(2003) Brides of year 2003

blury

i onli chat with u here...
dun get blur lah... :P
tats nice u gers hvin fun durin ur outin...

kk

so u settled ur venue banquet???

tks 4 ur feedback...
i guess noble aint tat bad after all...

hello kk...

have you found the rest.? Another choice can be Qian Xi at Civil service club...got new mrt nearby..so quite accessible

Its comforting to know that we are not alone trying to contain costs.

Sunshinekid, I think $2K is possible. Think out of Singapore. Try JB or even Vietnam. I knmow that is also a Milan there. Can go for holiday at teh same time. I spent $800 for the photoshoot (did it in China), $440 for the gown, $220 for make up (actual day). Dunno if you are open to buying 2nd hand gown, otherwise think quite a bit of sale going on now. Can chk it out.

No fuss, I am a Christian and wish very much for solemnisation on the same wedding day. That's why asking for deferrment. Where are you going to stay after wedding? with your in-laws?

Are you gals all doing own venue decor? How much do you think you need ah? I also contemplated but thought very le-ceh. But perhaps I should change my mind.

Strange leh.... early morning i did post a msg, now it disappeared! Oh well...

Hi flowee and jo, u off to FBO already?

Flowee, congrats!! Finally got your wedding date, so u can confirm your venue soon, right? So envy your love nest will be ready soon, can have some er ren shi jie!! Our 600s still have to wait....

Jo, long time never talk to u! How's everyone's preps? Started hunting for bridal packages yet? I'm thinking of attending some bridal shows, there's a lot next month! Just asking, wonder whether i shd visit the bridals first before attending the shows, so that if i like their gowns i can sign up and get the freebies there and then?

Any March brides around?

I would like to invite Nufoss and Ding Dong - March brides to join in this thread. I saw your posting under Feb brides.

Hi 1027 & Dew,

ya, had experienced their style of sales talk liao...FH cannot tahan...kekeke...

me juz getting started for the reno oni...hv to buy lights, sink, hood and hod, aircon system...Any good recommendations? me head head big....somemore, FH is busy these days...dun wana bug him with these at the moment..juz make sure he pays the bills later can liao..kekeke.....

My ROM on 8th of Oct...counting down liao....hopes to shed another 2kgs...hv been on diet for the past few months...so much nice food cant eat!...

afternoon...

Sue: I am on a 28-day menses cycle. But most of the month, it always arrive early - like 2-3 days...so i figure 1 year - i have like 13-14 cycles. It get worst when i am stress...so i cannot predict my period. I can start the year with period in the beginning of the month then the end of the year, it moves to the middle or end of the month. But one thing, i have noticed so far - i always have period during Chinese New Year and Christmas. Strange hor...am i the ONLY one...
Also i tend to have breakout after my mense finish...not the whole face lah..but like one very obvious pimple...

I am keeping my fingers crossed that i wont have it on photoshoot day and the BIG day..sigh...

Michele: Try taking primrose pills ...it will help...my cramps get worst as i age. When i young no cramps...but it has helped when i start consuming primrose.

Shook: Thanks for the suggestion..will go check out the link after this... I very lazy, just tear the pages it is easier...if not got to lug the magazines around...

Jan: Quite a few show in Oct - Regent, Hyatt and Swissotel...check the recent female bride mag.

Jazz: Congrats...you have settled the impt stuff...so now can move on...
Try to get Inter-Con to give you 2 nights stay and more pax for food tasting. They said ok to me when i was looking around but eventually, i did not choose them. Hope this helps.

Hi joy2003,

Its really a joy to meet fellow March brides. Think there're less people getting married in March?

Mine is on 2 March 2003. What about you?

naturalli

mi still in sb n fbo... :P

tks 4 ur well wishes...
yes finali hv a weddin date...

n yes reno works completin by end this mth...
will drop by my love nest durin the wkends after completion...

juz called some bridal shop askin them if i m 2 earli 2 look ard 4 my bridal n they said no...
will drop by some bridal which i hv shortlisted...
any recommendation???
also will b checkin out on actual daz photographer...
any recommendation???

which bridal shows r u headin???

hi naturally!!! yah yah haven't chatted with u for a while!!!!
mi now still sourcing for bridal packages lor...shortlisted a few....going for a bridal show next month! Bridal Veil. U going???

its a good idea to visit the bridal shop first before the show, becoz if u really like the design, its usually cheaper to sign at the bridal show!!!

Hey u wanna go FBO and join us there???
come leh.....

hey mi tomolo going to P21 to see the developments of our 600+ flats...will update u on the developments!!!

Hihi Jan
My mum always say irregular period is due to weakness of the body. U may like to try eating Ba zhen or bei feng yuan.

Hihi Jazz
Wow, gd dat u got the major stuffs settled.
I m preparing for my ROM now--select gown, buy my bf's shirt, pants n shoes, my own shoes. Will select gown in Oct follow my studio shoot in Nov. I took up my bridal package wif White Link. I have not sourced around for photographers yet.

Hihi May
I oso got breakouts around the time I have my period.

Dun say yourself lazy lar. The staff from my bridal boutiques oso told me to tear or cut out the picture of the gowns, hair sytle, bouquet or make-up I like.

ok, saw u and flowee in FBO, but then must register before posting, so troublesome, i'll do it later...

Oh, i only just mailed out the cheque to BV, at panpac on Oct 11 evening, right? Dunno still got seats or not, if yes, i'll see u there then!

And i also signed up for a Hyatt bridal show, by emanuel b couture, that's on 20 Oct, main agenda is to see the ballroom setting again!
And then there's also the Mercedes Benz show, read that Jawn is one of the sponsors... (flowee, saw u in the jawn thread, u going for the show?) See, oct's gonna be a busy month again!

Flowee, u shortlisted bridals already? I still dunno leh, i kinda fancy divine gowns, but think it's too expensive... heard BV has rather comprehensive packages, good service too, but then i know someone who forked out 7K at BV!! Wow... FH sure faint if i say i also want that 7K package!

Yes pls, jo, tell me how's progress on our blk 600+! But i think still slow leh... me also frequently pester FH to bring me there to see!

flowee jie,

i just emailed dragon pearl restaurant. Hope they get back to me soon. If nothing else suits us, then we go for cheng du lor.

And i try looking at tung lok restaurants. Besides nobel house, i think no other place can accomodate us. The rest of tung lok restaurants can hold less than 40 tables. We need maybe at least 45 now.

hazel mei,

flowee jie told me about qianxi before. But where is this civil service club?? at farrer??

naturally

u goin 4 quite a number of shows hor...
i hvnt submitted anythin 4 the shows...
may nt attend also...

will check out their bridal shop b4 headin 4 bridal show...
if i reali like then i will sign up with them durin the show lor...

shortlisted some nameli: amanda lee wedding, vanity, flamingo, jawn happy ever after, le galleria, the wedding present etc...
any comments on them???
bv package is pretti comprehensive but ur gf reali spent 2 muz on bridal... :P

COngrats on your ROM and reno !

Have u engaged an ID / contractor to handle your reno? Usu they will bring you to their list of contracted shops to buy those stuff.

If not, the stuff at Jln Besar (eg lights, fans, etc) are cheaper than Balestier.

Work hard at the diet & dun give up hope! Think of your nice dress and the photos! Once in a lifetime u know ..... PERSEVERE !!
U can do it one ....

kk mei

oic...
yah lor u seem 2 need a lot of tables...
then hv 2 look @ those which can cater 4 60 tables...
wat abt yan palace???

civil service club is @ farrer park mrt...

Hi May,

I get terrible menstral cramps too. And I bloat so badly that my clothes actually get tighter. After mense, they IMMEDIATELY loosen up.... that's how bad it is.

Anyway, you girls heard of endometrosis? It's like blood clots around your ovaries etc. that will cause serious pain during menses. I read alot about it and decided to go for a checkup 2 weeks back after suffering from a serious sharp and excruciating pain before my last menses. lucky the result is ok

halo gals,

I'm back for a chat liao.

kk mei,

sad to know that you met wif hiccups in choosing your banquet destination.

me busy wif projects and work so seldom come in lor! busy with my nephews too! hehehe

howz your banquet booking so far?

Good thing that you start this Joy 2003. Thanks.
Its my pleasure to come eher of course.

Glad to have all of you here

Gwen, mine's on 15 Mar. How about Ding Dong and March?

Yes, March, it's left with 6 more months but it seemed that I am behind time in my preparations... Only settled the wedding boutique and banquet... how about all of you??

Thanks Ding Dong, I am glad to start this thread.. realised that I need morally support as the days grow nearer..

Gals, feel free to share!!

kk...yup, it's at farrer..the place there not bad leh..no pillars..but ceiling a little low..i heard the food not bad too..

don't worry ok? will definately find a place for your banquet..

Was just wondering why isn't there a thread for march brides?!? mine is on the 9th
and i'm starting to panic too!Me haven't done much yet too, busy getting the house ready.

Glad to have you gals for advice!

Hmm... looks like i better start calling up the bridal shops, if i want to check them out before the bridal shows.... it's gonna be so fun!

Have a nice weeekend!

Hi Cherry,

I wld b doing my mani- and pedicure at this place called PINC at International Plaza. I think the lady there is quite good. I have been there once to do a pedicure and i think they are much better than some of the other places I have been to. They wld sterilize their equipment before the use them on u. So quite satisfied with them.

I have engaged Andrew Tay as my actual day photographer. My photoshoot will be done by the in-house photographer of my bridal shop (Silver Cloak). The photographer is actually from Clementi Bright Studio. Seen their work, quite nice....I would be going for the digital photos so I would be able to choose my photos a week after the shoot...So exciting.

Mine's on 22 Mar.
Geeting teh keys to my house next month. Any cheap and good renovation contractors to recommend?

harlow gals!

I'm back too.. yeah.. let's make this thread more alive again..

no progress re: wedding plans, but will be going for the BV show in October. Will decide by then i guess. like their gowns so far.

from now till year end shld be bz with house.. getting keys next week so very excited!! hvn't met up with ANY contractor/interior designer yet, so still at the very beginning stage of discussion with hubby.. aiyoh.. so many things to do (n so little time as usual)..

cherubies, what course are u doing now?? graduated a couple of years back so buying textbks seem like a really way back thing to do. heh. old already..

LT: are u living in your new place in Toa Payoh already or still in the midst of reno?? u must be really lucky to get a flat there..

good weekend gals!

Hi Sunshinekid,

I will get the contact from my hubby asap, so that you can compare the prices for the wine on consignment.

I intend to go to Concourse and to bugis area to hunt for cheap ribbons & flowers etc. I think some of the shops at Blanco Ct moved to Concourse / Bugis when they teared down Blanco Ct. You are right abt Spotlight being expensive, in fact I am planning to buy the wedding tulle from them, but it costs $8.99 / metre & in total I need to buy 14 metres to wrap up my wedding favours, so quite costly, I am still hunting around for a cheaper alternative. we keep each other updated on good bargains lah

Hi Ding Dong,

yes its indeed comforting & reassuring to know that a few of us here don't have a big budget to blow on the wedding. In fact we are trying to keep costs as low as possible... ; ) Where do you plan to go for your honeymoon ?

I don't have any studio photos, so that will save me $2k, but the actual day photography is something that we cannot do without, and I am still thinking if a videographer is necessary... the one I found quoted me $750 for 9 hours of coverage. I need to get a few more quotes before deciding.

How did you get such a good price to take your pictures in China ? And the gown & makeup too ? Wow !!

I already bought my resale flat last June, so I can move in anytime after the wedding. But the thought of doing the housework scares me, as I work late most nights. My hubby also works until quite late as we usually coordinate our timing so that he gives me a lift home on weekdays. What abt yourselves ? Have you bought a place yet ?

Nofuss

Hi Josephine,

Was also wondering where all of u have gone to. Now i'm at another thread titled: Blk 63X Punggol or smthg like that. I started that thread n it seems to be continuing.

BTW, I noticed that my nickname is also used by someone else

I haven't source for any bridal boutiques yet. No hurry actually cos my customary in dec 2003.

Hi gals: Enjoy yr weekends! Might go to the NATAS Travel Fair tmr to see any good deal.

Hi Jan: Dragon fruit is the pink colour, scaly scaly one. Yah, got lots of seeds.

Hi May: So wierd, always 'kena' period during X'mas & CNY. Must be coincidental lah! Same here, I'll have one or two breakout after mense so will not go facial after that because the massage will make it worst.

Hi Shook: When is yr ROM?

At least you gals settle your house.. Where's your location? As for me, I haven't. No hurry though but went down HDB to check on Punggol flat. Who knows..Punggol flats for Chinese applicants are fully taken. Have to wait for the next BTO announcement in year end....

Sorry, Ding Dong, I am not so sure about renovation contractors, but I can ask my colleague. He just shifted to his flat.

April, have you booked your banquet and bridal shop?

How about actual day photographer? Have you gals settle on it? I am looking around. Heard that Choon Huat is good.

Hi again! Thanks for helping me get the no. Nofuss, appreciate it.

Wow, I agree Ding Dong, how did you manage to get all the stuff for such good prices? I think a photoshoot in Vietnam will indeed be very different, maybe I should really consider it! Did you say there's a Milan there? I like the Milan here, wonder if it's the same standards..... I don't mind 2nd hand gowns actually, so if anyone knows of any sales going on, tell me ok? I'm still searching for photographer (though not actively). My FH said his colleague knows the people at O Studio, so I've asked him to get the colleague to check it out for us, see if he can get a good price.

Wow, everyone gotten their flats already is it? For me, my FH now lives in his own rental flat, so we will just stay there after marriage, until we make up our mind what to do about housing. See, he lives almost downtown, so we're very reluctant to buy a flat that will put us further away. We're horrible, I know, but it's difficult to sacrifice convenience especially since we don't drive.

Er, are we the only few left on this thread? What happened to the rest? Oh well, going to sleep now. Talk again soon!

Sorry, forgot to mention. Nofuss, if you're gonna get stuff from Spotlight, make sure you sign up for VIP membership first. Sometimes there's special discounts for VIPs. :o) But I also think the price of the tulle is quite steep. Maybe try Arab St.

flowee jie,

yan palace can only hold 40 tables at its hong lim branch. the one at outram only hold 38 tables.
if capacity is more, it will be an ideal place too.

yi jie,

hubby already reserve cheng du. Have not pay the deposit yet.. kekee... see how lah, i think most likely we going for chengdu lor.

mine is on 19 mar..it's exactly 6 more mths as at yesterday

i've booked my bridal boutique & banquet venue...now finalising details on my hse reno as well as go for gown fittings, haven't gone for photoshoots yet...these few mths very busy wif work too, dunno can take the stress a not, i dun want pimples popping out on my face :p

joy2003: wat u mean by behind time? i oso dunno wat else i'm suppose to do *blur*
btw, i've engaged choon huat as my actual day photographer...

ding dong: where will u b staying? the contractor i'm engaging is recommended by a fren. so far so gd. if u 1, i can let u hav his contact no.

ya I think should get the fabric from Arab St. Should be cheaper and ribbons too, I heard.

Nofuss, where is your resale? Did you have to do renovations? Any contractors to recommend? I will be taking keys next month. Need to do very simple renovation. ACtually you made a smart choice to skip photoshoot. Then invest in a pro photographer on actual day ok. Somemore if possible, can squeeze in time for some noce outdoor shoot on that day. Think I heard some where that there is a very good videographer who charges only $700. Think its Fenn. Did you come across this thread. Can try to find out for you if you are interested.

Sunshinekid, you so fortunate - live near town area. But must also think long term right? Are you planning to apply for new flats? Pls don't be ofended hor...just my thoughts. ANd yes, I herad from fren got Milan one. Why don't you call Milan S'pore to find out from them. Say you are planning a holiday to Vietnam and would like to consider photoshoot there.

For my photoshhot in China, it was a cost conscious and convenient choice cos my FH is a Chinese national. So we just went for a regular visit back home and did the photoshoot there as well loh. Quite worth it. I got a 31 pc of 18" photos in an album, 2 smaller albums, a huge potrait. Since China got nice trees and mountains, we chose more of the outdoor shoots.

my id company is chaplin, dunno good or not yet cos still haven't start work yet, waitin to see the perspective drawings

bridal with x-zen, design gown alreadi but no fitting yet, PS most prob in dec(which some of my frens say it is a bit late?you think?)actual day photograher, i'll get x-zen's

hotel at grand copthorne, solemnization & lunch together.

wat about you gals, can share share?

joy2003, so where will you be staying after wedding? wow, didn't know punggol is so popular, but the flats there look really nice, my new place at sengkang.

actually, going to wait til dec then worry about the wedding...kekeke...dunno too late or not!

I've just confirmed my wedding date on 3rd May 03. So excited!! Good to see that there is a forum dedicated to May 03 brides.

Hi Ding Dong, no offense taken, don't worry. It IS quite convenient staying here, can save on transport. My sis lived in town for a period of time, then she moved out to Sembawang, and she didn't stop complaining for the longest time. But the thing is, paying rent every month, might as well be paying housing instalments, at least the house will belong to us. We will most likely buy a flat, but first we'll get married, then my FH will apply for PR (he's from Scotland), then think about buying flat. Otherwise, our choices are only private housing, which is not very affordable. One thing at a time i guess.

We will be going back to Scotland next year, so I was actually thinking of going there to do the photoshoot. I had the same idea too, they have nicer trees and mountains kind of thing, so more options for outdoor shoots. But I don't know how much it costs there, what if even more expensive?! I really do like the idea of Vietnam too (not sure if FH will be keen though!). See how.

Hi Ding Dong,

understand that you used Sarah Tan for your ROM makeup...I am thinking of engaging her for my actual day. What is her makeup style like ? And the charges too?

DO you think it is necessary to do a trial since Sarah is highly recommended by a lot of brides in this thread ?

Nofuss

Hi Ding Dong,

thanks for recommending Fenn for the videography, I called her up & she seems really nice on the phone. I am planning to make an appt with her to see her works.

Btw, I may have made a mistake in my earlier message that you aleady ROM, sorry... just needed your opinion on Sarah Tan.

Hi sunshinekid,

the number for Ben Foods is 6778 6655. This is the general line, but do ask to be transferred to the right dept - wine on consignment basis. In fact, they not only sell wine, but a whole range of frozen food & dry food. I think they have a retail shop hear the office selling foodstuff.

Nofuss

gd sun afternn gers

i went 4 my 1st round of bridal huntin yesterdaz...
had a lot of fun...

visited amanda lee wedding, wedding present n le galleria...
tried some WG...
din expect i can fit any of those WG off the rack... ( though need a little helpin hand coz cant zip all the way )
amanda did a mock up 4 mi with veil n accessories...
veri diff 2 imagine myself bein a bride but the feelin is reali nice...

spent ard 2hr plus @ her place... ( the longest hrs spent among the 3 bridal we visited )
will go another round of bridal shoppin though oredi had an ideal bridal in mind...
update u gers again...

kk mei

so which banquet venue hv u settled with???
chengdu???
congrates 2 had finalised another issue...
its 1 yr b4 ur intended weddin date...
can relax a bit b4 buz with weddin preparations...

Thanks a lot for the tel. no. Nofuss!
I'll try to squeeze in the time to give them a call this week. Thanks again!

gers

mi finali booked my weddin dinner venue...
its @ noble hse...
1 item dn...
gonna settle my bridal n actual daz photographer soon...

hi tweety!!! long time no c!
u should change your nick to to : Original Tweety

hey i juz went to our C28 site yesterday....i've taken some photos...if u wanna see...i can email u, juz drop me your email

the developents of the 64X are faster than the 63X.... all blks are up already. even see trees planted at the roof garden liaoz!

Hihi Sue
How was your visit to the NATAS travel fair? Where do u plan to go for your honeymoon? My ROM is on 8th Oct. So now busy with the ROM stuff, got no time to go to NATAS travel fair. My brother told me can get a cheaper price for travel package booked at the travel fair. Wonder when is the next one coming up.

Hihi Woodstock
Welcome to May 03 bride family.
Congrats for final confirmation of your wedding date. U waited for the tong shu to confirm the date huh.

Shook, you might want to source for actual photographers now. I almost panic 'cos my choice photographer was fully booked and I had to look around for another. Any photographers that you had in mind?

May, thanks for the suggestion! I think they might not give me an additional night 'cos I'm having a lunch only and having only abt 25 tables. Ok lah, I'm contended as I might intend to rush off for my honeymoon the next day so may not be able to stay for two nites.