(2003) Brides of year 2003

Yes Gwen, April is right. Like what she mentioned, there's really alot of things to be done. Ya, your's will be the first wedding in March. So, how's your preparations?

So far, I have settled the banquet, choosen the boutique and bought my wedding bands. Will start my gown designing next month.

March, Choon Huat is your actual photographer
That's nice! I tried to arrange meeting with him, but so far, our calender always couldn't meet. Hopefully can meet him next month then.

April, most probably I will be staying with my in-law
Will wait for the announcement from HDB at year end for the next phase of BTO. Oh ya, so you will not be having dinner, but lunch at grand copthorne instead? Something different yah

I'm back! Oh! I booked Holiday Inn Park View, handled by Priscilla, the new wedding consultant. Havent seen her yet cos the one handling has left. I signed up with Fame Bridal and Photography, one that is at Yishun.

Reason to choosing Holiday Inn Park View is the ambience and the wide range of tables allowed: 25~40. I chose Fame because of its photography and can bargain without feeling uneasy. They are also very friendly. The lady boss and staff are experienced.

Well, now preparing my renovation starting soon. My love nest is in Sembawang. Any neighbour out there?

kk, where is Chengdu? How is the price like?

Actually, I also considered Concorde and Amara as one of my venues because of the similar price range. Havent been to both yet cos fell in love with the HIPV ballroom. In the beginning, my hubby and I were wondering what banquet venue we want. Besides price, ambience is also very very important. Cant stand the Chinese song march in type. I had a bad impression with one of the chinese restaurants during my friend's wedding.

Let's keep ourselves together till end next year!
Since I am having both MTM, I will be designing my WG and EG in March and taking photos in Jun/July. Timing just nice!!!!

Hi joy2003,

I'll be having the photoshoot in November. Have decided to take OTR gowns so there isn't much to do with the gowns. Think i'll start sourcing for outdoor photoshoot locations.

Er.... when should the helper list, guest list be done??? Should i start now??

April: Which part of Sengkang are you going to stay? When will your renovation start? =P Yah, heart really skip a beat when the bill comes! It all adds up!

Hi Cherry,

My photoshoot was v enjoyable yesterday!! Had a lot of fun... I thot I wld be able to view my pics yesterday but apparently not leh...got to wait for 2 weeks...the outdoor was really warm and unbearable esp it was v humid yesterday afternoon...It was warm even though i had outdoor shooting done around 4.30pm. The photographer was telling to smile more naturally if i would look like very mian qiang...

I also had 7 changes of gowns...was so tiring...even time change gown got to change hairstyle n make-up....

when is ur photoshoot??

hello gals,
whoa seems like u all had a lot of fun preparing the stuff...I am thinking of going to the bridal fair at suntec to get an real virtual idea..been online searching only so far...
flowee,
U visted amanada n which boutique??can have the address??
Will choose an date n decide on which place to book...any of u gers went to suntec function rm for wedding before??The price also within the range n restuarant food...
Concidently my best friend sister is getting married next year so we are exchanging our information for dinner..

i tink i'll only start working with the wedding things in dec, by that time, my new place should be done so got more time

joy2003, yup, lunch instead, initially, both parents also dun like but gave in cos we prefer to chop chop and get it over, dinner very tired leh... so now we can have a nice evening to ourselves. where is your banquet? tot now grand copthorne maybe not such a good choice

gwen, i'm at anchorvale link, 316series, u? went to see drawings at id yesterday, reno will start once we confirm everything,can't wait!! actually, veri scared of the little little things we have to buy, not really budgeted in and they can cost!at which stage of your reno now? got advice?

kekeke...i tink i veri "loso"

blury

its amanda lee wedding...
17 Cantonment Road
Singapore 089740
Tel: 6223 1366 · Fax:6223 6836
E-mail:[email protected]
Operating Hours:
Mon - Fri: 11.00 am - 8.00 pm · Sat: 11.00 am - 7.00 pm · Sunday: Closed
Appointment Preferred

she is a veri lady can check her out...
feedback 2 mi again ok since u r plannin 4 ur weddin in sept 2003...

been 2 suntec 4 company d&d...
the dishes aint veri nice...
juz my thots...

sweetie

congrates 2 settle ur venue n bridal...

hi flowee,

glad everytin is gog your way now.

hi blurydoey,

u looking for banquet location?
when i was searching for it, I have been to grand copthorne waterfront, le meridien, merchant court and suntec city only.

i have chosen merchant court coz i fell in love wif it @ first sight whereas suntec is totally out coz i think it is more suitable for company D&D instead. just my own opinion.

Le meridien is nice too coz they just renovated not long ago. grand copthorne is okay too lah!

hi fluffy,

oh, you had your fotoshoot yesterday?
glad you enjoyed it.

mine will be in oct and will emphasize more on outdoor shoots. I will be having nite shoots too!

hi cherry,

my hubby got to give and take lor coz he koe i busy wif studies mah!

catching a breather now coz only 1 more project to go and its exam preparation time.

I just received a letter from HDB to ok my later submission of marriage cert after my actual wedding in Mar next year. They are so kind! I thought I had no choice but to ROM next month. SO no need now. Did you all buy new flats?

Hmm... wonder what I have to do for wedding...

In case you are interested in wedding favours, can try this websie www.myweddingfavours.comJimmy, the boss is very nivce and the prices are very reasonable. Must meet him to see the actual stuffs.

Hi Shook,
I"m meeting Ted Wu middle of Oct for 1st appointment. I think it's a chit-chat session to let him know more about my preferences then 2nd appointment he will show me of his designs.

Hi Jazz,
I know what you mean. It can be a frustrating experience with hotels especially when the catering sales person is rude and not responsive to your requirements. One of them gave me this horrified look when I ask them if they can swap sharks fin for something else. They told me nobody had ever enquire it before- which is a statement I refused to believe. Anyway, drop that hotel out of the list eventually. I'm very happy with Grand Hyatt

Hi everyone I am back again! Don't know do you still remember me?

I got my wedding date already, checking out the hotels last week. My hubby and I went to Four Seasons and Hyatt. So far my fav is Hyatt, tho FS is stunning too.

Anybody try Hyatt b4?

yi

nod nod yes glad things r movin as supposed 2 b...

blury

btw u askin someone 2 chose a daz 4 u???
if yes better do it fast coz most of the wkends r taken up oredi 4 sept...
mi lucky coz mine is a wkdaz nt so popular i supposed...

btw u r lookin @ hotels???
perhaps u can check out m hotel ( heard veri nice suite n ballrm ), merchant court ( 4 gd food ), hyatt ( nice ballrm theme ), amara ( heard veri nice after reno plus wkdaz packages @ $588 nett 4 min bookin 30 tables )etc...
there r many bridal shows comin up its the best time 2 book durin bridal shows coz there might b perks comin in the package...
same goes 4 bridal...

Hi everybody I am back!

I finally got my wedding date. Shopping around for hotels. Thanks to SLK's recommendation, I met up with Andy and find him quite friendly and helpful. I love the Stamford Room, thou I still have to shop around a few more hotels first.

Which ballroom did you choose?

Hi Shook, KC charged me $1.2K & I can't really remember what's in the package. Only remember the photo book. I think it's 400 exposure & he returns all shots.

Hi Jan, if only buying air tixs then dun have to go travel fair. I think the travel fair is more for package tours. Therefore, I'm not so keen on the travel fair becos me going for free & easy.

Hi Woodstock, my friend also used Ted Wu for her wedding in Nov this yr. Very good feedback. Her photos were taken by Andrew Choi & she is very happy with both Ted Wu & Andrew.

Hi gals, hope u all can help me clear this doubt. My colleague told me that if my wedding & another friend's wedding is very close like 4 mths apart, it is better for us to avoid attending each other's wedding. Have u all heard of such thing? My friend & me have been looking fwd to attend each other's wedding but if the above is true, we would hv to miss each other's wedding. My friend's wedding is in Sept 03.

Me back again aft MIA for almost 2 weeks erh.

Last week, I attented a wedding dinner at four season hotel...
the food so so onli...

And I met a person who can print wedding card and supply wedding favour, anyone interested?? I'm not very sure abt the price, it depend on the quantity but she claim that is sure cheaper than others...????

The on fri, me went for an aromatheraphy massage, the lady just got married few months ago, she printed her card less than S$1.50/- per piece(including card and printing, the card is design by her own). She even help ppl to look for wedding favour depend on our budget. Will talk to her further aft she back from her honeymoon. Let me know if you all need more detail about what she can provide or source for you.

I supposed to take my PS on 19/09 but too bad, not prepare so delay it and take my PS on 06/10.. stress... wedding is 3 mths away but nothing hv been done.

Hi Josephine,

I've rec'd your email oredi. thks...

I also haven look around for bridal. Dun know which one to start with.

Vin, <$1.50 sounds quite a good deal! Do let me know how the card printing is like and the cost... now sourcing for ppl to print the card.

Woodstock, hee... talking abt hotel service. Dun see any reason why you can't swap sharksfin for something else!!!

Sue: I tot the window is 3 mths not 4 mths. Avtually it depends on yourself and your friend. Is either of you are not particular, i see no reason why you cannot attend each other wedding. esp. when you are all close friends.

hi gals, good morning..
Flowee,
I mistaken the date for wedding fair yest n went to suntec,so sotong.....
Ok, I will ask my FH to accompany to check it out there.I didnt know abt suntec.Thanks for the info will also let my gf sis know abt it too.. Most prob will choose a weekday cause cheaper mah...I havent asked anyone to choose date yet will have to rush him again if he wants the wedding to be held in sept..U know lah guys always like to do things last min..Been shortlisting some hotels,like amara,holidayinnparkview,concorde.
I thot hyatt is exp??Most bridal show not held for those hotels that I am considering.

Yi,
I also liked the copthorne waterfront from the magzine, the ballroom looks so nice, but their prices is not nett rather out of my budget.My gf attended merchant court wedding a yr ago her comment not so good.but I heard a lot of good comments over the forums so I think have to go down personally to take a peek. Will have to check out ler meridien prices too....Grand coupthorne is the same as waterfront?? I am also thinking of plaza hotel n mandrian spore too......

Hi April,

Mine is at Anchorvale Drive, Blk 321. Renovation should end by next week. Think you'd better list down the possible things that you'll be buying, both during the renovation and after. Then you wouldn't feel so lost.

No worries, coz my budget list is modified from time to time to reflect the true amount. Possible nitty gritty items that you'll be getting for the renovation is - taps, sink, cooker hood and hob, toilet accessories, water heaters, mirror, lights... Hope this helps!

As for your renovation, better confirm the design that you want before starting. This will ensure there wouldn't be too many add-ons after the renovation starts. Coz these add-ons along the way can cost!! All the best for your renovation!! It'll be fun! => (Me very lor sor also, hor?)

Ding Dong: That's great news! My friend is thinking of delaying submitting the marriage cert. May I know how you go about doing it? By writing a letter to HDB for special request?

Hi Gwen,
ya, just write in to the officer in charge of her case. SHe will find out on her first appt( if she buy resale) or at the time of paying deposit ( for new flats). Must have pastor's letter and other supporting evidence like banquet booking, bridal booking etc. These inly serve as evidence of intent to marry.

But still need reasons why can't you just ROM first. (That's what my officer said to me). For my case, my Fiance is not a local and we need to get his whole family down here. Needed time to plan for it as they all were preparing to come by only next year.

Hope this help yout friend. Cheers!

Fiona: Decor? There wasn't much decor. the ballroom i went to was Mandarin Court. Trouble was there was 2 weddings on the same level and many of the guests of both sides went to the wrong hall. also on that day, all 5 function rooms were full and the car park was full even by 7.30pm. So, in the end the carpark coupons we were given were totally useless as our guests could not park at mandarin hotel at all. no decor, only the march in passage have flowers. no decor on stage. also we noticed that the champange tower was placed on the floor???? no table?? there was no montage to place the photo album. we were given on small tall table. so if you have more than one album, take note. the guest book was an address book. we ask them for a proper one but was told this was the only kind they have. so you might want to take note too.

Hi Dong Dong,

Thanks! Er... my friend would actually prefer to ROM on his wedding day, which is approx 2 months after he gets his flat. Is such a reason valid?

i am here again.

last sunday, i went to attend a wedding at merchant court. think everything was so odd.

firstly, the mc that was on stage was the couple's friend. so when everyone was still not settled, he annouce" let's welcome the bride and groom" within seconds, the song was played and the light was dimmed and they walk in.

so they went on stage, the friend did not say anything. there was quite a long pulse. then he says "let's get them to open the champagne". then the couple open and pour the drink themselves, stood in the middle and look at their friend , drink their own drink. then the friend say, "let's give them a cheers.. so he alone shouted "CHEERS!" AND went off stage.

There was no yam sengs or no thanks to the guest. and that's it. the bride change clothing but did not have a second march in.

The food was ok only cos it was not warm enough. and the waiter did not change drinks for very long when our cup is empty. They do change plates after each serving but they actually forgot to replace the plates after one of the dishes.

so girls, be cautious of getting friends and make sure that your friend could catch teh attention of the guests before walking in ...

C:\My Documents\My Pictures\BOMBOM.gif

Actually he may have a good chance for approval, since its only two months away. Then quickly book with ROM first and show thw receipt as evidence to HDB.

Just my thots...afterall, I am not HDB officer.

gf afternn gers

lynn

welcome back...
i hv frenz holdin their dinner @ hyatty this nov n next yr...
hvnt check out the place myself juz seen it thru the dbs advertisement...
looks pretti nice...
there's a bridal show comin up in oct @ hyatt n emanuel b...
u might wana 2 check it out then coz durin bridal shows they might throw in perks...

blury

then muz hurry hurry ur hub liao since its oredi sept...
juz in case ur ideal venue is bein booked on ur weddin date oredi...
hyatt pricin like merchant court 4 wkdazs...
cant comment on wkends coz i hv nvr check out the wkends prices...
its better 4 u 2 check out ur shortlisted venue in person...
2 hv a better feel of the venue...
muz keep mi updated of ur findin ok...

ling

how hv u been???

Been a while since I came in here. Been bz with preps for my wedding shoot on Sunday.

Got my shoes for the WG &amp; Eg. Just tried on the EG that was tailored by the bridal studio. Turned out better than I thot. Got my hair accessories from Paragon over the weekend

Wow, it's tough getting items when u really want them. Got to search high and low. Fortunately, managed to get them

Hi Jan2003

Thanks for the info! My coordinator already told me that the guest book is a small one, so I intend to buy a big one on my own.

I think lunar 8th month is too "hot" for weddings. I hope mine will be the only wedding at Mandarin on my big day! My ballroom is Belvedere, the smaller one.

i also wrote in to defer my ROM date, so like wat Ding Dong says, it should b ok.

wat wedding favours r u gals gettin? i haven't thot abt it yet, but if really broke then,
will just have the usual chocs...then will only get something for my helpers

gwen, thanks for the advice, will do. but really envy you, house almost done alreadi. will u be moving in first?

For the dinner, I'll be having the usual choclates too.
For extra little gifts for helpers and close relatives, I'm giving soap. Cheap, looks presentable and useful.

Hee hee, will spend the next few months slowly doing up the place. Don't think i'll be moving in first. Moreover, the MRT is not up yet, not convenient to move in early. Think I'll move in after my wedding. By that time, the MRT will be up. Just nice!

Hi Gwen,

It will be good if you can start to work on your helper list and guest list soon. At least now, there's still 5 months plus, not so tight for time, you can plan better..else as the date draws closer, you will have a stressful time working on your guest list.

I did an estimated guest list some months back, and from time to time, I will add on names.

Hi April,

Don't worry abt Grand Copthorne. It's a nice place. I attended a wedding dinner some months back and will be attending 2 more wedding dinners for this two months! Who's your coordinator?
Mine will be at Sheraton Towers.

Hi Ding Dong,

Congrats and thank God for the HDB approval! Btw, is yours a new flat? At Seng Kang or Punggol? I am waiting for HDB to announce the next phase of BTO at Punggol.. heard that it will be released near year end. Oh ya, are u having a church wedding?

Hi flowee,

well, im fine, not so busy already . hippie..can go back to take my nap in the afternoon...

HOW bout u, did you got any marks??

see you on friday

Hi joy2003,
Ya, glad that HDB is so kind. Yes, having a church wedding. Very excited.
I have already got photoshoot, wedding gown, his suit, rings, all the flowers for actual day...and that's about all. WHat should I be working on besides guest list and helper's list? And yes, songs...what else.

Think ya, somehow the wedding still not top on the list. Got huose renovation, fyrniture to settle. Very siong leh and not much time left also.

Hi Jazz,

Ya, it's really wierd with this hotel that I can't swap the sharks fin for anything else. Usually other hotels swap another soup which I perceive to be of a lower "value" like fish maw or something. The only alternative soup I came across and appear to be "equivalent" to sharks fin was from Four Seasons- which was abalone soup with something (can't remember). But too bad, the ballroom sizes at Four Seasons are not suitable for me.

ling

how did u put in the green creature jumpin up n dn???
teach mi... :P

mi back @ work...
nod nod hv marks but hope they fade away soon...
c ya on fri our last lesson...

Hi sweetie
My wedding is on the 1st of June. What about you?

Hi flowee

Definately checking out on the wedding show at Hyatt. Thanks for the info!

can i join in? my wedding is on 10th march. have already booked banquet, bridal boutique &amp; actual day photographer.

april, i'm also with x-zen. will be going for my 1st fitting on sat. can't wait to see my gowns.

Hi Sue

I heard about unable to attend other ppl's wedding if wedding date is too near but I do not know it is within how many months. Pregnant women also cannot attend weddings too.

Hi vin

Can you give me your card printer's contact? I want to check it out too! Thanks a million!

Hi Vin, I'm interested in the contact for the printer &amp; wedding favours. Pls update me when u have the details. Thks.

Hi May &amp; Lynnie, thanks for the clarification. My friend &amp; me don't mind but not sure how our parents felt abt it. So far, my mum is quite ok. Will c what my friend says. Maybe I'll check with my geomancer to see what he says. Thks again.

Hi Lynnie,
Mine is 30th November. Anyone later than me?

Shall we do a compilation of wedding date?
Lynnie 1/6/2003
Sweetie 30/11/2003
Flowee?
KK?
Blurydoey?
ling?
bijou?

Sue, per what I know, if your good friend is having a wedding abt less than four months away from yours, it's best not to attend the chinese ceremony (the part where the bridegroom come and pick up the bride, tea ceremony etc). However, you can still attend the wedding banquet. To be safe, it's good to check with your geomancer to double confirm. Hope that this info helps!

Woodstock, never mind abt that hotel. At least, you've got a hotel to cater to your needs, that's one headache off your list! Are you preparing for your ROM?

sweetie

10th sept 03 4 flowee
20th sept 03 4 ling n bijou
sept 03 4 blury
26th oct 03 4 kk

did i get anythin date wrong??? :P

sorry, just testing.

ya flowee: my date is correct.

on top of that haze also same date.

I saw one photographer works who is a journalist and quite like it . it was quite special on the way he capture the photos. i'm confused again. :
9269.gif

hi sue,

i received BV's invitation card already! how abt you? but i realised last night that my hubby cannot make it due to reservist
however, i found a friend to come along with me

anyway, my MIL also told us abt the 4 months (before and after) window. but we are not really paying great attention to this. i have so many good friends getting married next year. will not miss their dinners if they don't mind. most of the time, i will ask them to ask their parents/in-laws abt this before i confirm my attendance with them.

hi jan/may,

how have you been? so may has finally settled her bridal package, congrats! so how about you jan? settled with x-zen?

hi lynnie,

yeah, andy is nice. i just managed to get him as my coordinator too
happy searching!

Wow! so I'm the latest. I remember someone in December...

Are all your dates weekends or weekdays?
Did you gals consult anyone for the dates? Got use ba zhi? I just chose it from the almanac 2003.
It doesnt "chong" rabbit and dragon loh... do you consider your parents?

How about venue?

Sweetie: HIPV
Flowee: Noble House

Ling, I cannot see your picture.