(2003) Brides of year 2003

flyn

wats ur plan nw???
reali delayin ur weddin plans???
but will still b held next yr rite???
onli changin on the mth it will b held???
dun rush in2 marriage when there's still uncertainty on the hse, etc...
do drop mi a sms when u r free...
hope 2 catch up with u in the chat rm soon...
take care ger...

Hi cutie,

Nice to see June 2003 brides active again. I have also booked YC for my bridal package.

How is your package like at Oriental & YC?

Searcher

Hi Cutie and all June brides,
It's been pretty quiet here lately.
I've finally confirmed my bridal package with Silhouette, after visiting about 10. Not sure about the photographer yet.
Let's keep in touch here and share ideas.

Have a nice day

hello!

I no have wedding.... just the chinese customary and to go ROM to rom... thinking on settling it on 18 jan... i a ted wu bride.... : )

Li May,
cant do anything for the wedding? thats only from 9 Aug to 8 Sept... still can do for one week. ; P

Flyn,
postpone?? hmm.. but already rom already rite? so its just the dinner.... actually if u can confirm a bridal boutique, can still make it in time for Jan leh...

Hi Searcher,

Another YC bride! Just called YC and had booked my 1st appointment with them on 9/9.

As I'm recommended by my brother who had his package there, YC actually offered me a very good deal.

- 1 WG
- 1 EG (either 1 MTM)
- 1 tea dress
- 1 ROM dress
- ROM man's jacket
- 2 man's jackets
- 1 pants (MTM)
- 2 fathers' jackets
- 4 makeup (Trial/photoshoot/actual day & nite)
- 2 hand boutiques (studio and actual)
- 2 corsages for groom
- 6 - 8 corsages for relatives
- Bridal car
- 19 15R
- 1 potrait
- 1 tabletop
- 1 mini album
- 60 4R
- Top up $1800 to have magazine style and 55 photos.

I am satisfied with the package. Now busy flipping through mag for ideas. Have u any ideas for your WG & EG?

As for Oriental, they are having a promotion and it includes the following perks:

- 1 VIP table free
- Fri/Sun considered weekday rate ($679 nett)
- Free flow of beer

So far, i think it's the best offer in town. Have you booked your hotel? If you are considering Oriental, better act fast as the offer is only until end of this month. Do give them a call to ask for extension if possible.

Hi Priviledged,

Glad that you finally booked your bridal package. How's the package like? Understand you'll be having your dinner at The Regent. Wow! It's beyond my budget... You must be looking forward to it.

Hi there, Tarsier.
Why are u not holding any wedding?

Any Jan 2003 brides booking their dinner at amara or concorde?
Been reading into the other threads, realise that u working in SAF. WHich camp u in?My hubby also regular in SAF.

Hello!!dear june brides!!

me is june bride 2003!my dinner at Marina Mandarin!

though a lot say June not good month to get
married but i dun really take this to heart!!

cheers,
beibei

Hi beibei,

Welcome!!! You must be really excited!

Yah, I heard abt pple saying abt June too. But some say it's Chinese month June. Anyway, i dun care either.

Have you booked your bridal package? Now that I've booked both bridal and hotel, seems like nothing much to do....

Hi wannabebride,

I've looked thru another thread from wedding banquet that u've signed up with the Beaufort, rite? Actually I also intend to have my banquat there..But I think it's too late as it has been taken up by u..so have to source for another place..So how many tables do u have??? I will have around 18 to 22 tables..Not many..so have to find a place that allows small wedding...
So how's ur auspicious date thing??? Have u settled???

Dun worry about the June period ? I take it that it apply only to chinese month June which coincide with the month of July...so i guess those june bride are in safe hand.

Hi Cutie & All,
I was shock.... Suddenly the thread become so active again
. Anyway, Cutie... I book my dinner and Conrad and decided to use BV though I have not book them.

flowee jie,

sengkang number start with 6315xxxx.

We will be shifting our things in this coming sunday. But physically, we won't be moving in till we have our customary next year. But we will drop by and stay over on weekends.

Yi jie,

Got my line yesterday. Hooray!
Tested it out and the net and everything is working fine

Hiya ... where's everybody ??

We've more or less settled on our dinner venue ... one of the Tung Lok Restaurant .. hmm yummy ...

went to one of Tung Lok Restaurant - The Imperium at ex-Sparks at Takashimaya ... very nice embiance, but very "nice" prices too.

how hv everyone been?

Now that I've confirmed my booking with the hotel and bridal boutique, I felt that there's nothing much to do...(?). Other than flipping through the magazines for gowns inspiration, wat other things do i need or can i start to prepare?

My girlfriends keep asking me wat help i need from them. Cant think of any either. Other than the actual day when they will help me out as jie meis, are there anything they can do before?

hi kk mei,

wow, shifting things over on sunday liao ah?
u sound as if you shifting there permanently leh. hehehehe
you done up your store room shelves already?

i oso got my fone line today.
my hubby so excited, call me early this morning that he tried calling the number and it gets through. so i jokingly asked him, anybody picks up the phone, he say "siao ah!".

Hi Cutie,

After all the hassle of searching for the right hotel and bridal package, it seem the marriage fever has past. I can't think of anything to do either except waiting for the shooting and of course , the selection of the gown.

kk

oh nt 6489xxxx???
my in laws side @ anchorvale hv these numbers...
wats the procedure 4 applyin the fone line???

so fast start 2 shift ur stuff oredi???
ever consider bringin ur weddin 4ward since u oredi hv ur love nest all done up???
btw hv u meet up with mei jie oredi???

Hi Dear SISTERS!

i have booked my bridal package and hotel
so trying end of this month on 25/8/02!

now only headache on who to invite to
my wedding and $$$$!!!

vrey happy to see you gals replying to
my last message!!

let's all count down to our weddings!!

beibei

Hi Cutie,
MIL and own mother wanted everything to be really nice and classic, with good food, so that's why we chose the Regent. They liked it there. "Cannot be stingy on your wedding", they said.
Silhouette was a bit over our budget, actually, but we liked their gowns and services so much, that after going to 10 other boutiques, they still came out on top. Our package is

WG (MTM, rental)
EG (MTM, keep) - I'm having a kebaya style gown
Tea dress or kua (complimentary, rental)
Groom's suit (MTM, keep both jacket and pants)
Vest (complimentary, rental)
Accessories
Make-up and Hair - 4 sessions
2 hand bouquets
6 corsages
Bridal car deco and 2 following cars
No added charges

Standard stuff lah.
Photos are not included in the package.
Tried very hard to bargain, but they wouldn't reduce the price. Instead, they said they can be flexible on some things like providing more accessories and flowers etc if needed.
I can click with the designer, so I felt it was worth it. I loved the gowns too.

Right now, like you, I'm looking through mags to research gown designs. Will probably cut out and file the different gown bodices and skirt designs etc for reference. Designer has already drawn a preliminary design for both my WG and EG, but I need to know what I really really want to tell him.

Your package is really comprehensive.

I was just thinking to myself "what happened to our thread?" Great minds think alike, Dew!

Congratulations on finally deciding on your banquet venue. Like i was telling Sweets before, that's one of the biggest headaches. Really need to get it out of the way to move on with the other preparations.

Tung Lok food is GOOOOOOD !! Have you tried the food there already? Heard from my colleague who held hers at Club Chinos that Tung Lok group will give you a discount card that lasts a lifetime.
(i have to say this, i really wonder whose life they're referring to ... the life of the couple. the life of the company or the life of the card ???)

I've seen the Imperium ... it looks v impressive as well. Any idea how it'll look all dressed up for a wedding dinner?

Alittle update from my end:
I'm still contemplating whether i should have studio shots done.

(A) On one hand, a good photographer can do touch-ups with his airbrush (ie make less obvious of MY imperfections).

(B) I notice from most other brides that their studio shots look v different from the actual day shots. Perhaps its the work of the photographer?

(C) I can include my precious dog in my studio photos!

On the other hand, budget constraint.... i spend more on a good photographer for the actual day coverage coz those photos cannot be re-taken whereas studio ones can be done later.

What do you think?
BTW, my bridal package doesn't include any photography.

Sigh .... problems problems problems.

I've also been v busy lately with my reno. Aiyoh, all that dust is killing me. I have to clean up, but at the same time i'm also developing new allergies to the dust eg runny nose, little water bumps on my fingers & palm, etc etc etc ....
PLUS MIL wants us to complete the reno before national day (lunar seventh month).... AIYOH !!!!

Co-ordinating the delivery of the furniture is also making me pai seh ... all these contractors tell me they'll finish work on a particular day, but subsequently revise to the date to something else. So everything else along the chain of activities is also jammed up... argh !!

Hi bei bei,

Can sense your excitement!!! Which bridal shop have u signed up with!

eeerrr... Wat does it mean by "so trying end of this month on 25/8/02"???

Hi Priviledged,

Heard good comments about Silhoutte. Wat do you have in mind for your WG? That means you still have to source for photograpy?

Hi Tweety, Mio,
We've got new company!

Lilac, wannabebride,
I thot ALL the blks here are 18 storeys high?? Agree reno shd be quite fast for our units, since flooring and bathrooms are given. So customary in sep shd be fine!
My FH showed our floorplan to a contractor friend, and he was like, aiyah, premium flats dun need much reno (meaning little biz for him, heehee!
), very fast one, unless u want to hack and redo... but he also said something rather disappointing, that our masterbedroom is not suitable for walk-in wardrobes, too small! Sigh... anyway, still a long way before we get our keys....

Tweety,
Your future flat is also in the 600 series? So which block?
Hmm... not sure abt the noise, but LRTs shd be quieter than MRTs?? Not to worry, if it does get that bad, u can always sound-proof your rooms...

Hope u gals can find your auspicious dates soon!

hello lilac , naturally!
mi mia for sometime again!
some feedback on the haytt wedding i attended last weekend.......

I think its great. The ambience was quite nice....cozy lightings and decor. My friend's wedding was at the Sir Stamford ballroom. i think the size is juz rite for about 30 tables.
i'm not sure about the other ballrooms set up.

The food is ok, portions are big. I"ve got 11 ppl on my table, and for most of the dish, we've leftovers. Service is so so. Got to request for drinks re-fill though.

On the day of the wedding, there are 2 other weddings going on....so i think is good to remind your guest which is the correct ballroom.

In a nutshell, Grand Haytt is not bad!
Naturally, glad tat you made your choice! So which ballroom is yours going to be held?

Lilac,
long time no c. thanks for the updates on PG21! hmm...i think we will get use to the color of our blocks in time to come. At least the color are better than the mature estates upgraded blks rite.

any banquet venues in mind for u already? coz once u settle on the dates, you gotta place your bookings with the banquet soon!

Hi Josephine,

great to see you back here again! Mmm....I have not shortlisted the banquet venues yet. What about you? I should be seeing the "Shifu" this weekend to get the auspicious date from him. In the meantime, I can still "eat snake" a bit lah...

Hi Naturally,

you are right, I don't think we need to do any major reno for the house, since flooring is all done up. I guess the only major thing is the kitchen cabinet and the built-in wardrobes for the rooms. In fact, I only intend to set aside about 15 to 20 K for the reno. Don't know about you girls but that was why I had chosen a premium flat, so that no need to spend so much on reno mah :P

Hi Cutie!

Oppps!i meant trying my gown this 25/8/02!!
very anxious!

I booked my bridal package with bridal zone.right now not much stress with hotel only
choosing what kind of design I want for my
gown!!

HI Lilac!
yeah. u are rite, i chose premium flat so that i don't have to spent so much on renovation.
but one disadvantage is that all the house have same flooring and toilet tiles! *hee hee*

yup i've confirmed my banquet venue. paid the deposit liao.....

mine will be strapless.A-line and if can,
a bit of "pong pong"cos i always dream of
princess style wedding gown since young!!

but when i flip thru wedding mag i will always
be tempted to change my mind!!

Hi naturally,

Yeah mine is 638B. The only bad thing abt my flat is that it's too near the LRT. Scared that my privacy will be intruded cos didn't manage to get high flr. And you know lah, it's full height windows.

I agree with everyone here that reno shd be at a min. If not, why take premium flats, rite? But strange that many designers seem to charge quite high rates even though it's premium. I've consulted a few n most quoted more than $20K. If that's the case, we're definitely paying more than those who got std flats. That's ridiculous cos we dun get to choose the tiles n no guarantee that worksmanship is good too
Sigh...

yi jie,

kkekee...the storeroom shelves not yet done up. My hubby lor, slow slow wan. And i no time to take care of all these things. These few days very very busy. Dun even have time to do serious work in office. Never mind, we can leave the things aside first. Then when the racks ready, we just shift whatever we want up there

when we got the line, we also very excited. My hubby bluff me say he forgot the number. He asked me to call. Then i call and tell him activated liao.. He say "u think i forgot the number meh?"...yoo, looks like guys very cheeky nowadays :P

flowee jie,

Hmm.. dunno leh. My colleague living at compassvale also 6315xxxx

There are several ways to apply for phone line. u can refer to the thread lor. I think it is easier for singtel HP users? For our case, my hubby called the customer service. And they auto. assign us a number and say will be activated by when lor. And they are very prompt

Activation $30 lor.

We better move our things there first. Next year sure busier than this year. Moreover, i am not that busy with my study now, so i can do some unpacking and some shopping if i lack anything.

Nope. No plan to bring wedding forward. kekekee.. we still prefer oct/nov months lor. kekee... now i am not worried about wedding. Dun know why, i am more interested in my flat than customary :P

I haven't met up with mei jie. WOn't be able to make it this weekend for sure. This sat my colleague dropping by my flat and i need to study (already lost in first lecture.. kekeeke)..so no time lor. When u plan to go to mei jie's place? U jeo me lor

Hi Tweety!
We could be neighbours leh!.. i'm also at 638B!!!!!

yeah i heard even though premium flat the renovation cost still quite high.

we juz have keep our fingers cross and pray tat the tiles are of good quality and nice designs!

Hey all,

Remember me? Haven't been in here for a while.

Been bz shopping for furniture and other stuff for my house. The reno started abt 2 weeks ago. Estimated completion date is end Sep. Will be bz cleaning after that and getting the stuff delivered.

Just to re-cap. Wedding is on 25 Jan 2003. Just found out today it's a week before CNY 2003. Dinner at Otani. Over the weekend, I finalised the design for WG & EG. Was quite a vainpot. Told the designer " I don't wanna look like a bride..just a Princess wil do..." Had a good laugh after saying that. I also so called designed my own tea-dress and got a long-time family tailor to sew for me.

My studio shoot is in end Sep. Actual day photographer is a lady who was recommended by a friend. Saw her portfolio, nice stuff.

Take care, all of you

Keep smiling! We are getting married!

Hi Josephine,
The tiles look okie to me, based on wat we saw at HDB when we 1st made the selection. Yours is high flr or mid flr?

kk mei,

ya lor, my store room shelves oso not up coz my hubby slow coach mah! but i gave him a dateline liao i.e. by mid september, the shelves must be up! can you imagine, my love nest was completed in Jan this year leh! :p

sure excited over house wan. tat time i oso can think only of wat to buy for house etc. luckily tat time, school work not much yet. now, busy with work and projects in school. Hiaz!!!!

ya hor, your class started liao hor? so how school?

my hubby real excited over activation of phoneline, dun koe why leh! me okay lah coz not always staying there, have or not oso okay for me!

wow, you have lotsa of friends visiting your new place hor? real busy huh?

btw, now you excited over the house, by the time, you settle wif house, you'll excited over wedding liao! like me now can't wait to see my gowns!

yeah lor! premium flats means u get to pay for the tiles thru CPF, so lesser reno hassles, lesser cash outlay!
For us, it wasn't really 'cos the flats are more "premium", it's just cheaper for us! ha!

Tweety,
wah, u already checked out the interior designers? More than $20K... perhaps they incl feature walls and other fancy stuff? plus furniture and appliances, another $10K.... hmm, must really save like crazy in the next 1 yr!

Jo,
So happy to see u here again!

Well, if our guests dun go on yr-end holidays, we shd be able to have the grand ballroom, if not, have to let them allocate us a smaller ballroom lor!
Thks for the feedback, so i better put our wedding portrait in a prominent place, in case there are blur blur guests!

tweety,
i'm on the 10th floor, my unit is facing the roof garden. Didn't manage to get higher floors coz my selection date was towards the end....

but i'm still quite happy with the unit. hope to see some nice landscape of the garden lor..........

lilac,
banquet will be at fullerton. their services so far so good.

naturally,
don't worry, at haytt, during the corktail reception, there will be a haytt staff standing at the entry to lead guest to the corktail area. So tat any blur guest will not go to the wrong wedding ;)

It seems that everyone here is getting the premium flats for the same reason. Yup, me too.
During selection, we focused on the premium... din even bother to see the standard ones.

Originally, i tot $20K can be stretched to cover renovation and furn & appliances. But after lookin ard... i dun think so leh.
$10K is not enough for furn & appl leh...

TV-$3.5K ( normal 34" TV ),
Fridge-$900-$1.5K ( normal fridge),
Sofa set- $1.5K
Dining set- $1.6K
Bed - $3K
Air-con - $3.1K ( system 3 )
Washing machine, lightings,..... etc.

So now very stressed. How to save for all these in a year (also no extra cash to save)???? Money really no enough!!!

Have a greaaaat weekend!

LOL men and activiation of phonelines...

So I havent got a new place or a new phone line but I remember my FH and our buddy ( both male) were so excited when we got our work place number up and running =) LOL. They kept calling back and forth to "test" the line...

Sometimes I wonder am I marrying a guy or a boy too ...grins... the way he marvels at new stuff and goes gaga over DIY work ( like playing with advance "Legos" to him.) =)

Anyway so envious that U all got new places to stay in... wonder when i will get mine =~(... prob like ages from now... =p

How are U gals paying for ur flats? Did U pay full sum or take home loans? How did U go abt acquring the place? Was it hard? Teach me leh =)

hee hee... very true, $10K really not enough, i was rounding down, cos the figure really scares me! Actually, it's good to do up a list like that, then see wat are your priorities, where u can cut costs, etc...

But i guess our family and friends will chip in a bit, so it won't be that bad...
Or u can buy the neccesities first, the rest can wait.... or if u must have everything, then buy from courts where u can pay by installments! Aiyah, wannabebride, i just remembered u already bought some furniture, actually u've got a good strategy, by spreading out expenses over time and buying bit at a time... not so heartpain!

Jo,
Yeah, i know... actually i doubt people will be that blur, unless they're those who refuse to ask for directions, then maybe they need more time to get around here, haha!
Actually i was hoping some blur guests from another wedding will blur-ly give me their angbaos! hahaha!

Happy weekends too, gals!

hi wannabebride,
Thanks for the breakdown of things to buy! yeah once our flat is ready, will definately see real cash flowing out of our pockets quickly!!!

gotta save $$ for dream house../image{cheers}

Hi Naturally & all,

No lah.. only got one set of furniture so far... dun really intend to buy any others at the moment... no place to store leh.

Though the installment plans sound tempting but after calculations.... definitely not worth it lor. The interest will add up to quite a sum for each item... my FH ( me influenced already oso) always like to punch on his calculator when we go shopping ard... that's alot of extra $$$ thrown away. So next time any of you see this couple punching away on their HPs... who knows it just might be me!!!

I guess those i drawn up is already the neccessities... i'm leaving the washing machine, oven... etc out for the time being.... it's really very very difficult to plan on a budget like this!!!

hi adrienne,

i got my love nest keys last august. after deducting whatever me and hubby has in our cpf, we opt for a 30 years loan from hdb paying every month through hubby's cpf account.

we applied for the flat through hdb in May 2000 and got the keys in august 2001. our love nest has been fully renovated and furnished liao actually all done up in jan 2002. now only waiting to get customarily married in jan 2003!

hi lyne,

remember me? i'm staying at jw.

wow, you busy huh! shopping for furniture etc hor! ya, once renovation starts busy liao coz must spot check etc.

my love nest done up liao so now waiting for my big day on 24 jan 03, one day b4 yours. having my 1st fitting on 17 aug and fotoshoot on 11 oct. i'll be wearing kwa for the tea ceremony though.

Hi 1027 ... i mean cody.
gotta get used to it. If u had not wrote yr last posting, i would have ask WHO IS CODY?

Cody, i was a bit disappointed b'coz i had my wedding date pretty early, at least before the new tong shu is out ... BUT i didn't managed to get the venue that i want.

We've chosen Tung Lok at Club Chinos last mon too !! Actually wanted the ballroom, which is next to the restuarant BUT someone just paid the deposit on Sun morning !! ... so we had to chose the restuarant instead lor ...

Actually the restuarant is not bad ... it has it's own style > modern chinese style ... compared to the ballroom ... BUT there are tables which will be in private rooms where their only view of the stage is the door in/out of the room !

Heard from the OIC that they'r withdrawing the Tung Lok card ...

Imperium is nice ... but still got the wine smell leh .. perhaps left over from the previous occupant - SPARKS
It has very high ceiling ... thus making the place look glamourous, saw their setting for the VIP tables, simply elegant & fabulous.

Cody > Personally i felt that those studio photos are nice experiences where one can wear different costumes (else where got such chances).
If u like that, go for studio photos !
yes, some does touch up yr photos, so what? wedding photos shld be perfect ones mah

BUT there are photographers who do studio shots differently & good =)

errrr... not sure if they allow u to bring yr dog into the studio.

Another Q that i may ask myself is? how many times wld i be looking at these photos after my wedding??

Outdoor shots are more challenging : you'll hv to adapt to the weather, situations, other ppl's envious look, etc. BUT i can say they are more natural shots. Moreover, you hv so many diff backgrounds than those "fake-looking ones" in the studio.

So if you like "challenges"
, i mean if you like to see more natural shots of u & hubby, then go for outdoor shots !

FOR ME, I know i won't go thru the album many times after the wedding lor ... so i want a couple good ones, big to hang onto walls or on a shelf (oh, i intend to "assign" one corner of my future house to put lots of photo frames), so definitely natural outdoor shots for me!