooo quiet until there's no activities going on lor.. was quite boring there.. even the beach was secluded.. cos each villa has their own suntanning deck with jacuzzi..keke

hi soupie, i agree with what cin said..
i would prefer a quiet place with couples then a noisy place with lotsa children screaming around.... :P

marriot when we went is not that quiet lah. but when we take photos of course we try to wait for ppl to walk away first b4 we take mah. ;) there are quite a few chinese couples, a lots of ang moh ones. but like i said, mostly couples, so they keep to themselves, which is beri nice.
makes the whole place beri private and relaxing loh.

wah spa romance fully booked until august!!!! hehehee..... then we were beri lucky. we booked our spa romance only in march, and went in late march. i think now with the SARS thing "over" and the cheap tickets, more popular loh...

cin, yar, cooking for many ppl no joke man! hehehe.....but perhaps we can get more ppl to join in cooking, so we can cook medium portions but have a lot of variety mah..so can still fill stomach.

Hi silver,
Thanks! Have to trouble u to check for me *hee*

Jan,
We r considerate pple what... Since sagi &amp; ever r both not here, so we shou(3) xia(4) liu(2) qing(2) lor

I'm worse than you! Signed up with Thomson Wedding even tho it's the 1st shop I went to. Also only went to 2 hotels then signed up already. Super chop chop right?

Wah Jul, u better than me! Only went to 2 hotels!! hahaha...
But also good in a way that u wont be troubled over which to choose, coz all see until blur!

Yeah loh, we give sagi and ever a chance lah.. see sagi, ever, we very nice one!

Today really quiet hor? Just as well, super busy today. Yet still can't help coming in to post *hee*

Jan,
I just wanted to get it over with. So many other things to kill my brain cells over. As long as I'm not too picky right? But then I realised the advantages of having a limited budget. Can straightaway eliminate many options. No need to crack my head over too many shops / hotels

I can't believe the coincidence! I just finished checking out TC thread and was wondering around in the forum looking for Feb 2004 brides and you guys are also talking about TC! I love their EG but not sure about their WG, also I walked in and was quoted $2500 for WG+EG+Tea (2 beaded, 1 not)... I see others pay only $2K leh....

Hi Amethyst,

Life's like this, you never know whats going to happen next

Well, he quoted me S$2000 (WG,EG, Tea) but did not go into details about the beading because I wasn't keen to get his WG at all :P

Love his CS though

Hi Smurfy,
thanks! i'm looking at the bright side of things. At least i know now, not after i signed up!
i might go back to TC and ask them about the 2K and 2.5K difference.. will ask Rick/Don nicely lah...so where you get your WG?

Hi tianyun,
My tentative wedding is actually in Dec 2004. However I've gotten several banquet packages from several hotels and have compiled them for easy comparison. I do not have Fullerton's or Ritz's packages though. I can send you the file if you're interested. Just gimme your email addy.

I've also decided on a bridal package with The Wedding Present. Didn't shop much on this as was too lazy so afraid can't help you much

Me also got a flat in Jurong West St. 61
Which part of JW you're looking at?

pebbles,
HI! u've not been posting for a while.. busy at work? take care ya!

cin_p,
yeah.. me enjoy cooking alot... haha.. cooking gathering.. sounds like fun.. but i must hone my cooking skills first lah..

abt x-zen.. yup.. they dint impress me with their studio's albums.. n gowns.. but anyway, i'm jus glad tt my bro n sil's pics look good!! otherwise, it wld b soo sad for them!!

soupie,
ah.. rem to update us if u r going ah.. then, we can hear frm u abt ur trip!! hee hee... i'm sooo gian to go holiday also.. but then, no vit m lah!!

haha... actually, me also hate it when ppl bother abt how i cook.. guess, its every women's attitude when it comes to kitchen n cooking!!

oh n i agree with cin_p on the resort being not crowded with kids ...

silver,
yah.. very true... but jus glad tt it turned out well for my bro n sil...

binbin,
hahaha.. ya... no prob abt the gathering... but hor.. let me hone my skills first lah.. me still beginner leh... remember??

wendylee,
hahah.. so ur hubby dun cook so often also lah...

for me also leh.. i only cook on wkends... cos' wkdays will b too tired to cook liao...

I think 2K + for just the dresses is kind of ex.... Why don't you sign up with a proper boutique who will do everything, including photography at that price?

mee mee

Hi mee mee
Thanx for advice! I thot of that at first... but FH saw most of inhouse photography and he's like "no thanks"...
Also, the boutiques with the gowns I like usually have a tie in with external photographers but very pricey leh! Like Silhouette, love their duchess satin gowns, but more ex than if i 'ala carte' .. dunno lah, quite lost now. will be out shopping this weekend, then see how.

Actually, i agree with Mee Mee that 2k+ for a dress is very ex...
That why, even my boutique after i sign up, got lots of bad publicity, still stick to it and hope i be one of the lucky one with no problem with them...

Well, but i guess if you have the extra cash to spend, then why not!
Afterall, it is a once in a lifetime event!!

As for me... the key word is budget budget...

Pageup, good luck on ur booking for ur ROM. What is the date that u choosen?

Hihi...

Just back from watching Catching Nemo - nice show and very cute hehehe

Hey I am quite happy today cos yc called me saying that she has confirmed the make up artist I requested. At least she keep to her promise of calling me back. Was quite worried last few days cos of the 'feedback' from some gals in yc thread. I also asked her abt my concern like last min change of make up artist and only rcv album like one wk b4 wedding. She explained back up by make up artist is v uncommon as they ve contract wif them. As for the album, she encourages not to ve our ps too late cos nowadays we usually prefer digital so take a longer time.... Oh and they are in the mids of moving to Tanjong Pagar and will be ready by sept which means it will be so much more conveneint hehe Anyway I feel more confident after talking to her today

Jan,
Oh 5 too many huh? Hmm... then how abt 3? Hehe I think so far you like silverlining more so I m not surprised that you will end up signing with them after ur 1st visit

Jul 04,
Will check 2004 threads and let you know.

Ok must go for my appt liao. Enjoy ur weekends ya!

Hi silver,
I believed you watched <FONT COLOR="119911">Finding</FONT> Nemo

Thks for helping me check for events lobang
Hope there's gd news!

Jan, Yeah I agree with silver. U keep going on abt Silver Lining, think u'll sign with them after all.

Hey pebbles,
How are you!!! good to hear from someone!!
Exams almost finished. 1 more..just 1 more....

Yes i am thinking of making my own album.I am very UNcreative....so hopefully something good will come out of it.

Will be back in July...looking out for tailors, make-up artist and mayb a photographer for my wedding day...but dunno if a bit tooo Kiasu leh....look for it so early.... but got anyone must recommend ok. hehehehe..

Can't wait to be back in singapore....eat my laksa and hokkien mee...and especially the morning bee hoon with fish cake.....SLURRPpppp!

Ok...hope to hear from you all this weekend!

Enjoy yourself!!!!!

Updates on wedding venue:

Poox:Fullerton Hotel
keann:Amara Hotel
Pebbles:????
eighteight:???
happy2:???

Sorry if i missed out any postings on anyone's hotels...but can update update lah!

Also, have u guys went to take a look at the Free Emcee thread? I am going to meet Daniel when i am back in singapore. He said he will help me Emcee my wedding. Apparently he is very popular...anyone heard of him?

Hai trixie and tianyun,

So both of you are planning the end of the year. Me 2. but taking my time to hunt things ard... jus manage to get a flat at woodlands. I am wondering trixie could send me your hotel packages to [email protected] . coz I really at blur stage wat to look for in wedding packages? Wonder could both of you highlight me?

hi soupie, no, not at all! in singapore, the massage was quite painful. so i tot the one at phuket will be worse. but what we experienced at mandara spa is nothing but pure pampering....sooooo comfortable......
so dun worrie...

No one's here. Hmm...

Anyway, I got a 'lobang' who has some old interior design mags to give away. I'll be able to flip thru the mags, just look at many pics, &amp; hopefully get some ideas for my onw flat. Yippee! So happy
So nice of my 'lobang' to give me her mags right? *hee*

hi binbin/cin,

u all cooking experts ah? aiyoyo...me hopeless at kitchen.
24190.gif

Just last week, i went into the kitchen and my dad soaked a type of vege in the basin...i stood there thinking of the ways to cook it...can't think of it leh!! me such a failure hor? sigh...my parents are such good cooks but i simply hopeless in the kitchen...

guess muz hv discipline to go into the kitchen to cook. suggest that all of us learn from our parents...and we trade recipes....heheheh...then we will all become excellent female chefs!!
24191.gif

hi soupie,
do u hv the website to the jw marriot phuket?
been looking for it but can't find it leh...
24192.gif

btw, i heard from my fren that banyan tree (i think it's phuket) is having a promo. It's $708 for 2 nites (incl air fare) and provides daily breakfast and tea. check it out from sunny holidays if u r still interested to go banyan tree.

hi binbin,
is the beach at phuket nice? ie. is it a clean beach with clear aquamarine waters?
besides phuket, where else has excellent spa?

hi silver,
i hv some contact for events company....u want? i email u...juz let me noe yr email addy.

hi wendylee,
at least yr hubby cooks...my hubby dun noe how to cook leh. hmm...how to train guys to cook huh? mabbe shld enrol my FH into a cooking skool...

OoOoOo...anyone taking upz social dancing? been cajoling my FH to take it upz together wif me...tot it's kinda of fun!

hi INo, no i am not a cooking expert.......!!! i just anyhow cook somehow or rather it's edible....hehehhe......and i enjoy experimenting....that's all.

here's the JW Marriot official website.
http://www.resort-hotels.com/bookings/phuket/marriott

did u see the phuket photos? we took some of the beach. i'll say the private beach of marriot is quite nice. wun say it's entirely clean though. it's not with the kind of fine white sand that u expect. the sand quite coarse, but still okie. as for the water, hhhhmmmm.....aquamarine...wah so poetic.... dunno how to decribe. perhaps u can see from the pics?

for spas, the best places to go (my opinion only lah) is thailand and indonesia. so besides phuket, u still have bangkok (JW marriot, banyan tree), koh samui(chiva som resort and spa), bali(banyan tree), bintan.......

Ino, if you would like to have detailed travel info for spas in asia, go grab the magazine called "Spa Asia" Issue June/July. just came out! i dixcovered it in april, read the previous issue and the info inside is beri rich and useful...
have not bought the new issue yet! go get it!

also, there is a spa tour agency in peninsular plaza called Honeyworld travel. they specialise in spa packages, but are usually on the high side coz they reeeeaaaallly pack your trip full of pure indulgence and treatments. but if u wanna pamper urself, can go try. even if you dun book, you'll get an idea which are the renown spa resorts around the region.

Hi Amethyst,

I signed up with Lezen Creation for my WG (pls see our earlier threads). I didn't look into many bridal boutique loh, just went to some road shows (which mostly have their in-house photographer) and also Flamingo and Dang. I wanted The Edge as my photographer but Flamingo and Dang too expensive, so when I saw the Lezen's promotional package , I sign up loh..

TC may not be as expensive as all of you think it is because TC returns all gowns made there to you. It does not keep 2nd hand gowns.

Most importantly is that you must feel very comfortable with the bridal studio. If not, not point getting a expensive studio which you cannot communicate with.

binbin, we might not go afterall... the flight is at 445pm in the afternoon.. by the time we reach there can go to bed liao hhehehe.. then left 2 full days cos the 4th day we have to leave in the morning, this is their so called 4 days 3 nites
.... dun think there's enuff time for us to explore.. we plan to go exploring lor.. cos if not my hubby sure complain he didn't take any photos heehee..

ino, u can check out this website too.. www.phuket.com just look under hotels.. u'll see alot of details abt the JW marriot

hello!

i watched Bruce Almighty last night.. quite crappy but funny!

yeah, silver, u really went to book ur MU artist already? So when did YC suggest for ur PS to be? And how abt the designing of ur gowns, when do u have to go down and decide?

Jul, wow.. u got lots of lobangs eh? hehe.. Yah loh, think u shld look thru mags to get a rough idea first..

Haha.. yah, i think i might just sign up with silverlining i think!!

Hi Jan,

Finally woken up huh?
I'm going to watch Finding Nemo this evening

So when are you going down to Silver Lining? I saw the gowns from my mags lobang. She got hers at Silver Lining. She was raving abt the workmanship &amp; cut, so I think shd be gd. Sorry I can't email her pics to you, coz I promised I wouldn't forward them. Maybe u'll get to see her gowns when u go to the shop!

I'm going to Expo to the homes fair after work. Maybe can get more ideas after talking to the various companies!

Hi Jul!

Yeah... finally woken up, it's only on the weekend that i can sleep later! And somemore watched the midnight show last nite..

Hmm.. not sure when i'll visit them, prob not so fast, since they dun have any promo now, so no hurry...
Really ur lobang did her gown from silverlining?! hehe.. Hopefully Jit is really good!

Then u have fun at expo.. but dun kan cheong and sign up immediately hor!! hehe..

Gd afternoon ladies!

Jul 04,
Paiseh it's Finding Nemo
Actually wanted to watch Bruce Almighty but timing not rite so...

Btw, do u still need the contact of event co? I am waiting for a gal fm 2004 thread to email me the details.

Jan,
Perhaps you can check wif silverlining whether you will be having any fair or promo?

Jul 04 &amp; Jan,
Yes I ve booked my make up artist cos I do not want the one yc assigned. The one I requested is freelance wif yc and beside yc, she does make up for other bridals also. And according to yc thread, she is highly recommended n was told she is always fully book that's why asked yc to book for me earlier.

I told yc I dun like last min so yc suggested to design gowns in oct n ps in feb/mar but I remember Jul 04 mentioned tat feb is still raining period so I told yc I wanted early mar.

alamak, dunno what i did, my posting I just drafted disappeared! now have to retype....

<FONT COLOR="ff6000">gal</FONT> &amp; <FONT COLOR="0000ff">sagi</FONT>,
my dinner at Oriental went quite smoothly. There were no major hiccups and we received good feedback about the food also. We had 39 tables so the dinner was held at the main ballroom.

one of my friend held his dinner there before us and he had a very bad experience - poor service, no control over liquor and beer consumption, no proper coodination during march-in etc. He lodged a big complaint after that and was eventually refunded some $$ I think.

we cited his experience and our concerns to the banquet manager before we signed up so this could be partly the reason why they took special care of us.

I found another thread on Oriental in this forum. Have you read them ?

I think having good helpers are also quite important. Each of them can be assigned to take care of an area of responsibility eg. slideshow, F&amp;B, photo-taking, reception, etc + an overall in-charge to make sure the dinner runs smoothly.

<FONT COLOR="aa00aa">binbin</FONT>,
i can totally understand you looking forward to the morning-wake-up-next-to-hubby feeling !

<FONT COLOR="0000ff">sagi</FONT>,
binbin is right that Andrew Choi doesn't give back the negatives but we get to keep a cd-rom of the final selected pictures in the album.
We have absolutely no regrets choosing him as the photos turned out very good. We burnt a big hole in our pockets but it's once in a lifetime afterall!

hello ladies!

silver, so which MU artist u booked?

Yeah, do PS early is good lah, at least can settle things earlier..

Harlow KiKi and girlfriend! *hi 5*

We are the same age and our hubbies are all 1 year apart.
Oops, kiki, i dun have a church wedding, that date was customary date. When my bro had his church wedding, I helped with the programme list. We printed it ourselves using laser printer at home. We bought the papers and ribbons from paperhouse. The paper we selected had a pair of the rings and some white lillies in the light blue background. Basically what we print is the programe schedule and the songs which will be sung during the prayer, and some bible verses only. We rolled it up into a scroll and use silver ribbons to tie up. As for the deco for the church, we used fresh flowers and ribbons to tie to the chairs along the aisle, and a lot of balloons for the hall and on the railings of the staircase leading up to the hall. When the ceremony was completed, a big bunch of balloons was released from the high ceiling and showered down on everyone. In the hall downstairs where the tea reception was held, also a lot of balloons. I think that's about all lor, quite standard kind of deco. How long is your church ceremony? My brother's ceremony was quite long and the kids got a bit restless and started fidgeting and making noises halfway through. I suggest to keep it short and sweet.

I bought my ROM dress from Daniel Yam 2 years back. It was a silver bustier top with skirt, also got my accessories and shawl from there to match.

Girlfriend,
Is that shop, Bjorn still ard in Marina Square? How's the prices? I intend to get my bridesmaid dress but don't know where to get. Where is Bjorn? I dunno where the ex-NTUC is.

Happy, Kiki,

Think many people are getting married on 19 and 20 june 04. How come? nobody in the early part of june leh.

Mimosa..

Yup the shop is still around.You know the POSBank in Marina square? They are opp them. Looks like "auntie" type of shop but they do sell simple gowns.

I am getting married in early June hehehehe 2 of June in fact. It's vesak day, public holiday. My FH is a teacher so we are making use of sch holi to get married and honeyroom.

We intend to go to Europe. How about the rest? Planning any honeymoon?

bin &amp; forest, good to know that you two ok with citra sari. so considering a trial?

binbin, u feel pain when massage? shdnt be the way leh. like i told u, only the anti-cellulite massage is painful. the rest shd be shiok. maybe you can the pressure. next time remember to ask them to reduce their strength.

forest, ve you tried the loreal scrub? i jus done mine.. feel so smooth now. heehee... hey, you have lots of time to go holiday leh... why not?

ino, i'm not expert lah.. i seldom cook leh. vege is quite simple. put oil, fried garlic, then the vege, add in oyster sauce, put abit of water.. tat's it... hee.. i guess most vege can be done in this way =P i also wish tat my FH can cook. maybe shd get my dad to teach him some skills.

soupie, you been to banyan tree bintan... wow, must be heavenly... i wan to go leh but no $$. the JW marriot package does sound abit lugi. how abt extending one more nites?

Hi anniesem,
I think what to look for in wedding packages really depend on your needs/preference lor. For me, i first struck off those whose price exceeded my budget, follow by those whose min. table requirement i don't meet. As i'm looking at only about 25 tables, that actually narrowed my search liao
After that it's scrutinising the package details and ballroom design. I've tentative booked M Hotel and i love the ballroom and the bridal suite. they offer also free flow beer and waiver of corkage for all alcohol! Only thing is they don't seem to get good feedback on their food...

Anyway, will send the file to you and sweetysweetgal on monday as the file is in my office.