(2003) Brides of year 2003

I am actually considering Andrew Choi as my photographer.

Anyone out there know of the rates?

kk mei

wow becomin teacher soon ah???
gd 4 ur future kids coz u koe the moe system by then...

haz mei mei

aiyoh dun tok until like tat lah...
of coz got miss u lah...
u got miss miss mi or nt???
been a while since we last meet up of coz muz catch up sometime mah...

wow $100 food voucher???
u shd b bringin ur parents 2 enjoy the high tea...
dun hv 2 treat us lah... :P

hello all,

So angry, looks like my input was not posted. don't know where it got lost. anyway, now have to re-type a short one here.

SLK & May : I not sure going to x-zen or not. keep me updated if you both going.

Vin : how about Shisedo for facial. used them before. not bad, got individual room to myself.

Sue : you are super thin, envy you. wish i got your built and weight.

Good to see that this thread is alive again too. But from the looks of it, don't think May 03 is so popular. which is good, no need to rush, : )

Hello, gals..
me oso a jan 03 bride..& i think i muz b the 1st one cos my wedding is on 01jan..havn't gone for gown fitting yet...i chose an off the rack dress, so the designer say no need to do it too early, in case i put on weight...actually i dun know where to start my wedding prep..should i get my shoes before i go for my 1st fitting? house reno is done..now is cleaning up time & buying furniture which left us broke...its such a hassles to get married..

01_jan_bride

Hi Jan2003,

I never try Shisedo ler.. coz my is introduce by the guy who tried Sk-II b4. Or maybe we should go and try but don't sign up the package lor, if we feel that the facial is good then sign up..

Ya lor, Sue is super thin ler...
not like me...

Think May 03 is quite popular. If you check out some hotel like GH, Oriental.. they almost fully book.

Where you all consider to hv your wedding dinner??

hi kk mei,

oh, u taking up teaching?
like wat flowee say, it going to be good for your kids in the future.
me cannot take such stress lah!

ya lor, me oso busy with my studies leh!

hi hazel,

got your keys already?
still busy with studies? last exam over?
you all got a major final year project rite?

hi elaine and flowee,

i'm oso okay with sat hi-tea.

Hi 01_jan_bride,

yah off the rack don't need to be early, there maybe newer designs nearer to your photoshoot.

i think for your shoes, you can get it by your 1st fit so that you know how long you want your WG & EG to be.

yah it's really such a heart pain to see our bank a/c shrink and totally clean out after the wedding...

hi cherry,

my love nest oso done up this jan liao but treating it like a chalet during weekends only. not staying there permanently yet coz my mum dun allow. ;p

btw, where you staying? we are thinking of places like koh samui, phuket or bali. dun know lah, heven't decided yet. me bought my wedding shoes liao coz designer need it for 1st fitting mah! going for my fitting tomoro liao! so happy!!!!

hi 01 jan bride,

wow, marry on new year day huh?
my wedding is on 24 jan but because my gowns are mtm so got to design earlier lor! dun kow will turn up nice or not leh! ;p
lucky for me, my house was fully renovated and furnished this jan so have been saving up since then for wedding (although not alot lah). tatz y dun want both events too close, if not no $ liao!

Hi Yi,

I'm staying in Sengkang since last Dec, where's your new nest?

I think Koh Samui is nice and romantic whereas Bali and Phuket are too commercialise already.

I'm going to MTM my shoes, my 1st fitting will only be at the end of this month. Which Bridal Shop are you with? I'm with Flamingo.

Yah....lucky both hse and wedding some time apart, else not only very heart pain, very tiring also.....

Hi Yi,

I will go for honeymoon after the CNY period. Thinking of Banyan Tree...don't know which one yet though. Will decide later on. Happy fitting tomorrow

Hi 01 Jan Bride

We have all been hit by the 5% GST.

Hi Cherry,

I am staying at Choa Chu Kang. My hse is currently being renovated
Completing soon.

FH will be staying in after the furniture is in.

I will move in after my wedding

hi cherry,

my love nest is in jurong west, opp boon lay mrt station!

mtm shoes are too expensive so i got mine off-the-rack at S$31.90 only. itz cheap and wun feel heart pain as probably wun wear again next time!

my bridal shop is J&C bridal collections at riverside point. 1st fitting tomoro! so excited and happy!

hi jan and may,

i'm also not too sure yet.
if you 2 go, i will go

so how?

hi sue,

ya man, you are soooo thin! really envy you. i used to be 49kg... am 53kg now i think, 1.67m tall. i am 10kg heavier than u!!

hi vin,

Jan and me are holding our wedding dinners at Grand Hyatt.

btw Jan, my bro-in-law have not gotten back to me on that incident.... so sorry.

Hi SLK,

Aiyah, you are tall, why worried so much even you are 53kg?? Is consider under weight laa.... aiyoh!!!

hi flowee & elaine,

long time ya...

me seldom come in...
only read...
i'm ok with high tea...
need my help?

kk,
hi!

read in another thread u r doing your masters. in?

me still working till 9.30...so tired..
tomolo still working...3 consecutive sat...

wow going away for honeymoon b4 CNY better hor..kekekeke can "bi nian" then save on the ang pows since we all will be very broke after wedding....

I'm thinking of taking interest-free installment for our honeymoon since we can't predict how much we'll have left after our wedding, better have more cash on hand. We're thinking of leaving 1 week b4 or a few days b4 CNY..

cherubies,

me doing part time masters of science in industrial and systems engineering at nus

yi jie,

i guess every job has its own stress.. kekee... it is always best to get a job we like, so that when we face stress, we know how to handle it happily!

still got case study to do tomorrow. just managed to do some homework. Tomorrow still need to study for next week lectures, else will be lost!

Me not thin lah, not to forget I'm short so my weight is just nice for my height. I wish I have SLK's height.

May 03 is pretty popular, maybe the rest of the May 03 brides didn't come to this forum. I booked my banquet in April and while doing my research at that time, some of the hotel were almost booked for most weekends.

Hi Vin,
Sheraton Towers has good food & heard that the ballroom was recently renovated. My cousin had his wedding there and comments from relatives were very positive.

Conrad is opposite Suntec City, pretty near to The Ritz Carlton. I only tried the high tea & it's good. Visited the ballroom & I like it so just booked it.

hi kk mei,

yap, you are rite!
glad you are going to do something that you really like!

me oso stressed! next friday, project dateline and the following thursday too! hiaz!

studying and working is real tough!

hi lyne and cherry,

me and hubby would probably go honeymoon only after cny too coz really like the feeling of everyone gather together during that festival so wun wan to "bi nian" lor! c how lah!

1st fitting today! so excited! real scare that i put on weight and cannot fit! hehehe

today, wld also be gog back to love nest!

helo everyone, i'm a Sep03 bride, i'm new in this forum... has read some of your dialouges, just wondering how u gays get the dates? did u based on "Tong Shu"....

HI Sue,

We will meet up with Sheraton co-ordinator first and discuss further, don't know will sign up on Monday or not, my bf juz wld like to discuss more b4 he leave for overseas trip for 3 weeks.

We might have our wedding earlier than June as planned coz his dad prefer early.. So is really lack of time for us..

Me haven't take my photoshoot, called the bridal shop just now, they said if our wedding is in March, then we should take our photo latest by November. But then, we need to go for overseas trip. And moreover, the guest list not yet finalised.. all this thing really kill me. How wonderful if can ask others ppl to do everything for us erh..

The Conrad is nice with their food as well?? How's their decoration like?

SLK, no problem on the GH issue lah. No need to apologise, your brother in-law no obligation to lah mah. just our good luck you have a BIL working in GH so can find out why and we not repeat mistake again. As for the x-zen show, i don't think of going. their last show in july at alkaff mansion like no big ho-ha. wonder if it went well. no one talked about it at all in this forum. leaving the decision to my fiance. let you know latest by tuesday whether i going or not.

May, you going? let us know. both of us haven't book leh. SLK already did. got to get going or else if we take MTM may have problems you think?

Sue & Vin, aiyoh, all these weight and height issues, i got mixed up. all i know i am shorter than SLK but heavier than her! terrible. today just ate high tea. tsk tsk tsk!

Vin, how early? if in mar, think you have to get venue soon esp if you looking at favourite hotels. Conrad is expensive, my friend had hers there, almost $1,000 per table. Decor and food was good though. Just that it's way out of my budget. Sue is right. Sheraton not bad,food and service was there. But i didn't like the L-shape ballroom. Their food is from Li Bai, highly recommended.

Hey Vin, u wanna bring fwd yr wedding to March? Then u gonna book the banquet fast because it's a little too late. Not trying to scare u but u might not get those popular venues like what Jan2003 said.

Conrad may seem expensive at $1000/table but it sits 12 pple/table so it will work out to be abt the same as other hotels. I like the ballroom and the foyer, very spacious.

Pls update us on yr meeting with Sheraton.

good morning gals!

no lah, i don't look tall somehow.. perhaps i am fat lor :P

anyway, i realised that weight don't reflect a person's figure, some may have heavier bones than the rest.

Jan,

no worries, i think i will skip the x-zen show as well. very busy lately.... over work
that's why contributing to this thread less these days. but i am still reading... keep the messages coming

to all,

have a great week ahead!

hi allan,

i got my wedding date through a shifu whom my mil brough us to consult. he gave us quite a number of dates to try booking our banquet and if those dates, we can't get a place, we wld go back to him again for more dates lor! luckily, manager to get our fav ballroom on one of the dates given.

went to try my gowns last sat at J&C.
the gowns turn out very nice.
so excited and happy!
now waiting for my trial makeup and 2nd fitting in early sept.
then itz my fotoshoot in oct liao!

for those who have not booked any pkg, i strongly recommend J&C for their mtm gowns!

Hi cherry,

Honeymoon-ing after CNY too...

It's expensive to holiday during CNY...

Nothing beats celebrating the festive season with your family & friends.

Hi Yi,

How was your fitting session? Update leh

hi lyne and cherry,

me went for my 1st fitting last sat at J&C.
real pleased with my gowns.
hubby likes it and my sis-in-law and her bf oso there. they say nice too!
now waiting for my trial makeup and 2nd fitting in early sept.

Hi lyne and yi,

ya...you're right! Nothing beats celebrating the festive season with family and frens, but i can't take so many days of leave if i hold it after CNY leh.....my company will close for one week (chinese company)...thus, i'll can take another 1-2 weeks, else my boss sure not approve my leave one....expensive but what to do...

Yi - your gown is MTM?? sounds really nice...

there seems to have nothing much to do now hor....seems still far off....jan...

when is CNY 2003??? will b going to for honeymoon a week aft wedding..dun intend to 'bi nian' lah, since its a time for family & frens get-togethers & catching up..always had a good time gossiping & catching up...but so scared we won't hv enough $$ for angbaos..do we hv to give angbaos in the 1st yr of marriage? i heard some ppl said tat we r exempted for the 1st 3yrs..anybody heard of this 'custom' or 'rule'???
lyne, do we hv to pay the extra 2% since we hv signed the banquet contract in yr 2001, before the 5% gst was known?

gd mon mornin gers

cherubies

reno is goin on fine...
went dn on sun mornin...
the floor tiles r up oredi...
the false ceilin & electrical wirin also done...
waitin 4 hdb 2 do the rooms screedin 4 us...

how's ur weddin preparations comin along???
*envy envy* u oredi settle with ur weddin venue & bridal...
mine still nothin confirmed...
mil mentioned will get a date when the hse reno is completed which will onli b in sept...
tentativeli my weddin will b within sept 2 dec 2003...
heard most hotels n restaurants r fully booked 4 the mth of sept oredi...
i cant do anythin as i dun hv a date...

will keep u updated again...

kk mei

i am sure u will b super buz clearin ur current projects...
muz b feelin real excited 2 b joinin the teacher force...

yi

glad 2 koe ur gown fittin turn out well...
muz share ur weddin pixs with us when its done...

allan

congrates 4 ur forth comin weddin...

like wat i had mentioned 2 cherubies, i dun hv a weddin date yet...
my parents in law will check with the shifu b4 commitin on a date 4 us...

gers

pls hv a show of hands who is keen on a high tea outin???

cherubies

tks 4 offerin a helpin hand...
sure hope 2 b able 2 meet up with u this time round...

Hi jan_01_bride,

CNY for yr 2003 will be starting on 01st Feb 2003,
just 2 wks after my wedding.

actually i'm also afraid that we won't have enuf money for ang pows also, don't think the 1st yr are exempted leh....for the banquet, i don't think if you sign in 2002 you need to pay the extra 2% unless your pricing is +++ instead of nett...

hi flowee,

good afternoon.

glad that your reno is proceeding fine.
soon, it'll be done and you wld be busy cleaning up and decorating your house!

yap, my gowns fitting is real nice!
you may wan to consider j&c too.
no obligation, can go down for a look.

i'm game for the hi-tea!

gd afternn yi

nod nod reno works goin on fine...
lookin 4ward 2 the completion but nt lookin 4ward 2 the cleanin up... :P

no weddin date dun wish 2 look @ bridal yet...
will ask max 2 go bridal n banquet huntin when we hv a date confirmed...

u hv fun @ ur 2nd fittin & photo shoots in oct...

gers

so when u gers suggest 2 meet 4 high tea???

I am so sad. The xzen show is all fully booked. I really wanted to go but as usual i drag and drag until today. Call them and was told no more place...

too bad...i guess i wont sign up with zxen then...

SLK, i am almost the same height as you and i used to weigh the same as you years ago. With that weight you are not fat..ok...if i can get back to the same weight, i will be so happy....

Elaine: Thks for the info and steps given. Who do u recommend for JP?? Actually I juz want to find out the procedures b4 i decide whether to go outdoor for ROM or register at ROM centre. Have to consider pros and cons...

Flowee: Thks for your well wishes!! Need to consult u too abt ROM. Where do your family and friends go after ROM?? Any hi tea buffet treat??

When are u gals meeting u for hi tea?? Keep me updated. Pls SMS me, okie?? I can't access the internet anytime i want coz home modem is not working. Now I'm at my FH's place using his PC. :P hehehe...

hi cherry,

yap, my gowns are mtm and they are really nice.
better than wat i imagine.

ya lor, like wat you say, nothing much to do from now on till oct/nov where i collect my invitation cards and arrange for food tasting.

hi jan_01_bride,

1st year no exemption lah, as long married must give angbaos already.

i've checked with merchant court and i've to pay the extra 2% gst.

hi flowee,

itz always good to shortlist a few bridal studios and banquet locations beforehand though.

think i wld sure have fun during my 2nd fitting and fotoshoot just like i enjoyed myself last sat!

as for hi-tea, i wld suggest next sat or 07 sept coz i wun be free on the weekends from 07 onwards due to work and studies committment.

Hi Yi,

Great! Nothing beats liking your own wedding gown.

Hi Jan 01 Bride,

The exemption really depends on family practice. Some newly weds are exempted from giving angpows the 1st yr of marriage. Some start giving when they get married. It depends on the practices of your hubby's side as well as yours. Take it as once a yr and u wun feel the heartache. There's joy in giving

As for the 5% GST, pse enquire with your dinner banquet person. As explained to me by mine, the 5% GST takes place in Jan 2003 regardless of when you sign up.

Hear from u all soon

yi

i dun think i can make it durin the 1st wkend of sept coz max & mi headin 2 the jurong bird park 4 4 'excusion'...
my company hv free admission passes 2 the jurong bird park & i manage 2 obtain 4 tat wk...

can we make it the followin sat instead???

gers

how abt high tea on 17th sept???

hi flowee,

think 14 sept is out for me coz my project dateline on 16 sept and on 15 sept, there is an official event.

17 sept is a weekday leh?

yi

sorie typo error :P

erm like tat seems like nt able 2 c everyone again...

gers

wat other dates u wld suggest???
perhaps wkdaz dinner???

hi flowee,
glad to hear abt your reno going on well...

i'm fine with dinner or high tea...
tho mon and thurs are out for my lessons..
my wedding stuff standstill still...
cos not sure what next..
jus know oct, mus call TWP for 1st design session...

hi kk,
wooo...engineering! tough, isn't it???

Hi May,
Even if you missed the show, you can still pop by the shop to look at their designs. Some bridal boutiques do offer special packages at their shop even after the shows.

SLK is right, weight can't really tell a person's size. I may weight 44kg but I think that's because my bones are light. I still look quite flashy that's why have to go gym to tone up.

I hv sign with Sheraton for my wedding banquet.

My wedding will be on 12/01/2003, is very near..
a bit stress ler

Actually me got nothing much to do others than worry abt my wedding gown.. Me will go down to the bridal shop to discuss with them abt the design on nxt mon

Hello Yi,

I think I know you...you are one of my secondary's school friend's wife. Is ur hubby a regular?

So your love nest at Jurong west?,is ur hubby's house also at Jurong west?

Your must be pretty excited abt the preparation of your wedding right? So have you found ur actual day photography?

May, don't be sad. Sue is right. If you really keen, give them a call, tell them you want to attend but no more places. Get them to give you the details and if the price everything fits you, you can still sign up and save on the $18/-. Me have not decided too. But now that no show, see how lor. Plus i think the Her World brides issue should be coming out soon. See if there are anymore shows.

SLK, me too. Busy with work and also family issues. Sigh.

Vin, don't worry. Most troublesome one is the banquet and the bridal package and since these two done you should be ok. Still half a year more to do. If you need to do up place then can start on it. If not then just sit back and get ready for your big day. so happy for you. Ours which is in May, seem so long away.