(2003) Brides of year 2003

hi cherry,

yap, i would be having my fotoshoot in early oct coz i'm having exams at the end of oct.

i've been for my 1st fitting and tomoro wld be the 2nd fitting, trial makeup and gowns choosing for fotoshoot liao!

seen my gowns and really love them!

i never prepare anything lah. just booked my banquet destination, tried my gowns etc. my parents also haven't meet yet! hahahah coz i'm busy with my studies lor!

Blaa: Oh my god..Albert actually told you that... but i was at the show and Dayspring gave me the postcard that Everafter was distributing and pointed me there saying that that is their photographer...this is so fishy...esp...when u read about the old comments on Dayspring...they were there at four season right...?

wait...no i remember something very strange...when i asked the lady at Dayspring booth for her name card..she gave me one that is printed themobilestudio and she told me i most likely never heard of them...but on her card, the website given is www.dayspring.com.sg
So confusing...can you check with Albert again, maybe mention themobilestudio and that they are at Stamford road...

Can u tell me more after you meet with Albert...i also like the photos at the beach. very clear and vibrant.

Jan: I think we need to work harder...i am going to Jawn tomorrow..so i will get a better picture. Yep, we shld update each other...

Hi Yi,

must be really tough juggling studies and wedding preps! what are you studying??

so you have settle your gowns and going for trial make up tomolo?? hope you have a fun session tomolo.

are you booking your hm at this coming natas fair too?i intend to go melbourne/sydney/gold coast, what abt you?

my photoshot in Nov, so i guess the pace will be faster next month lor....this month i think i'll start going for facials, back polish, hair treatment (i've not step into a salon for the past 8 mths already)....hee...

how's your gown like?? have you got your shoes already?? I'm still looking ard for my shoes....i'll be wearing a bustier W

yi jie,

oh, so u on leave on thursday? Good mah, i look forward to that day when i can try my make up and choose gowns! kekekeee...

flowee jie,

yes, i heard from my mum that roland's interior not that good for wedding dinners. Sigh, so troublesome. Food must be good, and place must be good, and must be convenient to reach. Really not easy.. kekeeke...

Hi SLK

Do you know which florist BV uses for the bouquets and bridal car decor...?

Hi SLK,
Isn't it too early to do photoshoot in Jan? I'm targeting to do it in end Feb or early March. I remembered I've checked with BV before & it's not true that most bridal shops close for many days. Partly also becos Feb is a short mth.

Sue: Think SLK may be right. It seems safer to do it in Jan instead of Feb. Altho the bridal shops may be open, what about the photodeveloper etc. also there may be many brides taking photograph too so maybe safer to do it in Jan. Come to think of it, if you take away 15 days for CNY, only left with just about 10 days plus minus saturdays and sundays to take photographs. for me may be abit tight because i need the album by 1st week of May. But both you and SLK may have more time since your wedding is near the end of the month.

By the way, Female brides magazine is out in the newstand!

morning gals.

I am so tired today. Gosh... i think it is ok to do the photoshoot late Jan. This way, u dont have to worry about putting weight after CNY.

U know how it is that we all will snack on the goodies during the festive period. So avoiding that is a good idea.

kk mei

yah lor
when it comes 2 venue 2 hold weddin dinner so troublesome coz hv 2 suit all ppl...
looks more like someone else weddin then ours...
nvr take ur time 2 get ur ideal venue...
muz keep us inform ok...

Hi Sue,

Hmmm... March seems a little late ya? Better be kiasu abit just in case.

Hi Jan/May,

I share your sentiments about the CNY issues. May is right, definitely put on weight during CNY esp when I am so greedy :P Oh btw, are you gals singnet subscribers? Check out the website, apparently they have discounts for bridal boutiques like White Link, Jazreel Low etc.

Hi Fiona,

BV uses flowers from Far East Flora

flowee jie,

my hubby say his dun know wat wat relative is a shareholder in roland restaurant. So i guess his mum prefer roland restaurant a lot. well, we will take a look at roland too, but if the place really too jia lat, then of course we won't want to hold the dinner there despite whatever relative is there, am i rite?

Hi Flowee,

Me not wearing it on my wedding, but I bought it is for my hubby's sis wed this nov. It's not so elborated but nice & at least cheaper than those selling outside.

Me have 2 EGs from my bridal already, dun need another one is not too busy.

May/SLK: Me too very tired. In fact i overslept. was 45min late for work. terrible. my boss face black black! Yah agree, already mooncake festival i cannot control myself. cny worst. think i will do my photoshoot in jan then. but also must see how the schedule for shop is. i not member of singnet. i usually acess from work. wanted to ask. how much did you guys pay for bouquet of flowers for ROM? is it very expensive?

Hi Cherry,

How's your preparation?? Nothing have been done for my big days...

Hi Yi,

You still study??? How old are you??? Still very very young?

Hi Kiroro,
Me too...I'm taking my measurements end of this month as well. Looking fwd to it but yet apprehensive coz i hvn't had much time to exercise and work-out.

Yep...guess i wld be pretty busy once i start on the reno but dat's supposed to be my FH's job
to make sure it goes well. Hope i dun get absolutely stressed out then.

So when will ur overseas stint end? i can imagine it to be pretty stressful being away fr S'pore during this prep period. likewise, my FH's was supposed to go for an overseas posting but din go at the end.

Hi wabbit, welcome welcome aboard! How's prep going along for you?

Hi astrud,
No choice, last minute urgent arrangement from my company. I expect the task to be end on End October. ANyway, I will be back next week to take measurement and confirm my photographer.... No much preparation is required...so not much stress lah. Anyway, my house is fully renovated and furish....
Hi Wabbit,
Welcome to our thread !

Hi Vin,

I will be attending a wedding at Mandarin singapore (mandarin court) on the 21st Sep 02. if you can wait, then i can give my feedback. the last time i attended one was in feb 02. ok only. i suggest you skip the seat covers. they are very old and the chopsticks they used also very old. the paint that was used to highlight the name were all gone and because it ivory in colour, old chopsticks can see the ageing stains. the food was not bad but the bridal suite was all red. the whole concept of chinese i guess. ballroom was also very red.

Hi Jan2003,

Yes, please keep us informed! I might be having my dinner at Mandarin too. Regarding the seat covers...I was told that the ones they use now are new. Not sure about the chopsticks though

Hi vin,

Nothing has been done on my side too! Just went for 1st fitting last week though. Guess the pace will be faster next month to prepare for my photoshoot in Nov. What abt you?

Just wondering whether anyone has booked the Actual Day Photographer? Is it too early? Any recommendations?

Hi:

It never occur to me that we need to be so detail to check seat covers and chop sticks..ha..

Jan: Aiyo, ur boss so strict..think positive at least you came to work even thou it was 45 mins late..you cld have call in sick or urgent leave..man...

Mooncake festival u already cannot tahan...u so funny...think of the bright side...u are stress sometimes u lose weight..

i spent S$50 on my ROM flowers. Got it at Future Florist.
SLK: thanks for the singnet promo...but i am pacific internet...shucks

I have
....Andrew Tay from The Edge. Kiasu really, but i heard it is best to secure one at least 6-9 mths before your wedding day.

Hi cutie,
to be very frank - i can't really remember. Think it is abt $1800 for 15 rolls (inclusive of colour and b/w). I actually left it to my designer to take care of it.

Which reminds me that i shld better make sure that i have this written on pen & paper. Let me check and get back.

Hi Jan/May,

I am a singnet subscriber. If they allow, maybe I can pass my bills to you guys. They only need to see the latest bill.

Jan, I also spent $50 on my ROM flowets. Got it from this shop at Mirarmar Hotel.

hi everybody .. so glad to see such a "lively" string .. my wedding on 6 June 03, banquet i got panpac n bridal with x-zen. i got my measurements done a few mths ago! boy, the seamstress was pulling so tight that i was so afraid i might pu ton weight n burst my gowns! but it was fun...

Hi Ah Ling,
We have the same wedding day ! Mine is at Conrad and bridal with Silhouttes. Wah, you have already take your measurement ? I think I better buck up....Are you having a church wedding as well. Welcome again !

Oh yah, I forgot that normally will put on weight after CNY. Thanks all for reminding me.

So happy that tmr is Fri, can sleep late on Sat. Do u gals need to work on Sat?

Vin & Fiona: No problem will keep u all updated after the event. if i not wrong, mandarin offering free flow of beer if you book their banquet? i thought i saw it in herworld brides magazine. you might want tot check it out.

May/SLK: No lah, the last time i went there, the people at my table passed those comment. i bocup one. such details why bother. except i do agree the seat covers then was very crumpled lah. very obvious. but the chopsticks. aiyoh, i use it to take food to it, i no bother but you know how singaporeans are lah. so expensive place, they will find ways to find fault. call in sick or urgent leave? end up worse for myself because i will have work pile up. aiyoh, i eat more when i stress! cmplete opposite! that's the terrible part. i love mooncakes. then when it comes to chinese new year, pineapple tarts, egg rolls, etc etc. now i am super hungry. how to lose weight like that. SLK, thanks for the offer. i go see who can get discount, if need i will definitely seek your help!
thanks for the information on flowers. my friend told me very expensive. she spent $95 on hers. wonder now what flowers she got!

Hi Cherry,

I haven't do any fitting yet, not even choose my gowns for photoshoot. My MTM WG not even finalised ...:P

Banquet, not even sign the contract with them... so many thing not even been done up...

Sue: Yes, i work on saturdays. envy all of you who don't need to. saturdays are wasted days. by the time i knock off which is 1pm, have lunch it's already near evening time. waste my whole day. blasted. next time i get new job must look for 5-day weeks.

anyone bought female brides magazine? worth buying?

Morning,

Can time pass faster so that it is 6 pm now and i can knock off. My body is crying (felt like i went gym and had an intensive workout), i am so tired. This week has been such a hectic week for me...i have been going to bed late and i just have so much on my mind - work, reno, gowns...now i know why they say brides will lose weight.

SLK: thanks for the offering your singnet bill to me...i am pretty certain that i will sign up with Jawn...so i am not looking any further...

Jan: I strongly recommend you to check out Jawn. Our tastes are pretty similiar in the sense that we both liked xzen designs. So i think you will like the designs that Jawn does and their package is below S$4K. Get your FH or girlfriend to go with you and talk to the designers...they are really nice and different...
If u want, i can accompany you there. Jan, you keep saying that you have been eating alot when u stress..out of curiousity, what is your weight and height, if you dont mind sharing with us...
Female brides out already ah?

Sue: i worked 5 day week..THANK GOD...i have been so spoilt...never worked on sat before. Cannot sleep late tomorrow..going for Philips Sale..muts be early to get car park space..sigh...

May: yah, female brides out yesterday. i saw it in newstands. have not bought though. see how. aiyoh, envy u, lose weight when you stress, i complete opposite. eat and eat, just today, someone just commented i fa(1) fu(2)! sad, sob sob!
i very short only, about 153 i think and my weight, pai sei, near to 60kg lah. i know got to cut down. Jawn... where's the shop? below $4k include car? i discuss with fiance, see what he say. he's lazy to do go round.
when do you plan to sign up. i told myself, deadline end of the month. u doing reno already? i know what you mean about stress. sigh. wish to end work asap too.

hi gers,

me back to work liao!
went for my trial makeup and gown choosing yesterday.
real tiring!
the makeup was to my liking coz itz natural and enhancing.

tried my gowns plus more gowns for fotoshot and hubby tried his suits. btw, my hubby does look good in suits. hehehe

now, back to struggling with my project dateline on monday and next friday liao! Sian!!!

Hi kiroro, hi cutie..

ya mine MTM for both WG n EG. i thot it was quite early too! what if i put on weight during then until the day itself! .. haha.. but the designer n seamstress said they will cater some inches for expansion if i really boomed.. (hope i don't!)

they wanted to take measurements early so that they can hv more time to slowly work on the gowns. i heard they are quite nice n patient to do last minute touchups to make it look better. There was another bride who they helped to do a hand painting on the WG just a few days before the actual event, cos the bride suddenly decided it was too plain!

x-zen as far so good, my FH liked them cos they are easy-going so he felt at home.. i m ok cos my cousin also booked with them last yr n they transformed her into a beautiful swan on her wedding.. *keep my fingers crossed* : ) another thing is we get to keep both the groom's MtM suit n my MtM EG. that alone is already like a big discount!

hi all!!

So anyone same date as me-7th june 03?actually
I shd be same day with Kiroro and Ah Ling..but
later change to 7th June as prefer sat.

Now I really can't do much but to count down to my trial makeup and MTM gowns!!

Jan: ok, i will go buy female brides later. Dont be too upset...one of my girl friend was about your built and she did lose weight for her wedding...so i am sure if you are determine you can also do so...u just got to watch what you eat and be determined.

No, jawn does not include car...xzen also dont include car too... They are located at Meridian Orchard Hotel, tel: 67361178. Call them and tell them you are recommended by one of their potential bride whose wedding is on May 15 and at Amara then they will know me...heee...Tell them on the phone you want to try their gown...easier telling them over the phone...
Trust me..they will make you feel really good even thou we are not model-like skinny or tall...

Actually, after speaking to them last nite - i realised that we do not have much time left...other than the CNY, we also must factor in the festive season in Dec. She also talk abt fabric. I am going to meet up with Linn Kong and then i will sign up with Jawn after i return from my trip next week.

We should not drag anymore, at the end of the day it will make things worst for us.

I am going to collect keys next month so now looking around for quotes and designs...stress...

Aiya, if your hubby lazy...go with your girlfriend...u just go to get moving and be brave...GOOD LUCK

hi sweets, hi beibei

i share same sentiments as beibei.. like nothing much to do besides waiting .. but very excited thinking abt the gowns! oh fyi, my house only available in end 2004, so after wedding must stay with FH's parents' house for a while..

Hi cherry,

yap, itz real tough juggling studies, work and wedding preps. I'm pursuing my bachelor degree in sim on a part-time basis.

like my trial makeup yesterday coz its natural and yet enhancing. tried my gowns again yesterday and chose some more gowns for fotoshoot liao. gog back again on 20 sept for another fitting b4 fotoshoot and also my designer giving me a brand new teadress too!

me and hubby went to sydney and gold coast for a mini-honeymoon last may after my ROM liao so plan to go Europe but depends on got $ or not first! so probably not booking first! c how lah! :p

my photoshot in oct but not spending $ on facial etc lah! no time too coz rushing projects! ;p hopefully, no breakouts from now till oct! hehehe

my wedding gown is a bustier and evening gown full laced. bought my wedding shoes at OG liao last month! very cheap, only S$31.90.

Hi vin,

I'm not young liao lah, i'm 26 this year. Studying for my bachelor degree lah!

Hi peng,

love my trial makeup yesterday and tried on lotsa of gowns too. have made some choices liao but confirming on 20 sept again!

mike tried on his suits too and he looks nice. never see him so smart b4! hehehe

how have you been?

yi jie,

wow, i feel ur excitement! hahaha.. i can't wait till i try my own gowns :P

so how many did u try? what kind of design?

For me,I still yet to confirm my gowns design and measurement and the actual and studio photography. "Envious" that you gals are so prepared....Ah Ling, is our wedding day an auspiscuos day ? We just pick our own dates without consulting any fengshui master or anykind.. Our parents are all very open minded and westernized... so we have no idea is it a good day for wedding.