(2003) Brides of year 2003

great news, my beautician called n I told her abt it.U gals can have a trial at a discounted price $38. Let her know its shannen who intro at least she knows n can give the discount.
Ling,
Congrats on your sis wedding...thats pretty early..is it teochew custom?

blury

tks shannen...

ling

2daz my frenz weddin 2...
seems like a gd daz 4 weddin...

wei

wow u oredi found ur bridal n banquet...

aint goin 4 bv coz din hv gd experience with them...
i also hv gf who signed up with them...

Sorry to be missing for quite awhile.

We had a slight reorg and have been doing abit of 'moving' around the office. Finally settled down in my cubicle. Still prefer my previous one though (more privacy)

Stranger: The girls are right. It's never easy to go through marriage preparations. I take it as the ver first big project handled by hubby and me. Every big project has it's hiccups and difficulties. Just stay positive

Jan: Yup, good news for us that Och received good comments for GH's food

Sue: So have Mian called you up for the first appointment? You going for the BV show?

HI Kelsey,

thanks for the recommendations for the boutiques to try for the day dress/gown. I have been to Avana, but all those on the racks don't seem right & we can look at the catalogue to order, so that they will order & bring in the dress of my choice, but my worry is that the dress will look nice on the catalogue but not on me. Such things are very subjective, esp when my figure is far from perfect. However I will still shop around since I already called up Flamingo (my bridal boutique) to KIV the day gown. I have decided to go for a short dress after much deliberation. Mine is a buffet lunch, so I don't want to look too dressed up or to have difficulty in moving around with a long gown or something too formal. I have never been a long dress person, don't even own any in my whole life.

Hi Sunshinekid,

yah I also will settle for a short dress. Btw I also have guests that will be quite dressed up. In fact, one of my close girlfriend was so excited over my wedding that she bought her outfit already. I have requested that my close girlfriends wear dresses in the pink or lilac colour family to match my colour theme. Besides being the bride, I also want all my girlfriends to look coordinated & good ! I used Sandy for my ROM & I liked the makeup she did. So don't worry abt her skills. You are in good hands.

Hi ding dong,

care to tell me more abt Chlorin - the wrist corsages you intend to get from them. I am still hunting for a reasonably priced florist.

I am using candles as my wedding favours. In Singapore, candles are overpriced, so I got my brother who is in Melbourne to buy a few different styles for me to decide. Finally I chose gold embossed ones, costs only A$2 per pack of 4. My table setting will be white & gold, so the candles are matching. Only thing is I have to wrap each candle in either organza or wedding tulle and secure it with a ribbon. Hard work !!! Luckily I have only abt 200 to 220 guests maximum.

Everything costs money & we are also on a very tight budget. Btw, how much is acceptable to give as angpows to helpers at the wedding ? I am not too sure, but I guess for the more important tasks like coordinating & the MC, we have to give more to show our appreciation to our friends right ? It is scary cos when I add up all the little things here & there, the wedding fixed costs actually add up to nearly $10,000.

Hope to hear from you all soon....
Nofuss

hazel,

so sad..today called up orient ocean and they say my date booked by some other couple already. Then called dragon gate, also the same thing.

We not going for happy rest already. happy rest is at haig road, at lion city hotel. Coz we dun like the idea of sharing the restaurant with another couple. We might be going for chengdu afterall since it is the most ideal so far.

Hi all! I spoke to Sandy this afternoon, sounds like a very nice lady. However, as she is supposed to be due on 19/01/03, she expects to be in confinement on my wedding day, so can't do my makeup/hair. She told me that if she wasn't going to be in confinement, she'd definitely do my face/hair, as she doesn't do new year visitations anyway. Such a waste! She warned me that I will have lots of difficulty getting someone as most don't work on CNY Day 1. HOW??!!! I'm panicking already. Does anyone have contacts??

DingDong, I'm not sure about my customary yet. I had actually thought of doing the tea ceremony during the cocktail period between my solemnisation and dinner, but I'm not sure how I can squeeze it in. And what will the rest of my guests (friends) do in the meantime? Still have to figure out.

Kelsey, thanks for the boutique suggestions, I'll go have a look. But if like you say tailor-making will be much cheaper than that, I might just tailor make it, I want to keep the budget down, need the $$ to spend on other things like booze for the dinner. Raffles Marina does not give any complimentary alcohol at all, so I have to set aside quite an amount in preparation for that. My FH's friends are big drinkers, at the last dinner he attended, they drank 7 barrels of beer amongst the few tables of them! Sigh.....

Nofuss, you're lucky your brother's in Melbourne. I really like candles (my house is full of them!) and want to use them as wedding favours, but it's almost impossible to get lovely but affordable candles in Singapore. Trying to think of ways to see if I can DIY... Anyway, I think since yours is a lunch buffet, a short dress is definitely very appropriate, fits in with the lighthearted mood too!

By the way, do all of you have bridesmaids? I'm not having any!!

Hear from everyone soon! Take care!

kk

dun b depressed...
u might wana 2 consider tunglok grp...
they r hvin a bridal show sign up tat daz can get discount on banquet...
u might wana 2 consider...

Jan2003: Where is your dad going to have his suit tailored?

Michele: Thanks, but prob won't be going to Batam to tailor the suit.

Anyone know where to tailor decent suits? My colleague had a suit tailored at Oxford Tailor (OUB Centre) recently but it costed $800+! Expensive!

Hi Jazz,
Actually, I just read through the contract & make sure that those things that were agreed during our discussion are all stated in the contract. Eg, I'll be given cash rebate if I'm not using the hotel invitation card, exchange the 1st anniversary dinner for extra night stay. If u have bargained for any beer, make sure that all these are in.

Hi SLK,
Good to hear from you again. Mian has not call me. Yr wedding is 29 May right? Mine is 17 May & they shld be calling me soon lah. If not, I'll give Colin a call again but very pai seh to keep calling him. Yes, I'll be going for the show, waiting for the invitation now. Colin said I shld get it by 1 Oct.

Kk,
dun be sad... I am sure there are still available places cos its still early (sept).
Yah, try tunglok grp, they have quite a number of restaurants.

I settled my banquet and bridal package liao... fast hor! heehee. Now concentrating my renovation preparation for November. Alot to do....

Hihi Jan
1 way to clear the stock of mooncake - bring to the office
to get help from your colleagues

Try to settle the bridal package asap. So u have more time to play with. Also, u have more choice to reserve the photographer n mark-up artist dat u like.
Dragon fruit is very juicy n non-acidic. U may like to try it.

Hihi Fiona
Can try asking your bridal boutique with regards to your dad's n brother's suit. Can bargain for better price since u booked bridal package there.

Hihi Stranger
Most guys have the bo-chup kinda attitude. Try to talk to your bf. Tell him u like him to participate in the decision making for marriage preparation.

Hihi Michele
Since u have so many guests, perhaps u could include in your speech dat u may not be able to take pictures wif all the tables due to time constraint. Sure they understand. Then u take pictures wif your family n close friends only lar. But gotta arrange their tables together.
Try not to eat too much watermelon. It produces wind n makes your stomach bloated.
When is your studio photo shooting?

Jazz
Welcome to the May 2003 brides family.
I juz sign up my wedding banquet yesterday. Like what Sue mentioned, ensure dat the contract contains whatever u asked for in the first meeting, especially those items outside the contract. Of course, u might think of additional items after the first meeting, u gotta ask the banquet manager n make sure he/she pen in down in the contract too.

Jazz: Welcome, welcome! Agree with Sue. just make sure all the things you bargain for are in the contract. when is your wedding? and your banquet venue? Shortlisted any bridal shops yet?

Michele: i know. terrible to walk up steps in heels. the last time we had fire drill at the office, they made us take the stairs too! bad for knees. i will think of something. thanks!

SLK: don't worry, you will get used to it very soon. used to have a cubicle of my own but after we shifted, open concept. first 2 weeks, dare not even made personal calls because everyone can hear you. now? we all don't care. just talk. sigh, what to do right? yah, i can't wait for och to come back to feedback to us so that all of us can improve? happy to know that she enjoyed herself. that's the most important thing of wedding i guess.

Fiona: no, have not decided when to tailor made but defintely not oxford lor. too expensive. killiney road got this tailor shop. i might just pop over and ask how much. the rest of those featured in magazines are way beyond my budget i guess. may just look around for neighbourhoon shops too.

Sue: thanks! i will give it my best shot. just want to lose some weight. before the wedding. now i feel so heavy. all the good food you mention, i like to eat too!
guess, self control very important. will try to eat less rice and take more fruits.

this has to be the quietest thread..

how's everyone's prep?
anyone mtm their gown?
if yes, when are u all starting to design

hope to hear from you all...

Hi flowee jie and sweetie,

actually not depressed lah.. hhahaa... can't make me lose my sleep yet :P

i personally dun really like tunglok group as i have eaten at noble house twice before and dun really leave an impression on me. Moreover, the price is not cheap consider that it is a restaurant chain.

Thus far, have decided to go for chengdu. Find the place acceptable and food wise, never taste before but will be going for the most high end menu.

Hello everyone:

got a question - i always feel that before i get my period - i tend to weight more - but once period is over - i seems slimmer - do you gals got this problem?

Re: the dad's suits - must it be tailored? Cant they go rent? I just tot that it is such a waste to spend the $$ and they never wear it again.

I have been doing my homework - tearing out those gown designs i like for the bridal magazines. Just wondering where can i buy old or overseas issues of bridal mag. Sometimes, those rom Australia or US, the gown designs more unique.

Hi Sunshinekid,

I've got a bridesmaid. Only 1. Actually did not want any but my hubby wants a bestman and it might be funny is there is no bridesmaid. Problem is, she is really busy so I can't really ask her to help me do the planning so it's very tiring having to do everything myself.

Are you planning to serve wine also? Try Carrefour. They do consignment and I heard from my friend that buy 5 bottles get 1 free. I think you can get wine for like $15 there. I was also worried about the alcohol which was why I bargained really hard for free flow beer.

For makeup, try calling David Lim Lee, 62359101. He's one of the makeup artists I'm considering at the moment. He sounds like a really funny and friendly guy on the phone.

Hi No Fuss,
I am just like you!!! Planning for a wedding for less than 10K. ACtually aiming for $8K. Cos very tight budget also.But I am still puzzled how can you tie everything down within $10K if you are using Conrad? Me having a buffet reception also, and am considering if I want to change dress. Is that neccesary?

Hi Sunshine Kid, try Sarah hp: 94302452. She is very good too and friendly to talk to. Charges a little over $400 for day/night/trial.

Hi Kelsey, thaks for the tip about Carrefour wine. May be interested also.

Have a good day, gals.

sweetie

glad u finalised ur bridal n banquet...
wana 2 share with us who u signed up with???

kk

mi holdin my weddin @ noble hse...
u mentioned it din leave an impression on u...
can elaborate more???
last nite my colleague held his weddin there also...
got feedback tat the deco nt so bad n ambience n food r fine...
this sun goin dn 2 sign agreement...
1 thing settled...

as 4 my hse capentry works goin up from 2daz onwards...
will b droppin by on sun 2 take a look...

u mentioned u dun like starchy food???
chengdu food is starchy accordin 2 wat i remember...

I hve also shortlisted a few. Any idea abt Jazreel Low Collection or Yvonne Creative?

Flowee, my $4K shld include additional photos. Told my bf 2 control me when selecting photos else sure exceed budget.

jo

yvonne creation u can refer 2 cowie's pixs...
she is with y.c...
i hv a collegue who is also with y.c...
she's doin her fittin soon...

i hvnt reali check ard 4 bridal...
cant advise on tat...
u r lookin @ mtm or otr???
mtm cost more than otr...

Hi 1027,

yup, had been so busy till no time to surf the web at all !! ...

have yet to shortlist any bridal boutiques ... dunno where to start?

happened to hear from a colleague abt her gown designer, so mebbe will start from there ...

just bought a British wedding mag yesterday, the gowns are simply fabulous ... they are very particular in the material used & the embriodery. think it'll cost a bomb too ...

Hi Piggy,

don't need to envy 1027, she had been thru' the days ... right 1027 ?

During those times she's busy with her reno, 1027 simply disappeared from the thread ! =P hee hee

thanks for the info on "The Wedding" exhibition.
i always hv phobia attending such exhibitions. they are either aggressive, else i'll feel oblidged ...

i think i'll still c c look look surf surf the internet, if i like or feel comfortable with one, i'll drop by their studio/ boutique ... =)

Hi all again.

May: I think you should try ask your bridal shop to rent you both dad's suit. They should be willing to helpful on this. most shops I know do provide this service. it's really a waste to make it just for this occasion.

As for periods, I think I have the same experience. Feel so fat and ugly before it comes and eat 1.5 more than normal days!
but when it's over, feel much refreshed and light... like everything's been 'flushed' out.

Jan2003: do remember to always wear flat shoes when you are doing to do exercises.

Good afternoon Dew and Piggy,

Yup yup ... reno and wedding preps really zapp the energy out of you!

Dun worry, slow and easy. Your time will come soon.

Dew, same here same here! Their sales tactics is strictly pushy !!

I'm very weary of wedding exhibitions esp those at suntec. They can promise you the moon stars and sky, but the delivery is questionable.

Luckily i already had in mine what i wanted, so i went straight to the boutique that made the dress and ask for the same thing. Saved me alot of trouble.

Do u realise that we're just 12 months away from our wedding? SO EXCITING !!!

I'll be online for the next 2 weeks ... lull period in the office. come talk more often!

Hi Sunshinekid & Kelsey,

you may want to try Ben Foods, they have wine on consignment basis. The quality is quite good too. My hubby has used them for a few business functions. I will get the contact from him. I have thought it over very carefully abt whether to serve alchohol at my wedding, becos it will add more to the cost again. So finally, we decided on only beer & hard liqour, because not many people will drink beer & hard liqour on a saturday afternoon... I know it sounds terribly cheapskate, but we are paying for the wedding ourselves & every cent counts.

Hi Ding Dong,

my fixed costs does not include the wedding banquet at Conrad. That's why can keep it within $10k. If include the lunch, I think total costs will be $30k. Hopefully the angpows can cover the cost of the lunch, that is all I ask for.
My designer told me its not necessary to change into another dress for lunch, but as mine is buffet style, I thought a shorter gown will be easier to move around when I mingle with my guests. Besides, don't want to look too plain either. Most likely I will shop around for a dress, unless I cannot find anything suitable then the last resort is to MTM a dress. Where is your buffet lunch held ? I think its very difficult to keep all the costs within $8k, esp when next year, GST is at 5%.

Btw, I don't intend to have any bridesmaids, or maid of honour. No flower girl or ring bearer either....

Nofuss

May: I have same problem. In fact during this time of the month, i feel so tired and very bloated. Like stranger, i also tend to eat more. have to or else i feel faint. and many times i have terrible tummy cramps.
may, i got a few magazines from borders. but didn't tear out because the magazines very expensive, i heart pain. i just fold the corners. most of them are like about $12 to $18. tear out wasted. plus next time i thot of giving them or selling away to other brides, not nice to have missing pages.

Stranger: thanks. i will check with bridal shop when i sign up. as for flats, agree.

Hi Nofuss.
Ah...so I see. I am just having a church reception followed by a catered buffet. You are right...got GST hike some more. But what to do? Cannot push fwd a wedding just because of that right?

I will have a bridesmaid and a few ah yi - like the fun of that. Cannot afford anything much for them except for nice wrist corsages. Yup, think will get from Chlorin (hp: 98437031). What do I think of the designs? Brilliant. If you are interested, can call her to fix an appt to see her works. ACtually done by another lasy known as ANdrea. She is also a very nice gal. They use fabric flowers so very classic looking. Some some very hip looking. AIyah..a lot of style they have leh.

blurydoey

summer = flowee...
i dun chat in 2004 juz chat with blusher from time 2 time there...
think u gers hangin out somewhere rite???
hv fun...

Glad to know i am not the only one. I have been taking primrose pills every night. It has helped a little.

Stranger:the bridal shop that i am going to sign up with - dont rent men suits...

Hello everyone,

I am a Jan bride too, 4 Jan. Interested to know what are all of you doing in terms of wedding preparations at this point. Booked hotel for dinner and bridal package way ahead but after that never do anything else. I just had my trial makeup and hair 2 saturdays ago. Waiting for photoshoot in early Oct. Is it time to do up guest list and buy wedding invitation cards now? Also, have you gals booked your actual day photographer? Any recommendations? Thanks!!

hi cherubies..... ye... this thread is indeed super quiet.... gee...

i will be doing a mtm wedding and evening gown. but will only start in december/january. right now browsing magazines for ideas....

Hi Ding Dong.

aiyah... initially I also wanted a church wedding followed by a reception, but in the end add up all the guests realised that we have abt 200 pax or slightly more, mostly from hubby's side, so thats why settled for the lunch at the hotel. I think it does not matter what you plan as long as both sides are happy & you found the right partner. Btw, are you having a catholic or christian church wedding? I am having a catholic church wedding.

I don't have to spend money on renovations so although budget is very tight, I think we should be able to manage. Just have to save again after the wedding....

I would love to see Chlorin's designs. Seems that they have wonderful & unusual designs, but how much do they charge? Are they free-lance or do they have a shop space? Do they do bridal car decorations and hand bouquet? It is a lovely touch to have nice wrist corsages for the ah yis & the bridesmaid. I am sure your friends will appreciate it very much.

As for the church decorations, I am thinking of decorating it ourselves. Nothing fancy, just to put some ribbons/wedding tulle on alternate pews & a flower centrepiece at the altar & the reception table.

Nofuss

Hi Jan: Shook recommended dragon fruit. That's one of the fruit that I eat alot. It looks a bit scary but tastes quite nice & it's very nutrition too! U can try that.

Hi May: I experience the same thing. Before menses, feel so bloated & terrible. I will feel very sleepy as well. But once period is over, feel lighter & better. My period is very regular so my colleague told me to estimate when will it be in the next few mths so that I can schedule the photoshoot to be after the menses. U gals can take note of this pointer. If not, wouldn't look nice in the photos.

Like Jan, I just fold the corner of the magazine, dun want to spoil the mag becos quite expensive especially those overseas ones.

hi flowee!
yah, quite quiet here....coz mi migrate to FBO thread liaoz!!! aiyah mi didn't realise u are the flowee there!!! mi is tatty at FBO!!!

seldom come here,..coz kahki like MIA leh...more active in FBO...:D

naturally,tweety,lilac,wannabebride!!! long time no c! how are u gers??

Hi all! Thanks to everyone for tips and contacts for wine, makeup etc. I'll definitely remember the tips for wine, because i'll be serving that. I'm thinking of not serving hard liquor at all (the corkage is $50++!!) Nofuss, is Ben Foods cheaper than the Carrefour wines? If so, I'd like to try them. Hope you can get the contact :o)

Wow, so looks like a lot of us are quite tight on budget. I was trying to keep everything to below $10k too, but because of CNY, there's a premium on everything, from per head cost for the buffet (extra $10++ per pax) to corkage (extra $50++ per barrel of beer). Sigh.... I'm still trying very hard though. That's why i'm planning to do any extra decor myself. And not having bridesmaids mean I don't have to fork out extra ang pows (hubby will have a best man cum ringbearer). I'm hoping I can keep the dinner to $10k and less. I'm trying to save on the rest, like gowns etc. Trying to limit gown, makeup/hair and photography to $2k in total. Am I dreaming? Dunno....

Oh yes! I think I've got a makeup person, who is my good friend's friend. She promised to give me a good price (give face to common friend), so I'm crossing my fingers that she'll be good enough. Best of all, she's willing to work on CNY. So one less thing to worry about. Now, I'll start worrying about finding a JP for my solemnisation. I'm Christian but not baptised, so I would still like a pastor, or at least a JP who is also Christian to solemnise my wedding. I think I might feel weird that one of the most important events of my life is overseen by someone who has different beliefs from me. But so far still can't find.

Nofuss, where do you plan to get your decorations? When I have more time after my exams(end of oct), I'll be going around places like People's park craft shops, Bras Basah etc. Went to Spotlight the other day, quite a good selection of fake flowers etc, but some are quite costly.

Good luck all!

hi shook, problem about the 'non-photography' is that my hubby don't agree with the idea in the first place! so very difficult... just have to please him lor... otherwise fight over every little thing very stressful!

actually, i seem to be opposite. normally i'm bloated (most of the time) and during my period, i'm actually slimmer and tummy is flatter. strange hor? hehe... but i also get very bad cramps... used to be much worse in the past when i was younger; can't even go to school! At least now getting better.

jos

oh u r the tatty in fbo ah???
aiyoh i used the same nick flowee u also dun koe its mi...
2molo chat with u ok...
muz chat with mi wor...

I din really monitor my weight during n after period but I feel hungry easily n very sleepy. Perhaps the body needs more nutrient n rest to make up the iron lost during the period.
My bridal boutique loan my dad's n in-law's suit FOC.

Hihi May
If u wanna buy 2nd hand bridal magazine, you can go to the link
http://singaporebrides.com/forumboard/

Hihi Michele
Yep yep, couples do have different views on different things. Gotta communicate n give n take. Wish u fun in toasting n phototaking on your wedding night.

Hihi May
Noticed the link I posted above doesn't lead u to where I referred to.
U may like to try out according to the path attached below

SingaporeBrides.com - Discussion Forum For The Singapore Wedding Couples: Marketplace & Exchange Corner: Bridal Magazines for sale

Morning everyone!

Sue: dragon fruit. the one with alot of seeds right? will give it a try soon. my period not regualar.
can be super late or early. so cannot estimate. so irritating. this month alone, i have been waiting for it to ARRRIVE! still no sign of it. already late.

By the way, any new bridal shows coming up or new magazines? trying to get some for ideas.

hi LT,
we two make it noisy again? =0)

oh... that means mine is earlier... i will start in oct/nov...

now also burying in mags for the gown but also my txtbooks for my studies as well...*sigh*

do u have in mind what u want the design to be like for both gowns?

ling - welcome to the thread! Well, i guess it's fine if you want to slowly do up your guest list if you have the time. It's ok to start early. I have not done my trial neither are my gowns ready but my photoshoot's in Nov, and yes, i've booked the actual day photographer already. I guess you have to book early cos the popular ones are booked very fast. There are a few good actual day photographers like Andrew Tay, Monica Eng, Choon Huat, Benny Ang....you can find them in this forum, most importantly, go and see them and talk to them, see who you are most comfortable with! btw, which bridal shop are you with?? where are you holding your dinner?

Fluffy - yup, not taking studio shoots, my hubby and i doesn't like to pose and we feel that the colourful backgrounds of outdoors are very vibrant!! Moreover my photographer Andrew Tay is very good at his outdoor! we don't want to waste time in the studio, or rather we would like to go to more places to take outdoors! How are you doing now?? Getting ready for your photoshoot on Monday?? Where are you getting your nails done?Of coz we have to be vain, else how to be mei mei for photoshoot??

Yi - so envy you!! have such a loving and doting husband!! So how's your preps for your exams?? prepare early so that you will not be too stress ok?

Thanks for the advices! My big day will be 18th May. I've signed on Flamingo as my bridal shop and I've booked Inter-Con for a banquet.

I've not signed the contract yet so I thot I better check out what are the things I need to watch out before I sign the contract...

How are all your preparations going? What are the bridal shops and photographers that you've engaged?

flowee jie,

the food at orchard hotel is not only starchy, but i just simply find it awful. I dun feel like eating anymore after the 3rd and 4th dish. This is the first time that i have such feeling at wedding dinner. This is so called "leaving an impression" on me.. hahaha...

Well, leaving an impression come in many ways. It can mean the food is very nice or the food is damned bad. So i would consider orchard hotel food as very bad and i consider noble house food as fine. I have eaten twice before, and if i remember correctly, there is a dish called the sesame prawn ball rite? The first time i eat it was horrible but the second time i eat it was not bad. So that dish is pretty strange, i dun know whether it is the same chef all the time?

Yes, i always like noble house's ambience. But i dun go for ambience u see, and i have so many tables so dun really want guests to sit in VIP rooms.

I have eaten one wedding dinner last sat at Padang palace restaurant at SRC. The food is great, especially the cold dish! But too bad, only 18 tables in main hall, 2 in VIP rooms. If the place is big, i definitely consider there!