(2003) Brides of year 2003

Hi there,Adrienne
my hubby nags & grumbles non-stop, I can't stand him at times. But wat to do, he is my hubby.
We have been living together for 2yrs liao, coz we bought a resale flat and got ROM 2yrs back. Lucky me, not living wif my inlaws(hubby dun see eye to eye with his dad) It wasn't quite in our plans to hold the wedding dinner next jan. But, everything has been set liao, juz have to go ahead.

Anyway, take care.

hi flowee jie,

not confirmed wat time yet. coz my friend is dropping by at my place. so i need to sync the timings. i will check with mei jie then confirm with u lor.

wow, choosing materials is always exciting! Have fun!

Yi jie,

I went to my new place after work just now. Glad to find that the sliding door and the taps are all up. Left the shower curtain rods and painting and washing only

Hey Jo,
Good to "see" u again!

Same here, after confirming the wedding banquet venue, seems like nothing else to do now?? Hmm... bridal shows are a bit too early for me, dun want to commit too early leh... but it shd be quite fun to start visualising a dream wedding gown! Anyway, u have fun at the x-zen bridal show!

And yes, pls let us know how's the wedding u're gonna attend this sat, like wat to take note of..... thks!

Aiyoh, i just ate a whole bowl of rice for dinner at 8pm before i get to see your advice! don't eat breakfast. very difficult. skip breakfast, very tough too. admire you.

ok, will try out the skip breakfast part see how. drink tea? i cannot leh. will get cramps. dinner trying to cut down but my parents always afraid i will starve so they leave alot of food for me to finish after work. if throw away very wasteful that's why i always make it a point to eat it all. guess that explains my weight problem too. have to talk to them again.

may, aiyoh, you better bring medicine with you to japan. there everything expensive. get more rest, talk less, drink more water, eat more fruits see if condition improve by saturday. rest well for your trip. bridal package, settle when you are back. one thing at a time lah. also, now you sick better to get proper meals.have to lose weight but stay healthy.

SLK, any news from your brother in law on the case? quite worried. i guess i worried about every little thing. thinking of doing some excercise but after work, i am so tired. all i want to do is have a good meal, watch tv and sleep.

Halo to all Jan 2003 brides,
would like to have ur advice on some stuff.
I had actually went down to my bridal shop for my first appt. and I actually chosen my wedding gown and evening gown. Is there any one in the same situation whereby they got their gowns during the 1st appt? Did you made any changes (chocie of gown) after that?

kk mei,

i dun know abt the customs but i wld want to be ah yee for my best friends when they wed! (If they dun mind lah!) But as for me, my ah yees all not married yet coz theirs all late next year!

we wanted a saturday but no dates suitable for us, only sundays which we dun like coz people wun stay late! so although friday is a weekend rate, we still took it! :p

oic, so your reno completing soon hah? wow, so fast got friend go house-visiting liao ah!

hi jo & naturally

so glad 2 c u gers here again...

wow u gers so fast oredi settled ur banquet venue...
mine still dun koe the date nor mth so din bother 2 check out the venues yet...

currentli buz with my reno...
will b startin work soon...

last nite hv discussion with my id till 11plus...
veri tired nw...

jo

i will b headin dn 2 Imperium Chinese dining durin the wkends...
celebratin my mum's bdaz there...

Hi Jan, SLK,

Thanks for your concern. I am feeling much better.

I guess my body just shutdown on me...worry too much ... haven't been sleeping well and eating well and stress at work...

But it is nice to have you gals to cheer me up. jan, dont worry too much about GH. I am sure all will be fine.

ling jie,

yah lor. next time i also want to be my friends' ah yee after i get married. to share the joy with them and help them out mah! Most likely i am the first one to have customary in my group of good friends.

they say friday very dangerous..coz pple can stay back to sabo the couple.. kekekee... sun better, coz all leave early, so no saboing :P

some friends of mine cannot decide what to get for their love nest and some want to explore sengkang.. hahaa..so i gather them together lor. very pai seh lor, coz no food for them and no sofa for them to sit on yet. kekee...

I'm also getting married this Dec 2003. But Is there any way I can know if the date we intend to have our customary is a good day for marriage...

Beside Tong Shu, any other alternatives?

Hi duchess!

Heehee, why not trust your intuition since u dun know how else to choose good date? Besides since it's your wedding day, it MUST be a good day!

Ok ok, i know we are all very concerned for our marriages to start on the right foot
, how abt a fortune-teller? They can help u choose a date that won't clash with everyone in the family. Choose one that your parents and inlaws trust, so no need to get second opinions...

Or how abt online almanac websites? I think someone has posted some links on another thread, Almanac 2003? This is good if the elders are not pantang, i'm quite sure most of them dun trust the internet!

Have fun, duchess!

kk mei,

ya lor, itz good and fun to be your best friends' ah yees!

ok lah, once in a lifetime thing, abit of saboing ok wan lah! i'm sporting to that! kekekeke

tat day my friend's wedding, we oso go up to their bridal suite and some saboing b4 heading back! Itz fun lah! hehehehe

oic, they exploring your love nest to see what to buy for theirs? o, your sofa not in yet ah? But cooker and hood really rite? never mind lor, just buy something from outside for your friends lah! Still remember the last time, our friends come over b4 the reno completion also nothing for them!

Wah... Li May... seems like you're quite young hor..

My wedding is on 7 Jan, going for final fitting tomorrow.

By the way, I'm also looking for a video camera person...

Hi Naturally,
Thanks for your reply...

My inlaws already gone to heaven.. so I only need to check with my parents and maybe his many elder sister and bro..

I did went to one online site www.chinesefortune.com or something... but it didn't list the dates I have in mind, somemore I also not sure abt our time being PST, EST or what.. how to go abt it?

If We go ask fortune teller, any recommendation or I just go anyhow pick one on the streets? like there's a few besides NTUC Bedok.. those can? What information shld I prepare?

hi yi jie,

wow, today real tired. So busy with discussion for the whole day. Only get to check the forum once this morning

Our division having a team building. And i am in the organising committee.. so need to have those boliao discussions

Aiyoh, the guests can play very er xin games wan. They hang banana to the groom and hang apple around the bride then ask them to bite each other fruits.. kekeee...

Ur hubby know how to drink? kekekee.. if cannot, have to get a few buddies who are good in drinking so that can help ur hubby jie wei.

Follow back to bridal suite?? keeke.. so it may not be a good idea to have dinner at hotels. hahaa...

My friends have not got their love nest. The market is open up now, so they have more choices, but at the same time make it more difficult for them to decide.

My sofa will only be in next sunday. Next sunday then we shift our things in mah

This saturday there will be delivery of the dining table, tv console and study table. And we finally bought our computer from sim lim just now! So we need to collect it this saturday afternoon lor

hob in this saturday with the powergas. But hor, no pots and pans..cannot cook.. ekkee..and very troublesome.. after my friends drop by, flowee jie and mei jie will be dropping by my place, and then we will drop by mei jie's place. after that we need to rush down to my hubby's friend's daughter's 1 mth old celebration...tiring!

Oh, so ur friends also drop by ur place before reno complete? so nothing wrong with inviting friends over when reno almost done? i thought me a bit funny, inviting friends over at this point of time. kekekee...

Hi there, IceMilo.
Me oni 24.......wah u very fast leh. My wedding date is on 13 Jan, but my final fitting is on 15/10.
BTW, where are u holding ur dinner? Urs on tuesday,rite? Mine 1 week after urs. Had been getting negative remarks on weekdays dinner. Wat abt u?
Meanwhile, take care

Morning all!

Duchess, i have to confess... i have not the slightest inkling abt fortune tellers!

i think the elders who believe in getting huang2 dao4 ji2 ri4 shd know better, wat says your parents? And your FH's elder siblings? (he really has that many siblings?) If they are really so concerned abt the date, why not let them check it out their way? Sorry... i'm not much help here... good luck anyway!

Hi Naturally,

Thanks! I'll try asking my grandmama abt it else check with my uncle who helps out in the Temple.

Yup, he's number 8, but if you take his other sibilings who are in China (his da ma's and father's offspring) then his dun know number what liao.

Imagine I got to offer tea to so many people..

Wow, that's a big family!

Heehee, i know, i have a gf who's husband also has A LOT of relatives, one of his granduncles has 3 wives! So on her wedding day my gf really served tea until blur....
But the plus point: She received a lot of angbaos and gifts! So it's not that bad after all!

Have a nice weekend!

hallow...

yup.. I do hope that day I'll receive the Ang Bao until I blur... but not serve tea till blur lah... very tiring one leh...

kekeke....

Hi Jo, Wannabebride, Dew and Naturally,

good news for all of you! I drove past PG21 yesterday and went to our plot. Guess what? There are 4 blks already painted exterior liao... if I'n not wrong, they are Blk 651, 652, 643 and 645. Haven't kenna my blk leh, but I think the progress is quite fast lor..hehe, we may get our keys real soon liao :Yesterday, I also went to have breakfast at a food court opposite the Blk 10X and found the food quite good and prices are reasonable too. Looks like its not true that food at new estate is bad and expensive!

So have you girls confirm your banquet venue already?

Hi Lilac,

great! I was gonna ask if any of you had gone down to see the progress.. haven't been down for the past two weeks.. starting to miss 'my home'.
Wanted to go late last night but FH said " So dark, cannot see anything one lah. next weekend".
So I'll go down next week.
Yup, I've been to that foodcourt too.. business is quite good.. but maybe because it one of the only ones.

Me waiting for the auspicious date still... we have not confirmed anything yet though we've placed a $4K deposit with the banquet venue... we are simply tooooooo BROKE - may forgo the Dinner plans!! Renovation costs plus furniture is enough to kill us.. also the bridal boutique.
Have you signed up with anyone yet??

Me and FH super kan-cheong.. we just bought some furniture for our new home.. so it's gonna stay in one ( big )corner of my house till our flat is ready in 1.5yrs time.

Thks Lilac!

That's real fast! But all that piping and wiring will take some time right? Not forgeting they'll need to do the flooring and bathrooms too.... actually i rather they do it slow and steady, so our units will be good!

Btw, wat's the colour of our flats?

Wannabebride,
My goodness! But dun worry, your new furniture shd sit in your house for less than a yr... so u beat the GST hike?

Hi Wannebebride,

wah!! you are really early leh, buying your furniture so soon.
So you are thinking of forgoing the banquet? I haven't confirm anything yet. Like you, I am waiting for the tongshu to be out. The "Sifu" should be calculating the dates for us soon since the tongshu is out already.

Hi Naturally,

I thought usually the internal stuff like piping and wiring will be done first and painting will always be done in the final stage? Anyway, glad to see some progress lah

Talking about the colours of our flats...quite disappointing lah...its a combination of white, orangy beige and green! Can visualise or not? Quite obiang right? BTW, seen your earlier posting that you have confirmed your banquet, so which one have you signed up with? Now its my turn to get headache hunting for the banquet venue liao

hello to all jan brides ! I am also considering to have my wedding on the 12 Jan 03 (this is also also our rom day) but am not sure if this is a good day according to the chinese calender or the 'tong shu'. Does anybody out there know, especially when u gals were choosing for your wedding date in Jan......

Hi Naturally & Lilac,

yup, Naturally is right... after the exterior painting, there's still the interior works to do.. so not so soon!

Oh ya huh... we didn't think of the GST thing. I forgot that GST will be up 2% next yr huh. Didn't want to get it so soon... tot should shop around first.. but my FH is rather pleased with it, so we got it lor. Anyway, he said that we manage to get a rather good offer ( almost 25% off the price they first quoted ).. he's good at bargaining.. I have to 'gan bai xia feng'... me, never know how to bargain.. he said that if I'm the one doing the purchasing, I'll probably just pay whatever they quoted.

Hmm, the exterior colour sound obiang indeed... now hoping for some miracles.

Hi Li May,
I've just postponed my final fitting to 30/8 liao..
Me holding my wedding at Pan Pac... what abt you huh?
Yeah, my wedding is going to be Tues.. rite now still have not done up the guest list yet.. Me also worried about poor attendance leh... but then.. it's really beyond our control.. sighz...

Hi, IceMilo.
why ur final fitting postpone till so late?
Me yet to decide my venue, is will be between AMara or Concorde? Got any comments abt these 2 hotels?
Haiz, my date yet to confirm, my father in law still asking for dates.

hi gers

been a while since we chat here...

gonna update my reno
will tong du on sat 3 aug & reno works will commenced on mon 5 aug...
lookin 4ward 2 my reno...

so how's everyone doin???

hi kk mei,

so happy rite? reno completed liao! slowly seeing the furniture being shift into the house is an exciting procedure! From a house to a cozy home!

i always feel that bride and groom must be sporting enuf on their wedding day coz itz once in a lifetime thing mah so er xin games is okay lah! Anyway, they wun be too much coz elders ard mah!

my hubby cannot take alcohol well, think i'm better than him! he becomes very red after some drinks! well, his buddies are sure good drinkers so no worries at all!

actually, me looking forward to trying my gowns leh! have been watching my weight these days! tat day, hubby just commented that my hip big! Hiaz~~~~~

Itz fun to invite friends over to your house at times! but now all my friends busy wif their own stuff so seldom organize liao!

maybe having a house warming at the end of the year lor! see how lah!

hi flowee,

tong du changed to sat liao ah? Thought it was 2 aug? must be real excited hah?

i'm also a jan 03 bride. my wedding on 24 Jan, Friday.

BTW, do you all have any recommendations for actual day photography (journalistic style) and wat is the cost?

Vivian,
u holding solemnisation outside ROM huh?
I thinking of having mine on 18 Jan... but dunno whether can get the date with rom... sat quite hot right?

Flyn,
have u settled on your wedding preparations already?

Li May, still deciding? sorry cant help on this one... havent attended any weddings from these hotels...

flowee jie,

congrats! u must be feeling excited now

yi jie,

yes, yes, finally got proper table and chairs to sit on. hahaha...and final got place to put things.. kekee...

yoo...u have house warming will invite me? kekekeeee...

Orange and green sounds horrid to me.... must go down this weekend to see! I wonder who decides on the colours?? Maybe next time we shd join the RC and petition for a new paint job!!

Lilac, why the
for banquet venue search? It was quite fun to check out the venues, but now that we've booked the venue, nothing else to do now, so sian... can't go furniture hunting cos no place to keep! Btw, we booked with Hyatt, so which venues have u shortlisted?

yi

nod nod tong du date changed 2 3 aug oredi...
will drop by Powergrid 2 apply 4 my water & electrial b4 hand...

oh u might b hvin hse warmin durin the yr end???
mi 2...

kk

i am excited plus worried...
excited coz my love nest finalli goin 2 start with reno oredi...
the worried part is the amt of money we gonna come up with 4 the appliances...

ur place all cleaned up oredi???
u guys r stayin in oredi???
saw in the other threats u even get a fone line oredi...
btw ur fone number starts with wat number???

Hi there, Tarsier.
Me really headache. Got a week to Chinese 7th mth, our parents told us not to do anything for the wedding for the whole mth, which means tat all my stuff will be held back for a mth. Haiz......
Where will ur wedding be held?

hi kk mei,

sure, when i have my house warming, you gers can come over lah!

me oso got my phone line last sat liao!

hi flowee,

told my hubby i wan to have house warming end of the year so he say see how lor!

cheer up okay!

Hi Lilac & Naturally,

Me may not be a Dec03 bride.... cos my intended date 28Dec03...is no good. The 'shifu' picked a date for us in Lunar 9th month 03( ie end sep/ early oct).
Now, I'm so stressed. It is 4 months earlier than what i intended. Well, haven't contacted the banquet coordinator yet to check the availability of the venue... anyway have not decided if we'll go ahead or cancel the dinner. I'm gonna ask for a second opinion.. find another shifu.
However, my FH says that if i'm so stressed because of this 'date' thing ..which is supposingly to give us a good start in the first place... then he rather stick to the original date we wanted.
also, if the wedding is brought forward, we will not have sufficient time to renovate the flat should we get the keys in June03... not forgeting the 7th month around then.
So, til we find another shifu.... no concrete plans yet.

I am a June 03 bride too. Just confirmed the date this afternoon after my MIL check the almanac based on our birthdates. My big day is 22nd June 2002.

I'll be booking Oriental Singapore by early next week. Very happy with the package they are offering.

I am really excited and looking forward to the special day. Hope that this thread will be a form of support and sharing of information for all the brides.

Hi wannabebride,

My wedding date is 28Dec03 too..what is no good abt this date???

Have u found any banquet venue??? I'm still looking around.

hihi all =)

kaelen's learnt how to roll over and has discovered his toes & started to suck on his fist to soothe himself...

been busy wif him, the mothers2b and my course... =p sorry not been online much. GOMENASAI!

Been sleeping 4 hrs every nite so every bit the zombie...

WAH everiwans place getting spruced and renovated... so jealous =) Looks around her room... sees walls not painted for 10 years...

Hmmm cant wait for my turn to come. How much did the renovations cost U guys? And where did U find ur renovators? How are your houses gonna be dolled up like?

I must start saving up =) Been thinking abt how I'd do my place up =p

Actually, I think the colour combination not too bad. At least better than the ones along the TPE, the blue n red ones. Does anyone have any idea if LRT is gonna be noisy cos my future flat faces the LRT track.

Hi mio,

Well, the shifu calculated based on our BD and time and also our parents.... not an ideal date for us... he calculated the 'Best' date based on these elements. This date is basically not ideal for us and not that it is a 'bad' date. Don't worry about it.
I would really loved to have it on this day... will look for another shifu in the next two weeks to seek a second opinion... really want this day. If this day is 'not that bad' for us, i'll consider going ahead with ,y original plans.

Lilac, Naturally,
Just came back from our P21... can't wait til the weekends.. the opposite blks .. blk 652 & 651s ( i think ) are fully painted huh. By night.. the color look ain't that bad... not sure by day lah.
They have started building FL. 17 of blk 647 already.
Lilac, any idea if there will be units on 18th FL?? Cos there ain't any floor plans for 18th Fl, blk 647... but as indicated in the brochure, this block is 18 storey high leh.

Hi Tarsier,

Me haven't sign up with bridal boutique yet! :P How abt yourself?? My FH and I are thinking to postpone it loh but dunno when?? :P

Hi Cutie,
Welcome to the thread.... This thread has been pretty quiet these days. Heard that 22nd June is a hot date...COngrats ! Ya, you better book your hotel earlier.... Have you confirm your bridal package yet ?

Hi Wannabebride,

I think there should be a 18th floor for our blk cos' I thought I saw it on the list when I selected my unit.

I am actually planning to do my customary in Sep 03. I think should be able to make it as long as we can get our keys in June, July. Then about 6 weeks for reno. Reno during the Seventh month should be fine so long your housewarming is after that, I think. Cos' my mum is doing that, she just got her keys to her new flat at Blk 10X PG21 and house currently under renovation. She says she has consulted the "Shifu".

Hi Kiroro,

Don't know where all the June 2003 brides have gone to.

I'll be confirming my booking with Oriental these few days. Where would yours be held?

I've actually booked Yvonne Creative for my bridal package. As it was recommended by my brother, they gave me a very good package. Felt comfortable with the designer and photographer too.

Your bridal package is with BV rite? BV was not within my consideration cos it's over my budget. Have you spoken to BV on the design of your gown?